GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: INDIANA on March 24, 2009, 01:21:14 PM

Title: Dublin v Kerry
Post by: INDIANA on March 24, 2009, 01:21:14 PM
Any chance Kerry will field their 2nd string lads and give us a chance? It is Lent and all that a time of goodwill.
Title: Re: Dublin v Kerry
Post by: armaghniac on March 24, 2009, 01:22:55 PM
Lent is a time of penance, Dublin will do penance on this occasion.
Post by: Buckass on March 24, 2009, 01:29:55 PM
Hard to see O'Connor keeping Gooch and O'Sullivan rested for this one. When is last time Dublin beat Kerry in league, or championship for that matter? Remember Kerry sending Dubs down to Div 2 in 2007.
Should be a good match up between Bastick and Star. Crokes return should add to it too.
Post by: INDIANA on March 24, 2009, 03:06:13 PM
we beat them under tommy carr by about 15 points. the year escapes me- i think that was the last time.
Post by: thebandit on March 24, 2009, 03:25:46 PM
Quote from: Buckass on March 24, 2009, 01:29:55 PM
Should be a good match up between Bastick and Star.

:D :D
Post by: magickingdom on March 24, 2009, 08:21:31 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 24, 2009, 01:21:14 PM
Any chance Kerry will field their 2nd string lads and give us a chance? It is Lent and all that a time of goodwill.

haha hate losing to cork, tyrone, armagh and dublin! if they lose it wont be for the want of trying...
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 24, 2009, 09:53:49 PM
QuoteAny chance Kerry will field their 2nd string lads and give us a chance?

No Chance.

Another win and we will be straight into the final so that's the incentive for the Kingdom, and there is currently great competition for places on the team in all positions so that will keep us on our toes, always good to bate the Jackeens too, but will see how it goes at the weekend. :P
Post by: INDIANA on March 24, 2009, 11:10:32 PM
could you not win the game the following week and go easy on us on Sunday? ;D ;D
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 24, 2009, 11:12:35 PM
We always go easy on ye, we have not given ye a good hammering since 1978  ;)
Post by: moysider on March 25, 2009, 12:24:30 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 24, 2009, 09:53:49 PM
QuoteAny chance Kerry will field their 2nd string lads and give us a chance?

No Chance.

Another win and we will be straight into the final so that's the incentive for the Kingdom, and there is currently great competition for places on the team in all positions so that will keep us on our toes, always good to bate the Jackeens too, but will see how it goes at the weekend. :P

Hmmmm. Relegation looks between 4 teams and if a top team did field a ringer team for either of 2 last matches could let a team in trouble slip the noose. Not likely this week -end as prize of a league final will keep Kerry and Galway honest. Relegation may well hinge on the results of the last weeks matches. Not that relagation is the end of the world. Would concentrate a few minds around here. If it happens to us we could well be staring down the barrel of division 3 this time next year. It happened before before the much maligned Maughan cleanad up the mess. The guy that started the slide then is back again to work his magic.
Post by: blanketattack on March 25, 2009, 10:12:39 AM
Quote from: Buckass on March 24, 2009, 01:29:55 PM
Hard to see O'Connor keeping Gooch and O'Sullivan rested for this one. When is last time Dublin beat Kerry in league, or championship for that matter? Remember Kerry sending Dubs down to Div 2 in 2007.
Should be a good match up between Bastick and Star. Crokes return should add to it too.

Prior to 2004 Dublin hadn't been beaten by Kerry at home in the league for 20+ years. Kerry have beaten them twice there since though.
Post by: Canalman on March 26, 2009, 01:55:34 PM
Eh, we beat Kerry in the Lgue Final in CP in 1987. I know, I know , I know that Parnell Park is now our "home" but at the time our lgue games were played on Jones' Road.
Anyway, as for next Sunday I feel that it will be close win for Kerry. We are just too disjointed at the moment.
Post by: rrhf on March 26, 2009, 02:30:06 PM
For the history buffs amongst youse,   as recent  as 30 years ago this would have been deemed a game between the two best teams in Ireland.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 26, 2009, 05:14:21 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 26, 2009, 02:30:06 PM
For the history buffs amongst youse,   as recent  as 30 years ago this would have been deemed a game between the two best teams in Ireland.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 26, 2009, 06:57:42 PM
QuoteFor the history buffs amongst youse,   as recent  as 30 years ago this would have been deemed a game between the two best teams in Ireland.

yeah, no ball grabbing pervs on those teams. Proper footballers and men.
Post by: StGallsGAA on March 26, 2009, 07:14:35 PM
yeah, no ball grabbing pervs on those teams. Proper footballers and men.

Heard to my surprise there's a couple of fellas "light on their loafers" in the Kerry set-up.
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 27, 2009, 12:46:46 AM
Football Team News: Davoren debuts for Dubs
Pat Gilroy has made five changes to the Dublin starting line-up for the vital National League Division One clash with Kerry in Parnell Park on Sunday.

Mark Davoren, who starred for Kilmacud Crokes in their successful All-Ireland club campaign, is handed his league debut at full-forward.

Davoren's club team-mates, Paul Griffin and Darren Magee, are also given their first starts of the season, with Griffin named at centre-back and Magee given the chance to impress alongside Ross McConnell in a new-look midfield partnership.

Paddy Andrews, used by Gilroy as a defender in the league to date, is repatriated to the full-forward line, a role he is familiar with from club football and his involvement with the Dublin under-21s. Meanwhile, Paul Flynn is back from injury and starts at wing-forward after missing the draw with Mayo due to injury.

Barry Cahill, Ciaran Whelan, Blaine Kelly and Bernard Brogan are all rested as the Dublin management continue their rotational policy.

Dublin [SF v Kerry]: S. Cluxton (c); D. Henry, D. Bastick, A. Hubbard; B. Cullen, P. Griffin, G. Brennan; D. Magee, R. McConnell; D. Connolly, K. Bonner, P. Flynn; C. Keaney, M. Davoren, P. Andrews

rumours abound that Dublin's only All Ireland medal winner has walked out on Gillers panel !! Could be a boom boom moment.
Post by: INDIANA on March 27, 2009, 12:49:17 AM
He's being "rested". You can draw your own conclusions!
Another experimental Dublin team. If Kerry put out their full whack could be a comphrehensive win for them.
Post by: Hound on March 27, 2009, 07:16:10 AM
Interesting that our three best players from this league campaign (albeit that's not saying a whole heap given the overall performances) have been rested for this one! Still, happy enough to see Andrews and Davoren get a chance up top, and will be interested to see how Griffin and Magee get on.

In addition to the 3 Crokes players named for Sunday, another 6 have been called into the squad - Cian O'Sullivan, Kevin Nolan, Mark Vaughan, Pat Burke, Liam Og O'hEineachain and Rory O'Carroll. However I thought Nolan had to go in for some sort of operation shortly and O'Carroll has said his primary loyalties will be with the hurlers.
Post by: INDIANA on March 27, 2009, 09:05:37 AM
Nolan is gone- shouldn't be any football for the time being- he risks permanent damage otherwise. He's cutting the squad next week to 33 . Hopefully Jack O Connor will go easy on us. Its a very disappointing selection for such a high profile match.
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 27, 2009, 06:10:56 PM
The taking it easy on the Dubs Team has been announced....

The Kerry team to play Dublin on Sunday next is as follows:
Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle)
Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin) Aidan O'Shea (Glenbeigh/Glencar) Tom O'Sullivan (Rathmore)
Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore) Tommy Griffin (Dingle)
Seamus Scanlon (Currow) David Moran (Kerins O'Rahilly's)
Paul Galvin (Finuge) Tommy Walsh (Kerins O'Rahilly's) Darran O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) (Captain)
Colm Cooper Colm Cuipéir (Dr. Crokes) Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)  Bryan Sheehan (St. Mary's)     

Fir Ionad:
Ger Reidy (Castleisland Desmonds) Anthony Maher (Duagh)  Kieran Quirke (Duagh) Michéal Quirke (Kerins O'Rahilly's) Paul O'Connor (Kenmare)  Daniel Bohan (Austin Stacks) Maurice Corridan (Finuge) Kieran O'Leary (Dr. Crokes) and Seán O'Sullivan (Cromane)

The following players were not considered for selection due to injury: Donnacha Walsh, Tadhg Kennelly, Killian Young, Declan O'Sullivan and Marc Ó Sé.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 27, 2009, 06:14:08 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 27, 2009, 06:10:56 PM
Colm Cooper Colm Cuipéir (Dr. Crokes)
Like New York - so good they named him twice.  :P
Post by: INDIANA on March 27, 2009, 07:09:17 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 27, 2009, 06:10:56 PM
The taking it easy on the Dubs Team has been announced....

The Kerry team to play Dublin on Sunday next is as follows:
Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle)
Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin) Aidan O'Shea (Glenbeigh/Glencar) Tom O'Sullivan (Rathmore)
Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore) Tommy Griffin (Dingle)
Seamus Scanlon (Currow) David Moran (Kerins O'Rahilly's)
Paul Galvin (Finuge) Tommy Walsh (Kerins O'Rahilly's) Darran O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) (Captain)
Colm Cooper Colm Cuipéir (Dr. Crokes) Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)  Bryan Sheehan (St. Mary's)     

Fir Ionad:
Ger Reidy (Castleisland Desmonds) Anthony Maher (Duagh)  Kieran Quirke (Duagh) Michéal Quirke (Kerins O'Rahilly's) Paul O'Connor (Kenmare)  Daniel Bohan (Austin Stacks) Maurice Corridan (Finuge) Kieran O'Leary (Dr. Crokes) and Seán O'Sullivan (Cromane)

The following players were not considered for selection due to injury: Donnacha Walsh, Tadhg Kennelly, Killian Young, Declan O'Sullivan and Marc Ó Sé.

I'll bring my rosary beads. Only that I can't get to Tipp on sunday I'd be going to the hurlers. Have to hope the kerry lads want to visit the bright lights of Dublin City.
Post by: Zulu on March 27, 2009, 10:23:27 PM
Indiana is there any reason you keep posting that you're going to (or want to) watch the hurlers rather than the footballers each week? Anyway I've posted something similar on the Mayo thread but I think the Dublin lads are going overboard in their criticisms of their team but unlike Mayo, Dublin aren't short real quality up front so I think Dublin will go close again this year. If Griffin makes a decent fist of center back (which I doubt he will personally) and Andrews can produce in attack then things will begin to take shape for Dublin. I can't see the Dubs winning teh AI but that has as much to do with the quality of the opposition (Kerry, Tyrone, Cork & Derry in particular) as it has with any weaknesses they have themselves. They are certainly not anywhere near as bad as some have been suggesting around here. For the record I think Dublin will do well enough against Kerry this week, as will Mayo against Galway.
Post by: INDIANA on March 28, 2009, 08:36:30 AM
Zulu tell me the last game Dublin won against good opposition when missing the 2 brogans and Whelan. All being "rested". Crazy shit really.
The answer- they haven't. The ambivalence towards the league is quite extraordinary .
Most managers would put out a good side to play one of the best teams in the country. We "rest" players and give away the points. You've no idea how pissed off the fans are with this attitude and they will start voting with their feet soon. No-one went to Mayo last week to watch them. Ordinarily we'd fill Ballina on our own.
Extraordinary stuff really.
Post by: Zulu on March 28, 2009, 09:00:37 AM
Indiana Dublin have come up just short over the past 4-5 years and I think Gilroy is trying to find the 2 or 3 players that might make the difference, so he is experimenting heavily and I think he is right to do so. Whelan has been poor any time I've seen him this year so leaving him out is no great loss this weekend IMO, I can understand the frustration of fans at the moment but I think Gilroy is doing the right thing by giving new lads their chance. He now knows for example that Henry needs to be corner back and Ger Brennan won't do at center back, Connolly is also beginning to show his undoubted talent. To be honest I'd be quietly hopeful of a good summer if I were a Dub, in fact Kerry would be the only team I'd truly worry about.
Post by: INDIANA on March 28, 2009, 09:06:13 AM
Zulu putting Henry corner back isn't breaking news. Connolly is like the weather in terms of performances - very gifted but totally unreliable. Just never know with him- even at club level I would be more confident Zulu if he was using guys who were good enough. But some of these newer guys aren't. IN told Dublin aren't good enough anyway- but our league performances have been crap for 15 years  now. There is a level of arrogance within Dublin from a previous era and thinking you are better than you are is the most dangerous mindset of all.
Post by: Zulu on March 28, 2009, 09:35:11 AM
QuoteZulu putting Henry corner back isn't breaking news

No but he was tried at wing forward and that wasn't a great success so I'd say he has now 2 of his FB line filled - Bastick and Henry, which isn't bad. Brennan will have the rest of the league to nail down wing back or he'll be dropped altogether as he can't do the job at center back. Connolly is hot and cold I'll grant you but I'd persist and maybe even play a third midfielder to reduce his need to track back, along with the 2 Brogans and Keaney you'd have the firepower to trouble the best. I suppose we could go back and forth here for the day but I do feel you Dublin lads are being overly pessimistic and I think you have enough to improve on recent years.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on March 28, 2009, 10:31:52 AM
Whats the current situation with the legendary Dara OSe? miss watching this legend of a man.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 28, 2009, 11:25:57 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 28, 2009, 08:36:30 AM
Zulu tell me the last game Dublin won against good opposition when missing the 2 brogans and Whelan. All being "rested". Crazy shit really.
The answer- they haven't. The ambivalence towards the league is quite extraordinary .
Most managers would put out a good side to play one of the best teams in the country. We "rest" players and give away the points. You've no idea how pissed off the fans are with this attitude and they will start voting with their feet soon. No-one went to Mayo last week to watch them. Ordinarily we'd fill Ballina on our own.

Gaa fans can be very short sighted. I don't know much about Gilroy but now is not the time to judge him. Plenty of managers have put little into the league and come up with All Ireland winning teams. Did Armagh get relegated in Joe Kernans first year when they went onto the All Ireland? Gilroy is obviously focusing solely on the championship is this is what he will obviously be judged on. Surely your not going to judge him on the league? He's there to stay so give the man a chance.
Post by: INDIANA on March 28, 2009, 11:36:00 AM
I think Tyrone you're wrong on that. Most teams that go well in the championship have decent league campaigns. They mighn't win it but they put a few markers down. Its a different story with a proven team like that Armagh team who had very experienced players winning a tough provincial championship regularly who just needed an extra 5%. Dublin could win leinster again (which I don't think they will) and learn nothing. A game with a strong Dublin team against a very strong Kerry team tomorrow could be an invalubale tool later on in the season especially if we won. We haven't beaten kerry for about 5 years now in the league. I defy anyone to tell me you can build a winning platform by losing all the time.
Look at kilkenny and kerry- they breed excellence by winning, winning and winning again. Dublin seem to want to go the backdoor route this year. Well they may find its not as simple as they think. i'm really disappointed with our attitude towards the league.
Post by: Stevie Nicks on March 28, 2009, 11:45:14 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 28, 2009, 11:25:57 AM

Gaa fans can be very short sighted. I don't know much about Gilroy but now is not the time to judge him. Plenty of managers have put little into the league and come up with All Ireland winning teams. Did Armagh get relegated in Joe Kernans first year when they went onto the All Ireland? Gilroy is obviously focusing solely on the championship is this is what he will obviously be judged on. Surely your not going to judge him on the league? He's there to stay so give the man a chance.

Tyrone Armagh were beat in the Div 2 Semi final by Laois in Big Joe's first year as far as I can remember. Last year Tyrone have been the first team in a few years to have a bad league and do well in the championship. A strong league is certainly a benefit for later in the year. To me Dublin should be putting out a stronger team to face Kerry as they are looking at relegation which is not good prep.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 28, 2009, 11:50:23 AM
Quote from: Stevie Nicks on March 28, 2009, 11:45:14 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 28, 2009, 11:25:57 AM

Tyrone Armagh were beat in the Div 2 Semi final by Laois in Big Joe's first year as far as I can remember. Last year Tyrone have been the first team in a few years to have a bad league and do well in the championship. A strong league is certainly a benefit for later in the year. To me Dublin should be putting out a stronger team to face Kerry as they are looking at relegation which is not good prep.

Must be getting mixed up. I remember them playing Laois in divison 1 sem in 03 so they couldnt have been relegated in 2002.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 28, 2009, 11:54:35 AM
Still dont think a strong league is essential for the championship. Different managers will have different approaches and there's no perfect formula. Gilroy will be judged on what happens come August not now. Tyrone proved last year you dont have to have a good league to win the All Ireland. This is a pretty experienced Dublin team who have been involved in plenty of big games over the years and not been far away in a lot of them. Not sure what impact a few league wins would have come August.
Post by: Stevie Nicks on March 28, 2009, 12:01:56 PM
Yes Tyrone they were beat by Laois in Longford in 02 semi and in 03 as part of a double header in Croke Park. Most managers I would say use the League to look outside the usual suspects but they would definite want to avoid relegation.
Post by: Zulu on March 28, 2009, 12:27:26 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 28, 2009, 11:54:35 AM
Still dont think a strong league is essential for the championship. Different managers will have different approaches and there's no perfect formula. Gilroy will be judged on what happens come August not now. Tyrone proved last year you dont have to have a good league to win the All Ireland. This is a pretty experienced Dublin team who have been involved in plenty of big games over the years and not been far away in a lot of them. Not sure what impact a few league wins would have come August.

Dead right TD, Dublin are a proven team that have fallen just short themselves over the past few years, haven't they generally been beaten by the eventual AI winners these past number of years (Mayo excepted)?

QuoteLook at kilkenny and kerry- they breed excellence by winning, winning and winning again.

But they do this by having such a massive pick of top quality players, look at the Kerry teams that have been picked so far this year in the league, indeed look at all the players they are missing for this game. They, like Kilkenny, can afford to be without some of their best players and still compete and win but the Dublin's of this world generally can't. But the only way to see if you have some undiscovered gem in your arsenal is to give them game time and Gilroy is doing this. He knows what Whelan brings to the party but he needs to find out if Magee can transfer his club form to IC level and what better way of doing it than against Kerry?
Post by: INDIANA on March 28, 2009, 03:42:05 PM
We haven't beaten a proven senior inter county team since 1995 Zulu -thats a statistical fact. So I can't agree Dublin are proven by beating bad laois teams, bad meath teams, and average wexford and westmeath teams. Dublin are nowhere near proven except in their own heads.
Post by: Zulu on March 28, 2009, 03:54:46 PM
In fairness Indiana ye also beat Derry, drew with Tyrone and ran Kerry to one or two points, I mean Mayo, Wexford, Down, Cork, Laois and Fermanagh have all beaten Kerry, Tyrone or Armagh in the past few years but I'd rate Dublin higher than all of those teams except Cork. I'm not saying Dublin have a brilliant team but ye do have a good one and Gilroy is using the league to try and find that extra bit of quality that might make the difference. I don't think it is there myself (well from what I've seen anyway) but he is right to try IMO and I think criticizing him for it is a bit harsh.
Post by: INDIANA on March 28, 2009, 04:08:37 PM
Its a general criticism Zulu and one i had of the previous management. A general ambivalence towards the league hasn't done us any favours since 1995. And I'm disappointed to see the torch being carried again in this regard.
Post by: Zulu on March 28, 2009, 04:14:48 PM
Well fair enough and I don't agree that the league being treated with ambivalence myself, especially for teams who haven't been successful recently but you have to look at players and it's often the only semi-competitive environment to do so.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 28, 2009, 05:48:02 PM
While wishing we did well in the league I said at the start if we find a full-back and 1 or 2 other starters for the championship then the league will be a success as far as I am concerned...

We have found a fullback (at least it looks like it) in Bastic who is playing well.
We have found potentially a decent corner back in Hubbard.
Brennan has had a number of games and has been seen to be more of a wingback than a centre back which is good.
Ross has had a number of games in midfield and is starting to settle in
James Brogan looked reasonable at wing back and has potential at wing back/wing forward
Dermot Connolly is getting more gametime and hopefully will start to show some more consistency.
Blaine Kelly has been tried and unfortunately doesn't look up to it...
Peadar Andrews has been tried at corner back and is now being played at corner forward and hopefully he will show his stuff and win a place.
Griffen is being tried at at CHB where he won a club All-Ireland, Magee at midfield and Davoren at full-forward - again more changes..

Both Brogans are/have been injured so its better not to risk hamstring damage to them
Guys like Fennell, Moran, Quinn, Flynn have been injured and the Crokes guys have been missing and other guys like Daly etc have also got gametime as subs

So we have tried guys in different positions, tried new players, new combinations etc and its far better to do this in the league rather than in the championship and not know what happens..
Post by: INDIANA on March 28, 2009, 06:49:48 PM
DSFM you're entitled to your views but they are over-optimistic in my view. The biggest problem with Dublin football is an inability and unwillingness to actually take a harsh reality view of where we are and move from there in all aspects within the county from underage to senior. We work from the premise that we are footballing superpower. Sadly that isn't the case. And until we actually take the view then we might return to former glories. Until then we'll be waiting.
Post by: Hound on March 28, 2009, 07:40:51 PM
I'd be with DFS on this. Particularly when a manager is in his first year, he has every right to experiment in the league. In fact he'd be silly not to. Pillar's team couldnt get there so new things have to be tried.
Post by: INDIANA on March 28, 2009, 10:25:25 PM
with kerry now in the final lets hope the kerry lads are on a well earned session tonight.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 29, 2009, 08:04:32 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 28, 2009, 06:49:48 PM
DSFM you're entitled to your views but they are over-optimistic in my view. The biggest problem with Dublin football is an inability and unwillingness to actually take a harsh reality view of where we are and move from there in all aspects within the county from underage to senior. We work from the premise that we are footballing superpower. Sadly that isn't the case. And until we actually take the view then we might return to former glories. Until then we'll be waiting.

Sorry but where am I over-optimistic there? I haven't said we will win anything or we are doing brilliantly or anything....I have said with a new manager we have to experiment and see what we can bring through and this is when to do it....The guys who have been there the last few years haven't done it so changes need to be made...

Your arguement is based on the whole structure of Gaelic Football in Dublin from underage upwards which is totally different to this discussion about the choices made by Gilroy at senior level which needs a rejig like we have done with underage hurling....
Post by: INDIANA on March 29, 2009, 10:45:27 AM
No Its not, its based from senior down and it includes the seniors. Thinking that we're going to turn it on come august while losing everything in sight up till then especially when we haven't the experience of actually winning somthing before is foolhardy in my view.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 29, 2009, 12:43:02 PM
So would your suggestion be that we play our best 15, try and win the league and then hope for the best in the championship??

Since 02 apart from Westmeath in 04 we have only lost to the teams that have made the All-Ireland finals and most years we lost to the winners so its not like we are losing to teams like Cork, Derry, Monaghan etc...
Post by: INDIANA on March 29, 2009, 12:46:44 PM
By the end of the season DSFM you'll agree with me. You've been wrong every year thus far and this year won;t be any different unfortunately.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 29, 2009, 01:04:51 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 29, 2009, 12:46:44 PM
By the end of the season DSFM you'll agree with me. You've been wrong every year thus far and this year won;t be any different unfortunately.

So what should Gilroy be doing in the league then??

The only teams who have gone from success in the league to this decade have been Tyrone/Kerry who are the best teams with the best players so that is understandable...Did Cavan benefit in 02, Laois in 03, Galway in 04, Armagh/Wexford in 05, Galway in 06, Donegal/Mayo in 07, Derry in 08?? None of these teams were successful in the championship
Post by: Zulu on March 29, 2009, 01:25:11 PM
Indiana I don't think anyone is saying Dublin will win Sam but the point that is being made is that Gilroy is correct to audition a large number of players because those that have been tried up to now haven't quite made the grade. Dublin have only been beaten by counties in the top 5 and primarily by the top 1 or 2. If Gilroy can find 3-4 players that can bring ye up a notch or two from previous years then, with a bit of luck, ye could do well. If Ross McConnell can make it at midfield I'd put Ryan back in the HB line and put Griffin or Hubbard in the corner and with the 2 Brongans, Connolly (if he shows consistency) and Keaney you have a fairly good looking team for the summer. Gilroy will be judged on the championship and IMO he is right to experiment in the league, however next year I would agree that he should use the league to try and build momentum and I would pick 11 or 12 of my best 15 for each game and try and win it. 
Post by: Jinxy on March 29, 2009, 03:12:47 PM
The Dubs are doing well even though they are missing a few players.
2 points up at half-time.
Davoren has the makings of a very good full forward when he puts a bit of muscle on.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 29, 2009, 03:18:59 PM
A great open game of football with some great points....Kerry fullback taken off after about 15 mins as getting destroyed it seemed (didn't look injured)...best Dublin performance so far in the league
Post by: tyroneboi on March 29, 2009, 03:34:23 PM
See Cooper taking a leaf out of the soccer boys with his waving of an imaginary card!!
Post by: Jinxy on March 29, 2009, 04:05:22 PM
At least he didn't belt someone in the ballax!  :D
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 29, 2009, 04:15:06 PM
Well a draw in the end in a game which we should have won....poor mistake by Brennan led to the Kerry goal which cost us the win but the performance was a major improvement and the league is starting to turn out to be successful in terms of bringing through some new players to the team/squad...

1 - Bastic has surely nailed down fullback after a near dominating performance on Donaghy today.
2 - Hubbard put in a good performance and seemed to have Sheehan in his pocket
3 - Ross McConnell showed why he is a far better midfielder than fullback..some decent fielding, great passing and some lovely scores.
4 - Darren Magee destroyed Scanlon today and will certainly feature in the summer
5 - Paddy Andrews if not starting will certainly be an option up front in the summer and looks a good corner/wing forward with scoring power
6 - Mark Davoren showed he can bring his club form to county football and if he keeps this up will start at 14 come the summer...6'5 tall with serious pace...
7 - Dermot Connolly is starting to put in the work to go with the talent and is proving to be a good free taker also...
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 29, 2009, 04:44:42 PM
We took it very easy on ye and ye still could not bate us  ;)

Good game of football which Pat McEneany left flow even if there were a few suspect tackles from both sides. But having played poorly and with a lot of bad passing and some dodgy shooting we are happy enough to come out of it with a draw. 5 Wins and draw now so roll on the Galway game.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 29, 2009, 04:55:47 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 29, 2009, 04:44:42 PM
We took it very easy on ye and ye still could not bate us  ;)

Good game of football which Pat McEneany left flow even if there were a few suspect tackles from both sides. But having played poorly and with a lot of bad passing and some dodgy shooting we are happy enough to come out of it with a draw. 5 Wins and draw now so roll on the Galway game.

Well you did have the ref on your side to help you out...

Any opinion on the Gooch copying Ronaldo and waving an imaginary yellow card in the air??
Post by: Canalman on March 29, 2009, 05:50:59 PM
Fair enough display against truth be told a Kerry team with nothing to play for. A disappointing last 20 minute collapse (again) marred a promising enough display. Dublin dominated the individual battles , yet failed to win....same old, same old.
Shocking mistake by Brennan for the goal. Conal Keaney was quiet as was Flynn. Diarmuid Connolly was average enough from play and given a lesson by Ó Sé at the end in being casual in tracking back.

Disappointed by Cooper acting the slieveen with the cardwaving gesture........allied to O'Mahony's "dive" last year......a serious issue in a county that prides itself on its Football......I wonder if the Kerry folk (not "Official Kerry") have any views on it?
Saw nothing on the box today to indicate that we have prospects this Summer except the fact that Kerry were far fitter at the end which might suggest that Dublin are trying the high risk gambit of "peaking" later on in the Summer.

Walsh is a tank of a man and Quirke turned midfield on his introduction.
Post by: Zulu on March 29, 2009, 06:01:09 PM
Jeez lads are the Dubs trying to corner the 'glass is half full' market?

Positives: Bastic looking pretty good at FB
             Hubbard really beginning to settle into his role
             Magee and McConnell looking like they might be realistic options at midfield
             Andrews and Davoren adding to the already impressive forward options

A lot of county's would swap places with ye lads and with the way the draw is if ye can get to the Leinster final some of the bigger fish could be gone before you'd have to worry about them.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 29, 2009, 06:19:48 PM
Quote from: Canalman on March 29, 2009, 05:50:59 PM
Fair enough display against truth be told a Kerry team with nothing to play for. A disappointing last 20 minute collapse (again) marred a promising enough display. Dublin dominated the individual battles , yet failed to win....same old, same old.
Shocking mistake by Brennan for the goal. Conal Keaney was quiet as was Flynn. Diarmuid Connolly was average enough from play and given a lesson by Ó Sé at the end in being casual in tracking back.

Disappointed by Cooper acting the slieveen with the cardwaving gesture........allied to O'Mahony's "dive" last year......a serious issue in a county that prides itself on its Football......I wonder if the Kerry folk (not "Official Kerry") have any views on it?
Saw nothing on the box today to indicate that we have prospects this Summer except the fact that Kerry were far fitter at the end which might suggest that Dublin are trying the high risk gambit of "peaking" later on in the Summer.

Walsh is a tank of a man and Quirke turned midfield on his introduction.

Canalman - A Kerry team with so many options that they can't take chances or risk losing their places...and you say they had nothing to play for...

A last 20 mins collapse where if not for a bad mistake for the goal we would have won or a bit of luck with Brogan hitting the post...remember Kerry were throwing on guys with All-Ireland like O'Sullivan and Quirke etc while we had to throw on guys with little/no experience due to injuries/resting players etc...

Scoring 1-15 against Kerry without Alan Brogan, Bernard Brogan, Mark Vaughan, Thomas Quinn, Ciaran Whelan, Shane Ryan playing isn't a decent sign???

Midfield started going Kerry's way when Ross went off injured..
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 29, 2009, 06:40:37 PM
QuoteAny opinion on the Gooch copying Ronaldo and waving an imaginary yellow card in the air??

No place for that shite in the GAA , he should concentrate on what he does best, taking on and beating defenders.

Had to laugh at Brogans wavying a fist at his imaginary point , he should make sure the ball is over the bar before that crap.

Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 29, 2009, 07:08:38 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 29, 2009, 06:40:37 PM
QuoteAny opinion on the Gooch copying Ronaldo and waving an imaginary yellow card in the air??

No place for that shite in the GAA , he should concentrate on what he does best, taking on and beating defenders.

Had to laugh at Brogans wavying a fist at his imaginary point , he should make sure the ball is over the bar before that crap.

You mean just like Sean O'Sullivan as well ??
Post by: INDIANA on March 29, 2009, 08:11:17 PM
Didn't see the game- Dublin play better when I'm not there anyway. I'm heartbroken after semple stadium today anyway. Dublin obviously played very well- far beyond what I expected them to do because I really don't rate a lot of the guys being tried out but we can all be wrong. But we blew a lead again and still conceded 1-15- same old problems. Whether they can be rectified come summer is another thing. But at least the management at the 5th time of asking managed to play Paddy Andrews in his best position. As regards Shane Ryan - out of the frame. Midfield will be 2 from whelan,ross.magee and fennell.
Post by: Coddler on March 29, 2009, 08:16:22 PM
Great performance today from the Dubs but disappointing not to get the win which they deserved.
I think McConnell going off injured was the turning point as Kerry seemed to win out in the midfield after that.
Magee had a fine game but was tiring at that stage.
Connolly looks comfortale onr the long range frees which is bad news for Vaughan
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 29, 2009, 08:18:58 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 29, 2009, 08:11:17 PM
Didn't see the game- Dublin play better when I'm not there anyway. I'm heartbroken after semple stadium today anyway. Dublin obviously played very well- far beyond what I expected them to do because I really don't rate a lot of the guys being tried out but we can all be wrong. But we blew a lead again and still conceded 1-15- same old problems. Whether they can be rectified come summer is another thing. But at least the management at the 5th time of asking managed to play Paddy Andrews in his best position. As regards Shane Ryan - out of the frame. Midfield will be 2 from whelan,ross.magee and fennell.

Indiana - Dublin drew cause of 3 very silly mistakes to he honest...Henry literally handed Walsh the ball at one point for a simple point....Flynn got blocked down far to easily for another point and Brennan dropped a simple catch that cost us the goal without which we would have won....We were also hampered with Ross having to go off injured with 10/15 mins to go which cost us our midfield dominance and then Henry also going off injured...You also missed Pats liberal interpretation of what is a free against a Dublin player compared to against a Kerry player....

Davoren played really well scoring 1-3 and should have had a 2nd goal - caused O'Shea to be taken off after about 15/20 mins of the first half.....Andrews did well up front also, Ross/Magee dominated midfield and Kerry replaced both midfielders...Bastic outplayed Donaghy also so some good sign...Cullen did as well as could be expected against Walsh who is just a beast of a man..
Post by: Hound on March 29, 2009, 08:32:21 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 29, 2009, 06:40:37 PM

How ironic is that given O'Sullivan's histrionics with the last meaningful kick of the game!!!

Very pleased with Dublin's performance.

Kerry played McEnenany very well. When a team is more than 3 points ahead he'll always give the losing team soft frees, and Kerry took full advantage of that.

McConnell going off injured coincided with Magee disappearing through tiredness and that gave Kerry enough ball to come back. Easy picking for the big Kerry subs in midfield for the last quarter. I thought Magee was nearly as much as fault for the goal as Brennan, as he caught the ball then dropped it, and that led to the goal. But Magee had been very good for the first 50 mins or so. Ryan was awful when he came on - he was supposed to be giving Cluxton an option for kick outs, but he made his runs miles too early.

Davoren is a fine footballer. His two points were absolute gems. Not sure he's enough of a physical presence for championship, but he's definitely an option.
I was actually expecting more from Paddy Andrews. A half yard extra in pace and he'd be deadly. But he knows where the posts are and he's still young so more to come probably.
Burke did reasonably well. A better option than Bonner for 11 IMO.
Connolly was good, Flynn had a poor 2nd half and should have got the line sooner.

Bastick v Donaghy and Henry v Gooch were superb battles in the 2nd half.
I was very satisfied with the entire Dublin defence, albeit there was the odd individual error. 7 good options for 6 spots. Cahill will come back and I think Hubbard has done enough so it'll be between Cullen and Brennan for the last spot v Meath.
Thought the Kerry FB line was poor, and we probably didnt expose them enough because the quality of ball into the full forward line wasn't good enough.

Kerry clearly werent at their best, but you could tell by the reactions after late scores (and wides!) that they wanted to win, so it was a timely reminder that they are not infalliable. No team in the country is.

Post by: Hound on March 29, 2009, 08:37:12 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 29, 2009, 08:18:58 PM
Cullen did as well as could be expected against Walsh who is just a beast of a man..
That was another great battle. Walsh won overall, but as you say Cullen did nothing wrong.

That Moran lad for Kerry kicked two super points in the first half and caught a couple of good ball too. Our lads eventually got on top of him but he's goina be a proper player.
Post by: magickingdom on March 29, 2009, 09:07:53 PM
surprised at how sloppy kerry were in the first half some bad passes thrown in there. thought t griffin was superb quirke o mahanoy and p galvin (back to his best!). rest of the half forwards didnt get going. anyone know what injury tadhg kennely has? i was looking forward to seeing him in action.
Post by: Seamus on March 30, 2009, 12:30:17 AM
Tadhg pulled a muscle.

Aidan O'Shea was not taken off, he went off injured. He was playing well at he time contrary to other opinions.  Padraig Reidy was probably having his best game in a Kerry jersey until he went off with what looks like a serious knee injury. This disrupted the full back line.  

Very surprised Seamus Scanlon came out in the second half with David Moran moved from midfield eventually to be replaced.  David kicked two excellent points in the first half and was one of Kerry's better players. He unfairly paid for a few errant passes as he had plenty of company in that department. Anthony Maher was very impressive when introduced. He is far more mobile and positive than Seamus Scanlon. Maher along with Moran should be in pole position for the midfield starting championship spots at the moment with Darragh yet to make an appearance.

Dublin can take a lot of positives from this game.

Post by: INDIANA on March 30, 2009, 04:20:40 PM
Watched a re-run last night. I think Kerry have a couple of problems. I think midfield for them is going to be a huge issue. In my view they need Donaghy out there. They also have a complete lack of mobility in their full forward line. The twin towers experiment is over- its either TW or Donaghy in the FF line. Currently I'd plump for Walsh and move Donaghy to midfield. They also need another pacey forward in the ff line like O Sullivan who was there best player yesterday in my view.
Full back line is a huge concern for them. I don't know what they will do at full back. Seem to be all out of options there. Not sure they have many specialist man markers either. Based on what I've seen IF Tyrone get everyone fit and available. This years All-Ireland is there's to lose. I thin O Connor has a job on his hands to get Kerry back to their level as I think Tyrone have a better team than last Year. Not sure kerry do.
Bit rich for a Dublin man to be saying this about Kerry but I've discounted our chances of being there in September.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on March 30, 2009, 05:09:11 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 30, 2009, 04:20:40 PM
Watched a re-run last night. I think Kerry have a couple of problems. I think midfield for them is going to be a huge issue. In my view they need Donaghy out there. They also have a complete lack of mobility in their full forward line. The twin towers experiment is over- its either TW or Donaghy in the FF line. Currently I'd plump for Walsh and move Donaghy to midfield. They also need another pacey forward in the ff line like O Sullivan who was there best player yesterday in my view.
Full back line is a huge concern for them. I don't know what they will do at full back. Seem to be all out of options there. Not sure they have many specialist man markers either. Based on what I've seen IF Tyrone get everyone fit and available. This years All-Ireland is there's to lose. I thin O Connor has a job on his hands to get Kerry back to their level as I think Tyrone have a better team than last Year. Not sure kerry do.
Bit rich for a Dublin man to be saying this about Kerry but I've discounted our chances of being there in September.

Tadgh Kennelly at full back in my opinion would be their best option, Fast,6'2 and athletic and he can tackle, what more could you want off a full back
i think they should leave Donaghy at Full forward and play Gooch and Darren O Sullivan off him.
Tommy Walsh in the half forward line.
Either Maher or Moran to partner Darragh in the championship.
Kerry will be there or thereabouts in August/September.

I was most impressed with Dublin to be honest,i had written them off as non contenders this year,but i might just have to look at that again
Bastick done a great job on Star with the exception of the last point when he fell.
Ross O Connell looks like a real option at midfield, im delighted for him after the stick he took playing at full back last year.
Good to see Darren Magee back,He got a raw deal in years gone by.
I seriously think Dublin should keep this duo as a partnership for the championship and look at maybe playing Whelan as a targetman inside who you could bring outfield if things were going wrong.

Kilmacud duo,Burke and Davoren are two fine players although Davoren looks very light and would need to bulk up.
Paddy Andrews showed glimpses of his undoubted ability.
Post by: INDIANA on March 30, 2009, 05:41:41 PM
I know I've only seen highlights but for all that we still didn't win. I just don't see us beating the likes of Tyrone when push comes to shove and the likes of Kildare will fancy themselves in Leinster this year. Not sure Kerry really shook themselves yesterday either- think saturday took from them a bit. But they upped it when they had to. Credit to Dublin but I'd still have issues defensively. Can't seem to keep good forward lines down to 1-10.
Still I don't see Kerry beating Tyrone either at the moment. Full back really is a massive problem for them. And midfield too. A midfield of Donaghy and O Se would block the sunlight out and dominate midfield for me. The Star at FF has become miles too predictable at this stgae. TW is impossible to play under the high ball- you'd need a JCB to knock him off the ball. I actually think he's unmarkable when he gets the ball. Scary talent in my view- bit like Canning.
Post by: Puckoon on March 30, 2009, 05:43:21 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 30, 2009, 05:41:41 PM
I know I've only seen highlights but for all that we still didn't win. I just don't see us beating the likes of Tyrone when push comes to shove and the likes of Kildare will fancy themselves in Leinster this year. Not sure Kerry really shook themselves yesterday either- think saturday took from them a bit. But they upped it when they had to. Credit to Dublin but I'd still have issues defensively. Can't seem to keep good forward lines down to 1-10.
Still I don't see Kerry beating Tyrone either at the moment. Full back really is a massive problem for them. And midfield too. A midfield of Donaghy and O Se would block the sunlight out and dominate midfield for me. The Star at FF has become miles too predictable at this stgae. TW is impossible to play under the high ball- you'd need a JCB to knock him off the ball. I actually think he's unmarkable when he gets the ball. Scary talent in my view- bit like Canning.

They just did! Destroyed us in the first half.
Post by: London 2012 on March 30, 2009, 11:49:29 PM
Haven't seen Kerry play so poorly for a long long time. When I saw the teams I put a 'few' pounds (sterling) on Kerry to win and got my fingers burnt! I think Kerry must of got demotivated when they seen the dublin team sheet and thought they would win easy. They were so lethargic and played so sloppily! Their play was so slow and laboured. I remember walsh running with the ball over the 45 in the first half and he was barely jogging, you see more pace in a training match.