Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 19, 2009, 11:38:06 PM

Title: The Official Derry City FC thread
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 19, 2009, 11:38:06 PM
Thought I'd cater for all fans of the Candystripes. Disappointing last couple of results especially after thumping Pats' away. Really need to be picking up more than 1 point from 6 against Bray and Sligo if we are going to challenge Bohs for the title.
Title: Re: The Official Derry City FC thread
Post by: rrhf on April 20, 2009, 11:08:11 AM
aye would need to pony up for the swifts. 
Post by: Rav67 on April 20, 2009, 01:46:05 PM
How is Kearney settling in?  Thought he was decent when I seen him playing for Cork. 

Been to the Brandywell yet this season TAM?
Post by: BobKelso on April 22, 2009, 05:42:55 AM
Good start to the season, with the highlight for me been the form of Tommy Stewart - excellent signing

Re:Kearny - I was a big fan of his while he was at cork, but it hasnt happened for him yet. Hasnt done enough in any game so far but you do have to give the lad time to settle. I believe his bird is from Derry so hopefully he settles quickly.

It's been a good start, Dundalk at home on friday to complete the 1st round of games. Ive seen enough to conclude that we will be very close to bohs if we dont win the title.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 09, 2009, 03:25:09 PM
Quer result last night!
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on May 09, 2009, 03:40:46 PM
aye the oul fella was up at it,said they played well,said atmosphere was something else,even surpassed setanta cup match against linfield which i find hard to believe.
tommy stewart showing the benefits of a good preseason behind him,think he'll be a great wee player.sammy morrow useless,if city could get someone in,let him have his move to linfield!
Post by: nifan on May 09, 2009, 03:52:37 PM
Quotesammy morrow useless

Never looked even near the same since he had that big injury a few years ago.
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on May 09, 2009, 05:36:18 PM
ill give him that,he had a serious injury and not everyone comes back the same player.hes got a fair bit of skill amount him,his approach play on the ground is quite good too,but for someone his size he doesnt look interested when it comes to challenging an opposing centre half in the air.i think he was running to hit every corner last nite,hes about 6'2/6'3 ??? ???
Post by: BobKelso on May 11, 2009, 10:59:44 AM
Cracking result on Friday.

Morrow will come good, I've talked to him a few times and hes as disappointed as all the fans are. And he does not want a move to Linfield. He turned them and more money from others down to move to Derry.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on June 08, 2009, 01:33:40 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/8086543.stm

Derry City moved to within a point of League of Ireland leaders Bohemians after Sammy Morrow's goal earned the Candystripes a vital win in Sligo.

Morrow's 13th-minute goal was enough for Derry to claim the three points as the lacklustre leaders were defeated 3-1 at Inchicore by St Pat's.

Jason Noctor's tackle on Clive Delaney on 72 minutes led to a pushing match involving all 22 players.

Noctor was dismissed while Derry's Steven Gray was also sent off.

Gray had been involved in Derry's vital early goal.

The defender made a run down the left flank and his cross was stabbed home at the back post by Morrow.

With Cork City held to a 0-0 home draw by Shamrock Rovers, Derry moved into second place in the table - a point ahead of the Leesiders.

The victory completed a tremendous week for Derry after their 1-0 win over St Pat's on Tuesday.

Post by: BobKelso on June 08, 2009, 03:51:39 PM
3 in 3 for Morrow!
Post by: nifan on June 08, 2009, 04:25:43 PM
Hopefully he can keep it up, was always disappointed how things took such a slide for him - I thought hed go the way of another boy from the area Mark Clyde who had to retire at 24 years old.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 16, 2009, 12:07:32 PM
Big game for Derry tonight - be great for them to get another run in Europe similar to 2006.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/8150851.stm

Great result for Bohs last night as well, apparently they desperately need to both beat Salzburg and win the league to have any chance of avoiding punishment for going above the 65% wage cap.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 16, 2009, 03:43:32 PM
Is the game on the wireless the night TAM?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 16, 2009, 09:02:06 PM
Good result for Derry. Keeps the tie alive.

One each by the way in Riga for those who didn't know. The game was almost rained off.
Post by: Rav67 on July 22, 2009, 11:33:18 PM
Great result last week, any board members for the Brandywell tomorrow night for the return leg?
Post by: Main Street on July 23, 2009, 11:04:35 AM
Bizzarre story on RTE sports

Derry to benefit from visa controversy

Four Skonto Riga  players have been refused visas by the British Embassy

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0722/derrycity_skontoriga.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0722/derrycity_skontoriga.html)

A bit of irony there somewhere.

Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on July 23, 2009, 11:24:06 AM
hopefully derry get a big result 2nite,need it even more so financially than for another cup run for the suporters,i hear the finances aint so good.saw 2nd half of the bohs game on sunday,derry were very poor in the final 3rd,morrow,farren and stewart created next to nothing.hard luck on bohs last nite!
Post by: ONeill on July 23, 2009, 09:38:46 PM
Well done Derry - http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/8166146.stm
Post by: ONeill on July 23, 2009, 09:43:48 PM
And St Pats
Post by: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 09:46:12 PM
great to see derry and pats go thro but poor bohs last night, 4 minutes away. what a sickner
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 23, 2009, 11:11:32 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 23, 2009, 09:46:12 PM
great to see derry and pats go thro but poor bohs last night, 4 minutes away. what a sickner

I blame the FAI for the Boh's result. Silly making them play Sunday night and then Europe on the Weds. Should've let the teams in European comp have a week off.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 24, 2009, 01:09:39 AM
CSKA Sofia next up for the candystripes. Might try and head up to game against Cork on SUnday night now. Great result tonight - superb boost and some much needed finance.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 17, 2009, 08:37:48 PM
Poor poor result last night. 4 defeats in a row in the league now. Could have done with the 3 points - was a real opportunity to leapfrog Cork again who lost to Bohs.

Was at the Rovers game last week, actually played reasonably and unlucky not to get a point.
Post by: town lad on October 18, 2009, 02:19:00 AM
When is next  club saving match going to be? Possible opponents,Institute(No Support) Linfield( Maybe not, Sure they are all bigots).Celtic Reserves. (Wee can't try that one again). Real Madrid , Any chance John? I have just found the answer, The next World Champions. I hope its not England. 
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 06, 2009, 03:47:32 PM
Looks like the match tonight could be City's last in their current guise or division. Seems as thought he FAi will at least relegate the club and there's a good chance they'll go out of business altogether which would mean any new club would start in the A league next year. Sad times.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/1106/1224258194861.html
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 06, 2009, 03:57:03 PM
Sad alright but a damning indictment on the way the club was run in recent times, even with the McGinn and McCourt money they are going bust.  As a club they have been bailed out too many times, relying on John Hume to get teams like Barcelona and Real Madrid over to play.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 06, 2009, 04:04:43 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 06, 2009, 03:57:03 PM
Sad alright but a damning indictment on the way the club was run in recent times, even with the McGinn and McCourt money they are going bust.  As a club they have been bailed out too many times, relying on John Hume to get teams like Barcelona and Real Madrid over to play.

Well its only happened once before but I suppose two times is two too many. Another harsh lesson for an irish soccer team - you simply have to live within your means.
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 06, 2009, 04:10:00 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 06, 2009, 04:04:43 PM

Well its only happened once before but I suppose two times is two too many. Another harsh lesson for an irish soccer team - you simply have to live within your means.
Exactly TAM, Derry probably had a better chance than most beacuse of their links and connections but there are a lot of rumours about this and I think more will come out.   They had to get at least 350k for both McCourt & McGinn yet 12 months later are going bust, something is not right.
Post by: Main Street on November 06, 2009, 04:18:27 PM
£300k doesn't look insanely high but you probably don't have anything to sell.
The Journal is speculating that even a £1m gift would not be enough

Can Derry not just fold/bankrupt, start afresh in Div 3, raise the club again on sounder merits.
Must had some imaginative bookkeeping to get a license these past few years.

Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2009, 06:40:31 PM

Is this not the third? They went bust once, and only Hume's intervention stopped the 2nd one.
As Doogie said the money from the two Celtic lads should've kept the club going for years. The £300K plus that was raised here is major money.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 07, 2009, 01:32:22 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2009, 06:40:31 PM

Is this not the third? They went bust once, and only Hume's intervention stopped the 2nd one.
As Doogie said the money from the two Celtic lads should've kept the club going for years. The £300K plus that was raised here is major money.

Would you be surpised to know that some of the supporters I was talking to tonight are of the opinion that Derry's wage bill is over a million euro?

Quite a good performance tonight, irrelevant though it was. Superb Dundalk goal but Derry had the best of it afterwards. Could be a long time before Derry are back in the Premier League.
Post by: magickingdom on November 07, 2009, 12:15:49 PM
it would be an awful tragedy if Derry go, their the only reason i even check loi scores
Post by: Main Street on November 07, 2009, 12:37:03 PM
I wonder will it be proven that they cheated their way into receiving a license to compete in the league, finishing in a false 4th position due to the squad assembled on good contracts and expensive match preparations etc.
If it is found after investigation into that murky mess that they did indeed cook the books,
it would be fair enough to expunge all results but probably too awkward to implement.
Prize money for their finishing position should be withheld and disbursed to the clubs who operated within the financial structure.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 07, 2009, 07:04:56 PM
Derry's contract with the FAI has been terminated due to "under the table" payments to players.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1107/derrycity.html

QuoteDerry thrown out of League of Ireland
Saturday, 7 November 2009 18:52

Derry City's League of Ireland contract has been terminated after the club admitted holding secondary, unofficial contracts with players.

The move sees the club removed from this year's Premier Division and they must now reapply to become part of the league.

An FAI delegation will meet with Derry this week and the various other stakeholders to consider how the Candystripes may participate in senior football in the league, at some level other than in the Premier Division.

It means that Galway United are now safe from relegation, with bottom club Bray Wanderers now facing Drogheda United in the play-offs, starting on Tuesday.

Derry's Setanta Cup match this week has been postponed, pending discussions with the Irish Football Association, through the Setanta Sports Cup Committee.

The Derry board finally came clean with the league's governing body on Thursday when it arranged a meeting with the FAI and admitted that unofficial deals were reached with staff that saw them earn extra funds.

This helped the club find a way around the rule that all clubs under licensing regulation must not spend more than 65percent of their income on wages.

It is the latest blow to the league which has been dogged with financial trouble for the last few years.

Cork City narrowly survived going out of existance earlier this season, and may not get permission to compete in the top division next year.
Post by: mc_grens on November 07, 2009, 07:16:58 PM
My ould man grew up in the Bogside, and was a Derry City season ticket holder until the day he died, even managing to get in to the matches near the end when he was very ill.

He'll be spinning in his grave. This is a very, very sad day.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 07, 2009, 08:20:54 PM
That is bad news. That bollox Jarlath Faloon chairman of Dungannon Swifts will be celebrating tonight after asking they be wound up earlier this week. hope the Swifts go tits-up too
Post by: orangeman on November 07, 2009, 08:34:49 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on November 07, 2009, 07:16:58 PM
My ould man grew up in the Bogside, and was a Derry City season ticket holder until the day he died, even managing to get in to the matches near the end when he was very ill.

He'll be spinning in his grave. This is a very, very sad day.
[/b]

Unbelievable news - but they'll be back - no doubt about it.
Post by: slow corner back on November 07, 2009, 08:41:10 PM
Club soccer in Ireland North and South is a complete shambles, just about every successful team in the LOI has been living above thier means and got into trouble. The Irish League is not much better, only Linfields IFA grant keeps them afloat and Glentoran sold their ground years ago but still have not moved out! Coleraine went bust and came back under a different name in the same division!!
If Derry were avoiding the rules by using under the table brown envelopes they deserve what they get. By the way why did they not let Kevin Deery join Hamilton in August and get him off the wage bill?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 07, 2009, 09:24:02 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 07, 2009, 08:20:54 PM
That is bad news. That bollox Jarlath Faloon chairman of Dungannon Swifts will be celebrating tonight after asking they be wound up earlier this week. hope the Swifts go tits-up too

Sure he didn't make the under the table payments?
Post by: orangeman on November 07, 2009, 09:31:49 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 07, 2009, 09:24:02 PM

Sure he didn't make the under the table payments?
[/b]

How so ?
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 07, 2009, 09:34:08 PM
He called for them to be wound up... vindictive and knew what he was about being a solicitor. am just saying he'll be celebrating tonite.. bollox that he is.
Post by: Cúig huaire on November 07, 2009, 09:35:56 PM
Sad day for football, hope they can sort things out.
Professional football in this country is not really viable.
Post by: orangeman on November 07, 2009, 09:36:09 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 07, 2009, 09:34:08 PM
He called for them to be wound up... vindictive and knew what he was about being a solicitor. am just saying he'll be celebrating tonite.. bollox that he is.

How will this help Dungannon's cause now ?
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 07, 2009, 10:23:48 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 07, 2009, 09:36:09 PM

How will this help Dungannon's cause now ?

Ask Jarlath Faloon, Dungannon Swifts chairman -he wanted Derry wound up.

Dungannon Swifts in plan to wind up Derry City FC The Dungannon Swifts Board has decided to commence winding-up proceedings against cash-strapped Derry City.
Derry owe the Swifts £30,000 from the selling on clause of Niall McGinn to Celtic and a missed payment deadline has prompted Dungannon to take action.
City's Board held talks with community representatives, business leaders and politicians on Monday night to discuss the extent of the financial problems.
Derry players and backroom staff are owed several weeks' wages by the club.
Swifts took legal action and agreed an out of court settlement with the Brandywell club in October over the money owed from a sell-on clause resulting from McGinn's transfer to Celtic.
The parties reached an agreement but the exact amount Dungannon was to receive was not revealed.
McGinn moved from Dungannon to Derry in January 2008 and then signed for Celtic in December 2008.
In a statement Derry City said the club was "aware of its obligations and is working towards meeting them".
Swifts chairman Jarlath Faloon said that Dungannon had "absolutely no second thoughts" at pursuing liquidation."The board of Dungannon Swifts is absolutely infuriated with the treatment we have received from the Derry City board," he said
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 07, 2009, 10:30:21 PM

He wasn't being vindicitive. He was campaigning on behalf of his club. Derry's officials behaved disgracefully through all this, and treated Dungannon with contempt. They made their bed.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 07, 2009, 10:47:26 PM
Looks vindictive to me, wanting a club wound up that means so much to so many people. I'm sure Derry behaved badly but to ask for the club to be totally exterminted... jees! What goes around... 
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 07, 2009, 10:56:03 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 07, 2009, 10:47:26 PM
Looks vindictive to me, wanting a club wound up that means so much to so many people. I'm sure Derry behaved badly but to ask for the club to be totally exterminted... jees! What goes around...

If Dungannon just lay back and let Derry walk away with their £30000, if would be the Swifts being exterminated. It's tantamount to theft IMHO.
Post by: Zulu on November 07, 2009, 11:06:50 PM
LOI clubs have long been living in a fools paradise, we give out about bankers and the like getting over paid, while we have lads in this country earning €60-80K for playing soccer in front of one man and his dog, madness. Professional soccer should be scrapped in this country, even semi-professional is probably beyond the clubs means. It's a joke and I have little sympathy for these clubs.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 08, 2009, 09:58:16 AM
Well seems most posters here say they have only themselves to blame, so I don't know enough on it to argue otherwise. Coming from a total GAA mindset I find it incredible a club would want another club abolished but I suppose soccer is about £££$$$$ rather than sport...
Post by: mountainboii on November 08, 2009, 10:36:24 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 08, 2009, 09:58:16 AM
Well seems most posters here say they have only themselves to blame, so I don't know enough on it to argue otherwise. Coming from a total GAA mindset I find it incredible a club would want another club abolished but I suppose soccer is about £££$$$$ rather than sport...

I wouldn't be so sure that GAA clubs would remain so amicable if they were going round nicking £30 grand off each other.
Post by: Tonto on November 08, 2009, 10:37:38 AM
They were pursuing liquidation in a bid to force DCFC to pay them the money that Derry owed them.  As already said, if Derry took Swifts' money, it's nothing short of theft.

Anyway, why would Faloon or Swifts be celebrating?  It makes it more difficult for them to get their money and, perhaps, brings Dungannon one step closer to liquidation themselves!

BTW, I would welcome Derry coming home to the original and best, the Irish League! :)
Post by: magickingdom on November 08, 2009, 01:29:20 PM
Quote from: Tonto on November 08, 2009, 10:37:38 AM
They were pursuing liquidation in a bid to force DCFC to pay them the money that Derry owed them.  As already said, if Derry took Swifts' money, it's nothing short of theft.

Anyway, why would Faloon or Swifts be celebrating?  It makes it more difficult for them to get their money and, perhaps, brings Dungannon one step closer to liquidation themselves!

BTW, I would welcome Derry coming home to the original and best, the Irish League! :)

course you would! but i certainly hope that doesn't happen
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 08, 2009, 01:31:59 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 08, 2009, 10:36:24 AM

I wouldn't be so sure that GAA clubs would remain so amicable if they were going round nicking £30 grand off each other.

David Baine couldn't pull £30,000 out my club  :'(
Post by: magickingdom on November 08, 2009, 01:32:32 PM

you dont have a gaa mindset as your tripe in the tadhg kennelly thread shows.  they owe money = pay it back or face the consequences. .
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 08, 2009, 01:35:12 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on November 08, 2009, 01:32:32 PM

you dont have a gaa mindset as your tripe in the tadhg kennelly thread shows.  they owe money = pay it back or face the consequences. .

Oh! is that what the GAA is about?... Tadgh Kennelly's behaviour... plan to take a man out and boast about it to make money for himself   ::) 
Post by: nifan on November 08, 2009, 10:21:25 PM
lrtf, i dont know what business you are in but if you where in a position where you did some work for a gaa company, and they refused to pay you, would you leave it be even if it meant you and your family losing your house.

Id have an affection for Derry City, and have many mates devestated by the news (maribor kev who used to post on here is probably the biggest DC fan there is!) so i take no pleasure in this, but Dungannon where an injured party, not the baddies in this.
Post by: MW on November 08, 2009, 10:27:09 PM
Very sad for Derry City fans, and for their sake I hope they don't lose their team.

Derry's board seem to have behaved poorly from what detail I know of all this - though they're now threatening legal action against the FAI and claiming they've been hard done by.

The League of Ireland's experiment with full-time football is fatally flawed as has been shown by the cases of Shelbourne, Derry, Cork and Drogheda.

The Irish League has in the main not fallen into such dire straits but there's huge issues to address in football in both NI and RoI.

Post by: MW on November 08, 2009, 10:28:15 PM
Quote from: Tonto on November 08, 2009, 10:37:38 AM

They publicly rejected the idea a couple of weeks ago so it would be hard for them to go back on that now.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 08, 2009, 10:58:41 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 08, 2009, 10:21:25 PM
lrtf, i dont know what business you are in but if you where in a position where you did some work for a gaa company, and they refused to pay you, would you leave it be even if it meant you and your family losing your house.
Id have an affection for Derry City, and have many mates devestated by the news (maribor kev who used to post on here is probably the biggest DC fan there is!) so i take no pleasure in this, but Dungannon where an injured party, not the baddies in this.

WTF?!!!  ??? what family was going to lose their home?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 08, 2009, 11:16:36 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 08, 2009, 10:58:41 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 08, 2009, 10:21:25 PM

If your a player with a mortgage who isn't getting his wages paid you could be in danger of losing your home. Of course the complicating factor is that it now seems that the players were complicit in signing dishonest contracts.
Post by: Main Street on November 09, 2009, 12:39:09 AM
Quote from: MW on November 08, 2009, 10:27:09 PM
Very sad for Derry City fans, and for their sake I hope they don't lose their team.

Likely, unless they stay and play for free.

QuoteDerry's board seem to have behaved poorly from what detail I know of all this - though they're now threatening legal action against the FAI and claiming they've been hard done by.

http://www.derrycityfc.net/cityweb/ (http://www.derrycityfc.net/cityweb/)
Taking issue with the due procedure of the FAI show trial and the withholding of the prize money for finishing 4th.

Post by: nifan on November 09, 2009, 08:31:19 AM

In this case Dungannon players could very easily lose money.

And my point was more general - if you where a tradesman and did a significant amount of work for a gaa club, and they owed you a lot of money, would you let them away with it because they are a gaa club? Even if you couldnt pay your emplyees or your own mortgage?
Post by: Leo on November 09, 2009, 05:36:55 PM
This issue is wider than just Derry City its the whole shambles of the League of Ireland.

Since the demise of Drumcondra in the 80's there has been a succession of clubs folding, goin g into administration, reforming, etc.
It all boils down to the failure to understand that the population of this country cannot support professional sport on the one hand and the poor calibre of people some of these clubs attract on the other.

Also gone by the board are Cork Hibernians, Cork Celtic, Limerick Utd (and various reiincartnations) and Dublin City.

"Prestige" clubs like Shelbourne , Drogheda Utd. and Cork Utd have been relegated  for irregularities or gone through legal examinership in order to survive.

Kildare County is on the brink, Finn Harps are broke, Cork are in trouble again - look out for a collapse coming soon at Bohemians - if the whole picture is not a fiasco, someone tell me what is.
The Irish Sports Council should be making an inquiry into this whole set up.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 09, 2009, 05:42:53 PM
Quote from: nifan on November 09, 2009, 08:31:19 AM

In this case Dungannon players could very easily lose money.

And my point was more general - if you where a tradesman and did a significant amount of work for a gaa club, and they owed you a lot of money, would you let them away with it because they are a gaa club? Even if you couldnt pay your emplyees or your own mortgage?

Fair enuff.. can't really get my head around the whole idea of playing for the Swifts being a job!
Post by: Main Street on November 09, 2009, 09:16:18 PM
It makes you wonder just how deep in the mire is the mindset of the Derry fc board.

After Derry fc threw a few shapes of resistance on Saturday pleading persecution beyond belief, Delaney lines up his artillery and fires a couple of rounds to quell the dissenters.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1109/derrycity_delaneyj.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1109/derrycity_delaneyj.html)

'FAI Chief Executive John Delaney has alleged that Derry City Football Club has withheld details of payments to players over a period of years.

Financial statements shown to RTÉ indicate that over 20 Derry City players held dual contracts.

Delaney called for a clear-out of the current Derry City board and announced that players had until next Thursday to give full financial information about their pay to the FAI or the Player's Union.
Should they fail to do this, Delaney says that they will not be registered to play with any club here or abroad next season.'
Post by: orangeman on November 10, 2009, 09:17:23 AM
The more I see and read about this, Derry city directors have a lot to answer for - it seems to me that they are going to insist that the standard contract was the only one they operated and that these other payments were deals that the players had with others and not part of their contract of employment - it would all have been so different if the players had been getting a brown envelope - that way, it would have been harder to prove.
It will be interesting to see how the players respond this moring to Delayney's ultimatum.

Survival instinct will no doubt kick in !
Post by: tyroneman on November 10, 2009, 09:59:51 AM
Was there any fallout over cancelling the celtic game? Is compensation due to celtic?
Post by: ludermor on November 10, 2009, 10:27:00 AM
Quote from: orangeman on November 10, 2009, 09:17:23 AM
The more I see and read about this, Derry city directors have a lot to answer for - it seems to me that they are going to insist that the standard contract was the only one they operated and that these other payments were deals that the players had with others and not part of their contract of employment - it would all have been so different if the players had been getting a brown envelope - that way, it would have been harder to prove.
It will be interesting to see how the players respond this moring to Delayney's ultimatum.

Survival instinct will no doubt kick in !
I think this has the potential to bring down th ewhole league, if what Delaney is saying is correct ( and he would be very stupid to say it if he didnt have solid proof) then the directors should be jailed. If it is widespread at Derry it would make you suspisious of other clubs doing the same fiddling. It also makes a shambles of th enew licencing arrangment brought in by the FAI over the last few years when clubs could hide something so basic and it wasnt found out. Who is going to believe that a player for one of the tops clubs was earning 50/week!!!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 10, 2009, 10:37:29 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on November 10, 2009, 09:59:51 AM
Was there any fallout over cancelling the celtic game? Is compensation due to celtic?

Well Derry would be claiming I'm sure that compensation would be due to them since, in their eyes, the strength of side proposed to be brought over by Celtic wasn't what was agreed. Can't see anything coming of it but there was talk that Cliftonville were looking Derry to pay for part of Celtic's accomodation costs.
Post by: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 12:07:39 PM
Quote from: Leo on November 09, 2009, 05:36:55 PM
This issue is wider than just Derry City its the whole shambles of the League of Ireland.

Since the demise of Drumcondra in the 80's there has been a succession of clubs folding, goin g into administration, reforming, etc.
It all boils down to the failure to understand that the population of this country cannot support professional sport on the one hand and the poor calibre of people some of these clubs attract on the other.

Also gone by the board are Cork Hibernians, Cork Celtic, Limerick Utd (and various reiincartnations) and Dublin City.

"Prestige" clubs like Shelbourne , Drogheda Utd. and Cork Utd have been relegated  for irregularities or gone through legal examinership in order to survive.

Kildare County is on the brink, Finn Harps are broke, Cork are in trouble again - look out for a collapse coming soon at Bohemians - if the whole picture is not a fiasco, someone tell me what is.

I can't agree with that.

Drogheda and Cork were never relegated - you are factually incorrect. Clubs fold all over the world all the time, thats the sad nature of the beast. Sure they haven't even started the Argentinian league, Portsmouth in the worlds wealthiest league are in imminent danger and West Ham are £1bn in debt. What are you benchmarking Irish football against?

The as a league  LoI is quite well run, thats why you are seeing the sanctions. Clubs cannot get away with what they did before and some are slow learners. What Derry were up to is the most naked cheating I have ever seen in any sport and the second the FAI got wind of it, they hammered them.

Its a huge pity and I hope the DCFC board back off with the threats so they can stay in the LoI at some level, either in the second or third tier, but this sort of fraud cannot be tolerated.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 10, 2009, 12:24:59 PM
West Ham are £1 billion in debt! Are you sure? Is that 'factually correct'??
Post by: mountainboii on November 10, 2009, 12:28:50 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 12:07:39 PM

I can't agree with that.

Drogheda and Cork were never relegated - you are factually incorrect. Clubs fold all over the world all the time, thats the sad nature of the beast. Sure they haven't even started the Argentinian league, Portsmouth in the worlds wealthiest league are in imminent danger and West Ham are £1bn in debt. What are you benchmarking Irish football against?

The as a league  LoI is quite well run, thats why you are seeing the sanctions. Clubs cannot get away with what they did before and some are slow learners. What Derry were up to is the most naked cheating I have ever seen in any sport and the second the FAI got wind of it, they hammered them.

Its a huge pity and I hope the DCFC board back off with the threats so they can stay in the LoI at some level, either in the second or third tier, but this sort of fraud cannot be tolerated.

Any chance of some sanctions for the match fixing at the weekend?
Post by: Hardy on November 10, 2009, 12:29:03 PM

The as a league  LoI is quite well run, thats why you are seeing the sanctions. Clubs cannot get away with what they did before and some are slow learners.

Does anyone remember Comical Ali?
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 10, 2009, 12:30:26 PM

I can't agree with that.

I would suggest that the emboldened bit is somewhat exagerrated. Either that or you haven't watched much sport.
Post by: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 01:08:00 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 10, 2009, 12:28:50 PM

Tell me more....
Post by: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 01:10:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 10, 2009, 12:29:03 PM

Its a legitimate point. How many clubs in England are either in or near administration?

Its too easy to bash the LoI, but the league itself is run very well. They punch welll above their weight in Europe against teams that have multiples of their budgets. Some clubs still have tulips in charge like Cork, but systemically, they are no better or worse off than any other league.
Post by: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 01:12:32 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 10, 2009, 12:30:26 PM
[I would suggest that the emboldened bit is somewhat exagerrated. Either that or you haven't watched much sport.

In terms of a systemic policy within a club to defraud the taxman and lie to the association they were in so as to get around the 65% protocol, I can't think of much worse in team sport. Possibly Marseille and Juve doping players against their knowledge. Its naked cheating and involved hundreds of individuals over a course of years. Hence they have been told to whistle for their prizemoney.
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 10, 2009, 01:36:50 PM
Thanks for clearing that up. I missed the word team in your original post.
Post by: mountainboii on November 10, 2009, 01:44:40 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 01:08:00 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 10, 2009, 12:28:50 PM

Tell me more....

Dundalk were as much as 4-1 to beat Derry with some bookies before kick off, which is nonsense considering they were at home and Derry hadn't been in great form of late. Bookies then stopped taking bets on a Derry win with money piling in even after they went one nil down. There have been rumours too about the frequency with which Dundalk players have been getting sent off this last while. 19 in total this season, must be some sort of record.

This is following on from betting being suspended on the Dundalk Galway game a few weeks back.

Of course, there could be perfectly reasonable explanations for all this.
Post by: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 01:49:52 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 10, 2009, 01:44:40 PM

Dundalk were as much as 4-1 to beat Derry with some bookies before kick off, which is nonsense considering they were at home and Derry hadn't been in great form of late. Bookies then stopped taking bets on a Derry win with money piling in even after they went one nil down. There have been rumours too about the frequency with which Dundalk players have been getting sent off this last while. 19 in total this season, must be some sort of record.

This is following on from betting being suspended on the Dundalk Galway game a few weeks back.

Wth respect, you are way offside claiming matchfixing here. Thats exceptionally bad form.

Dundalk were 4/1 against and people saw value. So what? Happens all the time. Bookies mispricing and then pulling the in game betting is quite frequent.

Have the bookies claimed anything untowords? If not, why are you?
Post by: mountainboii on November 10, 2009, 01:59:53 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 01:49:52 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 10, 2009, 01:44:40 PM

Wth respect, you are way offside claiming matchfixing here. Thats exceptionally bad form.

Dundalk were 4/1 against and people saw value. So what? Happens all the time. Bookies mispricing and then pulling the in game betting is quite frequent.

Have the bookies claimed anything untowords? If not, why are you?

Expected a reply like this. Yes, it was probably just those silly bookies mispricing the game. How's the sand?
Post by: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 02:04:00 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 10, 2009, 01:59:53 PM

Expected a reply like this. Yes, it was probably just those silly bookies mispricing the game. How's the sand?

Hold on - you are alledging matchfixing. Thats a very dangerous game to play on a public internet forum.

I did a quick google and none of the bookies have made any statement on this. Where did you even hear they suspended ingame betting? Which bookies?

Your theory would only make sense if Dundalk won at wild odds - people lumped on short odds of a Derry win when they were winning? Where is the conspiracy?
Post by: mountainboii on November 10, 2009, 02:20:39 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 02:04:00 PM

Hold on - you are alledging matchfixing. Thats a very dangerous game to play on a public internet forum.

I did a quick google and none of the bookies have made any statement on this. Where did you even hear they suspended ingame betting? Which bookies?

Your theory would only make sense if Dundalk won at wild odds - people lumped on short odds of a Derry win when they were winning? Where is the conspiracy?

Its all rumours, I can't substantiate anything and neither can anyone else I suspect.

You're right though, it was a silly thing to say without proof so I'll retract any allegations of match fixing and simply state that I heard, before and after the game, from several sources, including this board, that Derry were certs to win. Take from that what you will.
Post by: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 02:26:26 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 10, 2009, 02:20:39 PM

Its all rumours, I can't substantiate anything and neither can anyone else I suspect.

You're right though, it was a silly thing to say without proof so I'll retract any allegations of match fixing and simply state that I heard, before and after the game, from several sources, including this board, that Derry were certs to win. Take from that what you will.

I take from that that they did win, so your sources stated the bleedin' obvious....
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 10, 2009, 02:31:47 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 10, 2009, 02:20:39 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 02:04:00 PM

I would tend to agree with dublinfella. I wouldn't think the Dundalk game was fixed.

In fairness, it is more likely to be insider information than match fixing. For example, last year two of our students (aged 16 and 17) were selected to play for a high profile Irish League team in a CIS Cup match at their home ground. The opposition were a division lower and hence a decent price (6/1 ish). Because we knew the team would be well short we had a fair idea that the away team were a good bet. A few had a bet; one other walked into his local bookies and told the bookie what he knew.

Although things like time of first throw in etc. are much easier to fix.
Post by: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 02:43:12 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 10, 2009, 02:31:47 PM

I would tend to agree with dublinfella. I wouldn't think the Dundalk game was fixed.

In fairness, it is more likely to be insider information than match fixing. For example, last year two of our students (aged 16 and 17) were selected to play for a high profile Irish League team in a CIS Cup match at their home ground. The opposition were a division lower and hence a decent price (6/1 ish). Because we knew the team would be well short we had a fair idea that the away team were a good bet. A few had a bet; one other walked into his local bookies and told the bookie what he knew.

Although things like time of first throw in etc. are much easier to fix.

I would go even further than that - the clear bookies favourites won. If there was a fix, it would have been Dundalk at 4/1, not Derry at 1/4.
Post by: Gnevin on November 10, 2009, 02:52:08 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 01:10:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 10, 2009, 12:29:03 PM

Its a legitimate point. How many clubs in England are either in or near administration?

Its too easy to bash the LoI, but the league itself is run very well. They punch welll above their weight in Europe against teams that have multiples of their budgets. Some clubs still have tulips in charge like Cork, but systemically, they are no better or worse off than any other league.

How many clubs are fully professional now?
Post by: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 02:56:40 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 10, 2009, 02:52:08 PM

Not sure, Bohs, Rovers, Derry, Cork, Sligo, Galway, Dundalk & Fingal off the top of my head.

Basically the top teams in the league table plus one in the first, which is why they are working so hard to keep it full time.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 10, 2009, 03:04:27 PM
Surely Dundalk were 4-1 as they had f**kl all to play for, and Derry were favourites as they were going for Europe?

Anyhow I am still stunned by West Ham being a billion in debt. Zola's a ledge but what are they paying him? Is Jack Collinson on £200,000 a week???
Post by: Gnevin on November 10, 2009, 03:07:47 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 02:56:40 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 10, 2009, 02:52:08 PM

Not sure, Bohs, Rovers, Derry, Cork, Sligo, Galway, Dundalk & Fingal off the top of my head.

Basically the top teams in the league table plus one in the first, which is why they are working so hard to keep it full time.
Would you consider these clubs tulips? They can't be getting more than a couple of thousand of people in for most of the 9/15 home games a year.
Post by: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 03:17:12 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 10, 2009, 03:04:27 PM
Surely Dundalk were 4-1 as they had f**kl all to play for, and Derry were favourites as they were going for Europe?

Anyhow I am still stunned by West Ham being a billion in debt. Zola's a ledge but what are they paying him? Is Jack Collinson on £200,000 a week???

They are owned by an Icelandic bank....
Post by: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 03:21:19 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 10, 2009, 03:07:47 PM

Would you consider these clubs tulips? They can't be getting more than a couple of thousand of people in for most of the 9/15 home games a year.

Derry and Cork yes.

The point is that the rest of the clubs are paying what they can afford, so no.

And to be fair, I think Rovers are getting significantly more than a couple of thousand every week.
Post by: Gnevin on November 10, 2009, 08:33:17 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 03:21:19 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 10, 2009, 03:07:47 PM

Derry and Cork yes.

The point is that the rest of the clubs are paying what they can afford, so no.

And to be fair, I think Rovers are getting significantly more than a couple of thousand every week.

Forgive my ignorance but where is the money coming from ? How much are they paying players.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 10, 2009, 09:50:40 PM
I see now Swifts chairman Jarlath Faloon has said in Tyrone Times if Derry are re-enstated to first division Dungannon will seek ruling that they be docked 10 points. Can someone explain to me again how Swifts are not just being vindictive here? can't see how it will help them get the money they are crying about. Also seems by report Swifts get two men and a dog at their games... what goes around comes around  8) 
Post by: stew on November 10, 2009, 10:10:23 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 10, 2009, 09:50:40 PM
I see now Swifts chairman Jarlath Faloon has said in Tyrone Times if Derry are re-enstated to first division Dungannon will seek ruling that they be docked 10 points. Can someone explain to me again how Swifts are not just being vindictive here? can't see how it will help them get the money they are crying about. Also seems by report Swifts get two men and a dog at their games... what goes around comes around  8)

The swifts would do well to concentrate  their efforts on getting their money, what happens to derry after that is none of their business and they dont even report to the same governing body, this is starting to smell of vindictiveness.

That said Derry should have paid them and not ignored them when they were calling asking why they had not been paid.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 10, 2009, 10:16:59 PM
Derry keeper Quigley alerted FAI 

Darren Quigley is currently on loan with Sporting Fingal
Derry City keeper Darren Quigley has defended going to the FAI in a move which alerted the governing body to alleged unofficial payments to players.
City were expelled from the League of Ireland after the FAI said they broke regulations by holding secondary, unofficial contracts with players.
Quigley went to the FAI after failing to be paid by the Brandywell club.
"I didn't know I had two contracts - I had to go to the FAI. They've got to chase money I'm owed," he said.
Quigley, who is currently on loan with Sporting Fingal, denies he is a 'whistleblower' on Derry.
He added: "I can't understand how any player can alert the FAI that they are on two contracts if they did not know they were on two contracts."

Wasn't that Monaghan boy a whistle blower.... Pat McAnaney...    Ok, I'll get my coat...   ::)

Post by: mountainboii on November 10, 2009, 10:21:06 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 10, 2009, 03:04:27 PM

It was more the rapid drift out just before the game than the final price.
Post by: orangeman on November 10, 2009, 11:15:25 PM
BREAKING NEWS :

The players of Derry City Football Club have admitted to the FAI that they signed two contracts at the Brandywell club.

Following a meeting of the FAI and the Derry players at Abbotstown this evening, the FAI confirmed in a statement that: 'Following a meeting in Abbotstown, the players of Derry City Football Club have put on public record the fact that they had signed two contracts, the standard player's contract and a separate contract on club headed paper. 'As of today, the FAI has accepted these players' assurances that they were not personally aware of any financial irregularities at the club.

'The FAI also recognise the difficulties that have been created by the club in not paying players for the last eight/nine weeks at Derry City FC, and the impact that has on each player and his immediate family.

'The FAI has also confirmed that it intends to send a delegation to Derry, on Thursday, with a view to beginning the process of returning the club to stability, now that the Club Chairman has accepted his untenable position.'

The Derry City players also released a statement following the meeting.

The players said: 'The events of the past week have come as major shock and disappointment to the players of Derry City Football Club.

'Until the allegations of 'dual contracts' were made very recently, no player was aware of the existence of a second document, which contained different figures to the one which we had originally agreed.

'The position is that at the beginning of the contract period, each player was presented with a document on Derry City headed paper which contained income amounts which we each individually agreed with the club.

'With only one exception, no player knowingly signed a second document. It now appears that, what the club had misrepresented to us as a blank registration form containing no figures, terms or conditions was, in fact, a second document upon which different figures were subsequently entered and lodged with the league.

'The full terms of this contract were never made available to the players and we fully believed that the wages which we were being paid were disclosed to the league in accordance with normal practice.

'It has transpired that one of the players was aware of the existence of the second document but had ensured that the figures entered on it were identical to those on the original headed paper.

'No other players were aware of a second document.

'As soon as the players became aware of the situation, we have immediately agreed to set the record straight and we wish to have nothing to do with this wrongdoing. We are deeply distressed at this turn of events and we wish to distance ourselves entirely from the board's conduct.

'We recognise that the actions of the club board have compromised the integrity of the league but we wish to make it perfectly clear that we were not knowing participants in this deception.

'We hope that by addressing these issues and by clarifying our position, the club can now move forward and have a future in senior football.'

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 11, 2009, 09:05:23 AM
Derry City board members resign 

The chairman of Derry City Football Club has resigned along with three of its board members.

Pat McDaid said he would be stepping down along with Joe W Doherty, Peter Leonard and Francis Houston.

Mr McDaid said his relationship with the FAI had now "reached the point of no return".

The club's players also released a statement on Tuesday night which distanced them from what they described as the Derry board's "wrongdoing".

City were expelled from the League of Ireland after the FAI said they broke regulations by holding secondary, unofficial contracts with players.

A statement released on behalf of the Candystripes' players by the Professional Footballers' Association of Ireland, said that the events of the past week had come "as a major shock and disappointment to the players of Derry City Football Club".

"Until the allegations of 'dual contracts' were made very recently, no player was aware of the existence of a second document which contained different figures to the one which we had originally agreed.

"The position is that at the beginning of the contract period, each player was presented with a document on Derry City headed paper which contained income amounts which we each individually agreed with the club.

"With only one exception, no player knowingly signed a second document.

"It now appears that, what the club had misrepresented to us as a blank registration form containing no figures, terms or conditions, was, in fact, a second document upon which different figures were subsequently entered and lodged with the league.

"The full terms of this contract were never made available to the players and we fully believed that the wages which we were being paid were disclosed to the league in accordance with normal practice.

"As soon as the players became aware of the situation, we have immediately agreed to set the record straight and we wish to have nothing to do with this wrongdoing.

"We are deeply distressed at this turn of events and we wish to distance ourselves entirely from the board's conduct."

The Derry players' statement came shortly after the announcement of the resignation of club chairman Pat McDaid and three other directors.

Their move left club vice-chairman Stephen McCarron as sole remaining member of the Derry board.

McDaid said that his decision was "an important step to ensure Derry City return to the League of Ireland".

"It's quite clear my relationship with Mr Delaney and the FAI has reached a point of no return," he said.

Another day of dramatic developments had included Derry goalkeeper Darren Quigley's defence of his decison to contact the FAI which apparently alerted the governing body about the alleged unofficial payments to over 20 Candystripes players.

Darren Quigley is currently on loan with Sporting Fingal
Quigley, currently on loan at Sporting Fingal, went to the FAI after not being paid by the Brandywell club.

"I didn't know I had two contracts - I had to go to the FAI. They've got to chase the money I'm owed."

Quigley denied that he had been the "whistleblower" in the saga.

He added: "I can't understand how any player can alert the FAI that they are on two contracts if they did not know they were on two contracts."

FAI Chief John Delaney claimed on Monday that Derry had withheld details of payments to players over a period of years.

He also warned Derry players to disclose details of their pay or face the prospect of not being registered "at home or abroad" next season.

FAI and League of Ireland officials claim to have uncovered evidence that over 20 Derry players held under-the-table contracts with the club.

Delaney added that in those circumstances, the club would not be awarded its 60,000 Euro prize money for finishing fourth in the league.

He also warned on Monday that Derry's players had until next Thursday to give full financial information about their pay to the FAI or the Player's Union.

Failure to give the information would result in the FAI not registering players at home or abroad next season, Delaney added.

Following news of the resignation of the Derry directors and the players' comments on Tuesday night, the FAI later released a statement saying that it accepted the "players' assurances that they were not personally aware of any financial irregularities at the club".

"The FAI also recognise the difficulties that have been created by the club in not paying players for the last eight/nine weeks at Derry City FC, and the impact that has on each player and his immediate family

"The FAI has also confirmed that it intends to send a delegation to Derry, on Thursday, with a view to beginning the process of returning the club to stability, now that the Club Chairman has accepted his untenable position."

Post by: Main Street on November 11, 2009, 09:28:21 AM
That puts a bit of a dampener on the board's brave talk of taking legal action against the FAI.

I suppose it's indicative of where the debt laden board are at but it is beyond me how they could have imagined  participating in a court process which would have involved players giving evidence under oath.

QuoteMr McDaid said his relationship with the FAI had now "reached the point of no return".

Even at this stage, does he have the foggiest notion why?

Post by: dublinfella on November 11, 2009, 09:32:21 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 10, 2009, 08:33:17 PM

Forgive my ignorance but where is the money coming from ? How much are they paying players.

Rovers and Bohs are members clubs so thats €50 a month times 500 fans, plus the punters through the door, plus merchandising, tv money, prize money and in some clubs cases they have bar revenues.

Full timers would get between €500 and €3,000 a week.
Post by: Bensars on November 11, 2009, 09:40:27 AM
Looks like they had caught out telling porkies.

Two days ago the board said they knew of no second contracts and invited the FAI to Derry to meet them, accountants etc.

Now it appears the players have also done a u turn and are aware of the existance of second contracts.

I would not be suprised if this type of thing wasnt replicated in other clubs
Post by: dublinfella on November 11, 2009, 09:56:42 AM
Quote from: Bensars on November 11, 2009, 09:40:27 AM

Two days ago the board said they knew of no second contracts and invited the FAI to Derry to meet them, accountants etc.

Now it appears the players have also done a u turn and are aware of the existance of second contracts.

Sure they denied that the admitted anythign at the meeting and said no minutes were taken. The minutes are all over the internet. Hard to see what the point of all this tough talk was.

Its my understanding that this is unique to Derry, hence the FAI going so ballistic about it.
Post by: peterquaife on November 11, 2009, 11:06:20 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on November 11, 2009, 09:56:42 AM
Quote from: Bensars on November 11, 2009, 09:40:27 AM

Sure they denied that the admitted anythign at the meeting and said no minutes were taken. The minutes are all over the internet. Hard to see what the point of all this tough talk was.

Its my understanding that this is unique to Derry, hence the FAI going so ballistic about it.

the FAI are going ballistic because it is Derry.

Post by: full back on November 11, 2009, 11:24:52 AM
Did I hear right that the players should have been getting approx €750 gross per week, but with the secondary contracts this was more like €1350 per week?

Seems like an awful lot
Post by: dublinfella on November 11, 2009, 11:31:51 AM
Quote from: peterquaife on November 11, 2009, 11:06:20 AM

the FAI are going ballistic because it is Derry.

This was the line that the Derry Chairman was pushing before he was caught out in his lies. Why would the FAI be after Derry?

Post by: dublinfella on November 11, 2009, 11:34:35 AM
Quote from: full back on November 11, 2009, 11:24:52 AM
Did I hear right that the players should have been getting approx €750 gross per week, but with the secondary contracts this was more like €1350 per week?

Seems like an awful lot

Standard enough money. The double contracts were simply to avoid the 65% rule.

This seems to have come to light when a departing Derry player asked for his new club to match his money at x. They checked out his contract and it was registered at y and pushed him on it and it all unravelled from there.  Very interesting that the players union refused to defend the players involved.
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 11, 2009, 11:43:16 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 01:12:32 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 10, 2009, 12:30:26 PM
[I would suggest that the emboldened bit is somewhat exagerrated. Either that or you haven't watched much sport.

In terms of a systemic policy within a club to defraud the taxman and lie to the association they were in so as to get around the 65% protocol, I can't think of much worse in team sport. Possibly Marseille and Juve doping players against their knowledge. Its naked cheating and involved hundreds of individuals over a course of years. Hence they have been told to whistle for their prizemoney.

Whilst I have no sympathy either with Derry City or the players involved, I still have problems with the hyperbole of posts like this.

Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2009, 01:12:32 PM

I'm sure anyone with any knowledge of sport could easily come up with hundreds of more serious examples.
Post by: dublinfella on November 11, 2009, 01:29:05 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 11, 2009, 11:43:16 AM

Whilst I have no sympathy either with Derry City or the players involved, I still have problems with the hyperbole of posts like this.

Its not hyperbole, its a statement of what happened.

Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 11, 2009, 11:43:16 AM
I'm sure anyone with any knowledge of sport could easily come up with hundreds of more serious examples.

Well crack on then!
Post by: oakleafgael on November 11, 2009, 02:25:25 PM

What Derry were up to is the most naked cheating I have ever seen in any sport

Hyperbole, either that or you have led a very sheltered life. A badly run supposedly professional club in a tin pot league breaking the rules doesnt compare with any of the following.

How about the Danny Almonte affair in the American Baseball little leagues? Maybe the Spanish Paralympic basketball team. I cant remember his name but the Russian fencer who had his epee rigged to buzz whenever he pressed a hidden button.
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 11, 2009, 02:34:06 PM
Dublinfella has to be John Delaney, nothing else can explain the amount of shee-ite he has come out with.
If you have the concern of the league at heart then I am sure you will agree the league will be a lot poorer without DCFC. 
If they acted the wag with payments they must pay some price, but total banishment is not a solution that will benefit the LOI in general.
Post by: dublinfella on November 11, 2009, 03:45:58 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 11, 2009, 02:34:06 PM
Dublinfella has to be John Delaney, nothing else can explain the amount of shee-ite he has come out with.
If you have the concern of the league at heart then I am sure you will agree the league will be a lot poorer without DCFC. 
If they acted the wag with payments they must pay some price, but total banishment is not a solution that will benefit the LOI in general.

This goes well beyond acting the wag though....
Post by: Main Street on November 11, 2009, 07:28:12 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 11, 2009, 02:34:06 PM
It's not total banishment,
Its banishment of Derry it's present shape,
Afaia Derry just have to apply for membership to the next  division.

Derry cheated the agreed LOI structure with borrowed money and borrowed money without permission by ignoring liability obligations to gain an advantage over the other clubs for the whole season in every game played.
It is fair that all points be stripped and Derry relegated.

Are Derry being treated as any other LOI club would be? I don't know.
Delaney has acted properly was quite right to demand the resignation of the board before talks about rejoining the league.
Afaia all the clubs were lined up  by the FAI before the season and told in no uncertain terms that player payments were to be kosher from then on, as per contract submitted to the FAI.

Post by: magickingdom on November 11, 2009, 07:41:07 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on November 11, 2009, 11:34:35 AM
Quote from: full back on November 11, 2009, 11:24:52 AM

Seems like an awful lot

Standard enough money. The double contracts were simply to avoid the 65% rule.

This seems to have come to light when a departing Derry player asked for his new club to match his money at x. They checked out his contract and it was registered at y and pushed him on it and it all unravelled from there.  Very interesting that the players union refused to defend the players involved.

no way can loi clubs afford to pay that money and hence the many problems. . its not possible to run a loi club while paying e750k-1m+ in wages with the crowds and sponsorship available
Post by: Rav67 on November 11, 2009, 07:54:12 PM
65% is even way too high for any sustainable business.  Should be less than 50% really.
Post by: orangeman on November 13, 2009, 12:55:24 PM

Dungannon won't be getting their money now after a new company has been formed but significantly it doesn't carry over any of the debt left behind. 

Bad news for all creditors and Dungannon.
Post by: dublinfella on November 13, 2009, 02:15:06 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 13, 2009, 12:55:24 PM

Dungannon won't be getting their money now after a new company has been formed but significantly it doesn't carry over any of the debt left behind. 

Bad news for all creditors and Dungannon.

Edit - you are right. They are liquidating the holding company as the board of directors was dissolved.

Creditors should still get something from the liquidation process though.
Post by: angermanagement on November 13, 2009, 03:07:02 PM
The company that currently owns Derry City is going to go into administration or liquidation, all assets will be sold but what assets have Derry got ? As far as I know all the players are free agents now and can join any club, they don't own the Brandywell as far as I know.

So basically Derry City have run up supposedly £800,000 in debts with the creditors receiving nothing or next to nothing whilst Derry Citys only punishment is to be relegated and starting off on a clean slate with establishing a new limited company.

The FAI had no option to treat Derry this way and I would imagine there's a few nervous players and directors in other clubs who are receiving brown envelopes along with there pay cheque.
Post by: magickingdom on November 13, 2009, 06:46:51 PM
Quote from: angermanagement on November 13, 2009, 03:07:02 PM
The company that currently owns Derry City is going to go into administration or liquidation, all assets will be sold but what assets have Derry got ? As far as I know all the players are free agents now and can join any club, they don't own the Brandywell as far as I know.

So basically Derry City have run up supposedly £800,000 in debts with the creditors receiving nothing or next to nothing whilst Derry Citys only punishment is to be relegated and starting off on a clean slate with establishing a new limited company.

The FAI had no option to treat Derry this way and I would imagine there's a few nervous players and directors in other clubs who are receiving brown envelopes along with there pay cheque.

its not quite that simple, if the directors traded fraudulently they can be made personally liable for the co's debts
Post by: ExiledGael on November 13, 2009, 08:56:29 PM
Surely it's only a matter of time before the tax man comes calling here too.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 13, 2009, 10:27:38 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on November 13, 2009, 06:46:51 PM
Quote from: angermanagement on November 13, 2009, 03:07:02 PM

its not quite that simple, if the directors traded fraudulently they can be made personally liable for the co's debts
rarely happens though, extremely difficult to prove - is that the uk situation too?