Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: shapes on April 02, 2009, 05:51:45 PM

Title: Weekend in Belfast any recommendations for hotels?
Post by: shapes on April 02, 2009, 05:51:45 PM
Well Lads,
Herself wants to go to Belfast for a weekend and if possible be in town for the shopping and craic as well as having a nice hotel to relax in. Any recommendations, I tried the radisson but not available on the weekend I want to go.
thanks in advance.
Title: Re: Weekend in Belfast any recommendations for hotels?
Post by: stiffler on April 02, 2009, 05:55:25 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8960.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8960.0)

try here
Post by: Maguire01 on April 02, 2009, 07:16:39 PM
I've heard that the new Fitzwilliam Hotel on Gt Victoria St isn't as expensive as you would expect. Good central location and should be nice and clean - only open a couple of weeks.
Post by: charlie stubbs on April 02, 2009, 09:37:40 PM
would have recommended renshaws,unfortunately renovations now taking place!
Post by: Newbridge Exile on April 03, 2009, 08:58:04 AM
Tara Lodge is a guest house just off Botanic Avenue in Belfast( No 1 ranked on Trip Adviser) , Have stayed in it half a dozen times and have never been disappointed , it has no drinks licence but there are umpteen bars cafes restaurants on Botanic Avenue( 2 minutes walk away)
Post by: scud on April 03, 2009, 09:31:43 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on April 03, 2009, 08:58:04 AM
Tara Lodge is a guest house just off Botanic Avenue in Belfast( No 1 ranked on Trip Adviser) , Have stayed in it half a dozen times and have never been disappointed , it has no drinks licence but there are umpteen bars cafes restaurants on Botanic Avenue( 2 minutes walk away)

Yea, great wee spot, excellent value for a shopping weekend
Post by: clareman on April 03, 2009, 09:39:28 AM
Myself and herself stayed in the Hilton for a weekend before Christmas - great spot and very good value. Walking distance to all the shops and a great breakfast....
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 03, 2009, 10:07:13 AM
stayed in the '10' hotel before christmas.
It was fine, not 4 or 5 star standard as advertised, a bit dated or 'used' but still decent enough, good location and warm/clean.
Depends on what price you get it at.
Post by: off the laces on April 03, 2009, 10:32:40 AM
the Europa has just been done up, but again depends on what price you get it.
Post by: gawa316 on April 03, 2009, 11:28:10 AM
Stayed in the Merchant a few weeks back. Unbelieveable hotel. If you can get a deal on their site I definitely go for it. 5 mins to shops and you have the Cloth Ear and Spanaird bars right besides you and Ollies club underneath. If your resident you don't have to queue or pay in plus it's over 23's.
Post by: shapes on April 03, 2009, 11:44:31 AM
Thanks for all the posts lads, I ended up booking the fitzwilliam it looks like a grand spot.
Post by: bingobus on March 09, 2010, 04:42:21 PM
Well lads, any further suggestions to the ones above?

Break for the missus and her birthday. Cheers.

Thanks minder.
Post by: ross4life on March 09, 2010, 05:09:23 PM
i Always stay in the Hilton Hotel when in Belfast, top class hotel, great location right beside train station if your traveling by Enterprise train, depending on when you stayi? you can book a twin/double for as little as 79 pound on advance purchase
Post by: haranguerer on March 09, 2010, 06:54:14 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on April 02, 2009, 09:37:40 PM
would have recommended renshaws,unfortunately renovations now taking place!

Hotel Ibis university street  ;)
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on May 30, 2010, 12:08:23 PM
Lads anybody know what are the normal closing times for belfast pubs, especially for this sunday bank holiday weekend????
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 30, 2010, 06:18:11 PM
Quote from: youbetterbelieveit on May 30, 2010, 12:08:23 PM
Lads anybody know what are the normal closing times for belfast pubs, especially for this sunday bank holiday weekend????

Pubs generally close at midnight on a Sunday but you might get lax enough implementation on a Bank Holiday. Think the Bot served until 1am the last Bank Holiday Sunday I was out in Belfast.
Post by: Aoise on May 30, 2010, 11:52:44 PM
Afraid most pubs will shut around 11, holiday or no holiday, their quite strict on that.  Go to one of the hotel bars though.  I'd recommend the cloth ear ( merchant) or else Mal Maison.  If you find a quiet enough seat you won't be bothered!

As for hotels to stay in, the Merchant is probably the best hotel I've stayed in anywhere - top class.  The rest just don't compare.  The only downside is lack of pool/gym facilities which is precisely why their prices are lower for that standard of hotel.  I think this is changing soon though, so make the most of affordable prices while we can!!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 31, 2010, 10:05:08 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 31, 2010, 12:25:30 AM
Maybe I'm strange but I often wonder about what type of person is concerned about gym facilities when heading away to spend a weekend with his missus in a hotel.

:D :D :D
Post by: theskull1 on May 31, 2010, 11:03:57 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 31, 2010, 12:25:30 AM
Maybe I'm strange but I often wonder about what type of person is concerned about gym facilities when heading away to spend a weekend with his missus in a hotel.

Well I'm strange too then. A hotel spa is the most surreal of places. These brochure images of calm tranquility have the masses fooled into thinking "this is the life".

Actually the whole hotel thing I have a problem with
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 31, 2010, 06:09:43 PM
I use the facilities of the hotel all the time, the spa facilities in the Slieve Donard are top class, i think as you get older you use them more often.

not that i used them over the weekend in Dublin!! i used the other better known facilities within the club ;D
Post by: theskull1 on May 31, 2010, 06:18:44 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 31, 2010, 06:09:43 PM
I use the facilities of the hotel all the time, the spa facilities in the Slieve Donard are top class, i think as you get older you use them more often.

not that i used them over the weekend in Dublin!! i used the other better known facilities within the club ;D

What? Standing in your speedos looking into a hotel car park right in front of you?....ahh this is the life  ;)