Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2009, 05:06:00 PM

Title: The Official Mick McCarthy/Ipswich Town Appreciation Thread
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2009, 05:06:00 PM
Congrats to the great man and his Wolves team for being promoted to the Premiership for next season :)
Title: Re: The Official Mick McCarthy/Wolves Appreciation Thread
Post by: Minder on April 18, 2009, 05:20:58 PM
Fair fucks to him, when Wolves were struggling last year he kept at it through the tough times. Unlike some other Irish club managers. . . .
Post by: EC Unique on April 18, 2009, 05:28:04 PM
 ::) ::) ::)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2009, 05:45:22 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 18, 2009, 05:20:58 PM
Fair f**ks to him, when Wolves were struggling last year he kept at it through the tough times. Unlike some other Irish club managers. . . .

Delighted for him too,he wouldn't have had a huge budget either.
Will be hard for him next year though as I doubt he will get the funding to get the players needed to stay up.
Fair achievement all the same I think they still have 4 or 5 games left in the Championship,so to get promoted early is great.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2009, 05:45:51 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on April 18, 2009, 05:28:04 PM
::) ::) ::)

Problem  ???
Post by: mountainboii on April 18, 2009, 06:04:53 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2009, 05:45:22 PM
Fair f**ks to him, when Wolves were struggling last year he kept at it through the tough times. Unlike some other Irish club managers. . . .

Will be hard for him next year though as I doubt he will get the funding to get the players needed to stay up.
Fair achievement all the same I think they still have 4 or 5 games left in the Championship,so to get promoted early is great.

Only 2, but still a great achievement. How many times now has McCarthy got a team promoted?

EDIT: just checked out wiki, he's only got two teams promoted but has gotten into the playoffs another few times. Seems to be the man to get you out of the Championship. Can he do it in the Premier League now though?
Post by: The Subbie on April 18, 2009, 06:17:41 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 18, 2009, 06:04:53 PM

Only 2, but still a great achievement. How many times now has McCarthy got a team promoted?

EDIT: just checked out wiki, he's only got two teams promoted but has gotten into the playoffs another few times. Seems to be the man to get you out of the Championship. Can he do it in the Premier League now though?

If he gets the £££££££ yes if he does'nt not a chance
Post by: Tankie on April 18, 2009, 06:19:39 PM
Can we not set up a soccer section on this board so that all the lads can chat about the sport there?
Post by: magpie seanie on April 18, 2009, 06:23:25 PM
Fair play to McCarthy. Big turnaround from 15 months ago when many Wolves fans were booing him and wanted him out so fair play to him for sticking it out.
Post by: muppet on April 18, 2009, 06:32:19 PM

Man resigns.

Wow.  ::)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 18, 2009, 06:33:25 PM
Quote from: Tankie on April 18, 2009, 06:19:39 PM
Can we not set up a soccer section on this board so that all the lads can chat about the sport there?

No. Though a section for you and Gnevin to yap about not liking soccer on would have my support.

Great achievement for Big Mick. Always like to see him doing well. Not sure if he's likely to get much investment but if Evans Blake can re-create this season's form next year they should have a good ahnce.
Post by: slow corner back on April 18, 2009, 06:39:48 PM
Well done to big Mick delighted for him, he was very harshly treated as irish manager so glad to see him do well on the club scene. Looking forward to next year he now has three months to bring players in. I heard earlier today that Reading were unsure of even making the playoffs, if they do not make it I would not be surprised to see Mick in for Steven Hunt or Kevin Doyle. Hope he can bring in a few players and keep the momentum going.
Post by: Tankie on April 18, 2009, 06:54:23 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 18, 2009, 06:33:25 PM
Quote from: Tankie on April 18, 2009, 06:19:39 PM

No. Though a section for you and Gnevin to yap about not liking soccer on would have my support.

Great achievement for Big Mick. Always like to see him doing well. Not sure if he's likely to get much investment but if Evans Blake can re-create this season's form next year they should have a good ahnce.

i do like soccer but with all the British soccer threads on this board maybe its time to create and section for soccer?
Post by: under the bar on April 18, 2009, 07:17:50 PM
Well done to YoYo Mick, the only manager whose been up and down more often than Ulrika Jonsson's knickers.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2009, 07:36:39 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on April 18, 2009, 06:17:41 PM

Thats about the bones of it..
He won't survive in the PL without some money to spend.
He has a couple of Irish guys like Keogh and Kevin Foley.
Ya wouldn't know but if Newcastle gets relegated someone like Duff might sign for him as I can't see him going to one of the Top teams at this stage,he must be pushing 30 ?
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 18, 2009, 07:52:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 18, 2009, 06:32:19 PM

Man resigns.

Wow.  ::)

Right enough it was no big story as same man had a history of walking out...
Post by: slow corner back on April 18, 2009, 08:00:17 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2009, 07:36:39 PM

Ya wouldn't know but if Newcastle gets relegated someone like Duff might sign for him as I can't see him going to one of the Top teams at this stage,he must be pushing 30 ?

Thats a good call about Duff, not many clubs would fancy him due to his wage demands/ injury problems Mick might well be keen
Post by: Minder on April 18, 2009, 08:06:43 PM
I think people over estimate the £ ££ £ factor, Newcastle have spent money and could go down. Stoke look like staying up and nobody expected that. Outside the top four and maybe Villa there isnt much difference in quality and the standard isnt great.
Post by: slow corner back on April 18, 2009, 08:09:43 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 18, 2009, 08:06:43 PM
I think people over estimate the £ ££ £ factor, Newcastle have spent money and could go down. Stoke look like staying up and nobody expected that. Outside the top four and maybe Villa there isnt much difference in quality and the standard isnt great.

Liverpool fan (manager) disses Everton again shock!!!lol :D
Post by: imtommygunn on April 18, 2009, 08:19:31 PM
There's a gap between the top four and the next two - Everton and Villa - and then there's a gap between them and the rest. Villa and Everton are a good bit better than the rest though.

Money makes a big difference when spent wisely. e.g. Beattie has made a big difference for Stoke. Newcastle have bought some turkeys over the last few years and Owen has hardly played either. The amount of money Newcastle have wasted is criminal. Middlesborough haven't been too wise with the money either - e.g. Alves.

I think McCarthy is a good c'ship manager and a poor premier league one so to be honest I think Wolves will go stright back down. I've a lot of time for the man though so I hope he proves me wrong...
Post by: T Fearon on April 18, 2009, 09:33:49 PM
Many congrats to Mick. Surely if he had access to the funds made available to the Cork langer during his time in charge at Sunderland he would have made a much better fist of the job and certainly wouldn't have been relegated
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 19, 2009, 10:25:24 AM
Folks was going to start a new thread for this but will keep it here. My old fella is a big Wolves fan and heads over now and again. He has flights, et all booked for this day fortnight for the last game of the season but can't secure a ticket (Doncaster at home).

Does anyone have any connections, or contacts that could help me out?
Much appreciated..
Post by: EC Unique on April 19, 2009, 10:42:18 AM
Quote from: under the bar on April 18, 2009, 07:17:50 PM
Well done to YoYo Mick, the only manager whose been up and down more often than Ulrika Jonsson's knickers.
:D :D :D :D
Post by: thewobbler on April 19, 2009, 05:30:35 PM
It's a tad unfair to suggest that McCarthy isn't a good enough manager for a premier league team. Being an unfashionable Yorkshire man he has never been offered a job on the next pedestal - a settled Premiership side like Villa, Everton, Blackburn,West Ham or Man City. Until he gets a job like that - where his season isn't just about avoiding relegation - I don't think you can really judge his Premier League credentials.

I'm delighted for him anyway. His sides play decent football to watch, and he calls a spade a spade, which is unusual for a manager.
Post by: Chrisowc on April 19, 2009, 09:42:02 PM
English c**t!
Post by: thebandit on April 19, 2009, 10:34:29 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on April 18, 2009, 08:00:17 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2009, 07:36:39 PM

Thats a good call about Duff, not many clubs would fancy him due to his wage demands/ injury problems Mick might well be keen

He always got the best out of Duff in an Ireland jersey.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 19, 2009, 10:36:50 PM
Always had a soft spot for Wolves, whatever about McCarthy. They were always in the playoffs or just couldn't make the playoffs so often and when Irwin left United to join them I kept an eye on them those years as well. Delighted they're in the Premiership next season.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2009, 05:18:16 PM
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/010307576219900.jpg)
Post by: stew on April 20, 2009, 07:01:52 PM
Fair play to McCarthy and Wolves, it will be great to see them play in the premiership.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 25, 2009, 10:59:37 PM
Promoted as Champions after todays draw..
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 26, 2009, 12:26:35 AM
Did you see McCarthy ready to clock the fan at full time today...  ;D
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 26, 2009, 12:46:54 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 26, 2009, 12:26:35 AM
Did you see McCarthy ready to clock the fan at full time today...  ;D

A pity he didn't clock the langer in '02   
Post by: Leo on April 26, 2009, 06:43:16 AM
If the boy wonder from Cork had achieved what Mick has done with Wolves RTE would have had an hour long documentary about it and there would be  weekly column in the Irish Times. Howeverat least it has been enough for even Dunphy to recognise that the man has built a good team with practically no budget, youngest squad in the league and played great football. He won't keep them in PL because (a) he'll not get the £50 million or so the Niall Quinn consortiumm threw at the langer and they (b) he won't resort to Stoke City battering ram tactics.
Post by: Main Street on April 26, 2009, 11:19:57 AM
Mick says when he won promotion with Sunderland he was given a budget of £6m for players, wages, signing-on fees, everything.

Post by: magpie seanie on April 26, 2009, 05:54:15 PM
Quote from: Leo on April 26, 2009, 06:43:16 AM
If the boy wonder from Cork had achieved what Mick has done with Wolves RTE would have had an hour long documentary about it and there would be  weekly column in the Irish Times. Howeverat least it has been enough for even Dunphy to recognise that the man has built a good team with practically no budget, youngest squad in the league and played great football. He won't keep them in PL because (a) he'll not get the £50 million or so the Niall Quinn consortiumm threw at the langer and they (b) he won't resort to Stoke City battering ram tactics.

Can you not just compliment Mick McCarthy on his achievement without referring to Roy Keane. This is about Mick and Wolves. Nothing to do with Saipan. About time people got over it - like Roy and Mick have.
Post by: EC Unique on April 26, 2009, 08:03:43 PM
(http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i267/benrus/chip_on_her_shoulder.jpg?t=1240772531)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 13, 2009, 12:10:09 AM
Great win for Mick today against the Spuds!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on March 20, 2010, 03:19:04 AM
(http://i42.tinypic.com/29qmrko.gif)
Post by: Jen Cui on March 20, 2010, 04:26:22 AM
hows tricks
Post by: Shortso79 on March 23, 2010, 09:22:43 PM

3 nil up on West Ham
Post by: T Fearon on March 23, 2010, 10:05:17 PM
Great to see Mick doing so well (though fcuk him for taking 6 points off Spurs this season ;D). He should never have been shatfed by the FAI and his managerial career continues to leave Keane looking like a dick
Post by: magpie seanie on March 24, 2010, 10:05:44 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 23, 2010, 10:05:17 PM
Great to see Mick doing so well (though fcuk him for taking 6 points off Spurs this season ;D). He should never have been shatfed by the FAI and his managerial career continues to leave Keane looking like a dick

I refer you back to my message of April 26th 2009.
Post by: T Fearon on March 24, 2010, 10:11:49 AM
MS, I doubt that the langers worshippers would be quiet if the roles were reversed, ie Keane was successfully managing an unfashionable club in the Premiership while Mc Carthy was guiding Ipswich Town (European Trophy winners less than 30 years ago) to home defeats in the Championship against Plymouth Argyle.

Saipan will never be forgotten, and what Keane did then was and still is unforgivable
Post by: magpie seanie on March 24, 2010, 11:29:31 AM
McCarthy and Keane were able to sort out their differences so spare me the faux outrage. Your post is simply laughable as usual - as if Ipswich winning a European trophy almost 30 years ago has anything to do with today. Ridiculous but not surprising coming from your good self.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 24, 2010, 12:25:14 PM
Hang on now Seanie - Spurs have won European trophies in the dim and distant past, so it's highly relevent (on Planet Tony).
Post by: ludermor on March 24, 2010, 12:29:12 PM
What happened in Saipan????
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 24, 2010, 12:35:17 PM
Quote from: ludermor on March 24, 2010, 12:29:12 PM
What happened in Saipan????
Some guy drove round in circles in this massive white limo for ages and ages.
Post by: ludermor on March 24, 2010, 12:57:42 PM
http://www.saipantribune.com/searchresult.aspx?cat=0

I cant get the articles which is a shame, they might have had some local knowledge of the events.  ;)
Post by: Asal Mor on March 24, 2010, 03:08:31 PM
Go on the Wolves. Great win for them last night. Now 1/10 to avoid relegation. Well done Mick.
Post by: Celt_Man on March 24, 2010, 05:04:37 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 24, 2010, 10:11:49 AM
MS, I doubt that the langers worshippers would be quiet if the roles were reversed, ie Keane was successfully managing an unfashionable club in the Premiership while Mc Carthy was guiding Ipswich Town (European Trophy winners less than 30 years ago) to home defeats in the Championship against Plymouth Argyle.

Saipan will never be forgotten, and what Keane did then was and still is unforgivable

:D :D :D :D :D
Post by: new devil on March 25, 2010, 05:58:33 AM
Quote from: Boycey on March 24, 2010, 04:55:00 PM
Is it just me or does his nose get more crooked as the years go on??

(http://paddytheflea.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/mick.jpg)

A f**king pig
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 25, 2010, 08:02:09 AM
QuoteA f**king pig

A bit harsh, he might not be everyones cup of tea but the lad has done well and you have to admire his honesty and admits he made mistakes over Saipan as has Keane. Doing an excellent job with Wolves.
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 25, 2010, 08:10:35 AM
Quote from: new devil on March 25, 2010, 05:58:33 AM
Quote from: Boycey on March 24, 2010, 04:55:00 PM
Is it just me or does his nose get more crooked as the years go on??

(http://paddytheflea.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/mick.jpg)

A f**king pig

Get over it Roy...
Post by: Denn Forever on March 27, 2010, 02:31:26 PM
The team that beat West Ham contained 8 of the players that were on the weakened team that was sent out against  Man Utd.  Were Woles finded and when do they get. there money back.

Post by: slow corner back on March 27, 2010, 02:46:39 PM
Wolves were fined and I doubt if they will get the money back. However Mick did make a point in a press conference before the west ham match to note that Carlton Cole, Scott Parker, Benny McCarthy and someone else who I cant remember were all left on the bench for West Hams match against Arsenal on the Saturday before West Ham v  Wolves
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 25, 2010, 10:23:33 PM
Wolves now safe and will be in the Premier League next year, fair play to Mick!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 25, 2010, 10:26:27 PM
What happened the Candy jersey lad, i see you have went to the attic now to dig out the Hitachi jersey !!
Post by: Catch the high ball on June 21, 2010, 02:37:03 PM
Wolves sign winger Stephen Hunt from Hull 

Hunt missed the end of Hull's season with a foot injury
Winger Stephen Hunt has signed a three-year contract at Wolves after moving from Hull for an undisclosed fee.

The Tigers, who were relegated from the Premier League in May, rejected a £5m bid from Wolves earlier this year.

But Republic of Ireland international Hunt, 28, struck an agreement with Hull chairman Adam Pearson that he would be allowed to leave if the club went down.

Hunt missed the end of last season with a foot injury and is not expected to be fit to return until late October.

"It's been a long time coming in terms of all the speculation," Hunt, referring to the bid from Wolves back in January, told the club's website.

"It was out of my control what happened in January, now it's done I'm looking forward to getting going."

Hunt is hoping that he will be able to make his Wolves debut sooner than October but will not rush his return.

"I'll be following the instructions of the physiotherapists but hopefully it might be a bit sooner than that.

"But it's important that it's all done right and so when I come back it's ready and fine for the rest of the season."

Hunt follows defender Steven Mouyokolo from Hull to Wolves to become the fifth summer arrival at Molineux.

Wolves manager Mick McCarthy has already signed Belgium defender Jelle Van Damme from Anderlecht, striker Steven Fletcher from Burnley and Algeria midfielder Adlene Guedioura who had been on a season-long loan from Charleroi.

Post by: Catch the high ball on August 15, 2010, 06:22:47 PM
Are any of ye on here bonafide Wolves fans?

I am semi Wolves.
Post by: Main Street on August 15, 2010, 06:38:17 PM
You mean bonafide fans, like 99% of all the other Irish epl bonalfide fans, e.g. one who goes along to a friendly and cheers for the epl team against Irish opposition?
Or do you actually mean a real fan who grew up living and breathing the club?
Post by: Catch the high ball on August 15, 2010, 09:21:01 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 15, 2010, 06:38:17 PM
You mean bonafide fans, like 99% of all the other Irish epl bonalfide fans, e.g. one who goes along to a friendly and cheers for the epl team against Irish opposition?
Or do you actually mean a real fan who grew up living and breathing the club?

Well maybe bonafide is a bit strong.

Just someone who supports them in the Premiership and maybe has a couple of bits of memoribilia.
Post by: Main Street on August 16, 2010, 04:27:01 PM
I have a copy of "The Doog" (and read it),
but I don't support Wolves.

That still puts me on top of the bonafide list.

Post by: Catch the high ball on August 16, 2010, 04:33:18 PM
It is a good book.

I have a family influence from Wolves. Have a couple of polo shirts, scarves etc. Going to Wolves vs United at Molineux on 5th Februrary.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 16, 2010, 04:35:02 PM
Quote from: Catch the high ball on August 16, 2010, 04:33:18 PM
It is a good book.

I have a family influence from Wolves.
Have a couple of polo shirts, scarves etc. Going to Wolves vs United at Molineux on 5th Februrary.

Were you in the Jungle Book?

(http://www.thestorybookstudio.com/imagesgallerybig/mowgli.jpg)
Post by: Catch the high ball on August 16, 2010, 04:38:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 16, 2010, 04:35:02 PM
Quote from: Catch the high ball on August 16, 2010, 04:33:18 PM
It is a good book.

I have a family influence from Wolves.
Have a couple of polo shirts, scarves etc. Going to Wolves vs United at Molineux on 5th Februrary.

Were you in the Jungle Book?

(http://www.thestorybookstudio.com/imagesgallerybig/mowgli.jpg)

Completley uncalled for AZ Offaly!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 16, 2010, 04:46:49 PM
Quote from: Catch the high ball on August 15, 2010, 06:22:47 PM

I am semi Wolves.

No but my da is a lifelong Wolves fan, Billy Wright, Bert Williams etc. He dragged me along to see them in the 80s, 90s a few times, Robbie Dennison, Andy Mutch and the legend... Steve Bull!
Post by: ONeill on August 16, 2010, 06:18:30 PM
A boy who played the drums in a band I was in was a Wolves man from Kerry. Drove a Merc.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on August 31, 2010, 02:34:34 PM
Niall McGinn has been reported to be spotted around the Wolves football stadium!!!!!

He could be on his way, some move for him!!!!!!
Post by: ross4life on December 04, 2010, 11:37:22 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 16, 2010, 04:46:49 PM

I am semi Wolves.

No but my da is a lifelong Wolves fan, Billy Wright, Bert Williams etc. He dragged me along to see them in the 80s, 90s a few times, Robbie Dennison, Andy Mutch and the legend... Steve Bull!

Only seen this now...

My Dad is also lifelong Wolves fan though he never dragged me along to games! though i still check for the Wolves results

May i ask after all the effort of your dad why didn't you follow them?

Post by: magpie seanie on December 05, 2010, 01:06:38 AM
Quote from: ross4life on December 04, 2010, 11:37:22 PM

I am semi Wolves.

Only seen this now...

My Dad is also lifelong Wolves fan though he never dragged me along to games! though i still check for the Wolves results

I just wonder how anyone Irish ever ended up supporting Chelsea!
Post by: ross4life on December 05, 2010, 01:30:58 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 05, 2010, 01:18:46 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 05, 2010, 01:06:38 AM
Quote from: ross4life on December 04, 2010, 11:37:22 PM

I am semi Wolves.

Only seen this now...

I just wonder how anyone Irish ever ended up supporting Chelsea!
The same reason people support Man United, Liverpool or Arsenal and indeed Leeds. The Irish have a habit of jumping on a 'good thing'. Just look at the Celtic Tiger. You'd think we'd all have learned our lesson after those yella Spanish cnuts let us down at Kinsale.

I beg to differ a lot of people in this Country started supporting those because of the Irish connections, something Chelsea don't have a much.

But of course u'll always get bandwagon supporters when someone is successful (not talking about you Norf i'm sure you have your reasons)
Post by: ross4life on December 05, 2010, 01:44:51 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 05, 2010, 01:37:47 AM
I suppose it may just be a coincidence that these are successful teams and our Paddy just happened to be near them all.

Well the Irish are well known for building greatness on foreign land (New York would be an example)
Post by: magpie seanie on December 05, 2010, 02:08:02 AM
Hardstation - I understand your point but I think its different with Chelsea. They'd have as many Irish links as Rangers, probably less.
Post by: fearbrags on December 30, 2010, 03:55:46 AM
Great night for Big Mick. Always like to see him doing well. A  few more results like this and  he might  kept them up again
Post by: stew on December 30, 2010, 06:37:08 PM
Quote from: fearbrags on December 30, 2010, 03:55:46 AM
Great night for Big Mick. Always like to see him doing well. A  few more results like this and  he might  kept them up again

I agree fearbags, i would like to see west ham go down and wolves stay up, just because of McCarthy and the fact the ammers should have been down a few years ago.
Post by: SHEEDY on December 30, 2010, 08:10:38 PM
delighted for mick. really hope he keeps wolves up. would love to see blackburn go down, dont know why but i never could stand them esp when big sam was in charge.
Post by: new devil on December 30, 2010, 08:18:29 PM
Is the starter of this thread not going to show his appreciation for McCarthy's win last night  ;)
Post by: fearbrags on December 31, 2010, 02:05:12 AM
Also Fair play to  Mick having  such a large Irish presence {Hunt,Doyle,Ward,Foley}  on his first team at a time when a lot of other Irish players  are struggling to get first team football
Post by: ross4life on December 31, 2010, 02:29:52 AM
Yep another Irish player Robbie Keane should join on loan
Post by: LilySavage on December 31, 2010, 11:29:20 AM
Yep another Irish player Robbie Keane should join on loan

They have enough strikers already who cant score
Post by: lawnseed on January 01, 2011, 10:49:49 PM
first time i've posted on a soccer thread, cant stand it usally, ::) but micks efforts to get wolves up the table are admirable. i find myself willing him to succeed. imo mccarthy is a much better manager now than he was when he had ireland. the fai should get him back if he loses his job at wolves
Post by: ross4life on January 05, 2011, 09:41:08 PM
6 points in games v Chelsea,Liverpool & out of bottom three well done Mick!
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on January 05, 2011, 10:54:26 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 01, 2011, 10:49:49 PM
first time i've posted on a soccer thread, cant stand it usally, ::) but micks efforts to get wolves up the table are admirable. i find myself willing him to succeed. imo mccarthy is a much better manager now than he was when he had ireland. the fai should get him back if he loses his job at wolves

Really hope Wolves stay up too.

Likeable character big Mick.
Post by: Leo on January 06, 2011, 12:31:06 AM
Alawys was a man of genuine substance
Contrast with sc**bag langers - too obvious for most of us?
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 05, 2011, 07:31:48 PM
Always liked Mick
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 05, 2011, 07:32:37 PM
Well done Mick...
Post by: ross4life on February 05, 2011, 07:36:04 PM
Yup Mick has done great v the big teams needs to do better v the lesser teams or they will be relegated.
Post by: Gaffer on February 05, 2011, 07:37:27 PM
Mickey's a legend !!!
Post by: Main Street on February 05, 2011, 07:43:09 PM
I'm sure all football fans in Ireland were delighted with that result and the performance of Kevin Doyle.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on February 06, 2011, 03:29:17 AM
Congrat Wolves!
Post by: Whitehair on May 08, 2011, 12:38:32 PM
Wolves 2 up against West Brom after 35min, Keep'er lit!
Post by: laoislad on May 08, 2011, 01:13:57 PM
3-1 NOW!

Hope McCarthy keeps them up.
Post by: paco on May 08, 2011, 02:02:35 PM
Always thought that Steven Fletcher was a good player, he was brilliant today.
Post by: SHEEDY on May 08, 2011, 03:47:55 PM
wolves were brilliant today. delighted for mick, hope he can keep them up
Post by: The Worker on May 08, 2011, 03:49:50 PM
Fair play to wolves, hope they stay up. Plenty of fight and desire in their play.
Post by: lawnseed on May 08, 2011, 06:36:06 PM
i love watching mick on the sideline.. real passion and a few fuks. :D
Post by: Denn Forever on May 08, 2011, 07:58:06 PM
Is there any way that Wolves and Blackpool could stay up? 
Post by: muppet on May 08, 2011, 10:14:06 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on May 08, 2011, 07:58:06 PM

NAMA.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 08, 2011, 10:57:29 PM
Yes Wigan,West ham,Birmingham & Blackburn are still down there.
Post by: Orangemac on May 09, 2011, 12:05:33 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 08, 2011, 10:57:29 PM
Yes Wigan,West ham,Birmingham & Blackburn are still down there.
3 more point for Wolves should be enough.Delighted for Mick if he does it. Honest man who tries to play good football.

Didn't get enough credit for his time in charge of Republic mainly because of Saipan which he could have handled better but was not his fault.
Post by: new devil on May 09, 2011, 06:53:36 AM
I hope "mick" goes down!!!! Could says lots worst right now buy why bother!! "We" are going to win our 19th title hahahaha how you like those apples Laois lad  ;D :D
Post by: supersarsfields on May 09, 2011, 02:06:52 PM
Is it any surprise that even united posters think you are bit of a C**k.
Post by: ross4life on May 09, 2011, 03:01:34 PM
I hope they stay up & a win v Blackburn at home on the final day of the season should keep them up.
Post by: laoislad on May 14, 2011, 02:40:59 PM
Another great result for Mick McCarthy and Wolves. Keep her lit Mick.
Post by: ross4life on May 14, 2011, 02:55:53 PM
Well done Wolves that win should keep them up.
Post by: The Worker on May 14, 2011, 03:00:38 PM
Great to see doyle back.

hope its wigan west ham and blackburn down.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 22, 2011, 04:54:31 PM
Shitting in the nest badly here, 0-3 down at HT and on the way out of the PL at the moment !!
Post by: SHEEDY on May 22, 2011, 05:00:24 PM
wolves in bottom 3 as it stands now. need favours from other teams.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 22, 2011, 05:02:08 PM
i think spurs will win and save them
Post by: SHEEDY on May 22, 2011, 05:11:26 PM
spurs 1 up
Post by: gerry on May 22, 2011, 05:31:19 PM
if other matches stay the same and wolves let in another goal. wolves go down on goal difference
Post by: Bord na Mona man on May 22, 2011, 05:46:51 PM
Birmingham have equalised against Spurs now.
Wolves has dipped back into the relegation zone.
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2011, 05:47:35 PM
And out again Hunt 87 mins!
Post by: Bord na Mona man on May 22, 2011, 05:51:57 PM
Blackpool are as good as gone. They'd need to score 3 time.
Its between Wolves and Birmingham.
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2011, 05:53:56 PM
Spurs score again Brum burned.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 22, 2011, 06:00:39 PM
a wolves supporter with a dodgy ticker wouldnt have been a good thing today !
Post by: SHEEDY on May 22, 2011, 06:15:36 PM
delighted for mick. that was nerve wrecking for wolves fans
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2011, 06:31:22 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on May 22, 2011, 06:15:36 PM
delighted for mick. that was nerve wrecking for wolves fans

Unbelievable finish.

4 mins to go they were relegated.
3 mins to Hunt scored and they were safe but one goal in each of two games could change that.
FT Spurs scored a breakaway goal with Brum all up for a corner and they were safe.

Sky Sports News missed the significance of Hunt's goal.
Post by: The Worker on May 22, 2011, 06:35:33 PM
well done mick, would be great to see him back as irish boss after trappa.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2011, 06:45:15 PM
Quote from: The Worker on May 22, 2011, 06:35:33 PM

Would you? surely a successful manager would be a better appointment
Post by: The Worker on May 22, 2011, 06:52:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2011, 06:45:15 PM
Quote from: The Worker on May 22, 2011, 06:35:33 PM

Would you? surely a successful manager would be a better appointment

getting promoted to the premiership with wolves and avoiding relegation in his first season, and again in his second, isnt a success then?  ::)
Post by: Declan on January 22, 2012, 06:29:30 PM
Mick mccarty sacked is going around twitter
Post by: From the Bunker on January 22, 2012, 06:33:27 PM
Quote from: Declan on January 22, 2012, 06:29:30 PM

Hope not, he's done well at Wolves considering finances!
Post by: muppet on January 22, 2012, 08:49:18 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 22, 2012, 06:33:27 PM

Hope not, he's done well at Wolves considering finances!

Apparently he wasn't sacked and walked out!
Post by: The Worker on January 22, 2012, 09:10:06 PM

who's twitter is this on?
Post by: ross4life on February 12, 2012, 06:21:02 PM
Mick is on thin ice after that defeat today.
Post by: Leo on February 12, 2012, 10:32:37 PM
He has done a great job with Wolves but that has created expectations to stay  in Premier League plus Chairman is investing heavily in stadium rebuild that needs that level.
I think after today he will be considering whether he needs to move on.
Reading the Wolves fan forums there is great regard for him but this seems to be a watershed.
Whatever he does, it will be done with dignity and I admire him as a gentleman and an Irishman.
Post by: Minder on February 12, 2012, 10:40:13 PM
Quote from: The Worker on January 22, 2012, 09:10:06 PM

@RoyKeane
Post by: Orangemac on February 12, 2012, 11:11:24 PM
Always liked Mick but he seems to be on his last legs. He hasn't had much money to spend in fairness but there seems to be a lack of spirit in the team when you compare them to say Blackburn.

Whether bringing someone in now would be any more likely to save Wolves is arguable though.
Post by: norabeag on February 12, 2012, 11:19:51 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 12, 2012, 10:40:13 PM
Quote from: The Worker on January 22, 2012, 09:10:06 PM

@RoyKeane
Heard it was Suarez as he has issues with the Black Country
Post by: Ulick on February 13, 2012, 11:04:23 AM
Sacked.
Post by: Tubberman on February 13, 2012, 11:05:25 AM
Always liked McCarthy. But the writing was on the wall there.
Post by: ballinaman on February 13, 2012, 11:06:18 AM
Goodbye Mick....we'll always have the good times...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vo5qX1Yr-hQ
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 13, 2012, 11:16:23 AM
I grew to like Mick, he'll be back...
(http://visweb.co.cc/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/29qmrko.gif)
Post by: deiseach on February 13, 2012, 11:20:33 AM
I think Morgan was inclined to keep him. But for Wolves fans losing to West Brom is unforgivable at the best of times, and these are not the best of times. Or the best of losses
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 13, 2012, 11:24:32 AM
No great candidates out there currently from what I can see. 
Post by: Leo on February 13, 2012, 11:30:10 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 13, 2012, 11:05:25 AM

To have taken Wolves into the premiership on a shoestring and kept them there for 3 seasons is no mean feat. A big problem for him this season has been the collapse in form of Kevin Doyle, hence the lack of goals.
He'll not be out of work for long but where now for Wolves? Only decent candidate is Chris Hughton who is unlikely to move across from a great job at (bigger club) Birmingham at this stage.
Post by: ziggy90 on February 13, 2012, 11:51:53 AM
I wouldn't be a lover of Wolves but I did have a lot of time for McCarthy both as a manager & as a man (from what I have seen of him). Them Yam Yams better keep clear of our manager but I wouldn't mind betting the Vile would let them talk to Special Agent McCleish.
Quote from: Leo on February 13, 2012, 11:30:10 AM

To have taken Wolves into the premiership on a shoestring and kept them there for 3 seasons is no mean feat. A big problem for him this season has been the collapse in form of Kevin Doyle, hence the lack of goals.
He'll not be out of work for long but where now for Wolves? Only decent candidate is Chris Hughtonwho is unlikely to move across from a great job at (bigger club) Birmingham at this stage.
Post by: Dont Matter on February 13, 2012, 12:49:09 PM
Quote from: Leo on February 13, 2012, 11:30:10 AM

To have taken Wolves into the premiership on a shoestring and kept them there for 3 seasons is no mean feat.

It's a myth that McCarthy barely spent any money. He spent a good bit, the truth is he's not a top level manager.
Post by: Armaghgael on February 13, 2012, 01:01:10 PM
Could Keane be back?
Post by: Dont Matter on February 13, 2012, 01:05:53 PM
20/1.
Post by: spuds on February 13, 2012, 01:11:16 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on February 13, 2012, 01:05:53 PM
20/1.
13:11
Post by: whitegoodman on February 13, 2012, 01:16:19 PM
Curbisley supposed to be in for it.  Cant see them taking a chance on Keane in the position they are in.
Post by: bridgegael on February 13, 2012, 01:39:17 PM
mccarthy for england job??  they want an englishman afterall
Post by: sammymaguire on February 13, 2012, 01:45:09 PM
Sacking these Managers is a great idea, isn't Mark Hughes doing a great job since he took over at QPR  :-\
Post by: ONeill on February 13, 2012, 02:03:55 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OQT1psCoAc&feature=fvwrel
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 13, 2012, 02:20:46 PM
Harry Redknapp for Wolves??? He seemed very fond of his current dog during the court case.
Post by: Leo on February 13, 2012, 02:59:08 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on February 13, 2012, 01:39:17 PM
mccarthy for england job??  they want an englishman afterall

Mick is a hell of a better Irishman than some langars we all know.
Post by: ross4life on February 13, 2012, 05:27:23 PM
Always had a lot of time for Wolves they are the team my dad supports i use to watch them play in the old Div 4 Andy Mutch,Steve Bull etc they came along way to get back into the top league & won't want dropping back down so Mick had to go.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 13, 2012, 08:45:04 PM
Feel sory for McCarthy, but his race was run with this group of players. I suppose it's hard to motivate players again after first year in Premiership. Being in contract, he'll have wages for a while yet and there is definitely a Championship club waiting to use his skills.
Post by: The Worker on February 13, 2012, 08:46:10 PM
McCarthy to leeds?
Post by: muppet on February 14, 2012, 05:51:38 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 13, 2012, 02:03:55 PM

Here he is with Finbarr McConnell.
Post by: lawnseed on February 14, 2012, 08:06:22 PM
i'm gonna miss mick with wolves he was pure entertainment
Post by: BennyCake on February 15, 2012, 01:55:32 AM
Quote from: muppet on February 14, 2012, 05:51:38 PM

Huh? What was that all about?
Post by: Applesisapples on February 15, 2012, 08:46:53 AM
Much under rated manager working with second rate players he deserves better.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 15, 2012, 09:01:20 AM
Quote from: The Worker on February 13, 2012, 08:46:10 PM
McCarthy to leeds?

As a Leeds fan, I certainly wouldn't be turning him away.  And he's a Barnsley lad.
Post by: muppet on February 15, 2012, 06:51:08 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 15, 2012, 01:55:32 AM
Quote from: muppet on February 14, 2012, 05:51:38 PM

Huh? What was that all about?

Might have helped if I posted the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xI4MoRG1YUc (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xI4MoRG1YUc)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on April 07, 2012, 10:42:01 PM
is this looking like the biggest(costliest) mistake in Prem league history. WTF did they sack him for and replace with him someone who no-one hardly even heard off ! Amazing
Post by: SHEEDY on April 22, 2012, 08:43:15 PM
getting rid of mick worked out well then!!!
Post by: Leo on April 22, 2012, 10:27:40 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on April 22, 2012, 08:43:15 PM
getting rid of mick worked out well then!!!
Worked out well in the sense that a manager who took a team of bits and pieces from bottom championship to premier league in 2 yeras with nil money and  kept them there for 2 years with nil money ....
not a great record I suppose
We patriotic Irish really love Barnsley don't we?
Post by: muppet on April 22, 2012, 11:01:40 PM
http://www.101greatgoals.com/gvideos/terry-connors-emotional-interview-post-manchester-city-defeat-relegation/ (http://www.101greatgoals.com/gvideos/terry-connors-emotional-interview-post-manchester-city-defeat-relegation/)
Post by: imtommygunn on April 23, 2012, 10:21:21 PM
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/blogs/the-rundown/least-successful-premier-league-managers-113441372.html (http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/blogs/the-rundown/least-successful-premier-league-managers-113441372.html)
Title: Re: The Official Mick McCarthy/Ipswich Town Appreciation Thread
Post by: laoislad on November 04, 2012, 11:07:35 AM
Fair play to big Mick.
First game and he gets a win away from home!
Best of luck to him at Ipswich Town.
Post by: ziggy90 on November 04, 2012, 01:33:51 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 04, 2012, 11:07:35 AM
Fair play to big Mick.
First game and he gets a win away from home!
Best of luck to him at Ipswich Town.

Fcuk, fcuk and fcuk again, why always us >:(. Besides that bit of partisanship I'd wish Mick all the best.
Post by: Aerlik on November 12, 2012, 07:08:04 AM
As a  long-time, long-suffering Ipswich fan, it is good to see Mick seemingly making a difference at Portman Road.  Long may it continue.
Post by: laoislad on December 28, 2014, 10:26:36 PM
Big Mick proving himself again.
Would be great to see him getting another club promoted.
Post by: From the Bunker on December 28, 2014, 11:45:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 28, 2014, 10:26:36 PM
Big Mick proving himself again.
Would be great to see him getting another club promoted.

Has had it tough from an Irish perspective after WC 2002! Best Manager Ireland had with a great brand of football. Have to agree that i hope he gets a shot at the premiership again.
Post by: ONeill on December 28, 2014, 11:50:10 PM
Shot at the 'premiership' I assume you mean shot at staying up?
Post by: From the Bunker on December 29, 2014, 12:01:02 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 28, 2014, 11:50:10 PM
Shot at the 'premiership' I assume you mean shot at staying up?

I mean a shot at being a Premiership Manager again!
Post by: T Fearon on December 29, 2014, 12:13:46 AM
If they come up they'll go straight down again.Far cry from Bobby Robson era
Post by: waterfordlad on December 29, 2014, 10:29:12 AM
Good luck to Ipswich Town. Daryl Murphy is top scorer in championship now and the Hunt brothers there so have a great Waterford connection at the moment. The championship is a very competitive league though so lots of teams in the running still.
Post by: maigheo on December 31, 2014, 12:45:34 AM
Another good win for Ipswich tonite.Always had a soft spot for them since the seventies when they were always known for playing good football .
Post by: From the Bunker on December 31, 2014, 09:26:27 AM
I seen this week St. Ledger was let go! Tough time for that lad. Talk of him trying the MLS. If they will have him.