Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: downredblack on January 17, 2007, 12:58:04 PM

Title: Prague
Post by: downredblack on January 17, 2007, 12:58:04 PM
Heading over to Prague for 3 nights , Anybody been recently ? What's good to eat / drink ? Any must see places ? Is it expensive ? etc . Staying at the Roma Hotel , anyone stay here before ?
Title: Re: Prague
Post by: cville on January 17, 2007, 01:14:40 PM
Yeah the Roma is a nice hotel, however, it is in the centre of the city's gay district. A vast majority of it's clientele are gay and lesbian but in the year 2007, that is not a problem. The trams are very cheap but watch out for pickpockets. Prague has a problem with street lepers - apparently the Soviet Union refused to provide any vaccination and a lot of the disease still prevails. A waiter in a restaurant we were at had leprosy of the hand but he had put cream on his sores so I was happy.
Also watch out for street hawkers who will try and sell you anything. It is a tradition in Prague to walk home from a bar naked - day or night. The police turn a blind eye to this and will even help you if you are drunk. Remember also that the local girls like to be paid in Euro for any services rendered - ask them to perform the Gdaaskiy - its well worth the extra 50 cent. It is also a normal in restaurants to snap your fingers and shout "Oi! Pedro" at waiters. And finally if you order bacon, be prepared ... They slaughter the animal in front of you in the restaurant and teh more the pig squeals, the better.  - again its a tradition. Apart from that it was ok.
Post by: laoislad on January 17, 2007, 01:39:50 PM
Prague nice place,make sure and go to the niteclub down by the river it has 5 levels to it and each level has a different theme i think the top level was called the chill out room,no need to expalin really i think you can guess why it is called so...
Go to Rocky O'Rielys Irish pub good food and not too dear
Post by: muppet on January 17, 2007, 01:48:30 PM
QuoteGo to Rocky O'Rielys Irish pub

If you like stag nights as far as the eye can see, if you like the aroma of stale male sweat and even staler beer and the wonder combination of Cockney rhyming slang mixed with Tallaghfornication then Rocky O'Reilly's is the place for you.

There are magnificent bars and restaurants in Prague WTF would you go to somewhere like Rocky O'Reilly's?  ::)
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 17, 2007, 01:52:46 PM
Hated that Rocky O'Reilly's myself.

If you have to go to an Irish bar, then try Molly Malone's, 5 minutes off the old town square (not in or on it).

Prague's OK. Locals a bit unfriendly but then again they probably think you're from a bigger island than ours.

Check out the Communist museum, near Wenceslaus Square. That square itself is full of massage parlours and pick-pockets.

Post by: venter on January 17, 2007, 01:58:02 PM
Im going there next week with work. I was thinking of staying in a hotel close to the airport. Any recommendations? is the airport far from the City?
Post by: muppet on January 17, 2007, 02:04:53 PM
 Don't stay at the airport, too far.

Get a bus or licensed taxi ( get the fare quoted before you get in ) to town. Plenty of reasonable hotels. Try to stay near old town square, new town square or Wenceslas square. The underground system doesn't go to the sirport but does go everywhere else and is cheap and easy to use. Be careful not to wander too far from the tourist areas at night but it's no worse than Dublin or any other cities.

Shop around for restaurants. Don't pay Dublin prices keep looking and you should pay less than half of what you normally would. Local beer is great but also try the local wines. Unknown in this part of Europe but cheap and very nice.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 17, 2007, 02:17:46 PM
OK if you only visit one pub make it the Golden Tiger on Husova in the Old town (Stare Mesto).    Very famous but not commericialised like most other places. Its a beer cellar that serves only pilsner urquell in pints.  About 30p a throw and its brewed in house and is gorgeous.  Superb nites craic.

http://www.whitebeertravels.co.uk/prague.html

Eating dont miss the Imperial on Na Porici again in the Old Town.  Like stepping into the early 1900's with food & service you wont believe for about £20 for 2 persons.

http://www.2.virtualtourist.com/hotels/Europe/Czech_Republic/Hlavni_Mesto_Praha/Prague-400455/Hotels_and_Accommodations-Prague-Imperial-BR-1.html

Bes tip is to get off the tourist trail down some side streets to find the best bars & craic at cheap prices.

Post by: supersarsfields on January 17, 2007, 02:42:08 PM
It is a beautiful city. Some of the views are spectular. But watch it will be sub zero at this time of the year so dress up warm!! I'd say make sure and try some of the old restaurants in Old town as they are far nicer and cheaper than near Wenceslaus square. Also check out the Bridge, Just cant remember the name of it at the minute!!
AS some one mentioned earlier use the Trams, they great for getting to see a wider area and very cheap. You'll have a ball it's a lovely city!!!
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 17, 2007, 02:45:35 PM
I think the bridge is called Charles Bridge.

The castle where Hitler stayed when they invaded there and the cathderal are also v impressive - some climb up the steps to them.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 17, 2007, 02:50:33 PM
QuoteThe castle where Hitler stayed when they invaded there and the cathderal are also v impressive - some climb up the steps to them.

Aye those steps caught me out too.  Yer legs are on fire and there's no stopping because of the queue behind you! 
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 17, 2007, 02:53:52 PM
Or the fact you're trying to prove you're still an athlete..... ;D
Post by: laoislad on January 17, 2007, 09:49:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 17, 2007, 01:48:30 PM
QuoteGo to Rocky O'Rielys Irish pub

If you like stag nights as far as the eye can see, if you like the aroma of stale male sweat and even staler beer and the wonder combination of Cockney rhyming slang mixed with Tallaghfornication then Rocky O'Reilly's is the place for you.

There are magnificent bars and restaurants in Prague WTF would you go to somewhere like Rocky O'Reilly's?  ::)

I went there ohh about five or six years ago it was the night Liverpool played Celtic in the UEFA Cup..Mostly Irish people in pub that night and we had a great time..Now i was very very pissed but the food was good that night the women who served me left nothing to the imagination and it was cheap.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 18, 2007, 12:16:10 AM
Theres an Irish pub at the corner of Old town square, can't remember the name of it at the minute, but loads of seats outside it, anyway theres a street down from it and on that street is a restaurant called teh goat (obviously its named in Czech and I can't remember it either!) but if you ask in the Irish bar (not the English shite hole beside it) they will point you in the right direction.
The food was absolutely fantastic, meat meat and more meat, huge portions, well presented and dirt cheap, couple of courses for me and the then fiance, throw in a bottle of vino and a few beers - all for less then a tenner!!! Fcuk I think I'll check out the price of flights in March......
Post by: J70 on January 18, 2007, 12:44:27 AM
Its three years since I was there, but at that stage it was incredibly cheap. Myself and five other lads got a large pizza and a drink (some spirits, some beer) each for a total of less than 25 euros in an Italian restaurant near that famous clock (Old Town square if I remember correctly). Pints in the pubs were around 50 cents (about a tenner in the strip joints though!). I'd recommend the absinthe! :)

It is definitely one of the most beautiful cities I've ever been to and I'd love to back someday in some situation other than a stag weekend, just to properly see everything!

Definitely watch out for the pickpockets and thieves though. Some are very brazen! A couple (Romanian I think) came up to us when we were walking back at the end of the night, asking for a light, and the girl just casually slips her hand into one of the lad's pockets and pulls out his wallet, not giving a shit that I could see her doing it! Thankfully they took off without any further hassle when I grabbed it back off her, but if it was a couple or a lad on his own, it might not have ended so quickly.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 18, 2007, 08:25:10 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 18, 2007, 12:16:10 AM
There's an Irish pub at the corner of Old town square, can't remember the name of it at the minute, but loads of seats outside it, if you ask in the Irish bar (not the English shite hole beside it) they will point you in the right direction.

I think that Irish bar is called Caffrey's, Old Town Square.  Not a great bar itself, pints aren't Czech-cheap and they weren't overly keen on getting the Championship matches on but we did find out about some good bars on the side-streets.
Post by: Mid Mon on January 18, 2007, 10:57:03 AM
Watched a 6 nations rugby match in Cafferys 2 years ago brilliant day. was back in june of the same year and hated the place it was almost as expensive as home. Myself and 2 mates atarted of every day with 6 pints each in a bar out from the centre beside our apartment the 18 pints cost €4.50 compared to €3 each in cafferys and we were only about 15 mins walk from old town square. theres a good place to eat in a basement under marks and spencer on the main street not far from rocky o'reillys and theres also a small steak house about 100m up from rocky o'reillys on the left.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 18, 2007, 12:45:43 PM
I hear a lot ot people grumbling that they'd heard it was cheap but it worked out expensive.  Obvioulsly the most popular bars & restaurants in the tourist centre will be expensive - just like in every other country!   You need to do some homework and get away from the tourist areas and the difference in price is amazing.  If you are playing more than 50-70 cents for a pint in Prague you are in the wrong place!
Post by: bailestil on January 18, 2007, 06:15:26 PM
If you're going for a lads weekend away your in the right spot. othe than that i wouldn't be too sure.

We stayed in a hostel on the outskirts and jesus was the drink cheap.
20-30p per pint easily.

Not that we were interested... but a lot of the place looks like the Red Army had only left last week.

The famous 5-story night club must be experienced. 5 storys of a warehouse which gave you the authentic feeling for how it must have felt working in a skoda factory behind the iron curtain.

after 15 pints of staropromen the statue of the guy with the laser coming out his eyes is definately an experience!
Post by: the green man on January 18, 2007, 08:34:07 PM
Stay out of the touristy bars and the prices are fine. If you go over the bridge towards the castle, Jo's Bar is on your left, which opens 24hr seemingly. Also if you go over the bridge and take your first road on your left theres a great pub just round to the right, It might be called Murphy's though I'm not a 100% sure. Great food in their too. Molly Malones is the best of the Irish pubs on the other side of the river. Don't forget to visit Karel at Poborsky's Sport shop
Post by: Mid Mon on January 19, 2007, 11:40:19 AM

QuoteAlso if you go over the bridge and take your first road on your left theres a great pub just round to the right, It might be called Murphy's though I'm not a 100% sure

This is without doubt the pick of the irish bars couple of excellent nights there. after you leave the multistory night club beside the bridge at 6am cross the road turn right and take first left youll find a bar open till about 9
Post by: Over the Bar on January 19, 2007, 12:52:53 PM
QuoteThe famous 5-story night club must be experienced. 5 storys of a warehouse which gave you the authentic feeling for how it must have felt working in a skoda factory behind the iron curtain.

LOL that about sums it up.  You can also buy anything in that nite club if you get chatting to the locals and I mean anything!  I was offered the chance to go shooting deer with a kalashnikov AK-47, illegally of course but was told there would be no trouble even if caught by the police.     Or alternatively I could go shooting buses and vans in a scrap yard...quite legally!
Post by: downredblack on January 22, 2007, 04:00:28 PM
How much are we talking about for a taxi from the airport to the city ?
Post by: cavan4ever on January 22, 2007, 04:07:02 PM
Hoe much to shoot some deer with a AK-47???   :D
Post by: ziggysego on January 22, 2007, 04:08:21 PM
I'm going to Prague for a Stag in May. Any good spots to keep an eye out for?
Post by: Over the Bar on January 22, 2007, 04:08:36 PM
I think ours was about £25 and that was 2 years ago.  The taxis that pull up at the airport are a major rip-off.  There are taxi buses which are mini buses and charge about £4 each, but depending on where you are staying it might take a while to get to your hotel and valuable drinking time might be lost!  

Best way is to phone your hotel and ask them to organise to pick you up and that should be about £10-£15.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 22, 2007, 04:09:52 PM
QuoteI'm going to Prague for a Stag in May. Any good spots to keep an eye out for?

Feck me Ziggy, try reading the thread at least!  ::)
Post by: downredblack on January 22, 2007, 04:13:25 PM
Thanks OTB
Post by: uselessfootballer on January 22, 2007, 04:43:56 PM
Was told a very reliable Taxi service before I went there 2 years ago, www.pragueairportshuttle.com

You book it before travel for a fixed price I think it was about £12 when I went.
They will wait up to about 30mins for late arrivals.
Good service absolutely no hassle driver was full of local knowledge
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 01, 2007, 10:38:42 AM
Lads,

any further updates to this thread, heading over this week-end.
Post by: the colonel on May 01, 2007, 10:55:41 AM
bars are quite cheap, went for a few days last summer. the irish bars are the most expensive bars around as they trade on nostalgia.

dont personally understand why the constant need to go on a holiday and look for a bar thats exactly like your local at home. the local bars are alot cheaper. me and 5 mates sat drinking for about 6 hours in one pub and it cost about £7 each at the end. best thing to do is just go in and ask for a beer and they will give you whatever beer they do on draught. they are all quality (especially staropramen!!)

QuoteThe famous 5-story night club must be experienced. 5 storys of a warehouse which gave you the authentic feeling for how it must have felt working in a skoda factory behind the iron curtain.

fantastic club, got every taste in it. you can get illegal taxis outside the club but bargain them down. dont pay any more than 350/ 400 krona for a 15 min journey. just tell them you will tell the police on them if they refuse!! that gets them quick enough.
Post by: downredblack on May 01, 2007, 02:11:55 PM
I was over there in January , heavy snow which added to the beauty of the place . I would  recommend that you book a taxi through www.pragueairportshuttle.com . Our plane was three hours late due to the weather and we were looking forward to getting a bus / train  into the city centre and taking it from there but no yer man was there with his little placard .It would never happen in Ireland in a million years . Anyway the driver gave us the run down on Prague during our half hour trip . What to eat / drink where to go and how much to pay for certain things . Very informative and well worth the 20 -25 Euros for door to door service . Great city would defo go back again , gargle was pretty reasonable as was the food . Would recommend the 2/3 day travel tickets which you can buy at tobacconist / newsagents , Unlimited use of buses and trams for about 7 Euros .
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 22, 2007, 11:10:20 PM
Was there about five years ago and am heading again next thursday... ;D
Is the beer still cheap?
Post by: under the bar on November 23, 2007, 09:59:11 AM
Quote"Maybe I could be Steve McClaren's replacement if I improve my English," said the 47-year-old Spaniard.

It is in the golden tiger (u zlateho tygra) in husova in the old town . Nothing but Pilnser Urquell on tap. yum!

u zlateho tygra (golden tiger) in husova in the old town
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 28, 2008, 04:10:22 AM
Anyone recomend a hotel in Prague? Heading over now in October with Mrs NT so anything reasonable that isn't a dive please?  ;D
Post by: Over the Bar on July 28, 2008, 10:47:21 AM
There's the imperial if you like turn of the century architecture.  Feels like you;ve stepped into a timewarp.  Quite reasonable from my recollection.  Decent centrally located  hotels in prague are pricey tho.
Post by: Ryano on July 28, 2008, 02:12:53 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 28, 2008, 04:10:22 AM
Anyone recomend a hotel in Prague? Heading over now in October with Mrs NT so anything reasonable that isn't a dive please?  ;D

Stayed here http://andel.praguehotels.it/overview.html?source=googleh-andel+hotel+prague (http://andel.praguehotels.it/overview.html?source=googleh-andel+hotel+prague) last summer with the quare one for a few nights. Fab spot and we got upgraded to a penthouse suite too ;D We got a good deal when booking as we booked about 6 months in advance, no idea what its like now tbh.

It's in the Andel (angel in English) district (hence the name) and is literally a 1 minute walk to the excellent subway system or if you prefer the trams are 30 seconds away. (always makes me wonder how Eastern European cities can have public transport like this while we still have a few rattling buses ploughing around) Takes approx 10 minutes to get to the city centre from here on subway and maybe 15/20 minutes on the tram depending on which one you use. Its a nice area, obviously got a major face lift over the last few years. There is a shopping centre around the corner from the Hotel (Tesco's are there! Did not know they had expanded that far into Europe) and in the general area a Pizza place, steak house, shoe shops, clothes shops, cinema and loads of other wee shops etc. Nice, clean, quiet and well kept area and not too far away from the city centre.   
Post by: Zapatista on August 20, 2008, 10:42:44 PM
I'm in Prague for the Cork Kery game. Couldn't be bothered reading through the thread. Can anyone suggest a place I might get to watch it. Cheers.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 20, 2008, 10:53:32 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on August 20, 2008, 10:42:44 PM
I'm in Prague for the Cork Kery game. Couldn't be bothered reading through the thread. Can anyone suggest a place I might get to watch it. Cheers.

Rocky O Reillys off the main square
Or McCafferys in the middle of Old Town Square
Post by: Zapatista on August 20, 2008, 10:55:27 PM
Cheers RealLL. Can we call it even for destrying the evidence ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 20, 2008, 11:00:24 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on August 20, 2008, 10:55:27 PM
Cheers RealLL. Can we call it even for destrying the evidence ;)

I hold no grudges my friend......

Check out Goldfingers aswell..You might not see the match but you will see a certain other type of sport*

* Thats assuming like me you class pole dancing as a sport
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 20, 2008, 11:01:57 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 20, 2008, 10:53:32 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on August 20, 2008, 10:42:44 PM

Rocky O Reillys off the main square
Or McCafferys in the middle of Old Town Square

btw my mistake the pub is called Cafferys not McCafferys though i think the tri colour outside will give it away  :D
Post by: ross4life on September 08, 2010, 06:38:51 PM
After 2 years this thread needs a bump

Heading over at the end of this month as a stop over for Oktoberfest, other than what has already been mentioned here.. what are the must sees & dos? & is drink/food as cheap as it once was 
Post by: under the bar on September 08, 2010, 11:00:53 PM
QuoteWas in Prague a couple of months ago and round the corner from the hotel I stayed in was a little chapel with the Child of Prague in it. Did a little research and found that although people from all over the world come to ask it favours Irish people are the only ones who think it can influence the weather.

I'd always thought the Child of Prague was based on an apparition or something.  Turns out its not even a recognised icon, just a wax doll some bloke made 100 years ago that various people with more money than sense kept sending expensive new outfits for.   
Post by: The Worker on July 04, 2016, 08:44:27 PM
Do any airlines fly direct belfast to Prague these days?
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 04, 2016, 08:56:57 PM
Don't think so. I'm sure in the past both easyJet and jet2 flew there direct.
Post by: seafoid on July 04, 2016, 09:12:23 PM
Quote from: under the bar on September 08, 2010, 11:00:53 PM
QuoteWas in Prague a couple of months ago and round the corner from the hotel I stayed in was a little chapel with the Child of Prague in it. Did a little research and found that although people from all over the world come to ask it favours Irish people are the only ones who think it can influence the weather.

I'd always thought the Child of Prague was based on an apparition or something.  Turns out its not even a recognised icon, just a wax doll some bloke made 100 years ago that various people with more money than sense kept sending expensive new outfits for.   

it is older than that
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infant_Jesus_of_Prague
Post by: lurganblue on July 05, 2016, 10:14:58 AM
Quote from: The Worker on July 04, 2016, 08:44:27 PM

Maybe in the summer? I'm heading over in November this year and had to book from Dublin. 

Having read this thread, it's my understanding that it is a dear hole in the tourist squares, avoid the irish pubs and watch out for pick pockets.
Post by: Link on July 05, 2016, 10:24:07 AM
Had to book from dublin myself, make sure to try to segwey tours. We done a 3 hour trip and it was definitely worth the €40.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 05, 2016, 01:57:58 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on July 05, 2016, 10:14:58 AM
Quote from: The Worker on July 04, 2016, 08:44:27 PM

Maybe in the summer? I'm heading over in November this year and had to book from Dublin. 

Having read this thread, it's my understanding that it is a dear hole in the tourist squares, avoid the irish pubs and watch out for pick pockets.
Apply to any major European city and you'll not go far wrong!
Post by: screenexile on December 03, 2018, 06:17:53 PM
I see this thread hasn't been updated in a while just wondering if anyone's been recently and has any advice on things to do??

Heading over for the weekend with my wife and although I'm sure the Markets will be good it would be great to get a bit more of an idea of what to do before we go!!
Post by: ziggy90 on December 03, 2018, 08:13:20 PM
I was there last Easter. It was rammed full of tourists around The Charles Bridge area but if you go early in the morning you should avoid them.
One spot where we did go was the St Cyril and Methodious Church. It's the place where Heydrich's assassins hid out after the shooting. Well worth a visit. Watch the films Operation Daybreak or Anthropoid for some background information. Fantastic story.
Opposite it is a restaurant called the Parachutist, top-notch Czech food and not at all expensive. Try the Pork Knuckle absolutely delicious.
Stay out of Italian and other suchlike establishments, they're nearly all rip-off merchants.
Enjoy, a wonderful city.
Post by: An Watcher on December 03, 2018, 10:01:30 PM
Didn't know the anthropoid story until I came back.  If I ever go again I will definitely visit that spot. 
Nice city but I did expect it to be cheaper.  Stay off the beaten trek for the cheaper establishments
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 03, 2018, 10:14:00 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on December 03, 2018, 10:01:30 PM
Didn't know the anthropoid story until I came back.  If I ever go again I will definitely visit that spot. 
Nice city but I did expect it to be cheaper.  Stay off the beaten trek for the cheaper establishments
Like a lot of Eastern European places it has been on the radar for tourists and stag dos for a long time now.
Post by: JoG2 on December 03, 2018, 10:26:21 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 03, 2018, 06:17:53 PM
I see this thread hasn't been updated in a while just wondering if anyone's been recently and has any advice on things to do??

Heading over for the weekend with my wife and although I'm sure the Markets will be good it would be great to get a bit more of an idea of what to do before we go!!

Beer in the Tiger Bar

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g274707-d607212-Reviews-U_Zlateho_Tygra-Prague_Bohemia.html

Food in the TV Tower. I'm not great with heights but it was grand after some wine!

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g274707-d4881452-Reviews-Zizkov_Televison_Tower-Prague_Bohemia.html

Not as cultured as these other poster by the looks of it!
Post by: screenexile on December 05, 2018, 09:22:40 AM
Cheers lads will be sure to check some of those out!!