GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: red hander on March 04, 2009, 12:50:34 PM

Title: Rival GAA fans clash following night out
Post by: red hander on March 04, 2009, 12:50:34 PM
From today's Irish News

A brawl between hundreds of Armagh and Tyrone GAA fans has been described as "unsporting" and "unnecessary".

Four people were arrested for disorderly behaviour and resisting police after the rival fans, numbering up to 250 at one point, were involved in a skirmish in the Scotch Street area of the town around 1am on Sunday.

Police said it followed a disagreement between Armagh and Tyrone GAA supporters.

It is understood the fans had arrived by bus for a night out in the Co Tyrone town.

Inspector Stephen Moneypenny from Dungannon station said the atmosphere had become "quite hostile and aggressive" between the groups.

Sinn Fein councillor Larry McLarnon condemned the brawl describing it as "unsporting" and "unnecessary".

"This sort of behaviour reflects very badly on the sport.  It's the sort of thing that brings the GAA into disrepute," he said.

There was no match on the Saturday night before and a spokesman for Tyrone GAA said they could not account for everyone who follows the team on a night out not associated with a match.
Title: Re: Rival GAA fans clash following night out
Post by: thejuice on March 04, 2009, 12:57:56 PM
Sad day for the GAA for this to happen. I wonder just how related it is to the GAA, or was it more a case of 'out-of-town' folk and locals getting in rows after too much booze. Hopefully we dont see any of this behavior at games in the future. don't need this nonsense going on.
Post by: Zapatista on March 04, 2009, 01:01:34 PM
I find this very hard to believe.
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 04, 2009, 01:02:23 PM
Spurious link at best, the GAA as an organisation and Armagh & Tyrone County boards in particular cannot be held responsible for everyone who call themselves 'GAA fans'.  Idiots are idiots no matter what sport they follow.
Post by: Donagh on March 04, 2009, 01:04:14 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on March 04, 2009, 01:01:34 PM

As do I. Who would go to Dungannon for a night out?
Post by: Canalman on March 04, 2009, 01:04:51 PM
Not really sure this can be described as a "GAA fans clash". Where is the GAA connection??????

Anyway, this would be a 4 pager by now if a non northern pair of countiies "were involved". Elephant in Parlour syndrome .
Post by: Minder on March 04, 2009, 01:07:12 PM
Mucksavages
Post by: red hander on March 04, 2009, 01:09:18 PM
Quote from: Donagh on March 04, 2009, 01:04:14 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on March 04, 2009, 01:01:34 PM

As do I. Who would go to Dungannon for a night out?

:D :D :D :D

You come to Dungannon any night and we'll show you a great time.  I find the 'GAA' link in this very spurious...
Post by: tyrone86 on March 04, 2009, 01:11:39 PM
I don't get any GAA connection myself.

I'm sure if the reporter or the peelers had been so inclined the headline "Irish Rugby fans brawl amongst themselves" could have been used. It wouldn't be any more or less difficult to disprove than the above.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2009, 01:13:26 PM
Out of towners clash with locals, and because they each happen to be supporters of their respective GAA teams, it becomes GAA mass brawl thang. Bullsh*t.
Post by: orangeman on March 04, 2009, 01:19:35 PM
This story is entirely wrong.
Post by: Celt_Man on March 04, 2009, 01:19:44 PM
Absolutely ridiculous.... two groups of people fighting who also happen to support GAA, I'd say it's a safe bet they are soccer fans as well maybe even rugby too so does not mean that it should be rugby fans clash or soccer fans clash (not that that ever happened before!!)
In the interest of fairness the journalist in question should have polled the boyos involved and listed all their sports and interests lest some sport was left out....
Imagine if two boys on the opposing sides like chess....
Chess fans clash!!!  :D

The country is going down the toilet and this is what passes for news.... jaysus
Post by: Orior on March 04, 2009, 01:23:39 PM
Even if it was a bus load of players from Harps, or Keady or Silverbridge, then its still a stretch to label it as GAA violence
Post by: Maguire01 on March 04, 2009, 01:25:11 PM
Were they wearing GAA tops? That's the only way i could see any link being made. The SF rep has obviously made some link, judging by his comment.
Post by: Final Whistle on March 04, 2009, 01:28:13 PM
Quote from: red hander on March 04, 2009, 12:50:34 PM
From today's Irish News

A brawl between hundreds of Armagh and Tyrone GAA fans has been described as "unsporting" and "unnecessary".

Four people were arrested for disorderly behaviour and resisting police after the rival fans, numbering up to 250 at one point, were involved in a skirmish in the Scotch Street area of the town around 1am on Sunday.

Police said it followed a disagreement between Armagh and Tyrone GAA supporters.

It is understood the fans had arrived by bus for a night out in the Co Tyrone town.

Inspector Stephen Moneypenny from Dungannon station said the atmosphere had become "quite hostile and aggressive" between the groups.

Sinn Fein councillor Larry McLarnon condemned the brawl describing it as "unsporting" and "unnecessary".

"This sort of behaviour reflects very badly on the sport.  It's the sort of thing that brings the GAA into disrepute," he said.

There was no match on the Saturday night before and a spokesman for Tyrone GAA said they could not account for everyone who follows the team on a night out not associated with a match.

That c*nt gave me my first and only three penalty points!!!
Post by: nrico2006 on March 04, 2009, 01:30:37 PM
QuoteOut of towners clash with locals, and because they each happen to be supporters of their respective GAA teams, it becomes GAA mass brawl thang. Bullsh*t.

The brawl may have happened, but on a normal night out I can't really see what GAA team you support as the means for a row starting, and certainly not 2 huge gangs forming for each team - laughable!  This kind of craic happens all over the country and its more to do with drunk lads wanting to box with out of towners etc.  If a row of similar stature happened in Coleraine between people from Ballymena would it also be headlined as a brawl between Antrim and Derry GAA fans??  I doubt it would, so why should this example be linked with the GAA?
Post by: corn02 on March 04, 2009, 01:32:03 PM
I remember a lot of baiting beween Tyroneis in Armagh ones in Renshaws shortly after 03 final. One Armagh player was in attendance and he must of skelped about 10 Tyrone men by himself.  :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 04, 2009, 01:38:53 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 04, 2009, 01:25:11 PM
Were they wearing GAA tops? That's the only way i could see any link being made. The SF rep has obviously made some link, judging by his comment.
Strange as it may seem maybe the police interviewed the people involved and ascertained some facts about the brawl before commenting e.g. "some Tyrone hallion came up and said he took 1-3 off Mickey's da in the '79 final so Mickey stuck the head in him and then all hell broke loose when some bushy eye-browed fella appeared and started grabbing everyone by the balls". Maybe.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 04, 2009, 01:44:07 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 04, 2009, 01:41:47 PM
I think whoever sold this to the Irish news may well have more pups for sale.  Theres no GAA connection there at all unless we wish for one - and somebody does.  Theres more chance of the bould Portuguese bating the Armagh men up and down scotch street, than getting a carload of Tyrone fans out of the whole place.  How the feck could ye tell they were Armagh men (eyes closer together/ orange hair/ pee smell / or Tyrone men Monobrows / ballgroping /beardy types is beyond me.   Its not as if they were wearing hats, scarves or headbands.  If they had said a group of rival nationalist youths, would it have made any difference?  
Ger Cavlan?
Post by: SidelineKick on March 04, 2009, 01:47:02 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 04, 2009, 01:44:07 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 04, 2009, 01:41:47 PM
I think whoever sold this to the Irish news may well have more pups for sale.  Theres no GAA connection there at all unless we wish for one - and somebody does.  Theres more chance of the bould Portuguese bating the Armagh men up and down scotch street, than getting a carload of Tyrone fans out of the whole place.  How the feck could ye tell they were Armagh men (eyes closer together/ orange hair/ pee smell / or Tyrone men Monobrows / ballgroping /beardy types is beyond me.   Its not as if they were wearing hats, scarves or headbands.  If they had said a group of rival nationalist youths, would it have made any difference?  
Ger Cavlan?

Post by: full back on March 04, 2009, 01:52:53 PM
Load of bollix
Lazy journalism willing to do anything to sell more papers
Post by: rrhf on March 04, 2009, 01:57:00 PM
I think whoever sold this to the Irish news may well have more pups for sale.  Theres no GAA connection there at all unless we wish for one - and somebody does.  Theres more chance of the bould Portuguese bating the Armagh men up and down scotch street, than getting a carload of Tyrone fans out of the whole place.  How the feck could ye tell they were Armagh men (eyes closer together/ orange hair/ pee smell / or Tyrone men Monobrows / ballgroping /beardy types is beyond me.   Its not as if they were wearing hats, scarves or headbands.  If they had said a group of rival nationalist youths, would it have made any difference.
A Gaa source stated the this evening "I would like to assure Armagh people that they are more than welcome to come to Tyrone without fear of a (lynch)ing.  We still remember their great sporting achievement after their long grim (ley) period in the wilderness, and we look forward to bating them wher it should happen -  on the field in the championship"  
Post by: SidelineKick on March 04, 2009, 02:02:59 PM
This will certainly be one for the BBC and UTV to give air time to.  They'll possible do a reconstruction!
Post by: Zapatista on March 04, 2009, 02:05:10 PM

Are we not are all of the opinion the report has no credibility?
Post by: BennyHarp on March 04, 2009, 02:06:35 PM
Whats this got to do with the GAA, as someone already pointed out - these people are probably also rugby and soccer fans - why does the GAA element get highlghted? I could perhaps see why of this had occurred after the all-ireland final in 2003 or semi in 2005 or even a league game, but there is no link to the GAA at all! I rememeber going to the Drumsill when i was youner where Dungannon lads and Armagh lads used to get into fights all the time - was this GAA related? No - it was idiot related!!
Post by: thejuice on March 04, 2009, 02:14:52 PM
It smells of pure bullshite to me but I'd love to know what made Larry McLarnon link it to the GAA. Was he just called by the Irish News for a response, or was he on the scene and which side was he on Armaghs or Tyrones?
Post by: SidelineKick on March 04, 2009, 02:16:05 PM
Maybe his RUC friends put him up to it  :o
Post by: illdecide on March 04, 2009, 02:17:39 PM
i heard Mugsey came in and scaped a few of the floor... :D :D
Post by: bennydorano on March 04, 2009, 03:30:15 PM
I assume it was a bunch of spotty 17 yr olds beatin the tar out of each other outside The Fort bar?

If thats their definition of rival GAA fans fighting, it's been going on for donkeys years.  Outside  Balckwatertown disco on a Sunday nights 20 odd years ago there was regular murder between Armagh & Coalisland ones.  Ditto for Drumsill/Arena a few years later.  Rival GAA fans me hole.
Post by: Onion Bag on March 04, 2009, 03:44:25 PM
This is a pile of Horse Shit, wouldnt read much into it
Post by: T O Hare on March 04, 2009, 03:46:38 PM
The Irish news should have been to laceys in its hayday :D :D :D ;D
Post by: Onion Bag on March 04, 2009, 03:49:37 PM
Have to say i was at both Laceys and the Arena on more than enough occasions and the latter was by far the worse for boxing, holy f**k it was like the Afghanistan every Sat night
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 04, 2009, 03:50:36 PM
Derryhirk never mind!Back in the day SW antrim's finest took on anything N.Armagh had to offer! And got beat! :P
Post by: T O Hare on March 04, 2009, 03:54:15 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 04, 2009, 03:49:37 PM
Have to say i was at both Laceys and the Arena on more than enough occasions and the latter was by far the worse for boxing, holy f**k it was like the Afghanistan every Sat night

the Arena was a scary place to walk out off, its my idea of walking the green mile!!!!!
Post by: cadhlancian on March 04, 2009, 04:01:13 PM
DELETE THIS POST PLEASE >:(
Post by: Onion Bag on March 04, 2009, 04:01:25 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on March 04, 2009, 03:54:15 PM

the Arena was a scary place to walk out off, its my idea of walking the green mile!!!!!

:D :D :D

I know exactly what you mean
Post by: Onion Bag on March 04, 2009, 04:01:52 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on March 04, 2009, 04:01:13 PM

What?
Post by: red hander on March 04, 2009, 04:19:16 PM

Eh?
Post by: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 04:32:09 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2009, 01:13:26 PM
Out of towners clash with locals, and because they each happen to be supporters of their respective GAA teams, it becomes GAA mass brawl thang. Bullsh*t.

Does that mean a load of armagh men were fightin with the portugese?
Post by: Final Whistle on March 04, 2009, 05:26:13 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 04, 2009, 04:01:25 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on March 04, 2009, 03:54:15 PM

:D :D :D

I know exactly what you mean

Dem were the days though, no one could ever spell recession!!!
Post by: cadhlancian on March 04, 2009, 06:16:00 PM
Quote from: red hander on March 04, 2009, 04:19:16 PM

Eh?
this is a ridiculous thread, we all know its horsedung, just delete it and be done with it
Post by: leenie on March 04, 2009, 08:11:28 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 04:32:09 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2009, 01:13:26 PM

Does that mean a load of armagh men were fightin with the portugese?

:D :D :D :D
man i went to dungannon on fri nite .... minus the craic then!
Post by: Midman on March 04, 2009, 08:21:43 PM
Ahh memories of the Arena, Blackwatertown boys who hunted in packs, gettin randomly skelped for not having a short front, back, sides, top and bottom haircut  :P Drinking a carryout walking out the old Moy road was quality though ;D
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 04, 2009, 08:28:42 PM
This may be a bullshit story but I don't think the Gaa is far from an incident like this. To go to Clones on a matchday and see the slobbering drunken imbiciles that go along to drink and fall around the place has to be seen to be believed. I'm afraid Armagh and Tyrone would be the worst offenders in my experience. Most likely these are bandwagon jumpers that land at a match when things go well for the team, but when a major row happens the spotlight will be shone on the GAA and not on the small proportion of drunk sunshine supporters that cause the problems,
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 04, 2009, 08:49:12 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 04, 2009, 08:28:42 PM
This may be a bullshit story but I don't think the Gaa is far from an incident like this. To go to Clones on a matchday and see the slobbering drunken imbiciles that go along to drink and fall around the place has to be seen to be believed. I'm afraid Armagh and Tyrone would be the worst offenders in my experience. Most likely these are bandwagon jumpers that land at a match when things go well for the team, but when a major row happens the spotlight will be shone on the GAA and not on the small proportion of drunk sunshine supporters that cause the problems,
I honestly feel that Armagh 'supporters' are worst for this or it could be that they embarrass me so much that I notice them more, vomiting and pissing everywhere with a carryout in one hand and a spliff in the other.
Post by: puc me on March 04, 2009, 09:26:32 PM
this story was in the tyrone times yesterday, i live down the road and i never heard a thing about it ???
Post by: magickingdom on March 04, 2009, 09:55:35 PM
i remember the nypd trying to seperate tyrone and armagh fans in the bronx in 1985 or 86 ;D
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 04, 2009, 10:20:24 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 04, 2009, 08:49:12 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 04, 2009, 08:28:42 PM
I honestly feel that Armagh 'supporters' are worst for this or it could be that they embarrass me so much that I notice them more, vomiting and pissing everywhere with a carryout in one hand and a spliff in the other.

Definitely agree. Unfortunately there's always a strong Lurgan contingent (not to single them out-get them from all over the county) and I know its going to be bad when I see dozens of lads I know who couldn't name 2 players on the squad donning their 2001 13/14 size jerseys swilling from buckfast bottles.
Post by: Onion Bag on March 05, 2009, 11:42:45 AM
There is a minority in every county in Ireland, and come match day you see them no matter what, lying stone drunk in beer gardens and making shows of themselves, cant put it down to anyone one or two particular counties, these wankers are everywhere and they give the whole county a bad reputation
Post by: Lecale2 on March 05, 2009, 11:48:54 AM
Crimewatch BBC NI Special. 8.00pm tonight.
Post by: red hander on March 05, 2009, 12:16:53 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 05, 2009, 12:04:27 PM
Please dont say it is going to show this so called riot

I think he's extracting the urine, OB
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 05, 2009, 01:05:44 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 05, 2009, 12:18:37 PM
::) ::) ::)

feel a wee bit silly
I don't think anyone noticed - go on and modify/delete your post ;-)
Post by: corn02 on March 05, 2009, 01:11:29 PM
Feck the Arena or Laceys, the Relic was the worst of the lot so we have to include the Down crew in this argument.  :P

Armagh fans are the worse I have encountered for loutish behaviour - Tyrone not too far behind - the amount of Tyrone scumbags in the Hill in the 03 final was incredible, but overall Armagh win this coveted title.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 05, 2009, 01:52:53 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on March 04, 2009, 02:05:10 PM

Are we not are all of the opinion the report has no credibility?
Just to clarify - i agree with you. I'm just surprised that a SF rep would appear to validate the story by his comments.
Post by: Onion Bag on March 05, 2009, 02:48:33 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 05, 2009, 01:05:44 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 05, 2009, 12:18:37 PM
::) ::) ::)

feel a wee bit silly
I don't think anyone noticed - go on and modify/delete your post ;-)

Cheers Tony, got that off the board b4 anyone started
Post by: bingobus on March 05, 2009, 03:47:51 PM
Disgusting stuff.

Both county's should be banned for at least a year from Ulster championship.

(Now, if can organise a bus from Donegal into Derry for a bit of the tear up, the Anglo Celt will be ours, ALL OURS I TELL YOU, HAH HAHA HAHAHAHAHAHA  ;D )
Post by: Onion Bag on March 05, 2009, 03:50:47 PM
Quote from: corn02 on March 05, 2009, 01:11:29 PM
Feck the Arena or Laceys, the Relic was the worst of the lot so we have to include the Down crew in this argument.  :P

Armagh fans are the worse I have encountered for loutish behaviour - Tyrone not too far behind - the amount of Tyrone scumbags in the Hill in the 03 final was incredible, but overall Armagh win this coveted title.

The Arena was by far the worse for boxing than the relic and laceys, and it wasnt always Armagh or Tyrone lads, a lot of the time it was bus loads of Belfast lads and lassies, f**k there used to be some killing sessions, i remember one night the chip van got rolled over aginst the wall,
Post by: RMDrive on March 05, 2009, 04:08:06 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 05, 2009, 03:50:47 PM
f**k there used to be some killing sessions, i remember one night the chip van got rolled over aginst the wall,

They deserved it for running out of vinegar. Bet they haven't run out since.
Post by: cadhlancian on March 05, 2009, 04:30:56 PM
Lads and lassies, no mention of the daddy of them all, "The Glengannon Hotel" was always a savage place to go to if you fancied throwing the mits up. Many a brutal beating given and taken in that place ;D
Post by: Onion Bag on March 05, 2009, 04:50:23 PM
I remember one night i was @ the Arena an all merciful row broke out dont know who was boxing who but there was a fella got a brave beating and an ambulance was called, the ambulance near got wrecked when it arrived, buses getting windows put through, fellas running round with Wheel braces and chains, holy f**k, it would have scared the life out of ye
Post by: ziggysego on March 05, 2009, 04:52:08 PM
Bet it's those BBC cnuts dressed up as GAA fans to create a story.
Post by: corn02 on March 05, 2009, 04:57:09 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 05, 2009, 04:50:23 PM
I remember one night i was @ the Arena an all merciful row broke out dont know who was boxing who but there was a fella got a brave beating and an ambulance was called, the ambulance near got wrecked when it arrived, buses getting windows put through, fellas running round with Wheel braces and chains, holy f**k, it would have scared the life out of ye

Yip happened in Laceys one night. Couple of Dundalk boys jumped a few people with wheel braces and tables turned and they took a bad one. You couldn't even do anything because there was about 10 boys going around with weapons - don't think i went back after that - sickening.
Post by: The Gs Man on March 05, 2009, 09:29:44 PM
Jaysus lads, any time I was at the Arena we done nothing but hug each other!
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 05, 2009, 10:17:15 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on March 05, 2009, 09:29:44 PM
Just look at the fun you missed out on.
Post by: stiffler on March 05, 2009, 10:19:34 PM
Anyone mind the paddys day riot outside of dukes/renshaws circa 2001/02??

Heard talk of there was over 100 scrapping with the police, the riot squad was called in....good few lads ended up in the slammer for the night!
Post by: The Gs Man on March 05, 2009, 11:08:35 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 05, 2009, 10:17:15 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on March 05, 2009, 09:29:44 PM
Just look at the fun you missed out on.

Im a lover, not a fighter.
Post by: Onion Bag on March 06, 2009, 08:33:56 AM
Quote from: stiffler on March 05, 2009, 10:19:34 PM
Anyone mind the paddys day riot outside of dukes/renshaws circa 2001/02??

Heard talk of there was over 100 scrapping with the police, the riot squad was called in....good few lads ended up in the slammer for the night!

I was there, some craic, it actually headlined the 6 news the following evening, there was a skip couped and the bricks were flying,
Post by: orangeman on March 08, 2009, 01:53:16 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 08, 2009, 01:43:26 PM
You might have seen this on Tabloid News if it had been picked up:

Tyrone Fans Attacked by Armagh Rivals

On Wednesday evening during the Omagh CBS - St Mary's CBS match at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh, all the cars parked on Dalton Park outside the main entrance to the Athletic Grounds were vandalised by someone who keyed every car along the length of the street from the gate to Irish Street.  Virtually all of the cars belonged to supporters of the Tyrone school.  Many of the car owners did not realise the extent of the vandalism until the next day. Hence, no reports to the police or press.

Cars vandalised by disgruntled residents - would this be more appropriate?

Bastards !
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 08, 2009, 02:41:06 PM
That's desperate TYP  :(
Post by: orangeman on March 08, 2009, 04:35:44 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 08, 2009, 02:13:14 PM
Myself and 2 other teachers were included along with several parents of the boys playing.

Did you bring this to the attention of the GAA / Athletic grounds ? If so, what did they say / do ??
Post by: under the bar on March 08, 2009, 04:37:46 PM
Quoteall the cars parked on Dalton Park outside the main entrance to the Athletic Grounds were vandalised by someone who keyed every car along the length of the street from the gate to Irish Street.

I honestly dont think I could control myself if I caught someone doing the likes of that.  I'd probably beat them unconscious.
Post by: bennydorano on March 08, 2009, 04:45:43 PM
Heard the 'GAA rivals' fighting were a busload of Yr12 St Pat's Keady students.
Post by: orangeman on March 08, 2009, 04:48:20 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 08, 2009, 04:42:38 PM
By the time I was leaving the ground there was virtually no one around.  I heard about the others the next day.

No point in raising it with the Armagh authorities, they are already in dispute with the residents who immediately lit their smokey fires when the lights went on.  Mind you I just will drop a letter to all concerned not that I expect any result.

What is the disputes with the residents about ?
Post by: orangeman on March 08, 2009, 04:57:34 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 08, 2009, 04:51:05 PM
I think it is something to do with the development of the terracing behind their houses, they are unhappy with it.

Scraping cars is pathetic.