Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: rosnarun on May 05, 2009, 08:36:24 PM

Title: any unusual activites for simple mayo folk in new york
Post by: rosnarun on May 05, 2009, 08:36:24 PM
with half of mayo going to new york next week has any one any different or odd ball suggestions of what we might get up to after the match. apart from the usual  sightseeing and visiting your aunties type stuff . I havnet bee before so i intenfd to spend one day crossing sight off my list rockerfella centre empire state building world trade towers base ball game ellis island  ect.
Title: Re: any unusual activites for simple mayo folk in new york
Post by: mylestheslasher on May 05, 2009, 08:41:45 PM
Ellis Island is a really interesting, if terribly sad place. Give the baseball a miss, boring shite.
Post by: mountainboii on May 05, 2009, 08:44:45 PM
You'll be doing well to get in all those in one day. You have to factor in queues when heading to places like the Empire State and Ellis Island.
Post by: ludermor on May 05, 2009, 10:01:53 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 05, 2009, 08:36:24 PM
with half of mayo going to new york next week has any one any different or odd ball suggestions of what we might get up to after the match. apart from the usual  sightseeing and visiting your aunties type stuff . I havnet bee before so i intenfd to spend one day crossing sight off my list rockerfella centre empire state building world trade towers base ball game ellis island  ect.

Keep an eye out for a few commas when you are there!
Post by: thebandit on May 05, 2009, 10:24:26 PM
Empire State building is over-rated.... Go to the top of the rockefeller centre. Not up just as high but same effect. Plus its on 5th avenue so you are likely to be heading that direction anyway.

Twin towers site is eerie.... always seems to be cold around it!
Post by: rosnarun on May 05, 2009, 10:24:59 PM
Quote from: ludermor on May 05, 2009, 10:01:53 PM
never found that shop met a few nuns in my teens tried to pass a few off on me  your not sr patrica are you?

Post by: rosnarun on May 05, 2009, 10:25:53 PM
Quote from: ludermor on May 05, 2009, 10:01:53 PM

illtryagain

never found that shop met a few nuns in my teens tried to pass a few off on me  your not sr patrica are you?
Post by: ludermor on May 05, 2009, 10:26:36 PM
id say the damage was done at that stage!
Post by: rosnarun on May 05, 2009, 10:31:57 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 05, 2009, 08:44:45 PM
You'll be doing well to get in all those in one day. You have to factor in queues when heading to places like the Empire State and Ellis Island.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,(please insert as required).

my point iin listing those out was to get them out of, the way a hoped people would give me better ideas . ive no intention of queueing for a couple of hours to go to a large height to look down at where ive co,me up from. and pay for the privilege
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 05, 2009, 10:59:58 PM
The Statin Island ferry is a nice boat ride, inexpensive and you will see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. When you come back in you will be able to walk to Wall Street then onto Ground Zero. Use the subway system its the cheapest and quickest way to get around NYC. Stay out of all bars that are called Blarney Stone, Blarney Rock, Blarney Castle etc as they are all mostly dumps.
Post by: rosnarun on May 06, 2009, 03:32:52 AM

ok i've got the big sites covered. anything with a little more Pizzaz? or a bit o umph or  whap
some suggestions i got was the coyote ugly bar, comedy cellar,Chelsea village
Post by: nifan on May 06, 2009, 09:17:06 AM
QuoteChelsea village

you do realise chelsea is the gay district?
Did you mean greenwhich village?

And coyote ugly bar is shite.
Post by: rossie mad on May 06, 2009, 09:35:01 AM
Chelsea village

Sure thats where all the mayo fans want go ;D
Post by: ludermor on May 06, 2009, 09:39:34 AM
Quote from: rossie mad on May 06, 2009, 09:35:01 AM
Chelsea village

Sure thats where all the mayo fans want go ;D

Suppose not harm trying something new, we are sick of f**king rossies.
Post by: EC Unique on May 06, 2009, 09:51:44 AM
Get a chopper sight seeing tour around Manhatton. $200 but well worth it ;)
Post by: rossie mad on May 06, 2009, 09:59:16 AM
Touche

was there in 05 for a week when we were out there.great championship atmosphere.when your walking down 5th avenue with a sore head in the morning and your meeting fellow rossies or in yer case fellow mayo comrades its a bit sentimental.ellis island is a must see believe me.stay away from empire state its over rated and time consuming.

night live is great but stay where recommended.get in contact with people you know out there.they will know all the good haunts.
Finally just cause a bar has an irish reference in its name doesnt mean its a great irish bar.alot of them spots are small and dingy holes where the usual customers are bums.so go to whats recommended.

Post by: Canalman on May 06, 2009, 11:54:20 AM
Walk the city top to bottom. On a personal level I always try and have a quiet beer in Hells Kitchen on the West Side ( not far from the Aircraft Carrier museum) in one of the Irish bars there. Another fave bar is one off Times Square run by Muhammed Ali's former cutman...... can't remember its name for now. A real "neighbourhood" bar with some collection of boxing memorabilia on the walls.

Give "Little Italy" a miss and try popping into the Jewish area of Brooklyn (near the bridge)...... a real eye opener.
Anyway, all the Mayo gang will all probably  drink in one of the "Mayo" bars iin the Bronx.
You lucky sod, enjoy.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 06, 2009, 01:52:05 PM
If you're a fan of the Sopranos then the Sopranos tour is a must...
Post by: Rossfan on May 06, 2009, 03:13:58 PM
Quote from: ludermor on May 06, 2009, 09:39:34 AM
, we are sick of f**king rossies.

Ya left out the word sheep :-*
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 06, 2009, 03:19:17 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on May 05, 2009, 08:41:45 PMGive the baseball a miss, boring shite.

It's not really  ???
Post by: ludermor on May 06, 2009, 03:33:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 06, 2009, 03:13:58 PM
Quote from: ludermor on May 06, 2009, 09:39:34 AM
, we are sick of f**king rossies.

Ya left out the word sheep :-*

ok

we sheep are sick of f**king rossies

I always thought is was the other way round but you learn something new every day!
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 06, 2009, 03:51:46 PM
Go to the Bronx man and see the Yankees.  The D train will take you there 151st Street... God be with the days  :'(
The worst TV sport but actually is good craic and action live. maybe best to get someone along to explain all the rules if you don't know them.
LET"S GO YANKEES!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19pQPZK3dAE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19pQPZK3dAE)
Post by: nifan on May 06, 2009, 03:59:41 PM
Heard this is interesting

http://accomplicetheshow.com (http://accomplicetheshow.com)
Post by: passedit on May 06, 2009, 04:27:45 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 06, 2009, 03:51:46 PM
Go to the Bronx man and see the Yankees.  The D train will take you there 151st Street... God be with the days  :'(
The worst TV sport but actually is good craic and action live. maybe best to get someone along to explain all the rules if you don't know them.
LET"S GO YANKEES!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19pQPZK3dAE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19pQPZK3dAE)

Heading there for a wedding on the bank holiday weekend, anybody any idea on the best way to get tickets for the Yankees on a sat afternoon. Just tried their site and the cheapest are $900 a seat?
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 06, 2009, 04:31:14 PM
That does not sound right at all... I used to get them outside ground-rite enuff that was before they linked up with Man Utd who probably taught them how to fleece 'customers' 
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 06, 2009, 04:33:50 PM
Don't head into Harlem and ask, "what's the craíc?"  ;)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 06, 2009, 04:34:39 PM
Quote from: passedit on May 06, 2009, 04:27:45 PMHeading there for a wedding on the bank holiday weekend, anybody any idea on the best way to get tickets for the Yankees on a sat afternoon. Just tried their site and the cheapest are $900 a seat?

Stubhub is your better bet

http://www.stubhub.com/new-york-yankees-tickets/

Post by: take_yer_points on May 06, 2009, 04:44:23 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 06, 2009, 03:32:52 AM

ok i've got the big sites covered. anything with a little more Pizzaz? or a bit o umph or  whap

There's a revolving bar fairly high up in the Mariott hotel in Times Square that's worth a visit
Post by: passedit on May 06, 2009, 04:45:40 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 06, 2009, 04:34:39 PM
Quote from: passedit on May 06, 2009, 04:27:45 PMHeading there for a wedding on the bank holiday weekend, anybody any idea on the best way to get tickets for the Yankees on a sat afternoon. Just tried their site and the cheapest are $900 a seat?

Stubhub is your better bet

http://www.stubhub.com/new-york-yankees-tickets/

Cheers
Post by: highorlow on May 06, 2009, 04:46:38 PM
There is a great restaurant under Brooklyn Bridge called the river cafe. You could work up an appetite by taking the walkway over the bridge itself, its one of the best walks in New Yak.

After a feed you could do no worse than catch a show in the Spiegletent (if its still there) on south pier (you should be able to see it on your LHS crossing the Bridge).
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 06, 2009, 04:46:58 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on May 06, 2009, 04:44:23 PM

There's a revolving bar fairly high up in the Mariott hotel in Times Square that's worth a visit

It doesn't revolve  ;)
Post by: Canalman on May 06, 2009, 05:29:07 PM
Jeez, Forgot to mention going to the batting cages close to Navy Pier. Spent 2 hours there one morning "swatting" away to my heart's content.

Strangely for a litigious culture I was only given a bat and helmet and let off . Great stuff altogether. The machine can be calibrated to throw the ball at different speeds.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on May 06, 2009, 06:46:52 PM
Quote from: AFS on May 05, 2009, 08:44:45 PM
Head to the Empire State at about 10pm if you want to avoid the queues and get to see New York at night.
Do Ellis Island and maybe the Statue of Liberty first thing in the morning and there won't be any queues either.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 06, 2009, 09:08:31 PM
Poxy fecker Ros, enjoy the trip and have a pint for us poor saps sitting at home listening to the wireless! And I ain't talking broadband internet connections
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 06, 2009, 10:49:34 PM
Fly through the bermuda triangle on yere way back ;)
Post by: 5 Sams on May 06, 2009, 11:23:10 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 06, 2009, 04:46:58 PM

It doesn't revolve  ;)

Stop stirring the shit...it does revolve...well it did the last time I was there this time last year....however I would have to say avoid it at all costs.....rip off...20 bucks for a buffet...buffet my hole...you'd see much better in any B and B in Kerry.......8 bucks for a beer....worse than Temple Bar ;)
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 06, 2009, 11:23:48 PM
Do you mean unusual as in well, unusual or do you mean unusual as in illegal?
Just high around Times Square a bit and look like you're just an innocent gom and a bit outa place- like a Roscommon man out for the day ad you'll get loads of offers you'll find hard to turn down!
Post by: rosnarun on May 07, 2009, 01:04:38 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 06, 2009, 11:23:48 PM
Do you mean unusual as in well, unusual or do you mean unusual as in illegal?
Just high around Times Square a bit and look like you're just an innocent gom and a bit outa place- like a Roscommon man out for the day ad you'll get loads of offers you'll find hard to turn down!

well at least some one read the title . though in fairness the suggestions are improving . we have ellis island down to one in every 3 posts.
is it legal to 'Just high around Times Square' have they really got that  relaxed?
having said that some comedian possibly woody allen had a line about if you dont want to be mugged in NYC just dont wash and dribble and every one will stay well away from you.
I m safe enough i reckon
Post by: take_yer_points on May 07, 2009, 09:54:31 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 06, 2009, 11:23:10 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 06, 2009, 04:46:58 PM

It doesn't revolve  ;)

Stop stirring the shit...it does revolve...well it did the last time I was there this time last year....however I would have to say avoid it at all costs.....rip off...20 bucks for a buffet...buffet my hole...you'd see much better in any B and B in Kerry.......8 bucks for a beer....worse than Temple Bar ;)

I think maybe he means the actual bar doesn't resolve but all the seats and tables too - they revolve around the bar.
Post by: ludermor on May 07, 2009, 11:45:06 AM
Ros,
I dont know if these places are still going but the Hellfire club was supposed to be an experience and the Tunnel was unmissable, as i said i have no idea if hey are still on the go.