Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on April 02, 2009, 08:08:43 PM

Title: Would you save a stranger?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 02, 2009, 08:08:43 PM
On Channel 4 tonight at 9pm.
Would you stop and help someone that was been attacked or robbed on a street?
I'm sure we'd all like to think we would step in and help,but some people have suffered serious injuries by trying to help some one else..
It will be interesting to hear the views of those that have helped and suffered from it afterwards,should be a good documentary
Title: Re: Would you save a stranger?
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 08:20:53 PM
Yes I would, I started a thread about this a while ago but I can't find it.

I'm sure you said you wouldnt unless you knew the person.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 02, 2009, 08:24:12 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 08:20:53 PM
Yes I would, I started a thread about this a while ago but I can't find it.

I'm sure you said you wouldnt unless you knew the person.

I did indeed pints,though honestly its impossible to tell until your faced with the situation..
I suppose I can't just say I wouldn't help because it would depend on the circumstances and how many were actually involved etc.
I probably sound selfish but sometimes you have to think of yourself and put your own safety first..
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 08:25:35 PM
Lets hope if you're ever unfortunate enough to be in need of an interventation from a stranger you get it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 02, 2009, 08:32:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 08:25:35 PM
Lets hope if you're ever unfortunate enough to be in need of an interventation from a stranger you get it.

Come on pints no need to be always so patronizing can you not have a discussion with everything always been either black or white?
You say you would help,I'm sure a lot of lads would say they would too,its easy to say you would but unless your actually faced with the situation you don't know what you would do.
What if you saw 4 or 5 lads set upon someone..
Would it be wise to jump in and get your head kicked and possibly be killed or step back,ring the cops and get a good look at everyone who is doing it so you can ID them if needed,what help would it be to anyone if you jumped in and got seriously injured?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on April 02, 2009, 08:34:13 PM
I hope I would help a person that needed my help wether I knew them or not!  Of course no one can say for sure unless they were in that position.  Sounds like an interesting documentary.
Post by: balladmaker on April 02, 2009, 08:35:57 PM
No one can sit on a message board from the comfort of their keyboard and say for certain what they would do.  It's one of those things, you just don't know until your in the situation.

I intervened a few years back when I came across a fella on the ground, getting a serious kicking in the head as he lay helpless.  The reason I intervened was because it was so hard to watch someone getting beaten to a pulp in that manner, and instinct just took over, nothing to do with bravery of any sort.  After I intervened, I later found out the fella getting the kicking had just beaten his girlfriend up and down the street, the fella giving the kicking was the girlfriend's brother.  Doesn't excuse the kicking, but puts it in some perspective.

Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 08:38:38 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 02, 2009, 08:32:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 08:25:35 PM

Come on pints no need to be always so patronizing can you not have a discussion with everything always been either black or white?
You say you would help,I'm sure a lot of lads would say they would too,its easy to say you would but unless your actually faced with the situation you don't know what you would do.
What if you saw 4 or 5 lads set upon someone..
Would it be wise to jump in and get your head kicked and possibly be killed or step back,ring the cops and get a good look at everyone who is doing it so you can ID them if needed,what help would it be to anyone if you jumped in and got seriously injured?

You'd be more help jumping in than you would ringing the cops if someone is getting their head kicked.  
I dont know what anyone means when they talk about me seeing things black and white, I'm just saying what I'd do.  I'd honestly rather jump in and get a bad beating with the victim than stand back.  
And it's not that I'm brave or confident in my fighting ability, it would just be wrong to stand back. 

QuoteAfter I intervened, I later found out the fella getting the kicking had just beaten his girlfriend up and down the street, the fella giving the kicking was the girlfriend's brother.
It doesnt put anything in to perspective, it could just as easily been some poor sod that was set upon for no reason.
Post by: ExiledGael on April 02, 2009, 08:45:09 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on April 02, 2009, 08:34:13 PM
I hope I would help a person that needed my help wether I knew them or not!  Of course no one can say for sure unless they were in that position.  Sounds like an interesting documentary.

Was almost in the situation a few years back making a trek to the car at Oxegen to stock up on supplies. Coming back across the car park there were 4/5 absolute tramps walking about checking cars for things to steal. They had no armbands for the concert but noticed a guy carrying two crates of beer maybe a hundred yards from me. They ran up behind him and pushed him in the back. He turned round startled and one of them punched him in the face. Was maybe 100 yards to the security tent so I darted down there and told them this fella was about to talke a real hammering. They got up in decent time so he only got a few slaps and the pricks were thrown off the site. Wondered after if I should have intervened but think I made the right call. There was enough of them to hammer the two of us and they wouldn't have thought twice about it judging by the look of them. Could have went any number of ways I suppose and I was lucky security was no real length away.
Never seen anyone getting kicked in the head or anything like that, but I find it impossible to watch even on TV so I'd imagine I'd do something. As has been said though you'd never know until the moment came.
I have saved someone from drowning though!
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 08:46:11 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=10251.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=10251.0)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on April 02, 2009, 08:57:25 PM
I wouldn't step in unless I knew the person getting a beating and even at that, I would have to be related to them or they would have to be a VERY close friend.

I did it not too long ago on a bus when a bunch of spides were picking on a black fella and I got a kicking for my troubles.  On thinking about what I did that night, it was very stupid of me, I could have got stabbed.

Never again because my own family comes first.
Post by: Minder on April 02, 2009, 08:59:35 PM
Not sure i would jump in if a total stranger wa getting a hiding, at the end of the day you dont know why they were getting it. I ahve read about many a stranger that has stepped in on a "domestic" and they have both turned on the stranger. Obviously if it is a family member or friend you would get the knuckle dusters out.........
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 02, 2009, 09:17:06 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 02, 2009, 08:59:35 PM
Not sure i would jump in if a total stranger wa getting a hiding, at the end of the day you dont know why they were getting it. I ahve read about many a stranger that has stepped in on a "domestic" and they have both turned on the stranger. Obviously if it is a family member or friend you would get the knuckle dusters out.........
I can think of better people to rush to my rescue. Like my 4 year old son.

I couldn't live with the guilt of not intervening and finding out some boy had been kicked to death or left in a wheelchair/coma. Nobody should be booting a man around the head while he is on the ground and I think I would intervene in that case.

The Times says this programme is a masterpiece in miniature and shows the profound effect acts of cowardice or bravery has on those involved.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 09:19:07 PM
I'm sorry, but these ones on the bus were just selfish cowards. 
Post by: Puckoon on April 02, 2009, 09:26:08 PM
Pints would you save 5ive Times?
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 09:27:55 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 02, 2009, 09:26:08 PM
Pints would you save 5ive Times?
Yup, I'd rescue him and give him a big hug. 
Post by: mountainboii on April 02, 2009, 09:28:51 PM
Think your man was a bit of an eejit for challenging the guys with the guns and knives. How did he think that one was gonna end up?
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 09:31:42 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 02, 2009, 09:28:51 PM
Think your man was a bit of an eejit for challenging the guys with the guns and knives. How did he think that one was gonna end up?
Yeah I think that, he was doing alright until he tried to wrestle the gun of them, did he think he was James Bond? Should have let them have whatever they wanted but I have more respect for him than if he'd to lie down on the ground and let the girls deal wtih the c***ts.

fair play to this boy that intervened on the street. 
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 09:39:07 PM
Another pathetic group on this bus.
Post by: Schkite on April 02, 2009, 09:41:13 PM
That's one of the worst I've ever heard of, a packed bus minding their own business while a wee girl gets her head kicked in, pathetic isn't the word.
Post by: Caid on April 02, 2009, 09:42:40 PM
Playin devil's advocate:  Yer man in the shop was a fool for taking on people with guns and knives but the people on the bus are cowards for not taking on groups of youths who more likely than not have knives (it is London)?
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 09:43:45 PM
Quote from: Caid on April 02, 2009, 09:42:40 PM
Playin devil's advocate:  Yer man in the shop was a fool for taking on people with guns and knives but the people on the bus are cowards for not taking on groups of youths who more likely than not have knives (it is London)?
No one's life was at risk in the shop, they'd just indicated they wanted the money.
That's the difference. 
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 02, 2009, 09:46:36 PM
I'd join in on the kicking.

Nothing like a mill to ease tense, nervous headaches!
Post by: mountainboii on April 02, 2009, 09:54:33 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 09:43:45 PM
Quote from: Caid on April 02, 2009, 09:42:40 PM
No one's life was at risk in the shop, they'd just indicated they wanted the money.
That's the difference. 

Plus the guys in the shop made it known beyond doubt that they had weapons that they were prepared to use, whereas you're really only speculating that those girls had knives.
Post by: Caid on April 02, 2009, 10:00:21 PM
The girls fair enough...but the group of guys bating yer man with belts and the like earlier on was different. Watching the 12 yr old girl getting beat was just plain awful.  But in other circumstances it can be more difficult and harder to gauge where bravery starts and foolishness ends. Like someone said earlier its not always black and white.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 10:02:15 PM
QuoteThe girls fair enough...but the group of guys bating yer man with belts and the like earlier on was different.
It wasnt a man they were beating, the girl said it was a boy of about 12. 
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 02, 2009, 10:03:34 PM
I suppose I'd like to think I would help someone but then again who's to say that the guy getting beaten isn't a rapist, a paedophille or a drug dealer. I'd feel pretty sick jumping in to help someone like that and taking a hiding. It's all in the moment whether you do something or do nothing.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 02, 2009, 10:06:20 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 02, 2009, 10:03:34 PM
I suppose I'd like to think I would help someone but then again who's to say that the guy getting beaten isn't a rapist, a paedophille or a drug dealer. I'd feel pretty sick jumping in to help someone like that and taking a hiding. It's all in the moment whether you do something or do nothing.
Oh for f**k sake....

Who's to say they're not an innocent person?
If you wouldnt step in then that's fine but dont be making up silly excuses.
Post by: Puckoon on April 02, 2009, 10:08:41 PM
I wouldnt have sex with a stranger, but in the essence of fair play I am going to suggest I would happily jump in to help one out of a tight spot.
Post by: Niall Quinn on April 02, 2009, 11:22:21 PM
No feckin way.
Probably why things didn't work out as a fireman.
Post by: Eoghan Mag on April 02, 2009, 11:34:22 PM
Been there, done that. Instinct kicks in. If something dangerous is happening I tend to dive straight in as much as my current state of health allows. It can be really funny afterwards realising what danger I put myself in, but sure that's just life. I suppose when you get used to working in dangerous situations lots of other things outside that sphere come across as a cakewalk. Having a really loud voice is one of my greatest 'stun weapons'. It tends to throw people for six and has often given me time to act. Never underestimate either the power of the smile and a crazy sense of humour. Its like Flash the smile afterwards - 'I thought you were someone else!'
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 21, 2010, 08:55:50 PM
So it happened me this evening - was on my way home minding my own business when this boy came running out of a pub and across a very busy road with a thug in pursuit. Thug caught up with the other fellow and floored him, got two or three kicks at his head before myself and  2 or 3 others got intervening. One of them being a man of about 60 who ran up the street past a crowd of people at a bus stop to help. Thug ran off. Other fella out cold, police and ambulance arrives, witness statements etc. Mad.

Anyway, shame on anyone who'd just walk on.

Post by: Lady GAA GAA on April 21, 2010, 08:59:34 PM
[ ] actually happened
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 21, 2010, 09:03:29 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 21, 2010, 09:01:37 PM
You might have just saved a weirdo from a good kicking.
I know you shouldn't judge but I did get the impression he was just as big a thug as the boy who done it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 21, 2010, 09:15:09 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 21, 2010, 09:03:29 PM
I know you shouldn't judge but I did get the impression he was just as big a thug as the boy who done it.

More fool you for helping a sc**bag then IMHO...
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 21, 2010, 09:18:39 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 21, 2010, 09:15:09 PM

I didn't think he was a sc**bag until later, my first thought was there's a human being getting his head repeatedly kicked and stamped on....
Post by: Dougal on April 21, 2010, 09:43:34 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 21, 2010, 09:18:39 PM

I didn't think he was a sc**bag until later, my first thought was there's a human being getting his head repeatedly kicked and stamped on....

so if you did think he was a sc**bag aswell,would you still of jumped in?
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 21, 2010, 09:49:34 PM
Quote from: Dougal on April 21, 2010, 09:43:34 PM

Yes.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 21, 2010, 09:51:14 PM
I don't believe you
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 21, 2010, 10:09:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 21, 2010, 09:53:05 PM
"Jumped in" is a bit strong. He may have have just stood there and said "Knock that on the head".
:D there was no time for karate kid style moves - the sight of a couple of people heading towards him and he fucked off. I could have taken him though! grrrr

why don't you believe me LL?
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 21, 2010, 10:37:21 PM
A few years ago I was in my local. There is this sc**bag I know, he comes into the pub and starts giving this quiet sort of lad a load of abuse.Slags him, his mother his wife the whole lot. The quiet lads invites him outside and the sc**bag is only too happy to go. The quiet lad beat seven shades of shite out of him. Now if I were a stranger passing on the street I see 1 man hammer another, should I intervene? Maybe the line should be drawn when one man is down and out and the other is still beating him. Its not a simple issue anyway.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 21, 2010, 10:41:41 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 21, 2010, 10:37:21 PM
A few years ago I was in my local. There is this sc**bag I know, he comes into the pub and starts giving this quiet sort of lad a load of abuse.Slags him, his mother his wife the whole lot. The quiet lads invites him outside and the sc**bag is only too happy to go. The quiet lad beat seven shades of shite out of him. Now if I were a stranger passing on the street I see 1 man hammer another, should I intervene? Maybe the line should be drawn when one man is down and out and the other is still beating him. Its not a simple issue anyway.
When one man is lying defenceless on the ground getting his head kicked? Yes, I think the line should be drawn before then.
Post by: boojangles on April 21, 2010, 10:54:39 PM
Anybody got a Blue Peter badge for Pints?? I have none left.
Post by: ziggysego on April 21, 2010, 11:55:06 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 21, 2010, 10:37:21 PM

I won't wade in there beating the crap out of someone, but I would certainly like to think I'd try and break the fight up.

I couldn't live with my conscience if I walked on and then it ended with serious head injuries or death.
Post by: ludermor on April 21, 2010, 11:56:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 21, 2010, 09:49:34 PM

Yes.
Paul Quinn or one of his ilk?
Post by: THE DADGA on April 22, 2010, 01:57:33 AM
ha, years ago when we were kids we used to pretend to beat one of the lads up on the footpath on the side of the road to see if any one would stop and chase us (as you do) can only recall a man and his wife pullin over and gettin out of the car...not much altruism in the people round banbridge
Post by: The Iceman on April 22, 2010, 01:40:03 PM
This is a hard one to call and as many have said will be situational.

Back in the day fights were fair, it was one on one, no weapons and no kicks to the head on the ground.  Now weapons are often produced and anything goes.

If there was a one on one fight going on I would let them to it.  I think if it turned ugly I would first engage with the aggressor and then physically step in if he didn't listen.  If there was multiple fellas beating up on one or two I would physically intervene with the nearest fence post, stick or bin, or shopping trolley or whatever was to hand to break it up and give the boys a chance to get away.

If I had the family with me I would make sure they were out of harms way first.

I've been a few ugly scrapes in my time and always carry a kubotan on my keys as a result - would only use it if a few lads came at me.  My woman has one on her keys too for when she is out walking by herself.  Call me paranoid but I'd say I'm not the only lad on the board who has hurl in the boot and hasn't hit a ball in years......
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 22, 2010, 06:15:41 PM
Quote from: ludermor on April 21, 2010, 11:56:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 21, 2010, 09:49:34 PM

Yes.
Paul Quinn or one of his ilk?
If I knew the fella, knew he was a sc**bag I probably wouldn't.
But yesterday I didn't know, still don't, just suspect.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 22, 2010, 06:33:31 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 22, 2010, 01:05:53 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yK543f0_UKc&feature=fvw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yK543f0_UKc&feature=fvw)
I did not think it would a kenny rogers song :D

Awful tough call this subject, i think like others i just dont know until im in it.
Post by: leenie on April 22, 2010, 06:41:29 PM
nope....too afraid, would ring the peelers or try to get help...

a few yrs ago outside a pub i worked in a fella was beatin up a girl, my boss went out and the girl he was trying to help then turned on him and the fella pulled a knife... pure knackers.. but ya never know in these situations.... we thought it was a set-up 4 someone to help and get mugged but when my boss backed away they started on each other again, guards eventually came!

Post by: Main Street on April 22, 2010, 06:49:23 PM
It looks like it was a case of minimum intervention saved a guy from a hammering. Pints did well, acted without prejudice, escaped without a scratch but with a sense of honour somewhat reinvigorated.

One time I intervened between a man beating up a woman, late one Sat night in the Dublin suburbs with
no one else about,  a few slaps and the odd punch thrown, more noise and screams than actual violence.
I went up and told him to stop and advised the woman to move away. The guy said, 'but you don't know what she just did'.
I looked at the woman then looked back at him and said sympathetically, 'maybe I don't  but sort it out tomorrow'. You might think, if a guy is crazed enough to beat a woman he would be crazed enough to leap on anybody but thinking about it now,  most any man who does that is a coward and will back down easy enough.