GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: irunthev on March 25, 2009, 10:31:22 PM

Title: Where are they now.... The Underdogs??
Post by: irunthev on March 25, 2009, 10:31:22 PM
Apart from the obvious players like Pierce O'Neill and Kieran Donaghy, anyone know the feats of any of the other players who have appeared on the men's version of Thh Underdogs over the past few years.
Title: Re: Where are they now.... The Underdogs??
Post by: The Corporal on March 26, 2009, 08:44:38 AM
Steven Poacher who was on it the 1st year is now manager of a club in Down called An Riocht (Marty Clarke's home club) even tho he is still only about 28. Dan McCabe also from a club in Down (Drumgath) is still palying club football
Post by: David McKeown on March 26, 2009, 10:08:10 AM
Does any one have a list of the squad.  I tried looking last night but couldnt find one
Post by: irunthev on March 26, 2009, 11:42:00 AM
I think all these guys were first year participants.

Eoghan Bradley made it on to the Tyrone panel for a few years and then spent two years in Oz. I believe he is back in Ireland now.

Martin Kennedy went to Oz and played there for a year while working for West Coast Eagles then played for and coached London county team in '07 and went back to Ireland only to tear his cruciate first session back with St Vincents, hasn't yet made a full recovery.

Eddie Nealin (I think that's right) was in London a couple of years ago but I believe he was still playing for Skibbereen, didn't sign for any London club.

Hugh Murphy played one season out-field for Kingdom Kerry Gaels (circa '06) in London but was keeper for Underdogs first year.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2009, 11:51:23 AM
Was Ronan Hussey on that show? He's playing for Sneem and South Kerry I think.
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on March 26, 2009, 12:07:59 PM
dan mccabe is currently plying his trade with the Wolfetones club out in boston
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 26, 2009, 12:55:08 PM
Quote from: Tommy Tight Lips on March 26, 2009, 12:07:59 PM
dan mccabe is currently plying his trade with the Wolfetones club out in boston

Was John Haughey on this?? Last seen driving into the sea in Newcastle...
Post by: timmyot501 on March 26, 2009, 12:56:37 PM
Underdogs Team v Dublin Senior Football Team
Sunday 14th December 2003

Glenn Kelly,  Dublin
Cathal O'Shea, Kerry
Patrick Kelly, (Captain) Monaghan
John Haughey, Down
Fergus McAuliffe, Kerry
Robbie Hannon, Kildare
Kevin Cotter, Cork
Murt Kelleher, Cork
Donal McAnallen, Tyrone
Padraig McGovern, Cavan
John Kelly, Dublin
Brian McGeary, Armagh
Steven Poacher, Down
Sean Hussey, Kerry
Brian O'Neachtáin, Brian Mayo

Subs:
Joe Cunnane, Roscommon
Mark Wright, Kildare
John McElholm, Tyrone
Seamus Kane, Donegal
Ciron Whoriskey, Donegal
Rory O'Donnell, Donegal
Colm Donohue, Dublin
Padraig Gerald Kelly, Galway
Craig Mulligan, Dublin

I think this was the team from the first series but maybe there were earlier series.  

Post by: stpauls on March 26, 2009, 01:01:01 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 26, 2009, 11:04:10 AM
Quote from: The Corporal on March 26, 2009, 08:44:38 AM
Steven Poacher who was on it the 1st year is now manager of a club in Down called An Riocht (Marty Clarke's home club) even tho he is still only about 28. Dan McCabe also from a club in Down (Drumgath) is still palying club football

Last seen sweating in out on a Mitchel's team in the lower echelons of Down division 3 football. Part of last year's Burren dream management team too.

seriously, how did that man make it on to the underdogs team, did they just pick the names out of a hat? he wasn't a great footballer when i was at school with him, and he wasn't very impressive when we played Mitchells in the Championship last year either.
Post by: corn02 on March 26, 2009, 01:02:26 PM
John Haughey Annaclone I take it?
Post by: screenexile on March 26, 2009, 01:12:16 PM
Bryansford I think he was... I played with him a couple of years ago for St. Peter's of Manchester and Lancashire. It was some trip for him to get to our place from Carlisle but fair play to him he did it.
Post by: The Corporal on March 26, 2009, 01:44:03 PM
Aye John Haughey of Annaclone, think he was Annaclone's captain a couple of years ago.
Poacher was a poor enough footballer and not sure how he started the Underdogs team.

Hard to believe Donaghy and Pearse O'Neill came from this, 2 quality players
Post by: kevmy on March 26, 2009, 01:47:35 PM
Quote from: The Corporal on March 26, 2009, 01:44:03 PM
Aye John Haughey of Annaclone, think he was Annaclone's captain a couple of years ago.
Poacher was a poor enough footballer and not sure how he started the Underdogs team.

Well I suppose Donaghy would have been seen as more of a basketballer than anything else before that. Don't know what the stroy was with O'Neill
Post by: irunthev on March 26, 2009, 01:56:49 PM
2004 v Kerry

Underdogs -
H Murphy (Kerry),
E Bradley, M Kennedy (Dublin), L Kiely (Cork),
M Horgan (Kerry), M Murphy (Armagh), G Britton (Donegal),
C Donaghy (Kerry), P O'Neill (Cork),
P Brady (Cavan), B O'Muiri (Armagh) 1-5, D O'Connell (Cork),
B Rafferty (Armagh), S Wallace (Kerry) 2-2, D McCabe (Down) 0-2.

Subs: M Herbert (Kildare) for H Murphy, A Gavin (Roscommon) for P Brady, P O'Connor for Rafferty

Anyone any the wiser??
Post by: Muzz on March 26, 2009, 02:05:04 PM
John McElholm, Tyrone

P.E. - Teacher in St. Marys Magherafelt?
Post by: irunthev on March 26, 2009, 02:10:03 PM
Quote from: Muzz on March 26, 2009, 02:05:04 PM
John McElholm, Tyrone

If it's the same John McElholm then he should have been retired by then, not trailing for a tv show. I played in a schools final with him in 1984. He would have been 33 at that stage.
Post by: Muzz on March 26, 2009, 02:13:08 PM
Not the same John McElholm then.  This guy was PE teacher there about 2000.  Defo not 49.  :-P 

The John McElholm the P.E. Teacher was definitely the guy on underdogs.  Just not sure if he still is a PE teacher there.
Post by: irunthev on March 26, 2009, 02:20:20 PM
Quote from: irunthev on March 26, 2009, 02:10:03 PM
John McElholm, Tyrone

If it's the same John McElholm then he should have been retired by then, not trailing for a tv show. I played in a schools final with him in 1984. He would have been 33 at that stage.

I meant 33 at time of Underdogs.... not schools final ...............he was 14 then.

It must be the same guy as he ended up teaching in Derry somewhere.
Post by: DownFanatic on March 26, 2009, 02:41:36 PM
Quote from: corn02 on March 26, 2009, 01:02:26 PM

John Haughey, Annaclone's finest.

Currently putting fillings in the mouth of Aboriginies in the Land Down Under.

Last time I seen him was in the Hatfield the day after Annaclone won the IFC in November, eating scrumpled up newspapers whilst topless.

Legend.

Post by: screenexile on March 26, 2009, 03:01:37 PM
Quote from: irunthev on March 26, 2009, 02:20:20 PM
Quote from: irunthev on March 26, 2009, 02:10:03 PM
John McElholm, Tyrone

I meant 33 at time of Underdogs.... not schools final ...............he was 14 then.

It must be the same guy as he ended up teaching in Derry somewhere.

Same John McElholm alright. He took me for MacRory at ... Had never seen him play football so didn't know if he was any use but he was definitely an Underdog and would have been around 33 at the time alright.
Post by: Bensars on March 26, 2009, 03:05:17 PM
He managed Omagh St endas last year as far as i recall
Post by: magpie seanie on March 26, 2009, 03:11:45 PM
I think I know him, his folks would be good friends of my mothers. Sounds like the same chap anyway.
Post by: Downgael2008 on March 26, 2009, 03:54:31 PM

Haughey is a strong footballer, seen him playin for annaclone in intermediate final last year god only knows what he is doing now by all acccounts a bit of of a loose cannon!

Poacher wouldnt say was a poor footballer more a limited player, played against him couple of years ago when he played for castlewellan? Didnt know he played for mitchels? By all accounts making a name for himself in coaching circles though!

Dan Mc Cabe cant say iv ever seen him play but think he might have appeared for down u21s?? can anyone confirm this.

was there anymore down men on any of the panels ??
Post by: Dannymcfella on March 26, 2009, 03:56:04 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on March 26, 2009, 02:41:36 PM

Last time I seen him was in the Hatfield the day after Annaclone won the IFC in November, eating scrumpled up newspapers whilst topless.

Legend.

The man once took the wrong tooth out of a transfestite :o.
Headcase of a man!!! ;D
Post by: The Corporal on March 26, 2009, 04:11:44 PM
Quote from: Downgael2008 on March 26, 2009, 03:54:31 PM

Haughey is a strong footballer, seen him playin for annaclone in intermediate final last year god only knows what he is doing now by all acccounts a bit of of a loose cannon!

Poacher wouldnt say was a poor footballer more a limited player, played against him couple of years ago when he played for castlewellan? Didnt know he played for mitchels? By all accounts making a name for himself in coaching circles though!

Dan Mc Cabe cant say iv ever seen him play but think he might have appeared for down u21s?? can anyone confirm this.

Think John Fegan of Rostrevor/Downpatrick, whoever he plays for, was on 1 of the panels too
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 26, 2009, 04:15:37 PM
Phillip "Gunner" Brady is still playing away for his club Mullahoran. He got called into the Cavan panel on the back of a "man of the match" performance in that game against Kerry but he didn't really make it, Don't think he was called up since. Doesn't have the pace for inter county.
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 26, 2009, 04:15:54 PM

Legend.

Was there that day aswell.. shower of mooncats!  :o
Post by: stpauls on March 26, 2009, 04:59:48 PM

not sure we are talking about the same Stephen Poucher then, the one i know is a Newry man, and probably never played for Castlewellan!!
Post by: longball on March 26, 2009, 05:13:13 PM
Are they planning another series of the underdogs for mens gaelic football?
Post by: haranguerer on March 26, 2009, 05:23:12 PM
We played them in the final of a charity tournament that first year. They werent that impressive, we beat them I'm pretty sure. mattie mcGleenan was playing for them though and proved still well able to wreak havoc!
Would have known haughey from belfast myself, i remmber me and him busting through a fire door in queens halls and sitting in bushes pissing ourselves laughing at everyone getting evacuated when the alarm went off...Oh the immaturity of it all...good times!!
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 26, 2009, 08:07:29 PM
Quote from: stpauls on March 26, 2009, 04:59:48 PM

not sure we are talking about the same Stephen Poucher then, the one i know is a Newry man, and probably never played for Castlewellan!!

One and the same Pouch (as he styles himself). Played for Shamrocks then Castlewellan and then Mitchels.
Post by: tyronefan on March 26, 2009, 08:22:00 PM
Quote from: Muzz on March 26, 2009, 02:13:08 PM
Not the same John McElholm then.  This guy was PE teacher there about 2000.  Defo not 49.  :-P 

The John McElholm the P.E. Teacher was definitely the guy on underdogs.  Just not sure if he still is a PE teacher there.

It is the same John McElhome, He is still teaching PE in Derry and is also the managing Omagh
Post by: thewobbler on March 26, 2009, 08:23:28 PM
I assume Barra O'Muiri from Armagh is Barry Murray from Newtownhamilton? He played a handful of league games from Armagh a few years back, but never made the Championship set-up. Was a lethal free-taker.

Stephen Poacher was a fair enough footballer, and very useful when in the mood. Don't think he ever donned a Shamrocks shirt though, which would put him higher in my estimation ;-) I'd suggest he had more to offer a team than Donal McAnallen.

I'm pretty sure John Fegan (back at Rostrevor now) was a panellist one year, and one of his clubmate Mackins was involved the same year.

Post by: saffron sam2 on March 26, 2009, 08:26:00 PM
Which Newry club did Ross Carr manage? I ask because himself and Poacher are alleged to have had a massive following out. I thought it was Shamrocks?

I'll check with butterknife in the morning.
Post by: thewobbler on March 26, 2009, 08:30:53 PM
Carr was with Mitchels.
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 26, 2009, 08:37:37 PM
Then it was Mitchels all along for Poacher (apart from his Castlewellan sojourn).

Bit of a come down though for Ross to end up with Down.
Post by: INDIANA on March 26, 2009, 10:28:23 PM
JOhn Kelly from the first series plays hurling for dublin
Colm Donohue first series plays for St Marks in Dublin.
Padraig O Connor plays for Balinteer St Johns in Dublin 2nd series
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 26, 2009, 11:21:17 PM
I played with Mickey Greene in Cork who was on the Underdogs in 2005 I think.  He moved up to Athlone last year and lined out a few times for Westmeath.  Handy enough player, speed to burn, loves his own reflection ;D
Post by: Triggerhappy on March 27, 2009, 03:01:41 PM
 Captain of the first underdogs team was Paddy Kelly. I think he originally played with Emyvale but then transferred to Monaghan Harps after a falling out. I do believe he exacted retribution on emyvale!!! He is now managing Derrynoose in Division 4 of Armagh.

Martin Murphy and Brendan Rafferty (from 2nd series) both were playing club football with Granemore up to last year and Martin is manager of Derrynoose ladies team.
Post by: Superstar on March 27, 2009, 06:26:34 PM

Legend.

The mans a disaster area, poor fella was homesick on new years day, full as a monkey phoned home from oz to O'Reillys bar in Banbrdge and proceeded to talk pure rubbish in my ear for a good 45 mins

Good lad tho

Post by: trueunderdog on March 31, 2009, 03:28:07 PM
I was in the squad so here is your answer =

Underdogs Team v Dublin Senior Football Team
Sunday 14th December 2003

Glenn Kelly,  Dublin - Garda in dublin, great goalie with good hands
Cathal O'Shea, Kerry Australia, put ciaran whelan on his ass in first 2 mins in parnell good strong defender
Patrick Kelly, (Captain) Monaghan Managing club in monaghan great lad excellant leader and got a run with monaghan for while
John Haughey, DownAustralia, strongest man in the team loved his grub, solid performer
Fergus McAuliffe, Kerrygreat left footed free taker living in kerry
Robbie Hannon, KildarePlayed in county final last year in kildare at full back, also played for county, golf steward in k club
Kevin Cotter, Corklast seen at sigerson in belfast having lost his wallet and mobile phone looking for a black taxi!! should never had got that beard for the dub game
Murt Kelleher, Corksigerson football was last seen, broke his jaw playing real warrior from cork
Donal McAnallen, Tyronemr gaa and did a lot of donkey work in middle of the field, didnt get enough credit
Padraig McGovern, CavanPlays for Denn in cavan
John Kelly, Dublin Lined out for Dublin hurlers last year against cork, not sure if he is still in panel
Brian McGeary, Armaghplayed for armagh but broke his leg, very unlucky but a good forward
Steven Poacher, Downreal character of the team always up to something and excellant free taker
Sean Hussey, Kerryowns a sports shop in kerry very good footballing brain
Brian O'Neachtáin, Brian Mayoscored 1-1 against dubs lives a quiet life in mayo

Subs:
Joe Cunnane, Roscommonbig joe was a gentle giant and loved the drink too much and still does
Mark Wright, Kildare
John McElholm, Tyrone
Seamus Kane, Donegalwas last seen on the back page of the irish star having ran onto the pitch during the australian rules series
Ciron Whoriskey, Donegalplayed for donegal u21s at one stage
Rory O'Donnell, Donegalpe teacher in donegal and played senior football for 4 masters
Colm Donohue, Dublinanother fine hurler but also a good footballer, think him and j kelly are same clubs in dublin st marks
Padraig Gerald Kelly, Galwaysub goalkeeper and then joined the army
Craig Mulligan, Dublin the pin up boy for all the adverts and posters, him and sherlock  ;D

To be fair all these lads were gass lads from normal clubs with no ego's and just went out and enjoyed being part of the 1st ever series. Great idea at the time, think its been a bit outplayed now but the 1st series will always have been the best.
Post by: Bensars on March 31, 2009, 03:33:55 PM
My guess you're

"Steven Poacher, Downreal character of the team always up to something and excellant free taker"
Post by: full back on March 31, 2009, 03:34:56 PM
My guess is you are

"Padraig McGovern, Cavan Plays for Denn in cavan"

Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 31, 2009, 08:06:53 PM
QuoteFergus McAuliffe, Kerrygreat left footed free taker living in kerry

Where in Kerry was he from ?
Post by: trueunderdog on March 31, 2009, 08:34:06 PM
just outside of sneem mike. do you know him? where are you from?
Post by: haranguerer on April 01, 2009, 08:40:35 AM
My guess is you're Patrick Kelly - cos from what I seen he'd be the hardest one to say anything good about...
Post by: thebandit on April 01, 2009, 10:13:03 AM

Patrick Kelly, (Captain) Monaghan Managing club in monaghan great lad excellant leader and got a run with monaghan for while

Never managed a club in Monaghan, he was a selector with Monaghan Harps for a while (they were Junior at the time)

Did he really get a run with the county? Don't remember that.
Post by: ranch on July 23, 2017, 08:48:43 PM
Who managed the Underdogs team?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 23, 2017, 10:47:24 PM
1st series Brian Mullins, 2nd series Mickey Ned O'Sullivan assisted by Jarlath Burns & Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh.