Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: give her dixie on January 29, 2009, 09:09:32 PM

Title: Tyrone to Gaza
Post by: give her dixie on January 29, 2009, 09:09:32 PM
Folks, like so many people here in Ireland, and all across the world, the scenes from Gaza over the past month have been horrible.
I have decided to do something about it, and I am planning to join George Galloway on his "Lifeline for Gaza aid convoy", which will be leaving London on Saturday February 14th.
I have only decided to make the journey today, so the planning has just begun. I will need as much help and support as possible to make this come together in 2 weeks.
First off, I need a large van, which will be left in Gaza, so if anyone is in the "van sales trade", or knows of a van that can be bought dirt cheap, let me know. I will be contacting a few dealers around home as well.
What is mostly needed, are blankets, and clothes for children.  
As this is day 1 of the planning, please feel free to suggest ways and means of support. The total cost of the trip will be £3,000, which will cover ferries, fuel, and other expenses.
I have ideas whereby people can purchase a blanket, which I have sourced for bulk purchase, for a price of say £10. That way, if I sell 300 blankets, the cost is covered.
Also, I plan to have people write a message of support on the van for the people of Gaza for say £5.
I will try and keep the fundraising as simple as possible, and maybe visit a number of towns locally on certain days at certain times to give people the chance to support the trip.
Again, please feel free to come up with any idea's of support.

Here is the letter from George Galloway, and the link to "Viva Palestina" who are organising the trip.   

http://www.vivapalestina.org

Lifeline for Gaza aid convoy leaving on Saturday 14 February 2009

Send a Valentine to Palestine

A message from George Galloway

More than 1,300 dead – more than 400 of them children – and still they are dragging bodies from the ruins.

The death toll in Gaza is rising, while the world's leaders and media look away in search of a new story.

We will not look away. The Palestinians in Gaza need our help now, just as they did when Israel's bombs and illegal weapons were dropping.

Thousands of people have contacted me to say that they have marched, cried at the television pictures and feel helpless in the face of the suffering.

That's why I have launched a major initiative in response to the humanitarian crisis in Gaza. I will be leading an aid convoy from London to Gaza leaving on 14 February and travelling through France, Spain, Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt and through Rafah and into Gaza. It will bring material aid and raise the banner of Palestine in all the countries that we visit.

The convoy will be led by a British fire engine, ambulances, and many trucks full of practical aid given by the various communities in Britain.

It is quite an undertaking, which I anticipate will have a high public profile throughout its journey and on its arrival in Gaza, god willing, some 30 days later.

The convoy is already supported by the Stop the War Coalition – which organised the largest demonstrations in British history – as well as the Anglo-Arab Organisation, several British trade unions and a large number of Muslim organisations. Fundraising for the convoy is taking place all over Britain.

We urgently need your help

1) Secure a vehicle, fill it with aid and get sponsorship to cover its costs to Gaza (approximately £3,000 for fuel and expenses). Many people are donating vehicles to leave there.

2) Money: please organise fundraisers, collections, donations which the convoy will get directly to the people of Gaza.

Cheques should be made payable to "Lifeline for Gaza" and sent to

Lifeline for Gaza c/o Flat 6, 1-2 Bowling Green Place, London SE1 1YL. (Account numbers and bank details to follow.) For more details email sally@vivapalestina.org or phone her on 07545 181 079.

3) Collect new clothes for children and adults alike. Please email sally@vivapalestina.org or phone her on 07545 181 079.

Title: Re: Tyrone to Gaza
Post by: heganboy on January 29, 2009, 09:23:58 PM
Go Israel
Post by: Square Ball on January 29, 2009, 09:25:30 PM
fair play to you, where abouts are you?
Post by: ardal on January 29, 2009, 09:30:33 PM
What would happen to donations when they were given direct to the people?
I thought Galloway was now a lame duck.
Can't help but think this sort of thing is pointless.
Why not start to assassinate members of your national government in whatever country you're from until they are forced to do something more than brown nose Israel
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 29, 2009, 09:52:26 PM
Quote from: ardal on January 29, 2009, 09:30:33 PM
What would happen to donations when they were given direct to the people?
I thought Galloway was now a lame duck.
Can't help but think this sort of thing is pointless.
Why not start to assassinate members of your national government in whatever country you're from until they are forced to do something more than brown nose Israel

What sort of ridiculous post is this. You can't assassinate people because they are elected people and it is illegal to kill them. It is not pointless to give to people whos house has been blown to bits some blankets and belongings to keep their family well. Galloway a lame duck? WTF are you on about. Is your point that it is better to sit on your lazy hole at home and moan "what can we do??"

I say fair play to you "give her Dixie". I'll certainly give you some form of a donation however I can. Can you let me know how I can make a contribution to you by PM if you wish.
Post by: ardal on January 29, 2009, 10:03:54 PM
Assassination was tongue in cheek, maybe I should have made it clearer for the dim witted that we could all achieve more if we all harrassed our governments until they did something.

Donations was referred to in the Galloway post within the sentence titled "money", and which states it will go directly to the people in Gaza. To buy blankets from their local unbombed Dunnes store?????

Is Gaza a war zone?
Is it clever to donate money to people in a war zone?
Is it not better to donate basic essentials bought with the money collected?

Was Galloway not up in front of some Westminister type tribunal or something a few years ago? Did it not destroy his political career? Something along the lines of "charity, donations, Iraq"? Lame duck?

So mylestheslasher , it was that sort of ridiculous post.
Post by: give her dixie on January 29, 2009, 10:46:39 PM
Folks, please please please do not turn this thread into a political rant on the rights and wrongs of the war in Gaza. There is a seperate thread running on this "Israel sends in the ground troops". So go to that thread to discuss the war.
I am planning on giving a month to this convoy, and to collect as many blankets and clothes before I go. I will personally do my very very best to make sure the people most in need recieve them.
As for monetary donations, as I have said it is expected to cost £3,000, so whatever is left over will go to local based charities to help those most in need.
I will post a many details as possible, when I get them, and keep everyone informed.
My name is John Hurson, and i'm from Dungannon.
So folks, please keep this thread free from any nonsense, and to the cause in point, "Gaza"

Thanks
John
Post by: Double Cross on January 29, 2009, 10:57:34 PM
If you manage to secure a van, I will donate £100 towards your fuel costs. We also keep a stock of "emergency presents" in the house, basically some toys or kids clothes in case we forget anyones birthdays, I`ll throw those in as well and anything else that I can think of.
Well dont for getting off your arse and doing something, too many of us like to talk plenty, but rarely do anything else.
Post by: puc me on January 29, 2009, 11:00:44 PM
fair play to you dixie, i will give a £100 also i will pm you with details, im down the road in coalisland.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 29, 2009, 11:32:11 PM
Fair dues ghd, that's a fantastic effort. PM me with your details and I'll have some dough transferred.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 29, 2009, 11:34:55 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on January 29, 2009, 10:57:34 PM
If you manage to secure a van, I will donate £100 towards your fuel costs. We also keep a stock of "emergency presents" in the house, basically some toys or kids clothes in case we forget anyones birthdays, I`ll throw those in as well and anything else that I can think of.
Well dont for getting off your arse and doing something, too many of us like to talk plenty, but rarely do anything else.

100%. I'll wing you a few quid too, if you PM me your details.
Post by: Rav67 on January 29, 2009, 11:35:26 PM
If I can make a donation using paypal or something similar I will.  Or if a cheque would be easier pm me you address and say who it should be made out to.  Fair play for doing this btw.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on January 30, 2009, 12:23:19 AM
Give her dixie I have nothing but the up most respect for you and what you are doing. Can you pm me your full address so I can make a donation. My out box pm's don't seem to work for some reason so you might not get a response. Good luck fella. 
Post by: give her dixie on January 30, 2009, 12:45:38 AM
Folks, your support so far has been amazing. We are now one sixth of the way there in a couple of hours. Well done to all.
As for the donations, keep them coming, however, since this project is in its early stages, I will let you all know how to make donations whenever I get more details.
It would be nice to keep a running total of money pledged, and clothes donated.  It would be a great way to keep the appeal motivating. Any thoughts?
As this is a GAA board, how about donating some jerseys from your club or your county? It would be good to see a few Palestinians in your club colours? Remember ye man in Georgia last year beside the tank in the Tyrone jersey! As I love photography, I will be sure to take a load of photos and have them posted.
The van will proudly carry a big "GGABOARD.COM" logo, and maybe someone can russle up a flag of support from the board.
Will have more information on the trip tomorrow, as there are still visa issues to be dealt with, along with me having to get a  British Passport, as my Irish one wont do.....
Thanks again for all the support and best wishes.

John.

PS. This trip is motivated by a true story I was told while living in Portland Oregon by a guitar player from Dublin, Aidan Brennan. It was about how a native American Indian Choctaw tribe raised money, and walked for hundreds of miles to send money back to the people of Ireland who were in the throws of the Famine.   I will copy and paste the Wikipedia version of the true story. (Not that Aidans story wasn't true, it's just that I can't remember the exact facts)

In 1847, midway through the Great Irish Famine (1845–1849), a group of American Indian Choctaws collected $710 (although many articles say the original amount was $170 after a misprint in Angie Debo's The Rise and Fall of the Choctaw Republic) and sent it to help starving Irish men, women and children. "It had been just 16 years since the Choctaw people had experienced the Trail of Tears, and they had faced starvation... It was an amazing gesture. By today's standards, it might be a million dollars." according to Judy Allen, editor of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma's newspaper, Bishinik, based at the Oklahoma Choctaw tribal headquarters in Durant, Oklahoma. To mark the 150th anniversary, eight Irish people retraced the Trail of Tears,[73] and the donation was publicly commemorated by President Mary Robinson.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 30, 2009, 09:35:16 AM
That is absolutely 100% about the Choctaws and the Great Hunger, it was an astonishing act of selflessness.
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 30, 2009, 09:48:12 AM
Excellent appeal give her dixie, count me in for a donation (pm me your details).  I have a few county jersies that don't fit me anymore  :( so I can send you these too.
Post by: glens abu on January 30, 2009, 10:07:33 AM
 Great idea Dixie please PM me your details and I will make donation but also get some children's clothes delivered down.
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 30, 2009, 10:42:23 AM
Fair play Give her Dixie! Can you also PM me your full address and ill send a cheque to u!
Post by: full back on January 30, 2009, 11:10:45 AM
Good stuff Dixie
PM me the details as well & I will give a few ££'s to the cause
Post by: lfdown2 on January 30, 2009, 11:13:34 AM
have ye the HGV license, looks like it heading that way, likewise plenty of old gaa tops and whatever else, forward details...
Post by: SidelineKick on January 30, 2009, 11:14:42 AM
Send a PM my way too and I'll send a few £.
Post by: scud on January 30, 2009, 11:19:46 AM
I don't know much about PM's but send me one and i'll defo make a donation! Fair play to ya
Title: Re: Tyrone to Gaza. Latest News
Post by: give her dixie on February 04, 2009, 06:14:27 PM
Folks, sorry for not been back in touch before now, as I have been trying to get the trip together.
At this stage, I am going to be joined by my cousin, who will be an incredible help with the driving as we intend to cover 5000 miles in 16 days!
We have secured a vehicle from Rocwell Water. It's a 7.5 tonne Daf curtainsider, and he is throwing in plenty of water which is badly needed in Gaza.
We have a couple of other sponsors lined up, and by tomorrow we will have their details to report.
Home Furnishing Solutions in the Oaks Centre Dungannon have sourced us blankets, and we will have the details on that tomorrow as well.
We will try and have details of collection points for clothes by tomorrow evening/Friday, where people can donate clothes or buy a blanket for the people of Gaza.
Remember, there are 60,000 people homeless and everthing we bring will be well appreciated.
Also, by tomorrow we should have details where people can make donations to.
Already there are 90 vehicles in the convoy, including a Fire Engine, 6 Ambulances, and a boat for the fishermen in Gaza!!
Thanks again for the massive support, and please continue to help us whatever way you can. Pass on the information to all your friends, and for everyone on Facebook, please join the group "Tyrone To Gaza"

http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?topic=6726&uid=57553768486#/group.php?gid=47557978417&ref=ts

John
Post by: Declan on February 04, 2009, 07:46:49 PM
Best of luck in the journey
Hope you manage to get the gear to those who need it unlike this story.

Hamas policemen have seized thousands of blankets and food parcels that were meant to be distributed to Palestinian civilians in Gaza, UN officials say.
A UN spokesman said policemen raided a UN warehouse on Tuesday after officials refused to hand over the aid to a Hamas-controlled ministry.
The UN said it was the first time its aid had been confiscated by Hamas.
It condemned the action and demanded the goods be immediately returned. UN spokesman Christopher Gunness said Hamas police took 3,500 blankets and over 400 food parcels.

Edited as I've since heard this :
The U.N was directing this aid to non governmental agencies in the area, notably Fatah. Hamas are in Govt and view Fatah as a subversive body within their state. Fatah have an agenda to weaken Hamas and seemingly the U.N have taken a political decision to help them. This is not the role of U.N aid officers. They are supposed to remain neutral. It's clear an agenda is being worked on here by both the U.N and Fatah. The U.N was delivering aid on a discriminatory manner by delivering aid only to those with refugee status. The Govt in Gaza believe all the residents should benefit from the aid.The policemen are not seizing this aid for themselves, but to ensure the aid is distributed in a fair manner, and not used as a carrot and stick by fatah.

Unbelievable stuff
Post by: The Watcher Pat on February 04, 2009, 08:09:58 PM
I'll wait to tomorrow until you put up the donation details to make a donation..

You should think of maybe having some sort of collection point set up somewhere where people could donate clothes etc...Just cleared the wardrobe myself there are a few old footy tops as well.

Maybe if you contacted a Gaelic club from every county in Ulster they would collect them for you and hold them for you to collect, just a idea?

Theres maybe even a few club secretary's or officials on the board who might be able to help..
Post by: tyssam5 on February 04, 2009, 08:46:04 PM
Drop me a PM with your details.
Post by: give her dixie on February 05, 2009, 07:20:40 PM
Well folks, have sorted more details today on the trip regarding collections and donations.
From this Saturday 7th, until Thursday 12th (6 days) we intend to have the lorry parked at the Oaks Centre, Oaks Road, Dungannon. We will be collecting clothes, blankets, and other forms of aid each day until 6 pm, and until 9pm on Wednesday and Thursday.
We have decided to stay in the one spot, as it will give people a chance to come along at whatever time suits them rather than trying to take in various towns. We have no doubt that we will fill the truck for the "Lifeline To Gaza Aid Convoy".
Blankets can be bought at Home Furnishing Solutions in the Oaks Centre, with all proceeds going towards the trip.
For anyone wanting to make a donation that live locally, can do so either at HFS, or to ourselves as we will be with the lorry at all times.
For anyone wanting to send a cheque, please make it out to Viva Palestina and you can post it to me. I will PM those who have already pledged money the address, and for anyone else sending a cheque, just pm me for address. We would need to have the cheques in by next Thursday 12th, as we will be leaving on Friday luchtime.
Pm me with the amount you intend to send, and if you donate personally at the Oaks Centre, let me know you are a board member and that way I can post the total donated by board members on this thread. Donations from the board currently stands at £500, so fair play to you all so far.
If anyone can make up a GAA Board flag, or can provide us with stickers for the lorry, please do. I hope to have photo's on line tomorrow of the lorry.
Also, if any of you have any contacts in the national or local media, give them a call and see if they will give us some coverage.
There is a lot to be done in the next week, however, with the help and generosity of people like yourselves, I have no fear we will make it happen......
Also, check out the Viva Palestina web site where you can see the route and details of the journey.  

http://www.vivapalestina.org

Once again, many thanks

John Hurson

Post by: give her dixie on February 06, 2009, 11:38:03 AM
Well folks, please tune into UTV Life this evening, as we are going into the studio to be interviewed by Pamela Ballantine and Frank Mitchell..
Tell your friends.....
Will get a good plug in for the GAA Board...
Also folks, this morning O' Neill's in Strabane have now come on board to supply us with a large amount of clothes. So a big thank you to Kieran Kennedy and all at O' Neill's.

John
Post by: Double Cross on February 06, 2009, 11:54:11 AM
Gaza will end up looking like Clones on Ulster final day  ;)
I`ve a good bit of stuff gathered up, I`ll be down to the Oaks Centre sometime next week.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 06, 2009, 01:09:16 PM
I won't be able to make it up to Dungannon but I am going to try and get a heap of clothes (old baby clothes included) and courier it up to you on Monday. Thats the plan anyhow.

What time is UTV live on at?
Post by: Double Cross on February 06, 2009, 01:13:17 PM
6 to 6.30pm
Post by: Donagh on February 06, 2009, 01:17:54 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on February 06, 2009, 01:13:17 PM
6 to 6.30pm

5.30 to 6pm.
Title: Re: Tyrone to Gaza. Latest News
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2009, 01:28:35 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on February 04, 2009, 06:14:27 PM
Folks, sorry for not been back in touch before now, as I have been trying to get the trip together.
At this stage, I am going to be joined by my cousin, who will be an incredible help with the driving as we intend to cover 5000 miles in 16 days!
We have secured a vehicle from Rocwell Water. It's a 7.5 tonne Daf curtainsider, and he is throwing in plenty of water which is badly needed in Gaza.
We have a couple of other sponsors lined up, and by tomorrow we will have their details to report.
Home Furnishing Solutions in the Oaks Centre Dungannon have sourced us blankets, and we will have the details on that tomorrow as well.
We will try and have details of collection points for clothes by tomorrow evening/Friday, where people can donate clothes or buy a blanket for the people of Gaza.
Remember, there are 60,000 people homeless and everthing we bring will be well appreciated.
Also, by tomorrow we should have details where people can make donations to.
Already there are 90 vehicles in the convoy, including a Fire Engine, 6 Ambulances, and a boat for the fishermen in Gaza!!
Thanks again for the massive support, and please continue to help us whatever way you can. Pass on the information to all your friends, and for everyone on Facebook, please join the group "Tyrone To Gaza"

http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?topic=6726&uid=57553768486#/group.php?gid=47557978417&ref=ts

John

John,

Dungannon Clarkes would like to help with this.

Can you send me a pm with a contact number for yourself please?

Thanks

AFR
Post by: Harold Disgracey on February 06, 2009, 01:45:54 PM
Eair play to you ghd. I will get a run up to the Oaks early next week.
Post by: under the bar on February 06, 2009, 01:53:08 PM
Never mind just Tyrone to Gaza, this should start the wheels in motion for a GAA to Gaza movement supported by HQ, county boards and the GPA. 

Every county could and should do like-wise. 
Post by: Double Cross on February 06, 2009, 03:14:12 PM
Quote from: Donagh on February 06, 2009, 01:17:54 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on February 06, 2009, 01:13:17 PM
6 to 6.30pm

5.30 to 6pm.

You obviously get to watch Unionist TV regularly Donagh  ;)
Post by: the green man on February 06, 2009, 03:22:11 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on February 06, 2009, 03:14:12 PM
You obviously get to watch Unionist TV regularly Donagh  ;)

You obviously dont read whats posted. UTV LIFE is on 5.30 to 6.00
Post by: give her dixie on February 06, 2009, 04:27:22 PM
Folks,  sorry for the delay, but this evenings UTV Life has been cancelled.
Instead, they are sending out a TV crew tomorrow to interview us at the Oaks Centre, Dungannon.
This will be so much better, as it will show the lorry, and people donating. Tyrones favourie fan, Datsun Donaghy will hopefully be making an appearence, and maybe Malachi Cush.
I have been busy all day sorting stuff out, and have got a few sponsor stickers to go on, including 2 GAABOARD.COM stickers, for all the support you all have been giving.
Have a great logo going on, complete with the Tyrone and Palestinean flags..........
I will be back on later with more details.

Tyrone To Gaza.....

Post by: The GAA on February 06, 2009, 04:48:26 PM

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/middle_east/7875171.stm
Post by: stpauls on February 06, 2009, 04:51:53 PM
dixie, will be up as far as Dungannon either tomorrow or Monday evening and will drop over a couple of bags of old clothes/shoes (still wearable of course) and possibly a duvet or two. do you need these kind of items or should i give other things?
Post by: give her dixie on February 06, 2009, 06:13:42 PM
Folks, just back with lorry and have a few photo's. They are a bit dark, however you will get the picture!!!! Will have more tomorrow from the Oaks Centre.
Plus, Sainsburys have come on board and will have 6 staff collecting money all day tomorrow. So a big thank you to Sainsburys.
O' Neill's Strabane has donated 500 various jerseys and Liam Og Gormley from Sligo Co. Board has donated 150 childrens playing kits. So a big thank you to both of them.
Can someone let me know how to upload photo's, or if someone pm's me an e mail address, i'll send them to them to up load.

Thanks

Tyrone To Gaza.
Post by: glens abu on February 06, 2009, 06:29:48 PM
your doing a mighty job Dixie will be up at the Oaks next week with some clothes,great to hear of the responce you are getting from GAA people and clubs.
Post by: give her dixie on February 06, 2009, 07:36:37 PM
Folks, click on the link below to a flickr page where I have posted a couple of shots. Will have better shots tomorrow.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/35125248@N03/
Post by: gerry on February 06, 2009, 07:45:12 PM
good man john, can you pm me your details
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2009, 08:19:48 PM
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3414/3258003113_c9b7386317_m.jpg)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3416/3258006783_5699dc1d23_m.jpg)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3391/3258010345_f1dec30b3a_m.jpg)

Post by: puc me on February 06, 2009, 11:06:45 PM
keep it lit john i will be up on sunday or tuesday with a £100,  ;D
Post by: give her dixie on February 08, 2009, 11:38:14 PM
Well folks, have had an incredible 2 days collecting clothes and blankets at the Oaks Centre. The response so far has been amazing.

We have about 200 bags of clothes and blankets so far. There was an appeal read out at all the local churches this morning, and today, despite the snow, a lot of people stopped by to donate aid. We did a collection in the local bars last night and we raised over £400. Malachi Cush interviewed me today on his radio show, and it too has proved to be a big benefit.

If anyone wants to sponsor a blanket for Gaza, you can contact Home Furnishing Solutions at the Oaks Centre, Dungannon on +4428 8772 9119. They are a heavy duty blanket, and cost £15. £10 from every sale goes to the Gaza appeal.You can pay by credit card, and if you wish to send a message with it, they will put a card in with it.

We are going well, and we have no doubt that we will have the lorry filled before we leave. It was good to see and talk to a few board members who stopped by with clothes, jerseys, and cash. Thanks a million lads for your donations. At this stage, what has been pledged by the board stands at just under £1,000, so you can all feel really proud of yourselves. You are playing a vital role in this journey. Thank you all.

My cousin wont be travelling with me now, however a good friend of mine who lives in Wales is going with me now. He is a writer, and he wants to write about the journey and subsequent destination of Gaza. It should make for some reading.......

So keep the support going, as I leave this Friday. I will be leaving from Rosslare and sail to Pembrooke, which suits me for collecting Greg in Cardiff. If I have enough time, I might stop by Croke Park for a photo! Then onto London for 11am where the convoy will leave from the Embankment at The Houses Of Parliment. So if anyone is in London this weekend, swing by and show your support.

If anyone has any contacts in the press or media, please let them know about this trip to Gaza, and see if they will give it some press. Plus, if everyone asked their clubs for any jerseys, it will really add to the total. Lets see how many we can send .........

Anyway, thanks a million for the support, and check out the lorry on the link below. Maybe An Fear will load them up on the thread. Thanks Fear once again for your help in getting Dungannon Clarkes involved. They have weighed in well behind the project.

Tyrone To Gaza

John

P.S. Tomorrow, Tyrones number one fan, Datsun Donaghy will be calling in to give us a hand collecting donations............................

Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 09, 2009, 12:08:04 AM
GHD,

Can you give daily updates on your travel to Gaza via the board?  I think it would be interesting to hear how the trip transpires to your destination for myself and everyone else on here.

There are some who talk about action and there are people who act , great job!!!!

Post by: mylestheslasher on February 09, 2009, 08:23:48 AM
I have two bags of adult clothes and 1 box of baby clothes packed up in the house ready for delivery. I think a lad I know is heading  to Dungannon this week so he'll bring them up for me. If not I'll drive up myself wed/thur. Well done to all concerned.
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 09, 2009, 08:39:18 AM
(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/252/3264588352_fe4017b0c5.jpg)

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/238/3264582580_a782372101.jpg)

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/252/3264574696_6dc1ae1c7e.jpg)

Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 09, 2009, 08:30:55 PM
http://www.indymedia.ie/article/91006
Post by: lfdown2 on February 09, 2009, 08:57:14 PM
dixie, how long are ye's in london for, times?
Post by: give her dixie on February 10, 2009, 12:38:18 AM
Well folks, update on day 3 of  "Tyrone To Gaza".............

Well, the bags of clothes and blankets just came thick and fast all day, and already the lorry is half full. Going by the amount of people coming back with stuff to us, the lorry will be stuffed to the ceiling leaving on Friday.

Today, 3 local actors stopped by to lend their support. Conor Grimes, (Datsun), and the other half of his comic duo Alan Mc Kee took time out from rehearsals of their hit play "The History Of The Troubles", and came up from Belfast. For anyone who hasn't seen this play, do yourselves a favour and go see it.
Liam Mc Mahon, star of the recent movie "Hunger", stopped by as well. It was fantastic to recieve their support, along with the many bags of clothes they donated.
Had Michael Cullen take a few photo's, and he is to send them around to a few national papers, so keep a look out!!

I intend to keep an update going on here as best I can, permitting on coverage. I am taking my laptop, digital camera, and digital camcorder along, so If I have the coverage, i'll be posting as much as possible. If anyone knows of a satellite phone that could be donated for a month, let me know.

Hopefully on Thursday morning, Cuthbert Donnelly will be bringing along the Sam Maguire and the Tom Markham. I have no idea what the people in Gaza are going use them for!!!! Also, I hope to have representives of the local clubs and beyond there too, and have a bit of media interest. So, if any of you are around Dungannon on Thursday morning about 10 ish, please call in and you can represent the board. Would be great to have a rep there since your support and motivation so far has been invaluable. Thank you all.

My friend Greg in Cardiff has been doing well fundraising. He is good friends withThe Super Furry Animals, and they have kindly donated four beautiful posters, signed by them. One is for the Royal Festival Hall gig in 2007-2008. 2 are for "The gift that keeps giving" (very apt) and the last is for their sngle "Demons". He will be selling them individually at some stage to the highest bidder, so that should bring in some good money.

Plus, A 90min documentary has been commisioned, and it follow the convoy from London through to Rafah.  The docmentary is going to be produced by Louis Grover, directed by Gavin Searle and edited by Ken Loach, the award winning director of "The Wind That Shakes The Barley". A producer and a camera man will follow the journeys of 6 to 8 vehicles, alternating between the vehicles, and follow them all the way. Now, how could they go past the "Tyrone To Gaza" lorry.........

For anyone in London, or have friends in London, tell them to come along and support the convoy leaving. For now, we are leaving the Embankment at 11am, but if that changes, I will let you know. Cuchulainns GAA club SE London has donated a set of jerseys, and will meet me on Saturday with them. Great support from the club there.

Fergus Mc Anallen has an appeal out for me for jerry cans, as he is a mod on a Rally Forum,  and he has secured a few for us in short notice. 2 different men in Cork and Kerry even offered us cans and tools, if we could get them up. It's so heart warming to see such generosity for so far and near. A few friends of mine in California and Oregon, have called up and sponsored a few blankets as well..

So, day 4 will be another chapter, and no doubt I will have another few stories for you tomorrow night. Oh, by the way, funniest story so far happened on Saturday night in Mc Graths bar in Dungannon. I was collecting with the bucket, and his woman told me she wasn't going to donate to Gaza as he was just an alcoholic! The face on her when she realised it was the wrong Gaza was absolutly priceless............... Sure what would he do with all those blankets and clothes eh?

Tyrone To Gaza

John

Post by: mylestheslasher on February 10, 2009, 08:13:48 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on February 10, 2009, 12:38:18 AM
Well folks, update on day 3 of  "Tyrone To Gaza".............

Well, the bags of clothes and blankets just came thick and fast all day, and already the lorry is half full. Going by the amount of people coming back with stuff to us, the lorry will be stuffed to the ceiling leaving on Friday.

Today, 3 local actors stopped by to lend their support. Conor Grimes, (Datsun), and the other half of his comic duo Alan Mc Kee took time out from rehearsals of their hit play "The History Of The Troubles", and came up from Belfast. For anyone who hasn't seen this play, do yourselves a favour and go see it.
Liam Mc Mahon, star of the recent movie "Hunger", stopped by as well. It was fantastic to recieve their support, along with the many bags of clothes they donated.
Had Michael Cullen take a few photo's, and he is to send them around to a few national papers, so keep a look out!!

I intend to keep an update going on here as best I can, permitting on coverage. I am taking my laptop, digital camera, and digital camcorder along, so If I have the coverage, i'll be posting as much as possible. If anyone knows of a satellite phone that could be donated for a month, let me know.

Hopefully on Thursday morning, Cuthbert Donnelly will be bringing along the Sam Maguire and the Tom Markham. I have no idea what the people in Gaza are going use them for!!!! Also, I hope to have representives of the local clubs and beyond there too, and have a bit of media interest. So, if any of you are around Dungannon on Thursday morning about 10 ish, please call in and you can represent the board. Would be great to have a rep there since your support and motivation so far has been invaluable. Thank you all.

My friend Greg in Cardiff has been doing well fundraising. He is good friends withThe Super Furry Animals, and they have kindly donated four beautiful posters, signed by them. One is for the Royal Festival Hall gig in 2007-2008. 2 are for "The gift that keeps giving" (very apt) and the last is for their sngle "Demons". He will be selling them individually at some stage to the highest bidder, so that should bring in some good money.

Plus, A 90min documentary has been commisioned, and it follow the convoy from London through to Rafah.  The docmentary is going to be produced by Louis Grover, directed by Gavin Searle and edited by Ken Loach, the award winning director of "The Wind That Shakes The Barley". A producer and a camera man will follow the journeys of 6 to 8 vehicles, alternating between the vehicles, and follow them all the way. Now, how could they go past the "Tyrone To Gaza" lorry.........

For anyone in London, or have friends in London, tell them to come along and support the convoy leaving. For now, we are leaving the Embankment at 11am, but if that changes, I will let you know. Cuchulainns GAA club SE London has donated a set of jerseys, and will meet me on Saturday with them. Great support from the club there.

Fergus Mc Anallen has an appeal out for me for jerry cans, as he is a mod on a Rally Forum,  and he has secured a few for us in short notice. 2 different men in Cork and Kerry even offered us cans and tools, if we could get them up. It's so heart warming to see such generosity for so far and near. A few friends of mine in California and Oregon, have called up and sponsored a few blankets as well..

So, day 4 will be another chapter, and no doubt I will have another few stories for you tomorrow night. Oh, by the way, funniest story so far happened on Saturday night in Mc Graths bar in Dungannon. I was collecting with the bucket, and his woman told me she wasn't going to donate to Gaza as he was just an alcoholic! The face on her when she realised it was the wrong Gaza was absolutly priceless............... Sure what would he do with all those blankets and clothes eh?

Tyrone To Gaza

John

For christ sake thats who I thought I was donating to. I'll keep me bag of clothes for myself now :D
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 10, 2009, 09:42:59 AM
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3448/3268093620_dcfb43584e.jpg)

Showing their support for the Tyrone To Gaza appeal, are Conor Grimes, Alan Mc Kee, and Liam Mc Mahon.
Conor and Alan are co writers of the smash hit play, "The History Of The Troubles", and Liam starred in the recent movie "Hunger"

Post by: An Fear Rua on February 10, 2009, 03:57:33 PM

Its a pity to hear of well know publican in Dungannon told give her dixie to" f**k off Im not giving anything to Gaza", what a feffin balloon
Post by: glens abu on February 10, 2009, 06:30:51 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on February 10, 2009, 06:23:38 PM
Fear, the man in question is very lucky that his father was born before him.
When asked if could put up a flyer I was told "Fcuk Gaza, not my problem. They will get no money out of me"
I told him I would gladly pass on his kind regards to the homeless people of Gaza when I got there.
That was in stark contrast to the staff and customers in ALL the bars in Irish Street, and on the Donaghmore Rd. In one bar a barmaid emptied out the contents of her tip jar.
As hundreds of people of people from all over Ireland and beyond have done so much for the people of Gaza, the actions of one small minded man will not dent my determination to help in whatever way I can.

Tyrone To Gaza

John

what a waste of space,the people of Dungannon should boycott that place.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 10, 2009, 06:58:19 PM
Could anyone give me directions to where the collection is. I'll be coming from Enniskillen, will prob turn for Dungannon at fivemiletown. What are the roads like up there - any snow.
Post by: give her dixie on February 10, 2009, 11:22:10 PM
When you come through Fivemiletown, keep on the road for Belfast. You will pass through Clogher, then Augher, and then you will come to the infamous Ballygawley Roundabout. Stay on the road for Belfast and just as the M1 motorway begins, turn off for Dungannon. This will take you past Donnelly Motors on your left, just keep on the road for town centre. (Look out for Tyrone Crystal signs, and follow them).  Past Donnellys, go through 2 set of lights, then turn right at a mini roundabout and go straight on at the next set past the chapel. Then when you come the roundabout, go right round and turn off for Coalisland. A short distance down, The Oaks Centre is on you right. We are at the front door.
When do you plan to come down? Will be great to meet you, however, I might be out and about so I will pm you my mobile.

John

Post by: Rav67 on February 10, 2009, 11:55:52 PM
Good to see the board sticker up John!  Great to see the work you've put in asking individuals and organisations is paying fruit.  Good luck, stay safe and hope the contributions of the gaaboard members can do some good over there. 
Post by: puc me on February 11, 2009, 12:10:28 AM
i was up today with john, glad to see so many people coming forward with donations, i would urge all you gaa folk to do what you can for such a great cause and good luck on your journey john
Post by: give her dixie on February 11, 2009, 01:11:32 AM
Great to see you today Puc, and thank you so much for such a generous donation. everything is moving along fine, with a thousand things still to do!!

Radio Ulster have refused to mention this act of humanity for 2 days now on the radio as it is an appeal for aid for Gaza.
Folks, do you think is censorship going a bit too far?
How a man driving 5,000 miles can't get a mention on Hugo's show, but Pat on the M1 gets a big up?
How hundreds of people from all walks of life all all over Ireland, the UK, the USA, were doing their bit to send some aid to the homeless people of Gaza, and this isn't worthy of a mention on BBC Radio Ulster? Shame on them, shame on them, shame on them. How dare they deny their license paying listeners the chance to hear about a bit of good news?
Sure just e mail them tomorrow with requests for the "Convoy of aid going to Gaza". They shouldn't get to hear the last of this and it should be exposed.

Anyway, i'm just after getting a letter from the organisers with some details about the trip. There is an address for where we are to meet in London, if any one wants to come along and support us. It looks good......

More than 100 vehicles, a mile long and £1 million of aid

What a phenomenal achievement so far. Made possible by you. Thank you. You are an inspiration.

Here is an update and some further information.

France

we are being given an official welcome and use of the Town Hall by the mayor and cabinet of Begles – a town near Bordeaux. It means we won't get bogged down in the inner city traffic, but will still make a media impact.

Spain

Our friends in Paz Ahora – a large pro-Palestine campaign organisation – are working with others to ensure a huge welcome in the cities of San Sebastian in the Basque country and in the capital of Spain, Madrid. We are already in the news there and people are expecting us. We will again receive official receptions and will then head down to the south to get the crossing on the morning of Wednesday 18 February. 

Assembly Point – Saturday 14th February – 9am

We have now agreed an excellent assembly point: it is on North Carriage Drive, which is on the northern side of Hyde Park running parallel to Bayswater. Please see map here:

http://www.streetmap.co.uk/map.srf?x=527250&y=180750&z=110&sv=North+Carriage+Drive&st=1&tl=Map+of+North+Carriage+Drive,+W2&searchp=ids.srf&mapp=map.srf

The assembly time is 9am on Saturday morning. It is imperative that people arrive with their vehicles at this time as we have a lot of last minute organising to do, drivers and team leaders packs to distribute and so on.

Among the materials we will be distributing are Palestinian flags for every vehicle, stickers with the convoy logo (and also your team number) and T-shirts donated with great generosity by the Philosophy Football T-shirt company. It's going to look great with everyone in the Viva Palestina T-shirts.

We need plenty of time to ensure everyone has all the paperwork and packs before we head off to Ramsgate. It takes time to clear customs there and the ferry will not wait for us.

Aid and Egypt

A lot of people are asking about organising to pick up aid in Egypt. Here are a number of points that should help:

1)   Money from Viva Palestina will be transferred to Egypt and turned into aid which can cross into Gaza.

2)   If you want to bring cash into Egypt, you  can. We would advise you not to bring very large quantities of cash. It can be safely transferred to Egypt by banking it through via Viva Palestina account. Arrangements are in hand for the safe handling of money. We are working with all the necessary people.

3)   A lot of people are planning to fly into Egypt to join the convoy. We are suggesting that they fly in on 6 or 7 March. We anticipate that the convoy will definitely be in Egypt before then. We are making allowances for two distinct eventualities: a) there are bound to be some problems on the road – we are crossing borders, vehicles breakdown, some people may get ill. We need flexibility to cope with that and we do not want to leave people behind if we can possibly help it b) the factors surrounding opening the Rafah crossing are very complex and involve high level diplomatic negotiation. We will be in ongoing discussion to achieve our aim. We must allow the necessary time for this while in Egypt. You will be briefed on the journey about where things stand. It is for these reasons that we believe we must be prepared for crossing into Rafah as late at 9 March. If people need to leave before that, then there are drivers who can take the vehicles in. For those planning to fly in to Egypt to join us there will be constant updates on the website of where the convoy is.

Tyrone to Gaza

John
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 11, 2009, 08:16:04 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on February 10, 2009, 11:22:10 PM
When you come through Fivemiletown, keep on the road for Belfast. You will pass through Clogher, then Augher, and then you will come to the infamous Ballygawley Roundabout. Stay on the road for Belfast and just as the M1 motorway begins, turn off for Dungannon. This will take you past Donnelly Motors on your left, just keep on the road for town centre. (Look out for Tyrone Crystal signs, and follow them).  Past Donnellys, go through 2 set of lights, then turn right at a mini roundabout and go straight on at the next set past the chapel. Then when you come the roundabout, go right round and turn off for Coalisland. A short distance down, The Oaks Centre is on you right. We are at the front door.
When do you plan to come down? Will be great to meet you, however, I might be out and about so I will pm you my mobile.

John

John,

I'll be leaving From just south of Sligo town at around 4-30pm. Should be there around 6-30. Have to head to Lisburn then and then head home. Don't worry if you are there or not, I'm sure you have more important things to be at than meeting me!

That radio Ulster thing is a joke. Why is it that when we send aid to Rwanda no one refuses publicity because it is Hutu aid or Tutsi aid yet when it involves the middle east the issue is loaded with political thinking. Aid is aid as far as I am concerned. It is for innocent civilians caught up in a war. Whats the email for them boys and I'll send them a complaint
Post by: give her dixie on February 11, 2009, 09:40:34 AM
Just called The Stephen Nolan show and bluffed my way on to his show. When I got on and spoke about the trip, he cut me off.
This censorship has gone to far..................
Shame on Radio Ulster for not mentioning this act of humanity.

Please call the offical complaints number on 03700 100222

Radio Ulster's telephone number is 08459 555678

Bombard them with calls if you can.

John
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 11, 2009, 09:53:40 AM
GHD

Do you have a paypal account I can deposit into?
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 11, 2009, 11:11:46 AM
Drop Darcy a line at Today FM, he loves this sort of stuff.

ray@todayfm.com
Post by: give her dixie on February 11, 2009, 01:05:23 PM
Folks, yesterday Andrew Nesbitt, One of Irelands greatest rally drivers stopped by and offered his support. He telephoned his office and all the staff, plus Andrew himself, have done a clear out at their homes, and have filled a "Cross Refrigeration" van which will be delivered to us today in Dungannon. This inded is great support, and fair play to Andrew for his help and support.

I recieved a heartwarming e mail today from Jarlath Burns, and he is amazed by the support from all you fellow gaaboard members. He will no doubt give you all a mention in Fridays Gaelic Life. Below is a copy of the e mail.

HI John

WHat an inspiration you are.

I've just read the GAA forum.  You have started a snowball rolling.

I have done a clearout in the house and will head to DUngannon tomorrow. The eldest daughter was in Romania on a similar mission last week and took most of the old clothes we have, but with five kids, there's always more in the house.

This is an unbelievable act of humanitarian kindness.  I mention you in my column on Friday.

Cusack would be proud of you.  In our 125th year, it is amazing to think what the GAA has become.  What an extraordinary person you are.  It's an absolute privilege to know you.

Jarlath

I had Glens abu make the journey this morning to Dungannon with a fantastic donation to our trip.
Mylestheslasher is making his way today from Sligo to meet us, and he is doing us a favour by collecting 150 childrens playing kits donated by the Sligo Co. Board.
I recieved a generous donation from Gerry in the post today.
Fear an Strath Ban also posted a generous donation.
An Fear Rua along with his father have made a generous donation.
Other board members have sent donations, and please accept my apologies for not mentioning you at present, but my head is a bit scatty at the minute!!!!!
Mc Grath building contractors in Dungannon arrived this morning with a trailer full of construction equipment. So, if we don't get through the border, we have kango's and Still saws to make our own way through.........................

This is a just a fraction of the hundreds of people who have stopped with us since Saturday, and we are filling up fast...
Keep up the support, it is driving me on.

Tyrone To Gaza

John
Post by: StGallsGAA on February 11, 2009, 01:32:14 PM
GHD,

I've 2 bin bags of stuff gathered up, mainly adult but about 25% kids clothes.  I'd call up tomorrow evening if you have rrom for it.

keep her lit boyo!!

Post by: give her dixie on February 12, 2009, 02:24:36 AM
Folks, just a quick note as i'm totally drained.

At lunch time today we had the lorry filled. By the time we left the Oaks Centre, we had the makings of half another load. There are a lot off people to come tomorrow, and we are going to be there to thank them so much, however if they can hold onto it, there is a good chance that Barry at HFS will try and organise a container in a couple of weeks and see about shipping it out to a reputable aid company working in Gaza.

mylestheslasher made it all the way from Sligo to see me, and he did us a massive favour by collecting 150 childrens playing kits donated by the Sligo Co. Board. He car was jammed with box's. Thanks once again for your help, and the Cavan air freshner you gave me will hang with pride in the Rocwell lorry.

I collected the lorry this evening from Rocwell as they had it for the past 2 days servicing it, and checking everything over. They have done a mighty fine job, and it looks great. Lads, Rocwell Water, and their owner Brian Quinn in paticular have been nothing short of amazing. Not only did he donate the lorry, but he donated 3 full boxes of various Tyrone Jerseys, flags, football's, caps, and whatever else he could put his hands on. He has a heart the size of ocean, and his sprirt will be with be with us all the way to Gaza. Tyrone hasn't let him down yet, so lets hope his luck will pay off on us........

O' Neills have donated over 600 jerseys, mainly childrens, and from Antrim, Meath, Dublin, Roscommon, Armagh, Tyrone and various other counties. This too is one incredible donation, and no doubt we will see some kids in the future wearing one and playing football on the streets of Gaza. Maybe Hardstation could go over a coach a few kids wearing Antrim jerseys...... Kieran Kennedy deserves a great deal of credit, and he has made me a fantastic flag that will be flown proudly everywhere we go. This is the second flag he has made for me, although the 1st one was made for the 2005 banquet and it fell into my bag somehow that night......

Barry Mc Guiness from Home Furnishing Solutions in the Oaks Centre has been a  tower of strength. I dont know where to begin with what he has done, except to say that I couldn't have done it without him. He has been getting people to sponsor blankets and so far he has taken in nearly £1,000 in 5 days! He will continue to support us along the way as people who want to make a donation can call HFS on 0044 28877 26541. You can pay by credit card, and he has a book where you can leave a message. Make sure and tell him that you are from the GAA board.

Tomorrow is a new day, and I now have a million things to do instead of a thousand...
So, i'll sign off, and will give you an update tomorrow before I head on Friday.
Once again folks, you have kept me going, and the messages of support you have given me has really swelled my heart. I will bring that with me for a very long time. Everyone, take a bow and pat yourselves on the back. It's people like you that make people like me go and do some good for those who need it. For that, thank you so much.

I will be printing off the pages from this thread before I go and bringing it with me all the way to Gaza to show the people that there is a whole community from right across the world, who came together on this board, and have sent a message of hope, goodwill, and a lorry filled with aid to help them in their time of need. Just like the Choctaw tribe did in 1847 for our ancestors. So, please post your message to the people of Gaza before Friday morning and I will take them with me.

I'm away to bed before I collapse.

Tyrone To Gaza

John
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 12, 2009, 08:02:27 AM
Was nice to meet you and Darren. Sorry I couldn't hang around for a while. It a tremendous effort the boys have put in and with one day left it would be great if anyone with a donation could make a trip over to them.

Best of luck to you on the journey and I'm sure your efforts will make a big difference to the lives of some needy people in Gaza.
Post by: StGallsGAA on February 12, 2009, 10:11:44 AM
I deleted the other thread as it seems there are some on the board who go against the very grain of human decency.  Pathetic and a shame on both the GAA and the Irish.
Post by: glens abu on February 12, 2009, 10:24:39 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on February 12, 2009, 10:11:44 AM
I deleted the other thread as it seems there are some on the board who go against the very grain of human decency.  Pathetic and a shame on both the GAA and the Irish.

these are the same people if they are out of work will be crying for help to pay thier bills never mind feed thier children,they are very sad people indeed,it was great to meet a person with the conviction of Dixie and I wish him well on his journey and the next time I hear the song "something inside so strong" I will think of that convoy heading to Gaza.Well done Dixie
Post by: Double Cross on February 12, 2009, 07:52:28 PM
John I was down this afternoon but you were away getting the lorry weighed, dropped off some clothes and some cash. Have a safe journey.
Post by: ONeill on February 12, 2009, 08:05:32 PM
Called down this evening John but you were long gone. Had a bit of light reading for your travels. Will catch you again.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 12, 2009, 08:07:35 PM
Aye.
Safe journey as well Dixie. You are a credit to yourself.

An envoy was dispatched from North Tyrone tonight, hopefully you get a chance to say hi.

Looking forward to hearing the tales when you return, and it would be great if there was someone of keeping abreast of the trip.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 12, 2009, 09:06:09 PM
Great stuff John, it's truly a great thing you are doing. Safe there and back. Viva Palestina,  An Phalaistín Abú!
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 12, 2009, 10:27:04 PM
Met the bould John tonight and he really is an inspiration as well as hard to find!  This mans enthusiasm for this project is palpable and so infectious.  His lorry is well loaded down with aid but he is also overloaded with well wishes and the prayers of so many from on here and further afield.  He has so much good to say about the posters on here (makes a nice change).  His work only starts now, take care John and god bless you and your companions.

Norf have a nice wee T-shirt for you also  ;)
Post by: puc me on February 12, 2009, 10:37:09 PM
all the best john, have a safe journey looking forward to hearing about your noble deed maith thu.
Post by: ONeill on February 12, 2009, 11:20:58 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on February 12, 2009, 10:27:04 PM
Met the bould John tonight and he really is an inspiration as well as hard to find!  This mans enthusiasm for this project is palpable and so infectious.  His lorry is well loaded down with aid but he is also overloaded with well wishes and the prayers of so many from on here and further afield.  He has so much good to say about the posters on here (makes a nice change).  His work only starts now, take care John and god bless you and your companions.

Jaysus where'd you trek him down? Went back up that direction at 10 and even called to his abode to no luck (bastard of a dog next door).
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 13, 2009, 09:12:40 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 12, 2009, 11:20:58 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on February 12, 2009, 10:27:04 PM

Jaysus where'd you trek him down? Went back up that direction at 10 and even called to his abode to no luck (b**tard of a dog next door).
I was wandering around the Oaks centre looking for a Rocwell lorry, anyway they don't like strangers up there so someone approached me, he was wearing an 'I shot JR' t-shirt.  He didn't speak, but pointed me in the general direction, they were loading the lorry at his parents house (I think it was), so I was dog free.
Post by: Rois on February 13, 2009, 09:14:15 AM
Ah you got a mention on the BBC this morning John - Seamus McKee mentioned you when he was doing the round up of the papers.

Popping out to get the Irish News now.

Adh mor oraibh.
Post by: mick999 on February 13, 2009, 09:39:19 AM

From the Irish News this morning ...

Good Luck on your travels !!

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3530/3275597443_1c26bd9561_m.jpg)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3501/3276418186_dd316e6d6d_m.jpg)
Post by: lfdown2 on February 13, 2009, 11:32:28 AM
john your maybe left by now, what time do ye land in london and what time ye leave?
Post by: Muzz on February 13, 2009, 11:49:47 AM
Article in the Irish News today!!!  The other one is hard to read even when squiting.

SAM Maguire has been lending
support to a charity
convoy leaving to deliver
supplies to stricken Gaza.
Children clutching bags of
toys and a building contractor with a
trailer full of supplies were among
those queuing up to make donations
in kind.
The 'Tyrone to Gaza' effort is being
coordinated by Dungannon photographer
John Hurson.
Inspired by pictures in The Irish News
of a man sporting a Tyrone GAA jersey
amid the rubble of war-torn South
Ossetia last year, Mr Hurson has collected
hundreds of sports tops to take
to the Middle East region.
A lorry from the Red Hand county is
leaving for London where it will join a
mile-long aid convoy departing on St
Valentine's Day on a three-week trek
to Gaza.
George Galloway MP and human
rights campaigner Lauren Booth are
among volunteers who will drive more
than 100 donated vehicles packed with
practical aid raised in just four weeks.
They were waved off yesterday by
the All-Ireland trophy, as a gesture of
solidarity from Tyrone county board.
Dungannon Swifts Football Club and
Dungannon Rugby Club are among the
other sporting bodies which have donated
jerseys in a cross-community
show of support.
Mr Hurson said he had been overwhelmed
by the generosity.
"There was one woman who had lost
her husband and daughter two years
ago and hadn't been able to face clearing
out their wardrobes," he said.
"When she heardwhat we were doing
she packed them up and drove here
with them.
"We've had children coming in with
bags of toys after their parents have
told them about the children in Gaza
with no homes and no toys."
However, Mr Hurson does not even
know whether the convoy will be allowed
to deliver the aid to its final
destination.
"Top-level diplomatic discussions are
taking place at the moment," he said.
"I will be getting the aid there even if
I have to stay for three months. I would
even use the tunnels to take in a symbolic
gift of aid.
"I have a duty to all the people who
donated."
Post by: Hardy on February 13, 2009, 11:55:13 AM
John, you're an inspiration. Safe travelling.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 13, 2009, 12:01:12 PM
Fair play John, best of luck.
Post by: give her dixie on February 13, 2009, 12:43:07 PM
Folks, I'm just going out the door now.
This is the start of one serious adventure. Your help, support, and generosity knows no bounds.
You have been my rock for the past 2 weeks. For those of you in London, we leave from Hyde Park at 11am.
In 03 Peter said "Its time to take Sam home to Tyrone", today I say "It's time to bring Tyrone To Gaza".
There is only one thing left for me to say.......................

"GIVE HER DIXIE"

Tyrone To Gaza

John Hurson
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 13, 2009, 02:46:48 PM
Jarlath's column in this week's Gaelic Life ...

I am now going to pay tribute to some people who have the right attitude. Men who don't take themselves or the GAA too seriously, but who are better for their involvement and make us better for having met them.  We could all take a leaf out of their book.

JOE BROLLY...
[enough said]

GERRY DONNELLY...

DAMIEN Mc CULLOUGH...

JOHN HURSON - One of the boys organising the Tyrone to Gaza expedition. Using a Rocwell lorry, they have put together a daring rescue mission to help out those dispossessed in Gaza. Five thousand miles they'll go in that lorry along with ninety others from Britain through Belgium, France, Spain, Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, Libya, Egypt and through Raffa into Gaza.

BENNY TIERNEY...

SEAN CAVANAGH...

Post by: rrhf on February 13, 2009, 03:07:34 PM
Good man John and well done the GAA Board for supporting this.  Will there be a gadderin for this man when he gets back? 
Post by: The Watcher Pat on February 14, 2009, 05:18:51 PM
Just caught the last of the news there...Did some of the lorries on the way to this get raided by the police?
Post by: gerry on February 14, 2009, 07:28:34 PM

Gaza-bound aid convoy leaving UK

Gaza aid convoy vehicles

Part of the British convoy preparing to leave London for Gaza

A convoy of 110 vehicles is leaving London for Gaza to deliver £1m of humanitarian aid.

Hundreds of volunteers will act as drivers during the mission, which is organised by umbrella body Viva Palestina and backed by Muslim groups.

Police confirmed that vehicles stopped on the M65 as part of an anti-terror operation were part of the convoy.

Its 5,000-mile route will pass through France, Spain, Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya and Egypt.

Lancashire Constabulary said several vehicles stopped near Preston were part of the mission.

Three men are currently being held and are being questioned in connection with alleged terrorism offences overseas.
Post by: puc me on February 18, 2009, 10:10:09 PM
any word on how john is getting on ???
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2009, 10:54:30 PM
(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_b-PawIeesqU/SKcNEFOI6uI/AAAAAAAAAlw/_bh_uoO0BY0/s400/Georgia+Tyrone+top.jpg)

Nobody told him the trailor came off at Dover.
Post by: puc me on February 19, 2009, 12:13:25 AM
Post by: gerry on February 19, 2009, 11:49:48 AM
they are having a rest day here  (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=Tangier,+Tangier,+Morocco&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&ie=UTF8&hl=en&cd=1&geocode=FXqvIgIdGeOp_w&split=0&sll=53.800651,-4.064941&sspn=6.881357,14.941406&ll=43.771094,34.980469&spn=44.29377,95.800781&z=4)
Post by: Malvinas on February 21, 2009, 12:16:04 AM
Is there a website providing updates, pictures or anything? Would love to hear some of the stories Galloway's comin out with as he's leading the cavalcade through Northern Africa. And I wonder will Lauren Booth be meeting up with the brother in law for brunch when they make it over there?
Post by: StGallsGAA on February 21, 2009, 11:20:15 AM
I got this text message from Give Her Dixie yesterday:

"I've been behind the steering wheel from I left home.  2400 miles so far with hardly any sleep. 

Arrived in Morocco yesterday to  a big fanfare.  Driving out through town was amazing as the crowds ont he street gave us a huge welcome.  The a big reception and took us to an hotel.  The police have had us under armed guard since we arrived and giving us great security.  There are hundreds of them.

Tomorrow we head towards the Algerian border which hasn't been opened in 20 years.  We will be the exception.  All good so far and some really nice people."
Post by: gerry on February 21, 2009, 11:20:53 AM

here today (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=Oujda,+Oujda,+Morocco&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&hl=en&ie=UTF8&cd=1&geocode=FaLSCwId1pbP_w&split=0&sll=53.800651,-4.064941&sspn=6.881357,14.941406&ll=34.669359,13.974609&spn=50.83674,112.5&z=4)
Post by: StGallsGAA on February 21, 2009, 11:28:02 AM
Here's a slideshow of the convoy with GHD's Rocwell Lorry and a few Tyrone flags on view..........

http://www.aljazeera.net/PhotoGallery/Aspx/Show.aspx?album=G_941#
Post by: under the bar on February 22, 2009, 05:16:35 PM
updates here

http://gregtogaza.blogspot.com/

Post by: StGallsGAA on February 24, 2009, 10:45:11 PM
Give her Dixie gave an interview to Paul Clarke of UTV today which will be shown tomorrow night on UTV live.

He said that Ricey's ban was a disgrace........ ;)
Post by: give her dixie on February 25, 2009, 07:32:11 AM
In support of Ricey, the whole convoy has gone on strike. we are not moving until he is free................
FREE THE DROMORE 1
George Galloway is organising a mass rally in his support later today.........................
The streets of Algeria have come out in their thousands to show their support for him.
Apparently a movie is in the pipeline starring Daniel Day Lewis.

Folks, sorry for not been in conatct, however, as we are driving long distances and staying in quiet places, I have not had a chance to get near internet until now.
Last night when stopped on the road side for a toilet break, a passing motorist stopped to thank us for bringing aid to Gaza. He then insisted on taking us to a hotel for dinner, and following dinner, he booked us 2 rooms to stay for the night! Unbelievable generosity. Hence thge chance for the internet connection.

I am about to leave for the border with Tunisia which we hope to cross tonight or in the morning.
So far this trip has been absolutley amazing. Since we crossed into Morocco, we have been treated like superstars by the locals. Every town and village we pass through, the people line the streets to wish us well. Last Saturday night when we crossed the border from Morocco into Algeria, over 30,000 people lined the streets of Maghnier. As it was the 1st time in 17 years that the border was opened, it was something that words can hardly do justice to. For people to touch the lorry, shake our hands, take our pictures and wish us well was truely a magical moment not only for us, but for them. The people have been just simply amazing. It's like driving the Pope Mobile through crowded streets!!!!!

I have a few pictures posted on Flickr, so maybe someone can post them up here.
Sorry for the short e mail, however we are on a tight schedule, so must dash.
Thinking about you all each day, and have told so many people about your fantastic support.
Spread the word, and make sure to tune into the 6pm news on UTV this evening as I did a satellite interview with Paul Clarke yesterday from the top of the Atlas Mountains in Algeria.

Tyrone To Gaza

John Hurson
Anyhow, the lorry is holding up well, and the people on the trip have been fantastic.
Post by: Zapatista on February 25, 2009, 07:40:40 AM
Good to hear from you.
Post by: Donagh on February 25, 2009, 08:20:46 AM
Good man John!
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 25, 2009, 09:43:28 AM
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3604/3307998646_0229fdd989.jpg)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3324/3307969390_8bb16ba14c.jpg)

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3439/3307973090_cf3fe64e4b.jpg)
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 25, 2009, 10:06:28 AM
Jesus how did i miss this thread, i didn't open it because i thought it was going to be another one of those who is right who is wrong political threads  :(. Fair play to you John totally inspirational ,is there any way to donate money to you now ?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 25, 2009, 04:01:58 PM
Great stuff John, mighty.
Post by: Puckoon on February 25, 2009, 04:50:42 PM
Mighty Mighty Uplifting stuff.

Makes some of the rest of the woes around here insignificant.

Good man John.
Post by: stpauls on February 25, 2009, 04:55:11 PM
great stuff, keep her going John!!
Post by: Sandino on February 25, 2009, 06:00:37 PM
I have total respect for these lads. Fair play to them!
Post by: The Watcher Pat on February 25, 2009, 09:53:57 PM
Keep her lit John....

I hope your journey inspires many more..

Take care..
Post by: puc me on February 25, 2009, 10:13:42 PM
glad to hear alls going well john, ricey abu ;)
Post by: gerry on February 25, 2009, 10:31:00 PM
(http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2368/247/82/541019313/n541019313_2116364_6108.jpg)
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 26, 2009, 08:07:12 AM
Well done to John and the rest of the convoy. Glad to see everything is going to plan. I hope the Israelis have a rare moment of compasion and allow them to cross their borders and then the Gaza border.
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 26, 2009, 11:59:20 AM
Bit of an "incident" in Tunisia

http://www.presstv.ir/detail.aspx?id=86841&sectionid=351020202

Give her dixie texted to say they are all ok and moving again.
Post by: glens abu on February 26, 2009, 12:10:52 PM
Keep it going John you are an inspiration to us all.
Post by: rrhf on February 26, 2009, 12:36:43 PM
John there'll have to be a GAA Board gadderin organised in your honour when you return home. 
Post by: gerry on February 26, 2009, 12:50:24 PM
here yesterday (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?q=Constantine,+Constantine,+Algeria&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&ie=UTF8&hl=en&cd=1&geocode=FX5nKgIdKmNoAA&split=0&sll=53.800651,-4.064941&sspn=6.881357,14.941406&ll=36.350527,6.591797&spn=24.7148,38.847656&z=5&iwloc=addr)
Post by: orangeman on February 26, 2009, 01:09:47 PM
Fair play to you ! Keep er lit.
Post by: tyronefan on February 26, 2009, 02:29:00 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on February 26, 2009, 08:07:12 AM
Well done to John and the rest of the convoy. Glad to see everything is going to plan. I hope the Israelis have a rare moment of compasion and allow them to cross their borders and then the Gaza border.

Do they have to go through Israel. I though they were able to cross the border from Egypt to Gaza
Post by: Mickey Linden on February 27, 2009, 10:59:13 AM
Northern Ireland man detained in Tunisia as Gaza convoy is halted

By Emily Moulton
Friday, 27 February 2009

Print  Email Search
Search
    Go

Bookmark & Share
Digg It
del.icio.us
Facebook
Stumbleupon
What are these?

Change font size: A | A | A
A Co Tyrone man who is driving a lorry to Gaza to deliver humanitarian aid as part of the 'Viva Palestina' convoy has been detained in Tunisia.

John Hurson (39), from Dungannon, entered the north African country on Wednesday after travelling from Algeria but was stopped by Tunisian police, along with the rest of the convoy, and herded into a football stadium in the province of Gabes, more than 300kms away from the capital city of Tunis.

Yesterday, the Tunisian authorities said they would allow the convoy to continue on its journey to Gaza. However, last night the convoy remained in the country and all 120 vehicles were being kept under lock and key in the stadium.

Speaking to the Belfast Telegraph from the stadium in Gabes, Mr Hurson explained he had spent all day trying to get out of the sporting facility but had been repeatedly told they were being kept inside for their "own safety".

"It's just crazy," he said.

"The Tunisian Government are keeping everyone under wraps. They are telling us we are not under arrest but they are not letting us out of the stadium.

"Their excuse is that it's for our safety.

"There is some sort of civil unrest near the border at the moment. They are afraid we might spark some sort of uprising.

"Some people have managed to get away to a hostel to get showered and rest but we are all still stuck in here.

"We have been told that they might take us to a hotel tonight but our vehicles will stay in the stadium.

"It looks as if we won't be able to leave here until Saturday."

Before the convoy was taken to Gabes, Mr Hurson's lorry broke down in the province of Gafsa.

He explained the Tunisian authorities had ordered the convoy to keep moving but because they were stuck on the side of the road he claimed they became a bit hostile.

Once they were able to get moving, the entire convoy met up in Gabes.

According to Press TV, two human rights activists travelling with the convoy were arrested by Tunisian police on Wednesday night.

A reporter, Yvonne Ridley, who is accompanying the convoy, told the news agency the activists were pushed into a van and taken to an undisclosed destination and that their fate remained unknown.

Mr Hurson said many in the convoy were still confused about when they would be able to re-start their trek but acknowledged the Tunisian Government had allowed mechanics into the stadium to help with repairs.

"I just have a wheel bearing that needs to be fixed, which is no problem," he said last night.

"They have let mechanics in to fix things but in terms of the way they have handled this whole situation, it's been a big mistake."

The 'Viva Palestina' convoy was organised by Respect MP George Galloway in response to the humanitarian crisis which is currently affecting thousands of Palestinians following Israel's military assault last month.

More than 100 vehicles, including a fire engine, ambulance and even a boat gathered outside Parliament buildings in London on Valentine's Day and plan to travel more than 5,000 miles through cities such as Bordeaux, Madrid, Tangier, Fez, Ras Jdeir (Libyan border), Tripoli, Cairo and finally ending up at the border crossing of Rafah — sealed by Cairo despite the humanitarian crisis — in Palestine on March 9.

Hope everything gets sorted as soon as possible!
Post by: Zapatista on February 27, 2009, 11:07:57 AM
f**k me, that's some journey.
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 27, 2009, 11:09:20 AM
the guy travelling with John has a blog, it can be viewed here:

http://gregtogaza.blogspot.com/
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 27, 2009, 12:00:53 PM
Cheers Doogie.

Is it true that Fergal Logan is on his way to Tunis as we speak to campaign for Hurson's release?
Post by: gerry on February 27, 2009, 06:35:20 PM
things are bad enough in tyrone with riceys extra ban but now the lorry has broke down

Friday, 27 February 2009

Low loader arrives

Just been put on a low loader which is taking us as far as the border. What happens then we don't know. We need a new front wheel hub. There's no Leyland dealers. Maybe we can get the part flown out by my mate?

Posted by greg cullen at 06:49 0 comments

Lorry Trouble!

We're in trouble. Major breakdown. The convoy has left us behind in Gabes. The secret police want us out of her now. The mayor promised us a low loader to Tripoli, in Libya where we can hopefully get her fixed. But we have learnt to not believe a word that anyone says.
Post by: gerry on February 27, 2009, 06:41:03 PM
(http://www.vivapalestina.org/images/algeria/image039.JPG)
Post by: gerry on February 27, 2009, 06:43:58 PM
(http://www.vivapalestina.org/images/tyrone/IMG_9643.JPG)

(http://www.vivapalestina.org/images/tyrone/IMG_9645.JPG)

(http://www.vivapalestina.org/images/tyrone/IMG_9709.JPG)
Post by: whiskeysteve on February 27, 2009, 07:41:02 PM
Cant believe I missed this thread!

An inspirational story of charity, I hope John and the rest of the convoy get through unscathed. All the best John!
Post by: red hander on February 27, 2009, 08:34:50 PM
Let's all just hope those Israeli bastards will let them in
Post by: under the bar on February 27, 2009, 10:12:00 PM
QuoteLet's all just hope those Israeli b**tards will let them in

Yossi Benayoun's friends & family........
Post by: Donagh on February 28, 2009, 12:19:25 AM
Quote from: red hander on February 27, 2009, 08:34:50 PM
Let's all just hope those Israeli b**tards will let them in

Erm what have the Israelis got to do with anything? How can they stop them? or am I being really stupid?

On the wheel troubles, Gerry, is there anything we can do from here?

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 28, 2009, 12:46:22 AM
Quote from: Donagh on February 28, 2009, 12:19:25 AM

Good point, if we knew the hub part numbers (or the particular hub details) perhaps we could get something over there quickly?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 28, 2009, 12:57:54 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 28, 2009, 12:51:53 AM
Nicking hubcaps in Strabane and grabbing your mates by the wedding tackle  ::)

Obviously you're still suffering Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome after some hammering we gave your crowd in the football. Get over it man, there's always next year!
Post by: Double Cross on February 28, 2009, 01:23:17 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 28, 2009, 12:46:22 AM

Good point, if we knew the hub part numbers (or the particular hub details) perhaps we could get something over there quickly?

The lorry is a 1996 Daf 45, does anyone know which hub he needs? It will be a hell of a job getting a hub from here to Tunisia/Libya. Maybe Donagh still has a few contacts in Libya  ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 28, 2009, 01:26:08 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on February 28, 2009, 01:22:56 AM
Hardly as i am from Tyrone and we don't get to play Strabane but if we get relegated you never know....

I know you're from Tyrone, it's the antagonism I'm seeking an answer for. And be careful what you (don't) wish for.

My guess is that you're Aghyaran?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 28, 2009, 01:27:39 AM
Quote from: Double Cross on February 28, 2009, 01:23:17 AM
The lorry is a 1996 Daf 45, does anyone know which hub he needs? It will be a hell of a job getting a hub from here to Tuisia/Libya. Maybe Donagh still has a few contacts in Libya  ;)

It would be a courier job I'd say, but I don't think my cheque reached them on time before they left, so I'll put what I put in the original cheque to it.

And I think it's a front hub, are both left & right the same?
Post by: Double Cross on February 28, 2009, 01:39:24 AM
Longrusthefox wold you take your nonsense back to hoganstand.

FoSB. both hubs are probably different.
Post by: Double Cross on February 28, 2009, 01:46:15 AM
In a few years when you are old enough to have a car of your own, you`ll realise there is a big difference between a hub and a hub cap. Now run along to bed.
Post by: gerry on February 28, 2009, 01:47:37 AM
you tell him dc
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 28, 2009, 01:53:58 AM
You get the hub or whatever the hell it is to this lorry and I will bow to your ingenuity because your head is full of magic... unless you can get it to Gadaffi to give to then when they hit Libya
Post by: Zapatista on February 28, 2009, 12:31:23 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 27, 2009, 08:34:50 PM
Let's all just hope those Israeli b**tards will let them in

Erm what have the Israelis got to do with anything? How can they stop them? or am I being really stupid?

I think this has become a great PR exercise as well as the great humanitarian exercise. Israel won't be to happy. Even though they are not travleling through Israel, Israel have a habbit of ignoreing borders and humanitarian causes.
Post by: Donagh on February 28, 2009, 01:48:25 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on February 28, 2009, 01:23:17 AM
The lorry is a 1996 Daf 45, does anyone know which hub he needs? It will be a hell of a job getting a hub from here to Tunisia/Libya. Maybe Donagh still has a few contacts in Libya  ;)

Funny you say that, actually I do. Well they'd be Maltese who work fairly often in Libya. What's the craic then, do we need to get this lorry part out to him? Getting something out to Libya would be manageable enough but I don't know shit about Tunisia. 
Post by: StGallsGAA on February 28, 2009, 03:26:26 PM
Can anyone find the link to the UTV live interview?  I can't find it on the website.
Post by: give her dixie on March 04, 2009, 06:25:35 PM
Well folks, the Tyrone 1 is back on the road again, and i'm now in Lybia....
You have no idea the trouble we have had in order to get to an internet cafe, buts thats another story........
We are now 30 miles from the border with Egypt, which we hope to cross tomorrow. From there, we will take 3 days to cross Egypt, and hopefully be at the Rafah border on Sunday. As of now, we have been assured a safe crossing into Gaza for 3 days, however, anything can happen between now and then.

So, since my last post, a lot has happened. After we crossed into Tunisia, we passed through the town of Gafsa, where thousands welcomed us with incredible excitement. Then the convoy was expected to drive a futher 150 miles to Gabes, but with 18 hours already drove that day, the convoy stopped on the roadside to sleep for the night, against the wishes of the police.....

We had a front wheel bearing gone, and after asking the police to return the 2 miles into town to get a hotel for  the night and sort out a mechanic in the morning we were allowed to turn around and return. Press Tv followed us, and after 1 mile we were stopped and not allowed to proceed. They wanted us to turn around and drive the 150 miles. We refused as we could not move much futher without more damage. The police were accompianied by the "secret police" who were horrible. We were made sleep in our vehicles and they kept their flashing lights on us all night. The following morning, they still refused to let us to return the 1 mile to town, and after 5 hours, they brought out a mechanic who did a botch job to get us going. We found out later that the reason we were not allowed to return was because there was unrest in the town after our visit, as the town is a hot bed for the Resistence towards the Govt. Anyone who had spoken to the convoy had been arrested and badly treated.  The police told us that we had not been arrested or prevented from travelling as the 6 police vehicles used to block us in had "broken down"!!!!!! Mysteriously, they all started ok when we were escorted to Gabes...

In Gabes, we were reunited with the convoy, who by this stage had all been taken to a stadium, bringing back memories of the national stadium in Santiago Chile, where Pinochet  took care of thousands of Chilean people in Sept. '73....... No one was allowed to leave the stadium, and those of us who managed to go to an hotel, were taken under heavy police escort, and when at the hotel, not allowed to leave. At 4am the following morning, they came banging on our doors every 15 minutes preventing us from sleeping. Very nice people indeed..... At the stadium, the lorry didn't get fixed, however, a low loader was produced, and we were taken on it to the Lybian border, which we crossed last Saturday.
We recieved an incredible welcome at the border, and everyone was quite relieved to have left Tunisia, which was a horrible experience for everyone. No one in the convoy is in any rush to book holidays in Tunisia, such was our treatment. But seeing as Israel pulls the strings there, what could we expect.
After crossing into Lybia, we were taken to the next town, and we had an incredible welcome. Again, thousands of people lined the streets to welcome us, and we were taken to a large boyscout complex, where we were well fed, and had beds for the night.
Sunday, the convoy moved on and we stayed behind along with a few others who had vehicle problems. Mechanics were laid on, and late in the afternoon, we were back on the road.
After driving 300 miles, we caught up with the convoy and stayed the night in an hotel which was a welcome sight..

Monday, we headed off again, and had a 300 mile drive, staying that night in our vehicles. Monday was "Revolution Day", and a public holiday. That night we passed by the town used by Gadaffi as a summer residence, and we could see the extravagent firework display as we drove along the motorway. As we were tight for time, we didn't get a chance to stop in and have a cuppa with him, but i'm sure he understood!!!!
Yesterday, we set off early and made our way towards the desert.  After 150 miles or so, we hit the start of the 300 mile desert crossing. After lunch, and fuel fill ups, we started to cross the desert. It was an incredible drive, with nothing but sand, shells of wrecked cars, and dead camels along the road........ We drove about 180 miles, and at sunset, camped for the night.

Today, we completed the drive, stopping once as I had a tyre blow out along the way. Thankfully we have a tyre van on the convoy, and with his air tools, we had the wheel changed in no time. It was a very hot drive with temperatures in the 30's, much like home right now I suppose.

Today we recieved sad news that a journalist on her way to cover our journey to Gaza was killed last night in a car accident. It has put a damper on things for everyone, and has re focussed our convoy. All our thoughts are with her family and friends.

This journey for me is now on day 20, and it seems just like yesterdy when I left Dungannon, although I have driven almost 4,500 miles so  far. It is one incredible trip. Greg and myself feel like we are driving the Pope Moblile as every town we enter people line the streets to greet us, and we are treated like the pope driving through Ireland in 1979....... People want to shake our hands, take our pictures, give us food and water, and to see the joy in their eyes is a feeling that will last with me forever. If this is what we are getting on this journey so far, the reception we will recieve in Gaza will be amazing. Apparently, over 500,000 people will be at the border to greet us!! Gaza is already is buzzing waiting for us, and hopefully this Saturday we will be there to deliver not only our vehicles and aid, but a very strong message of hope to them. We have also been joined by 100 trucks laiden with aid from Lybia. The sight of 220 vehicles snaking through the deset today was breathtaking. It would be very foolish of any Govt. to deny us entry to Gaza now.......
Anyway folks, your help and support has carried us this far, and it will be carried all the way to Gaza this Sunday, so stay tuned to the news for our arrival, it should be something else...............

Tyrone To Gaza

John
Post by: Double Cross on March 04, 2009, 06:54:34 PM
Thanks for the update John, good to hear you got going again. Keep us posted and get some pics up when you get a chance.
Have a safe journey.
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 04, 2009, 07:03:50 PM
Great to hear you are mobile again John, take care. 
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 04, 2009, 07:27:13 PM
All the best, hope you make it
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2009, 07:32:27 PM
Great to hear from you John, best of luck for the remainder.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 04, 2009, 08:20:10 PM
Hope my Cavan air freshener is keeping those sweaty desert smells at bay :D Well done lads.
Post by: rrhf on March 04, 2009, 08:33:54 PM
Keep thon rocwell wagon pointed at Gaza John..
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 07, 2009, 09:57:42 AM
Mickey Harte does his bit for gaza... not that Mickey Harte.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmvgVLT6xS0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmvgVLT6xS0)
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 07, 2009, 10:20:29 AM
That's actually quite a good song!! Just hope he done it for the right reasons!
Post by: Zapatista on March 07, 2009, 11:07:09 AM
I really don't know what to say. That's an amazing story of hope John.
Post by: ONeill on March 07, 2009, 06:11:42 PM
Truly inspiring poster.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 07, 2009, 11:26:29 PM
Great stuff, John. You are truly an inspiration to us all.
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 08, 2009, 10:48:53 AM
got a text last night

"just crossing the Suez Canal on the Peace Bridge, Awesome. 215 km from Rafah, Ye Ha!"
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 08, 2009, 10:53:38 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on March 08, 2009, 10:48:53 AM
got a text last night

"just crossing the Suez Canal on the Peace Bridge, Awesome. 215 km from Rafah, Ye Ha!"

Who was it from?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 08, 2009, 10:54:06 AM
I am kidding by the way.
Post by: gerry on March 08, 2009, 11:15:34 AM
great stuff john keep her going
Post by: give her dixie on March 08, 2009, 09:50:59 PM
Well folks, today we were supposed to cross through the Rafah border into Gaza, however, the Egyptians and Israeli Government have now blocked us from not only entering Gaza, but prevented us from leaving the car park we were put into last night.
They have done a complete U turn on their promises, and the latest news isn't good for us.

We arrived in Egypt on Thursday, and man what a reception. However, this reception was not the usual crowds of thousands of people lining the streets wishing us well, but thousands of police and military lining the streets instead!
We were all given numbers on our vehicles, and various stickers determining who we were. Then, we were escorted for 250 miles to what can only be described as a "Prison Camp". It was an hotel for the military, and it was surrounded by military/police, and we were not allowed to leave the compound. It was very intimidating, however, we were very tired, so a bed for the night was a welcome sight.

The following day, under heavy police escort, we were driven another 300 miles. This was one long journey, as the police drove us at about 30 km per hour for hours on end, which was very tiring to say the least. Every 30 km, we would go through checkpoints where at least 10 different people would take down our registration number, and check our numbers which the police had gave us.
This just prolonged our journey, and left everyone shattered.
The extent to which the Government had gone to "protect us" included 1 police man every 50 metres along the road. So, over a 300 mile trip, this equated to a lot of policemen! I would love to tell you what they looked like, however as they stood with their back to us the whole time, it was impossible to see their faces. It was so funny to see them stare into trees, walls, and even the sea along the way. At first, we thought it was funny, however, as the miles clocked on, we felt so sorry for the poor policemen who had to stand for nearly a whole day without food and water in that position.
Again, that night we were under a very heavy guard at our hotel, and again, no one was allowed to leave the hotel grounds.

Then yesterday, again under heavy escort and police men every 50 metres, we headed to Al Arish, our final stop over before Rafah. For the 1st time since we arrived in Egypt, thousands of people lined the streets and gave us an incredible welcome. Having been deprived of any reception for a few days, this was a welcome sight.... We have become very used to people shouting at us along the way, and we were suffering withdrawal symptoms prior to last night.....

It took us 2 hours to get from one end of the town to the other, and when we finally arrived to the car park, we were taxied to a nearby hotel. Again we were not allowed out, however, when 12 of us convinced the manager that we had forgotten our bags, we were allowed back to get them.......
We took the opportunity to head into town and get something to eat. It was a good buzz, and after talking to locals, they told us to watch out for the authorities as they had something planned for us.

That turned out to be true, as today we were not allowed to leave the car park. This was a total turnaround by the Government, and not expected. However, as Egypt is the 2nd largest benefactor of aid from the USA after Israel, what could we have expected? They kept us parked up all day, and got very heavy handed. Some of the convoy tried to move out anyway, and they were met by a heavy hand in the form of a few hundred riot police. They hit the various vehicles with their batons, and a few convoy members were also injured. My safety was secure as I watched for the roof of the lorry sipping a can of Murphys (or 6)....... I had a birds eye view, and it wasn't pretty for a while. However, cool heads prevailed, and order was soon restored.

I then tried to diffuse the situation by recreating the famous football match between the British and German soldiers on Christmas day during the 1st world war! I kitted out our convoy footballers in Derrytresk GAA jerseys and challenged the Egyptian police to a friendly game of football. They politely refused, so we then played against some of the Lybian convoy drivers kitted out in Dungannon Swifts soccer jerseys! That has to be a 1st for a GAA select to play a Soccer select in Egypt. It was 7 a side, and it was some sight. Hundreds of locals and convoy drivers watched on, surrounded by riot police. We were treated to a fantastic game, with Derrytresk excelling at the soccer, and led 7 - 1 at full time. In the interests of sportsmanship, it was decided the game should be settled on penalties. Well, it provided some light hearted relief for everyone, and for the record, Derrytresk won on penalties. The Lybian Swifts accepted defeat, and demanded a game of Gaelic instead for the return leg......

George Galloway then returned from the border and from meetings with the Egyptian Government to inform us that only vehicles with medical aid can now get into Gaza. All other vehicles would have to cross through Israeli borders, which will be unacceptable as they do not want to see us anywhere near Gaza.

The Israeli Government have only allowed some medical aid and bare essential food items to cross into Gaza. At this stage, only half a pallet of aid on the lorry will be allowed in. This folks, is one major set back for me, however, it just goes to show how the people of Gaza are been treated by the Israeli Government, backed by major western leaders. They should all hang their heads in shame. However, tomorrow is a new day, and negations are taking place well into the night, and I go to bed tonight with hope that things will change by tomorrow. Lets hope some common decency will prevail and the aid will get through.

It has been a long hard struggle for everyone to get this far, and to have our promises broken at this late stage is very sad for all concerned. If we are turned away, and the aid doesn't get in, I want each and every one of you to tell your friends, family, politicians, press, and whoever else has ears about this act of inhumanity not only to us, but to the 1.5 million people in Gaza living in terrible conditions. They should not get away with this for sure.
So, lets hope I have better news to report soon, however it doesn't look good. So, for now, good night.

Tyrone To Gaza

John Hurson
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 08, 2009, 10:02:46 PM
Hopefully the morning will bring better news.

All the very best
Post by: ONeill on March 08, 2009, 10:05:18 PM
I then tried to diffuse the situation by recreating the famous football match between the British and German soldiers on Christmas day during the 1st world war! I kitted out our convoy footballers in Derrytresk GAA jerseys and challenged the Egyptian police to a friendly game of football. They politely refused, so we then played against some of the Lybian convoy drivers kitted out in Dungannon Swifts soccer jerseys! That has to be a 1st for a GAA select to play a Soccer select in Egypt. It was 7 a side, and it was some sight. Hundreds of locals and convoy drivers watched on, surrounded by riot police. We were treated to a fantastic game, with Derrytresk excelling at the soccer, and led 7 - 1 at full time. In the interests of sportsmanship, it was decided the game should be settled on penalties. Well, it provided some light hearted relief for everyone, and for the record, Derrytresk won on penalties. The Lybian Swifts accepted defeat, and demanded a game of Gaelic instead for the return leg......

They're burning bonfires at the Hill as we speak. The home-coming will be some craic. Don't harm the cup.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 08, 2009, 10:10:44 PM
Thanks for the update John, making history at every turn, and better luck with the border crossing tomorrow. Go n-éirí an bóthar leat!
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 08, 2009, 10:15:38 PM
Keep the spirits (or should that be Murphys) up John. 
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 08, 2009, 10:39:29 PM
This probably sounds silly, but what's the best method of us GAA boarders bringing this to the mass media?

Email radio shows, TV, MPs??

Forgive me as I have never been a revoloutionary before but can we call it the Boarders Busting Borders?
Post by: BennyHarp on March 09, 2009, 08:53:32 AM
This is an amazing story - you should write a book when you get back John!!
Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 09, 2009, 12:55:04 PM
What's going on here John?
[img]http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3599/3328474327_65b5901644_m.jpg/img]

Post by: An Fear Rua on March 09, 2009, 03:01:28 PM
"TYRONE IS IN GAZA"

and the best of it is that it appears that all the aid got in, basically re-catagorised as "Medical"

well done John
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 09, 2009, 03:16:20 PM
That is great news AFR!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/middle_east/7932764.stm
Post by: Double Cross on March 09, 2009, 04:02:46 PM
Well done John, you have done us all proud.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 09, 2009, 06:45:04 PM
I'm really really delighted that you got through John. You are an inspiration to all of us that shows that one person can make a difference. You can take great pride in what you have done and I'm certain you have made a real difference to some very deperate people in Gaza.
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 10, 2009, 11:30:26 AM
John has just handed over the lorry, mission accomplished.

Post by: Zapatista on March 10, 2009, 11:52:42 AM
That's fantastic news. Safe home John.
Post by: give her dixie on March 12, 2009, 01:54:04 PM
Well folks, the great news to report to you today is that the Rocwell  lorry filled with aid has been safely delivered to the people of Gaza in one piece. It was an amazing emotional feeling handing over the lorry and aid, knowing that it was going to make a difference to so many people affected by the recent war in Gaza.

To start off from where I last filled you in, was a roller coaster ride of anger, relief, tears, revenge, joy and achievement. There were so many emotions packed into 24 hours, it's hard to know where to begin!

When I left the internet café in Al Arish, we returned to the car park where all hell had broke loose! A few hours before, the police had come in very heavy handed and had batoned several members of the crowd. They then retreated suddenly, switched the lights off, and then a barrage of missiles came over the wall injuring several members of the convoy. Not only that, they had used the darkness to write anti Hamas slogans on several vehicles. For a while it was total chaos. Thankfully I wasn't around for it, and luckily my vehicle escaped the slogan writing.

However, that wasn't the worst part. As I had mentioned in the last message, the Egyptian government had planned to refuse non medical aid to be delivered to Gaza. We had hoped this wasn't going to happen, however, they were true to their word, and at midnight on Sunday, they proceeded to strip each vehicle with all the contents that wasn't medical aid. The sight of van after van been stripped of the blankets, clothes, toys, shoes, generators, cement mixers, building products, and everything else that wasn't medical aid brought each and every one of us to tears. To see fellow convoy members crying in each others arms was a very sad sight. We were in total shock as we witnessed the Government officals go through each vehicle one by one and take everything out. How a government could deny it's neighbour vital aid was just unbelievable. We all knew that Egypt is controlled by Israel and the U.S. but we didn't realise the true extent until Sunday night. We were way beyond angry, and not one official could speak English when questioned about why they were doing it, however their English was perfect when they were asking people to open their doors and question them about their contents.

They strutted about under armed guard, and laughed at us as we stood around in total disbelief. However, we regrouped and came up with a plan. As each vehicle was stripped, and then cleared to move to the other side of the car park, convoy members distracted the officials with cups of tea and coffee, while the rest worked like an army of ants and carried the confiscated aid behind their backs to the cleared vehicles. As quick as the officials took the aid out, we put it back in again! This was a victory for us, and it went on until 6am when the officials left us to go home. Practically all the aid they took out, we had put back in again. We had turned a bad situation into a positive one, and the stupidity of the officials was exposed by their failure to see what was going on!

The following morning we awoke to the dreaded thought of them having to go through our vehicle and the others they hadn't got to the night before. Thankfully for us, (and them), the Government relented and allowed us to carry all our aid. They had gone around us and the other vehicles asking what we had on board. Of course by that stage, all the aid in the remaining vehicles had turned into medical aid. We had covered our load with "hypothermia blankets", and when questioned, this was all we were carrying. It became a joke to hear them ask question after question about the aid on board each vehicle, and to hear the answers given was hilarious. They had held up a wind up torch and were told it was a pacemaker! Generators became heart monitors and incubators, saws became surgical saws, clothes became maternity wear, and just about everything else magically turned into medical aid. It became a total joke, and we had the last laugh when about noon on Monday, every vehicle rolled out of the car park and made the 50 km journey towards the Rafah border destined for Gaza.......

At the border, we waited for a couple of hours for the paperwork to be completed and passports stamped, and then around 4pm, the gates opened and we drove across the border into Gaza. It was a feeling that I find difficult to put into words. After 25 days on the road, over 6,000 miles driven, we finally got into Gaza. Tears flowed like rivers from each and every one of the convoy members, and the feeling among us was a sight to witness. It was a moment in time that you would just love to freeze, such was the excitement.

Following our crossing, we were greeted by the Palestinean government at the border, and given the warmest of welcomes.
We then proceed to drive into Gaza city, a distance of about 25 kms. Thousands and thousands of people lined the drive to Gaza city. They wanted to shake our hands, take our photo's, touch our vehicles, wish us well, thank us, and bless us. We were in total shock as we drove along the road, and very humbled to receive such a reception. What this convoy meant to the people of Gaza is so hard to explain. The hope, joy, thanks and relief in their eyes as we drove along was amazing. It was such a proud moment for everyone to drive along the road into Gaza city. We had all made such an effort along the way, and finally we had made it to Gaza. We were very happy people indeed......

In the city centre, we were all parked in a large car park, and people were coming over to each and everyone of us to shake our hands, hug us, kiss us, and thank us for making the journey. Not only was it a great feeling, but it was very humbling as these people are the real heroes. People in wheel chairs, people on crutches, old, young, all affected by the war lined up to thank us, and all we could do was thank them. They were the real heroes. Following a reception, we were split into groups and taken to various acommaditon for the night.

The following morning we were taken on bus tours around the city to visit the areas hit hardest in the war. No one on the convoy could believe what we saw. Street after street were demolished, home after home flattened, factory after factory ruined, tree after tree uprooted, their water treatment facility wrecked, their sewage works destroyed, the sea polluted, and what wasn't bombed or bulldozed was shot to pieces. 51 Mosques were destroyed, police stations flattened, ambulances destroyed, hospitals attacked, schools bombed, and just about everything wrecked. We were drove around in total shock belief and horror. What we had seen on TV did absolutely no justice to what had really happened. It was very easy to see how the media had been censored on what images they. had shown us. The heaviest damage was inflicted on the areas closest to border with Israel. It just went to prove what the war was really about. LAND. They had flattened and destroyed so much land, leaving the Israelis  in a position to capture it when the next opportunity arises.

The people of Gaza are left with no resources to re build their homes as the raw materials are controlled by Israel, and they have no chance to re build. This effectively leaves them with no other option but to move further in land, leaving the land and bombed out homes behind. This is ethnic cleansing on a scale so big I find hard to describe. My pictures will give you an indication, and you can make up your own minds. The bombing by the Israelis continue on a daily basis, and 1 hour after we toured the area, they bombed it again! It just keeps going on, and the media fail to report it again and again. Shame on them, shame on them, shame on them.

Following a large civic reception in our honour, we were broke into groups and taken to various places around the city to witness what had happened to different groups in Gaza. A fellow convoy member from Gaza had arranged for me to go to the Gaza City Sports Centre where a 5 a side soccer match was arranged for us. We had a "Convoy 5" select play the a Gaza city select. Our team was kitted out in Dungannon Clarkes GAA jerseys, and did very well in the match, scoring a very dubious penalty to draw the game at the end 2 - 2......... Following the match, there was a civic reception held in their boardroom / trophy room where I presented them with over 50 Dungannon Clarkes jerseys in various sizes. I also presented them with 30 Armagh childrens jerseys, shorts and socks, that had been donated by O'Neills in Strabane. They were absolutely delighted and so thankful for our gifts, and I assured them that this wouldn't be the end of the aid that we will help them with. Upon my return, I hope to be able to raise funds for their club which provides so much for the people of Gaza.

Yesterday morning, Wednesday, I visited a local school and presented them with more jerseys donated by O'Neills and the Sligo Co. Board. I had Dublin and Sligo jerseys for them, and to see the kids scramble for a jersey, quickly put it on and then run like mad after a football around the play ground was very emotional for me. Maybe one day they can grow up learning to play Gaelic, and who knows, they could line out for Dublin who are in need of new talent at the minute................

At 11am, our trip to Gaza was over and we had to say tearful goodbyes to our hosts and make our way to the Rafah border. At the border, about 20 of us decided that we were not going to cross, and that we wanted to return to Gaza and offer whatever help we could. After a 2 hour delay, we were strongly advised by the Palestenian Government to return as they could not guarantee when we would be able to leave due to the fact that the Rafah crossing is controlled by the Egyptians, and only opened once every 6 weeks or so. And that is only to let medical aid only into
Gaza. Some decided to stay anyway, and for the rest of us we crossed the border wishing we could stay longer. However, when we get home our work will continue, and we will do our very best to publicise what we had seen, and double our efforts to raise more money and aid for the people of Gaza.

When we got on the bus, an American woman boarded the bus with a young Palestinean girl who had a very serious facial disfigurement. She was attempting to bring the child back to the US where she was going to arrange specialist surgery for the young girl. The childs father got on to say goodbye, and he was in floods of tears as he told us he had been trying for 7 years to get his daughter treatment outside of Gaza. It had a serious effect on all us on the bus, and we were again left in bewilderment as to how this could happen. If this girl was in the "western world", money would be raised, television and press would follow her, and she would receive the best treatment money could buy. However, because she is from Gaza, she can't even get to see a specialist doctor! Just an another sad example of what is really going on in Gaza.

After crossing the border, we took a taxi into Cairo, where we arrived at 2am last night. I hope to unwind here and get a filght tomorrow or Saturday and return home. This journey has not only been amazing for me, but also for each and every other person on the convoy. We will all go home and tell all our friends and family what about what we experienced, and what we saw in Gaza. It makes us all so sad and angry to have witnessed the destruction and loss of life in Gaza. The people we met in Gaza were without doubt the warmest and friendliest we have ever met. They are so well educated, and speak fantastic English. Why they have to suffer so much, make do with so little, and try to live a humble life and the whole time they are been attacked by Israel with the backing of the western world just beggars belief. In 2009 to see such cruel things happen is just unbelievable. So, tell everyone you know about what I have saw, show them my pictures, make them read what I have wrote, phone your politicians, contact all the press you know, and do whatever you can to educate everyone as to the full extent about what is REALLY happening to Gaza and it's citizens. It must stop, and we can all play a role in trying to stop what is happening to our fellow human beings. We can make a difference if we try...............................

I will leave you with some cold hard facts about the recent war inflicted by Israel / U.S.A. on Gaza

1455 dead, of which 405 were children, and 115 were women.

5,303 injured, 1,815 of whom were children and 785 women.

5 hospitals destroyed.

33 clinics destroyed

16 medics killed

15 ambulances destroyed

179 schools badly damaged, 10 totally flattened

153 Mosques badly damaged, 51 flattened.

11,000 dunums, 140,965 Olive trees, 136,217 Citrus trees and 10,000 Palm trees were destroyed.

$30 million damage to the poultry and cattle industry.

The total losses inflicted on Gaza after the 23 day Israeli war is $2.8 billion.

Folks, that is the cold hards fact, and the reality of what I witnessed in Gaza. You can make up your own minds, I know I have.

Pictures can be viewed by clicking on the following link

Tyrone In Gaza

John Hurson
Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 12, 2009, 02:19:29 PM
John, you're an inspiration!

Lads, we should all club together & take him out for a few drinks on his return.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2009, 02:19:57 PM
John. All I can say to you is congratulations, other words cannot do justice to what you have done.

I will be sending this forum link to every politician that I know of.
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 12, 2009, 02:25:40 PM
Well done John, in a week of shitty press you have brightened everything up.  Your perserverance is to be admired.
Post by: nifan on March 12, 2009, 02:32:49 PM
Well done John. terrible to think that they would try to deny people some of the small things youse where taking, whatever the political stance of Egypt.
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 12, 2009, 02:41:42 PM
well Done john truly inspirational .
Post by: glens abu on March 12, 2009, 03:15:00 PM
what can we say John you are a mighty man and a credit to Ireland and Tyrone,just awesome keep us up to date on your next venture and we will get you as much support as we can.
Post by: youngfella on March 12, 2009, 03:22:14 PM
What a story! Should get wrting a book, with all profits going to gaza.

truely amazing
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 12, 2009, 03:34:19 PM
While John and the rest of the drivers have done a fantastic job, why do charity workers from here now always seem to feel the need to get the natives to wear GAA tops? 
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 12, 2009, 04:00:52 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 12, 2009, 03:34:19 PM
While John and the rest of the drivers have done a fantastic job, why do charity workers from here now always seem to feel the need to get the natives to wear GAA tops? 
Its called spreading the word of this great sporting and cultural movement that we should all be proud of. 
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 12, 2009, 04:11:06 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on March 12, 2009, 04:00:52 PM
Its called spreading the word of this great sporting and cultural movement that we should all be proud of. 

As opposed to the Catholic missionaries in the old days trying to impose their beliefs on the indigenous folk!  Seems a bit wierd to me  but don't want to be too churlish as John and the others on the convoy have been magnificent.       
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 12, 2009, 04:20:41 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 12, 2009, 04:11:06 PM

As opposed to the Catholic missionaries in the old days trying to impose their beliefs on the indigenous folk!  Seems a bit wierd to me   but don't want to be too churlish as John and the others on the convoy have been magnificent.      
Wise up and run along, let this thread remain as it is.
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 12, 2009, 04:24:26 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on March 12, 2009, 04:20:41 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 12, 2009, 04:11:06 PM

As opposed to the Catholic missionaries in the old days trying to impose their beliefs on the indigenous folk!  Seems a bit wierd to me   but don't want to be too churlish as John and the others on the convoy have been magnificent.       
Wise up and run along, let this thread remain as it is.

Wat are you slabbering about? I'm only making a point. Is called freedom of speech. You highlight half the sentence while I also said the work they did was magnificent. 
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 12, 2009, 08:49:22 PM

It's not a GAA top to the people of Gaza. It's just a top. Something to help keep them clean and warm. The reason that there are usually so many GAA tops as opposed to normal tops is that, as we all know the GAA is a organisation based on giving.
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2009, 09:14:11 PM
You're a feckin legend GHD.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 12, 2009, 09:23:27 PM
Awesome John, stupefying, look forward to your homecoming shindig. Go h-iontach ar fad a chara!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 12, 2009, 09:28:21 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on March 12, 2009, 08:49:22 PM

It's not a GAA top to the people of Gaza. It's just a top. Something to help keep them clean and warm. The reason that there are usually so many GAA tops as opposed to normal tops is that, as we all know the GAA is a organisation based on giving.

Indeed Norf, this lad is lost to the Hoganstand.
Post by: maggie on March 12, 2009, 10:07:51 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on January 30, 2009, 12:45:38 AM

As this is a GAA board, how about donating some jerseys from your club or your county? It would be good to see a few Palestinians in your club colours?

This was in the original request from John-so thats probably the reason longrunsthefox  :-\ :-\ :-\

P.S. Deadly work-such an achievement.
Post by: maggie on March 12, 2009, 10:17:16 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 12, 2009, 10:14:40 PM
A bit of a messed up post from maggie

Yea-just noticed that HS-but sure, as always can rely on you to pick up on it  ???
Been a long day.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 12, 2009, 10:22:56 PM
Quote from: maggie on March 12, 2009, 10:17:16 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 12, 2009, 10:14:40 PM
A bit of a messed up post from maggie
Yea-just noticed that HS-but sure, as always can rely on you to pick up on it  ???

Pot, kettle, and now what am I?  :D
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 13, 2009, 10:13:50 AM
Jeez-I poked a rotweiller with the observation about the jerseys. Sorry it offended a few people.
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 13, 2009, 10:20:24 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 13, 2009, 10:13:50 AM
Jeez-I poked a rotweiller with the observation about the jerseys. Sorry it offended a few people.

Well it just that this has been a trully inspiring Story ,throughout the whole thread all you can read is positive posts and stories so no need to throw a spanner in the works about questioning the Gaa Jerseys and as the tayto ad says there is allways one  ;)   
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 13, 2009, 10:26:27 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on March 13, 2009, 10:20:24 AM

Well it just that this has been a trully inspiring Story ,throughout the whole thread all you can read is positive posts and stories so no need to throw a spanner in the works about questioning the Gaa Jerseys and as the tayto ad says there is allways one  ;)   

I'll wear sack cloth and ashes for a week  :-\
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 13, 2009, 10:30:14 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on March 13, 2009, 10:26:27 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on March 13, 2009, 10:20:24 AM

I'll wear sack cloth and ashes for a week  :-\

Will the sack cloth look like a GAA Jersey Longrun  :D
Post by: stpauls on March 13, 2009, 10:38:53 AM
just read john's last post, i do not have the words to describe how i feel!! you are hero to many john, pure and simple, your work and perserverance (sp) to get all that aid to Gaza is truely inspirational!! fair play to you!!
Post by: give her dixie on March 13, 2009, 11:16:05 AM
folks, thanks a milion for all your kind words and messages of support.
I had trouble yesterday loading pictures on flickr, however I have uploaded soome on facebook, so check them out.
As I can't upload to this site, please feel free to upload them, and sure maybe Ziggy can start a caption competition on some of them!!!!!!!
Plus, please use them to send to anyone you know. Lets be responsible for getting the true message about Gaza out to as many people as possible.

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=93525&id=541019313&l=c2e8f

Forgot to mention in my last post that as a thank you from the Palestinean Government, each member of the convoy is to become an honoray citizen of Palestine, and we are to recieve Palestinean passports. That is a remarkable thank you, and i can't wait to use it next time I fly. I will even use it when I cross the border for diesel in Monaghan...................

Tyrone In Gaza

John Hurson

P.S. Mr Fox, you are getting a well deserved slagging about the jerseys....... I know what you are saying and that is why I asked for rugby and soccer jerseys as well.
Dungannon Swifts came through with jerseys, and they too are in Gaza. Maybe someone can post the photo of the Derrytresk GAA Convoy select playing the Dungannon Swifts Lybian Convoy select.........
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 13, 2009, 11:20:57 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on March 13, 2009, 11:16:05 AM
folks, thanks a milion for all your kind words and messages of support.
I had trouble yesterday loading pictures on flickr, however I have uploaded soome on facebook, so check them out.
As I can't upload to this site, please feel free to upload them, and sure maybe Ziggy can start a caption competition on some of them!!!!!!!
Plus, please use them to send to anyone you know. Lets be responsible for getting the true message about Gaza out to as many people as possible.

Forgot to mention in my last post that as a thank you from the Palestinean Government, each member of the convoy is to become an honoray citizen of Palestine, and we are to recieve Palestinean passports. That is a remarkable thank you, and i can't wait to use it next time I fly. I will even use it when I cross the border for diesel in Monaghan...................

Tyrone In Gaza

John Hurson

P.S. Mr Fox, you are getting a well deserved slagging about the jerseys....... I know what you are saying and that is why I asked for rugby and soccer jerseys as well.
Dungannon Swifts came through with jerseys, and they too are in Gaza. Maybe someone can post the photo of the Derrytresk GAA Convoy select playing the Dungannon Swifts Lybian Convoy select.........

This is like getting told off by God  :'( ... still I appreciate you say 'I know what you are saying'   Take care.   
Post by: give her dixie on March 14, 2009, 11:13:38 PM
Gaza is in Tyrone. Arrived home safe and well this evening.
Now wrecked, and going to bed.

Gaza in Tyrone

John Hurson
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 14, 2009, 11:19:07 PM
Get a good rest you deserve it!!

Post by: longrunsthefox on March 14, 2009, 11:20:06 PM
Welcome home. You did great.
Post by: puc me on March 16, 2009, 02:52:27 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on March 12, 2009, 02:19:29 PM
John, you're an inspiration!

Lads, we should all club together & take him out for a few drinks on his return.
[/quote
Well done john spreading a bit of the gaa around the world for such a worthy cause I agree that we should get together(those who can) and take you out for a few beers as I would like to hear more of your journey, 1st round on ziggy
& o neill is paying for the taxis, tyrone abu ;)
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 16, 2009, 03:50:04 AM
here is the convoy entering Gaza

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q8KRXMHrgBg

Post by: give her dixie on March 16, 2009, 06:18:52 PM
Well folks, please click onto the youtube link below to watch a picture slideshow set to music.
All pictures were taken in Gaza.
Please forward it onto as many people as possible.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=On22mZLRPPY

Thanks

John
Post by: ziggysego on March 16, 2009, 06:59:49 PM
Excellent John. You're a credit.
Post by: gerry on March 19, 2009, 08:45:37 AM
Sounding  well today john on radio ulster, your a credit to your family.

Btw ,,, lay of gareth brooks
Post by: give her dixie on March 19, 2009, 09:13:08 AM
Was a turn up for the books to have BBC Radio Ulster want to speak to me after refusing to mention my journey before I left....
Any media coverage about Gaza is more than welcome.

click on this link for photo's from Leg 1. Tyrone to Algeria. More to follow when I get a chance to upload.

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=541019313#/album.php?aid=94695&id=541019313

Thanks,

John
Post by: give her dixie on March 19, 2009, 11:18:28 AM
Please click on the following link for photo's from Leg 2. Algeria, Tunisia and Lybia.

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=94787&id=541019313&saved#/album.php?aid=94787&id=541019313

thanks

John
Post by: give her dixie on March 19, 2009, 12:43:35 PM
Please click on the following link for photo's from Leg 3. Lybia and Egypt

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=94794&id=541019313

Thanks

John
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 02, 2009, 07:47:06 PM
Seems poor George Galloway is paying the price for this venture....

http://www.independent.co.uk/opinion/commentators/fisk/robert-fisk-galloway-a-victim-of-canadas-baffling-approach-to-fighting-terror-1658986.html

Robert Fisk: Galloway a victim of Canada's baffling approach to fighting terror

Wednesday, 1 April 2009

"Come out and debate with me like a man," the old bruiser shouted over the video-link to Toronto. "Let's book the biggest hall in Canada and you and I will debate these issues of war and peace and freedom of speech and censorship... If we don't achieve a political settlement (in the Middle East), we're in for war. If there's no justice, there will be no peace for Palestine."

It was, of course, the old scallywag himself, George Galloway, fuming about the Canadian Immigration Minister James Kenney's refusal to allow him to speak in Canada on the grounds that he – Galloway – was involved in "terrorism". The Scottish-born MP was talking from an important centre of "world terror" – New York City.

Mr Kenney's spokesman, Alikhan Velshi, last week compared Mr Galloway to Oliver Cromwell and said he would not be allowed to enter Canada. Self-publicist, friend of dictators, reality TV show performer and general silly ass Mr Galloway may be. But he has no more in common with Cromwell than the minister has with Ghengis Khan.

But this is no laughing matter. How could the Canadian embassy in London have believed Mr Galloway's food and medicine shipment to Gaza, made with Israel's agreement, and its delivery to the Hamas government was a "terrorist" act, even if Stephen Harper's Canadian government regards Hamas as a "terrorist organisation".

Mr Galloway wasn't shipping guns and is touring the US with his anti-war, pro-Palestinian, non-terrorist speeches. "It's just not credible, Mr Kenney," Mr Galloway shouted, "to call a man touring the United States, playing to packed audiences... a terrorist or a security threat."

Quite so. After all, the US has lost thousands of soldiers in its "war on terror" in the Middle East. Canada's army in Afghanistan comprises barely 2,000 and has suffered fewer than 120 military casualties.

Only a Canadian Jewish organisation agreed with Mr Galloway's exclusion; one paper here suggested this might have prompted the ban. The right-wing National Post came out against the exclusion, though only because a "future left-wing Canadian government" might ban Israeli or US speakers.

But there's a bigger issue. Canada helped the US send an innocent Canadian citizen, Mahar Arar, to "rendition" in Syria, where he was savagely tortured. Only a few days ago, another Canadian Muslim told me how he was whipped with steel cables in Damascus as his torturers read out questions from the Canadian embassy. Yet another Canadian Muslim citizen, Abousfian Abdelrazik, has been living in the reception of the US embassy in Khartoum for 10 months after Canadian agents asked the enormously democratic Sudanese government to imprison him for terrorism. Now the government won't let him come home unless he's taken off not a Canadian, but a UN "terrorist" list. Cromwellian isn't the word for it. But the mystery is this: how did so many millions of decent Canadians come to be ruled by such a weird government?

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 02, 2009, 08:59:37 PM
Missed those pic links first time around, great stuff John.
Post by: give her dixie on April 29, 2009, 06:00:18 PM
Well folks, sorry I havn't been on for a while as I have been very busy recently.
I have recently up loaded a couple of short video's to youtube, so please click on the links below to watch.
I have 2 up at the moment, however, I intend to post more soon.
The 1st is from Al Arish in Egypt, where the Govt. went through our vehicles and took out anything they deemed wasn't medical aid.
This included clothes, toys, blankets, food, shoes and anything else destined for Gaza.
I was able to get all our aid in as I had covered my load with "Hypethermia Blankets", as you will see in the 2nd video!
It was one of the most sickening things I have ever witnessed, and as you will see, I was very angry with the Officials!!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0khgOW0KHs

The next one is of Greg and myself handing over the truck filled with aid to the people of Gaza.
As you will see, it was fairly emotional, and sad to say goodbye, however, it has gone to a good home!
Everyone on the GAA Board can take credit for this to happen as you provided us with incredible support
before we left, and while on the road. There is a large sprirt from the GAA Board on the Rocwell truck for sure. (plus a big logo..)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oLqNo_04pwA

Please pass on these video's to all your friends and let them know the truth about Gaza.
They live in the worlds largest open air prison, and the siege has got to be lifted on Gaza now.
We all have our part to play, not matter how small it is. We can make the change if we try hard enough.
Some time in late May, I will be having a fundraising night where I will show a video from the journey
and will have a couple of guest speakers from Gaza and from the convoy.
I will let you know more details as they emerge.
If anyone who can't make it up this far, maybe I can come down and talk to people in your area and show the film too.
Any help as usual will be greatly appreciated.

Will post more video's as I get them uploaded.

Tyrone To Gaza

John
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 29, 2009, 10:46:19 PM
Great stuff John, but jeez those Egyptians are some camel dung.
Post by: give her dixie on May 01, 2009, 01:32:24 AM
Some footage of the destruction that I witnessed in Gaza.
Listen to Caoimhe Butterly explain what really happened.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oKOellc4DVE
Post by: give her dixie on May 18, 2009, 10:23:00 PM
Well folks, please click on the links below to watch a documentary by Hassan Ghani from Press TV on the "Viva Palestina Lifeline Of Aid Convoy To Gaza.
It is 50 minutes long, and in 6 parts.
This documentary details not only the journey, but the politics behind the various countries that we crossed through.
If you have the time, please watch, as the GAA Board is well represented on the convoy.

There is to be another convoy going on October 4th, and I hope to be on this one as well.
If anyone is interested, please let me know as I want to put together an Irish team this time around.
It will take a shorter route this time, going via Turkey, and cross the Rafah border in Egypt again.
Lets help break the seige on Gaza once more.

Part 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gcWJkjG973A

Part 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-9EspRi_ec4

Part 3
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVqRrVLhKxs

Part 4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UvBICfWtmc

Part 5
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cP3GP6QSMmA

Part 6
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3b9x5A-VRkY

Thanks,
John
Post by: give her dixie on August 21, 2009, 11:04:55 AM
Well folks, seeing as there is a fair old bit of chat about Tyrone this week, sure now is as good a time as any to post in this thread. I had a read through the pages again, and boy is it a good read!!!!

Each and everyone of you who posted, donated, made the time to come see me, phoned me, and everyone else who contributed to making the journey a success, thank you one and all.

Yvonne Ridley and Hassan Ghani from Press TV, who were on the convoy, have produced an incredible documentary called "3 Uncles Go To Gaza".
It is a one hour documentary covering the journey from start to finish. It is filled with every emotion experienced on the trip. Last night it was premiered in London at a massive fundraiser in the Hilton hotel.

They use a bit of my own footage in the film, and it is a must see..................................
It is to be released as a movie, and will be doing the rounds at many film festivals all over the world.
Please watch the trailer below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMDEryBPbhw

I got my copy a week or so ago, and if anyone wants a copy, please e mail me your address and I will post one out to you. This will be a small token of thanks for each and everyone of you who played such a vital role in sending the aid to Gaza. I couldn't have done it without you.
Plus, if anyone spots me on Sunday around Croke Park, I will have copies with me, so just "put speak on me", and I will gladly give you one.

Once again, thank you all so so much for your generosity and kind words. You have all proved that there are some fantastic people out there, which makes the world a better place to live in. Hopefully, after Sunday, Tyrone will be a great place to be................................................................

John Hurson.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 21, 2009, 11:45:16 AM
Hopefully, after Sunday, Tyrone will be a great place to be................................................................

Isn't it always?
Post by: Sandino on September 10, 2009, 01:50:35 PM
Hi John, are there any plans for another trip? I thought I read some where that there was one going out in late 2009.
Post by: give her dixie on January 29, 2013, 05:00:09 PM
Well folks, just thought I would revive this thread as it is 4 years ago today that I started it with a crazy idea to go to Gaza from Tyrone with aid.

The reponse from the members on the board was incredible, and without your support, I can honestly say that I never would have gone through with such a plan !!

Every once in a while this board comes together for various different causes and we put all our differences to the one side for the greater good. This was one of those times, and each and every one of you played a part for the cause of humanity.

The people of Gaza have never forgotten our convoy to them in the weeks after the brutal attacks, and to this day, the Rocwell lorry is still driving around Gaza with the GAABoard.com stickers still visible......

Here is a short video clip of the truck been handed over filled with aid and support from many members of the board.

Once again, many many thanks to everyone who made this possible.

John
Post by: Ball DeBeaver on January 29, 2013, 06:04:12 PM
(http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/29391217.jpg)
Post by: muppet on January 29, 2013, 06:11:01 PM
Quote from: Ball DeBeaver on January 29, 2013, 06:04:12 PM
(http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/29391217.jpg)

Fair play, that sums you up perfectly.
Post by: gerrykeegan on January 29, 2013, 06:11:52 PM
I can say with certainty that John has the support of the majority of this board. You on the other hand have little or none. It would be nice if you just fucked off.
Post by: Ball DeBeaver on January 29, 2013, 06:15:23 PM
I'm not the one dragging up a 4 year old thread, and then adding a link to a video of myself handing over "aid" to terrorists.
GO ME!

By the way, I'll f**k off when I'm good and ready.
Post by: theticklemister on January 29, 2013, 06:19:03 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on January 29, 2013, 05:00:09 PM
Well folks, just thought I would revive this thread as it is 4 years ago today that I started it with a crazy idea to go to Gaza from Tyrone with aid.

The reponse from the members on the board was incredible, and without your support, I can honestly say that I never would have gone through with such a plan !!

Every once in a while this board comes together for various different causes and we put all our differences to the one side for the greater good. This was one of those times, and each and every one of you played a part for the cause of humanity.

The people of Gaza have never forgotten our convoy to them in the weeks after the brutal attacks, and to this day, the Rocwell lorry is still driving around Gaza with the GAABoard.com stickers still visible......

Here is a short video clip of the truck been handed over filled with aid and support from many members of the board.

Once again, many many thanks to everyone who made this possible.

John

Excellent John!
Post by: Denn Forever on January 29, 2013, 06:20:29 PM
Quote from: Ball DeBeaver on January 29, 2013, 06:15:23 PM
I'm not the one dragging up a 4 year old thread, and then adding a link to a video of myself handing over "aid" to terrorists.
GO ME!

By the way, I'll f**k off when I'm good and ready.

Vive la difference.
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 29, 2013, 06:34:02 PM
Fair play GHD. That doesn't feel like it was 4 years ago.

Post by: tyrone exile on January 29, 2013, 07:05:18 PM
Fair play to you john!
As for Ball DeBeaver never did the quote; "Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt" fit more perfectly.
Post by: seafoid on January 29, 2013, 07:18:11 PM
Good man GHD. The people of Gaza are decent unlike the tramps who oppress them in the name of the religion they hijacked.
Post by: Nally Stand on January 29, 2013, 07:41:20 PM
Fair play to you and to all involved John
Post by: Ball DeBeaver on January 29, 2013, 07:44:33 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 29, 2013, 07:18:11 PM
Good man GHD. The people of Gaza are decent unlike the tramps who oppress them in the name of the religion they hijacked.
I totally agree mate. Those Hamas scumbags have a lot to answer for. The very same scumbags GHD showed us all he was delivering aid to.

Just who is oppressing the population of Gaza?

http://www.hrw.org/node/110398/section/1 (http://www.hrw.org/node/110398/section/1)

QuoteSummary

This report highlights the failure of the criminal justice system in Gaza under Hamas rule, including security forces, prosecutors, and judges, to uphold the law and protect the rights of detainees and criminal defendants and hold those responsible for serious abuses accountable.

Based on interviews with former detainees, lawyers, human rights groups, and reviews of case files and court judgments the report documents how Hamas security services in Gaza routinely conduct arrests without presenting warrants, refuse to promptly inform families of detainees' whereabouts, deny detainees access to a lawyer and torture detainees in custody.

In August 2008, Abdel Karim Shrair was arrested by members of the al-Qassam brigades, Hamas's armed wing, which detained and allegedly tortured him at an unknown location for three weeks before transferring him to the custody of the police. The military prosecutor then ordered Shrair's detention and interrogation by the Internal Security service, and later charged him with collaborating with Israel, in part on the basis of information that his lawyer alleged was obtained under torture. Internal Security interrogators also tortured Shrair, his family said, and prevented them from seeing him until October. Shrair's mother said that when she was first able to see him, his legs and face were bruised, his feet were swollen, his hands and arms had rope marks and his chest had burn marks. The military courts did not adequately address Shrair's claims of torture. The courts held that the prosecutor, by subsequently ordering Shrair's detention and interrogation, had retroactively "corrected" prior gross violations including Shrair's warrantless arrest and incommunicado detention. Shrair was sentenced to death and executed by firing squad in May 2011. His mother said that Hamas authorities had prohibited the family from burying him, and that police beat her when she tried to hold his body during the interment.

Shrair's family members are among numerous witnesses who have reported that the Internal Security agency, the drugs unit of the civil police force, and police detectives all engage in the torture of detainees. The Independent Commission for Human Rights, a non-partisan Palestinian rights group that also monitors abuses in the West Bank, reported receiving 147 complaints of torture perpetrated by these forces in 2011. As a measure of how broken the system is, three criminal defense lawyers in private practice told Human Rights Watch that they had themselves been arbitrarily arrested and tortured in detention by Hamas security forces.

The abusive practices of the security services in Gaza flout human rights norms that Hamas has pledged to uphold, and also violate Palestinian laws. These laws require police to obtain judicial arrest and search warrants, and prohibit torture and the use of evidence obtained under torture. Security officers commonly arrest civilians and present them before Gaza's military judiciary, even though its remit should be limited to military offenses.

In the seven cases documented in this report, the judiciary in Gaza, which consists of civil and military branches, consistently failed to hold to account security services that operated outside the law or to uphold the rights of detainees. In the cases Human Rights Watch examined, the military judiciary did not throw out any criminal cases against detainees because of due process violations, and ignored or failed to investigate credibly detainees' claims that they had been tortured. Hamas officials claim to have disciplined hundreds of members of the security services for abuses since Hamas took power in 2007, but Hamas has never published any details about the officials involved or the disciplinary measures taken. Members of the Internal Security agency apparently continue to enjoy absolute impunity despite consistent allegations of severe abuse.

Former detainees who alleged they were abused by security services said they despaired of finding justice; several were afraid to describe what had happened to them in custody, even on condition that their identities would be kept confidential. Some men said they had needed medical care due to torture, and sought to obtain medical records as evidence that they had been tortured, but that hospital officials refused to provide them. Human Rights Watch is aware of at least three cases in which Hamas has executed prisoners whom judicial authorities sentenced without adequately reviewing credible claims that their convictions were based on evidence obtained under torture.

In previous research on intra-Palestinian political violence and abuses against detainees, Human Rights Watch found that the main factor underlying such human rights violations was the conflict between Hamas and its rival, the Palestinian Authority, which often prompted "tit for tat" abuses in Gaza and the West Bank. The intra-Palestinian political rivalry is still the root cause of many abuses against detainees, but there have been increasing reports of custodial abuse in Gaza against detainees accused of non-political crimes. Victims of alleged abuse whom Human Rights Watch interviewed include persons detained on suspicion of collaborating with Israel or the Palestinian Authority in the West Bank, as well as alleged perpetrators of drug offenses and fraud. Human rights lawyers in Gaza said that they have continued to receive the same kinds of allegations of abuse from victims since Hamas and Fatah announced a political reconciliation in May 2011.

Human Rights Watch impartially documents abuses by governing authorities in Gaza, Israel and the West Bank. This report does not attempt to compare abuses by Hamas with abuses by the Palestinian Authority security forces in the West Bank, where Human Rights Watch has also documented arbitrary arrest, torture and impunity. As part of a potential reconciliation agreement, the Palestinian authorities in Gaza and West Bank should both ensure that victims of torture and other cruel, inhuman and degrading treatment or punishment are compensated appropriately and that members of security forces responsible for torture are brought to justice.

Given credible evidence of widespread and gross violations of due process as well as systematic ill-treatment and torture, Hamas should take meaningful steps to reform its justice system to strengthen the rule of law and protect the rights of detainees. Hamas should immediately declare a moratorium on executions in death penalty cases. In light of numerous cases of detention where family members and lawyers are not notified of or able to promptly determine which security forces have custody, Hamas should ensure that detentions are carried out only by security forces legally authorized to do so. It should halt the prosecution and trial of civilians by the military judiciary. (The Palestinian Authority significantly reduced such military arrests and trials of civilians in the West Bank in 2011.) Hamas should explicitly guarantee that all detainees have the right to contact their families and a lawyer immediately upon arrest and that their families and lawyers can visit them in a timely manner. It should ensure all detainees are brought promptly before an independent judge after being detained.

Hamas should also ensure that members of security services are held criminally liable for abuses against detainees, and it should sanction prosecutors and judges who turn a blind eye to violations, such as by issuing retroactive arrest warrants or accepting evidence that was credibly alleged to have been obtained under torture. Hamas authorities should strengthen oversight and complaints mechanisms intended to keep security services in check, including by allocating more resources to investigating and prosecuting security officers allegedly responsible for abuses. Hamas should facilitate the work of human rights groups in Gaza, including the Independent Commission for Human Rights, to monitor conditions of detention and examine alleged abuses.

Would you like to see the videos of the Fatah members being thrown off roofs in Gaza by Hamas thugs when they overthrew them? Now that is oppression.
Post by: seafoid on January 29, 2013, 07:48:55 PM
Israel runs Gaza. Israel decides . Gaza is Israel's lost conscience.
Post by: Ball DeBeaver on January 29, 2013, 09:01:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 29, 2013, 07:48:55 PM
Israel runs Gaza. Israel decides . Gaza is Israel's lost conscience.
Israel runs 1 border, the sky and sea. Not the land in between.

Did Israel decide that Hamas should butcher their Fatah opponents?
Does Israel detain and torture journalists that don't write what Hamas wants them to?

Hamas justice system 'reeks of injustice,' rights group says

By Joe Sterling, CNN

October 4, 2012 -- Updated 0122 GMT (0922 HKT)

A human rights watchdog has documented "serious abuses" in the criminal justice system of Hamas.

(CNN) -- Security forces under Hamas rule have tortured Gaza prisoners during the group's five years of rule, a new report said Wednesday.

The Human Rights Watch report also documents "serious abuses" in Gaza's criminal justice system, such as arbitrary arrests, incommunicado detentions and unfair trials in the Palestinian territory of Gaza since the Hamas political movement took control in 2007.

"After five years of Hamas rule in Gaza, its criminal justice system reeks of injustice, routinely violates detainees' rights, and grants impunity to abusive security services," Joe Stork, deputy Middle East director for Human Rights Watch, said in an online posting Wednesday. "Hamas should stop the kinds of abuses that Egyptians, Syrians, and others in the region have risked their lives to bring to an end."

Are we in store for a kinder Hamas?
In a bullet-point statement on its website, Hamas' Interior Ministry disputed the report's accuracy and called it biased and political.

Titled "Abusive System: Criminal Justice in Gaza," the 43-page report said "there is ample evidence that Hamas security services are torturing people in custody with impunity and denying prisoners their rights."

The group said Hamas has executed at least three men "convicted on the basis of 'confessions' apparently obtained under torture."

Human Rights Watch says the rivalry between the Palestinian movements of Hamas and of Fatah, which prevails in the West Bank, "remains a significant factor" behind many of the alleged Hamas detainee abuses

The group said the Fatah-dominated Palestinian Authority "arrests and detains Palestinians arbitrarily, including Hamas members or sympathizers, and similarly subjects detainees to torture and abuse."

Read more: Can rival Palestinian factions reach unity deal?

Human Rights Watch's findings are also consistent with increasing reports of abuse by security forces in Gaza against detainees accused of nonpolitical crimes, including people accused of drug offenses and fraud.

Some of the cases documented have been "against people detained on suspicion of collaborating with Israel or the Palestinian Authority in the West Bank. Collaboration is a serious crime under Palestinian law, but suspicion of collaboration does not justify torture or other abuse."

Abdel Karim Shrair, for example, was charged with collaborating with Israel, the report said.

His family and lawyer said he was tortured. But the group said military courts didn't "adequately address Shrair's claims of torture."

Last year, a firing squad executed Shrair. According to the report, "his mother said that Hamas authorities had prohibited the family from burying him, and that police beat her when she tried to hold his body during the interment."

"There is ample evidence that Hamas security services are torturing people in custody with impunity and denying prisoners their rights," Stork said. "The Gaza authorities should stop ignoring the abuse and ensure that the justice system respects Palestinians' rights."

Islam Shawran, a spokesman for Hamas' Interior Ministry, said Hamas gave Human Rights Watch all of the information it requested, but was surprised that it wasn't taken into consideration.

And why, he asks, is the reporting about incidents from 2007 and 2008 now being released?

"It is obvious because it is a cover for the Zionist occupation. Also this report did not discuss the basic human needs of the Gaza people by discussing the Israeli siege on the Gaza Strip and did not indicate to any of the violations committed by the Israeli Zionist enemy to our Palestinian prisoners inside the Israeli jails and prisons," he said.

http://www.cnn.co.uk/2012/10/03/world/meast/gaza-hamas-abuses/index.html (http://www.cnn.co.uk/2012/10/03/world/meast/gaza-hamas-abuses/index.html)

But then again, it's all the fault of the evil jews.  ::)
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 29, 2013, 09:11:07 PM
You do realise that your contributions here are doing nothing to further the Israeli cause. In fact I'd say its a fair bet that you're doing significantly more to gain sympathy for the Palestinians
Post by: Ball DeBeaver on January 29, 2013, 09:18:56 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on January 29, 2013, 09:11:07 PM
You do realise that your contributions here are doing nothing to further the Israeli cause. In fact I'd say its a fair bet that you're doing significantly more to gain sympathy for the Palestinians
I'd lay good money on the assumption that the vast majority on this board have their minds made up, and no amount of hasbara would change their minds. Doesn't make my view any less worthy than though.
Post by: Itchy on January 29, 2013, 09:20:08 PM
I'm afraid ballbag cannot be cured, he is a complete moron without any redeeming features and bitter, a bit like honest Iago. I must admit defeat and withdraw my services.
Post by: Ball DeBeaver on January 29, 2013, 09:20:42 PM

Severe human rights violations in inter-Palestinian clashes.

Published:
1 Jan 2011

In the period around 2007, the Palestinian movements Fatah and Hamas waged a violent struggle, primarily in the Gaza Strip. The fighting peaked in June 2007, when Hamas seized control of the Strip. In 2008, the violence abated but did not cease. Throughout the struggle, human rights violations committed by Palestinians against Palestinians increased, both in number and severity.

In 2007, at least 353 Palestinians were killed, 349 of them in the Strip, and thousands were injured, in the fighting between the factions. B'Tselem's figures indicate that at least 86 of the dead, 23 of them children, were passersby and were killed during street fighting or from gunfire during demonstrations. Some 300 of the dead were killed in the first half of the year, the vast majority of them in the Gaza Strip. 160 persons were killed in June alone. The casualties occurred during violent clashes between members of the Palestinian Authority's security apparatus, most of whom belong to Fatah and are loyal to Palestinian Authority president Mahmud Abbas, and Hamas armed militias, headed by the Hamas Executive Force, which was subordinated to the Ministry of the Interior, and the 'Iz a-Din al-Qassam Brigades.

In 2008, 18 Palestinians were killed in the inter-Palestinian fighting, all of them in the Gaza Strip. 15 of the dead were killed in a single incident, in August, in an exchange of gunfire between police who had come to arrest members of the Hiles family.

Media reports and investigations by Palestinian and international human rights organizations indicate that in the weeks leading up to the Hamas takeover of the security apparatus in the Gaza Strip, the organization's armed militias abducted several senior members of the Palestinian Authority's security forces and executed them in cold blood, without trial. Other PA security officials who were abducted were tortured during interrogation. One of the severe practices that accompanied the abductions was shooting the victims in the legs as "punishment" before releasing them.

After the Hamas takeover was completed, the street battles came to an almost complete halt. However, since then, the ruling Hamas government in the Gaza Strip, headed by deposed PA prime minister Isma'il Haniyeh, has imposed an oppressive regime against its critics, especially those identified with Fatah. For example, the Executive Force carries out arbitrary arrests daily. The prisoners are usually held for several days and then released with no charges filed against them. Amnesty International has taken many testimonies from Palestinians in the Gaza Strip who have been arrested in this manner, in which the victims reported being ill-treated and tortured.

The Executive Force has frequently broken into the homes of Palestinians in search for weapons in the hands of opposition members. In addition, this militia has used excessive force in dispersing several demonstrations in the Strip in the last month of 2007. The gravest use of excessive force occurred on 12 November 2007 in response to a Fatah demonstration in Gaza City commemorating the death of Yasser Arafat: seven Palestinians were killed, including a twelve-year-old boy.

In days before and after the Hamas takeover in the Gaza Strip, armed militias identified with Fatah, spearheaded by the al-Aqsa Martyrs' Brigades, carried out revenge attacks against persons and institutions identified with Hamas in the West Bank. Here, too, abductions and executions took place, as well as torching and shooting businesses and charitable institutions linked with Hamas. In late June 2007, these attacks diminished, only to pick up again sporadically in the following months, mostly in the Nablus District. In the weeks preceding and following the Hamas takeover in the Gaza Strip, the PA's security forces, which are charged with law enforcement, refrained from taking any action against the militias in the West Bank. Among other things, they did not open investigations or bring to trial persons suspected of carrying out the attacks.

In addition, in June 2007, PA security forces in the West Bank - the Preventive Security body in particular - carried out mass arrests of Hamas supporters allegedly suspected of trying to run a branch of the Executive Force in the West Bank. Arrests continued, in smaller numbers, in the following months. According to Amnesty International and the Palestinian Human Rights Monitoring Group, most of the arrests flagrantly violated Palestinian criminal law, ignoring requirements such as the prosecutor-general reviewing the matter within 24 hours, the suspect being brought before a judge within 72 hours, and the right to consult with an attorney without delay. Most of the persons arrested were released without charges brought against them, reinforcing the concern that the arrests were arbitrary and were prompted by unacceptable political considerations. Moreover, some of the persons arrested reported to Amnesty International, PHRMG, and B'Tselem that they had been ill-treated and tortured during their time in detention.

At the end of August 2007, the head of the Palestinian Authority's emergency government, Salam Fayyad, announced that the Palestinian Ministry of the Interior had decided to close 103 religious, educational and charitable institutions linked to Hamas. He contended that these institutions operated in violation of the Palestinian Non-Profit Organizations Law. Based on the timing of the decision and its sweeping nature, it appears that like the mass arrests, this decision was made for unacceptable political reasons.

Under international humanitarian law, certain fundamental rules apply to every state, organization, or person taking part in a non-international armed conflict. Among these rules is the absolute prohibition on taking hostages, on extra-judicial executions, and on torture. These acts constitute war crimes, for which all those involved in their perpetration are held personally liable. The Palestinian Authority in the West Bank and the Hamas government in the Gaza Strip have the obligation to investigate such cases and prosecute the persons responsible. In addition, both the PA and the Hamas government must respect other customary principles of law embodied in international human rights law, such as the prohibition on arbitrary arrest or detention.

http://www.btselem.org/inter_palestinian_violations (http://www.btselem.org/inter_palestinian_violations)
Post by: Ball DeBeaver on January 29, 2013, 09:22:19 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 29, 2013, 09:20:08 PM
I'm afraid ballbag cannot be cured, he is a complete moron without any redeeming features and bitter, a bit like honest Iago. I must admit defeat and withdraw my services.
Awwww shucks, and there's me thinking we'd made a (non homo-erotic) connection.
Post by: muppet on January 29, 2013, 09:30:46 PM
Take nearly 6 million people, imprison them in their own land, point to some of them misbehaving in the hideous lives you impose on them and use this misbehaviour to justify your maltreatment of them.

You are a great man BDB.

Post by: Ball DeBeaver on January 29, 2013, 09:40:15 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 29, 2013, 09:30:46 PM
Take nearly 6 million people, imprison them in their own land, point to some of them misbehaving in the hideous lives you impose on them and use this misbehaviour to justify your maltreatment of them.

You are a great man BDB.

Misbehaving??????????????????

Christ on a bike.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 29, 2013, 09:53:57 PM
Quote from: Ball DeBeaver on January 29, 2013, 09:18:56 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on January 29, 2013, 09:11:07 PM
I'd lay good money on the assumption that the vast majority on this board have their minds made up, and no amount of hasbara would change their minds. Doesn't make my view any less worthy than though.
You're not by any chance related to Willie Fraser?