GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: screenexile on February 09, 2009, 01:10:11 PM

Title: Doíre -v- An Iarmhí, Baile na Scríne, 15.02.2009
Post by: screenexile on February 09, 2009, 01:10:11 PM
Another big game for us on our home patch and a win here could mean we ensure our safety fairly quickly. Qill more than likely be a tough game though and Screen's pitch isn't in the best condition although Westmeath are coming off the back of a home defeat to Galway so we should be looking to rub salt in the wounds.

Are Westmeath missing many players? We're still a few down but the lads that have come in can do a job and I believe Paddy Bradley is starting to get his fitness back so things are on the way up. Should hopefully be a decent match.
Title: Re: Doíre -v- An Iarmhí, Baile na Scríne, 15.02.2009
Post by: Spirit of 94 on February 09, 2009, 01:15:05 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 09, 2009, 01:10:11 PM
Another big game for us on our hoe patch and a win here could mean we ensure our safety fairly quickly. Qill more than likely be a tough game though and Screen's pitch isn't in the best condition although Westmeath are coming off the back of a home defeat to Galway so we should be looking to rub salt in the wounds.

Are Westmeath missing many players? We're still a few down but the lads that have come in can do a job and I believe Paddy Bradley is starting to get his fitness back so things are on the way up. Should hopefully be a decent match.

That's what we call it too. :D
Post by: Sonny Joe on February 09, 2009, 01:32:18 PM
Screen will be in some shape :D :D If Derry win this game it should take alot of the pressure off. Even better if we can avoid relegation with so many players not in the frame as of yet.Westmeath will be very hard to beat with the defensive game they play, if its the same as the one i watched against Tyrone in the championship last year, alot of men behind the ball. I expect to see a couple of more new players get a run out.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 09, 2009, 02:18:39 PM
Another big game for us on our hoe patch and a win here could mean we ensure our safety fairly quickly. Qill more than likely be a tough game though and Screen's pitch isn't in the best condition although Westmeath are coming off the back of a home defeat to Galway so we should be looking to rub salt in the wounds.

think the ladies team will have a few quiet words and a couple of loud thumps come next training session SE !
Post by: screenexile on February 09, 2009, 02:19:48 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 09, 2009, 02:18:39 PM

think the ladies team will have a few quiet words and a couple of loud thumps come next training session SE !

MOUTHS!
Post by: Drumanee 1 on February 09, 2009, 02:24:08 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 09, 2009, 02:19:48 PM

MOUTHS!

what shape is your patch in?mucky by any chance?
Post by: JohnDenver on February 09, 2009, 02:38:40 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on February 09, 2009, 02:24:08 PM

MOUTHS!

soft to yielding, disaster in places??  :P
Post by: screenexile on February 09, 2009, 03:49:29 PM

MOUTHS!

Not really sure but it hasn't had a match or anything on it since Derry v Jtown in the McKenna Cup so it can't be too bad but there has been a lot of rain/snow since so you never know what way it'll be. I'll be up this evening and I'll check it out to give a better idea of it. Getting a decent pitch surface is the next thing on the agenda for the club as far as I am aware. Bit overdue really as we haven't had it resurfaced in about 10 years now.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 09, 2009, 04:16:16 PM
I don't suppose there's floodlights in Baile na Scríne and that the game's moved to the Saturday night??? Otherwise may have to miss this as there's a day out in Croker on the cards for Sun.

Westmeath will probably be missing a few players alright, hopefully Duffy is fit to start and the rest of the lads have kicked the last of the flu. See John Connellan scored 8 points against the Biffos on Sat in the U21 so would hope to see him added to the panel for the weekend...
Post by: Drumanee 1 on February 09, 2009, 04:20:17 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 09, 2009, 03:49:29 PM

MOUTHS!

Not really sure but it hasn't had a match or anything on it since Derry v Jtown in the McKenna Cup so it can't be too bad but there has been a lot of rain/snow since so you never know what way it'll be. I'll be up this evening and I'll check it out to give a better idea of it. Getting a decent pitch surface is the next thing on the agenda for the club as far as I am aware. Bit overdue really as we haven't had it resurfaced in about 10 years now.

a jesus screen i would on the wind up :D,nothing i like as much is a dirty patch :D
Post by: screenexile on February 09, 2009, 04:38:44 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 09, 2009, 04:16:16 PM
I don't suppose there's floodlights in Baile na Scríne and that the game's moved to the Saturday night??? Otherwise may have to miss this as there's a day out in Croker on the cards for Sun.

Westmeath will probably be missing a few players alright, hopefully Duffy is fit to start and the rest of the lads have kicked the last of the flu. See John Connellan scored 8 points against the Biffos on Sat in the U21 so would hope to see him added to the panel for the weekend...

We do but they're on our practice pitch which could only accomodate a few supporters so no chance of the game being moved at all I imagine.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 09, 2009, 05:00:37 PM
That puts that notion to bed, thanks screen. Any chance of a neutral summarisation of the game on Sun???  :P
Post by: screenexile on February 09, 2009, 05:38:24 PM
Good job you pit a smilie in there because there is little chance of that happening. Dunno if I'll be able to or not as I'll be stewarding the game and God knows where I could be put! I'll give it a go for you anyway.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 09, 2009, 06:08:06 PM
Sound man
Post by: Estimator on February 10, 2009, 08:45:08 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 09, 2009, 05:38:24 PM
Good job you pit a smilie in there because there is little chance of that happening. Dunno if I'll be able to or not as I'll be stewarding the game and God knows where I could be put! I'll give it a go for you anyway.

A man of your standing in the club, can surely wangle a pitch side stewarding position!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 10, 2009, 09:22:55 PM
I reckon 9/4 about Westmeath could be a small bit of value. Wasn't too impressed with Derry against Mayo in Ballina. Mayo were abject and Derry's win has to be factored against this. Westmeath were beating Galway (who I think will go very well this year) above in Mullingar until a defensive blunder cost them the vital goal and the final scoreline seemed to flatter Galway. Westmeath are fierce hard beat but scoring power could be the shortfall for them.
Out of curiosity how much of a 'Galatasary' type venue is 'Screen? I reckon the spread could be 3.5 or 4.5 and that'll be a bet I'd be very tempted by.
Post by: Bogball XV on February 10, 2009, 09:56:49 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 10, 2009, 09:22:55 PM
I reckon 9/4 about Westmeath could be a small bit of value. Wasn't too impressed with Derry against Mayo in Ballina. Mayo were abject and Derry's win has to be factored against this. Westmeath were beating Galway (who I think will go very well this year) above in Mullingar until a defensive blunder cost them the vital goal and the final scoreline seemed to flatter Galway. Westmeath are fierce hard beat but scoring power could be the shortfall for them.
Out of curiosity how much of a 'Galatasary' type venue is 'Screen? I reckon the spread could be 3.5 or 4.5 and that'll be a bet I'd be very tempted by.
I would say pitch conditions will suit Westmeath tbh, Screen wouldn't be the most intimidating of venues for a league game - but then no derry venue is, due our gentlemanly fans who are only interested in seeing a good sporting contest ;) 
Post by: Oakleafer1993 on February 10, 2009, 10:21:50 PM
Cassidy eager to experiment
10 February 2009

Derry manager Damian Cassidy will continue his experimentation policy in Sunday's National Football League game against Westmeath at Ballinascreen.

The 1993 All-Ireland winner says he is prepared to sacrifice league points in a bid to unearth new talent ahead of the championship.

"I could play safe and go out and pick as many of our established players as possible to try and squeeze a win. We could do that," he said.

"But what would we learn that we don't already know? We will have learned nothing at all.

"We saw last year what happened when we picked up a number of injuries in our full back line. We had very little cover. We also didn't have the competition up front to really pressurise the players who were established.

"This year, it's very important that our emerging players be given a chance to develop their experience. They must be given the chance to show that they can put pressure on the established players.

"We need to know that we have players who are capable of coming in and performing for us. If you look at Mickey Harte, he used 25 or 26 players in the championship last year. That tells its own story."
Post by: carribbear on February 12, 2009, 01:58:03 AM
Out of curiosity how much of a 'Galatasary' type venue is 'Screen?

Since this is a family website let's not talk about what they do to the chickens in that parish.
Post by: cornerback on February 12, 2009, 10:00:34 AM
I think it was sean boylan that descibed ballinascreen as a fortress for derry...

However, that era in derry football has passed with league games now played at various grounds around the county
Post by: Will Hunting on February 12, 2009, 10:19:36 AM

I wouldn't say it was too intimidating for opposing teams, although some people might describe the area as 'hell'!
Post by: Spirit of 94 on February 12, 2009, 11:18:18 AM
It's certainly a very intimidating place for the sheep that graze on the pitch during winter.  ;)
Post by: Maximus Marillius on February 12, 2009, 11:50:00 AM
Quote from: cornerback on February 12, 2009, 10:00:34 AM
I think it was sean boylan that descibed ballinascreen as a fortress for derry...

However, that era in derry football has passed with league games now played at various grounds around the county

I dont recall Derry losing to many games in Celtic Park, they did loose 2 yrs ago to Westmeath in Celtic Park, but other then that we haven't lost many games up in Derry City.
Post by: Oakleafer1993 on February 12, 2009, 11:51:34 AM
O Flatharta expects tough test from Derry
Westmeath football manager Tomas O Flatharta
11 February 2009

Tomas O Flatharta believes Westmeath will have their work cut out if they are to claim full points from their National Football League trip to Derry on Sunday.

The Lake County scored a surprise win in Celtic Park two years ago, but their manager feels it will be difficult for them to replicate that result in Ballinascreen this weekend.

"I suppose it's very, very different. It's a long trip up to Derry for us, I know that we won the last time we were up there. I think Derry are one of the teams who everyone will have to keep an eye on for this year. They had a great league campaign last year, the championship maybe not, but if they reflect on that, they will realise that they have some very good players. They've good forwards, a good midfield and some very experienced backs as well," he said.

"We're going to be up against it, but we just have to keep improving ourselves. We only started four or five weeks ago and Galway showed a few weaknesses in us the last day and we're trying to work on those."

O Flatharta, who guided the Westmeath under 21s to an emphatic victory over Offaly last weekend, confirmed that half forward Fergal Wilson will miss most, if not all, of the National League campaign as he continues to recover from knee surgery.

"Fergal is going to be out for at least another five or six weeks," said O Flatharta, who added that midfielder David Duffy is expected to be fit to start against the reigning league champions.
Post by: screenexile on February 15, 2009, 06:38:25 PM
Wow! Big performance from us today. We have a real system of play now where different players can fill different positions without disrupting the game.

Some great football played at times but Westmeath were poor with only their big midfielder being able to take credit for his performance.

For Derry McGoldrick was awesome at CHB. Definitely worth keeping there. Brown and Bradley good up front and Lynn good too. Defence very solid with Diver and Kielt having off days. Hopefully safe now we can go full steam ahead for cship now... Can't wait!!
Post by: Overthebar! on February 15, 2009, 06:53:30 PM
Good to see a good victory, never got to the game myself!
Mc Goldrick awesome at CHB? which one was this? surely he wont be there come the business end of the season?

hopes are high for the summer indeed!
Post by: peterquaife on February 15, 2009, 08:10:09 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on February 15, 2009, 06:53:30 PM
Mc Goldrick awesome at CHB? which one was this? surely he wont be there come the business end of the season?

Barry

sounds like a convincing victory. very early days but you've got to feel a whole lot more positive this season with Cassidy @ the helm

go on Derry ye boy ye!!!!!
Post by: Paddy1804 on February 15, 2009, 08:14:16 PM
Good to hear people agree that McGoldrick had a good game at CHB - a great result even though the opposition poor (although you can only beat what's put in front of you)

Post by: Maximus Marillius on February 15, 2009, 09:05:50 PM
Couldn't resist going to the 'screen' for the game today, the weather made in impossible not to go. What a pleasent surprise I got. Derry scored 1gl and 18 pts. Now it has to be said Westmeath were poor in the second half as Derry won alot of break ball, but very simply we had to many good footballers from them. Barry Mc goldrick was just a completely different footballer at CHB, strong composed, good tackles and reading of the game with super distribution. Didn't expect that! Fair play to cass for having the imagination to make that call. A very interesting but nonetheless vital stat from the game was the amount of scorers we had all over the pitch. it wasn't about getting the ball into Eoin, who had a good game any way (5 pts). Carton scored again, Gerard O'Kane scored 2 pts (talk about a tatic back firing on a team, bringing out their corner forward). All the starting forwards all scored from play, we could have scored 23/24 pts if we of scored the chance created. Very noticable was when changes were made it did not effect what we were trying to do. But how poor were Westmeath? Kerry up next, that will tell a tale!
Post by: SidelineKick on February 16, 2009, 09:02:36 AM
Quote from: peterquaife on February 15, 2009, 08:10:09 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on February 15, 2009, 06:53:30 PM

Barry

sounds like a convincing victory. very early days but you've got to feel a whole lot more positive this season with Cassidy @ the helm

go on Derry ye boy ye!!!!!

:D been a while since I heard that!

Great win yesterday.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 16, 2009, 12:10:46 PM
Surprised and disgusted with that scoreline, wtf happened???
Post by: screenexile on February 16, 2009, 12:33:56 PM
Hard to pinpoint really Croi. The first half was fairly competitive with Westmeath getting a few good scores but Derry pulled ahead by 5 just before half time. 2nd half was over as Derry completely over ran you for about 10 minutes and got a lot of scores in that time and then the goal totally killed the game with about 10 left or so.

It was hard to work out what kind of system you were playing. A bit like Derry last year you seem to funnel men behind the ball to win it back but then have no real attacking game plan other than try and get it to Dessie and Dennis. Our defence had them well sewn up so it just didn't work. Our gameplan involved breaking in 3's and 4's with speed from defence always creating an overlap and then we had 4 options up front to hit as well as men coming through which created too many options for Westmeath to deal with and meant we had 8 men on the scoresheet yesterday. I think O'Flatharta will have to look at how things went and change it up a bit for the next match.

Big top of the table clash for us now against Kerry in 3 weeks time wil be very interesting and I'm looking forward to it. We don't have to win the game but we do have to perform well for us to keep progressing. I'm at a loss to see how we will deal with Walsh though. Any chance Big Niall will be back?!
Post by: peterquaife on February 16, 2009, 12:52:31 PM
Is the Kerry game in the 'Screen as well?

PQ
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 16, 2009, 12:53:14 PM
How did young McDaniel get on? Any WH subs make any sort of impact??? Win against Mayo the next day is imperative now, looks like it's gonna be between us, them, Donegal and the Dubs for survival, even at this early stage...
Post by: screenexile on February 16, 2009, 01:04:04 PM
I didn't have a programme so I don't know who McDaniel is Croi sorry. None of the subs had an impact on the game really though.

Yes Kerry up in the 'Screen in 3 weeks time. I would expect a much bigger crowd next time round and a good battle for the top of the league!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 16, 2009, 01:08:15 PM
which gate will you be on screen and i will try to get free entry !
Post by: Will Hunting on February 16, 2009, 02:17:34 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 16, 2009, 12:53:14 PM
How did young McDaniel get on? Any WH subs make any sort of impact??? Win against Mayo the next day is imperative now, looks like it's gonna be between us, them, Donegal and the Dubs for survival, even at this early stage...

McDaniel was the young corner forward who scored the opening point of the game. A good score it was too, but it was almost all he did for the remainder of the match. Glennon looked like he could score from any angle when given the opportunity, but Dolan got tied up further out the pitch, and despite scoring three points never got into the game. Not sure of who the Westmeath subs were, but in the second half the game was over as a contest really, and they struggled to turn things around.

Duffy the midfielder looked good in the opening half, but i think he tired as the game wore on and Derry continued to dominate. He's a serious size of a man though. If yous can get Flanagan back (i assume he's injured?) then, that'll be a decent westmeath midfield, as o'donoghue is slighly limited here i think.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 16, 2009, 02:32:01 PM
Thanks lads. Looks like our problem was getting the ball into the inside forwards so. Duffy is only coming back from injury and yes Flan is out injured. I would expect O'Donoghue to move to wing forward when they and O'Shaughnessey are fully fit as he's got a good delivery of the ball. For all of Smyth's workrate I would question his delivery, doesn't exactly put much pace on the ball. All to do for the visit to Mayo in 3 weeks...
Post by: Oakleafer1993 on February 16, 2009, 03:08:50 PM
Derry Sink Lakemen
It was Valentine's weekend and following a 14-point victory over Westmeath at Ballinascreen yesterday, the Derry players were certainly feeling the love. They entered the dressing-room at both half-time and full-time with heavy applause ringing in their ears. There was no doubt, the Oakleaf following liked what they saw.

And rightly so; because this was an excellent Derry performance. We'll not rush to package things up and place it in a box labelled 'Perfect', and God knows, February is not even close to being the time for waxing lyrical over a team's performance, but Derry are certainly on the right track. Oakleaf manager Damian Cassidy described the win as "encouraging", and this is probably the correct view to take after only the second league game.

The spread of scorers was a particularly pleasing facet of the Derry performance. Eight separate scorers overall. The full-forward line did all that was asked of them. Eoin Bradley led the line well, with himself and Paul Bradley both notching five points. Eoghan Brown's hard-working performance was rewarded when he grabbed the game's only goal. The industrious wing forward duo of Brian Mullan and Enda Lynn both got their names on the scoresheet. Lynn totalled three points and is proving extremely effective as a runner from deep, while Brian Mullan showed constantly to help Derry quickly release possession from defence. Paul Carton and Gerard O'Kane (two points) also added scores from their defensive positions. Put simply, Derry were not relying on one or two men to win a game.

The majority of Derry's scores came from close range. This is something Tyrone have perfected in recent times, and the 30 yard radius in front of goal was a hotbed of activity for Derry throughout yesterday's match. This is a clear part of Derry's new system of play; with the full-forward line leaving space for the half-forwards and attacking half-backs (who, at times, attacked in droves). Sounds simple enough, but the players must show the energy and intelligence to carry it out effectively.

A major talking point before the game was the inclusion of Barry McGoldrick at centre half back. The Coleraine man was outstanding yesterday in what has been a problem position for Derry in recent seasons. He made some telling interceptions, showed power and poise on the ball, and displayed his excellent range of distribution. He will be tried at centre-back again, when other sides may display more attacking intent, pushing him onto the back-foot and asking questions of his defensive abilities; but if yesterday's showing is an indicator, he has the potential to make this berth his own.

In praising Derry though, we must judge the performance against that of their opponents. Westmeath are a tough resilient outfit, but they effectively collapsed in the second period yesterday after putting it up to Derry in the first-half. Denis Glennon was their key threat, scoring three classy points, but his move out the field in the second-half symbolised the problems the Lakemen were experiencing. And it did little to ameliorate them. Derry continued to dominate possession and were able to match this with some clinical score-taking during a final quarter that resembled a training match.

Damian Cassidy will be content with the performance, but Derry's next outing won't resemble a training match. Kerry will be in town. They've had an impressive enough NFL start themselves, and after last year's Final they have a score to settle. That game might provide a more accurate reflection of how far Derry have really progressed so far this season.

DERRY: B Gillis; B Óg McAlary, S M Lockhart, G O'Kane (0-2); P Carton (0-1), B McGoldrick, C McKaigue; F Doherty, J Diver; E Lynn (0-3), J Kielt, B Mullan (0-1); E Brown (1-0), E Bradley (0-5), Paul Bradley (0-5, three frees). Subs: Paddy Bradley (0-1) for Kielt (43 mins), Patsy Bradley for Diver (49 mins), S L McGoldrick for Lynn (56 mins), Paul Young for Brown (59 mins), K McGuckin for B McGoldrick (62 mins, blood sub)