GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Barney on April 28, 2009, 08:21:53 AM

Title: Mayo v New York, Gaelic Park 10.05.09
Post by: Barney on April 28, 2009, 08:21:53 AM
Sadly my imminent wedding means that a trip to NYC isn't on the agenda and I envy those taking the flight.

I wonder could swine flu scupper the whole bloody thing though?

Anyhow it is the start of Championship 09 for us. Of course we should win but a good bonding weekend and no injuries for the team would be two more positives to throw into the mix.
Title: Re: Mayo v New York, Gaelic Park 10.05.09
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 28, 2009, 08:38:56 AM
Quote from: Barney on April 28, 2009, 08:21:53 AM
Sadly my imminent wedding means that a trip to NYC isn't on the agenda and I envy those taking the flight.

I wonder could swine flu scupper the whole bloody thing though?

Anyhow it is the start of Championship 09 for us. Of course we should win but a good bonding weekend and no injuries for the team would be two more positives to throw into the mix.

One of the best quotes ever Barney!!! You should have booked the honeymoon for NY!
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 28, 2009, 09:04:04 AM
Congrats on the wedding Barney! And I think I speak for us all here when I hope and pray that the future Mrs Barney does not visit this site, or else you could be the doghouse for a while. A good while.  :D
Post by: Foreverhopeful on April 28, 2009, 02:19:17 PM
are we down a few because of exams for this one or are they travelling out after?
When is the captain being picked?
Post by: mannix on April 28, 2009, 03:32:50 PM
poor barney, well at least one mayo man will score that weekend.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 28, 2009, 03:44:09 PM
Good man, Barney; congratulations and best wishes and may both you and Mrs. Barney to be  have a long and happy future together.
Post by: Barney on April 28, 2009, 04:48:03 PM
Thanks for the good wishes lads - ICC I haven't a clue what you are on about!!

Anyway back to important things - the Mayo News says Keith Higgins is playing hurling instead of going to New York, we beat Kildare in a challenge, and Aidan O'Shea was sent off in a club game.

I think the captain is being picked before New York. Hard to know really who will get it. Of the players that lined up in the league I suppose McGarrity, Dillon and Trevor would be prime candidates. Maybe Johnno will go and give it to Austie though - many supporters couldn't wish for more than seeing him getting his hands on Sam.

Did ye see Kevin O'Neill is returning to Knockmore and Pat Kelly will be lCastlebar?
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 28, 2009, 05:51:52 PM
Quotewe beat Kildare in a challenge

Any report on that?
Post by: muppet on April 28, 2009, 06:33:06 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 28, 2009, 05:51:52 PM

Any report on that?

Ye were shite.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 28, 2009, 09:33:07 PM
Would love to be going myself too but unlike Barney its not romance keeping me away but feckin work and lack of money :-[

I'd say there could be a small enough crew going.
Post by: AbbeySider on April 28, 2009, 11:49:46 PM
Quote from: Barney on April 28, 2009, 04:48:03 PM
I think the captain is being picked before New York. Hard to know really who will get it. Of the players that lined up in the league I suppose McGarrity, Dillon and Trevor would be prime candidates. Maybe Johnno will go and give it to Austie though - many supporters couldn't wish for more than seeing him getting his hands on Sam.

Austie? Your joking ya?
I would be a fan of Austie, and for some reason I like to see the guy doing well.
But I cant see him get the captaincy for a second! He is not exactly guaranteed to perform when it comes to championship. He is not even guaranteed a place.
Post by: moysider on April 29, 2009, 12:22:18 AM

I hope you make Mrs. Barney a happy woman. As for the New York trip. Can t take it seriously to be honest. And as regards the Summer out, some confidence I might have had after the Galway/Tyrone games has dissipated since. As for team captain. Could leave it with McGar and if not I d fancy Clarkey. Would nt rule out Andy.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 29, 2009, 12:44:23 AM
New York will be captained by Mayo man Robbie Moran!
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 29, 2009, 08:09:39 AM
Quote from: muppet on April 28, 2009, 06:33:06 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 28, 2009, 05:51:52 PM

Any report on that?

Ye were shite.

Asked for that...
Post by: rosnarun on April 29, 2009, 01:46:16 PM
with the loss o c mort im afraid aom is definite starter as a free taker and out and out scorer. we are sadly lacking in that regard and if austie is our betst bet someone has q's to a
Post by: blast05 on April 29, 2009, 01:56:09 PM
Quote'd say there could be a small enough crew going.

Far bigger numbers going from my rural corner of North Mayo than travelled in 2004. Approx 20 from an area with a weekday population of less than 500.
Post by: kevmy on April 29, 2009, 01:59:52 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 29, 2009, 01:46:16 PM
with the loss o c mort im afraid aom is definite starter as a free taker and out and out scorer. we are sadly lacking in that regard and if austie is our betst bet someone has q's to a

True enough but then it's been obvious for a few years that a small corner forward with only one kicking leg and a short range and no nose for goal has been our most consistent and highest scorer.

People give out about Conor but in general he does his best and when Dillon is not on scoring form he is unfairly asked to carry the burden as regards and is just not the talent of a Gooch, Stevie McDonald or Mattie Forde. Tbh he has done pretty well to prop us up in the scoring dept. for a few years. Even when Mac played he was never a mad scorer.

Mort best argument was always that there was no one in the county near him in terms of point scoring or consistency, which was/is true. I'd love it if we had a few more options up front but we don't
Post by: rosnarun on April 29, 2009, 02:03:49 PM
 whats the story on tickets. i have a season myself but the brother and i want to invite my american pm along. hate to see them locked out . i hear its holds only a thousad or so

Post by: rosnarun on April 29, 2009, 02:06:48 PM
not fair on mort that. he knows he has job to do and he does it as well as any in the country. maddens me to hear lads expecting mort to run like a headless chicken isnt that what trevor is for
Post by: AbbeySider on April 29, 2009, 03:30:04 PM
Working off a target man like O Se, Mortimor should be able to make hay.
In fact it should be a fairly lethal FF line as Austie works best on the loop and popping it over. He has being doing it for years for Louisburgh and its hard to defend against.
Himself and Mort are similar in the fact that they are not the best at winning 50-50 ball. But with O Se in there they havnt any excuse. I would expect Mort to start in the corner when he gets back from his injury's. The break might do him good as he should be hungry when he gets back to full fitness.
Post by: rosnarun on April 29, 2009, 03:39:43 PM
dispite3 all the slagging ive given the poor lad my only concern with Austin is . doe his mind tick over fast enough for championship fare. and I know he has flattered to decieve on a few occasions but some of the bad things he does really make you wonder.
Cant fault his dedicaton or commitment to the cause though hes proven himself to be a real soldier to the ccause thoughout a lot of flack.himself and harte are very similar like that
  foot soldiers though  not  officer material  surely?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 29, 2009, 11:00:28 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 29, 2009, 02:03:49 PM
whats the story on tickets. i have a season myself but the brother and i want to invite my american pm along. hate to see them locked out . i hear its holds only a thousad or so

There will be plenty of room dont worry!
Post by: Kevin on April 29, 2009, 11:43:04 PM
LOL, sleep easy.

Tickets will be no issue whatsoever.
Post by: moysider on April 30, 2009, 01:29:37 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 29, 2009, 03:39:43 PM
dispite3 all the slagging ive given the poor lad my only concern with Austin is . doe his mind tick over fast enough for championship fare. and I know he has flattered to decieve on a few occasions but some of the bad things he does really make you wonder.
Cant fault his dedicaton or commitment to the cause though hes proven himself to be a real soldier to the ccause thoughout a lot of flack.himself and harte are very similar like that
  foot soldiers though  not  officer material  surely?

Jesus Ros what de f*** are you on about puttin those 2 in the same bracket. Chalk and cheese ffs. Whatever about officer material there is little to connect this pair. Austin could never even imagine doin what Harte does club or county. Why not David Clarke and Austie or Cafferkey and Austie or McGarrity, or Gardiner, or Dillon or Trevor or whoever v Austin? How many leaders we got? Without Nallen, Aiden, Heaney and Mac, maybe a few - if you include Harte and Clarke.  How many Majors we got? Anybody who was at our league matches would have to admit that Harte was one of a very few that went out without fear and tried to make things happen. Few others did. And  I d speculate that PH is one of the last in the panel that does nt geneflect to the great leader and his side-kick but he s one of the most likey to get him out of his hole even though management will always leave a question- mark about him. Would Austin have gone for those fetches off the back-foot second-half v Tyrone ( got a few great ones)? That s not fair on Austin but Harte did it without any fear. As I ve pointed out to another poster previously, your perfectly entitled to dislike Harte ( apparentlt a lot do) but get the grounds right. I d even bank on Harte to do a better job in the ff line.
Post by: rosnarun on April 30, 2009, 03:23:14 AM
maybe youll letus know on what grounds its ok to under rate harte on . like/dislike does not come into it at all.
harte has the hands and the engine to be a great player but not the head or the boot. Austin has the boot and the hands but not the engine or the head . queit similar strenghts and  defects
i did see the league game and harte definitely added something in Letterkenny but apart from that we got what we expect from harte except fewer red cards.
both  have earned a place on the panel ready to come on but after new york i would not expect either to be a starting option.

I take it all the lads are sure the whole party will get in are going themselves? any one going to the dinner in the Astoria?
Post by: kevmy on April 30, 2009, 11:10:03 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 29, 2009, 02:06:48 PM
not fair on mort that. he knows he has job to do and he does it as well as any in the country. maddens me to hear lads expecting mort to run like a headless chicken isnt that what trevor is for

That wasn't meant as a slight against Mort at all. He does his job as best he can and as that type of player there is noone better. But that doesn't hide his obvious flaws (one footed, not able to win 50-50 ball, poor shooting range). Basically I'm saying there are a few better forwards in the country but no one near him in terms of corner forwards in the county. If he had some competition for the spot Mayo football would be better off. If he gets injured or has a bad day who have we to bring on (Austie? Kilcoyne? Sweeney? Andy?) None of them are anywhere near Mort in corner forward play.

In fact I'd go as far as saying Mort is a victim of his own success. People are full time giving out about him yet if he was injured for a year people would know it. He covering up the lack of consistent scorers we have in the team by always getting 4-6 points a game. Only Dillon could match him in that ability but as a wing forward he not able to produce that on a reliable basis.
Post by: small white mayoman on April 30, 2009, 11:36:17 AM
Quote from: kevmy on April 30, 2009, 11:10:03 AM
[
In fact I'd go as far as saying Mort is a victim of his own success. People are full time giving out about him yet if he was injured for a year people would know it. He covering up the lack of consistent scorers we have in the team by always getting 4-6 points a game. Only Dillon could match him in that ability but as a wing forward he not able to produce that on a reliable basis.

don't know would mort score 4-6 points a game from play get quite a lot from frees but i see where your coming from
Post by: rosnarun on April 30, 2009, 01:36:04 PM
why is being one footed seen as a flaw in Citogs . when was the last time you saw alan dillion or Andy moran scoring a point with their left sure some can do it like Austin but there are more serious problems there(see above).
Connor has to put up with a lot of prejudice because hes not the typical looking footballer  and this includes from refs but he still just does his thing.
Post by: kevmy on April 30, 2009, 01:46:31 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 30, 2009, 01:36:04 PM
why is being one footed seen as a flaw in Citogs . when was the last time you saw alan dillion or Andy moran scoring a point with their left sure some can do it like Austin but there are more serious problems there(see above).
Connor has to put up with a lot of prejudice because hes not the typical looking footballer  and this includes from refs but he still just does his thing.

Having watching Mort for many years there are very few players as one footed as him and it's a flaw in any player cos all the defender has to do is keep him on the other side. Gooch, Forde and the rest of the top top forwards in the country can score with both feet. It's a flaw in that it stops a really good player becoming a great player. And I'm not comparing Conor with Andy I'm comparing him with the best in the country.

I agree with you that he gets a lot of undeserved stick and I'd hate to see this Mayo team play a serious championship game without him. Just pointing out what everyone can see. If you are as reliant on a player as much as we have been on Mort over the last couple of years and expect to win things they have to be truly great and Conor is just that bit short.

As for Conor not hitting 6 points from play true enough he gets a good percentage of his scores from frees but he wins a lot of them himself and an accurate free taker under pressure should never be taken for granted.
Post by: moysider on April 30, 2009, 11:50:18 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 30, 2009, 03:23:14 AM
maybe youll letus know on what grounds its ok to under rate harte on . like/dislike does not come into it at all.
harte has the hands and the engine to be a great player but not the head or the boot. Austin has the boot and the hands but not the engine or the head . queit similar strenghts and  defectsi did see the league game and harte definitely added something in Letterkenny but apart from that we got what we expect from harte except fewer red cards.
both  have earned a place on the panel ready to come on but after new york i would not expect either to be a starting option.

I take it all the lads are sure the whole party will get in are going themselves? any one going to the dinner in the Astoria?

Another regular here posted some weeks ago that Harte has nt the pace for the game. In fact he s well above average for Mayo midfielders/half forwards I ve seen down the years. He s got a sweet left boot and is one of the most likely to get a couple from play and he more likely to get a goal than most. He s getting fewer cards but he has a bit of cut about him. And he s a team player that can see a pass( goal v Tyrone last year). After putting up a worthy and proper defence of another citóg I thought you would appreciate that. Plus he can pass off his hands further than most. However Austin has no hands for a man of his considerable size ( and as you ve pointed out his football brain is questionable). Austin s biggest failing is his inability to compete for and hold onto ball above his navel.
The differences between Harte and Austin could hardly be more different. Poles apart. Whatever about Austin I d love to hear who is a better starting option after the meaningless NY gig than Harte? So you admit he has hands and engine. He s got a fine left boot(good enough for the goose good enough for....). So you dont like his head.
Post by: stephenite on May 01, 2009, 12:00:47 AM
Ros has been scathing about Hartes ability since he was bought onto the Senior squad - even scathing about it before then. Something must have happened between them. Harte is one of the more natural footballers at our disposal
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 01, 2009, 12:22:02 AM
I wonder will Mayo rack up a total near the 3-27 they scored the last time they travelled to NY. I don't think so somehow.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on May 01, 2009, 12:23:24 AM
Have fun in NY, don't think their up to much this year.

Got a link to 2 sets of pics from last years Leitrim trip courtesy of www.LeitrimGAA.ie (http://www.leitrimgaa.ie) web gallery

Pre Match: http://www.leitrimgaa.ie/gallery2/main.php?g2_itemId=20245 (http://www.leitrimgaa.ie/gallery2/main.php?g2_itemId=20245)

Game Shots: http://www.leitrimgaa.ie/gallery2/main.php?g2_itemId=20439 (http://www.leitrimgaa.ie/gallery2/main.php?g2_itemId=20439)

No worries about tickets as it's cash on the gate about $20 (from memory)

Post by: rosnarun on May 01, 2009, 12:29:41 AM
This is not a conspiracy but there are only 15 shirts so if hes in some one better is missing out.I just dont see a starting place for the guy.
hes either midfield or a half forward .
players id prefer to see at midfied would be Mcgarrity, both osheas,heaney,BJP,Barry moran,parsons
half forwards would include trevor Andy moran ronaldson bJP again Dillion,Aidan Kilcoyne and if possible Campbell.

hes fine as a utility sub. but not a starter,  
Post by: moysider on May 01, 2009, 12:51:35 AM

Quote from: rosnarun on May 01, 2009, 12:29:41 AM
This is not a conspiracy but there are only 15 shirts so if hes in some one better is missing out.I just dont see a starting place for the guy.
players id prefer to see at midfied would be Mcgarrity, both osheas,heaney,BJP,Barry moran,parsons
half forwards would include trevor Andy moran ronaldson bJP again Dillion,Aidan Kilcoyne and if possible Campbell.

Your entitled to your opinion Rosnarun and few would doubt your preferences for midfield if - and it s a big if - some of those guys were ever out of the garage.
As for the half - forwards, we may well be glad of him and I d have him in there anyway. What are your odds of Trevor and Alan not pulling up with pulls and knocks before even connacht is over. Campbell is history for now unfortunately but to put Ronaldson before Harte is an act of faith. To put Andy ahead of him shows the same appreciation of a footballer as Johnno himself. Kilcoyne before Harte is pure silly. BJP is always worthy of consideration if he s down to fighting weight.

I m not expecting a good year Rosnarun for obvious reasons but I think we ll find that Harte will be one of our better ones this year.
Post by: rosnarun on May 01, 2009, 02:11:03 AM
QuoteI m not expecting a good year Rosnarun for obvious reasons but I think we ll find that Harte will be one of our better ones this year.
i think the first would follow the second. but i dont see the obvious reasons fpr a bad year. we are nt in a vintage period and have very little to fear out there.

my own prefernce for the 3 half forwards would be Dillion andy and roanldson , mayo are not going to horse any one out of it so we might as well go with footballers
roanldson has shown plenty this year to point to a long career with mayo . I predict a very gig  future for him Prob at CHF .
Post by: AbbeySider on May 01, 2009, 09:57:18 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 01, 2009, 12:29:41 AM

The Harte argument is a no brainer. He is a fine footballer and has never let us down.
He was a fantastic unger age player and is a footballer to his toes. He is definitely one of our more natural players.

He complements McGarity or Parsons when played in the middle. He has a good brain playing at number 10 or 12, and a sweet left foot. Playing Harte in the half forward line gives us an extra option for kickouts too as he is a fantastic fielder.

Naming O Se's, Heaney, BJP, Moran ahead of him in the middle or Andy, Ronaldson, BJP, Kilcoyne and Campbell ahead of him in the half forward line is borderline lunacy. Its either you have an obvious grudge against him or you know nothing about football. Maybe both.

Its actually pathetic naming players that have not played in the middle for their club or county for YEARS ahead of Harte. Goes to show what you know.
Post by: kevmy on May 01, 2009, 12:23:35 PM
Well tbh I don't think Harte is an intercounty midfielder. He just doesn't quite win enough ball in the air and isn't enough of a groundhog otherwise. So I'd have McGarrity and Parsons starting there with S O Sé (if fit) as first sub.

Having said that I'd find a place for Harte in the half forward line. He's tough, smart and strong with the ability to kick long range points and pick a pass. He's much more consistent than Kilcoyne and further down the road that Ronaldson. BJP is a decent player too and for me it comes down to 3 player from 5 for the half forwards and I'd have Trevor Harte and Dillon
Post by: AbbeySider on May 01, 2009, 02:20:59 PM
Quote from: kevmy on May 01, 2009, 12:23:35 PM
Well tbh I don't think Harte is an intercounty midfielder. He just doesn't quite win enough ball in the air and isn't enough of a groundhog otherwise. So I'd have McGarrity and Parsons starting there with S O Sé (if fit) as first sub.

Having said that I'd find a place for Harte in the half forward line. He's tough, smart and strong with the ability to kick long range points and pick a pass. He's much more consistent than Kilcoyne and further down the road that Ronaldson. BJP is a decent player too and for me it comes down to 3 player from 5 for the half forwards and I'd have Trevor Harte and Dillon

I dont mind that half forward line. Harte is defiantly smart enough for Centre Forward or Wing Forward. He can take a score and as I said is an extra option for kickouts. Also his kick passing is exceptional.

I would have different opinions though of what a midfield partnership should be. For me, Parsons and McGarity are too similar to play along side each other in mid-field. McGarity is a good fielder but sometimes gives away very soft frees with simple mistakes that a county footballer should not make. Im not sure has McGarity the physicallity for it either. Harte does the grafting, and as you said is strong and is as honest as you will get. My ideal partnership would be Harte and Parsons in the middle.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 01, 2009, 02:40:06 PM
People always question McGarrity's physicality. I seem to remember an interview with Seán Cavanagh in the Sunday Times either last year or the year before when he spoke of what a terrible time he got off McGarrity in that game in 2004. Reckoned McGarrity was all over him like a rash. He had him plagued.

I can't find a link - and it's not for want of trying - but if anyone has one they might stick it up. It's certainly something to think about.
Post by: rosnarun on May 01, 2009, 08:19:35 PM
do no place for Mcgarrity? .our best heads up footballer. It all very well coming off the field losing a gallon of sweat or blood but football intelligence must be rted much higher and thats waht Ronan gives us in spades and parsons witth do ll the graft we need but with an end product more often than not .
to go forward mayo must look to see whats good about the team and how they play at their best. in other words devise there own game plan. I believe taht must be based on intelligent quick think fast releasing football . and that is why Mcgarrity Dillion gardener andy k higgins L omalley howley  ronaldson and maybe in the future Vaughn and cunniffe are the men the team should be built around .
It is in this context  I have a problem with harte and Austin o malley .in a different kind of a team they could fit in well perhaps.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 01, 2009, 09:58:39 PM
Trevor Mortimer is the Mayo captain for the championship, Peadar Gardiner vice-captain. Announced today afaik.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 03, 2009, 11:10:53 AM
Trevor is a good choice as long as he keeps the temper and manages somehow to stay clear of injury. Maybe that's a big ask in both cases!
I presume both he and Peadar were voted in by the payers' panel as has been the case under O'Mahony to date.
Post by: Barney on May 03, 2009, 12:02:06 PM
Trevor for all his footballing his faults never fails to get stuck in, give his all, and has been a great servent.

What I worry about is a pulled hamstring in the first game on a Summer pitch - fitness has been his problem the past few years, and we need a captain that is going to be there for the full Summer.

In year 1 of the current management Kevin O'Neill did not always line out, last year it was probably to much of a weight for Ronan McGarrity to carry after recovering from illness, and so it has to be hoped that Trevor is a luckier general and gets his hands on the Nestor Cup on 19th July.
Post by: AbbeySider on May 03, 2009, 05:02:29 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 03, 2009, 11:10:53 AM
Trevor is a good choice as long as he keeps the temper and manages somehow to stay clear of injury. Maybe that's a big ask in both cases!
I presume both he and Peadar were voted in by the payers' panel as has been the case under O'Mahony to date.

I cant argue if the players voted. But I do think Dillon was overlooked as he is one of the only players that has shown any sort of leadership so far
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 03, 2009, 06:27:19 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on May 03, 2009, 05:00:31 PM
...Hardly anyone had ever seen him kick a ball.  .... someone who has hardly kicked a ball in relative terms.  ::) ... I dont want to sound too hard on them.

You're being a bit harsh on McGarrity there Abbeysider. Do you think you could be a bit more specific? Phrases like "hardly anyones" and "relative terms" are middling broad churches, don't you think?

How many people do you think need to have seen Ronan McGarrity kick a ball? What would be the quorum there? To what are you terms relevant?

I know you don't want to sound too hard on McGarrity or Gardiner but you do sound very hard indeed. You leaped down the throat of someone who suggested that Alan Dillon wasn't that fast here a few weeks ago. If you're going to take a pop at McGarrity then it'd might be fairer to the two men if you went easy on the "hardly anyones" and "relative terms" and were more specific in criticisms.

If that's possible in the first place of course. Both McGarrity and Gardiner have been playing for Mayo for ten years between them and reading this board nobody seems to know if they're tw stalwarts or two bums. There's no reasonable analysis. It's always hero or gobsh1te with Mayo, and never any in-between.
Post by: mannix on May 04, 2009, 12:15:43 PM
all that can really be said is that they try very hard, they would not be there otherwise.
Post by: moysider on May 04, 2009, 03:27:20 PM
There s a lot of mythology out there about McGarrity. Some of this was intentionally or otherwise started by Maughan back in 04 and the press loved it and ran with it. Basically it revolved around McHale having a hunch this basketballer might have something to contribute without ever having played before. Of course it was all spin. Maughan might not have been aware of McGarrity but McHale should have known better or maybe he just enjoyed soaking up the attention of a fawning press for his scouting shrewdness. To be honest I remember a good few people being being pissed off and having a good laugh at the same time about it all. It was all bullshit. McGarrity played loads of underage football at club and school. He was an obvious talent. Could catch a ball and his ability to kick long was way ahead of most. But he preferred basketball.  He was involved in Mayo u16 (probably not a happy experience). He did nt play minor ( was invited to) and was committed to basketball scholarship in the States at that stage.
Would he have been picked for minor? Dunno but he could have been midfield with Gavin Duffy on the 99 team. He played Midfield with Duffy with the club winning a club minor title. Easily good enough. How much those missed years in the States affected his development is debatable of course and you d have to suspect quite a bit but to say few saw him ever kick a ball has no relevence to his current abilities. If more people attended underage club and colleges games then more would have seew him but not sure what difference that would have made. People will just have to take the judgement of those that did see him.

( Harte was never picked for minors either although obviously one of the better midfielders around at the time. The North selector picked Edmund Barrett instead)

In Spring 04 when I heard Ronan was coming home I remember telling people ( who mostly never heard of him) that he would be involved and he was. I also backed Mayo early that Spring to win Connacht at generous odds on the back of McGarrity being there. I was nt the only one. Somebody who knows him better than I even backed them to win the AI early that year. Heavily. But as he was 12 grand up after Connacht he was well ahead. Ronan has his failings but there s not a lot wrong with him a bit of coaching would nt sort out. Picking off the ground and silly stuff like that is intolerable and is pure concentration. His late appearance last year v Tyrone had all the hallmarks of a player who had lost all focus with frustration and probably would have been better off not being introduced in that frame of mind. But its easy being wise after the event.
Post by: AbbeySider on May 04, 2009, 03:49:52 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 03, 2009, 06:27:19 PM
You're being a bit harsh on McGarrity there Abbeysider. Do you think you could be a bit more specific? Phrases like "hardly anyones" and "relative terms" are middling broad churches, don't you think?

How many people do you think need to have seen Ronan McGarrity kick a ball? What would be the quorum there? To what are you terms relevant?

I know you don't want to sound too hard on McGarrity or Gardiner but you do sound very hard indeed. You leaped down the throat of someone who suggested that Alan Dillon wasn't that fast here a few weeks ago. If you're going to take a pop at McGarrity then it'd might be fairer to the two men if you went easy on the "hardly anyones" and "relative terms" and were more specific in criticisms.

If that's possible in the first place of course. Both McGarrity and Gardiner have been playing for Mayo for ten years between them and reading this board nobody seems to know if they're tw stalwarts or two bums. There's no reasonable analysis. It's always hero or gobsh1te with Mayo, and never any in-between.

Point taken, they were general terms but I was making the point that he simply hadnt played that much football. I actually removed the post.
It was a bit cutting, and these are amateurs after all! Wrong way to approach making a case for Harte by lambasting McG! :-[
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 04, 2009, 05:04:53 PM
Fair play to you Abbeysider.

Moysider has a point about Maughan doing that bit of spinning but McGarrity's perception has always suffered from an interview he did that the Irish Times published the day before the All-Ireland in 2004. I remember being out at the  Sevens in Kilmacud - looking for a ticket, naturally - that particular Saturday and how annoyed some people were with some of the things he said, about preferring the basketball and all this crack.

It was naive of McGarrity to talk as openly as he did but it's very unlucky on the man - he's a footballer, not a PR man, after all. If things had gone differently the next day no-one would think anything of it but they didn't and so the basketball is always being drawn down. Kerrymen don't seem that bothered about Donaghy shooting hoops but the celtic cross absolves many sins I guess.

I hope none of them get smashed up in New York. The New York thing is looking like a drag now the recession is here, and isn't going away. Then again, New York is likely to be fielding stronger teams in coming years than they have been during the boom. Probably too early for them this weekend. Our fellas coming back in one piece is what counts as a victory here I reckon.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 04, 2009, 09:54:10 PM
McGarrity lacks a bit of muscle to be be one of the greats. He is a very good player but if he wanted to be in the mcdermott, tohill, o'se bracket he would have to bulk up. Obviously his basketball career meant he had to stay in this shape.
In fairness to mchale in 04, McGarrity was out of football for awhile so he deserves some credit for getting him into the county scene straight off.
Post by: moysider on May 05, 2009, 02:17:15 AM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 04, 2009, 09:54:10 PM
McGarrity lacks a bit of muscle to be be one of the greats. He is a very good player but if he wanted to be in the mcdermott, tohill, o'se bracket he would have to bulk up. Obviously his basketball career meant he had to stay in this shape.
In fairness to mchale in 04, McGarrity was out of football for awhile so he deserves some credit for getting him into the county scene straight off.

Not really. The dogs in the street knew he would come straight in. It was a no brainer.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 05, 2009, 02:51:36 AM
how you figure that out, credit where credit is due, mcgarrity was put into senior panel without having to prove himself at senior club level first. There not many who were giving that treatment - where they had left the country to play another sport for a few years (3 i think) and then return and be selected immediately for inter-county football. In fairness he hadnt played minor/senior prior to this so it's not as if he was well known in the gaa circles  for people to be calling for his inclusion upon his return -  so it was huge call by mchale to get him onto that panel from the off.

Looking back now it's easy to say that he would have made it anyway once he got back into the swing of things with the club but who know's.

Post by: Family guy on May 05, 2009, 05:41:30 AM
Wats the spread at home in this game does any1 know???
Post by: stephenite on May 05, 2009, 08:31:58 AM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 05, 2009, 02:51:36 AM
how you figure that out, credit where credit is due, mcgarrity was put into senior panel without having to prove himself at senior club level first. There not many who were giving that treatment - where they had left the country to play another sport for a few years (3 i think) and then return and be selected immediately for inter-county football. In fairness he hadnt played minor/senior prior to this so it's not as if he was well known in the gaa circles  for people to be calling for his inclusion upon his return -  so it was huge call by mchale to get him onto that panel from the off.

Looking back now it's easy to say that he would have made it anyway once he got back into the swing of things with the club but who know's.

There was ample time for him to prove himself at training matches once he was bought in -and even the FBD and league are there for that purpose. Brian Ruane from Ballina played a good few league games at midfield and elsewhere but saw little to no game time in the summer. McGarrity was thrown in at the deep end and swam - not a great mystery.
There aren't that many players that have produced good enough performances at club level that didn't get a shot somewhere along the line.
Post by: muscles magoo on May 05, 2009, 09:00:11 AM

There aren't that many players that have produced good enough performances at club level that didn't get a shot somewhere along the line.

That's true at senior level Stephenite but I've seen a few intermediate/junior players who have excelled at club level yet never got a chance to prove themselves at inter-county.
Post by: stephenite on May 05, 2009, 09:12:44 AM
Quote from: muscles magoo on May 05, 2009, 09:00:11 AM

That's true at senior level Stephenite but I've seen a few intermediate/junior players who have excelled at club level yet never got a chance to prove themselves at inter-county.

Who?
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 05, 2009, 09:25:49 AM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 05, 2009, 02:51:36 AM
how you figure that out, credit where credit is due, mcgarrity was put into senior panel without having to prove himself at senior club level first.

Many's the man wore the jersey without "proving himself at senior club level first." The players from intermediate and junior clubs spring to mind.

Lots of people don't like McGarrity. Fair enough. Everyone's entitled to his or her opinion. But might help the discussion if people backed up their opinions with evidence and were consistent in their arguments. I mean, you don't want the New Yorkers reading this board and laughing at us, do you?  ::)
Post by: kevmy on May 05, 2009, 09:49:20 AM
On the McGarrity thing. He has some great attributes and he had some good years and I for one hope he gets back to top form again.

I mean for all his ability you can't tell me that spending 3 years playing basketball when other lads were playing football didn't hold back his development (I've no problem with him going to play basketball btw everyone is entitled to do what they want). But there is a different type of training and muscle building needed in basketball than football along with obvious skills like kickpassing. Now McGarrity played very well the first couple of years and would probably have kicked on and bulked up a bit more if he hadn't got ill and it showed great determination and loyalty to the cause to come back from that. As far as I can see it on form he is a fantastic fielder of the ball, is good at hoovering up ball and giving handpasses to set up moves as well the ability to get long range scores. But his kick passing is erratic at best and some of point taking can be wild. I also think he hasn't hit top form this year so far - that not a criticism of Ronan per se as every player loses form at some point - just a statement of opinion.
Post by: stephenite on May 05, 2009, 09:55:07 AM
Liam McHale was pretty much a full time basketballer in his younger days playing basketball before football, all winter/spring in Mayo and over to the States for the summer if Mayo had an early exit - he missed a Connacht Club match in 1985 to play hoops. Didn't hold back his development.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 05, 2009, 11:35:12 AM
Quote from: stephenite on May 05, 2009, 09:55:07 AM
Liam McHale was pretty much a full time basketballer in his younger days playing basketball before football, all winter/spring in Mayo and over to the States for the summer if Mayo had an early exit - he missed a Connacht Club match in 1985 to play hoops. Didn't hold back his development.

Yes it did. It was 1996 before we saw the best of him. He could have been that good at an earlier stage if football was taken more seriously.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 05, 2009, 11:55:25 AM
You know lads, we beat ourselves up like nobody else does. I don't see any of the Kerryman holding the basketball against Donaghy. In Mayo, we're always looking for a flaw.

We saw it in the past few years over who'd be fullback. No matter how well a man would be playing, we'd all be waiting like crows on a telephone wire for a goal to be given away and then we say sure the craythur, he's no fecking good at all, at all. And here we are now looking for a reason why McGarrity is no good.

He's been an automatic selection since he came back from the States. We never had to wait for him to fit in as we had to wait for others, and are still waiting in some cases. Mc Garrity found his feet straight awsay, but it's still not good enough. Who's to say if he would have been a better footballer if he hadn't gone to States? Maybe he would have been worse? Who knows? The clock doesn't go back you know.
Post by: stephenite on May 05, 2009, 11:56:22 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 05, 2009, 11:55:25 AM
You know lads, we beat ourselves up like nobody else does. I don't see any of the Kerryman holding the basketball against Donaghy. In Mayo, we're always looking for a flaw.

We saw it in the past few years over who'd be fullback. No matter how well a man would be playing, we'd all be waiting like crows on a telephone wire for a goal to be given away and then we say sure the craythur, he's no fecking good at all, at all. And here we are now looking for a reason why McGarrity is no good.

He's been an automatic selection since he came back from the States. We never had to wait for him to fit in as we had to wait for others, and are still waiting in some cases. Mc Garrity found his feet straight awsay, but it's still not good enough. Who's to say if he would have been a better footballer if he hadn't gone to States? Maybe he would have been worse? Who knows? The clock doesn't go back you know.

Spot on

Fair point RGS - although I think Ronan started taking football more seriously at an earlier age than Liam did. It wasn't until aroung '94 - '95 that Liam developed "the fear" of Mayo winning an All Ireland without him. He'd been on the go with Mayo a good while at that stage
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 05, 2009, 12:03:20 PM

Well said ICC been away from the board for a few days but jesus lads are having a go at players Left right and centre. At the end of the day these lads give up a afull lot for football look at mc garrity and the way he came back so soon after battling cancer so lets behind the lads and stop finding faults with them ( there are enough of these supporters in mayo without us adding to them)
Post by: kevmy on May 05, 2009, 12:32:53 PM

Jaysus I'm not having a go at McGarrity. He's a key player for us when on form and he is an automatic selection. In fact because he's such an automatic selection any loss of form he has is crucial. But some of the points remain valid - he hasn't an accurate kick (some believe that 3yrs playing solely basketball - McHale never went that long without playing, even if he was a basketballer first - held him back in that regard) and a lack of bulk (again not really his fault or the basketball's if anything he's done well to get back to where he is after the cancer).

I hope he finds top form as I reckon he's vital to us but putting our heads in the sand and saying McGarrity is always fantastic and deserves an All-Star every year is a bit too Kerry-like for me. Lets not forget theres plenty of lads down in Kerry who haven't a clue about football
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 05, 2009, 01:15:46 PM
On the McGarrity thing it was over romanticised at the time - a kid just back from a basketball scholarship in the States playing senior with his county before he ever played senior with his club - of course the papers are going to ate that up.

But it was a decent shout by the management to bring him in. Even if he had been a decent club underage player, he had been away from football for a considerable time and if he came along and was useless it would have been a stick for management to have been beaten with.

As regards if basketball held up his football development? I don't know. I don't think the physical question holds up - you need to be a strong mother f**ker to play basketball - but maybe his kickpassing is an issue. Still I'd much sooner we have Ronan McGarrity than not having him. His impact has been very positive and we could see a good summer from him yet. Perhaps the basketball is held against him a bit harshly. Certainly I don't think too many people would have an issue if Gavin Duffy came back playing in the morning. Its better to have them at some stage than losing them altogether. I'd agree with what Iolar says in this regard - we must look forwards, not backwards.
Post by: muppet on May 05, 2009, 01:42:08 PM
MCGarrity has been our first choice midfielder for 4 years. In that period we've been to two All-Ireland finals. He can't be that bad.

Rosnarun describes him as a heads up footballer and I would agree with that assessment. His foot passing is not a major weakness as has been suggested. However one problem, which Liam McHale also had in his early days, is that when you win the ball in basketball all the coaching teaches you to instinctively plant your two feet solidly or even to take a step backwards. Football requires you to hit the ground running, especially in midfield. Donaghy has this tendency also but it is less of a problem at FF.

IMHO McGarrity has got better in this regard over the years.
Post by: rosnarun on May 05, 2009, 03:54:04 PM
i see two things going on in thread i dont quit hold with. one is suporting mcgarrity and using that to have a go at liam mchale. the suprising thing about this is the tribal corner from which it springs.
the othe thing is the assumption mc garrity went  \is through going a crisis. hewas as good as we had in the league. one which after an awful start ended on quiet a positive not and ronan was as respondsible for that as any one.
i reckon he is the only? jersey jom doesnt have to even think about.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2009, 07:10:11 PM
Christ lads, it's funny! This was about Mayo v New York but it's turned into a criticism of McGarrity thread. Back to what it says on the tin Mayo to win by at least 10-20 points. And P.S. lads, I hope McGarrity has a stormer of a game.
Post by: moysider on May 05, 2009, 09:08:58 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2009, 07:10:11 PM
Christ lads, it's funny! This was about Mayo v New York but it's turned into a criticism of McGarrity thread. Back to what it says on the tin Mayo to win by at least 10-20 points. And P.S. lads, I hope McGarrity has a stormer of a game.

Only one poster had a go at McGarrity in fairness and he took his post down on reflection. The rest have been supportive of McGarrity.
Post by: moysider on May 05, 2009, 09:35:05 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 05, 2009, 03:54:04 PM
i see two things going on in thread i dont quit hold with. one is suporting mcgarrity and using that to have a go at liam mchale. the suprising thing about this is the tribal corner from which it springs.the othe thing is the assumption mc garrity went  \is through going a crisis. hewas as good as we had in the league. one which after an awful start ended on quiet a positive not and ronan was as respondsible for that as any one.
i reckon he is the only? jersey jom doesnt have to even think about.

Not sure at all what s going on there Rosnarun? You might explain.

Nobody s having a go at Liam - at least I m not. Just that he might nt have allowed that silliness to develop about him discovering this gem of a player out of the blue. Let me remind people what the state of play was in early 2004. Midfield was seen as the biggest problem we had. There was nt a sign of a new midfielder and Brady had injury issues and Maughan had Brady issues. McGarrity was a godsend and his returning was well flagged for months in advance - locally at least. If Liam did nt know his potential already he should have - he was a county selector after all. And there was plenty around that would have told him anyway . All I m saying is that it was childish stuff by Mayo management and did nobody any good.

Liam was also convinced that the tall Vahey lad from the Neale would make it and he played some of the FBD league matches that Spring. Then Fergal Kelly came into it too. Midfield was a priority and anybody with McGarrity s abilities would come into the equation without any song and dance routine. Many suspected for years that he would be good enough if it were nt for his preference for Bball and it turned out he was.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 05, 2009, 10:33:52 PM
Sure what was the harm in people thinking McGarrity came from nowhere? Which, by GAA standards, he did. It was a good story.
Post by: rosnarun on May 05, 2009, 10:49:40 PM
i just dont see why people are bringing up liam mchales name now with the general gist of it being that he doesn't deserve any credit for his role in Mcgarrity Playing for mayo. As that was a an inevitable event any way .
Even as you point out yourself Both  Varley  and kelly failed to make the grade long term about whom the same could have been said had the experiment gone well,  nothing in football is a forgone conclusion . and certainly a player picked out of left field like that needed a champion or else patience may have been very thin amongst other clubs with their own prospects. 
and despite  his great natural talent it was at best an unusual move moving im to be a senior player before he had played senior for ballina . 
my slightly satirical note is due to the reaction from ballina posters to any negative comments re stephenites players
Post by: stephenite on May 05, 2009, 11:51:29 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 05, 2009, 10:49:40 PM
my slightly satirical note is due to the reaction from ballina posters to any negative comments re stephenites players

What reaction?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 06, 2009, 12:05:47 AM
The north Mayo biys are rowing with each other again, I hope the Gardai are on standby for those senior group games :P
Post by: moysider on May 06, 2009, 12:39:11 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 05, 2009, 10:33:52 PM
Sure what was the harm in people thinking McGarrity came from nowhere? Which, by GAA standards, he did. It was a good story.

It was a good story I ll admit but there was weakness in it as well, or harm, whatever way one may look at it. We were seen as a soft touch there. Opposing managers were drawn to our midfield as an area they could exploit on the grounds that we had novices there and we fairly signposted it as well with silly stuff. Put it this way, not many from Mayo heard of RMcG before 04. How many outside had? But we had to be all clever and say what a coup it was  instead of just keeping the head down. Jack O Connor said post 04 final that our midfield was targetted as rookies. That no way that a novice midfielder would be able for the Dara s and Kirbies. O Connor said that Kerry took it personally that a basketball player in his first year could dream of taking Dara.  McGarrity was set up to an extent when he should have been covered. My point is likes of O Connor can come up with his own battle plan and suss out opposition weaknesses on his own without our management setting them up in advance. The interview before the final was also ill - advised and would nt have gone unnoticed down south. It was nt the only cringeworthy interview by a Mayo player before that final. I m still trying to get my head around Brian Maloney s 'Calvary' interview where he described the horrors of running around  Belleek s cross country track.
Post by: moysider on May 06, 2009, 01:03:53 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 05, 2009, 10:49:40 PM
i just dont see why people are bringing up liam mchales name now with the general gist of it being that he doesn't deserve any credit for his role in Mcgarrity Playing for mayo. As that was a an inevitable event any way . Even as you point out yourself Both  Varley  and kelly failed to make the grade long term about whom the same could have been said had the experiment gone well,  nothing in football is a forgone conclusion . and certainly a player picked out of left field like that needed a champion or else patience may have been very thin amongst other clubs with their own prospects. 
and despite  his great natural talent it was at best an unusual move moving im to be a senior player before he had played senior for ballina . 

I ll give him credit for McGarrity playing for Mayo, if that makes people happy, because, hey, there may have been others that would nt have entertained him at all. That would nt surprise me either. Not that too many 'supporters' would notice. I had to listen to someone at the week-end, that should know better by now, assert that 'MacDonald never did it when it counted anyway'. I m not sure this current management would have taken Ronan on. Capaple of doing what they did with Danger, all bets are off.  No wonder that 04 management looked like geniuses for playing MCGarrity. But in fairness you d have to have been an awful gome to have missed him.

I could also name another Ballina player who would have been good enough to play senior for Mayo before his club but unfortunately he probably never will (for either). Maybe even 2 more could come into that category.

As for the negative comments and Stephenites players I can assure you that I am in no way parochial, whatever about other metropolitan posters. In fact if anything I m harder on my neighbours.  I think any reasonably analysis of my posts would back that up. I ve defended Harte on football grounds but would have done the same for a Mcloughlin, A. Higgins or A. ÓSé etc. Club nothing to do with it.
Post by: rosnarun on May 06, 2009, 03:25:01 AM
QuoteBut in fairness you d have to have been an awful gome to have missed him.

THIS IS THE POINT THAT WERE MISSING . HOW EXACTLY WOULD YOU BE AN AWFUL GOM TO MISS A PLAYER WHO HAD NEVER PLAYED CHAMPIONSHIP AND HAD BEEN IN AMERICA FOR 3 YEARs. not that i care who gets the credit for such a brave call . but i find curious the speed at which credit for Mchale Was denied
had to laugh when you deny being parochial and then say there are ballina players that will never get a chance to play for mayo . without names of course . if there are players so ready and able to take a starting jersey  why not shout their names from a roof top to the gome out there that are missing out? esp when you consider some of the 'Talent ' that was indulged from that quarter after their club success.
Post by: stephenite on May 06, 2009, 03:31:25 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 06, 2009, 03:25:01 AM
esp when you consider some of the 'Talent ' that was indulged from that quarter after their club success.

But some of the Crossmolina 'Talent' appearances for after their own success Mayo were completely justified and not indulged at all ;D :D ;D
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 06, 2009, 09:27:22 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 06, 2009, 12:39:11 AM
Jack O Connor said post 04 final that our midfield was targetted as rookies. That no way that a novice midfielder would be able for the Dara s and Kirbies. O Connor said that Kerry took it personally that a basketball player in his first year could dream of taking Dara.

One thing that kills me about analysis of that All-Ireland is that Dara didn't play at all that day. Neither he nor Moynihan started. Eoin Brosnan and William Kerby were the Kerry midfield. Moynihan came on after 55 minutes for Liam Hassett, but Dara didn't leave the bench at all.

So, instead of exploiting this Kerry weakness, Mayo dropped our most experienced midfielder and played a goalkeeper instead. Maybe Kerry would have won anyway, but we certainly did ourselves no favours.
Post by: AbbeySider on May 06, 2009, 01:08:10 PM
HoganStand....

New York an unknown quantity to O'Mahony   ::) 
05 May 2009

John O'Mahony says Mayo are concentrating on their own game ahead of Sunday's low-key Connacht SFC opener against New York in Gaelic Park.

The Mayo manager admits he knows little about the Exiles, whose last competitive game was against Leitrim in the Connacht SFC exactly a year ago.

"Our plan is to concentrate on our own attitude, our own performance," he said.

"When a team doesn't play National League, there's not a lot you can go on. There's no point in us having a lot of information on them and not having our own house in order.

Buoyed by a strong finish to the NFL which saw them beat arch-rivals Galway and draw with All-Ireland champions Tyrone, Mayo will travel to the Big Apple in high spirits.

"I'm really looking forward to the championship. I think if we get an injury-free run, work hard, show a unity of purpose and have a good attitude, we'll make an impact," O'Mahony added.

Mayo are expected to name their team on Thursday night with Tom Cunniffe and Ronan McGarrity nursing groin and calf injuries respectively. Four Mayo players - Kenneth O'Malley, Seamus O'Shea, Mark Ronaldson and Conor Mortimer - are not travelling to New York due to exams and injury.

Meanwhile, there are four Mayo natives in contention for starting places on the New York team next weekend. Robert Moran (Moy Davitts), Dermot Keane (Knockmore), Declan Reilly (Castlebar Mitchels) and John McNicholas (Kiltimagh) are all part of the New York squad.

"We hope everything will come together on the day," New York manager Seamus Smith said.

"We're really looking forward to it and we just hope that we can give a good account of ourselves."

From Mayo News:

Moran looking to test himself

Former Mayo minor is a key man for New York

Interview
Mike Finnerty

FIVE years ago a fresh-faced Robert Moran stood in the glorious sunshine at Gaelic Park along with the rest of us and watched Mayo put New York to the sword at their ease.
Moran had only arrived in the US a few weeks earlier and enjoyed being a Mayo supporter that Sunday afternoon. He was 23, it was the summertime, and the living was easy.
Last week, the former Moy Davitts footballer and Mayo minor star recalled that first visit to the famous football pitch in the infamous Bronx. Little did he know that it was to become his second home over the last five summers.
"The most thing I remember about that game was the huge Mayo crowd that turned up," he told The Mayo News. "There was a great atmosphere and I, being a bona fide Mayo man that time, was delighted with the result.
"I came to New York to play football and thought I'd stay for a while but I never imagined being here five years later. I suppose I just found my feet, got a job, started to enjoy the lifestyle, and things just snowballed from there really."
Next Sunday, 'Robbie' (as he's known to his friends in NYC) will be one of the main men in the New York attack. Ten years after playing in the All-Ireland minor final with Mayo, he is now arguably New York's most experienced and talented forward.
He has played in four Connacht championship matches and lost a 'county final' with the Down club last year. Since returning to the training field last February, he has been counting down the days to May 10.
"I'm really looking forward to it," he admitted last week. "It's going to be strange, I suppose, having played with, and against, so many of the Mayo lads in the past.
"You want to pit yourself against the players you came up against at home. I'll never have the opportunity to play inter-county football for Mayo so this is my chance to see if I could have.
"The fact that it's Mayo we're playing next weekend means that I have been probably pushing myself that bit harder for the last few months. A lot of us will have family, friends, people from our clubs coming out, and you don't want to let them down. You want to do yourself proud."
Football has always defined Moran's life, ever since his days in national school in Foxford. His red hair and prodigious talent meant that he always stood out from the crowd, and he has never lost interest in the game, either at home or away.
He reads the Irish papers, watches games on Setanta, surfs the Moy Davitts website and hears all the latest stories from the Foxford grapevine.
"Football has been a huge part of my life out here, and there's been plenty of ups and downs, but I've enjoyed it," he explained. "It keeps you grounded and it's a great way to integrate into the Irish community.
"I made a choice to come out here, and to stay here, but you would think of the 'what ifs' from time to time when you're watching Mayo on the TV. But, the most thing I'd miss would be playing for Moy Davitts.
"I miss playing with my friends, all the good people involved with the club, and the comraderie. I'd love to have played more with Gary Ruane. Maybe the club could have pushed on a bit more if I hadn't come out here and Pat McNicholas hadn't gone to Boston."
But whatever about Moy Davitts' progress without him, he can't imagine life without New York. He likes his work as a carpenter, loves the American lifestyle, and enjoys nothing more than watching the Giants, Jets or Yankees when the American football and baseball seasons are in full swing.
Right now though his focus is on next Sunday. Like everybody else, he's not too sure how things will pan out but he intends to draw on his past experiences.
"We just really won't know until ten or fifteen minutes into the match whether we have the mental capacity, as a team, to deal with everything that's going on," he admitted.
"Realistically, I'd be hoping for us to keep it tight and competitive in the first half. Then we can regroup at half-time. We need to start well and not let Mayo get on top early on. If they do, some younger, inexperienced lads could panic and then you're in trouble."

Does anyone know much about the Mayo lads mentioned?

From the article Robert Moran played Mayo Minor.
Dermot Keane played wing back for Knockmore I think
Declan Reilly played FF for Mitchles (I think)
John McNicholas played wing forward for Kiltimagh

Its nice to see them getting on Ok!
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 06, 2009, 02:31:00 PM
look if ronan mcgarrity came home now from a 3 yr stint playing basketball would the current management team call him up.. I seriously doubt it. It was a good call by mchale even if everyone that knew mcgarrity knew he would make it once he got back playing with ballina. Mchale did take the credit but who else was gonna take it! There is no Mcgarrity bashing on this thread from what i see. There is no greater lift for mayo supporters then seeing mcgarrity soaring throught the skies catching a ball. He has been a great asset for us but obviously he is not the finished article. Obviously with Mchale taking a credit for mcgarrity he has to take a loss with someone like John Varley who he thought was gonna make it. As a selector you have to milk the ones you get right cos there is enough bad ones that you will get abuse for.

Looking forward to hearing the mayo team. Know the team selection won't have a major bearing on the next match, it might however give us an indication into one or two positions that are up for grab's..
I'm pretty confident that we will be seeing mayo unleash their twin tower's this weekend. I'm hoping JOM does it because it is our best option.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 06, 2009, 02:55:57 PM
Yeah, you're right about Dermot Keane playing for Knockmore. He was alright for us, but nowhere near county standard though. He's also a relation of mine too.
Post by: Tubberman on May 06, 2009, 03:10:28 PM
QuoteYeah, you're right about Dermot Keane playing for Knockmore. He was alright for us, but nowhere near county standard though. He's also a relation of mine too.

Well you can't be accused of family bias anyway  ;) :D
Post by: moysider on May 06, 2009, 03:25:18 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 06, 2009, 03:25:01 AM
QuoteBut in fairness you d have to have been an awful gome to have missed him.

THIS IS THE POINT THAT WERE MISSING . HOW EXACTLY WOULD YOU BE AN AWFUL GOM TO MISS A PLAYER WHO HAD NEVER PLAYED CHAMPIONSHIP AND HAD BEEN IN AMERICA FOR 3 YEARs. not that i care who gets the credit for such a brave call . but i find curious the speed at which credit for Mchale Was denied
had to laugh when you deny being parochial and then say there are ballina players that will never get a chance to play for mayo . without names of course . if there are players so ready and able to take a starting jersey  why not shout their names from a roof top to the gome out there that are missing out? esp when you consider some of the 'Talent ' that was indulged from that quarter after their club success.

McGarrity played midfield on the Ballina u21 winning team in county final defeat of Ballagh, I think it was in 2002, while at home from the states on a summer break and was very comfortable. In fact he was outstanding on the day, game played in Knockmore. He s a neighbour of Mchales (literally a stones throw away) and was talked about as the next Mchale since he was 12 or 13. In fact he showed more early promise than Liam. He was an obvious go to when he came back for anbody with a bit of local knowledge. All I m saying is he was nt the big mystery that he was made out to be. McHale would have been well aware of him for years.

The Ballina lads I m referring to are professionals playing other sports in other places who were of intercounty standard. Mcgarrity came back but these wont. I was only making an analogy. For example if Gavin Duffy did a return would Johnno require slaps on the back if he played him and it worked out. Surely it would be an ovious thing to do?

County champions and more so AI winners tend to have talent indulged. Some work, some dont. A couple of ours have.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 06, 2009, 04:01:50 PM
i'm afraid gavin duffy wouldnt make a difference to us now, beeen out of the game for too long. Rugby totally changes your style. Ger Brady lost some of his football after playing the rugby. Seen as you know the Ballina scene Moysider would you agree? I think anyway from his minor days to the player he is now he has lost some of his football skills.
Post by: moysider on May 06, 2009, 04:22:40 PM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 06, 2009, 04:01:50 PM
i'm afraid gavin duffy wouldnt make a difference to us now, beeen out of the game for too long. Rugby totally changes your style. Ger Brady lost some of his football after playing the rugby. Seen as you know the Ballina scene Moysider would you agree? I think anyway from his minor days to the player he is now he has lost some of his football skills.

Still think Duffy could be trained down for the Gaelic. He was probably a better gaelic player than rugby player to start off with. Brady did nt have a defensive side to his game for either code at the top. Good with ball in hand but does nt work hard enough imo. What held him back in rugby also limited him as a gaelic player. Ball carrying was always his strongest point. Not sure the bit of rugby changed him. Not sure he d have turned out any different. Still had some good days in the county jersey and not sure why they ended when they did. He was very good at what he did well.
Post by: small white mayoman on May 06, 2009, 04:31:31 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 06, 2009, 01:03:53 AM
[I ll give him credit for McGarrity playing for Mayo, if that makes people happy, because, hey, there may have been others that would nt have entertained him at all. That would nt surprise me either. Not that too many 'supporters' would notice. I had to listen to someone at the week-end, that should know better by now, assert that 'MacDonald never did it when it counted anyway'. I m not sure this current management would have taken Ronan on. Capaple of doing what they did with Danger, all bets are off.  No wonder that 04 management looked like geniuses for playing MCGarrity. But in fairness you d have to have been an awful gome to have missed him.

I have heard that cast up a quite a lot about the blond . Why is it.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 06, 2009, 05:35:19 PM
Quote from: small white mayoman on May 06, 2009, 04:31:31 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 06, 2009, 01:03:53 AM
[I ll give him credit for McGarrity playing for Mayo, if that makes people happy, because, hey, there may have been others that would nt have entertained him at all. That would nt surprise me either. Not that too many 'supporters' would notice. I had to listen to someone at the week-end, that should know better by now, assert that 'MacDonald never did it when it counted anyway'. I m not sure this current management would have taken Ronan on. Capaple of doing what they did with Danger, all bets are off.  No wonder that 04 management looked like geniuses for playing MCGarrity. But in fairness you d have to have been an awful gome to have missed him.

I have heard that cast up a quite a lot about the blond . Why is it.

Mayo v Sligo, McHale Park, 2001. McDonald didn't start, but he came on a sub. Two young lads in front of me, being football fans, recognised him. "Good man Mac!" they shouted. "You're the man!" And all this.

A few minutes later Mayo got a forty-five. McDonald hit it. Went wide - to the right, I think. "You should have stayed at home COMBING YOUR f**king HAIR!" roared one of the boys who'd been cheering him earlier.

People say that McDonald never did on the other day is because people like gabbing more than they like thinking.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 06, 2009, 06:57:30 PM
ya i'm sure gavin duffy could be trained to be a gaelic footballer again and maybe do a job for mayo but he wouldnt be as good as he could have been had he stayed at the football rather than play professional rugby.... You seem to miss that point moysider.
Post by: moysider on May 06, 2009, 07:02:51 PM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 06, 2009, 06:57:30 PM
ya i'm sure gavin duffy could be trained to be a gaelic footballer again and maybe do a job for mayo but he wouldnt be as good as he could have been had he stayed at the football rather than play professional rugby.... You seem to miss that point moysider.

No, I ll take your point. He s a long time gone from it to be honest. 27/28 now. Wish we had him to find out though.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 06, 2009, 08:57:39 PM
ya tis a pity.... he's doing the business now for connacht though. Super athlete and a gentleman aswell.
Do you reckon we'll see the twin tower's?
We are missing ronaldson and c mort so options limited unless mikey sweeney is giving a champ debut? Hope not
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 06, 2009, 09:03:13 PM
Hard to know what team will be. Austy and O'Shea in the full-forward line I'd say. Maybe Barry Moran too.
Post by: moysider on May 06, 2009, 10:04:31 PM
Quote from: Foreverhopeful on May 06, 2009, 08:57:39 PM
ya tis a pity.... he's doing the business now for connacht though. Super athlete and a gentleman aswell.
We are missing ronaldson and c mort so options limited unless mikey sweeney is giving a champ debut? Hope not

I hope they go with the twin towers. A good chance for the players to get a handle on it if its to be used later on. There s plenty of football in our two as well. They re not just big lads. Plenty of scores in them as well as being targets and will keep any backline honest. My only worry is Moran s being injury prone. What can ye do. He s due a good run.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 06, 2009, 10:57:17 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 06, 2009, 10:04:31 PM

I hope they go with the twin towers. A good chance for the players to get a handle on it if its to be used later on. There s plenty of football in our two as well. They re not just big lads. Plenty of scores in them as well as being targets and will keep any backline honest. My only worry is Moran s being injury prone. What can ye do. He s due a good run.

I'm sure the twin towers will be flagged nationally as O'Mahony copying Kerry which, in fairness, is not the case. We have only one top level corner-forward in Mort the younger and then we have two big men who are agile and have football in them. It makes perfect sense given the resources we have available. Also we can switch one of the big men out to wing-forward to help out midfield and move Dillon inside. I reckon it'll work well and I reckon we'll see both of them start v New York with Austy operating off them while we wait for Mort to recover.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 06, 2009, 11:40:01 PM
Derry hulers lost to NY in 06 and it messed-up things when the victors couldn't come 'home' 4 the Ulster Hurling final.
If you lose this w/end Mayo, at least Congress hv2 look at this madess of this NY thing every year.
Post by: moysider on May 07, 2009, 12:32:42 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 06, 2009, 10:57:17 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 06, 2009, 10:04:31 PM

I'm sure the twin towers will be flagged nationally as O'Mahony copying Kerry which, in fairness, is not the case. We have only one top level corner-forward in Mort the younger and then we have two big men who are agile and have football in them. It makes perfect sense given the resources we have available. Also we can switch one of the big men out to wing-forward to help out midfield and move Dillon inside. I reckon it'll work well and I reckon we'll see both of them start v New York with Austy operating off them while we wait for Mort to recover.

Agree. Did nt want to appear too bullish in my last thread but I d be as happy with our 2. If we falter this Summer I dont think it ll be down to those lads. They look like an obvious strength if the lads further out can supply good ball and others can support properly. Those two fit and well and defenses will have their hands full. Early and clever diagonal ball could pay dividends. Time we gave some other teams a dose of it. For too many years likes of Kerry and Tyrone s backs  bigger test were the in-house training games.

Post by: rosnarun on May 07, 2009, 01:15:35 AM
it could be a day to try our two big men in the full forward line , but oin the basis of experimentation. the reason Tommy walsh plays so well in there for kerry is that he is at the moiment probably the best footballer in the country regardless of height and promising as  Osé is . he is a long way behind that yet.
Walsh has well passed out Donaghy and the assumtion that any 2 huge men thrown in together can have a similar effect is very naive. in General  the 2 kerry lads take it in turn to be FF and they is little enough interplay between the 2 and each can prosper on their own. the term twin towers is very misleading 
Post by: AbbeySider on May 07, 2009, 09:21:40 AM
Im not sure about the fitness of Barry yet. He in only just back from tearing his hamstring in two places.... one tear being 5cm long. I know he played and scored for Mitchell's last week but he is still a long way off it yet. He is so injury prone that id prefer to see him get a few minutes rather than a full game which could knock him back again. Its baby steps you need to come back from an injury like that.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 07, 2009, 11:46:00 AM
have to start the boyos.  The beauty is either one can go out around midfield quite comfortably if required. Obviously that option wont be needed against NY. Would be mighty if we can keep B Moran fit. He can be what we are missing inside. Long time since we had a big no.14.
They should be working on this tactic in training with austie playing off them for now. I see the point about the lack of interaction between the kerry boys. But thats not what we are looking for specifically. Its about either or winning the ball and taking their own score or laying it off. It's about the other team having to rejig their team in order to get another big man back there hopefully opening up another weakness elsewhere. Mayo always get caught out having to change their backs to suit other teams forwards, for once i'd like to see a team having to move their backs around to suit our forwards.
Post by: NAG on May 07, 2009, 04:44:10 PM
Derry losing to New York didnt screw things up for Antrim who got a trip out to play them in the Ulster final later in the year!   :D
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 07, 2009, 07:04:37 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on May 06, 2009, 11:40:01 PM
Derry hulers lost to NY in 06 and it messed-up things when the victors couldn't come 'home' 4 the Ulster Hurling final.
If you lose this w/end Mayo, at least Congress hv2 look at this madess of this NY thing every year.

I don't think we will lose though. I reckon thed ff line could be Austy, Moran and O'Shea together. He might leave Mortimer on the bench again.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 07, 2009, 07:56:02 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 07, 2009, 07:04:37 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on May 06, 2009, 11:40:01 PM

I don't think we will lose though. I reckon thed ff line could be Austy, Moran and O'Shea together. He might leave Mortimer on the bench again.

Mortimer (Conor) is injured.

Anyone I see the team has been picked. Twin towers are good to go! And the third man? Andy Moran! Donal Vaughan takes over from him at left-half back. The other big, big news is that Trevor Howley is centre-half back. No sign of Cunniffe on the team - I presume he is travelling? A kick in the teeth for him, I actually thought he was warming to the role and not sure if Howley is up to his best or close to it yet. Obviously New York would expose that but it undermines Cunniffe badly.

Team
Clarke
O'Malley Cafferkey McLoughlin
Gardiner Howley Vaughan
Parsons McGarrity
Harte T Mortimer A Dillon
A Moran A O'Shea B Moran
Post by: western exile on May 07, 2009, 08:30:08 PM
from RTÉ  website....

Mayo are expected to name their team on Thursday night with Tom Cunniffe and Ronan McGarrity nursing groin and calf injuries respectively. Four Mayo players - Kenneth O'Malley, Seamus O'Shea, Mark Ronaldson and Conor Mortimer - are not travelling to New York due to exams and injury.

Meanwhile, there are four Mayo natives in contention for starting places on the New York team next weekend. Robert Moran (Moy Davitts), Dermot Keane (Knockmore), Declan Reilly (Castlebar Mitchels) and John McNicholas (Kiltimagh) are all part of th
e New York squad.
Post by: rosnarun on May 07, 2009, 08:33:01 PM
Directions to the ground for any one who is going.
From the South:
Driving Directions: Take Major Deegan Expressway (I-87) North, and proceed to the Van Cortlandt Park South Exit. Bear right and go back over the Expressway toward Broadway. Stay straight and go under elevated train. Gaelic Park will be on your right (W. 240th St.).
By Subway: Take the "1" train to the last stop, which is 242nd street. As you exit the train, walk two blocks south and make a right onto 240th Street. Gaelic Park will be on your right.

From the North:
Driving Directions: Take New York State Thruway South (I-87) into the Bronx and exit at Van Cortlandt Park South. Turn right at traffic light and go straight until you pass under the elevated train. Gaelic Park will be on your right.
By Subway: Take the "1" train to the last stop, which is 242nd street. As you exit the train, walk two blocks south and make a right onto 240th Street. Gaelic Park will be on your right.

From the East:
Driving Directions: Bronx Whitestone or Throgs Neck Bridge to Cross Bronx Expressway South (I-95). Take Major Deegan Expressway North (I-87) to Van Cortlandt Park South Exit. Bear right and go back over the Expressway toward Broadway. Stay straight and go under elevated train. Gaelic Park will be on your right (W. 240th St.).

From the West:
Driving Directions: Take George Washington Bridge to Major Deegan Expwy. North (Route 87). Proceed to Van Cortlandt Park South Exit. Bear right and go back over the Expressway toward Broadway. Stay straight and go under elevated train. Gaelic Park will be on your right (W. 240th St.).
Post by: ludermor on May 07, 2009, 09:15:43 PM
Ros,
is this from the bridge at corrick?
Post by: blast05 on May 07, 2009, 09:55:02 PM
Rosnarun, roughly how long to travel there from Manhattan (6th Avenue)
Post by: laoisgaa on May 07, 2009, 10:38:05 PM
From Mayogaa.com

Three championship debutants for Mayo

JOHN O'Mahony has given championship debuts to three players for Sunday's opening round Connacht Senior Football Championship clash in New York.

Knockmore's Kevin McLoughlin, Ballinrobe's Donal Vaughan and Breaffy's Aidan O'Shea all feature in the first fifteen for a senior championship game for the first time.

All three were integral members of the Mayo U-21 team which lost the All-Ireland semi-final to Down last month. Another member of that team – Tom Parsons – is also on the first fifteen after making his debut last year.

There are welcome returns after injury problems for Trevor Howley and Barry Moran. Andy Moran, who had spent most of the National Football League at left-half back, makes a return to corner-forward.

Trevor Mortimer will lead the team from centre-half forward.

Mayo travel to New York minus Conor Mortimer (injury), Mark Ronaldson, Seamus O'Shea, Kenneth O'Malley (all exams) and Keith Higgins (hurling commitments).

Sunday's game throws –in at 3pm local time, 8pm Irish time. It will be carried live on Mid West Radio.

Mayo team to face New York in full: 1, David Clarke, Ballina; 2, Liam O'Malley, Burrishoole; 3, Ger Cafferkey, Ballina; 4, Kevin McLoughlin, Knockmore; 5, Peadar Gardiner, Crossmolina; 6, Trevor Howley, Knockmore; 7, Donal Vaughan, Ballinrobe; 8, Tom Parsons, Charlestown; 9, Ronan McGarrity, Ballina; 10, Pat Harte, Ballina; 11, Trevor Mortimer, Shrule/Glencorrib; 12, Alan Dillon, Ballintubber; 13, Andy Moran, Ballaghaderreen; 14, Aidan O'Shea, Breaffy; 15, Barry Moran, Castlebar.
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 07, 2009, 11:18:50 PM
Quote from: blast05 on May 07, 2009, 09:55:02 PM
Rosnarun, roughly how long to travel there from Manhattan (6th Avenue)

If I remember correctly it is about a 30- 40 minute subway ride from Mid Town on the #1 train. The drive from Manhattan Mid Town would take the same if there is no traffic...make sure the Yankees are not playing at home that day.If there is 4 of you together take a taxi up to Gaelic Park it should not be to expensive.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 08, 2009, 08:28:15 AM
Have to say I'm happy enough with that team. I'd haveHarte at no 11 though instead of Trevor, but seeing as Trevor is the captain I suppose Johnno would hardly change him. I just don't like him at no 11. A Moran back in the FF line, I have to say I didn't see that one coming, but hopefully he will do the job.
Post by: Tubberman on May 08, 2009, 08:51:38 AM
We won't learn much this Sunday, but I hope the two big men can stay fit so we can all have a proper look at them in action together against Ros/Leitrim.
Or will Aidan O'Shea miss that match because of the leaving cert?  ???
Presumably Cunniffe is out because of that injury that was mentioned. If he was fit, I'd have him at CHB with Howley instead of Vaughan, or Howley at CHB with Cunniffe instead of Vaughan.
As others have mentioned, not too excited about Andy at corner forward, but he's a favourite of Johnno so it was always pretty likely there'd be a place for him.
Overall a good team though, hopefully none of the exiles tries to make a name for himself by taking out one of our lads.
Hopefully we see some promise from the FF line, a solid return for Howley, and no injuries.
Post by: kevmy on May 08, 2009, 05:21:17 PM
Yeah the team is grand.

Only two real sticking points are Cunniffe and Andy.

Presumably Cunniffe isn't being risked because of injury but someone will miss out at half back this year - actually a few will as we have good cover there.

As for Andy, well it's a toss up between him and Austie I'd say and I think the last few years have proven it's probably 50-50 between the two of them.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 08, 2009, 05:32:05 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on May 07, 2009, 10:38:05 PM
From Mayogaa.com

JOHN O'Mahony has given championship debuts to three players for Sunday's opening round Connacht Senior Football Championship clash in New York.

Knockmore's Kevin McLoughlin, Ballinrobe's Donal Vaughan and Breaffy's Aidan O'Shea all feature in the first fifteen for a senior championship game for the first time.

All three were integral members of the Mayo U-21 team which lost the All-Ireland semi-final to Down last month. Another member of that team – Tom Parsons – is also on the first fifteen after making his debut last year.

There are welcome returns after injury problems for Trevor Howley and Barry Moran. Andy Moran, who had spent most of the National Football League at left-half back, makes a return to corner-forward.

Mayo travel to New York minus Conor Mortimer (injury), Mark Ronaldson, Seamus O'Shea, Kenneth O'Malley (all exams) and Keith Higgins (hurling commitments).

Sunday's game throws –in at 3pm local time, 8pm Irish time. It will be carried live on Mid West Radio.

Mayo team to face New York in full: 1, David Clarke, Ballina; 2, Liam O'Malley, Burrishoole; 3, Ger Cafferkey, Ballina; 4, Kevin McLoughlin, Knockmore; 5, Peadar Gardiner, Crossmolina; 6, Trevor Howley, Knockmore; 7, Donal Vaughan, Ballinrobe; 8, Tom Parsons, Charlestown; 9, Ronan McGarrity, Ballina; 10, Pat Harte, Ballina; 11, Trevor Mortimer, Shrule/Glencorrib; 12, Alan Dillon, Ballintubber; 13, Andy Moran, Ballaghaderreen; 14, Aidan O'Shea, Breaffy; 15, Barry Moran, Castlebar.

is there not 4 Debutants with Ger Cafferkey as well
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 08, 2009, 06:29:01 PM
Surprised to see andy moran back there. Thought austie would have been there but maybe andy gonna come out around midfield/half-forward.
Post by: dodo on May 08, 2009, 08:14:09 PM
With 2 big men inside I would think that the third man would have to be very mobile, something that Austie cannot be accused of. The half forward line looks very promising.
Post by: Foreverhopeful on May 09, 2009, 12:58:04 AM
i suppose but in fairness the 2 big boys are very mobile....
Post by: The flame still burns on May 09, 2009, 11:51:21 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 08, 2009, 05:32:05 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on May 07, 2009, 10:38:05 PM
From Mayogaa.com

is there not 4 Debutants with Ger Cafferkey as well

You're right Deel Rover, Ger Cafferkey is making his debut too. I've done a piece on the four new lads -

http://thereisalightthatnevergoesout.wordpress.com/2009/05/08/four-mayo-players-to-debut-in-ny/
Post by: southoftheborder on May 09, 2009, 11:56:14 AM
paddy power have new york plus 18 at 11/10, surely beating someone in championship football is beyond that, any takers
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 09, 2009, 01:42:22 PM
Quote from: southoftheborder on May 09, 2009, 11:56:14 AM
paddy power have new york plus 18 at 11/10, surely beating someone in championship football is beyond that, any takers

Wouldn't touch it with a barge pole, too much unpredictability. See 2004 result below courtesty of mayogaablog.com

Preliminary Round: New York 1-8 Mayo 3-28 (Gaelic Park, New York, 2/5/2004). MAYO: P Burke; D Geraghty, P Kelly, G Ruane; F Costello (0-1), D Sweeney, J Nallen; D Heaney, D Brady; J Gill (0-2), A Dillon (0-1), A Moran (0-5); C Mortimer (1-12, six frees), B Maloney (0-1), M McNicholas (0-2). Subs: A O'Malley (1-3) for B Maloney (35 mins); R McGarritty for D Heaney (49); M Moyles (1-1) for A Dillon (53); P Gardiner for J Nallen (55); G Mullins for F Costello (61).

Post by: muppet on May 09, 2009, 04:05:24 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 09, 2009, 01:42:22 PM
Quote from: southoftheborder on May 09, 2009, 11:56:14 AM

Wouldn't touch it with a barge pole, too much unpredictability. See 2004 result below courtesty of mayogaablog.com

Preliminary Round: New York 1-8 Mayo 3-28 (Gaelic Park, New York, 2/5/2004). MAYO: P Burke; D Geraghty, P Kelly, G Ruane; F Costello (0-1), D Sweeney, J Nallen; D Heaney, D Brady; J Gill (0-2), A Dillon (0-1), A Moran (0-5); C Mortimer (1-12, six frees), B Maloney (0-1), M McNicholas (0-2). Subs: A O'Malley (1-3) for B Maloney (35 mins); R McGarritty for D Heaney (49); M Moyles (1-1) for A Dillon (53); P Gardiner for J Nallen (55); G Mullins for F Costello (61).

Funny looking at that team you wouldn't think they would get to a Final beating the champions on the way would you? The current team if anything looks better overall, especially if Conor is in the corner.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 09, 2009, 04:28:14 PM
Just seen the New York team for tomorrow ??? Dont think there is anyone over 6ft on it.
Post by: Azzurri on May 10, 2009, 07:57:19 PM
Live on midwest now:

http://www.midwestirishradio.com/mwr/radiomwr.htm
Post by: KIDDO 4 on May 10, 2009, 08:04:26 PM
 New Yorklead 3points to nil after 3 minutes.
Post by: Tubberman on May 10, 2009, 08:05:13 PM
New York 0-4 Mayo 0-0  :o
Apparently NY winning all the breaks in midfield
Post by: prewtna on May 10, 2009, 08:05:53 PM
what in the name of jaysus?!!!
Post by: Azzurri on May 10, 2009, 08:07:23 PM
New York 0-04 Mayo 0-01
Post by: Azzurri on May 10, 2009, 08:08:01 PM
New York 0-04 Mayo 0-02
Post by: highorlow on May 10, 2009, 08:08:38 PM
Relax 4 pts to 2 now. Yanks winning. Mayo defending the Manhatten College end in 1st half.
Post by: Tubberman on May 10, 2009, 08:09:13 PM
NY 0-4 Mayo 0-2

Mayo playing long high ball into the 2 big men. Barry Moran won it and set it up for Andy Moran to take the point.
Next ball won by Aidan O'Shea and went through Barry Moran then to Andy Moran who took a point when a goal was on.
Normal service has been resumed (I hope)
Post by: ildanach on May 10, 2009, 08:12:38 PM
5 to 3 now.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 10, 2009, 08:12:48 PM
5-3 to New York. Robert Moran free countered by Aidan O'Shea free - his first point in championship.
Post by: TonesAbú on May 10, 2009, 08:18:34 PM
0-05   0-04
Post by: highorlow on May 10, 2009, 08:19:09 PM
Its been played on astroturf, only in America... shur thats not a match at all ? Then again playin on the fast surface will acclimatize us for Croker in the summer.

5 to 5 now, O'Shea with his 2nd.

Post by: ildanach on May 10, 2009, 08:19:37 PM
level now hopefully they are waking up a bit!
Post by: Zulu on May 10, 2009, 08:21:10 PM
There's plenty of scores in it anyway lads, what's gone?
Post by: Tubberman on May 10, 2009, 08:21:58 PM
Goal from Pat Harte.
NY 0-5 Mayo 1-06 after 22 mins
Post by: highorlow on May 10, 2009, 08:22:24 PM
Mayo Goal. Harte.

Mayo 1-6
NY    0-5

Shooting Practice from now on. 22 mins gone.
Post by: bigfrank on May 10, 2009, 08:23:51 PM
1-07 to 0-05
Post by: ildanach on May 10, 2009, 08:28:59 PM
1-10 to 0-05 ball after bouncing over the bar from way out from gardiner
Post by: prewtna on May 10, 2009, 08:29:35 PM
sounds like mayo getting moving again. AOS 1-2
Post by: laoisgaa on May 10, 2009, 08:30:08 PM
30 mins - Mayo 2-10 to 0-5 - Aidan O'Shea with his first Championship goal!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 10, 2009, 08:30:29 PM
O'Shea palms home a goal - Pat Harte did the spadework. 2-10 to 0-5
Post by: highorlow on May 10, 2009, 08:34:08 PM
Looking bad for New York now, they will need to re-group in the 2nd half if they are to have any chance of staying in the Championship.
Post by: bigfrank on May 10, 2009, 08:35:15 PM
Quote from: highorlow on May 10, 2009, 08:34:08 PM
Looking bad for New York now, they will need to re-group in the 2nd half if they are to have any chance of staying in the Championship.
[/b]

Dont think they ever really had a chance now!!!
Post by: prewtna on May 10, 2009, 08:38:05 PM
even if they did win, does the connaught semi final move to the bronx? it would have to.
Post by: KIDDO 4 on May 10, 2009, 08:57:26 PM
Mayo 2.12,NewYork0.5.
Post by: highorlow on May 10, 2009, 08:57:47 PM
Trevor Mortimor gets his name on the scoresheet with a point,

Donal Vaughan made a good run and goal chance saved,

Alan Dillion punchs his 3rd piont, 2-12 to 5 points.

Curtains now for NY. Fair play to them though they played mighty stuff for the 1st 8 to 10 minutes.
Post by: Zulu on May 10, 2009, 09:19:24 PM
Anymore updates lads?
Post by: bigfrank on May 10, 2009, 09:21:51 PM
5 mins to go

2-17 to 0-09
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 10, 2009, 09:22:10 PM
Mayo 2-17 to 0-9 now, sounds pedestrian
Post by: highorlow on May 10, 2009, 09:23:28 PM
Another Mort Point. Mayo 2-18 NY 9 pts

Mikey Sweeney, BJP and Heaney on as subs
Post by: venter on May 10, 2009, 09:24:22 PM
Nallen and Heaney are both on in the backs
Padden, kilcyne and sweeney on in forwards
2-18 to 0-09
Post by: highorlow on May 10, 2009, 09:25:32 PM
Man of the Match ..... Pat Harte                                             Picked by Pat Holmes
Post by: highorlow on May 10, 2009, 09:28:05 PM
All Over :

Final Score - 2-19 to 10 points

Some of the Scorers

O'Shea   1-3
Dillion       4
A.Moran   3
Kilcoyne   1
Harte      1 - ?
T.Mort   2 or 3
Gardiner (at least) 1
Post by: venter on May 10, 2009, 09:34:15 PM
Pat holmes made a good point on the radio that mayo have done well after travelling to either London or ny. (96, 04, 06).It's like a team holiday at the start of the season. Good for team bonding and all that.
Post by: venter on May 10, 2009, 09:36:11 PM
Johnno seconds pat holmes man of the match selection.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 10, 2009, 11:03:00 PM
Quote from: venter on May 10, 2009, 09:36:11 PM
Johnno seconds pat holmes man of the match selection.

First time they've agreed on something all year :P
Post by: Rossfan on May 11, 2009, 11:26:57 AM
Quote from: venter on May 10, 2009, 09:34:15 PM
Pat holmes made a good point on the radio that mayo have done well after travelling to either London or ny. (96, 04, 06).

so who does he think ye'll lose to in the Final? ;)
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on May 11, 2009, 12:47:32 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 11, 2009, 11:26:57 AM
Quote from: venter on May 10, 2009, 09:34:15 PM
Pat holmes made a good point on the radio that mayo have done well after travelling to either London or ny. (96, 04, 06).

so who does he think ye'll lose to in the Final? ;)

Maybe Ross.... ye have a good record of getting to them after all  ;D
Post by: Rossfan on May 11, 2009, 01:36:26 PM
Always bate Kerry in the few we do get to though  ;)
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on May 11, 2009, 03:13:07 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 11, 2009, 01:36:26 PM

Always?? good one, you must have blanked the rossies last AIF appearance from the records!
I don't think it will be concerning either of us too much this year anyway, well ok, definitely not ye  :D
Post by: Rossfan on May 11, 2009, 03:28:09 PM
Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on May 11, 2009, 03:13:07 PM

Always?? good one, you must have blanked the rossies last AIF appearance from the records!

Our last AIF was where we lost to Dublin in Junior last July. Our previous one was Minor 2006 where we bet KERRY in a replay.
We also bet them in 1944 Senior, 1978 U 21 and 2000 Junior. Our hurlers bet them in an U21 Final in 2007 also.
However I think Kerry's Seniors are safe enoughfrom us this year as we'll hardly get past Leitrim never mind reach the Final. :-\
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on May 11, 2009, 04:47:55 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 11, 2009, 03:28:09 PM

Our last AIF was where we lost to Dublin in Junior last July. Our previous one was Minor 2006 where we bet KERRY in a replay.
We also bet them in 1944 Senior, 1978 U 21 and 2000 Junior. Our hurlers bet them in an U21 Final in 2007 also.
However I think Kerry's Seniors are safe enoughfrom us this year as we'll hardly get past Leitrim never mind reach the Final. :-\

It's not a good sign if a ross fan is throwing Junior and hurling games into the mix, sure our last 2 minor finals involved us beating Kerry along the way, it's not really relevant. Your last Senior final was against Kerry, that's where the bar is and ye lost it. Same goes for us. If you want to look at Juniors etc. good for you but I didn't think the Ross bar had fallen that low!
All sh1te aside I don't think Kerry need worry too much about either of us for the moment!!
Post by: ludermor on May 11, 2009, 04:48:32 PM
Any word from Ros?
i think i can see him this clip
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3CA9zD3hA0Y&feature=related
Post by: muppet on May 11, 2009, 07:28:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 11, 2009, 03:28:09 PM

You also missed 2 Scor victories and a scratch card triumph.
Post by: Rossfan on May 11, 2009, 07:43:03 PM
Our girleens had a better day in Kiltoom on Saturday than ye're oul women ;D
Post by: muppet on May 11, 2009, 07:47:47 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 11, 2009, 07:43:03 PM

What's Kiltoom, a mart?
Post by: Son_of_Sam on May 11, 2009, 11:35:07 PM

Mayo plays in the Division 1 Final

Roscommon plays in the Division 3 Final

Sums up the differences between the officially most boring town in Ireland (the entire County of Roscommon was voted!!! - too many Ross towns on the list to choose which) & the beautifull sparkling jewel of mountains (3 tallest in Connacht), cliffs, lakes (2 biggest in Connacht & 2+3 on Island), castles, beautiful boglands, fertile stone walled grasslands, bays, islands(biggest in Ireland), golden beachs, fjiords (Only one in Ireland) abbeys, sea stacks, beautiful tourist towns, vibrant shopping/business towns, O YEA & GOOD FOOTBALL to your West.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 11, 2009, 11:40:57 PM
I've always marvelled at how on the drive from Dublin to Castlebar the only bad road you hit is the part of the N5 that goes through Roscommon (Tarmonnbarry to Strokestown excepted). While everyone else is trying to get with the 21st century programme, the Rossies are still happy with cattle tracks for roads. Raize the county to the ground, we might get to Dublin in a half decent time then :P.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 12, 2009, 02:04:33 AM
Some pictures of Gealic park yesterday.

http://peter-marney.smugmug.com/Gaelic%20Park (http://peter-marney.smugmug.com/Gaelic%20Park)
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on May 12, 2009, 09:06:52 AM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on May 11, 2009, 11:35:07 PM

Sums up the differences between the officially most boring town in Ireland (the entire County of Roscommon was voted!!! - too many Ross towns on the list to choose which) & the beautifull sparkling jewel of mountains (3 tallest in Connacht), cliffs, lakes (2 biggest in Connacht & 2+3 on Island), castles, beautiful boglands, fertile stone walled grasslands, bays, islands(biggest in Ireland), golden beachs, fjiords (Only one in Ireland) abbeys, sea stacks, beautiful tourist towns, vibrant shopping/business towns, O YEA & GOOD FOOTBALL to your West.

Son of Sam, we should get you working for the Mayo tourism board!!
Post by: Rossfan on May 12, 2009, 12:07:56 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 11, 2009, 11:40:57 PM
I've always marvelled at how on the drive from Dublin to Castlebar the only bad road you hit is the part of the N5 that goes through Roscommon (Tarmonnbarry to Strokestown excepted). While everyone else is trying to get with the 21st century programme, the Rossies are still happy with cattle tracks for roads. Raize the county to the ground, we might get to Dublin in a half decent time then :P.

The N5 is a National Road and comes under the authority of the NRA so Ros Co Council have no say in it.
Mind you if it stopped ye hoors driving through and defiling our County it might be worth asking the NRA not to improve it. :D

I wonder where son of Sam saw those "walled fertile grasslands" ? It certainly wasnt in the snipe grassed county of Mayo anyway ;)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 12, 2009, 12:47:19 PM

You have to admire the pride SOS has for his county even if it is mayo.
Post by: heineken_on_tap on May 12, 2009, 01:23:40 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 11, 2009, 11:40:57 PM

And nearly every house along that strech of road put up a Mayo flag and well wishes on yer way up in '06. Ye forget quick enough. Sure ye boys are usually in no hurry home anyway ;)
Post by: weareros on May 12, 2009, 01:28:21 PM

Aragh will you stop talking shite. Roscommon is famous for its ancient castles, abbeys and pristine lakes. The clans who built those castles also protected your Mayo hides for thousands of years and if you knew your history young garsun you'd know the O'Connors of Roscommon built many of the great abbeys in Mayo too. The only thing ye have over us is the mountains. I'll grant ye that. But it was a sorry day some of ye Mayo lads came down those swampy slopes because ye have been speaking some awful nonsense ever since mostly directed at unfortunate Roscommon ears.

To bring this back on topic , I was in the vicinity of Gaelic Park on Sunday and decided to check out Johno's Mayo in the off chance Ros would be meeting them in June, although that will be some turf skirmish in Carrick and M&M will be gunning for a chance to meet Mayo. Mayo won't have learned much after Sunday's match because New York's challenge was harmless enough although fair play they never stopped trying till the end. They were a very small team New York and the missus thought they were one of those underage teams that kick the ball around before a game starts. Despite that they went 4 points up after only a few minutes  while Mayo were still getting used to the astoturf, it not being the usual wet bogs they are accustomed to back home. New York actually should have went 1-5 to - 0-3 up after 10 mins missing an open goal chance after a deperate safe by Mayo keeper, that swiped the legs from under the New York lad. Had that gone in the Gaelic Park burgers would have took a bit longer to settle in the stomachs of the travelling support. A crumb of comfort for Ros or Leitrim is the fact that Mayo's defence when put under pressure still look shakey enough. Ronan McGarrity was my man of the match, fetching some great balls out of the sky. I was interested to see how Aodan O'Shea would fair and he's an 18 or 19 year old that has the gimp of a much older player. The Kerry blood ensures that there is a football brain in him. But if Fergal or M&M had any scout watching him at all, he can be marked easily enough due to his lack of mobility, but give him space and he can do damage, kick a nice point, or as a target man can bust up the play. I'd say putting someone tight and fast on Alan Dillon, keeping tight on O'Shea and beating him for speed, and somoneone to counteract McGarrity's fielding would allow Ros or Leitrm to make things difficult for Mayo. Have they the players is the question. Mayo have an experienced, settled look about them and with Conor Mortimor to come back will be confident enough of a Connacht crown and who knows what after that.

For the history buffs, the New York team of 1984 that beat a strong Mayo team in the Gael Linn tournament was honored at half-time. It was a pity Ros legend Jigger O'Connor was not there, but a look at the program showed he played his part in beating Mayo that day as he had always done in his all too short career for Ros.The crowd was tame enough on Sunday despite the efforts of that St. Patrick fella to get them going. Have seen him at a couple of Mayo matches against Ros teams in Castlebar. Do ye Mayo lads find him inspirational or a bit of a headcase. Another one who came down from the mountains I'm thinking myself.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 12, 2009, 01:37:35 PM
Quote from: weareros on May 12, 2009, 01:28:21 PM
Do ye Mayo lads find him inspirational or a bit of a headcase. Another one who came down from the mountains I'm thinking myself.

personally i'd say the latter
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 12, 2009, 01:52:29 PM

Aragh will you stop talking shite. Roscommon is famous for its ancient castles, abbeys and pristine lakes. The clans who built those castles also protected your Mayo hides for thousands of years and if you knew your history young garsun you'd know the O'Connors of Roscommon built many of the great abbeys in Mayo too. The only thing ye have over us is the mountains. I'll grant ye that. But it was a sorry day some of ye Mayo lads came down those swampy slopes because ye have been speaking some awful nonsense ever since mostly directed at unfortunate Roscommon ears.

To bring this back on topic , I was in the vicinity of Gaelic Park on Sunday and decided to check out Johno's Mayo in the off chance Ros would be meeting them in June, although that will be some turf skirmish in Carrick and M&M will be gunning for a chance to meet Mayo. Mayo won't have learned much after Sunday's match because New York's challenge was harmless enough although fair play they never stopped trying till the end. They were a very small team New York and the missus thought they were one of those underage teams that kick the ball around before a game starts. Despite that they went 4 points up after only a few minutes  while Mayo were still getting used to the astoturf, it not being the usual wet bogs they are accustomed to back home. New York actually should have went 1-5 to - 0-3 up after 10 mins missing an open goal chance after a deperate safe by Mayo keeper, that swiped the legs from under the New York lad. Had that gone in the Gaelic Park burgers would have took a bit longer to settle in the stomachs of the travelling support. A crumb of comfort for Ros or Leitrim is the fact that Mayo's defence when put under pressure still look shakey enough. Ronan McGarrity was my man of the match, fetching some great balls out of the sky. I was interested to see how Aodan O'Shea would fair and he's an 18 or 19 year old that has the gimp of a much older player. The Kerry blood ensures that there is a football brain in him. But if Fergal or M&M had any scout watching him at all, he can be marked easily enough due to his lack of mobility, but give him space and he can do damage, kick a nice point, or as a target man can bust up the play. I'd say putting someone tight and fast on Alan Dillon, keeping tight on O'Shea and beating him for speed, and somoneone to counteract McGarrity's fielding would allow Ros or Leitrm to make things difficult for Mayo. Have they the players is the question. Mayo have an experienced, settled look about them and with Conor Mortimor to come back will be confident enough of a Connacht crown and who knows what after that.

For the history buffs, the New York team of 1984 that beat a strong Mayo team in the Gael Linn tournament was honored at half-time. It was a pity Ros legend Jigger O'Connor was not there, but a look at the program showed he played his part in beating Mayo that day as he had always done in his all too short career for Ros.The crowd was tame enough on Sunday despite the efforts of that St. Patrick fella to get them going. Have seen him at a couple of Mayo matches against Ros teams in Castlebar. Do ye Mayo lads find him inspirational or a bit of a headcase. Another one who came down from the mountains I'm thinking myself.

Best newbie post ever :D welcome weareros
Post by: Tubberman on May 12, 2009, 01:56:44 PM

:D :D Some first post - you're not shy and polite for a newcomer anyway!

Quoteif you knew your history young garsun you'd know the O'Connors of Roscommon built many of the great abbeys in Mayo too

A lot of truth to what you say as well. It was Cathal O'Connor who was responsible for building Ballintubber Abbey. A family in Ballintubber had fostered him and reared him for a few years when his own crowd in Ros were trying to murder him  ::)
Anyway, the Mayo decency must have rubbed off on him because he sent his men to build an abbey as thanks to the people of Ballintubber.
But the Rossie builders weren't the brightest (a trait that can be seen to this very day), and they built it in the wrong Ballintubber - they went to the one in Ros.
So O'Connor had one built 4 times bigger in the real Ballintubber.  ;D  
Post by: Rossfan on May 12, 2009, 02:23:34 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 12, 2009, 01:56:44 PM
[
But the Rossie builders .... built it in the wrong Ballintubber - they went to the one in Ros.
So O'Connor had one built 4 times bigger in the real Ballintubber.  ;D  

Was there a Galway Tent in them days I wonder ? how else could they have got the land re zoned ?

By the way a great post by Weareros . Good to have another member of the master race on board. :D
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on May 12, 2009, 02:41:34 PM

Good post weareros, good to have another neighbour to have the banter with! Still I think you're leaving out the lakes, the Islands and the amazing coastline, I believe we also have an international airport and first world roads but maybe ye have them too?  ;D Being in the near vicinity to Ross I can confirm it is indeed famous for being a kip but then again most rossies don't deny that, it's part of the 'charm' of the place! Maybe this summer I'll open my mind a little and take a holiday in the beautiful town of Elphin or maybe push the boat out and enjoy the delights of Castlrea and take in the boglands of Loughlynn en route, oh yes, Ross has lots of bog too, that's one thing we don't have on ye!!
Post by: Rossfan on May 12, 2009, 03:03:05 PM
Turf is useful unlike scrub wasteland   :D
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 12, 2009, 03:12:55 PM
some great stuff there lads , welcome to the board  weareros i'd say we will have our work cut out with you  :D . Whatever about Roscommon having loads of bogs it also has a place called tulsk, christ i get depressed driving through the place is there any way at all that the roscommon co council could bypass the fecking place, even christy Hoore didn't like it  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on May 12, 2009, 04:25:18 PM
Ya Mayo philistine .. you are talking about the ancient and real  Capital of Ireland.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 12, 2009, 04:33:56 PM
Apologies Ross but i knew the country was fcuked when they were selling 3 bedroom semi's in Tulsk for €170k  :D
Post by: ildanach on May 12, 2009, 04:35:53 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 12, 2009, 03:12:55 PM
some great stuff there lads , welcome to the board  weareros i'd say we will have our work cut out with you  :D . Whatever about Roscommon having loads of bogs it also has a place called tulsk, christ i get depressed driving through the place is there any way at all that the roscommon co council could bypass the fecking place, even christy Hoore didn't like it  ;)

Even the Brown Bull of Cooley thought the same!!
After being captured by Queen Meabh's army and brought back to Tulsk. He challenged the white bull of King Ailill to a fight because he was so bored, killed it and all around him and then headed back to Cooley!!!
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 12, 2009, 04:38:43 PM
he was a smart bull
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 12, 2009, 05:12:20 PM
For the history buffs, the New York team of 1984 that beat a strong Mayo team in the Gael Linn tournament was honored at half-time. It was a pity Ros legend Jigger O'Connor was not there, but a look at the program showed he played his part in beating Mayo that day as he had always done in his all too short career for Ros.

The Jigger is returned to Erin I believe. A friend of mine met him before the 2006 semi-final, when Roscommon beat Meath in the minor and Mayo beat Dublin in the senior. I believe he's looking well and enjoying his life. A poster boy of that Roscommon team of the late seventies of course.
Post by: ildanach on May 12, 2009, 08:18:26 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 12, 2009, 04:38:43 PM
he was a smart bull

It is intersting though that fado fado they were cattle rustlers who evolved into sheep stealers!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on May 12, 2009, 11:17:29 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 12, 2009, 01:37:35 PM
Do ye Mayo lads find him inspirational or a bit of a headcase. Another one who came down from the mountains I'm thinking myself.

An embarrassment, for me anyway
Post by: moysider on May 13, 2009, 12:30:52 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on May 12, 2009, 11:17:29 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 12, 2009, 01:37:35 PM

An embarrassment, for me anyway

Agree. Why he feels the need to subject people to his 'performance' is puzzling. Like a lot of attention seekers he obviously does n t mind that people don t want his sh**. He gives it anyway like it or not and mistakes people 's indulgence for approval. It s the giving that counts for him, for whatever reason that probably only he does n t know, I suspect( but I m sure a psychologist could have a good stab at it). Where I come from, they call it ' not right in the head'.  I think he should stop and if I had anything to do with him it would never have started. Has he nobody belonging to him?
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 13, 2009, 11:15:08 AM
What does he do for bobs? How does he pay for his potatoes? It's not cheap get to New York and back. I wish to God he'd take up the rugby. :(
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 13, 2009, 11:39:57 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 13, 2009, 11:15:08 AM
What does he do for bobs? How does he pay for his potatoes? It's not cheap get to New York and back. I wish to God he'd take up the rugby. :(

Miracles icc  ;)
Post by: Son_of_Sam on May 13, 2009, 12:00:13 PM

The Mayo crowd rarely takes a cheerleader to get them going, in fact I always notice he has the opposite affect, the ctowd is in full roar & he scuttles over, then the Mayo crowd gets embarrased by his presance and goes quite. Have yet to see him actually watch more than 15 seconds of a game. He just annoys people by blocking their view, usually if you are close by you can here a two dozen or so people exclaiming "arragh sit down ffs"  But I wouldn't go much harsher on the lad as I am quite suspicious he might not have the full deck of cards.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 13, 2009, 12:29:29 PM
Lads go easy will ye? I find him as annoying sometimes as the next man but its not for anyone to speculate the way some are speculating here.
Post by: moysider on May 13, 2009, 02:23:38 PM
Yeah. I suppose so but he is annoying. I mean if you went to the theatre or cinema and started clowning around like that you d be asked to leave.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 13, 2009, 02:51:21 PM
Used to find him funny and witty. Now I am just embarrassed by the guy. He is really annoying. Amazing how it took 'only' 11 pages before the Rossies were acting the pricks again.
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2009, 02:53:18 PM
Ye shower always bring that side of us to the fore . :D
Post by: muppet on May 13, 2009, 03:15:42 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2009, 02:53:18 PM

We're like sheep then.
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2009, 04:56:00 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 13, 2009, 03:15:42 PM

We're like sheep then.

Naww. Sheep are useful. :P
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 13, 2009, 05:59:41 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2009, 04:56:00 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 13, 2009, 03:15:42 PM

We're like sheep then.

Naww. Sheep are useful. :P

I'd sooner be useless than be used for the type of uses ye have in mind for sheep.
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2009, 07:46:30 PM
I wouldnt fancy atin any mate that we'd get from ye're carcasses and the wool off ye isnt much good either.

Anyway to talk about football....I presume realistically ye have to be thinking about Connacht final day and trying to sort out a line out that will relieve Galway of their Connacht Title. Ye should have a handy Semi Final to try out some combinations anyway  :-\