GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Zulu on April 23, 2009, 02:12:03 PM

Title: Mortimer & Reilly attacked in Ballymun
Post by: Zulu on April 23, 2009, 02:12:03 PM
Hoganstand and AFR are reporting the Conor Mort and Kevin Reilly were attacked by a gang in Ballymun and Reilly was hospitalised, any truth to this and if so are the injuries being reported exaggerated?
Title: Re: Mortimer & Reilly attacked in Ballymun
Post by: The Claw on April 23, 2009, 02:19:33 PM
From Hoganstand

Mortimer and Reilly attacked by gang

23 April 2009
Mayo star Conor Mortimer and Meath's Kevin Reilly were hospitalised after an alleged attack by a gang in Ballymun on Tuesday evening last.

The pair, who are students in nearby DCU, both required treatment after the attack which occurred outside a shop. And while Mortimer was released from hospital on Tuesday night, it is understood that Reilly was detained for eye treatment.

Mortimer is currently recovering from a broken hand he suffered in Mayo's final NFL outing against Tyrone a fortnight ago, while International Rules star Reilly is facing a suspension after being red-carded during last Sunday's tempestuous Meath SFC first round clash between Navan O'Mahony's and Seneschalstown at Pairc Tailteann
Post by: orangeman on April 23, 2009, 02:23:06 PM
Jesus - not good  -

We're very close to the tragic incident that happened in Cookstown over the weekend. There by the Grace of God ...............

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 23, 2009, 03:42:00 PM
Quote from: Canalman on April 23, 2009, 03:32:05 PM
Is minic a bhris béal duine a shrón.

So the mouthy culchies were asking for it then? (Unless my Irish has really gone to pieces)
Post by: The Claw on April 23, 2009, 03:47:16 PM
If you're going by Reilly's srón, he doesn't seem to learn!
Post by: mannix on April 23, 2009, 04:16:32 PM
too bad it wasn't kenneth mortimer, a different outcome.
Post by: thejuice on April 23, 2009, 04:21:50 PM
Jesus, thats bad. Hope they're alright. Crowd of scumbags no doubt.
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 04:27:25 PM
the two lads might have been talking when they should have been listening
Post by: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 04:29:01 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 04:27:25 PM

:-X
Post by: muppet on April 23, 2009, 04:31:46 PM
Quote from: Canalman on April 23, 2009, 03:32:05 PM
Is minic a bhris béal duine a shrón.

Is that because you know something or because there was a Meath/Mayo man involved?

Post by: bingobus on April 23, 2009, 04:40:28 PM

What shite, two lads get a beating and its straight away something they deserved.  ::)

Hope the fella's fists are ok.
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 04:45:05 PM
I said they might have been talking when they should have been listening. There is another thread on this site where people from my county - Tyrone -, Armagh, Derry, Down and rural Antrim think it is alright to lip at locals over in Belfast whenever they want. Possibly the same case with those who go to DCU.
Post by: full back on April 23, 2009, 04:47:09 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 04:45:05 PM
I said they might have been talking when they should have been listening. There is another thread on this site where people from my county - Tyrone -, Armagh, Derry, Down and rural Antrim think it is alright to lip at locals over in Belfast whenever they want. Possibly the same case with those who go to DCU.

Are you fior real?
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 04:59:33 PM
It is a possibility. Just cause there intercounty GAA players doesn't mean they mightn't start fights they can handle. Ballymun has a bad rep and people will be quick to judge. Lets wait until we get the full story. Could just be a cause of two lads on the rip biting off more than they can chew.
Post by: full back on April 23, 2009, 05:06:51 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 04:59:33 PM
Lets wait until we get the full story. Could just be a cause of two lads on the rip biting off more than they can chew.

Define irony ::)
Post by: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 05:07:01 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 04:59:33 PM
It is a possibility. Just cause there intercounty GAA players doesn't mean they mightn't start fights they can handle. Ballymun has a bad rep and people will be quick to judge. Lets wait until we get the full story. Could just be a cause of two lads on the rip biting off more than they can chew.

Post by: Puckoon on April 23, 2009, 05:11:21 PM

Makes no difference to anything. Even if they were, a freak punch or fall could cost the loss of life.

Suppose youre one of these hard men that thinks thats ok?
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 05:21:32 PM
I never think violence is the answer but you would be naive to think it doesn't happen. People sometimes bring it on themselves and these to players might have done in this case. Who knows? Only the people that were there. I'm just throwing it out there.
Post by: heineken_on_tap on April 23, 2009, 05:22:46 PM
No need to be over dramatic now - no doubt the two lads are grand again. Sure Mortimer is used to falling to the ground without anyone touching him
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 05:26:22 PM
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on April 23, 2009, 05:22:46 PM
No need to be over dramatic now - no doubt the two lads are grand again. Sure Mortimer is used to falling to the ground without anyone touching him

Very true. It will only be a good thing for Mayo, the lad will be toughened up.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 23, 2009, 05:27:58 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 05:26:22 PM
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on April 23, 2009, 05:22:46 PM

Very true. It will only be a good thing for Mayo, the lad will be toughened up.

Yeah, imagine you being attacked. Imagine you saying people saying it'll be good to be toughened up.  ::)
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 05:32:29 PM
I've been attacked twice once in Belfast for talking when I should have been listening and once in Portrush for talking when I should have been listening.
Post by: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 05:34:06 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 05:32:29 PM
I've been attacked twice once in Belfast for talking when I should have been listening and once in Portrush for talking when I should have been listening.

Well hopefully you've learned your lesson then.
Post by: full back on April 23, 2009, 05:36:19 PM

Try not to tar everyone with your brush
Post by: bingobus on April 23, 2009, 05:41:11 PM

By looks of it, it could happen again  ;)  ;D
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 23, 2009, 05:48:04 PM
Hoopeddefender is either a WUM or a complete idiot. Not sure which.
Post by: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 05:48:48 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 23, 2009, 05:48:04 PM

I am.
Post by: Puckoon on April 23, 2009, 05:49:07 PM
Yes, you are a complete idiot.
Post by: muppet on April 23, 2009, 05:52:23 PM
Is there an ignore function here? For under 18s and the like?
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 23, 2009, 05:52:55 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 23, 2009, 05:48:04 PM

Have you ever considered that he probably is both?
Post by: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 05:55:20 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 23, 2009, 05:49:07 PM
Yes, you are a complete idiot.

>:( should have seen that coming.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 23, 2009, 05:56:06 PM

And are you toughened up yet?
Post by: Dont Matter on April 23, 2009, 07:54:42 PM
Dublin scum. The problem is the dubs are bringing a lot of these individuals to Croke Park also,  (and I'm not talkin about Ciaran Whelan) it's only a matter of time before something like this happens outside Croker as well.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 23, 2009, 07:56:09 PM
Hoopedefender you really are a dick sometimes, keep your allegations away from threads like this will you.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 23, 2009, 08:57:38 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 23, 2009, 05:52:23 PM

Unfortunately not, only with pm's. There is some proliferation of idiots about alright.
Post by: cavan4ever on April 23, 2009, 09:18:13 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 23, 2009, 08:57:38 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 23, 2009, 05:52:23 PM

Unfortunately not, only with pm's. There is some proliferation of idiots about alright.

Its getting worse by the week.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 23, 2009, 09:40:55 PM
Mortimor does have a bit of form for the auld street row. Didn't the cops have to rescue him from a hammering in Galway after the connacht final a few years ago. Supposedly he was mouthing at some lads and they didn't like it too much. However, we'll have to wait for the full story to see what happened.
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 09:44:23 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 23, 2009, 09:40:55 PM
Mortimor does have a bit of form for the auld street row. Didn't the cops have to rescue him from a hammering in Galway after the connacht final a few years ago. Supposedly he was mouthing at some lads and they didn't like it too much. However, we'll have to wait for the full story to see what happened.

maybe he needs to control his temper
Post by: ExiledGael on April 23, 2009, 09:47:51 PM
The only thing you both know of this incident is that Mortimer was beaten up along with Reilly.
Bit ridiculous to be preaching at him about his temper.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on April 23, 2009, 10:46:55 PM
Unfortunately, I have witnessed at first hand the devastation caused by violence this week in our own parish.  Against this backdrop I find the comments by some on this thread at best crass, at worst down right repulsive.

I pray that the people (person) responsible for these posts never suffers at the hands of mindless violence on the street, and that they find a modicum of common sense / decency when it comes to posting on forums regarding such incidents.
Post by: dodo on April 23, 2009, 10:48:49 PM

Maybe you should get your facts correct before taking pot shots at an amateur player, regardless of your opinion of him.
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 23, 2009, 10:54:32 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on April 23, 2009, 10:46:55 PM
Unfortunately, I have witnessed at first hand the devastation caused by violence this week in our own parish.  Against this backdrop I find the comments by some on this thread at best crass, at worst down right repulsive.

I pray that the people (person) responsible for these posts never suffers at the hands of mindless violence on the street, and that they find a modicum of common sense / decency when it comes to posting on forums regarding such incidents.

Well said, I have been saying on this board for a long time that more young people will lose their lives on our streets because of the ever growing fighting culture prevalent amongst our young people.  My local gym is full of young lads pumping Iron and full of steroids, cage fighting is now viewed as a sport over here - a sad indictment of society.
Post by: INDIANA on April 23, 2009, 11:01:29 PM
The driveway into the DCU entrance on the ballymun side is a ropey spot fellas. A lot of attacks on that side of the campus. Largely unlit and dark especially at night- not somewhere I'd recommend walking down if you're around there.
Post by: Rav67 on April 23, 2009, 11:59:15 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on April 23, 2009, 10:54:32 PM
Well said, I have been saying on this board for a long time that more young people will lose their lives on our streets because of the ever growing fighting culture prevalent amongst our young people.  My local gym is full of young lads pumping Iron and full of steroids, cage fighting is now viewed as a sport over here - a sad indictment of society.

Thats a very reactionary OTT post.  I'd wager that very very few lads pumping iron in the gym or those involved in MMA are the sort who would attack random people in the street or start fights, so I don't think either are a problem.  You get far more problems with layabouts who don't work or exercise.
Post by: under the bar on April 24, 2009, 12:00:24 AM
QuoteI've been attacked twice once in Belfast for talking when I should have been listening and once in Portrush for talking when I should have been listening.

Let me guess...were you talking sh*te by any chance?
Post by: rosnarun on April 24, 2009, 12:43:54 AM
Quote from: Rav67 on April 23, 2009, 11:59:15 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on April 23, 2009, 10:54:32 PM

Thats a very reactionary OTT post.  I'd wager that very very few lads pumping iron in the gym or those involved in MMA are the sort who would attack random people in the street or start fights, so I don't think either are a problem.  You get far more problems with layabouts who don't work or exercise.
yes a very reactionary OTT post. its the unemployed stupid who do these things.  good did people learn nothing from tatcher and Tory boy
Its the type of thing that can happen anywhere but seen as dublin has about a 1/3 of the popiulation it'll happen there more than anywhere. there is actually far less fighting on the streets now than there was 30 years ago before Knives became common
Post by: Chuck Lidl on April 24, 2009, 05:41:38 AM
rosnarun are you encouraging people to carry knives?
Post by: stephenite on April 24, 2009, 05:58:40 AM
Quote from: Chuck Lidl on April 24, 2009, 05:41:38 AM

How the fcuk are you asking that, from what he wrote?
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 24, 2009, 08:43:02 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 23, 2009, 05:56:06 PM

And are you toughened up yet?

No answer huh? ::)
Post by: SidelineKick on April 24, 2009, 08:45:41 AM
Quote from: Chuck Lidl on April 24, 2009, 05:41:38 AM

Jesus Christ  ::) could the newbies not have to do some sort of IQ test or a common sense test before there are allowed to post in public?
Post by: heffo on April 24, 2009, 08:52:01 AM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 23, 2009, 04:45:05 PM

Utter bullshit - they're entitled to go about their business without worrying whether they're allowed talk in a certain area or not.
Post by: AbbeySider on April 24, 2009, 09:44:27 AM
The story I heard a couple of days ago is that the two boys were on the beer in a pub somewhere between Ballymun and DCU. A girl came into the pub in her pajamas and the boys were cracking a joke about it. It was harmless enough but she went off to get her brothers and half the estate and they kicked the shite out of Mortimor and Reilly. The boys were well out numbered.
Also heard that Mort broke his collarbone or shoulder in the incident.
This is just what I heard from someone going to DCU but it may not be 100% accurate.
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:04:54 AM
So they were picking on the girl?
She shouldn't have got her brothers involved but they should'nt have slabbered at her.
Post by: heffo on April 24, 2009, 10:06:52 AM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:04:54 AM
She shouldn't have got her brothers involved but they should'nt have slabbered at her.

Haven't you already jumped to enough conclusions?
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:08:35 AM
There is a question mark at the end of the first sentance you mong. How can a question be a conclusion you really are a gimp. If that is the truth though the burd obviously had the last laugh.
Post by: full back on April 24, 2009, 10:09:14 AM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:04:54 AM

Obvioulsy a WUM
Post by: wherefromreferee? on April 24, 2009, 10:09:26 AM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:08:35 AM
There is a question mark at the end of the first sentance you mong. How can a question be a conclusion you really are a gimp. If that is the truth though the burd obviously had the last laugh.

You're a tool?  Question Mark denotes a question by the way  ;)
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:21:19 AM
If that story is true they shouldn't have had a laugh at the young ladies expense, fact.
She should'nt have got her brothers to give them the beating of their lives, fact.
They should have known something like this might happen if they showed no respect to locals and laughed at their expense, fact.
They will never do something like this again to the good people of Ballymun, fact.
Post by: SidelineKick on April 24, 2009, 10:23:48 AM
heffo could you please report hoopeddefender as he called you both a "mong" and a "gimp"?

That should see him get a wee ban and maybe he'll lose interest in the board.  Here's hoping.
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:25:53 AM
I'll be back, like a phoenix from the flames. I'm playing devil's advocate and you men just can;t take your beating, a bit like Mortimer. Now we're hurling lads, now we're hurling.
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:31:56 AM
Sidelinekick you need to dry your eyes. Crying like a baby hahahaha. Miss miss he said mong and gimp, I bet you got bullied in school.
Post by: full back on April 24, 2009, 10:43:11 AM
FFS, are the children still off for the Easter holidays?
Post by: SidelineKick on April 24, 2009, 10:48:43 AM
I did get bullied at school. People picked on me because I was a complete w**ker and couldnt get on with anybody and couldnt be liked if you reared me.  You're bound to know what I'm talking about.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 24, 2009, 10:50:42 AM
Quote from: full back on April 24, 2009, 10:43:11 AM

i think the creches are still closed
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:52:29 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 24, 2009, 10:50:42 AM

Good one lad. I feel off my seat cracking my hole laughing at you.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 24, 2009, 10:55:17 AM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:52:29 AM

well thats good at least you didn't fall off you seat your mammy probably has you strapped in to your high chair
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:56:25 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 24, 2009, 10:55:17 AM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:52:29 AM

well thats good at least you didn't fall off you seat your mammy probably has you strapped in to your high chair

hahahahhahahahhahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahhahahahahhaha
Your so funny, just like those claims that Mortimer is a good boy and that Mayo are a decnt outfit.
Post by: SidelineKick on April 24, 2009, 11:01:12 AM
What's wrong with the youth of today that they are, well, completely stupid?:

I FEEL off my seat.

YOUR so funny.

Hoopeddefender perhaps you could write your posts in Microsoft Word first then paste them in.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 24, 2009, 11:26:59 AM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:25:53 AM
I'll be back, like a phoenix from the flames. I'm playing devil's advocate and you men just can;t take your beating, a bit like Mortimer. Now we're hurling lads, now we're hurling.

I really hate people who use phrases like this - and "now we're sucking diseal", or "now we're dundalking", or "keep'er lit"!

Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 11:28:57 AM
I really hate people from Omagh but you don't see me crying about it. Gimp.
Post by: SidelineKick on April 24, 2009, 11:31:29 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 24, 2009, 11:26:59 AM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:25:53 AM

I really hate people who use phrases like this - and "now we're sucking diseal", or "now we're dundalking", or "keep'er lit"!

I quite like that one and have used it frequently in recent times, though thats only because I recently discovered it.
Post by: shamateur gaels on April 24, 2009, 12:36:34 PM
Replace Mortimer & Reilly with Mc Menamin and this thread would go down a different path
Post by: AbbeySider on April 24, 2009, 12:46:12 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:21:19 AM
If that story is true they shouldn't have had a laugh at the young ladies expense, fact.
She should'nt have got her brothers to give them the beating of their lives, fact.
They should have known something like this might happen if they showed no respect to locals and laughed at their expense, fact.
They will never do something like this again to the good people of Ballymun, fact.

Having a laugh at the ladies expense? Are you High?

Who the feck goes into a pub in their PJ's?? Maybe its the norm in Dublin?

The boys were having a chuckle and had a few pints, big deal. they didnt deserve that.

Good people of Ballymun? More like sc**bag nackers ganging up like cowards and beating two lads to a pulp.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 24, 2009, 12:50:08 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 24, 2009, 12:46:12 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:21:19 AM

The boys were having a chuckle and had a few pints, big deal. they didnt deserve that.

Good people of Ballymun? More like sc**bag nackers ganging up like cowards and beating two lads to a pulp.

well said Abbey Sider.

Anyone who has been out much in Dublin or went to college there, knows how quickly you can get a slap for no reason by those tramps who go around with their  tracksuit bottoms tucked into their white socks,Burbery hats etc.
I know a good few lads in DCU and they say, these people look to start fights with Students all the time.
Post by: INDIANA on April 24, 2009, 01:08:40 PM
anyone who's been around cavan town or kingscourt wouldn't have to go too far to get a slap either ;).
I know the pub they were in - wouldn't be  recommending it. Unfortunately groups of knackers hang round just outside it. You'd only have to look at them funny to get a dig. DCU at one entrance is unfortunately unhealthily close in its proximity to Ballymun. The other side of the campus is fine- its just that end of it. Some of the local scum tend to drift a mile or so down the road unfortunately.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 24, 2009, 01:16:31 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 24, 2009, 01:08:40 PM
anyone who's been around cavan town or kingscourt wouldn't have to go too far to get a slap either ;).
I know the pub they were in - wouldn't be  recommending it. Unfortunately groups of knackers hang round just outside it. You'd only have to look at them funny to get a dig. DCU at one entrance is unfortunately unhealthily close in its proximity to Ballymun. The other side of the campus is fine- its just that end of it. Some of the local scum tend to drift a mile or so down the road unfortunately.
We just dont like dubs down here indiana  ;)
Agree with you that this type of behaviour is nationwide,Theres certainly a few areas of Cavan i wouldnt socialise or go out of my way to be in.
Unfortunately in Ballymuns case,There is a larger amount  of scumbags than there would be down the country who do the areas reputation no favour with their behaviour.
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:31:36 PM
Your all middle class snobs. Typical comments from middle class armchair GAA fans, disgraceful.
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 24, 2009, 01:41:18 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:31:36 PM
Your all middle class snobs. Typical comments from middle class armchair GAA fans, disgraceful.
:D :D :D
Post by: BennyHarp on April 24, 2009, 01:55:30 PM

I'm bored!!  :(
Post by: AbbeySider on April 24, 2009, 02:23:08 PM

Your 10 days posting on this board.
Who are you calling middle class snobs and armchair GAA fans?

You referred to some similar people in towns as "pond life" in a previous thread.

Explain.

Post by: the Deel Rover on April 24, 2009, 02:26:01 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 24, 2009, 02:23:08 PM

You referred to some similar people in towns as "pond life" in a previous thread.

Explain.

Don't encourage him abbeysider  ;)
Post by: AbbeySider on April 24, 2009, 02:33:48 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 24, 2009, 02:26:01 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 24, 2009, 02:23:08 PM

Explain.

Don't encourage him abbeysider  ;)

Noted  :-X :-[
Post by: shamateur gaels on April 24, 2009, 05:27:24 PM
I heard the two boyos got more hits than redtube gets in a day.
Post by: rosnarun on April 24, 2009, 07:15:24 PM
what was the name of that loon that spent most of his time defending shamrock rovers right to sponge off the nation a while back. i think he could be here in triplicate or else he left on  his PC and  his deranged brother from the attic is typing
Post by: ExiledGael on April 24, 2009, 07:18:28 PM
Dublinfella wasn't it.
In fairness to him I think he was just deluded, these few are just d***s.

Back to topic, any word of the injuries here? Mustn't have been too bad as it doesn't seem to have gotten much coverage anywhere.
Post by: paddypastit on April 24, 2009, 07:24:46 PM
QuoteIf that story is true they shouldn't have had a laugh at the young ladies expense, fact.

well said Abbey Sider.

Anyone who has been out much in Dublin or went to college there, knows how quickly you can get a slap for no reason by those tramps who go around with their  tracksuit bottoms tucked into their white socks,Burbery hats etc.
I know a good few lads in DCU and they say, these people look to start fights with Students all the time.
I went to what is now DCU before it was DCU which means it was a long time ago.  I'd make a few general comments.  A lot of young and not sio young ones in Dublibn city hang go out in what either are, or look very like pyjamas.  It has been a fad for the past five years or so - it's hardly pass remarkable anymore. As far back as the early eighties, the locals in Glasnevin / Ballymun had lilttle time for the students and made no secret of it.  We were tolerated in the lounge part of certain pubs but were effectively banned elsewhere and respected that on the basis that neither side bothered the other as a result.  The combination of these two points is that a student who is seen to be having a go in any way at a local is going to be in danger territory. Respect is everything.
Post by: micka the dub on April 24, 2009, 10:05:45 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on April 23, 2009, 07:54:42 PM
Dublin scum. The problem is the dubs are bringing a lot of these individuals to Croke Park also,  (and I'm not talkin about Ciaran Whelan) it's only a matter of time before something like this happens outside Croker as well.
is that comment directed at all dubs,my 3 year old daughter,me ma,bono or the whole city.the snobbery of culchies knows no bounds.if you made that comment to a dubs face would the dub be out of order to give you a box.culchies dont like dubs thats a fact but lads a lot of you seem to think it hurts us but i have news for you we dont care and truth be told we dont really like you boys much and would you blame us with comments like that .hard man hiding behind your computer making statements like that.your a f**king disgrace.and you should be banned.know i now you lot are a well behaved bunch and never cause aggro but if yiz ever did would a dub be tolarated coming on her and saying culchie scum.would we fcuk.not that i ever would say it because i have the brains to know there is good and bad everywhere.and finally its more than likely that it was dubs that attacked the lads but it hasnt being confirmed,oh and indiana you should hang your head in shame with the comments you have made about ballymun.dub me arse.i was born in ballymun and its full of great people.i smell a southsider
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 24, 2009, 10:38:50 PM
that a chip on ur shoulder or a fish supper?  ;)
Post by: micka the dub on April 24, 2009, 10:47:26 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on April 24, 2009, 10:38:50 PM
that a chip on ur shoulder or a fish supper?  ;)
i know man but there is no need for that.standing up for the tribe and all that.
Post by: Puckoon on April 24, 2009, 10:52:24 PM
Quote from: micka the dub on April 24, 2009, 10:05:45 PM
the snobbery of culchies knows no bounds.

What a great line.

Post by: thejuice on April 25, 2009, 12:45:19 AM
Fair play Micka.

We only have speculation surrounding the cause of this incident. IF these lads were taking the piss and humiliating this woman, 'if indeed any of this actually happened by the way' well they should have had a bit more cop on. That is just asking for trouble. Of course it is out of order to go acquire a gang to seek repercussion for said humiliation.

Now I have no idea if any of this is true, but for a start the two lads should have had more sense if it is, indeed true. So I guess it comes down to that old adage about 2 wrongs not making a right. 2 wrongs that landed people in hospital and may land others with prosectution.
Post by: ludermor on April 25, 2009, 11:10:54 AM

Im confused.
not that i ever would say it because i have the brains to know there is good and bad everywhere

Yet there is good and bad but you still dislike us boys
i have news for you we dont care and truth be told we dont really like you boys much

Fuuny way to be taking the moral high ground.
Post by: micka the dub on April 25, 2009, 01:37:12 PM
Quote from: ludermor on April 25, 2009, 11:10:54 AM

Im confused.
not that i ever would say it because i have the brains to know there is good and bad everywhere

Yet there is good and bad but you still dislike us boys
i have news for you we dont care and truth be told we dont really like you boys much
ye fair point . i should have phrased that better,i meant we wouldnt be too fond of culchies that had that atitude towrads us.
people are people tho no matter where they are from
Fuuny way to be taking the moral high ground.
Post by: ludermor on April 25, 2009, 02:29:43 PM
Fair enough micka and i agree with your last statement
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 25, 2009, 02:30:59 PM
 :D :D :D

So do I ludermor!!
Post by: AbbeySider on April 25, 2009, 05:56:26 PM
hard man hiding behind your computer making statements like that.your a f**king disgrace.and you should be banned.
The hard men were the fellas who needed to a gang to beat up on the two fellas like cowards. They are spineless lowlifes. Nobody is trying to turn this discussion into Dus Vs Culchies. Ordinary Dubs are as sound as you can get, nobody is trying to disrespect Dubs and paint them with one brush.

Post by: micka the dub on April 25, 2009, 08:13:56 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 25, 2009, 05:56:26 PM
hard man hiding behind your computer making statements like that.your a f**king disgrace.and you should be banned.
The hard men were the fellas who needed to a gang to beat up on the two fellas like cowards. They are spineless lowlifes. Nobody is trying to turn this discussion into Dus Vs Culchies. Ordinary Dubs are as sound as you can get, nobody is trying to disrespect Dubs and paint them with one brush.

i agree with you 100% ,but the original post i replied to was out of order imo.and while i wouldnt be a fan of mortimer at all the last thing i would do if i met him would be knock the head off him.sadly its just the state of the country at the moment that we have these gangs of scum roaming our streets.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on April 25, 2009, 11:19:02 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 24, 2009, 09:44:27 AM
The story I heard a couple of days ago is that the two boys were on the beer in a pub somewhere between Ballymun and DCU. A girl came into the pub in her pajamas and the boys were cracking a joke about it. It was harmless enough but she went off to get her brothers and half the estate and they kicked the shite out of Mortimor and Reilly. The boys were well out numbered.
This is just what I heard from someone going to DCU but it may not be 100% accurate.

If she was wearing her PJs into a Pub she was looking to get slagged off. No reason to get somone beaten up just because she was incapable of dressing herself.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on April 25, 2009, 11:26:58 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on April 23, 2009, 07:54:42 PM
is that comment directed at all dubs,my 3 year old daughter,me ma,bono or the whole city.the snobbery of culchies knows no bounds.if you made that comment to a dubs face would the dub be out of order to give you a box.culchies dont like dubs thats a fact but lads a lot of you seem to think it hurts us but i have news for you we dont care and truth be told we dont really like you boys much and would you blame us with comments like that .hard man hiding behind your computer making statements like that.your a f**king disgrace.and you should be banned.know i now you lot are a well behaved bunch and never cause aggro but if yiz ever did would a dub be tolarated coming on her and saying culchie scum.would we fcuk.not that i ever would say it because i have the brains to know there is good and bad everywhere.and finally its more than likely that it was dubs that attacked the lads but it hasnt being confirmed,oh and indiana you should hang your head in shame with the comments you have made about ballymun.dub me arse.i was born in ballymun and its full of great people.i smell a southsider

Now whos the snob.  ;D
Post by: INDIANA on April 25, 2009, 11:33:47 PM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on April 25, 2009, 11:19:02 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 24, 2009, 09:44:27 AM

If she was wearing her PJs into a Pub she was looking to get slagged off. No reason to get somone beaten up just because she was incapable of dressing herself.

Absolutely but couldn't the two lads kept their mouth shut? How did they end up in that dump anyway? Just certain areas of Dublin lads I wouldn't open my mouth- that place being one of them. BUt it just shows the level of scum in the country that the first instinct is to get a mob to kcik the shit out of them.
Post by: AbbeySider on April 26, 2009, 02:02:18 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 25, 2009, 11:33:47 PM
Absolutely but couldn't the two lads kept their mouth shut? How did they end up in that dump anyway? Just certain areas of Dublin lads I wouldn't open my mouth- that place being one of them. BUt it just shows the level of scum in the country that the first instinct is to get a mob to kcik the shit out of them.

Keep their mouth shut...? in a public house? What country are we living in, and what year is it ? ? ?

I feel sorry for ye, your views of society saddens me deeply.
Its not Nazi Germany and you shouldn't have to watch where you walk and what you say, within reason, regardless of where you are.
I will not be intimated by coward, yellow, scum  like that.

If I cant enjoy a drink and a bit of craic (in Dublin or where ever) without looking over my shoulder then this country is fucked.

Certain areas of Dublin you wouldn't open your mouth? Bull tied up in a rag!
I wouldnt provoke any fight for a second but I wouldnt exactly be intimated and say bullshit like
"They deserved it if they looked for it"
"They should have respect in the area".... bullshit

Wont put up with that crap any time, place or venue and neither should anyone else.
Post by: INDIANA on April 26, 2009, 02:15:44 AM
So Dublin is the only place in Ireland that has public disorder problems? Obviously your literacy levels aren't too high as there was quite a few threads relating to it on this website and none of them related to Dublin.

Abbeysider I can give you a list of various districts outside Dublin where you can employ your civil rights to your heart's content. And don;t come back crying to us when your sucking through a straw for a few months. Undesirables exist all over the country and every place unfortunately has these areas where its best to keep your mouth shut. Thats not an excuse for violence but dealing in a world full of drugs,steroids and alcohol abuse its an unfortunate byproduct. I mean why don't you go down to Moyross and employ your bullshit civil liberty theories to your heart's content and see how you get on or pehaps visit your local halting site and laugh at someone in there and see how you get on.
Thats life. No-one said you had to like it.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on April 26, 2009, 03:51:29 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 26, 2009, 02:15:44 AM
So Dublin is the only place in Ireland that has public disorder problems? Obviously your literacy levels aren't too high as there was quite a few threads relating to it on this website and none of them related to Dublin.

Abbeysider I can give you a list of various districts outside Dublin where you can employ your civil rights to your heart's content. And don;t come back crying to us when your sucking through a straw for a few months. Undesirables exist all over the country and every place unfortunately has these areas where its best to keep your mouth shut. Thats not an excuse for violence but dealing in a world full of drugs,steroids and alcohol abuse its an unfortunate byproduct. I mean why don't you go down to Moyross and employ your bullshit civil liberty theories to your heart's content and see how you get on or pehaps visit your local halting site and laugh at someone in there and see how you get on.

True that its just not Dublin, but I wouldn't expect to be told that I can't have a laugh in Ballymun, Blackrock, Galway, Limerick, Carrick-on-Shannon, Wexford, Belfast, Inishturk, Ballina, Castlebar or anywhere else either.
Post by: ludermor on April 26, 2009, 04:53:37 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 26, 2009, 02:02:18 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 25, 2009, 11:33:47 PM

Keep their mouth shut...? in a public house? What country are we living in, and what year is it ? ? ?

I feel sorry for ye, your views of society saddens me deeply.
Its not Nazi Germany and you shouldn't have to watch where you walk and what you say, within reason, regardless of where you are.
I will not be intimated by coward, yellow, scum  like that.

If I cant enjoy a drink and a bit of craic (in Dublin or where ever) without looking over my shoulder then this country is fucked.

Certain areas of Dublin you wouldn't open your mouth? Bull tied up in a rag!
I wouldnt provoke any fight for a second but I wouldnt exactly be intimated and say bullshit like
"They deserved it if they looked for it"
"They should have respect in the area".... bullshit

Wont put up with that crap any time, place or venue and neither should anyone else.

ah come on, do you expect all public houses to have have the same  sane rules as your own local? are you that naive as to expect a fair pint in any bar in dublin, or cork, or limerick, or castlebar, or ballina.
Post by: AbbeySider on April 26, 2009, 10:26:05 AM

I was talking within reason but every town and village have an element of that, Indy. Im not saying Dublin are the only ones with disorder problems.
What is getting at me is the intimidation thats felt and the fear people are carrying around.

The idea having this mafia style respect were you have to drink in certain lounges, keep quiet and not look at anyone square in the eye is wrong.
We live in a free country(almost) and nobody should have to take that. Im not naive to it, I understand that within reason you have to have tact, but the lads were having a joke and jesting someone who couldnt take it.

Also the gang culture is so cowardice in this situation. A loads of fellas ganging up on two fellas is spineless.
Post by: ludermor on April 26, 2009, 02:54:50 PM
so you ok to meet for a pint in the towers tonight and we can laugh at locals?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 26, 2009, 03:43:35 PM
Why didnt the lassie slap the face of Mortimer herself, she would have been well fit for him, no?
Post by: AbbeySider on April 26, 2009, 04:20:27 PM
Quote from: ludermor on April 26, 2009, 02:54:50 PM

Sounds like fun but I have a girlfriend Luder! 

:D  ;D
Post by: INDIANA on April 26, 2009, 04:33:50 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 26, 2009, 10:26:05 AM

I was talking within reason but every town and village have an element of that, Indy. Im not saying Dublin are the only ones with disorder problems.
What is getting at me is the intimidation thats felt and the fear people are carrying around.

The idea having this mafia style respect were you have to drink in certain lounges, keep quiet and not look at anyone square in the eye is wrong.
We live in a free country(almost) and nobody should have to take that. Im not naive to it, I understand that within reason you have to have tact, but the lads were having a joke and jesting someone who couldnt take it.

Also the gang culture is so cowardice in this situation. A loads of fellas ganging up on two fellas is spineless.

its wrong and spineless but when lads are killing each other for less you simply have to watch yourself these days. There are vast areas of dublin I wouldn't venture into for a pint- not in a month of sundays.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 26, 2009, 04:55:21 PM
Is it not fair to say that none of ye have a clue of the actual facts surrounding this attack. You've got a few lines from a newspaper report. Ye don't know if the two boys were jumped for no reason at all or whether they were beaten up for abusing someone. If they did abuse someone ye have no idea of what form that abuse took. Ye don't know how many were in the gang that attacked them. What I do know is that Mortimor is a mouth. I have a lot of mates in Schrule and they'll all tell you that. That doesn't mean he started this row and it doesn't mean that it is justified to get a hammering from a gang, if thats what happened. Its just meant as an example that there may just be 2 sides to this story. As someone else rightly pointed out if Ryan McMenamin got beaten up by a gang in Dublin this whole debate would have a totally different dynamic.
Word I heard in Mayo was that Mortimor suffered a broken wrist although that was not from a reliable source. Any word on what the damage was?
Post by: ludermor on April 26, 2009, 05:02:10 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 26, 2009, 04:20:27 PM
Quote from: ludermor on April 26, 2009, 02:54:50 PM

Sounds like fun but I have a girlfriend Luder! 

:D  ;D
Touché!!
Post by: Jinxy on April 26, 2009, 08:49:32 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 26, 2009, 04:55:21 PM
Is it not fair to say that none of ye have a clue of the actual facts surrounding this attack. You've got a few lines from a newspaper report. Ye don't know if the two boys were jumped for no reason at all or whether they were beaten up for abusing someone. If they did abuse someone ye have no idea of what form that abuse took. Ye don't know how many were in the gang that attacked them. What I do know is that Mortimor is a mouth. I have a lot of mates in Schrule and they'll all tell you that. That doesn't mean he started this row and it doesn't mean that it is justified to get a hammering from a gang, if thats what happened. Its just meant as an example that there may just be 2 sides to this story. As someone else rightly pointed out if Ryan McMenamin got beaten up by a gang in Dublin this whole debate would have a totally different dynamic.
Word I heard in Mayo was that Mortimor suffered a broken wrist although that was not from a reliable source. Any word on what the damage was?

He already had that though didn't he?
Post by: dodo on April 26, 2009, 09:03:24 PM
Quotedodo

Re: Mortimer & Reilly attacked in Ballymun
« Reply #40 on: April 23, 2009, 10:48:49 PM »     

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Maybe you should get your facts correct before taking pot shots at an amateur player, regardless of your opinion of him.   

The last post is one of the most bizzare I've read on this site, seems like an excuse to have another go at Mortimer otherwise there seems little point in it.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 26, 2009, 09:09:24 PM
Quote from: dodo on April 26, 2009, 09:03:24 PM
Quotedodo

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The last post is one of the most bizzare I've read on this site, seems like an excuse to have another go at Mortimer otherwise there seems little point in it.

Whats bizzare about it? Do you know the I exact details of the incident? All I am saying is that you most don't know the details. Yet there are people on here calling the "gang" Dublin scum without having a clue of the true events . I have no axe to grind with mortimor but lets just say from what I have heard from local sources in Schrule he is not exactly an angel so why make the assumption that some mindless mob ganged up on him for no reason?
Post by: dodo on April 26, 2009, 09:52:27 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 26, 2009, 09:09:24 PM
Quote from: dodo on April 26, 2009, 09:03:24 PM
Quotedodo

Whats bizzare about it? Do you know the I exact details of the incident? All I am saying is that you most don't know the details. Yet there are people on here calling the "gang" Dublin scum without having a clue of the true events . I have no axe to grind with mortimor but lets just say from what I have heard from local sources in Schrule he is not exactly an angel so why make the assumption that some mindless mob ganged up on him for no reason?

You are at pains telling us that we know very little of the facts involved yet use the nuggets of wisdom you have garnered from your source in Shrule to be judge and jury about the character of Conor Mortimer.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 27, 2009, 08:00:52 AM
Simple question DoDo - Do you know the facts of the incident?
Post by: AbbeySider on April 27, 2009, 10:27:21 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 27, 2009, 08:00:52 AM

Simple question mylestheslasher - do you know either person in the incident personally?
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 27, 2009, 11:46:50 AM
No I don't. Neither do I know any of the "gang" that attacked them.
Post by: dodo on April 27, 2009, 12:05:51 PM

I don't, nor did I ever claim to. I'm aware that an earlier post of yours is factually incorrect as to what happened in Galway after the Galway-Mayo match 3/4 years ago though. The difference between what you are spouting and what others are saying is that Mortimer and Reilly are the only ones that are named personally. You have used terms for Mortimer saying that he is a 'mouth', 'no angel', 'Mortimor does have a bit of form for the auld street row'.......so while you are being so rational  ::) here defending the good name of a group of people that dished out a beating you continually have a go at an amateur player who is a soft target. Logical you are not.......IMHO !
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 27, 2009, 12:45:50 PM
Quote from: dodo on April 27, 2009, 12:05:51 PM

I don't, nor did I ever claim to. I'm aware that an earlier post of yours is factually incorrect as to what happened in Galway after the Galway-Mayo match 3/4 years ago though. The difference between what you are spouting and what others are saying is that Mortimer and Reilly are the only ones that are named personally. You have used terms for Mortimer saying that he is a 'mouth', 'no angel', 'Mortimor does have a bit of form for the auld street row'.......so while you are being so rational  ::) here defending the good name of a group of people that dished out a beating you continually have a go at an amateur player who is a soft target. Logical you are not.......IMHO !

- I didn't give the details of what happened in Galway but my facts are correct alright. I'm not going to say anymore than that.
- I didn't bring up mortimor and Reillys names, the media did when the wrote the story. If they had provided the names of the people who allegedly assault them I'd have no problem putting there names up here either
- Point out where I defended a group of people dishing out a beating. Thats a lie
Post by: dodo on April 27, 2009, 01:21:31 PM

Quote- I didn't give the details of what happened in Galway but my facts are correct alright. I'm not going to say anymore than that.

You gave out more than enough information on a public discussion board about the incident, your slant on the story is factually incorrect. I'm 100% on this.

Quote- I didn't bring up mortimor and Reillys names, the media did when the wrote the story. If they had provided the names of the people who allegedly assault them I'd have no problem putting there names up here either

You have suggested that we wait to hear the full details of the story before judging, yet your impartiality refers to the Galway incident that you have wrong and call Mortimer a 'mouth','no angel' etc. You are painting Conoreen in a dark light and at the same time calling for a hold on judgement after their hammering.  ??? Saying that you would have no problem naming the locals is irrelevant as you know damn all about them more that likely.

Quote- Point out where I defended a group of people dishing out a beating. Thats a lie

You are judge and jury by blackening Mortimer and suggesting we wait to hear the full details of the hammering, which we are unlikely ever to hear anyway.