Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: corn02 on May 06, 2009, 03:24:14 PM

Title: Sports books/autobiographies
Post by: corn02 on May 06, 2009, 03:24:14 PM
I know this has been done before but I couldn't be bothered looking for the thread.

Any good ones out there?

I am currently reading the wrestler Bret Hart's book - easily one of the best. Was a fan when I watched it a few years back. Before you all guffaw, it is a terrific book and while it is about wrestling, it is aout the personalities/tragedies along the way. Every page is an obituary.
I would recommend it to anyone, even those who have never watched or hate wrestling. Trust me, it is just a gripping read -no pun intended.

Interesting story about when he was in Belfast. Taken on a tour of the City by an ex-in mate. Mr Hart also has a hurley stick.
Title: Re: Sports books/autobiographies
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 06, 2009, 03:26:42 PM
Recent ones I've read

Kenny Daglish
Robbie Fowler for the 3rd time
Charlie Carter
Ian Rush
Pat Critchley
Post by: Chrisowc on May 06, 2009, 03:36:36 PM
If you haven't already read it I'd recommend Jamie Carragher's.

An excellent read is also 'El Macca' by Sarah Edgeworthy documenting Steve Mcmanaman's time at Real Madrid.
Post by: DennistheMenace on May 06, 2009, 03:39:12 PM
Carragher thinks he is the second coming of Al Capone.

Ali
John Daly
Keane
Ferguson
Ronnie O'Sullivan
Lance
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 06, 2009, 03:42:19 PM
Quote from: corn02 on May 06, 2009, 03:24:14 PM
I know this has been done before but I couldn't be bothered looking for the thread.

Any good ones out there?

I am currently reading the wrestler Bret Hart's book - easily one of the best.

Strangely enough I am reading the very same book at the minute. It's actually very good.

Carra's book is a good read.
Post by: bingobus on May 06, 2009, 03:44:13 PM
Carra's (Better than Fowlers and Gerrards - not sure what the Al Capone reference is about?)
Shankleys
llie Nastase - Romania tennis player, was really good.
Among the Thugs -  Bill Bullford - Jouno in late 80's and 90's who went on soccer trips abroad with various teams supporters and tried to see how they got involved in soccer violence, unlike other hooligan books and really good. Some mad characters!
Post by: corn02 on May 06, 2009, 03:49:42 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 06, 2009, 03:42:19 PM
Quote from: corn02 on May 06, 2009, 03:24:14 PM

Any good ones out there?

I am currently reading the wrestler Bret Hart's book - easily one of the best.

Strangely enough I am reading the very same book at the minute. It's actually very good.

Carra's book is a good read.

An absolute tragic sport/entertainment.

Gerrad's book is a snoozefest, Carragher's brilliant, Fowler's superb.
Post by: mikasas on May 06, 2009, 03:51:23 PM
Just finished the Bret Hart book also, was brilliant. Cant recommend the Lance Armstrong books highly enough.
Keano also very good Paul Mc Grath too.
Anyone read the damned United?
Post by: Mickey Linden on May 06, 2009, 04:09:19 PM
I started the Damned Utd last night. I havent really got into it but by all accounts its a good read.

One of the best I ever read was Brians Clough called Cloughie and also Mick Quinns. The former Coventry and newcastle striker. its aptly titled "who ate all the pies"
Post by: C_Berg_316 on May 06, 2009, 04:16:17 PM
Have read:

McConvilles - not a bad read even if he is from armagh  ;)

Canavan/Hartes (not really autobographies but good reads - tyrone legends  ;D

O'Driscolls - Year in the Centre - not great

O'Garas - very good

Jonny Wilkinsons - poor enough

Clive Woodward - excellent read

Paul McGrath/Keane - both very good

All of Lance Armstrongs - Not about the bike probably the best IMO
Post by: Minus15 on May 06, 2009, 04:52:06 PM
recent reads (the last 3 years)

Fowler
Carragher
Air Alex
Collymore
McGrath
Keane
Niall Quinn
Post by: thebigfella on May 06, 2009, 05:08:06 PM
Eddie Irvine - very poor, I expected him to mention something about how his wheel went missing during a pitstop (while leading) in one of the final races of the season, eventually costing him a world championship. I expect Ferrari paid him a substantial sum not to mention that.
Post by: Canalman on May 06, 2009, 05:22:25 PM
Best ones I have read are:

Sir Alf (Ramsay)
Stan Collymore's
Sambo ( very good)
Alan Brazil's
Jimmy Greaves'
Pat Critchley's
One about Joe diMaggio
Biog about Sonny Liston
Eamonn Dunphy's 1st book about his time at Millwall

Am about to start Tommy Smith's  (former liverpool player) book which I got out from library.

The worst:

Peter Beardsley's
John O' Leary's
Martin Peters'
Oisín McConville's

Have heard a story that Jayo is due to release a book shortly.
Post by: muppet on May 06, 2009, 05:23:14 PM
Cascarino excellent
McGrath excellent
Keane ok
Tony Adams excellent (a real eye opener about alcoholism)
Sonia - pretty good
McCarthy - Captain Fantastic not great
Michael Johnson - Slaying the Dragon, a must read if you are starting a sporting career, skip it if you are going nowhere.
House of Pain - The Rooms of Mayo football - excelture, tortullent, painiant, brillful.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 06, 2009, 06:01:31 PM
Quote from: Canalman on May 06, 2009, 05:22:25 PM
Best ones I have read are:

Sir Alf (Ramsay)
Stan Collymore's
Sambo ( very good)
Alan Brazil's
Jimmy Greaves'
Pat Critchley's
One about Joe diMaggio
Biog about Sonny Liston
Eamonn Dunphy's 1st book about his time at Millwall

Am about to start Tommy Smith's  (former liverpool player) book which I got out from library.

The worst:

Peter Beardsley's
John O' Leary's
Martin Peters'
Oisín McConville's

Have heard a story that Jayo is due to release a book shortly.

I thought you might find Sambo's in the Fiction category.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 06, 2009, 06:09:56 PM
Thought Keanes was excellent.

Oisins was just an Armagh love in-didnt enjoy it.

Mick Fitzgeralds is good craic but you would need to have an interest in horses.

Gonna have to get Bret Harts definitely, cheers for the recommendation, would never have even thought of getting it otherwise
Post by: Owenbeg on May 06, 2009, 06:45:55 PM
Keane's, very good- pull no punches
Mick McCarthy- shite
Brian O'D- Year in the centre, ok- a bit cocky
martin johnson's- real arrogant man
Davy fitz- Cocky wee chap
McGrath's- bit mad- he was either clean rubbered or screw with injury's and still a stand out player in the prem.
Lance Armstrong's- very good
Brian Coceran's- very good
That one with all the hurling keepers from a few years ago- pretty good.
Remember readin Sambos when it first came out, must be over 10 years ago- would love to read it again.

Here is a question- who would you want to see write one- mine would have to be Joe Brolly. It would be a good read.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 06, 2009, 09:06:54 PM
Quote from: Owenbeg on May 06, 2009, 06:45:55 PM
Mick McCarthy- shite
McGrath's- bit mad- he was either clean rubbered or screw with injury's and still a stand out player in the prem.
Remember readin Sambos when it first came out, must be over 10 years ago- would love to read it again.

Here is a question- who would you want to see write one- mine would have to be Joe Brolly. It would be a good read.
We've probably read or heard it all over the past few years. I wouldn't believe a lot of what he would write as I'm sure he couldn't help adding embellishments.

Read a lot of the above books but enjoyed the Lance Armstrong, Paul McGrath and goal keepers one. Was it called Last Man Standing or something?

I can't believe someone read a book by/about Jonny Wilkinson. What a boring ****. The only sports books worth reading are by retired sportsmen or those on the edge of retirement. If they have an axe to grind it's even better.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 06, 2009, 09:15:51 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 06, 2009, 09:06:54 PM
Quote from: Owenbeg on May 06, 2009, 06:45:55 PM
Mick McCarthy- shite

We've probably read or heard it all over the past few years. I wouldn't believe a lot of what he would write as I'm sure he couldn't help adding embellishments.

Read a lot of the above books but enjoyed the Lance Armstrong, Paul McGrath and goal keepers one. Was it called Last Man Standing or something?

I can't believe someone read a book by/about Jonny Wilkinson. What a boring ****. The only sports books worth reading are by retired sportsmen or those on the edge of retirement. If they have an axe to grind it's even better.

You should read Mick Fitz's then, he has a serious axe with Richard Dunwoody, even though at times he tries to stress how good friends they are, then the next couple of pages he will lay into him!
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on May 06, 2009, 10:41:42 PM
ricky hattons was quite good i thought.oisins wasnt great,just all about his football career really.some of the stuff in mcgraths was mental,he drank a bottle of domestos once!
Post by: ONeill on May 06, 2009, 10:48:14 PM
Easily done. In 2002, my brother, ballaxed out of his head as was everyone after a function, made a bet with a man that Tyrone would win 2 All-Irelands within the next five years. Unfortunately he added 'consecutively'. They struck the bet by drinking paint-water at 5am thinking it was some kind of alcopop concoction.
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 06, 2009, 10:50:09 PM
Cascarino's 'Full Time' was very good, it was ghost written by Kimmage.  Very honest account about him getting a french bird up the damien duff whilst still with his wife.  Won and lost a fortune gambling too.
Post by: ONeill on May 06, 2009, 10:52:24 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on May 06, 2009, 10:50:09 PM
Cascarino's 'Full Time' was very good, it was ghost written by Kimmage.  Very honest account about him getting a french bird up the damien duff whilst still with his wife.  Won and lost a fortune gambling too.

Compelling read, simply because of the 'voices in his head' saying he was shite. Thought that was hilarious but excellent interpretation of his game by 'the voices' .
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 06, 2009, 10:54:35 PM
Whilst at Villa in the early 90's some of the fans wore t-shirts proclaiming 'I saw Tony Cascarino score a goal for the Villa'
Post by: 5 Sams on May 06, 2009, 11:10:04 PM
In order...
Cascarino...one of the best ever...but not written by him >:(
Anything by Lance Armstrong...whether you're with him or not it is some story.
Moss Keane....funny as f**k
Willie John...insprirational
Jack O'Connor...read it again this week......wonder will he do a few extra chapters :) :) :)

As for sports books...not autobiographies....

Anything by Tom Humphries is pure gold....but Rough Ride by Kimmage and Kings of September by Foley should be on your bookshelf...f**k Shakespeare....this is the stuff we're interested in...
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 07, 2009, 12:06:39 AM
Paul Cannoville's is very, very good. It won sport's book of the year there a few weeks back.

Cannoville was the first black player to play for Chelsea.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 07, 2009, 12:09:54 AM
Any other good wrestling ones?? Like spill the beans ones?

I am in a real wrestling mood here, have my Stone Cold DVD on and just ordered some more DVDs...

Loooking to get the Bret bok plus more if they are honest...

PS listening to WWE Theme Tunes, the best are Hulk, Ray Mysterio and John Cena...
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 07, 2009, 12:17:16 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 07, 2009, 12:10:47 AM
Ultimate Warrior def the best.

Book or just a personal hero??

Check out the Warrior here, nobosy knows what he was saying

http://manofest.com/index.php?option=com_myblog&show=THE-10-GREATEST-OLD-SCHOOL-WWF-PROMOS-OF-ALL-TIME.html&Itemid=1
Post by: corn02 on May 07, 2009, 12:39:23 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 07, 2009, 12:10:47 AM
Ultimate Warrior def the best.

If you like Warrior DO NOT read Hart's book.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 07, 2009, 12:50:18 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 07, 2009, 12:00:46 AM
Mo Bhealach Féin, Seosamh Mac Grianna.

He played right corner back for Rannafast once.

Bh'fhearr i  bhfad liom 'An Druma Mor" ach cibe...I mo thuairmse fein b'e 'Caisleain Oir' an ursceal is fearr thainig as na Rosann...

Agus I mind Joe playin...wasnt half as good as Leo i gCroithli...
Post by: flog the lot on May 07, 2009, 08:54:11 AM
Brian Coceran - very good
fowler - very good
stevie g - boring
lance armstrong - excellent
Ronaldo: The Journey of a Genius by James Mosley - good read although not written by ronaldo himself
Post by: Minder on May 07, 2009, 08:59:00 AM
Quote from: flog the lot on May 07, 2009, 08:54:11 AM
fowler - very good
stevie g - boring
Ronaldo: The Journey of a Genius by James Mosley - good read although not written by ronaldo himself

The real Ronaldo or the one that plays for Man Utd?
Post by: thebigfella on May 07, 2009, 09:08:13 AM
Quote from: Minder on May 07, 2009, 08:59:00 AM
fowler - very good
stevie g - boring

Should that not be the "fat" one who bottled it in a world cup final or the current world player of the year  ;)
Post by: Minder on May 07, 2009, 09:11:28 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on May 07, 2009, 09:08:13 AM
fowler - very good
stevie g - boring

Should that not be the "fat" one who bottled it in a world cup final or the current world player of the year  ;)

Best striker i have ever seen, on a par with Van Basten.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2009, 09:12:19 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on May 07, 2009, 09:08:13 AM
fowler - very good
stevie g - boring

Or maybe he means the Ronaldo who scored two goals in the 2002 World Cup Final and scored 8 in that whole tournament? and not the Ronaldo who bottled it by missing a peno in last years Champions League Final.............
Post by: The GAA on May 07, 2009, 10:59:22 AM

The best biogs are obviously the honest ones - a category which most do not fall into. for that reson cascarino's is v good - even though he's a virtual nobody. most soccer ones are shite as they've nothing to say. some of the great ones include "night train", "It's in the blood" and hauser's biog of ali.
Post by: new devil on May 07, 2009, 11:11:52 AM
Or the Ronaldo who scored in last years champions league final..sent his team into this years final and is currently the best player in the world  ???
Post by: The GAA on May 07, 2009, 11:16:10 AM

"Biographys" inthe middle or at the start of careers are a complete joke and should be banned
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2009, 11:20:34 AM
Best Sports book I ever read was "A Season on the brink" by Guillem Balague
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 07, 2009, 11:22:28 AM
CRonaldo has a long way to go before he can be put in the same bracket as the real Ronaldo...

The real Ronaldo is the best striker I have ever seen (too young to see Van Basten and before). At his prime, real Ronaldo was exhilirating and could take on any defence.

As for him 'bottling' it, you couldn't ask for a more big game player, he is the top goalscorer in the history of World Cups? So your argument is out the window

And re: the 98 final, he had took a fit the night before the match and clearly wasn't able to play but was put under pressure by sponsors etc to play. If he was fit there would have been a different result.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 07, 2009, 11:24:04 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2009, 11:20:34 AM

What was this one about RLL??

Can anyone recommend any other wrestling autobiographies (I don't rate many biographies tbh) that are honest and frank? I don't wanna hear all the stuff they have to say while they are still under contract by the WWE, like hearing the juicy stuff, screwjobs and the likes...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2009, 11:30:05 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 07, 2009, 11:24:04 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2009, 11:20:34 AM

What was this one about RLL??

Its about Liverpool Champions League win in 2005,but it also goes behind the scenes and gives great insight into the dressing room of Liverpool that season.
Post by: The GAA on May 07, 2009, 11:33:05 AM

Good mention too for Phil Jackson's "the final season" and "more than a game"
Post by: Minder on May 07, 2009, 11:34:58 AM
Quote from: The GAA on May 07, 2009, 11:33:05 AM

Was that the last season with the Lakers? Does it go into any detail about Shaq & Kobe's apparent dislike for each other?
Post by: The GAA on May 07, 2009, 12:20:56 PM
Yeah, the lakers and he talks plenty about them. the impression you're lef with is that he hasn't much time for kobe but like shaq
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2009, 01:15:04 PM
Quote from: The GAA on May 07, 2009, 12:20:56 PM
Yeah, the lakers and he talks plenty about them. the impression you're lef with is that he hasn't much time for kobe but like shaq
I think that is a common impression. Samuel L. Jackson in "Lakeview Terrace" even forbids his son to wear a Kobe jersey and makes him change into a Shaq Miami Heat outfit.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2009, 01:17:07 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2009, 01:15:04 PM
Quote from: The GAA on May 07, 2009, 12:20:56 PM
I think that is a common impression. Samuel L. Jackson in "Lakeview Terrace" even forbids his son to wear a Kobe jersey and makes him change into a Shaq Miami Heat outfit.

Is Lakeview Terrace any good? I downloaded it a while back but never watched it
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2009, 01:22:12 PM
Got mixed reviews over on the Movie Recommendations thread - I liked most of it but thought the last 20 mins or so got a bit stupid. It's a slow burner.
Post by: T O Hare on May 07, 2009, 01:26:53 PM
Liam Dunnes is one of the best i have ever read!!!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 07, 2009, 01:37:37 PM
So no other wrestling ones? I see there are plenty on the market but I on't wanna buy them if they aren't gonna be juicy and reveal all the behind the scenes gossip
Post by: Minder on May 07, 2009, 01:39:54 PM
Read "When nothing else matters" By Michael Leahy, he is a journalist who followed the Washington Wizards when Jordan was attempting his final comeback. Jordan does not come out of it too well.
Post by: thewingedlady on May 07, 2009, 01:48:12 PM
Quote from: The GAA on May 07, 2009, 11:33:05 AM

Read 'Sacred Hoops' not so long ago, great read altogether, breezed through it in no time. Some fantastic philosophies in it.

All time favourites would be Tony Cascarino, Kicking Down Heaven's Door (Mickey Harte), Carra, Hurling: The Revolution Years (Denis Walsh), Laptop Dancing and the Nannygoat Mambo (Tom Humphries), Paidi O'Se also.

Worst would include Oisin McConville, Robbie Fowler, and The Miracle of Istanbul (can't remember who wrote it but not a patch on Balague's effort.)
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 07, 2009, 03:01:52 PM
some of the ones I have enjoyed are - Larry Byrd, Michael Jordan(various), Tony adams, pat spillane (first book), cascarino, lance armstrong

These were good but the writers were a little bit ott in love with themselves making it a bit cringeworthy:
Maradona, austin healey, brian clough, stuart pearce

these were ok :
keane, mccarthy, vinnie jones, bryan robson, martin oneill, kenny dalglish, merson,

these were rubbish :
raising the banner- someone decided to not do this chronologically and in a more 'pulp fiction' formet. Destroyed what should have been a brilliant loughnane story.
gazza - just tripe

all imo
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 07, 2009, 03:17:43 PM
Has anyone read John Daly's?  Think it was mentioned on here before, meant to be brilliantly honest.
Post by: flog the lot on May 07, 2009, 03:35:25 PM
fowler - very good
stevie g - boring

The real ronaldo, was some player, remember his hattrick against man utd at old trafford in the CL was pure class!
christiano not fit to lace his boots!
Post by: corn02 on May 07, 2009, 03:54:08 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on May 07, 2009, 03:17:43 PM
Has anyone read John Daly's?  Think it was mentioned on here before, meant to be brilliantly honest.

That's it, I knew I started the same thread a while back but couldn;t remeber the book - it was Daly's.

Excellent read - a complete sc**bag at times, especially in his love life, but you can;t help bt love him.

Have to agree with GAA regarding books before career finished. Although there are gems they would all be conflicted by issues.

What is night train about?
Post by: SidelineKick on May 07, 2009, 04:00:05 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 07, 2009, 01:37:37 PM
So no other wrestling ones? I see there are plenty on the market but I on't wanna buy them if they aren't gonna be juicy and reveal all the behind the scenes gossip

There are plenty out there Nail. A few of them tell all the juicy gossip, for example, ITS FAKE!!!!!!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 07, 2009, 04:02:27 PM
If anyone wants to read a good GAA book get Pat Critchleys autobiography,called Hungry Hill
For those who don't know who he is he was a Laois dual star,he won a hurling all star for Laois in the 80's and a club football All Ireland with Portlaoise in 1983
It really is a great book
Post by: Santino on May 07, 2009, 04:03:49 PM
Jericho's is by far the best and funniest wrestling one i've read. Even better than Harts and Foleys. Loadsa road stories and you wouldn't have to be a wrestling fan at all to enjoy it. It ends with him entering the WWE so a second volume is likely in future.
Avoid the official WWE ones cuz they censor all the bitching, sex and craic stories.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 07, 2009, 04:10:18 PM
Quote from: Santino on May 07, 2009, 04:03:49 PM
Jericho's is by far the best and funniest wrestling one i've read. Even better than Harts and Foleys. Loadsa road stories and you wouldn't have to be a wrestling fan at all to enjoy it. It ends with him entering the WWE so a second volume is likely in future.
Avoid the official WWE ones cuz they censor all the bitching, sex and craic stories.

I'd say Dynamite Kid's is the best of all of them - it's very hard to get a hold of though
Post by: corn02 on May 07, 2009, 04:11:26 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on May 07, 2009, 04:00:05 PM

There are plenty out there Nail. A few of them tell all the juicy gossip, for example, ITS FAKE!!!!!!!

Indeed it is fake, what that has to do with this thread I don not know?

Wrestling is easily one of the most dangerous (drugs/serious injury), corrupt, and tragic sports - therefore autbiographies should always be very good.

Read Hart's book SK and then tell me if fakeness comes into it in terms of biographies.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 07, 2009, 04:14:44 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 07, 2009, 04:10:18 PM

I'd say Dynamite Kid's is the best of all of them - it's very hard to get a hold of though
does it talk about his tag team exploits with the british bulldog and chocolate kid ?
(in short - yer showng yer age !)
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 07, 2009, 04:16:50 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 07, 2009, 04:14:44 PM

does it talk about his tag team exploits with the british bulldog and chocolate kid ?

Get out of that Lynchbhoy you're more of a Giant Haystacks and Big Daddy generation....
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 07, 2009, 04:22:24 PM
Dynamite's book definitely looks at the dark side of the business (very detailed about steroid use and the likes - including one story when Davey Boy moved to Calgary to start training and paid Dynamite to get him steroids - Dynamite spent the money and took to injecting Davey Boy with milk instead of steroids for a month).

He was a mad fecker too - read the stories that Bret says about him in his book. Actually - the whole Hart family is messed up
Post by: SidelineKick on May 07, 2009, 04:25:25 PM
Quote from: corn02 on May 07, 2009, 04:11:26 PM

Wrestling is easily one of the most dangerous (drugs/serious injury), corrupt, and tragic sports - therefore autbiographies should always be very good.

Read Hart's book SK and then tell me if fakeness comes into it in terms of biographies.

Wrestling is a sport?

A scripted "battle" between grown men fake punching each other is a sport?

Ok.

I'm sure the autobiographies are very good.  The "sport" itself is not*

* unless you are aged 4 - 10.
Post by: corn02 on May 07, 2009, 04:33:14 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on May 07, 2009, 04:25:25 PM
Quote from: corn02 on May 07, 2009, 04:11:26 PM

Wrestling is a sport?

A scripted "battle" between grown men fake punching each other is a sport?

Ok.

I'm sure the autobiographies are very good.  The "sport" itself is not*

* unless you are aged 4 - 10.

Definition of sport; an activity involving physical exertion and skill in which an individual or team competes against another or others for entertainment

I actually did not mean to say sport, I think it is called sports entertainment.

Anyway you miss the point - justbecaus it is fake does not mean the autobiographies are not brilliant.
Post by: SidelineKick on May 07, 2009, 04:37:38 PM
I know, I was just being twisty.

I'm glad you know its sports entertainment otherwise me and Our Nail having a farting competition for your entertainment could also be called a sport (and could potentially be more dangerous than wrestling).

I wouldn't actually mind reading one of the autobiographies as I'm sure theres alot of bitchin' and back stabbing goes on.  They wouldnt all be best buds I'm sure!

What's the jist of Harts?
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 07, 2009, 04:43:08 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 07, 2009, 04:16:50 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 07, 2009, 04:14:44 PM

Get out of that Lynchbhoy you're more of a Giant Haystacks and Big Daddy generation....
I actually saw all of those mentioned wrestling live many moons ago  :-X
Post by: corn02 on May 07, 2009, 04:46:41 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on May 07, 2009, 04:37:38 PM

I'm glad you know its sports entertainment otherwise me and Our Nail having a farting competition for your entertainment could also be called a sport (and could potentially be more dangerous than wrestling).

I wouldn't actually mind reading one of the autobiographies as I'm sure theres alot of bitchin' and back stabbing goes on.  They wouldnt all be best buds I'm sure!

The jists? Drugs, deaths, sex, more deaths, money, death, back stabbing, deaths, success, more drugs, belfast, sex, deaths.

One of the most interesting things is how in the 70s that most believed it was actaully real and the efforts they went to to keep it that way.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 07, 2009, 05:14:49 PM
Quote from: corn02 on May 07, 2009, 04:46:41 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on May 07, 2009, 04:37:38 PM

The jists? Drugs, deaths, sex, more deaths, money, death, back stabbing, deaths, success, more drugs, belfast, sex, deaths.

One of the most interesting things is how in the 70s that most believed it was actaully real and the efforts they went to to keep it that way.

Have you read about the Montreal Screwjob yet? Where McMahon double crossed Hart by changing the outcome of his match against Shawn Michaels at the last minute without telling Hart?
Post by: SidelineKick on May 07, 2009, 05:17:13 PM
Would he not need to know to play along with it???
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 07, 2009, 05:25:15 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on May 07, 2009, 05:17:13 PM
Would he not need to know to play along with it???

If you've 20 minutes read this

http://brethart.info/wrestling-observer-newsletter/
Post by: behind the wire on August 04, 2009, 12:20:11 PM
Any more books to be recommended?

Has anyone evr read Never Die easy by Walter Payton?
Post by: lurganblue on August 04, 2009, 01:35:01 PM
reading Neil Lennon's book "Man and Bhoy" at the minute. i'm up to the final in Seville. Interesting enough book but i wouldnt say its a classic. I suppose i have an interest in his career, with him coming from lurgan.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 04, 2009, 02:23:38 PM
Tony Cascarino's is not a bad read. 

Full Time: The Secret Life of Tony Cascarino. Simon & Schuster/TownHouse. 2000
Post by: irunthev on August 04, 2009, 02:42:12 PM
Rod MacQueen's "One Step Ahead" is the best autobiography book I have read in terms of management, while Brad Friedel's "Thinking Outside the Box" is excellent in terms of the mental approach to sport.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 04, 2009, 05:38:59 PM
O Gara's is surprisingly good despite him being a tawt
Post by: Treasurer on August 05, 2009, 01:59:41 AM
Finally got around to "Kings of September" on holidays - good read, but maybe that's just because of where I'm from :)
Post by: Celt_Man on November 10, 2009, 07:57:36 PM
i knew there was a thread on this....

I just read Liam Dunne's autobiography recently.... top book I would highly recommended it to any GAA man. 

Dunne strikes me as an honest fecker and he pulls no punches in the book.  He admits to many mistakes in it and gives a good insight into the Wexford psyche pre the 96 All Ireland...
Post by: Minder on November 10, 2009, 08:02:25 PM
Reading "Boys Will Be Boys" about the Dallas Cowboys of the early 90's. The author reckons "ego, coke and pussy" brought the team down ! Great read for anyone with an interest in the NFL.
Post by: Shazam on November 10, 2009, 08:32:41 PM
Shane Warnes is a good laugh
Post by: 5 Sams on February 11, 2011, 11:39:46 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 11, 2011, 11:21:41 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 07, 2009, 12:50:18 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 07, 2009, 12:00:46 AM
Mo Bhealach Féin, Seosamh Mac Grianna.

He played right corner back for Rannafast once.

Bh'fhearr i  bhfad liom 'An Druma Mor" ach cibe...I mo thuairmse fein b'e 'Caisleain Oir' an ursceal is fearr thainig as na Rosann...

Agus I mind Joe playin...wasnt half as good as Leo i gCroithli...
Decided last Saturday to give this another go. Finished it tonight and I hate my life. I should have known that the ending wouldn't have changed from the other times I read it. If you want all your hopes and dreams to be flushed down the bog, read this book.

A short synopsis (WITH SPOILERS):
Set in the early 19s, Rannafast, Co. Donegal, a wee lad and a wee girl grow up together as great friends and as children often talked about sailing off together to the castles on the horizon where they would live happily ever after. There is all this other class stuff about life in the Gaeltacht back then (which IMO has been seriously romanticised by Séamas Ó Grianna). With brilliant characters like Cearrbhach Bheití (who hits the teacher and then later a couple of soldiers before escaping in a wee boat), the book is brilliant. Anyway, back to the main bit. So this boy and girl grow up and are starting to get serious when yer man realises he hasn't a bean. He reckons that they can't get married until he goes to Glasgow to make money (but he probably just wants to go to watch Celtic and go into the wee Irish boozers and have good craic). So then he returns to Rannafast with a few quid (and probably a green and white football shirt with 'Ljungberg' on the back).

So, it's all set up, he meets this blade who he has been thinking about the whole time, and her doing the same about him. They're going to live happily ever after...........NOOOO! They meet up, talk about who has died since he left and head on.

Fuar, Fuar.

What a kick in the stones.

Never did like thon Babai Mhairtin hoor.....
Post by: Iolann Fionn on February 11, 2011, 11:57:19 PM
Jimí s'againne.....bhail.....níor fhág sé an chisteanach ariamh.

B'fhearr liomsa An Druma Mór.
Post by: Iolann Fionn on February 12, 2011, 12:33:42 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 12, 2011, 12:29:12 AM
Quote from: Iolann Fionn on February 11, 2011, 11:57:19 PM
Jimí s'againne.....bhail.....níor fhág sé an chisteanach ariamh.

B'fhearr liomsa An Druma Mór.
"Tá sé fíor," arsa an seanduine.

"Is é atá," arsa Séimí, "fíor, fíor."
Ha ha. Thaitin sin liom. Beidh Jimí s'againne ar buille.