GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: shamateur gaels on April 09, 2009, 01:53:00 PM

Title: will mickey harte ever keep quiet?
Post by: shamateur gaels on April 09, 2009, 01:53:00 PM
ok,you are not fond of the international rules
you think that video evidence is only used to punish tyrone
your now angry that the ulster game against armagh is now in clones and not croke park
now you back a book that tells married couples not to use safe sex

everyone heard you the first time
please just shut up!!!!!!!!!
Title: Re: will mickey harte ever keep quiet?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 09, 2009, 01:54:46 PM
Did he do something on you at an early age or are you just from Armagh?
You seem to have issues!  ;)
Post by: corn02 on April 09, 2009, 01:56:46 PM
Do you not think he has a point here? Not the poster , Mickey Harte.
Post by: ziggysego on April 09, 2009, 02:37:28 PM
Keep 'er lit Mickey!
Post by: Katchit on April 09, 2009, 02:39:22 PM
Keep her shut more like it.
Post by: SidelineKick on April 09, 2009, 03:25:34 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 09, 2009, 02:37:28 PM
Keep 'er lit Mickey!

You 'iggys are all the same!
Post by: ziggysego on April 09, 2009, 04:00:28 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 09, 2009, 03:25:34 PM
Keep 'er lit Mickey!

Jones was some footballer ;)
Post by: SidelineKick on April 09, 2009, 04:13:19 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 09, 2009, 04:00:28 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 09, 2009, 03:25:34 PM
Keep 'er lit Mickey!

Jones was some footballer ;)

:D very good.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 09, 2009, 09:07:04 PM
I am getting tired of listening to him too.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 09, 2009, 09:46:13 PM
Hopefully Mayo will quieten him on Sunday! :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 09, 2009, 10:01:31 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 09, 2009, 09:46:13 PM
Hopefully Mayo will quieten him on Sunday! :D

Aye, I'm sick of hearing him too. Damned Aireagal Chiaráin!
Post by: Sandy Hill on April 09, 2009, 10:43:46 PM

The man's a legend ...................... in his own mind!
Post by: ArmaghGAAforum on April 09, 2009, 10:57:43 PM
he has another job in his sights..........

(http://i41.tinypic.com/29fcklv.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on April 09, 2009, 11:28:29 PM
That's sooooo last week ArmaghGAAforum ;)
Post by: Armamike on April 09, 2009, 11:37:45 PM
He is getting tiresome at this point though. Likes the sound of his own voice.

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 09, 2009, 11:47:12 PM
For some reason people think managers/players in the gaa shouldn't be entitled to opinions. Mickey Harte writes a newspaper column and as the current manager of the All Ireland champions is regularly asked questions by the media. Of course his views are going to be made public. As the Tyrone manager of course he was going to want the Tyrone Armagh game in the venue Tyrone play there best football in. He put the interests of the team he manages first. Of course he is going to highlight when his players are treated differently to all other players in the country as was also acknowledged by Paddy Heaney today. Unless someone is giving a view that is in line with other people's views then they are criticised for having an opinion which is wrong.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on April 10, 2009, 12:03:18 AM
Harte writes a very bland column with nothing new offered, regurgitation of his views seems to be the order of the day.  He hasn't offered an insight in to being an All-Ireland winning manager which many of us were hoping he would... maybe he's keeping that sort of information for his book
Post by: SidelineKick on April 10, 2009, 08:28:45 AM
Talking about books I see he helped one of his holy-joe friends launch his new book. MH must be closer to God than many people will ever get (no Peter Canavan jokes please).  I am sick at looking at the man, if he would even tidy himself up a bit.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 10, 2009, 12:20:27 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on April 10, 2009, 12:03:18 AM
Harte writes a very bland column with nothing new offered, regurgitation of his views seems to be the order of the day.  He hasn't offered an insight in to being an All-Ireland winning manager which many of us were hoping he would... maybe he's keeping that sort of information for his book

Mickey Harte never claimed he was going to offer such an insight and to expect a current manager to be writing about that sort of stuff in a weekly column was naive on your part.
Post by: tyssam5 on April 10, 2009, 09:36:30 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 10, 2009, 08:28:45 AM
Talking about books I see he helped one of his holy-joe friends launch his new book. MH must be closer to God than many people will ever get (no Peter Canavan jokes please).  I am sick at looking at the man, if he would even tidy himself up a bit.

Didn't they say the very same about Jesus?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 10, 2009, 10:38:30 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on April 10, 2009, 12:20:27 PM

Mickey Harte never claimed he was going to offer such an insight and to expect a current manager to be writing about that sort of stuff in a weekly column was naive on your part.

Anything you don't defend him on? The man's a great manager but I'd have to question him about certain things he says.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 10, 2009, 10:47:54 PM
Talking about books I see he helped one of his holy-joe friends launch his new book.

In fairness, that lad who's launched that book seems to be a grade 1 nutter.
Post by: Armamike on April 10, 2009, 11:16:30 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on April 10, 2009, 09:36:30 PM

Didn't they say the very same about Jesus?

Ah for fuxksake, give us a break.

Post by: Maguire01 on April 10, 2009, 11:41:33 PM
Mickey is definitely suffering from over exposure. I have been a big admirer of Mickey over the past number of years - there's no doubting his success with Tyrone. But this past few months he's becoming unbearable.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 11, 2009, 12:30:40 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 10, 2009, 10:38:30 PM

Anything you don't defend him on? The man's a great manager but I'd have to question him about certain things he says.

What exactly has he said that has upset you? The man is entitled to his opinions just like everyone on here. People might not always agree with his opinion but that doesnt mean he isnt entitled to it. I havent saw anything he has said that could upset anyone. The only problem is that when he says something 3 or 4 media outlets run with it over a few days which makes it seem like he has said it on numerous occasions. He feels strongly about the international rules for example as he obviously see's it as a threat to the game he loves, I'm not sure how that could cause offence to any gaa supporter.
Post by: ONeill on April 11, 2009, 01:09:48 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 10, 2009, 11:41:33 PM
Mickey is definitely suffering from over exposure.

Haven't seen signs of Mickey suffering from anything.

Perhaps you mean you are suffering....??
Post by: stephenite on April 11, 2009, 08:11:10 AM
Like any good high profile manager (amateur or professional), he will use his position to try and gain the maximum advantage for his team by using the press. Ger Loughnanne was the master from a Gaelic Games perspective, Billy Morgan was hilariously inept.

There is a fine line however between using it successfully and making a balls of it, but he seems to be sticking to the tried and tested script - creating a seige mentality for his squad by making them believe that everyone is out to get them blah blah etc. etc. It's been going on since reporters started writing about sport

'Tis all fairly standard stuff and not worth getting upset about in fairness.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 11, 2009, 11:18:56 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on April 11, 2009, 12:30:40 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 10, 2009, 10:38:30 PM

What exactly has he said that has upset you? The man is entitled to his opinions just like everyone on here. People might not always agree with his opinion but that doesnt mean he isnt entitled to it. I havent saw anything he has said that could upset anyone. The only problem is that when he says something 3 or 4 media outlets run with it over a few days which makes it seem like he has said it on numerous occasions. He feels strongly about the international rules for example as he obviously see's it as a threat to the game he loves, I'm not sure how that could cause offence to any gaa supporter.

Where have I said he is not entitled to an opinion?

You say Mickey is entitled to his opinion, which is fair enough. But then you act the hypocrite when people have the temerity to disagree with what he says.

For the record I don't agree with him on a lot of the disicpline and anti-Tyrone issues he's bringing up lately but we've been through that on the Tommy McGuigan thread. Sure a manager will defend his team from time to time. Doesn't mean right minded GAA followers have to agree agree with it, in the same way as I wouldn't agree with John O'Mahony if he defended the indefencible (sp).
Also the column is crap. Wasn't expecting much more but I'm entitled to say its crap if we live in a freedom of speech society that you keep harping on about.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 11, 2009, 11:25:56 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 11, 2009, 01:09:48 AM

His reputation is suffering. You might not see that.
Post by: ziggysego on April 11, 2009, 01:38:21 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHN16DCAy1E (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHN16DCAy1E)
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 11, 2009, 02:35:00 PM
A more pertinent question: will Ziggysego ever keep quiet?
Post by: Leo on April 11, 2009, 02:51:47 PM
Harte was spreading his version of the gospel in the Irish News on Friday about removing cynical and deliberately dirty play from football..... this from the man who appoints McMeneamin as his captain!!!!!!
Post by: ziggysego on April 11, 2009, 03:12:48 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 11, 2009, 02:35:00 PM

Watch yourself!

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/maydaywalk/IMG_0896.jpg)
Post by: Oakleafer93 on April 11, 2009, 06:05:57 PM
My problem with Harte is that he is more than happy to slabber about things if he doesn't get his way or if he feels victimised etc, but he isn't too forthright with his views on the behaviour or lack of of his pklayers, thats what people want him to explain. Maybe he has a game, whoever grabs the most balls is captain, oh Tommy Mc Guigan might be skipper when he returns from his ban.

Post by: longrunsthefox on April 11, 2009, 06:16:12 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 11, 2009, 03:12:48 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 11, 2009, 02:35:00 PM

Watch yourself!

(http://www.greencastlegaa.com/TheJenThread/maydaywalk/IMG_0896.jpg)

I find that very upsetting Ziggy. That's our Barry. "Sadness is very close to hate," Gustave Flaubert  :'( 
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 11, 2009, 06:41:23 PM
He has been around nationally since 2003 and this is 7th season, so he pops up more often than most.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 11, 2009, 08:00:21 PM
Quote from: Oakleafer93 on April 11, 2009, 06:05:57 PM
My problem with Harte is that he is more than happy to slabber about things if he doesn't get his way or if he feels victimised etc, but he isn't too forthright with his views on the behaviour or lack of of his pklayers, thats what people want him to explain. Maybe he has a game, whoever grabs the most balls is captain, oh Tommy Mc Guigan might be skipper when he returns from his ban.

Yeah like Cassidy will come out and criticise his players if they dive for example. I've seen plenty of gaa managers complain in the past about things but I have never heard of any come out and criticise their own players.
Post by: under the bar on April 11, 2009, 08:09:38 PM
Do i get the feeling Armagh & Derry posters are somewhat sickened by Mickey Harte?  ;D :D ;D :D ;D :D
Post by: Katchit on April 11, 2009, 08:15:08 PM
I think everyone is bar Tyrone people  ::)
Post by: laceer on April 11, 2009, 08:53:32 PM
Quote from: Katchit on April 11, 2009, 08:15:08 PM
I think everyone is bar Tyrone people  ::)

To be honest, i've been thinking lately that MH and Sean Cavanagh are in the papers and on tv too much.
I don't put them down for it - they are the best at what they do so people will want to ask their opinions
Just has gone a bit overkill this past while IMHO
Post by: tyronefan on April 11, 2009, 09:15:08 PM
I put it down to lazy journalism    on a quiet sports day they can call Harte or Cavanagh and get a quote,  they have too much manners to tell them to f**k off
Post by: laceer on April 11, 2009, 09:47:47 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on April 11, 2009, 09:15:08 PM
I put it down to lazy journalism    on a quiet sports day they can call Harte or Cavanagh and get a quote,  they have too much manners to tell them to f**k off

probably true enough
Post by: ONeill on April 11, 2009, 11:04:53 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 11, 2009, 11:25:56 AM

His reputation as a what?
Post by: tyrone exile on April 11, 2009, 11:20:03 PM
I agree that it is quite sickening seeing him in the paper every day, however a large part of it has to be down to who he is, if the man keeps gettin interviewed hes going to keep cropping up.
I'm also sick of reading his views about the international rules, partly because i don't agree with him and partly because hes never done talking about it!
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 11, 2009, 11:23:35 PM
His constant views on things GAA and sometimes non-GAA can get tedious but is a small price to pay for the success of since 2003. 
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 11, 2009, 11:43:39 PM
Quote from: tyrone exile on April 11, 2009, 11:20:03 PM
I agree that it is quite sickening seeing him in the paper every day, however a large part of it has to be down to who he is, if the man keeps gettin interviewed hes going to keep cropping up.
I'm also sick of reading his views about the international rules, partly because i don't agree with him and partly because hes never done talking about it!

Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 11, 2009, 11:23:35 PM
His constant views on things GAA and sometimes non-GAA can get tedious but is a small price to pay for the success of since 2003. 

Thank you! My thoughts exactly.
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 12, 2009, 11:06:26 AM
 :D You're welcome. Wouldn't you just love to swap and have a manager that could deliver three All Irelands regardless of whether he talked to the papers a lot or kept his views to himself.   
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 12, 2009, 12:02:16 PM
There's only one answer to that . . .
Post by: orangeman on April 12, 2009, 03:28:01 PM
Beir bua Mickey.
Post by: red hander on April 12, 2009, 08:18:02 PM
Just do what I do when Kerry Katona, Ronan Keating, Bongo, The Corrs, anyone from EastEnders, Noel Thompson, Gay Byrne, Dervla Kirwan, Emma-Louise Johnston and Denise Watson appear on my TV or in my paper ... turn over or turn the page ... or are youse buskfast merchants and inbreds too stupid to work a remote control???    ;)
Post by: Canalman on April 12, 2009, 08:26:40 PM
Contrast him with Brian Cody..... a man imo worth listening to.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 12, 2009, 08:58:37 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 11, 2009, 11:04:53 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 11, 2009, 11:25:56 AM

His reputation as a what?
His reputation as a brilliant manager is staring to be overshadowed by his constant moaning.
Post by: ONeill on April 12, 2009, 10:47:23 PM
Really?

I judge a manager on his managerial capabilities. I judge a player on what he does on a field.

If Mickey Harte admitted he was a cannibal, it would not affect his reputation as a manager one iota. I'm surprised you buy into that redtop mindset.
Post by: ONeill on April 12, 2009, 10:57:43 PM
Which one?
Post by: Maguire01 on April 13, 2009, 12:53:39 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 12, 2009, 10:47:23 PM
Really?

I judge a manager on his managerial capabilities. I judge a player on what he does on a field.

If Mickey Harte admitted he was a cannibal, it would not affect his reputation as a manager one iota. I'm surprised you buy into that redtop mindset.
Redtop mindset? How so?

All i'm saying is that we all seem to be talking about Mickey in relation to his seemingly constant moaning rather than his 'day job'. This is overshadowing his considerable managerial capabilities.
Post by: tyronefan on April 13, 2009, 01:00:46 AM
how is him giving interviews in the press undermining all that he has achieved as a manager no matter how often he gives them
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 13, 2009, 01:12:29 AM
It is incredible how people write something and another person reads it as something else. I read that Maguire01 said 'it is overshadowing his managerial capabilities' and tyronefan reads that he said it 'undermines all that he has achieved as a manager.' There is quite a difference. For what it is worth when Mickey is long retired he will be remembered for what Tyrone achieved when he was manager not his views on the rules, compromise series, using Croke park, contraceptives, God...     
Post by: tyronefan on April 13, 2009, 01:23:00 AM
overshadowed or undermining, as long as he keeps winning AI's he can talk all he wants
Post by: tyrone exile on April 13, 2009, 01:23:19 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 13, 2009, 01:12:29 AM
It is incredible how people write something and another person reads it as something else. I read that Maguire01 said 'it is overshadowing his managerial capabilities' and tyronefan reads that he said it 'undermines all that he has achieved as a manager.' There is quite a difference. For what it is worth when Mickey is long retired he will be remembered for what Tyrone achieved when he was manager not his views on the rules, compromise series, using Croke park, contraceptives, God...     
His views on contraceptives could hardly be regarded as controversial considering he is a practising catholic.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 13, 2009, 01:25:19 AM
It is incredible how people write something and another person reads it as something else. I read that Maguire01 said 'it is overshadowing his managerial capabilities' and tyronefan reads that he said it 'undermines all that he has achieved as a manager.' There is quite a difference.
That's exactly what i'm saying.

To take it to an extreme, for illustrative purposes only of course, if someone was a great footballer/hurler, but committed an act of mass murder, it wouldn't undermine their playing ability, but would most likely overshadow it.
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 13, 2009, 01:40:13 AM
Quote from: tyrone exile on April 13, 2009, 01:23:19 AM
His views on contraceptives could hardly be regarded as controversial considering he is a practising catholic.

Who said they were controversial?
Post by: tyrone exile on April 13, 2009, 01:43:04 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 13, 2009, 01:40:13 AM

I cant imagine them being remembered if there not controversial.
Post by: tyronefan on April 13, 2009, 01:43:24 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 13, 2009, 01:25:19 AM
It is incredible how people write something and another person reads it as something else. I read that Maguire01 said 'it is overshadowing his managerial capabilities' and tyronefan reads that he said it 'undermines all that he has achieved as a manager.' There is quite a difference.
That's exactly what i'm saying.

To take it to an extreme, for illustrative purposes only of course, if someone was a great footballer/hurler, but committed an act of mass murder, it wouldn't undermine their playing ability, but would most likely overshadow it.

I stand corrected
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 13, 2009, 01:52:38 AM
Quote from: tyrone exile on April 13, 2009, 01:43:04 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 13, 2009, 01:40:13 AM

I cant imagine them being remembered if there not controversial.

:D That's what I said! 'he will be remembered for what he achieved as a manager not his views... Jees! I'm away to bed...
Post by: ONeill on April 13, 2009, 07:59:38 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 13, 2009, 12:53:39 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 12, 2009, 10:47:23 PM
Really?

Redtop mindset? How so?

All i'm saying is that we all seem to be talking about Mickey in relation to his seemingly constant moaning rather than his 'day job'. This is overshadowing his considerable managerial capabilities.

Mmm, I then suggest you move in different circles if all you're doing is talking about Mickey Harte's views. Mickey Harte writes a column for the Irish News. He is interviewed regularly by the nation's media. If you cannot stomach that, write a few letters in to the papers saying you cannot listen to him any more as it's overshadowing his managerial achievements.

Sweet Jaysus.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 13, 2009, 11:48:12 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 13, 2009, 07:59:38 AM
Mmm, I then suggest you move in different circles if all you're doing is talking about Mickey Harte's views.
I'm talking about on this board. I rarely feel the need to spend too much of my time talking about Mickey Harte's views in the 'real world'.

Quote from: ONeill on April 13, 2009, 07:59:38 AM
Mickey Harte writes a column for the Irish News. He is interviewed regularly by the nation's media. If you cannot stomach that, write a few letters in to the papers saying you cannot listen to him any more as it's overshadowing his managerial achievements.
Yes, and add to the coverage.
Again, in the grand scheme of things, it isn't that big of a concern.