GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: the salmon of knowledge on April 29, 2009, 08:49:51 PM

Title: La na gClub
Post by: the salmon of knowledge on April 29, 2009, 08:49:51 PM
Does anyone have any good ideas for things and activities to do on the day??
Title: Re: La na gClub
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2009, 09:02:51 PM
Bouncy castles
Post by: aroundincircles on April 29, 2009, 09:07:10 PM
strippers????
Post by: cavan4ever on April 29, 2009, 09:41:36 PM
Wellie throwing.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 29, 2009, 10:36:08 PM
Strippers on bouncy castles!
Post by: aroundincircles on April 29, 2009, 10:37:21 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 29, 2009, 10:36:08 PM
Strippers on bouncy castles!

With only wellies on that would go down well around the rahillys.
Post by: qub la la la on April 29, 2009, 11:46:41 PM
think the insurance companies are gonna ban smiling, laughing and having craic. was discussed at a meetin in our club about what we'd do and most things suggested were in the not allowed list supplied by croke park.

the wellie throwing could be dangerous. the wellie might hit someone or the thrower might hurt their shoulder, the stripper might catch the cold, or flu or this oul swines flu. and just dont even go there with the bouncy castles.
Post by: rrhf on April 30, 2009, 08:11:07 AM
Ziggy To save money on bouncy castles use space hoppers on a cattle trailer.  There should be plenty of them around greencastle the renowned cattle rustling capital of the North. 
Post by: Declan on April 30, 2009, 09:17:12 AM
Exhibition Games by the girls and boys of Dunshaughlin - 1967 v. 1977 game - Historical exhibition and club museum - A Rounders display and Kick Fada competition - The Fastest Mile Competition - Raising of the 125 flag - A visit from the US Ambassador to Ireland, who will assist with a commemorative Tree planting ceremony - Time Capsule - 125 Memory Wall - Reunion of past teams - Traditional Music and Dance from Scor - BBQ and refreshments - And much more..... - This is what we've planned
Post by: AbbeySider on April 30, 2009, 11:23:29 AM
Quote from: Declan on April 30, 2009, 09:17:12 AM
Exhibition Games by the girls and boys of Dunshaughlin - 1967 v. 1977 game

I thought it was supposed to be a weekend of rest for adults?
Post by: ziggysego on April 30, 2009, 11:44:10 AM
I think football matches between the various townlands in a parish would be a good idea.
Post by: LeoMc on April 30, 2009, 12:09:21 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 30, 2009, 11:44:10 AM
I think football matches between the various townlands in a parish would be a good idea.

That might be something for Errigal to consider!!! ??? ???
Post by: tree tops on April 30, 2009, 12:11:41 PM
Quote from: the salmon of knowledge on April 29, 2009, 08:49:51 PM
Does anyone have any good ideas for things and activities to do on the day??

I was at a GAA fun day about 10 years ago in Swatragh and they billed their big game on the Sunday afternoon as the camogs vs the hurlers.  It was hilarious - out came the camogs togged out ready for battle, followed by the hurlers all dressed as women.  High heels, tights, blouses, hand bags and the lot.  it was hilarious.
Post by: aroundincircles on April 30, 2009, 01:04:50 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on April 30, 2009, 12:09:21 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 30, 2009, 11:44:10 AM

That might be something for Errigal to consider!!! ??? ???

Fr Hegarty will referee it. On second thoughts sure they have god himself for that job..
Post by: aidanmcg33 on May 05, 2009, 10:17:02 PM
Here is our clubs activites for the weekend:

http://www.silverbridgegfc.com/link/24-other-news/592-la-na-gclub.html (http://www.silverbridgegfc.com/link/24-other-news/592-la-na-gclub.html)
Post by: Square Ball on May 05, 2009, 10:20:52 PM
Quote from: aidanmcg33 on May 05, 2009, 10:17:02 PM

http://www.silverbridgegfc.com/link/24-other-news/592-la-na-gclub.html (http://www.silverbridgegfc.com/link/24-other-news/592-la-na-gclub.html)

is that Toadie from neighbours on your front page?
Post by: Lecale2 on May 05, 2009, 10:36:05 PM
What's the Silverbridge Rose Contest?

I think a good traditional Mass has to form a part of any club's celebration. We have arranged a Mass, bouncy castle, folk night and teenage disco. All are taking place at the same time in the Good Sheppard Chapel.
Post by: ziggysego on May 06, 2009, 04:25:05 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on May 05, 2009, 10:20:52 PM
Quote from: aidanmcg33 on May 05, 2009, 10:17:02 PM

is that Toadie from neighbours on your front page?

:D :D :D :D :D
Post by: fred the red on May 06, 2009, 06:14:37 PM
is that lotto correct at €37,500  :o

how long has it went not won?

what is the largest club lotto around the country then?
Post by: wobbller on May 06, 2009, 07:08:59 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on May 05, 2009, 10:36:05 PM
What's the Silverbridge Rose Contest?

I think a good traditional Mass has to form a part of any club's celebration. We have arranged a Mass, bouncy castle, folk night and teenage disco. All are taking place at the same time in the Good Sheppard Chapel.

Are you sure you have this correct?  Is it a Glastonbury type event? ;D ;D
Post by: aidanmcg33 on May 06, 2009, 07:14:35 PM
Quote from: fred the red on May 06, 2009, 06:14:37 PM
is that lotto correct at €37,500  :o

how long has it went not won?

what is the largest club lotto around the country then?

The lotto was last won on the 16th Feb and the prize was £17,800. 
If your interested in purchasing a ticket you can do so through locallotto.ie. Im not sure what the largest club lotto is but the last time I checked on local lotto ours was but that was a while back now.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 06, 2009, 07:39:01 PM
Great work on the site aidan, looks the part.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on May 07, 2009, 09:01:03 AM
I was up in your club last Saturday night Pints, for the Peter Keeley quiz. Great hospitality, as always. Having the Artane band is a bit of a coup.
Post by: mattockranger on May 07, 2009, 11:32:11 AM
well folks need help!

anyone have any experience with time capsule's

wat they have used and what they have put in it

all feedback and help welcome!
Post by: Joxer on May 07, 2009, 11:49:35 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on May 07, 2009, 09:01:03 AM
I was up in your club last Saturday night Pints, for the Peter Keeley quiz. Great hospitality, as always. Having the Artane band is a bit of a coup.

Never underestimate the power of Jarleth!
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 07, 2009, 06:55:44 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on May 07, 2009, 09:01:03 AM
aye should be excellent, gutted I'm missing it. 
Post by: amallon on May 08, 2009, 01:57:01 PM
I just checked the forecast gives a 60% of rain on Sunday.  I'm sure we aren't the only club who are praying for good weather.  If its a washout it will be a real shame as I'm sure more clubs have plenty of out door activities planned.

Monday - next Sunday are forecast to be bone dry, typical.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 08, 2009, 02:38:17 PM
Quote from: amallon on May 08, 2009, 01:57:01 PM
I just checked the forecast gives a 60% of rain on Sunday.  I'm sure we aren't the only club who are praying for good weather.  If its a washout it will be a real shame as I'm sure more clubs have plenty of out door activities planned.

Monday - next Sunday are forecast to be bone dry, typical.

I know of at least one club here in Sligo that have cancelled their activites. Hopefully if it does rain its just a few showers and doesn't curtail matters too much.

Really looking forward to the day - a lot of hard work to do beforehand.
Post by: rrhf on May 08, 2009, 03:43:12 PM
Theres never much craic with a bouncy castle and it raining.
Post by: milltown row on May 08, 2009, 03:51:12 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 08, 2009, 03:43:12 PM
Theres never much craic with a bouncy castle and it raining.

ok a wet bouncy castle, all ya need is some t-shirts and lady footballers and ............
Post by: amallon on May 08, 2009, 03:56:30 PM
Bouncy castles are frowned apon by the GAA, seriously!  Girls in wet t-shirts on bouncy castles would probably be a massive no no as well!
Post by: Square Ball on May 08, 2009, 05:48:42 PM
i think every club will be praying for good weather on Sunday, must get the priest doing our club mass on Saturday to put an extra wee word in with the big fella.

It will be a pity if the celebrations were marred by rain as I doubt if many have a plan B
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on May 09, 2009, 11:28:40 AM
We could start by putting a fada on the a in Lá?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 09, 2009, 11:57:16 AM
Quote from: Ping Pong Santa on May 09, 2009, 11:28:40 AM

How dare you mock the salmon of knowledge. He's dyslexic you know.
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on May 09, 2009, 12:09:39 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 09, 2009, 11:57:16 AM

Are you following me?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 09, 2009, 12:15:11 PM
Quote from: Ping Pong Santa on May 09, 2009, 12:09:39 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 09, 2009, 11:57:16 AM

Are you following me?

What? Me? No.

I have been on this forum a loooong time.
Post by: armaghniac on May 09, 2009, 05:13:47 PM
from met.ie
Cloudy tomorrow in parts of Munster and south Leinster with further rain or drizzle at times, but some good dry periods developing later. Brighter over the rest of the country with sunny periods and just a few scattered showers. Highest temperatures between 11 and 14 degrees, coolest near east and south coasts. Freshening east to northeasterly winds.

Not so bad. The likes of Sligo or Down should be OK, bar a shower or two and a cool breeze.
Post by: Square Ball on May 10, 2009, 10:38:05 AM
well here we go, all the preparation has been done and its the big day, weather in Belfast is SUNNY at the minute so let hope it stays that way, the Child of Prague statues must have done theire job
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 10, 2009, 11:24:14 AM
It's a lovely morning in North Tyrone too.
Post by: stpauls on May 10, 2009, 07:58:20 PM
the child of prague certainly did its job today alright!! a fantastic day weather wise, as well as a great day in the club, a fantastic success.
there is also talk of it becoming an annual event!! not sure i could handle all the work that went into it every year mind!!
Post by: Square Ball on May 10, 2009, 08:03:21 PM
Great day all round here as well, hundreds in Cherryvale enjoying the craic, games and sideshows. 
Post by: Pangurban on May 10, 2009, 08:17:44 PM
Visited Three Clubs in Down today, and events while well supported were very low key and unimaginative, there was general air of we are here because we feel we should be. What was needed was a pageant.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 10, 2009, 10:06:46 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 10, 2009, 10:00:37 PM
Brilliant day in Silverbridge in bright sunshine. Artane Band parade was huge, plenty of competitions and a great exhibition of memorabilia. Full marks to all who made it happen.
Couldnt be there but was just going to post that I heard it was great day and the Artane band couldnt be commended enough.  Hope they enjoyed our hospitality too before moving on to rougher areas of south armagh.   :)

I'm looking forward to the opening of the time capsule already! 

Quote from: stpauls on May 10, 2009, 07:58:20 PM
the child of prague certainly did its job today alright!! a fantastic day weather wise, as well as a great day in the club, a fantastic success.
there is also talk of it becoming an annual event!! not sure i could handle all the work that went into it every year mind!!
I think an annual thing would get very stale very quickly.
Post by: Square Ball on May 11, 2009, 12:11:43 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 10, 2009, 10:06:46 PM
Brilliant day in Silverbridge in bright sunshine. Artane Band parade was huge, plenty of competitions and a great exhibition of memorabilia. Full marks to all who made it happen.
Couldnt be there but was just going to post that I heard it was great day and the Artane band couldnt be commended enough.  Hope they enjoyed our hospitality too before moving on to rougher areas of south armagh.   :)

I'm looking forward to the opening of the time capsule already! 

Quote from: stpauls on May 10, 2009, 07:58:20 PM
I think an annual thing would get very stale very quickly.

agree POG, every other year would be enough
Post by: DownFanatic on May 11, 2009, 02:32:04 PM
An unreal day in Dundrum yesterday for La na gClub.

We got good coverage in the Irish News today with a couple of articles on our pitch being dedicated to Jack Kielty.

There was a massive turnout for such a small club and its days like these which make you proud to be a member of the GAA.
Post by: Square Ball on May 11, 2009, 06:54:47 PM
You did get good coverage in the Irish News DF, we got a little and the report said 200  >:(!!! the reporter was either there at 1:30 or couldnt count.
Post by: Legs11 on May 11, 2009, 09:04:18 PM
Great weekend in silverbridge as rite dougal.they had all the ole boys playin sat nite and must say was great the watch..lot hard work when on to get things ready so fair play to all the people who done so much well done...