GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: polious on January 16, 2007, 11:00:06 PM

Title: Under Armour
Post by: polious on January 16, 2007, 11:00:06 PM
I was just wondering if anybody had anything to report on this gear?how it work in hot and cold and if say the hot is of any use in colder conditions? any opinions appreciated!
Title: Re: Under Armour
Post by: rolloutking on January 18, 2007, 12:20:15 AM
I have a canterbury armour fit and i find its great for keeping you warm. I even wear it in school! The underarmour is different and its the one that is like a polo neck and has the X on the neck. They keep you warm and save you having to put on 3 or 4 layers and therfore keep you mobile. But as for preventing injuries and all i dont rly think they can do that. There a piece of clothing after all. I see o'neills, OB Sport and nike are making imatations but i have found the canterbury model to be the best
Post by: The Iceman on January 18, 2007, 09:03:26 AM
Quote from: rolloutking on January 18, 2007, 12:20:15 AM
I have a canterbury armour fit and i find its great for keeping you warm. I even wear it in school! The underarmour is different and its the one that is like a polo neck and has the X on the neck. They keep you warm and save you having to put on 3 or 4 layers and therfore keep you mobile. But as for preventing injuries and all i dont rly think they can do that. There a piece of clothing after all. I see o'neills, OB Sport and nike are making imatations but i have found the canterbury model to be the best

Nike are making imitations? haha Do you not think they made it first and Canterbury followed suit?

You can buy Nike under armour online in the USA - go to any sport sites and you should get them for a lot cheaper!

NFL is played in winter time - they have been wearing under-armour for years!  haha lad you are one clampet
Post by: full back on January 18, 2007, 10:26:12 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 18, 2007, 09:03:26 AM
NFL is played in winter time - they have been wearing under-armour for years!  haha lad you are one clampet

:D :D
Go easy on the young lad iceman
Post by: Candyman on January 18, 2007, 11:26:46 AM
Quote from: rolloutking on January 18, 2007, 12:20:15 AM
The under armour is also available without the polo neck, and also in long or short sleeve...
Most county squads seem to use the under armour so it mustn't be that bad?
Although I have seen some individuals wearing those "skins" products, but more so the bottoms as they seem to aid recovery?
Post by: aontroim on January 18, 2007, 11:32:48 AM
QuoteYou can buy Nike under armour online in the USA

Surely 2 different companies?
Post by: Over the Bar on January 18, 2007, 11:35:59 AM
QuoteYou can buy Nike under armour online in the USA - go to any sport sites and you should get them for a lot cheaper!

It would be wrong to assume that jsut because it has the Nike brand that it is better or was even first on the market.   Nike invent very little, and like most of the sports giants, they copy others successful ideas and through their sheer marketing power ppl think they came up with it.   They also try to have a foot in nearly every sport, without specialising in any, wheras Canterbury are known as specialists in limited sports fields.  It's not therfore hard to belive why Canterbury's product would be much better.
Post by: paddypastit on January 18, 2007, 12:59:05 PM
Big long sleeved vests the lot of them!! What's the world cpoming to?   In my day.... wouldn't been seen dead with a vest on, nearly as bad as the boxers ujnder the shorts... and all that was before global warming :P ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 18, 2007, 01:05:58 PM
armour
Armour?

holee fcuk
what next
chainmail and Ice hockey leg pads

its not dragon fighting yez are going too
build yerselves up to take and give the hammerins
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 18, 2007, 01:06:48 PM
But it gets cold out there!!!!!!!    :'(

Post by: lynchbhoy on January 18, 2007, 01:11:23 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on January 18, 2007, 01:06:48 PM
But it gets cold out there!!!!!!!    :'(

it only gets cold when you are standing still
also if you are mentally tough enough and physcologically geared up - you can overcome most of the cold nights that Ireland can throw at you
Post by: Josey Whales on January 18, 2007, 01:12:33 PM
i'd definitely recommend it - a lot of goings in brigids these days lynchboy will you have a team left?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 18, 2007, 01:12:59 PM
i have never worn under armour... was contemplating getting some this year though....
Post by: FermPundit on January 18, 2007, 01:14:24 PM
i wear a canterbury armour fit during the winter months and its a great job for keeping you warm. I know loads of GAA players wearing them now. I think you can get a vest which keeps you cool in the summer months (not needed in a Fermanagh climate). I wonder how many county players will wear these vests during the NFL??
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 18, 2007, 01:18:51 PM
Quote from: Josey Whales on January 18, 2007, 01:12:33 PM
i'd definitely recommend it - a lot of goings in brigids these days lynchboy will you have a team left?

will do and a new manager will be appointed tonight.

Some of the Ulster contingent will pay a lot of attention to our clubs matches and results from now on after this announcement

I'd clear out a lot of the players in the senior ranks. Problem is and this thread is a symptom of our times, players are too soft.
A lot of our seniors have lost that toughness and raw streak of testosterone and become basketball like icons (in their own minds).

There was a lot of 'different' training being down down in the club last night - to rectify that old malaise
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 18, 2007, 01:29:39 PM
Is this under armour all the fashion these days just like lycra cycling shorts a few years ago or John Barnes' black tights?
Post by: dodo on January 18, 2007, 01:50:47 PM
I think Aushtie O'Malley wears something like this armour gear. Or else polo necks are de rigeur in Louisburg under football jerseys.

Anyone else ?
Post by: Captain Scarlet on January 18, 2007, 03:01:44 PM
i see o'neills have some too in arnotts.
its hardly armour mind more insulating. was thinkin of gettin some for training where they would keep the muscles warm and stop you pulling anything. the lycra shorts were the same idea for lads with bad hammies.
dont see too much need for the armour in matches unless its bitter cold.
Post by: tayto on January 18, 2007, 03:03:28 PM
Yea i was thinking the same, armour? isnt it just to keep you warm?
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 18, 2007, 03:12:37 PM
fair enough
the name was misleading- I thought it was that padded vest craic that rugby players wear

I can see the point in keeping the hamstrings warm, but not for the rest of the body
if you are giving it 100% in training, you wont be cold...
Post by: Captain Scarlet on January 18, 2007, 03:33:32 PM
the cantebury stuff is called armour but as far as i can tell there is no paddin.
if we went down that route lads would be goin out with the rugbytech shoulder pads and the likes.
there is some stuff that is slightly padded coz i remember seeing clancy of laois in a magazine ad for it.
it has become a fashion thing with loads of our minors gone out to buy the black cantebury ones to match the jerseys i hear.
Title: Under Armour
Post by: 5 Sams on January 18, 2007, 09:53:58 PM
Poofs
Post by: rolloutking on January 18, 2007, 11:53:01 PM
QuoteTo the fool calling himself iceman, il have you know that canterbury did release their product first. One of the main selling points of the canterbury version was that it gives some form of protection to the chest and ribcage from heavy impact. As it is skin tight and made from a seris of interwoven fibres it locks heat in and when sweat forms on the surface of the skin it is transported through the garment to the outer layer where it evaporates dues to sunlight.

Nike first came out with their product in Spring of 2006 and used Theiry Henry as the image of the product. The slogan was "An athletes secret weapon" and the product was designed to act as a lightweight under garment to keep you warm while not restricting your movement and weighing you down. The description of the product is as follows:

"It's all about the edge. We integrate an amazing array of innovative designs and high-performance fabrics to help athletes perform in any weather, under any condition. We manage moisture, add comfort, inspire performance. It's everything from basketball apparel to studio-influenced women's fitness wear to outerwear to ward off the effects of weather."

So your statement that American football players have been using them for years seems to defy time considering that they were only released last year. If you knew your facts you would realise that American footballers wear proper protection under their jerseys such as shoulder pads, chest packs and cups. Hence the reason they are so big. Look at the product description again and ask yourself, why would an american footballer wear a piece of womens fitness gear under their jerseys.

I guess thats you put in your box.
Post by: tayto on January 19, 2007, 10:20:29 AM
Don't you know your stuff!
Post by: aontroim on January 19, 2007, 11:14:07 AM
Just to be pedantic - Nike ISN'T Under Armour - they are 2 different companies and Under Armour were the first on the market.....

About Under Armour
It started with a simple plan to make a superior T-shirt. A shirt that provided compression and wicked perspiration off your skin rather than absorb it. A shirt that worked with your body to regulate temperature and enhance performance.

Founded in 1996 by former University of Maryland football player Kevin Plank, Under Armour is the originator of performance apparel - gear engineered to keep athletes cool, dry and light throughout the course of a game, practice or workout. The technology behind Under Armour's diverse product assortment for men, women and youth is complex, but the program for reaping the benefits is simple: wear HeatGear® when it's hot, ColdGear® when it's cold, and AllSeasonGear® between the extremes.

QuoteSo your statement that American football players have been using them for years seems to defy time considering that they were only released last year. If you knew your facts you would realise that American footballers wear proper protection under their jerseys such as shoulder pads, chest packs and cups. Hence the reason they are so big. Look at the product description again and ask yourself, why would an american footballer wear a piece of womens fitness gear under their jerseys.

I guess thats you put in your box.

Not quite  :D
Post by: CavanCola on January 19, 2007, 12:01:14 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 18, 2007, 03:12:37 PM
fair enough
the name was misleading- I thought it was that padded vest craic that rugby players wear

I can see the point in keeping the hamstrings warm, but not for the rest of the body
if you are giving it 100% in training, you wont be cold...

Lynch boy,
I'm pretty sure that the compression given by the fabric also reduces the amount of Lactic acid by increasing blood flow in Muscle tissue and thus helps prevent cramp and aids recovery. Its not just for keeping your hammers warm!!!