GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: mattockranger on January 27, 2009, 01:18:17 PM

Title: NFL DIV3
Post by: mattockranger on January 27, 2009, 01:18:17 PM
Quite a competitive Division consiting of:

Louth- O'byrne cup winners could be a false dawn
Down- alot of pressure on management to succeed
Cavan - new manager and good forwards could see them as div3 winners
Limerick - tough away draw for any team can they build on last years shampionship promise
Roscommon-FBD league runners up and under new man o'donnell could be dark horses
Offaly - new manager and lacking quality could cause a scalp here and there...
Longford - if they don't get their house in order glen ryan's debut season could be disatrous
Tipperary - favourite for the drop after suprise promotion last year

A bad start could be fatal

I predict cavan to win it outright with louth down and roscommon pushing them close
with offaly and tipp getting relegated
Title: Re: NFL DIV3
Post by: Maguire01 on January 27, 2009, 01:41:15 PM
Louth- O'byrne cup winners could be a false dawn
O'Byrne Cup means less than the McKenna Cup - didn't Dublin put out their U-21s? Means nothing.

Down- alot of pressure on management to succeed
Winners (or at least promoted) - anything else would be a disaster

Cavan - new manager and good forwards could see them as div3 winners
Mid-table - promotion unlikely

Limerick - tough away draw for any team can they build on last years shampionship promise
Hard to call - probably mid-table, but will be looking to build up for a possible Munster final this year

Roscommon-FBD league runners up and under new man o'donnell could be dark horses
As with Louth, pre-season means nothing. Unless there's a vast improvement from last year, they could struggle here too.

Offaly - new manager and lacking quality could cause a scalp here and there...
Should be there or thereabouts along with Down.

Longford - if they don't get their house in order glen ryan's debut season could be disatrous
Mid-table - will do enough to survive

Tipperary - favourite for the drop after suprise promotion last year
Likely to face the drop - potential whipping boys
Post by: Rudi on January 27, 2009, 02:33:22 PM
Down - will do well to finish in second spot.4th
Cavan - Tommy Carr - another false dawn for both. 6th
Louth - my fancy to do well.  3rd
Limerick- should do very well also. 1st
Roscommon - very good panel with an outstanding manager. 2nd
Offaly - good team, something not just right 5th
Longford - Going back the ways 7th
Tipp - 8th

Expect Rossies to win all home games, lose to Limerick & Louth. Beat Cavan away. (we were in dire straits last year & still managed to beat these)
Post by: Billys Boots on January 27, 2009, 04:06:46 PM
Louth
Looked decent in Longford, forwards appear to be going well so far, but it's only January. 4th.

Down
Should have the class to make it out of this division, but they've done so before too and failed. 1st.

Cavan
Usually poor in the League, might put better effort in with new management.  2nd.

Limerick
Hard to beat, but not great travellers. 5th.

Roscommon
The great unfathomables, about time for those minors to be making the grade soon. 3rd.

Offaly
Poor, and getting worse, but still Biffos deep down. 6th.

Longford
A bad year in the offing.  7th.

Tipperary
Last, and least.  8th.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 27, 2009, 05:39:20 PM
With the exception of Tipperary who are a bit weaker than the rest,theres no much between all 7 of the other teams.

Louth
Absolutely flying in the O Byrne Cup, they will be fast starters in the league i think they will end up 2nd

Down
I think Ross Carr/DJ Kane/Paddy Tally have turned the corner with this talented bunch of players, 1st

Cavan
I expect us to do well,but we might just miss out on promotion, i wouldnt be desperately disappointed at finishing 3rd

Roscommon
Big Improvement this year from the Rossies,they will be challenging for promotion aswell i feel,but maybe a year too soon. 4th

Offaly
They were in disarray last year,despite terrific footballers like McNamee and McManus, i just dont fancy them to contend at all. 6th

Limerick
overhyped team,freak performance against Meath last year,they were very poor against Kildare.
dont fancy them to challenge at all 5th

Tipperary
an ever improving team,but i think they will find the going tough,Might catch a team or two at home,but i see relegation to Division 4 in ther future.
8th.

Longford
no way i would have longford in this position only their panel is a mere shadow of its predecessors of the last few years,
no team can afford lose Key Players like Brian Kavanagh Liam Keenan especially not a county with a small pick like Longford.
Im afraid to say i fancy them to finish 7th

Post by: Rossfan on January 27, 2009, 06:39:47 PM
Our first priority is to keep out of Div 4.
My hope is for 4 victories. Anything else would be a bonus.
Down/Louth/Limerick have to be the top 3 at this stage but there's many a ball to be kicked yet.
Post by: Lone Shark on January 27, 2009, 06:44:33 PM
Down and Limerick are the two best teams in the division for me, with Down probably edging out the Munster boys a wee bit - but they'd be my call for one and two - though both sides have got a raw deal with home games. Not only have they each got three home games and four away, they've got a lot of the counties close to them at home while they have to travel long distances to some of their away games.

Louth have been great so far this year but the O'Byrne Cup is often a bit of a false dawn. I've good respect for them and I'd expect them to maybe slot in third, but I'd say they might start to burn away towards the end.

Cavan and Ros for fourth and fifth - really hard to seperate these. Both have a lot more talent in the county than we've seen for years, big fanbase there if they get any momentum going and a few nice forwards which is hard to match. Gut feeling is that the Rossies have a bit further to go, so Cavan fourth and Ros fifth.

Ourselves, Longford and Tipp all have a variety of problems. We're at nothing while McNamee is in Australia, while Tipp were a bit fortunate to have stayed up last year - they'd need to improve by three or four points to get any results at all. Longford are missing key men too, but on the strength of Glen Ryan appearing to be a good manager, I'd give them the nod for sixth. Offaly seventh after scraping by Tipp and Tipp eighth.

Not a pleasant vista, but hard to see it any other way unfortunately.
Post by: charlie stubbs on January 27, 2009, 07:19:12 PM
would think be between down/louth/limerick.  think promotion 4 down important to make them more competitive over next few years
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 27, 2009, 10:01:00 PM
upon what is everybody so sure Down will get promoted?

I think Louth will start strong as they seem very fit early on and have some players showing form.
I think Cavan have a good chance
Limerick going backwards so not so sure of them
Longford by accounts on this board are in Bad shape
Tipp will struggle to stay up
Ross should give promotion a rattle by may miss out.

I'm going to go for Cavan and Louth to get promoted.
Post by: neilthemac on January 27, 2009, 10:28:40 PM
Tipp and Cavan to be relegated

outside that, haven't a clue
Post by: cavan4ever on January 27, 2009, 10:30:49 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on January 27, 2009, 10:28:40 PM
Tipp and cavan  to be relegated

outside that, haven't a clue

:D :D
Post by: pedro on January 28, 2009, 12:23:01 AM
Rigt I'll put my neck on the line and predict two from Louth, Down and Cavan to progress. Maybe that's because I would have links to all three counties and would alway read their boards, ask around on their progress etc. I just think that these three counties have players of that calibre that can really win tight games.

On the other hand, I think it will be a battle between Longford, Offaly and Tipp with Longford propping up the group. We have beaten them well in the last two years and, with their injury list, I think they wll really struggle. I'll go for Tipp to stay up.

My predictions, and final league positions.

I think Louth's momentum will enable them to beat Limerick at home in the first game, with the second (away to Down) being a real crunch one. Should set them up nicely if they get four points there.
Down will be disappointed in not gettin promotion last years so I would expect them to make a big push.
Cavan, I suppose, are prennial underachievers. Alway had a grá for some of their players and, under a new management, I would expect players to be trying to impress.
Limerick, I think, were one of the worst team we played in Div 3 last year (although they beat us) and had some fierce unfit players by all accounts. Hopefully that will be the case on Sunday!
Rosscommon I think could either push close for promotion or be in the middle pack. Again, a new manager, can often bring a fresh enthusiasm and it really couldn't have been worse than last year!
Tipp. Louth have always had it tough against Tipp in recent seasons and, if they still have those giants in the middle, they will win their fair share of ball which could swing tight games their way. I wouldn't write them off like a lot here.
Offaly. Don't know much about this years team and the sounds coming from down there do not appear to be great. Always have a few decent players, although mcNamee will be a loss.
Longford. I really think they will have a hard time getting a win in this league. have heard of the extent of their injury list and, without the Barden's, Liam Keenan, possibly Kavangh (?), they do not have the strength in depth to compete.

I'm already prepared to eat my hat  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on January 28, 2009, 09:53:26 AM
We are a shambles at the moment. the appaling lack of heart and desire on display against Down appears to have carried over. Our players are too small in physique, and not playing a skillful fast moving type of game to compensate.

We will be missing big hitters for a while, although I think the Rhode lads will be back at some stage in the league, but wintering in Australia is bound to have an effect.

All in all we look abysmal, so I'd expect us to win the Division :D
Post by: heineken_on_tap on January 28, 2009, 11:56:26 AM
Will many of ye travel to the Hyde on Sunday AZ? Expecting a win? Looking forward to it myself but no idea how it will go. Should be a big turnout from Ros supporters.
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 28, 2009, 01:09:10 PM
Martin Brehonys take on Div 3 from the Indo

Independent.ie  WebSearch  By Martin Breheny

Wednesday January 28 2009

OF the all groups in the Allianz Football League, Division Three is the one where the contrast between promotion and relegation is at its deepest and most unforgiving.

And if any of the eight counties who go to the starting blocks next Sunday doubt that, they should check with Sligo.

Sligo headed confidently into the 2008 League as Connacht champions and second favourites behind Down to win promotion to Division Two. By the end of the campaign they had hurtled into Division Four after finishing bottom of the table. In the space of three months the grand, upwardly-mobile plan had crumbled and suddenly they were looking at life in the basement. Quite a drop for provincial champions.

To compound matters, their Division Four status meant that having lost a Connacht semi-final to Mayo, they weren't even eligible to compete in the All-Ireland qualifiers.

Sligo's dismal experience -- they won just one of seven games -- was a chilling reminder of how a campaign can run away from any county if everything isn't fitted securely into place. Down were most fancied of all for promotion from Division Three but lost four of seven games and were left way behind Fermanagh and Wexford.

Leitrim joined Sligo through the exit door to Division Four and were replaced by Offaly and Tipperary. Meanwhile, at the other end, Fermanagh and Wexford moved up to Division Two with Roscommon and Cavan dropping down.

That exchange will prove quite significant to the Division Three campaign this year because, on the basis of their respective Championship performances last season, Wexford and Fermanagh are better than Roscommon and Cavan. That increases the chances of several teams joining in the promotion race.

There were 11 points between Fermanagh (13) and Sligo (two) on last year's table, a differential that's most unlikely to apply this time. Indeed, 10 points could be enough to win a promotion place while six may be required to avoid relegation. Tipperary, who ran an excellent campaign to win promotion from Division Four last year, may find the pace a little too much but the other seven will fancy their prospects of a promotion race.

Four new bosses, Richie Connor (Offaly), Glenn Ryan (Longford), Tom Carr (Cavan) and Fergal O'Donnell (Roscommon) will be testing their cases in new surrounds, although in the case of Connor and Carr ,they have previous senior managerial experience, while Ryan and O'Donnell did well at underage level.

By coincidence, they will be pitted against each other in the opening round next Sunday when Roscommon play Offaly and Longford host Cavan.

CAVAN

Manager: Tom Carr (1st season)

2008 NFL: P7, W1, L6 (Bottom Div 2 -- relegated).

2009: Home (3): Tipperary, Limerick, Roscommon; Away (4): Longford, Down, Offaly, Louth.

Ladbrokes odds: 5/1

First game: This Sunday, home to Longford

PROSPECTS: They never got into last year's Division Two campaign and dropped meekly through the relegation trap-door. Carr's appointment as manager was a good call but he needs time to make his imprint.

Patience is a scarce commodity everywhere nowadays and especially in a county like Cavan, who have seen so many of their Ulster neighbours prosper this decade. However, Cavan must accept that they are ranked eighth of nine in Ulster right now (only Antrim are behind them) so Carr needs time to work on that. With four away games, they will need to take every available break to win promotion.

DOWN

Manager: Ross Carr (3rd season)

2008 NFL: P7, W4, L3 (3rd Div 3)

2009: Home (3): Louth, Cavan, Offaly; Away (4): Tipperary, Longford, Limerick, Roscommon

Ladbrokes odds: 5/2

First game: Sunday, away to Tipperary

PROSPECTS: Down don't regard themselves as a Division Three team but they have to face reality. They finished third in the group last year but were a long way adrift of Fermanagh and Wexford. They later beat Tyrone in the Championship and also made good progress in the qualifiers until they ran aground against Wexford. They have four away games but have been installed as favourites to top the table. But then they were well fancied last year too but lost three of seven games. Still, the group doesn't look quite as strong this time so Down should make it through one of the promotion gates.

LIMERICK

Manager: Mickey Ned O'Sullivan (4th season)

2008 NFL: P7, W2, D1, L4 (6th Div 3)

2009: Home (3): Roscommon, Tipperary, Down; Away (4): Louth, Cavan, Longford, Offaly.

Ladbrokes odds: 9/2

First game: Sunday, away to Louth

PROSPECTS: Lucky to survive in Division Three last year after beating Leitrim by a point in the relegation-deciding final game, but then put together some fine Championship performances. They were unfortunate to lose to Cork in the Munster semi-final before beating Meath and losing to Kildare in the All-Ireland qualifiers. O'Sullivan, who is doing a good job, will be looking to build on their Championship form which, if achieved, will leave them as promotion contenders. However, with four away games, it will be a tough campaign.

LONGFORD

Manager: Glenn Ryan (1st season)

2008 NFL: P7, W3, L4 (5th Div 3)

2009: Home (3): Cavan, Down, Limerick; Away (4): Offaly, Roscommon, Louth, Tipperary.

Ladbrokes odds: 15/2

First game: Sunday, home to Cavan

PROSPECTS: A mid-table finish looks the best they can hope for, especially since they have four away games. This will be very much a 'getting-to-know-you' season for Ryan and his squad.

Louth hammered an experimental Longford side by 19 points in the O'Byrne Cup which suggests that once Ryan moved below the top tier, the back-up forces aren't all that strong.

LOUTH

Manager: Eamonn McEneaney (4th season)

2008 NFL: P7, W3, L4 (4th Div 3)

2009: Home (4): Limerick, Roscommon, Longford, Cavan; Away (3): Down, Offaly, Tipperary.

Ladbrokes odds: 6/1

First game: Sunday, home to Limerick

PROSPECTS: Having dropped from Division One to Division Three when the League structure was altered at the end of 2007, Louth were expected to be serious promotion contenders last year but failed to come anywhere close after losing four of seven games. They will probably do better this time and could even get in among the promotion candidates over the final two games.

The O'Byrne Cup success was encouraging but, as Longford discovered last year (they lost to Dublin in the final), a good January counted for nothing in the League.

OFFALY

Manager: Richie Connor (1st season)

2008 NFL: P 9, W7, D1, L 1 (Div 4 champions -- promoted)

2009: Home (4): Longford, Louth, Cavan, Limerick; Away (3): Roscommon, Tipperary, Down

Ladbrokes betting: 4/1

First game: Sunday, away to Roscommon

PROSPECTS: Offaly are second favourites for promotion which seems odd, given their woeful form in the O'Byrne Cup, where they lost to a Dublin development team and Carlow -- both in Tullamore too. And then there's the memory of that embarrassing demolition by Down (also in Tullamore) in last year's qualifiers when they conceded 5-19. Still, there's more to Offaly than those performances but they need to start showing it.

Next Sunday's clash with Roscommon in Dr Hyde Park is crucial because if they win there, they will have bagged two points and still have four 'home' games to come.

ROSCOMMON

Manager: Fergal O'Donnell (1st season)

2008 NFL: P7, W1, D1, L5 (7th Div 2 -- relegated)

2009: Home (4): Offaly, Longford, Tipperary, Down; Away (3): Limerick, Louth, Cavan.

Ladbrokes betting: 12/1

First game: Sunday, home to Offaly

PROSPECTS: Patience and stability are the two commodities which Roscommon need more than anything else to give a new-look team a chance to settle in. They have had a whole series of managerial upheavals since John Tobin steered them to a Connacht title in 2001 and have now turned to the man who led their minors to All-Ireland success in 2006. The indications in the FBD League were encouraging. The League fixture list is set up nicely for them so a top-four finish is possible.

TIPPERARY

Manager: John Evans (2nd season)

2008 NFL: P 9, W6, L3 (2nd Div 4 -- promoted)

2009 NFL: Home (4): Down, Offaly, Louth, Longford; Away (3): Cavan, Limerick, Roscommon.

Ladbrokes betting: 33/1

First game: Sunday, home to Down

PROSPECTS: Tipped to make the drop after being promoted last year but with four home games, they will fancy their prospects of survival. They ran an excellent campaign in Division Four last year but this is quite a step up in class. However, they pushed Limerick close in last year's Munster championship, which they will see as a positive reference point to launch themselves into the new challenge and more difficult challenge. Still, they will need a lot of luck to avoid the drop.

- Martin Breheny

Post by: Maguire01 on January 28, 2009, 01:44:41 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 27, 2009, 10:01:00 PM
upon what is everybody so sure Down will get promoted?

Note sure, but they would appear to be one of the strongest. How many teams in this Division would be likely to beat Tyrone in the Championship, for example?
Post by: armaghniac on January 28, 2009, 03:37:27 PM
QuoteHow many teams in this Division would be likely to beat Tyrone in the Championship, for example?

Sligo do that all the time.  :)
Post by: Rossfan on January 28, 2009, 03:46:16 PM
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on January 28, 2009, 11:56:26 AM
Will many of ye travel to the Hyde on Sunday AZ? .

There's a chance it may have to be moved to Kiltoom I hear.
Wherever this will be a test for us and a vital one to get 2 points from.
We've had a few exciting tussles with the Biffs in recent years in the NFL and I suspect we'll get plenty of it off them on Sunday.
As long as we dont go around thinking we're back to where we belong after recent FBD performances we should prevail. Anyway I can't see  Fergie letting lads get ideas about themselves so we should continue to see a spirited Ros team firmly grounded in reality.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 28, 2009, 07:41:16 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 28, 2009, 03:37:27 PM
QuoteHow many teams in this Division would be likely to beat Tyrone in the Championship, for example?

Sligo do that all the time.  :)
'All the time' is probably overstating it a bit!
And anyway, Sligo are Division 4.
Post by: mountainboii on January 28, 2009, 08:02:23 PM
Down's defence is shocking, and has been for some time. This is why they'll always be vulnerable to getting turned over by teams they really should beat. I think I'm right in saying that they'll be missing Dan Gordon for at least part of this league campaign, so that added to the continued absence of Ambrose Rodgers means they'll not have their first choice midfield available for at least a few games.

On paper they should come out on top of this group but I wouldn't be surprised to see them lose any of their games, even against Tipp this weekend.
Post by: Louth Exile on January 28, 2009, 08:59:07 PM
To my mind this year's Div 3 is a lower class to last year's, Wexford and Fermanagh both had a very serious year. Even if you look at the bottom end of the table Sligo would typically provide most teams with tougher opposition that Tipp. For what its worth here is my stab at the placings.

1. Down - Although AFS made some very good points to oppose the 2/1 favourites on paper I still feel that they have both class and history on their side.
2. An Lu - I will elaborate in full
3. Cavan - Having seen 3/4 of Cavan's games last year I felt that they competed very strongly against top opposition for 60 mins and then just fell away in the last ten. They have the ability and I feel Carr was a very positive appointment, particularly in the fashion in which it was done. There will be great relief in the whole of the county that the last man is gone! They will up their game from last year and I feel the Louth v Cavan game in Drogheda could be a crucial one. I even heard a rumour that Larry Reilly is in flying form!!
4. Limerick - certainly have the potential to take points off any of these teams, but nailed on for a mid table finish I feel
5. Roscommon - A lot of people talking them up. Personally I feel that the set up has been so bad in the past and that they have so far to come from that this will not be year. They were in an awful mess and things will only get better for them
6. Offaly - As Breheny points out, surprising to see them second favourites!! I think they still have enough to stay up, but Mc Namee in OZ is huge IMHO, to my mind a whole class apart from the rest of the team and a player that doesn't get the credit nationally that he deserves.
7. Longford - big task for Ryan, really needs some first year impetus!
8. Tipp- Everyone else is writing them off, why should I be any different!

Maybe the Rose tinted glasses are affecting my decision but I have already backed Louth e/w with Boyles at 8/1 (1/3 the odds first two) LS only priced them at 6/1 and I just think that 8/1 is a massive price. The management is putting massive focus on the league this year, as ML already mentioned we have three key men that will be coming back in. We really are set up to get off to a flyer, but very importantly, I don't think that the fixture list could have fell any better for us! Of the three away games, Newry is closer to most in North Louth than Drogheda! Tipp away is definitely winnable. Tullamore is not much of a trek either and there should be decent travelling support that day, I think the result will be largely influenced by whether jeckle or hyde turns up for the biffs.
Post by: umpire on January 28, 2009, 09:41:05 PM
Forecast for Div 3 this weekend.

Roscommon v Offaly.. Roscommon
Longford v Cavan.. Cavan
Louth v Limerick... Limerick
Tipperary v Down.. Down
Post by: pedro on January 28, 2009, 11:39:45 PM
Fcuk off umpire  :D :P

My predictions for this week:
Roscommon
Cavan
Louth
Down
Post by: armaghniac on January 29, 2009, 12:38:49 AM
QuoteMaybe the Rose tinted glasses are affecting my decision but I have already backed Louth e/w with Boyles at 8/1 (1/3 the odds first two)

Louth e/w seems a reasonable bet at those odds, I have Louth and Cavan e/w, one or other of them should be in the top two.
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 29, 2009, 08:09:00 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on January 28, 2009, 08:59:07 PM
To my mind this year's Div 3 is a lower class to last year's, Wexford and Fermanagh both had a very serious year. Even if you look at the bottom end of the table Sligo would typically provide most teams with tougher opposition that Tipp. For what its worth here is my stab at the placings.

1. Down - Although AFS made some very good points to oppose the 2/1 favourites on paper I still feel that they have both class and history on their side.
2. An Lu - I will elaborate in full
3. Cavan - Having seen 3/4 of Cavan's games last year I felt that they competed very strongly against top opposition for 60 mins and then just fell away in the last ten. They have the ability and I feel Carr was a very positive appointment, particularly in the fashion in which it was done. There will be great relief in the whole of the county that the last man is gone! They will up their game from last year and I feel the Louth v Cavan game in Drogheda could be a crucial one. I even heard a rumour that Larry Reilly is in flying form!!
4. Limerick - certainly have the potential to take points off any of these teams, but nailed on for a mid table finish I feel
5. Roscommon - A lot of people talking them up. Personally I feel that the set up has been so bad in the past and that they have so far to come from that this will not be year. They were in an awful mess and things will only get better for them
6. Offaly - As Breheny points out, surprising to see them second favourites!! I think they still have enough to stay up, but Mc Namee in OZ is huge IMHO, to my mind a whole class apart from the rest of the team and a player that doesn't get the credit nationally that he deserves.
7. Longford - big task for Ryan, really needs some first year impetus!
8. Tipp- Everyone else is writing them off, why should I be any different!

Maybe the Rose tinted glasses are affecting my decision but I have already backed Louth e/w with Boyles at 8/1 (1/3 the odds first two) LS only priced them at 6/1 and I just think that 8/1 is a massive price. The management is putting massive focus on the league this year, as ML already mentioned we have three key men that will be coming back in. We really are set up to get off to a flyer, but very importantly, I don't think that the fixture list could have fell any better for us! Of the three away games, Newry is closer to most in North Louth than Drogheda! Tipp away is definitely winnable. Tullamore is not much of a trek either and there should be decent travelling support that day, I think the result will be largely influenced by whether jeckle or hyde turns up for the biffs.

Cavan beat Wexford in a challenge last weekend by 6 points and the bold Larry supposedly scored 4/5 points from play. Not sure if he'll start many games but I expect super sub appearances from him.
Post by: mattockranger on January 29, 2009, 12:32:12 PM
I think Cavan have huge potential!

there forward line could look like

10 martin reilly
11 Michael Lyng/ronan flanagan
12 Cian Mackey
13 Paddy Gummley
14 Seanie Johnston
15 Jason o'Reilly

they boost huge scoring potential

with Gerald pearson mark mckeever, Eddie o'reilly, larry reilly as a sub also and dermot Mccabe still worthy of a place

Along with a strong midfield of lorcan mulvey an improving michael mcdonald and Nicholas Walsh playing good football supplying them ball i can see them doing alot of damage

Down for me have too many question marks surrounding their team, management and style of play mixed with an arrogant attitude that they have a divine right to be in a higher division makes them vulnerable. they have 4 long treks also so they are poor value as favourites for this group.

Roscommon for me show alot of potential also with a youthful enthusiaism under fergal o'donnell they will want to undo their previous seasons woes and make their county respectable again
and they have good players to do it.

With league football a good start is half the battle get the points on the board early relieves the pressure especially in Div3 where relegation pressure is most felt!!
Post by: cavan4sam on January 29, 2009, 02:35:14 PM
Mattock, although you have some knowledge of the Cavan panel, you are a bit mislead by your information, Michael McDonald is not on the Cavan panel this year and Lorcan Mulvey done his hamstring in the first McKenna Cup game. The midfield for Cavan on Sunday will be Nicholas Walsh and Ciaran Galligan. In the forwards Gerald Pierson is in great form and will be a definite starter, Johnston should play if fully recovered from injury, looked good in second half against Louth, I think McKeever will probably start at half forward, its very hard to call the Cavan team as so many of them were tied up with college teams and its difficult to know whether he will put them in or play the lads from the McKenna Cup. Ronan Flanagan will hopefully be used in the half back line this year.
Post by: mattockranger on January 29, 2009, 02:48:46 PM

Galligan i forgot about him...also playing well...why is mcdonald not on the panel
Flanagan was the real dissapointment for me on sunday was poor at half back and got himself sent off not convincing at all

Are you as a cavan fan confident of promotion?
Post by: cavan4sam on January 29, 2009, 02:59:56 PM
I wouldn't say confident of promotion but Cavan should be there or thereabouts, I don't see anyone that much stronger than Cavan in the division.

Flanagan is a clubmate of mine and believe me that was probably the worst game ive seen him play, he is an outstanding player and his best position is definitely in the half back line, I would say CHB but some feel he is a little small for there.

Michael McDonald left the Cavan panel last year after the Armagh game where he started was taken off and put back on again. He wasn't considered this year. Mick wouldn't be the most committed man on a panel and is fairly fond of the black stuff.
Post by: bridgegael on January 29, 2009, 03:14:27 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 29, 2009, 12:32:12 PM

10 martin reilly
12 Cian Mackey
13 Paddy Gummley
14 Seanie Johnston
15 Jason o'Reilly

with Gerald pearson mark mckeever, Eddie o'reilly, larry reilly as a sub also and dermot Mccabe still worthy of a place

Along with a strong midfield of lorcan mulvey an improving michael mcdonald and Nicholas Walsh playing good football supplying them ball i can see them doing alot of damage

Down for me have too many question marks surrounding their team, management and style of play mixed with an arrogant attitude that they have a divine right to be in a higher division makes them vulnerable. they have 4 long treks also so they are poor value as favourites for this group.

Roscommon for me show alot of potential also with a youthful enthusiaism under fergal o'donnell they will want to undo their previous seasons woes and make their county respectable again

With league football a good start is half the battle get the points on the board early relieves the pressure especially in Div3 where relegation pressure is most felt!!

what is this based on??
Post by: cavanmaniac on January 29, 2009, 04:43:28 PM
Cavan are definitely in with a shout, Louth look to be flying (so much for the training ban? ach maybe they did their own programmes, who knows!) and Down are a match and more for either. Two from those three to go up, but I think Cavan need to take a win out of either Drogheda or Newry to have a chance and the fixtures have worked out very imbalanced in this regard in that both these games are away days for Cavan but them's the rubs.

Limerick will be battling too but aren't league men IMO and I think Offaly, Longford have too many problems and Roscommon are the unknown quantity.
Post by: mattockranger on January 29, 2009, 04:49:49 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on January 29, 2009, 03:14:27 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 29, 2009, 12:32:12 PM

10 martin reilly
12 Cian Mackey
13 Paddy Gummley
14 Seanie Johnston
15 Jason o'Reilly

what is this based on??

My opinion

on flanagan i thought that also he is a class act just wasn't his day a future centre half maybe in a couple of seasons when he masters the left-half spot
very composed player on the ball

where does he play football at club level?
Post by: bridgegael on January 29, 2009, 04:55:52 PM
i'm just curious as to why you feel Down are arrogant and have a divine right to be in a higher div. 
Post by: mattockranger on January 29, 2009, 05:07:28 PM
Its based on The pressure Ross and DJ are under to succeed when they posses an

Unsettled side
over reliance on Benny
lack of a gameplan
loss of starting midfield
Unwarranted favourites tag

Post by: Louth Exile on January 29, 2009, 05:20:11 PM
The natives will give you a lovely welcome to the marshes on valentines night MR  :D :D
Post by: cavan4sam on January 29, 2009, 05:26:30 PM
Flanagans versatility is a disaster, he plays everywhere and anywhere for us but his best position is CHB, last year in championship he was left half forward, really stupid decision by our management team!
Post by: cavanmaniac on January 29, 2009, 05:38:13 PM
I'd just tell young Flanagan to roam between the two forty-fives and get on as much ball as possible. Any time I've seen him, it's his intelligence, ability to spot an opportunity and deliver the ball accurately by foot that marks him out. Cavan should seek to process as much ball through his hands as possible because it's all well and good having Jelly and Pierson inside but damn all use if the ball into them isn't pinpoint, they're not the types to win dirty ball like a Clarke or McDonnell can.

Flanagan and a fit Lyng operating out the field would be very good news for Cavan's forwards IMHO.
Post by: mattockranger on January 29, 2009, 05:47:26 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on January 29, 2009, 05:20:11 PM
The natives will give you a lovely welcome to the marshes on valentines night MR  :D :D

HaHa think i'll definitely be treating the woman that night!!

But i think all my points are justified...??

I thought flanagan was excellent at half forward last season in supplying seanie (jelly) made his life alot easier!
Post by: cavan4sam on January 29, 2009, 05:50:43 PM
Thats what I'm saying, its a problem that he can equally as well at number 2 as he could in any position right up to 15 and could probably do a job in goals too. Agree with cavanmaniac, hopefully we get to see that!!
Post by: passedit on January 29, 2009, 06:43:26 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on January 29, 2009, 04:55:52 PM
i'm just curious as to why you feel Down are arrogant and have a divine right to be in a higher div. 
Quote from: mattockranger on January 29, 2009, 05:07:28 PM
Its based on The pressure Ross and DJ are under to succeed when they posses an

Unsettled side
over reliance on Benny
lack of a gameplan
loss of starting midfield
Unwarranted favourites tag

You didn't really answer the question MR.

I think you'll find that most Down fans are arrogant and believe we have no business in division 3 however as for the team and management well i'm not so sure. Maybe a bit more arrogance/swagger (delete according to allegiance) is required.

Anyways i'd be very worried if minnows like Louth and Longford, for example, kept the ball kicked out to us.

Post by: mattockranger on January 30, 2009, 12:10:26 PM
I think i did answer the question passedit and you backed it up..... ;)

Post by: passedit on January 30, 2009, 01:36:30 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 30, 2009, 12:10:26 PM

Last time I looked, I wasn't on the panel nor do I have any input in selection policy. If I did however, i'd recommend that we give our under 21's a run out against the likes of yourselves and Longford.  ;)
Post by: mattockranger on January 30, 2009, 03:22:34 PM

I never said the panel was arrogant.....I referred just to the undeserved pressure the management is under to succeed when i think some of your players lack quality to play at a higher level.

Quote from: passedit on January 30, 2009, 01:36:30 PM
Last time I looked, I wasn't on the panel nor do I have any input in selection policy. If I did however, i'd recommend that we give our under 21's a run out against the likes of yourselves and Longford.  ;)

If you knew your county as well as i do.....

You'd know that your county under21's were defeated by ours recently..... ;)

and if you were in drogheda the last two seasons we have met you would not be so ignorant to overlook my counties ability

Shame you give your counties fanbase a bad name... WUM??
Post by: Billys Boots on January 30, 2009, 04:04:04 PM
QuoteAnyways i'd be very worried if minnows like Louth and Longford, for example, kept the ball kicked out to us.

Don't be worrying about us P, as if you were.  ::) 

Your mates in Kerry - they're the ones to worry about.  Hopefully Paul Barden will be fit again for your trip to Pearse Park.   :-*
Post by: corn02 on January 30, 2009, 04:10:49 PM
Louth and Down to go up.
Post by: passedit on January 30, 2009, 10:58:08 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 30, 2009, 04:04:04 PM
QuoteAnyways i'd be very worried if minnows like Louth and Longford, for example, kept the ball kicked out to us.

Don't be worrying about us P, as if you were.  ::) 

Your mates in Kerry - they're the ones to worry about.  Hopefully Paul Barden will be fit again for your trip to Pearse Park.   :-*

Good man William, I knew I could rely on you, slim pickens otherwise. You know that we never worry about our bunnies in the queendom. 125 years and counting.

MR you strike me as the sort of boy that buys a guarddog then complains because it barks all night.
Post by: Mourne Rover on January 30, 2009, 11:51:29 PM
It's always good fun to see people claiming Down are arrogant even though we have not won a provincial title in the last 15 seasons or a league in the last quarter of a century. We are in division three because we deserve to be there, and also because over the last two years we have managed a single away league win. Feel free to criticise us if we celebrate too much after getting promoted, but it has not happened yet.
Post by: bridgegael on January 31, 2009, 09:59:06 AM

mattock,  not being pedantic or anything here but you didn't really answer the question.  you said and i quote " arrogant attitude that they have a divine right to be in a higher division" you answered about ross and dj being under pressure.  were you just using the old gaelic cliche that down are arrogant and have a swagger about them or is it based on something??  just curious.
Post by: mattockranger on January 31, 2009, 12:23:50 PM
I have a fondness for Down and take alot of interest in their redevelopment at the moment especially as i would know Ross...

As a louth fan jealous of your recent underage success I'm baffled that down fans just want instant success they overlook teams around them for some reason
I understand that the management are in their third season at the helm but considering these young guys are new to inter-county level i think the management is moulding these youngster correctly and doing the right thing

My thoughts stems from the basic lack of patience of down fans

passedit i suggest you go to hoganstand they'd love you there :-*
Post by: Azzurri on January 31, 2009, 02:52:18 PM
NOTE:

The game between Roscommon and Offaly has been switched from Dr. Hyde Park to Kiltoom.

The move was inevitable after the recent rainfall.

Kiltoom has a much better surface and will be closer to home for the travelling Offaly support.
Post by: passedit on January 31, 2009, 06:28:33 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on January 31, 2009, 12:23:50 PM
I have a fondness for Down and take alot of interest in their redevelopment at the moment especially as i would know Ross...

As a louth fan jealous of your recent underage success I'm baffled that down fans just want instant success they overlook teams around them for some reason
I understand that the management are in their third season at the helm but considering these young guys are new to inter-county level i think the management is moulding these youngster correctly and doing the right thing

My thoughts stems from the basic lack of patience of down fans

passedit i suggest you go to hoganstand they'd love you there :-*

Sorry MR, they wouldn't have me there. Typical arrogant down bstard I think I was called. Ah well yis 'll just have to put up with me reinforcing the stereotype here.
i
Post by: Trevor Hill on January 31, 2009, 06:55:06 PM
Down never do well as favourites, so I`ll tip Louth to finish top and its a lottery for second place with any one from Down, Limerick, Cavan Roscommon and maybe even Offally all in with a good shout. I would expect Longford and Tipperary to prop up the table, but we`ll have a better idea of how things stand this time tomorrow.

Ros Comáin v Uíbh Fhailí
Longfort v An Cabhán
An Lú v Luimneach
Tiobraid Árann v An Dún
Post by: bridgegael on January 31, 2009, 06:59:36 PM
any tipp supporters confirm that due to rainfall that pitch is flooded??
Post by: Onlooker on January 31, 2009, 07:14:22 PM
There has been an awful lot of rain here since Thursday, but I have not heard that the pitch is flooded, although the Ladies Football match between Tipperary and Westmeath, which was to be played in Cahir has been postponed until next week.
Post by: bridgegael on January 31, 2009, 07:32:17 PM
i take it that somewhere will be playable?  don't wana be going down and it called off!
Post by: Onlooker on January 31, 2009, 10:28:22 PM
According to the Tipperary GAA Website, the pitch was inspected today and passed as being playable.   The rain has also stopped at last, so there should not be any problem to-morrow.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 01, 2009, 04:05:22 PM
The rumours of Longford's demise were a tad over-exaggerated  ;D
Post by: Rudi on February 01, 2009, 06:51:51 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 01, 2009, 04:05:22 PM
The rumours of Longford's demise were a tad over-exaggerated  ;D

Dont be getting to excited, only beat a Tommy Carr inspired Cavan. God love long suffering Cavan supporters with that nugget in charge.

Good wins also for Louth, Ros & Down
Post by: pedro on February 01, 2009, 09:05:54 PM
Fair play SS, Longford definitely proved me wrong  :-[

Louth had a great win but you'd have to question the quality of Limerick. They had no real class to unlock our defense which, in the past few seasons, hasn't exactly been watertight. Louth V Down in Newry on teh 14th will be a big one, looking forward to it already.
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 01, 2009, 09:22:42 PM
Louth shouldn't be too worried about Down, Down were poor today.
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 01, 2009, 09:29:18 PM
Louth are on a bit of a roll, unbeaten in 2009, Down lost their last two McKenna cup games to Monaghan and Queens and were hammered by Meath in Newry last Sunday. If Louth had anyone watching Down today they wont be losing any sleep between now an Valentines day.
Post by: pedro on February 01, 2009, 09:38:33 PM
Louth are, indeed, on a bit of a roll but, in all honesty, they have yet to play a team of real quality: UCD, Longford, Wicklow, DCU, Limerick. I would expect that Down would be another step up in class but I would be quietly confident. Should be a good game with a decent crowd. Hopefull the pitch will be a little better than the Down/Longford game last year  :P
Post by: western exile on February 01, 2009, 10:31:53 PM
From what I saw at Semple Stadium today, two things are apparent...
1. If Down cannot plug the hole that leaks goals, they will struggle to get promoted.  A better team than Tipperary would have scored 3 goals today.
2. Tipperary will be relegated. They are unable to score points from play.

Promotion candidates are still 2 from
Cavan
Down
Longford
Louth
Roscommon

The Down v. Louth game next up on Feb 14th will put the winner of that in pole position

Relegation candidates are 2 from
Limerick
Offaly
Tipperary
Post by: Billys Boots on February 02, 2009, 12:01:56 AM
And on St. Brigid's Day 2009, the miracle of the Battery Road materialised, and by nighfall the murmurings could be heard from the heights of Cairn Hill to the depths of Legga.  The murmurs could not be heard initially due to the strong, whining northeasterly winds, but as closing time neared the volume grew stronger and more vibrant.  The tone was grim and quietly desperate at the outset, but appeared to grow more strident as time progressed.  The chilling wind, as night fell, only added pathos to the bitterness.

'We might be shite, but we'll always bate Cavan!!'.   ;)
Post by: mattockranger on February 02, 2009, 12:59:51 PM
Cavan shock of the weekend!

What are tipp like? could they pose problems??
Could that win for longford give them a boost from relegation they need? 
Where Roscommon impressive?

I think the extra week recovery will provide managers precious time to get their house in order and I expect fireworks from round2!

louth and down is the big one!
Limerick and Cavan under pressure against to get their first win while at home!!
Offaly versus longford could settle the relegation matters for longford before they begin!

Post by: cavan4ever on February 02, 2009, 01:29:12 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on February 02, 2009, 12:59:51 PM
Cavan shock of the weekend!

What are tipp like? could they pose problems??
Could that win for longford give them a boost from relegation they need?  

I think the extra week recovery will provide managers precious time to get their house in order and I expect fireworks from round2!

louth and down is the big one!
Limerick and Cavan under pressure against to get their first win while at home!!
Offaly versus longford could settle the relegation matters for longford before they begin!

From what i seen yesterday they are two likely teams to be relegated.  Longford should have been bet out the gate and cavan are worse for some how not doing it.
Post by: Ryano on February 02, 2009, 02:31:55 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on February 02, 2009, 12:59:51 PM

Meh Ros were ok. Did what they needed to but then you cannot begin to imagine how heartless and disjointed Offaly are. They were just shockingly bad and if they don't get the finger out will be going down while providing cannon fodder for the rest of Div 3 on their way. Put up no opposition to Ros at all so they made Ros probably look a lot better then they actually are.
Post by: mattockranger on February 09, 2009, 12:50:32 PM
wonder will Offaly have a new man in charge before the weekend?
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 15, 2009, 01:08:54 AM
Down 1-13 Louth 1-12
Limerick 0-14 Roscommon 1-10
Post by: Azzurri on February 15, 2009, 11:19:24 AM
Table as of February 14th 2009 9:00PM

Team        Played         Won        Drew        Lost        +/-               Points

Down            2              2             0             0          7                     4
Louth            2              1             0             1         10                    2
R'Common     2               1            0             1           8                     2
Longford       1               1            0             0           3                     2
Limerick         2              1             0            1            -10                  2
Cavan           1               0             0             1          -3                     0
Tipperary       1              0             0             1           -6                    0
Offaly           1               0            0               1          -9                    0
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 15, 2009, 04:08:30 PM
Longford and Offaly drew 0-11 each
Post by: Maguire01 on February 15, 2009, 04:44:22 PM
Cavan in big trouble early on. They've arguably played two of the easier games in this Division.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 15, 2009, 04:51:15 PM
Tommy Carr can F**k off back to wherever he came from.  >:(
Post by: Double Cross on February 15, 2009, 04:59:19 PM
Team        Played         Won        Drew        Lost        +/-               Points

Down            2              2             0             0          7                     4
Longford       2               1            1             0           3                     3
Louth            2              1             0             1         10                     2
R'Common     2               1            0             1           8                     2
Tipperary       2              0             0             1           -4                    2
Limerick         2              1             0            1            -10                  2
Offaly           2              0              1             1          -9                     1
Cavan           2               0             0             1          -5                    0

The above table may not be correct as it is based on my calculations.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 15, 2009, 05:03:13 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/gaa_tables_footballleague.html
Post by: Double Cross on February 15, 2009, 05:05:47 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 15, 2009, 05:03:13 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/gaa_tables_footballleague.html

That doesn't include this afternoons results yet.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 15, 2009, 05:08:05 PM
It does for all bar the Cavan game.
Post by: mattockranger on February 16, 2009, 04:40:01 PM
Cavan although gone AWOL I feel that they still may have a key role to play in the outcome of this group
scrapping for survival with the players at there disposal, and playing for the pride of their county jersey i think they will scalp a few wins against teams above them...

Even more competitive group than I thought!

Downs group to lose
with louth and roscommon to fight for the other promotion spot
Post by: Qwerty28 on February 16, 2009, 05:54:50 PM
Next up for longford is the local derby away to the forces of evil in the Hyde! ;D  Never seem to get a result there. Have to be happy with results so far, one more win should see us safe, be hard pushed to pip Down and prob Ros/Louth to second spot, although still have a few players to come back in, great start for new managers and players
Post by: Rossfan on February 16, 2009, 06:17:26 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on February 16, 2009, 05:54:50 PM
Next up for longford is the local derby away to the forces of evil in the Hyde! ;D  Never seem to get a result there.

Nor in Pearse Park either  :D
Anyway it'll probably in Kiltoom.
As for chasing a top 2 spot ..lets be realistic ... we won't win in Drogheda and it's hard to see us batin' Down so that means a max of 8 points  if we can win the other 3. Avoiding the bottom 2 is our main aim at this stage.
Post by: Rudi on February 16, 2009, 07:53:32 PM
Limerick will have a big say yet, Louth will bate Ros. Cavan, Offaly & Longford all well capable of beating some of the perceived big teams.
Post by: western exile on February 16, 2009, 09:28:02 PM
Next up....

7 Mar 2009     Down      v     Cavan         
8 Mar 2009    Offaly    v    Louth       
8 Mar 2009    Limerick    v    Tipperary       
8 Mar 2009    Roscommon    v    Longford   

I forecast wins for Down, Louth and Limerick.
and a Roscommon / Longford draw.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 17, 2009, 08:56:15 AM
QuoteNext up for longford is the local derby away to the forces of evil in the Hyde!

We were in the Hyde last year as well, and got beat out the door.  This year Ros seem to be a bit better, and we're not (yet anyway).  Win for Ros.

I think Cavan might beat Down (strangely), Limerick to beat Tipp and Louth to beat Offaly.
Post by: cavanmaniac on February 17, 2009, 04:18:13 PM
At the very least Cavan are going to have to put in some sort of a spirited performance, else the alarm bells will truly be ringing. We always give Down a decent game, and we desperately need some positives this weekend.

Hopefully we can expose any weaknesses Down might have at full back, but then again, we have our own defensive holes to plug. A win would be manna from heaven and would really turn things around given that we're just two points off the 3rd-placed total, but it's highly, highly unlikely.
Post by: Azzurri on March 07, 2009, 09:13:27 PM
Table as of 7th March 2009 9:30pm

Down            3              2             0             1         5                      4
Longford       2               1            1             0           3                     3
Louth            2              1             0             1         10                     2
Cavan           3               1             0             1          -3                    2
Tipperary       2              0             0             1          -4                    2
Limerick         2              1             0            1           -10                  2
Offaly           2              0              1             1          -9                    1

Upcoming Fixtures:

8 Mar 2009    Offaly    v    Louth       
8 Mar 2009    Limerick    v    Tipperary       
8 Mar 2009    Roscommon    v    Longford   
Post by: Maguire01 on March 07, 2009, 09:21:27 PM
That's a seriously wide open division. Down mess up yet again!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 07, 2009, 09:46:29 PM
We could be toppermost of the poppermost this time tomorrow!
Post by: Rudi on March 07, 2009, 10:01:36 PM
Super result for Cavan, hopefully Offaly can beat Louth & the Rossies give Longford their bi-annual beating.
Post by: Rossie11 on March 08, 2009, 04:17:09 PM

Team        Played                 +/-               Points
R'Common     3                    10                    4
Down            3                    5                     4
Tipperary       3                    -3                    4
Longford       3                     1                     3
Offaly           3                     -8                    3
Louth           3                     9                     2
Cavan           3                    -3                     2
Limerick        3                    -11                    2
Post by: Double Cross on March 08, 2009, 04:25:43 PM
Quote from: Rudi on March 07, 2009, 10:01:36 PM
Super result for Cavan, hopefully Offaly can beat Louth & the Rossies give Longford their bi-annual beating.

I hope you had a few quid on that.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 08, 2009, 07:31:33 PM
It's wide open this group. Anyone in it could still go up or down!
Post by: Rudi on March 08, 2009, 10:43:06 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on March 08, 2009, 04:25:43 PM
Quote from: Rudi on March 07, 2009, 10:01:36 PM

I hope you had a few quid on that.

Complete mess, money on 4 way accumulator. Ros, Cavan, Offaly & Limerick. You're a lady me arse! Wide open group, Ros were very poor today and Longford should have beat them out the gate. Any 2 of the 8 teams can still go up. Down should get it hard next time out in Longford, fancy Louth to give Ros a bit of a trimming.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 08, 2009, 11:20:17 PM
Louth fooked up a small accumulator on me today. It was small money, but along with the other games, it would have been a tidy return.

I'm sure Cavan did the bookies a massive favour last night - Down were probably stuck on just about every accumulator going!
Post by: Qwerty28 on March 10, 2009, 10:36:27 PM
Dats right.... I can add my name to the list who lost money on them....typical Cavan!!
Post by: western exile on March 14, 2009, 10:38:36 PM
After Cavan beat Limerick tonight

Allianz National Football League Division 3
   Team        P    W    D    L    F    A    +/-    Pts
1    Roscommon    3    2    0    1    2-38    0-34    10    4
2    Down       3    2    0    1    1-41    2-33    5    4
3    Cavan       4    2    0    2    0-45    3-38    -2    4
4    Tipperary    3    2    0    1    2-33    1-39    -3    4
5    Longford    3    1    1    1    3-30    1-35    1    3
6    Offaly       3    1    1    1    2-26    1-37    -8    3
7    Louth       3    1    0    2    3-36    3-27    9    2
8    Limerick    4    1    0    3    1-39    3-45    -12    2
Post by: imdagaffer on March 15, 2009, 04:45:25 PM
Team                P W D L   F    A  +/-   Pts
1 Roscommon    4 3 0 1 2-51 0-44 13   6
2 Down             4 3 0 1 1-54 2-41 10  6
3 Tipperary        4 3 0 1 3-49 2-47 5    6
4 Cavan             4 2 0 2 0-45 3-38 -2   4
5 Longford         4 1 1 2 3-38 1-48 -4   3 
6 Offaly             4 1 1 2 3-34 2-53 -16  3
7 Louth             4 1 0 3 3-46 3-40 6     2
8 Limerick          4 1 0 3 1-39 3-45 -12   2
Last updated: 15 Mar 2009
Post by: Onlooker on March 15, 2009, 06:52:21 PM
Down, Roscommon & Tipperary level at the top of the table with 6 points each.  Tipp have won their last 3 matches (2 of them away from home) and were outsiders with the bookies and the media in all 3 matches.  Maybe the penny is beginning to drop that Tipp are a better team than some of the other counties in Div. 3 realised.
Post by: Zulu on March 15, 2009, 07:01:59 PM
Tipp suffer from a being percieved as a hurling county and therefore many football counties presume they are poor or if they win a game it was a bit poxy. The reality is that Tipp have had some very good underage teams for a while now and most of the players are footballers predominately. While I would still expect Limerick to make the Munster final this year tipp are definitely coming and will be a decent team for the next number of years at least.
Post by: Rossfan on March 15, 2009, 07:59:00 PM
Well done Ros a good win away from home even if we did need a penalty save and a couple of other good saves from Claffey to deny Louth goals.
Good Ros  turn out maybe 600 or so and s good performance in patches from most of the players.
Donie Shine kicking some wonderful points - lets hope he can do likewise against that crowd next Saturday.
We're now set up for a top of the table clash with Tipp next Sunday which wint be easy as we're hardly likely to use any of the U 21s unless we bring Donie on to take frees at some stage.
I dont like criticising Refs unless they're from Laythrum  ;D >:( >:( >:( and true to tradition Flynn did the usual hatchet job on us - denied a nailed on penalty in the first half,gave us only one free within range in the entire game and basically gave 90% of the calls in Louth's favour.
Still we're getting a bit of shape and as they say a lot done more to do.
Post by: western exile on March 15, 2009, 08:47:18 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on March 15, 2009, 06:52:21 PM
Down, Roscommon & Tipperary level at the top of the table with 6 points each.  Tipp have won their last 3 matches (2 of them away from home) and were outsiders with the bookies and the media in all 3 matches.  Maybe the penny is beginning to drop that Tipp are a better team than some of the other counties in Div. 3 realised.
Any of the 610 souls that attended your first game would not agree. Tipp lost the game because they were unable to score from play for 70 minutes and relied totally on converted frees from the brilliant Barry Grogan.  And in the win over Cavan he scored 7 points from frees in a winning total of 13. I don't know anything about the other 2 games, perhaps other posters can enlighten us on them  8)
The Tipp run is over, don't take their price against Roscommon or Louth as Tipp will lose both of these  ;)
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 15, 2009, 08:59:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 15, 2009, 07:59:00 PM
Well done Ros a good win away from home even if we did need a penalty save and a couple of other good saves from Claffey to deny Louth goals.
Good Ros  turn out maybe 600 or so and s good performance in patches from most of the players.
Donie Shine kicking some wonderful points - lets hope he can do likewise against that crowd next Saturday.
We're now set up for a top of the table clash with Tipp next Sunday which wint be easy as we're hardly likely to use any of the U 21s unless we bring Donie on to take frees at some stage.
I dont like criticising Refs unless they're from Laythrum  ;D >:( >:( >:( and true to tradition Flynn did the usual hatchet job on us - denied a nailed on penalty in the first half,gave us only one free within range in the entire game and basically gave 90% of the calls in Louth's favour.
Still we're getting a bit of shape and as they say a lot done more to do.

I wasn't at this match so don't know how good or bad the ref was but there are two things that should be said. No team should be guaranteed 50% of decisions nor should  they be guaranteed frees within scoring range. The ref is there to make each individual call on its merits.

Cavan have Offally away next Sunday and then Ros at home the following Saturday. If we can win those two (big big IF) we'll be in with a strong shout for promotion. If we lose them we'll be in with a strong chance for relegation. Very tight group
Post by: Rossfan on March 15, 2009, 09:13:07 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 15, 2009, 08:59:31 PM
No team should be guaranteed 50% of decisions nor should  they be guaranteed frees within scoring range. The ref is there to make each individual call on its merits.

These decisions usually even themselves out over the course of a game but not today. Prior's spirit is still alive and well  among the daub and rushes. >:( >:( >:(
Post by: western exile on March 15, 2009, 09:55:12 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 15, 2009, 08:59:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 15, 2009, 07:59:00 PM
I wasn't at this match so don't know how good or bad the ref was but there are two things that should be said. No team should be guaranteed 50% of decisions nor should  they be guaranteed frees within scoring range. The ref is there to make each individual call on its merits.
I agree. It is not the refs fault if a team commits 90% of the fouls.  These things should not even themselves out just for the sake of it.  I know referees do have bad games (too many!), but this is not reason to criticise them
Post by: western exile on March 15, 2009, 10:03:03 PM
Quote from: imdagaffer on March 15, 2009, 04:45:25 PM
Team                P W D L   F    A  +/-   Pts
1 Roscommon    4 3 0 1 2-51 0-44 13   6
2 Down             4 3 0 1 1-54 2-41 10  6
3 Tipperary        4 3 0 1 3-49 2-47 5    6
4 Cavan             4 2 0 2 0-45 3-38 -2   4
5 Longford         4 1 1 2 3-38 1-48 -4   3 
6 Offaly             4 1 1 2 3-34 2-53 -16  3
7 Louth             4 1 0 3 3-46 3-40 6     2
8 Limerick          4 1 0 3 1-39 3-45 -12   2
Last updated: 15 Mar 2009

Next up
22 Mar 2009     Offaly      v     Cavan         
22 Mar 2009    Roscommon    v    Tipperary       
22 Mar 2009    Limerick    v    Down
22 Mar 2009    Louth V Longford

I pick home wins for Roscommon and Louth and away wins for Down and Cavan
Post by: western exile on March 16, 2009, 01:45:13 PM
And what is it with Louth and penalties in this Division?  Have they missed (or had saved) a penalty in every game so far?  Had these been scored, Louth would probably have won each of those games and be top of the table now.
Post by: Rudi on March 16, 2009, 02:34:19 PM
Quote from: western exile on March 16, 2009, 01:45:13 PM
And what is it with Louth and penalties in this Division?  Have they missed (or had saved) a penalty in every game so far?  Had these been scored, Louth would probably have won each of those games and be top of the table now.

If Carlsberg did penalties, ...... ;D

Not a bad side at all, but Ros were full value for their win yesterday. Tipperary are doing well also, big match in the Hyde next weekend, if Ros win they should go up, as I can't see Cavan beating Offaly in Tullamore.
Post by: pedro on March 16, 2009, 05:50:41 PM
Very frustrating game although Roscommon were full value for the win. Don't know what it is with us and penalties. If we had scored all three, we would have won three and drew one. In fact, if we had to have scored the peno yesterday (and I automatically thought it was a peno LE) we would have went on to win as we had the momentum with us. However, we missed the penalty ad Roscommon went down the field and got a point.

Fair dues to Roscommon fans, turned out fairly well and got behind their team. The same could be expected of Louth fans to a degree, it was the first time since the Meath game in Croker '06 that the Louth fans got behind their team coming off at half time. However, we still have the same idiots roaring abuse at our own players and shouting at Mac to take them off the minute they make a mistake. I really wish these people would stay at home as they bring absolutely nothing to the cause.  >:(
Post by: Louth Exile on March 16, 2009, 06:07:13 PM
I am going to guess that you were on the hill also Pedro. Plenty of loud mouths near us. They could be heard all the better because the numbers of home support were very poor. Well done to the Rossies for travelling in decent numbers, our own people stayed at home! There was one gobshite in particular roared down at David Reid, loud enough that the chap would have heard him. Reid shouldn't have still been on the field at that stage but what good is some gobshite on the hill roaring at him going to do!!
Post by: Rossfan on March 16, 2009, 06:16:04 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on March 16, 2009, 06:07:13 PM
Well done to the Rossies for travelling in decent numbers,

We usually do ...in Kilmallock we outnumbered the homesters. Then again what's the point in having a County team if you dont go to see them play and support the lads.
By the way this time last year we suffered a disgraceful embarassment in Crossmaglen conceding something like 4-20 against 6 or 8 points. What a difference a year makes... :)
Post by: amallon on March 16, 2009, 06:33:57 PM
Roscommon still have to play Down and Tipp so there is potential for the top teams to take points off each other in the remaining fixtures giving the chasing pack the opportunity to catch up.  I'm very surprised to see Limerick and esp. Louth at the bottom of the table.
Post by: Louth Exile on March 19, 2009, 10:21:55 AM
http://betdiary.ie/kevinegan/2009/03/19/see-the-evidence-then-believe/

Interesting reading for the Rossies
Post by: Rossie11 on March 19, 2009, 10:55:30 AM
Its good reasoning and tipp would be good value at 5/2.
Add in the fact that Ross will be without the U21s who play the day before
Actually tradition and home advantage are the only positives for Ross in this match up.
Post by: Onlooker on March 19, 2009, 11:02:32 AM
Tipperary are also playing a Munster Under 21 Semi Final against Clare on Saturday, so we will have similar selection problems for Sunday as Roscommon have.    Whatever the result of Sunday's game, it is unfair on both counties to be playing 2 such important games in 2 days.  Are the GAA bosses after forgetting about burn out of young players already?.
Post by: amallon on March 20, 2009, 09:02:46 AM
This weeks fixtures fo Div 3

Sun 22nd March
Round 5: Offaly V Cavan
venue:Tullamore, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:TBC)

Round 5: Louth V Longford
venue:Drogheda, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:TBC)

Round 5: Roscommon V Tipperary
venue:Dr Hyde Park, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:TBC)

Round 5: Limerick V Down
venue:Gaelic Grounds, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:TBC)

I think Cavan will take Offaly, Louth will beat Longford, Roscommon would be slight favourites against Tipp and Down to beat Limerick.
Post by: Rossfan on March 20, 2009, 06:16:52 PM
Roscommon team to play Tipperary on Sunday in NFL Div 3 in Dr Hyde Park

1.          Geoffrey Claffey                                   Caisléan Riabhach

2.          Ronan Brady                                          Ail Finn

3.          John Nolan                                             Gaeil Ros Comáin

4.          Enda Barrett                                           Na Piarsaigh

5.          Paul Kelly                                              Na Piarsaigh

6.          David Casey                                           Mainistir na Buile

7.          Sean McDermott                                   Gaeil an Iarthair

8.          Michael Finneran                                 Naomh Dominic

9.          Brian Higgins                                         Ail Finn

10.     Gary Cox                                                Naomh Faithleach

11.     Karol Mannion                                      Naomh Bríd

12.     Damien Keenehan                                 Mainistir na Buile

13.     Ger Heneghan                                        Caisléan Riabhach

14.     Senan Kilbride                                       Naomh Bríd

15.     John Dunning                                         Clann na nGael 

Post by: Rossie11 on March 22, 2009, 04:08:51 PM
Ross 1-10 Tipp 2-13
This division is some crack.. All bar Tipp can still be relegated!!
Post by: Rossie11 on March 22, 2009, 04:18:41 PM
Some guy called Grogan I think kicked a shit load of points..
Ross were 6 up at one stage.. disaster
Post by: Maguire01 on March 22, 2009, 04:31:16 PM
Very impressed by Tipp's results. Would be great to see them pronoted, een though you'd have to think they'd be cannon fodder in Division 2.
Post by: Onlooker on March 22, 2009, 05:02:30 PM
Tipperary have been outsiders in every game they have played in this year's NFL.  they have now won their last 4 matches (3 of them away from home) and are the only team that can not be relegated.  That is some achievement for John Evans and his players.  1-16 against Offaly and 2-13 against Roscommon show that the wins against Cavan and Limerick were not the flukes that they were made out to be.  There have been many false dawns for Tipperary football, but maybe this could be the real thing.  As for getting to Div. 2 no one has even thought about that, but we were regarded as "cannon fodder" in Div. 3 this year.  Happy days for the footballers of Tipperary. :) :) :)
Post by: Maguire01 on March 22, 2009, 05:05:11 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on March 22, 2009, 05:02:30 PM
As for getting to Div. 2 no one has even thought about that, but we were regarded as "cannon fodder" in Div. 3 this year. 
You're right - nobody (including me) gave them a chance. But i think Division 2 would be a step too far. Still, to go from Division 4 to Division 2 over the space of 2 seasons would be an amazing achievement in itself.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on March 22, 2009, 05:10:40 PM
Tipp won the under 21 semi final yesterday aswell didnt they onlooker?
Great year from Tipp,certainly no fluke. Barry Grogan is a top class marksman.
To be honest which ever two teams get promoted,i can see them coming straight back down,
i seen last year Cavan were completely out of their league against Monaghan,Dublin etc. Theres a massive gap between the two divisions.
But who knows ,maybe Tipp will shock us next year again in Div 2!!
This Division is all over the place,every team bar Tipp can get relegated as RossFan said
What a mess  :D
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 22, 2009, 05:17:54 PM
I wouldn't be that afraid of Div 2. If a team were to prepare with the league as a target they could stay up. Meath are no world beaters. Monaghan as decent but can be beaten. Laois are hot and cold. You'll probably have Westmeath in there next year too. Truth is, on a given day there are only 2/3 teams in Div 2 that stand out.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on March 22, 2009, 05:21:18 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 22, 2009, 05:17:54 PM
I wouldn't be that afraid of Div 2. If a team were to prepare with the league as a target they could stay up. Meath are no world beaters. Monaghan as decent but can be beaten. Laois are hot and cold. You'll probably have Westmeath in there next year too. Truth is, on a given day there are only 2/3 teams in Div 2 that stand out.

to be honest Myles id disagree
Monaghan
Laois
Westmeath
Meath
maybe Armagh
and one from Tyrone,Dublin,Mayo and Donegal

Those teams are streets ahead of whats in Division 3, Its a big step up.
Post by: Onlooker on March 22, 2009, 05:25:23 PM
Tipperary football people have had so many lean years that I would say that the Div. 3 table is certainly not a mess.  It is a beautiful sight.  We have waited for years for a run like this in the National League.  Having said that promotion is still wide open as Roscommon and Down have still to play each other.   Tipp's target this year was to be competitive in Div. 3 and hopefully avoid relegation.  There was not that much confidence that we would manage to stay up.  The Under 21's play Cork next Saturday in the Munster Final.  Cork beat Kerry (All Ireland Champions) by 10 points in the Quarter Final, so we are up against it big time, but who cares.  We have nothing to lose.  Division 2 would be a huge step up and only this morning John Evans said that Tipp were not yet ready for Div. 2 football.  Maybe we would be better off getting promoted next year.
Post by: Azzurri on March 22, 2009, 10:00:10 PM
Sun 22nd March
Round 5: Offaly 1-16 Cavan 0-13
Round 5: Louth 0-18 Longford 0-12
Round 5: Roscommon 1-10 Tipperary 2-13
Round 5: Limerick 2-9 Down 1-11

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Allianz GAA Football National League Roinn 3 Table
Team Pld Won Draw Lost For Against Diff Points
Tipperary 5 4 0 1 77 66 11 8
Down 5 3 0 2 71 62 9 6
Roscommon 5 3 0 2 70 63 7 6
Offaly 5 2 1 2 62 72 -10 5
Louth 5 2 0 3 73 61 12 4
Cavan 5 2 0 3 58 66 -8 4
Limerick 5 2 0 3 57 68 -11 4
Longford 5 1 1 3 59 69 -10 3
Post by: Louth Exile on March 22, 2009, 11:16:34 PM
Fair play to Tipp, great performance for them to be top of the league and they deserve full credit for it.
Also, they have already played Down, which is a bonus.

I looked back on the predictions listed on the first two pages of this thread, there are predictions listed for a total of 11 of us (if I can count!) including the mighty Martin Breheny, with the exception of Pedro everyone predicted them to finish 8th of 8!!!!
What the hell do us lot know about football??

If Louth bring their Roscommon performance to Thurles they haven't a hope. If we can get the wind behind us for two halves and show the 14 point performance that we did in the second half today we could come good!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 23, 2009, 12:10:41 AM
I was in Drogheda today.

Three words come to mind.

f**k, f**k and, eh, f**k.
Post by: LaurelEye on March 23, 2009, 03:28:50 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 23, 2009, 12:10:41 AM
I was in Drogheda today.

Folk, funk and (tuning) fork?

I recommend a good blasht of Horslips to ease the pain ;)
Post by: Louth Exile on March 23, 2009, 09:10:59 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 23, 2009, 12:10:41 AM
I was in Drogheda today.

You were one of the few SS! Terrible crowd on a fine day for football
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 23, 2009, 10:48:36 AM
The wind was a telling factor. Louth used it to better advantage in the second half.

However, on yestrday's performances, neither Louth nor Longford will be feeding from the Leinster trough this year.

Good to see JP Rooney still plying his trade although what's with the tatoo on the right leg??
Post by: Louth Exile on March 23, 2009, 11:13:20 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 23, 2009, 10:48:36 AM
However, on yestrday's performances, neither Louth nor Longford will be feeding from the Leinster trough this year.

Good to see JP Rooney still plying his trade although what's with the tatoo on the right leg??

You are dead right about that.

It has been great to have JP back, he was one of the unfortunate ones to be dismissed from the panel two years ago! He was a bit harshly treated at the time. He does have a great understanding with Clarke. He wasn't at the top of his game yesterday, but has put in some good displays already this year and will be a key man come the championship
Post by: Rossfan on March 23, 2009, 12:05:25 PM
Well done Tipp ... the best team yesterday who won by the margin they deserved.
We started in great fashion going 1-3 up in a few minutes but when Tipp broke from midfield they ran through us with ease scoring 2-1 in 3 attacks. Our slow half backs got sucked up the field following Tipp h.forwards and left acres of space for the Tipp lads to run throughor fros Grogan(no 15) to cause us all sorts of problems. Despite playing with the strong wind we spent most of the 1st half arsing around with the ball in our half forward area.The f forwards were playing too deep resulting in a number of balls when eventually hit in dribling over the end line.
In the second half when we got the ball it was slow pass after slow pass eventually to the ineffective Heneghan who must have messed up 10 or 15 possessions in that half.
In the absence of U21s it is obvious that the initial enthusiasn generated by the arrival of Fergie has now worn off the usual suspects who proved once again they havent got what it takes when the chips are down.
It would be nice to have the luxury of starting to build the 2010 team at this point but with relegation still threatening that's not on .
One thing that worries me is that in 150 minutes of football over the weekend our teams  conceded 6-27. Defensive problems for the forseeable future I fear.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 27, 2009, 07:45:33 PM
Games this weekend are critical to promotion and relegation. Here are my predictions....

Longford v Limerick: Limerick to win by 3
Down v Offaly: Tight one. Draw possible but I'll go for Down by a point.
Cavan v Ros: If Cavan get up for it they'll win but thats a big IF. Cavan by 2.
Tipp v Louth: Louth really need to win. I think they will. Louth by 1 or 2.

Post by: Trevor Hill on March 28, 2009, 12:51:15 AM
Longford v Limerick
Down v Offaly though I hope I am wrong on this one.
Cavan v Roscommon
Tipp v Louth
Post by: Onlooker on March 28, 2009, 06:59:56 PM
Limerick beat Longford by 3 points to move up a couple of places on the table.  Longford have 3 points with only 1 match left and look to be in a very bad position to avoid the dreaded relegation to Div. 4.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 28, 2009, 09:49:36 PM
2/2 for me so far. Heres the table tonight. Cavan & Louth really need to win tomorrow or they are in serious trouble.

Tipperary 5 4 0 1 77 66 11 8
Down 6 4 0 2 92 72 20 8
Roscommon 5 3 0 2 70 63 7 6
Limerick 6 3 0 3 67 75 -8 6
Offaly 6 2 1 3 72 93 -21 5
Louth 5 2 0 3 73 61 12 4
Cavan 5 2 0 3 58 66 -8 4
Longford 6 1 1 4 66 79 -13 3
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 29, 2009, 12:56:30 AM
1 Down 6 4 0 2 4-80 5-57 20 8
2 Tipperary 5 4 0 1 5-62 3-57 11 8
3 Roscommon 5 3 0 2 3-61 2-57 7 6
4 Limerick 6 3 0 3 3-58 4-63 -8 6
5 Offaly 6 2 1 3 5-57 4-81 -21 5
6 Louth 5 2 0 3 3-64 3-52 12 4
7 Cavan 5 2 0 3 0-58 4-54 -8 4
8 Longford 6 1 1 4 3-57 1-76 -13 3

If Tipperary beat Louth tomorrow they will be promoted with a game to spare, if Roscommon lose tommorrow Down are virtually guaranteed promotion.
Post by: Louth Exile on March 29, 2009, 01:08:54 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on March 28, 2009, 06:59:56 PM
Limerick beat Longford by 3 points to move up a couple of places on the table.  Longford have 3 points with only 1 match left and look to be in a very bad position to avoid the dreaded relegation to Div. 4.

If both Louth and Cavan happened to win today (which I wouldn't put money on) then Longford are relegated with a week to go and Louth would be safe (barring a complete annihaliation by Cavan in the last week and other results also going against them).
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 29, 2009, 03:10:06 PM
Louth 1-5  Tipp 0-5 halftime. Any news from Cavan v Roscommon?
Post by: LaurelEye on March 29, 2009, 03:12:03 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on March 29, 2009, 03:10:06 PM
Louth 1-5  Tipp 0-5 halftime. Any news from Cavan v Roscommon?

Cavan 6-4 up at half time.
Post by: Tatler Jack on March 29, 2009, 03:25:02 PM
Result : Tipp 0-18 Louth 1-11
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 29, 2009, 03:31:40 PM
Tipp and Down almost certainly promoted. Congrats to them.
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 29, 2009, 03:42:02 PM
Latest Score from Thurles:  Tipperary 0-6  1-5 Louth after 39 minutes
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 29, 2009, 03:43:59 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on March 29, 2009, 03:42:02 PM
Louth and Tipp threw in at 1-45. Long over bud.
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 29, 2009, 03:46:56 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 29, 2009, 03:43:59 PM

Its on LMFM at the minute, I dont think they are doing deffered coverage?, though I am having bother getting good reception
Post by: tierworker blue on March 29, 2009, 03:47:22 PM
Cavan 0-11 Roscommon 0-05. Twenty mins into the 2nd half.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 29, 2009, 03:49:32 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on March 29, 2009, 03:46:56 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 29, 2009, 03:43:59 PM

Its on LMFM at the minute, I dont think they are doing deffered coverage?, though I am having bother getting good reception

Something odd going on then cos aertel have it as a result 0-18 to 1-11 and throw in at 1-45. Then maybe I should not be putting too much faith in aertel!
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 29, 2009, 03:53:53 PM
I wouldn't have much faith in Aertel, Louth 4 ahead with about 20 minutes to play, any word from Cavan v Roscommon?
Post by: Tatler Jack on March 29, 2009, 03:54:29 PM
Heard report of game Tipp won it by 0-18 to 1-11

Cavan 6 pts ahead with 10 mins to go. Ros down to 14
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 29, 2009, 03:56:00 PM
cavan 12 to 5 ahead
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 29, 2009, 03:57:49 PM
Aertel had the score about 45 minutes ago as being Tipp 0-12 to Louth 1-9. Will be interesting to see if you are listening to deferred commentry (which would be as mad a thing i've ever heard) or maybe aertel are prophets!
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 29, 2009, 03:58:43 PM
I'm listening to Northern Sound radio and they've just reported Tipp beat Louth. This is like an episode of Lost :D
Post by: Tatler Jack on March 29, 2009, 04:03:22 PM
RTE had a report on the Tipp/Louth game earlier
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 29, 2009, 04:09:23 PM
I have been listening to LMFM on line, it seems that they are running about an hour behind the actual radio broadcast, so the result may be as stated on Aertel. ???
Post by: Mourne Rover on March 29, 2009, 04:18:03 PM
Looks as though Down are promoted unless we lose by ten points or more at Hyde Park. I think that Roscommon, Cavan and Liimerick can match our total of eight points but they all have poor scoring differences. A collapse against Roscommon is not impossible but it really should not happen.
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 29, 2009, 04:20:25 PM
Sun 12th April
Round 7: Roscommon V Down
venue:Dr Hyde Park, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:David Coldrick)

Round 7: Louth V Cavan
venue:Drogheda, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:TBC)

Round 7: Tipperary V Longford
venue:Thurles, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:Michael Collins)

Round 7: Offaly V Limerick
venue:Tullamore, time:2 30 pm, (Ref:TBC)
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 29, 2009, 04:38:56 PM
1 Tipperary 6 5 0 1 5-80 4-68 15 10
2 Down 6 4 0 2 4-80 5-57 20 8
3 Cavan 6 3 0 3 0-72 4-60 0 6
4 Roscommon 6 3 0 3 3-67 2-71 -1 6
5 Limerick 6 3 0 3 3-58 4-63 -8 6
6 Offaly 6 2 1 3 5-57 4-81 -21 5
7 Louth 6 2 0 4 4-75 3-70 8 4
8 Longford 6 1 1 4 3-57 1-76 -13 3
Post by: Louth Exile on March 29, 2009, 06:10:22 PM
Well done to Tipp, eveyone said they would be first to relegated and they were first to be promoted, from Div 4 to Div 2 in two seasons and they seem to have a good young team

Quote from: Mourne Rover on March 29, 2009, 04:18:03 PM
Looks as though Down are promoted unless we lose by ten points or more at Hyde Park. I think that Roscommon, Cavan and Liimerick can match our total of eight points but they all have poor scoring differences.

I think you have it about right, having seen both the mourne men and the rossies I would find this scenario highly unlikely. Down are clearly the better side and would have to do something really stupid (ala Cavan v Waterford in 06) to not be in the final.

We need a massive favour from Limerick!!! even that may not be enough, as I can see Cavan taking us in Drogheda and Longford and ourselves for the drop  :(
Post by: mountainboii on March 29, 2009, 08:44:21 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on March 29, 2009, 06:10:22 PM
Well done to Tipp, eveyone said they would be first to relegated and they were first to be promoted, from Div 4 to Div 2 in two seasons and they seem to have a good young team

Looks as though Down are promoted unless we lose by ten points or more at Hyde Park. I think that Roscommon, Cavan and Liimerick can match our total of eight points but they all have poor scoring differences.

I think you have it about right, having seen both the mourne men and the rossies I would find this scenario highly unlikely. Down are clearly the better side and would have to do something really stupid (ala Cavan v Waterford in 06) to not be in the final.

We need a massive favour from Limerick!!! even that may not be enough, as I can see Cavan taking us in Drogheda and Longford and ourselves for the drop  :(

Are Louth not safe along as they beat Cavan? They'll both be on 6 points at that stage and Louth's scoring difference is already 8 points better.
Post by: Louth Exile on March 29, 2009, 09:00:07 PM
Quote from: AFS on March 29, 2009, 08:44:21 PM

Are Louth not safe along as they beat Cavan? They'll both be on 6 points at that stage and Louth's scoring difference is already 8 points better.

You are right, just might be losing the run of myself!! I still don't fancy our chances against Cavan the way we are going though!
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 29, 2009, 10:03:26 PM
Cavan are safe as Limerick play Offaly on last day. Limerick win keeps Offally below us. Offally win keeps limerick below us. A louth win against Cavan would keep them up I think.
Post by: FermPundit on March 29, 2009, 10:11:40 PM

Well done to Tipperary. Hopefully they can hold their own in Division two next season, although I think they might struggle. It's very disappointing that both promoted sides from last year, Fermanagh and Wexford now find themselves back in Division three.
Post by: Blue06 on March 29, 2009, 10:12:26 PM
"Cavan are safe as Limerick play Offaly on last day. Limerick win keeps Offally below us. Offally win keeps limerick below us. A louth win against Cavan would keep them up I think."

Almost Myles, only scenario we can go down is if Offaly beat Limerick, and we get a hiding from Louth meaning our score difference gets worse than theirs.
Also Roscommon wouild also need a narrow defeat to Down(or a positive result) to stay above us.

Post by: LaurelEye on March 30, 2009, 12:41:52 AM
We need:

a) Tipp to go on the p*ss for the next week celebrating promotion and then let us beat them in Thurles,
b) Limerick to beat Offaly,
c) Cavan to beat Louth,

to avoid Division 4. The omens do not look good...  :(
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 30, 2009, 10:21:19 AM
b) and c) are most possible

a) looks remote unless over the next two weeks there is a serious upping on Longford's recent performances and, as Laurel said, Tipp go on the lash.
Post by: Onlooker on March 30, 2009, 05:00:51 PM
Knowing a bit about the Tipp lads, there is no danger of them going on the lash, Shamrock Shore.  However I would expect John Evans to give some of the panel a run in the Longford game and so give a break to some of the Under 21's who have had to play so many important games in the last few weeks.  Division 3 has been so tight for so long, until yesterday really, that you would have to say that there was very little between the 8 teams and that Tipperary and Down will find the going tough in Division 2 next year.  That is for another day, however and for now all of us success starved Tipp football supporters can enjoy our second promotion in 2 seasons.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on March 30, 2009, 05:16:15 PM
Longford look pretty much doomed. I cant see them getting anything from Tipp
id expect the Rossies to beat what could be an slightly experimental enough Down team
Offaly Limerick and ourselves and Louth are toss ups.

You cant but be delighted for Tipp and their loyal football fans like Onlooker,
When they beat us in Round 2, i was disgusted with Cavan as i thought we had been caught by one of the minnows,
Tipp have shown however that they really are an emerging force and while they may be a year or two away from being able to seriously challenge Cork/Kerry in Munster, i believe they will get there.
Tipp and Down will likely struggle next year in Div 2, Fermanagh and Wexford just were out of their depth after making the step up,the same as Cavan and the Rossies were out of their depth last year,But playing better teams can only improve you so bets of luck to both of them.

Now to look at these permutations as to how we can get relegated  :o

Post by: Lone Shark on March 30, 2009, 05:47:49 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on March 30, 2009, 05:16:15 PM
id expect the Rossies to beat what could be an slightly experimental enough Down team

I'd be amazed if Down went with an experimental team. A ten point win for Roscommon in the Hyde is obviously unlikely, but it's not impossible and if you had a weakened team out and Ros got a couple of first half goals, it could all start to go very wrong very quickly.

I'd say they'd play an experimental team in the final before they'd play one here myself.
Post by: Louth Exile on March 30, 2009, 06:03:40 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on March 30, 2009, 05:00:51 PM
Knowing a bit about the Tipp lads, there is no danger of them going on the lash, Shamrock Shore.  However I would expect John Evans to give some of the panel a run in the Longford game and so give a break to some of the Under 21's who have had to play so many important games in the last few weeks.  Division 3 has been so tight for so long, until yesterday really, that you would have to say that there was very little between the 8 teams and that Tipperary and Down will find the going tough in Division 2 next year.  That is for another day, however and for now all of us success starved Tipp football supporters can enjoy our second promotion in 2 seasons.

That is another thing to credit Tipp on, having to play U-21 championship matches the day before NFL games. Some teams would have more exposure that others. I heard that 8 of the Tipp team against Louth had played the previous day! Ridiculous scheduling from up on high, but further emphasises Tipp's achievement in gaining promotion
Post by: Rossfan on March 30, 2009, 06:34:28 PM
Jaysus lads there's not much chance of us batin anyone never mind by 10 points.
Our hopes lie with Limerick beating Offaly or Cavan beating Louth.
Wins for Louth and Offaly coupled with the now expected hammering from Down would see us go down :'(
Yesterday's performance was as bad as anything seen in the Maughan days.
I'm afraid the new found enthusiasm for life under Fergie has been worn off a lot of players following 4 games in successive weeks. There is no hunger or desire or anything resembling enthusiasm from a whole host of players most of whom must surely be on their way out. Only question is when? Do we run with them till the end of the Championship or use the panel review end of the NFL  to unload most of them and throw in 9 or 10 U21s?
For the record I expect Offaly to beat Limerick and even though we'll lose to Down we'll just shade Limerick on point diff. Tipp will end on a high beating Longford while I expect the greater need to drive Louth to victory over Cavan.
Post by: Rossie11 on March 30, 2009, 07:25:02 PM
Agreed we were awful yesterday and in serious danger of receiving another hammering next week. We were like a team that only met
an hour before throw in. Clueless and even the basics like picking the ball off the ground seemed a chore.
Would expect Down to beat us 7-10pts and leave us relying on a favour to stay up.
A worrying week ahead for Rossies
Post by: western exile on March 30, 2009, 07:58:40 PM
this has been a very close division this year. It is amazing that going into the final round of games that only the top 2 teams (Tipp and Down) are sure of avoiding relegation  :-\
Post by: AZOffaly on March 30, 2009, 08:20:51 PM
Just to add my Congrats to Tipp. They were probably the best team we played in Division 4 last year, and have proven that they have moved on, while we indulged in codology.

Fair play to John Evans, and I hope Tipp can become the new Limerick in Munster. They won a minor back in 95, and have been close a few times at underage. With Evans on board, who is a good man from Laune Rangers, they'll continue to improve.
Post by: Onlooker on March 30, 2009, 09:29:23 PM
The congratulations to Tipp from the other Div. 3 counties are much appreciated.  This is what the GAA is all about.  We all have our bad days and the good times need to be enjoyed. IMO the Under 21 situation was very unfair to Tipp and Roscommon who were involved in Connacht the previous week.  Tipp looked for a postpoement of the Under 21 Final, as the other 3 provincial finals have not yet been played, but there was no give from Cork or the Munster Council.  This did not surprise anyone.  The story with the Under 21's, Louth Exile is that a full strength Tipp team would have 6 Under 21's on the starting 15, including 4 defenders and probably 2 forwards.  For the game against Roscommon, which was played the day after the Under 21 semi final against Clare, only 2 Under 21's started and 2 came on as subs.  The team picked to play Louth did not include any Under 21's, but a change was made before the game and Ciaran McDonald played at full back and Brian Fox came on as a sub.  This meant that McDonald played 4 games in 8 days.  This lad is Under 21 again next year and is developing into a very fine player indeed.  He is the best defender Tipp have produced in many years.  Like everyone else I thought that Tipp had only a slim chance of avoiding relegation to Div. 4 before the League started and Tipp's form in this year's league has been a revelation to everyone in the county.  Div. 2 will be a major test, but what harm. We'll enjoy that too.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 30, 2009, 10:28:55 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on March 30, 2009, 09:29:23 PM
Div. 2 will be a major test, but what harm. We'll enjoy that too.
Well without wanting to put a negative slant on it, it means that Tipp are away from Division 4 for at least 2 years. That gives them plenty of time to consolidate their improvement. And even if they only last one year in Division 2 (as with Monaghan in Division 1 two years ago), it's nice when it lasts, to play against better opposition on a regular basis. You won't win as many games, but when you do win, it will be even sweeter.
Post by: Trevor Hill on March 30, 2009, 10:37:08 PM
Congrats to Tipperary. Hell of an achievement. Hopefully we will be seeing you again in the Division 3 final.
Post by: Onlooker on March 30, 2009, 11:01:04 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on March 30, 2009, 10:37:08 PM
Congrats to Tipperary. Hell of an achievement. Hopefully we will be seeing you again in the Division 3 final.
I would say that is a certainty and as one who saw Down playing in their glory days, I look forward to an enjoyable match.  Both teams will have got promotion and anything after that will be the icing on the cake. There is no way that Down will slip up on promotion now.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 31, 2009, 08:56:27 AM
Fair play Tipp, very good work with a small player base.
Post by: This Years Model on March 31, 2009, 11:31:16 AM
Congratulations Tipp, not only on the promotion, but on the style of it - 5 consecutive wins including 3 on the road. Remember this time last year they needed to win their last two games and hope that Waterford would do them a favour by winning up in Casement (which the cheeky buggers did, fulfilling their obligation to produce one shock every year. Pity their shock result this year was to lose to London  :o )

Onlooker (or anybody for that matter), is it out of the question that Declan Browne could be tempted out of retirement to supplement what is clearly a very dangerous forward line for the summer ....?? He must be only 32/33?
Post by: Onlooker on March 31, 2009, 02:32:57 PM
Declan Browne suffered a serious knee injury playing for his club last Summer and has not played since.   I am sure that he is hoping to be able to play for his club later in the year, but it is not certain that he will be able to do so.  I fear that the injury has ended the possibility of him coming back to the Tipperary team.  He will be 31 this year and it would be brilliant to see him back in action, so hopefully he will get back to club action this summer.
Post by: Onlooker on April 10, 2009, 07:23:04 PM
Now that the promotion issue has been more or less settled as Tipperary have secured their place and Down are as near to being certainties as is possible for the other place, what are the thoughts re relegation to the dreaded Div. 4.   Longford are in serious troule, but the other place could be filled by any of the counties apart from the promoted pair.  If Louth can win their home game against Cavan they will put serious pressure on all the other counties.  It is a relief not be involved in that battle.
Post by: Zulu on April 10, 2009, 07:44:18 PM
Relegation would be a disaster for any of the teams left, but I'd say Louth are the most likely to go down as their form has gone south in a big way. There's rumours all is not well within the camp which is a shame as I thought they might kick on from their fine form of a few years ago.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on April 12, 2009, 08:25:59 PM
Limerick end up falling through the trapdoor.
They certainly didn't play like a team who felt the urgency of a relegation battle in Tullamore today.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 13, 2009, 11:06:48 AM
That was a big, important win for Offaly yesterday. Another season in Division 4 would have been a nightmare, and with Longford and Louth both winning, as was on the cards, I think we'd have gone down.

Phew is all I can say.
Post by: Zulu on April 13, 2009, 11:13:14 AM
Mickey Ned could be on his way out, he has long since stopped having any influence in the Limerick camp and I don't think he'll be there next year. Limerick need a new voice anyway, they have a decent team but they're not delivering in the games that matter. I was looking at the Offaly team and they have a decent squad as well so hopefully they'll put behind this indifferent league and start getting things right for the championship.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 13, 2009, 11:23:37 AM
Quote from: Zulu on April 13, 2009, 11:13:14 AM
Mickey Ned could be on his way out, he has long since stopped having any influence in the Limerick camp and I don't think he'll be there next year. Limerick need a new voice anyway, they have a decent team but they're not delivering in the games that matter. I was looking at the Offaly team and they have a decent squad as well so hopefully they'll put behind this indifferent league and start getting things right for the championship.

Offaly have decent footballers Zulu, always have had, but the problem is preparation. To borrow a line from an ousted manager, some of them (a lot) are more interested in the tracksuit than the jersey. They like to be around Tullamore with the sponsored gear, and being Billy Big Bollox with the girls.

Compared to any serious inter county team, these lads need a wake up call and need to start putting in the work in the gym during the winter. You can tell from their bodies that the likes of Tyrone, Kerry, Dublin, and even the likes of Westmeath, are miles ahead in terms of body strength and conditioning. That translates into too many 50-50 balls being lost, being unable to break tackles, and being shoved off the ball by those serious teams.

I'm confident enough that if we started to move to that level, and maintained our approach to the game itself, we'd be competitive again. Without it, we're not *that* good that we can overcome a team who throws us around.
Post by: Trevor Hill on April 14, 2009, 01:40:03 PM
Allianz GAA Football National League Roinn 3 Final
Sat 25th April
Final: Down V Tipperary
venue:Pearse Park, Longford, time:6 30 pm, (Ref:TBC) TG4 (Live)
In the event of a draw at the end of normal time, extra time will be played
Post by: Trevor Hill on April 14, 2009, 01:45:33 PM
In Longford of all places. Terrible ground, no facilities and the town is a dive. Full of cream crackers. This will be our third trip to/via Longford in a month. The first for the game in Pearse Park against Longford, then Roscommon via Longford at the weekend and now a return for the final. I was hoping for a trip to Dublin (Parnell Park), its roughly half way for both counties.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 14, 2009, 04:30:26 PM
QuoteTerrible ground, no facilities

Trevor, what exactly are you looking for in a county grounds??

I have no opinion on the rest of you rant!
Post by: Trevor Hill on April 14, 2009, 04:51:43 PM
Its not a rant, its the truth. I was in Pearse Park a few weeks ago. The attitude of the stewards was appalling the guy on the gate didnt know what a season ticket was, the state of the toilets was worse, though that is second hand info as I am only going on what the wife said and the majority of the "stand seemed to be flooded" or at least anywhere we sat seemed to have large puddles.
We pay good money and travel long distances to attend these games, we the paying public deserve better in my opinion.
Post by: Rossfan on April 14, 2009, 05:48:54 PM
That's Division 3 for ya  :D
Post by: Louth Exile on April 14, 2009, 05:59:47 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on April 14, 2009, 01:45:33 PM
In Longford of all places. Terrible ground, no facilities and the town is a dive. Full of cream crackers.

And who said that the Down supporters were an arrogant lot!!  ;)
In fairness to Longford it has a couple of decent stout houses.

It is a strange call though, Dublin would seem to make sense, or maybe Newbridge, but Longford ???
Post by: Onlooker on April 14, 2009, 06:09:03 PM
Longford is a long trip for both Tipperary & Down.  I was expecting that Parnell Park would be the likely venue.  It would be more convenient for both sets of supporters as well as Tipp and Down people living in Dublin.  However, I was in Pearse Park a few years ago and thought it was a nice venue for a game.  I don't know anything about the town as it was a rushed visit as it will probably be this time for a 6.30 throw in on a Saturday night.
Post by: armaghniac on April 14, 2009, 07:20:40 PM
While a candidate for an Ulster/Connacht clash Longford does not suit a game between Munster and Ulster teams, but it seems to have some supporters among the GAA fixture planning people. The game between Crossmaglen and Broadford was there in a venue not that easy to reach from Cross' and a long way from West Limerick. With the road system now somewhere like Newbridge would be ideal for these games. That said I thought the ground there was OK. 
Post by: Trevor Hill on April 14, 2009, 08:07:10 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on April 14, 2009, 05:59:47 PM
And who said that the Down supporters were an arrogant lot!!  ;)

Arrogant? Us? We don`t really have a lot to be arrogant about these days, but it could be worse, the game could be in Drawda  ;)

I just think Longford is a strange choice of venue for a game between Tipp and Down.
Post by: amallon on April 15, 2009, 10:13:10 AM
The GAA will have been thinking about the supporters of Sligo and Antrim as well when they picked Longford.
Post by: armaghniac on April 15, 2009, 10:28:04 AM
QuoteThe GAA will have been thinking about the supporters of Sligo and Antrim as well when they picked Longford.

I had forgotten about the Div 4 gig, sure even the Antrim team don't think about Antrim supporters.
Post by: Trevor Hill on April 15, 2009, 12:33:35 PM
Quote from: amallon on April 15, 2009, 10:13:10 AM
The GAA will have been thinking about the supporters of Sligo and Antrim as well when they picked Longford.

The game doesnt necessarily have to be a "double header", we wont see a big crowd at either game no matter where it is held.
Post by: Lazer on April 15, 2009, 12:43:48 PM

Or in reality - it seems to be just the supporters of Sligo

Travel time (From RAC)

To Lonford:
Sligo - 1 1/2 hours
Tipperary - 4hrs
Antrim - 4 hrs
Newry, Down - 2 1/2 hrs
Belfast (Antrim/Down) -3 1/2 hrs

To Dublin
Sligo - 4hrs
Tipperary - 2 1/2hrs
Antrim - 2 1/2hrs
Newry,Down - 1hr
Belfast (antrim/Down) - 2hrs

And I'm sure there is other suitable locations other than Dublin, just using it as an example - Longford is not the obvious choice for anyone other than sligo!
Post by: Onlooker on April 15, 2009, 03:08:33 PM
I have to agree that there appears to be very little logic in fixing the Tipperary/Down game for Longford.  As both teams have got promotion, there is not a lot at stake to attract anyone apart from the real died in the wool fans.  A venue around Dublin would be far more suitable for both counties.  If lazer's times are right, I am facing 8 hours of driving to Longford and back.  I have not checked it out yet, but I hope those times are a bit off the mark.
Post by: Trevor Hill on April 15, 2009, 04:46:50 PM
Onlooker, depending on what part of Tipp you are in I reckon it should be no more than a 2 hour journey. You should head for Athlone then N55/N4 to Longford. You could do it in 4 hours on a bike.  ;)
Post by: Onlooker on April 15, 2009, 09:24:28 PM
Like most Tipp football supporters, I am in the south of the county.  It won't take anything like 4 hours, but it is about 120 miles to Longford.  I don't know about Athlone, as there would be better roads going by Portlaoise and Tullamore. Thanks for the info. BTW congrats on Down's win in the Under 21 to-night.  Tipp should have been in the semi finals as well, but that's the way it goes.
Post by: Lazer on April 16, 2009, 08:57:58 AM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on April 15, 2009, 04:46:50 PM
Onlooker, depending on what part of Tipp you are in I reckon it should be no more than a 2 hour journey. You should head for Athlone then N55/N4 to Longford. You could do it in 4 hours on a bike.  ;)

RAC figures
From TIPPERARY
To Longford
Total Distance: 177.44 mile(s), about 3 hour(s) 59 minute(s)

Although the way they suggest does seem a bit dubious - via Dublin

Post by: Trevor Hill on April 16, 2009, 01:05:51 PM
http://www.hoganstand.com/down/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=110157

Down manager Ross Carr has described the decision to fix his side's NFL Division 3 final against Tipperary for Pearse Park in Longford on Saturday week as "scandalous".

Carr believes it would have made far more sense to play the final as part of a triple-header with the Division 1 and 2 finals in Croke Park the following day.

"Is the prize of gaining promotion to be sent to Longford on a Saturday night? It is absolutely scandalous," he blasted.

"Don't get me wrong, we are delighted to be in the final and it would be far worse if we were not travelling. But, it seems the powers that be do not take other people's considerations into account when making these decisions.

"We are now facing a 12-hour day and by the time there's a presentation after the match and you have a meal somewhere, you're not home until 12 or one o'clock in the morning.

"In the Division 1, 2 and 3 finals, you have three Munster teams facing three Ulster teams. In many respects, Tipperary are the fairytale story of the whole league campaign, gaining promotion for the second year running and I'm sure their footballers would have loved the opportunity to play in Croke Park as much as ourselves.

"We thought they might have been able to do something, but it hasn't worked out this time."
Post by: cornafean on April 16, 2009, 01:08:54 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on April 16, 2009, 01:05:51 PM
"Is the prize of gaining promotion to be sent to Longford on a Saturday night?

Post by: Onlooker on April 16, 2009, 02:36:09 PM
Ross Carr is 100% correct in what he says on Hogan Stand.  It would be great for the Tipperary footballers to play in Croke Park and I know that there would be far more supporters from both Tipp and Down in Croke Park than there would be in Longford.  Is it too late for common sense to prevail.  Hopefully, some one in Croke Park will listen to what the Down manager is saying.  Well done Ross.
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 16, 2009, 02:55:51 PM
Quote from: Lazer on April 15, 2009, 12:43:48 PM

Or in reality - it seems to be just the supporters of Sligo

Travel time (From RAC)

To Lonford:
Sligo - 1 1/2 hours
Tipperary - 4hrs
Antrim - 4 hrs
Newry, Down - 2 1/2 hrs
Belfast (Antrim/Down) -3 1/2 hrs

To Dublin
Sligo - 4hrs
Tipperary - 2 1/2hrs
Antrim - 2 1/2hrs
Newry,Down - 1hr
Belfast (antrim/Down) - 2hrs

And I'm sure there is other suitable locations other than Dublin, just using it as an example - Longford is not the obvious choice for anyone other than sligo!

It's only an hour for me to Longford, half that to Carrick and the other half to Longford. About 45 mins for those close to Boyle, so it's a convenient journey for us, no harm having been playing in Belfast, Ruislip, Aughrim and some spot in the arse-end of West Clare during the league.

On AA's site, it gives the following:

To Longford:
Cahir, Co Tipp - 2 hrs 52 mins (i.e. south Tipp)
Newry - 2 hrs 18 mins
Belfast - 2 hrs 52 mins
Sligo town - 1 hr 21 mins

To Parnell Park:
Cahir - 2 hrs 33 mins
Newry - 1 hr 10 mins
Belfast - 1 hr 58 mins
Sligo - 2 hr 57 mins (and that could be right, no way is it 4 hrs)

BTW it's nice to be able to post in the Div 3 thread, will be able to do so more often next year too.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 16, 2009, 09:38:01 PM
Was at pearse park this year. Its an ok ground but on the terrace opposite the stand you can't see the sideline on the near side which is pretty bad design.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 16, 2009, 09:41:39 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 16, 2009, 09:38:01 PM
Was at pearse park this year. Its an ok ground but on the terrace opposite the stand you can't see the sideline on the near side which is pretty bad design.

That's cause you were drunk. :D

I don't mind Pearse Park. I think it's a nice ground.
Title: Re: NFL DIV3 FINAL
Post by: Trevor Hill on April 24, 2009, 06:39:29 PM
Promotion is already in the bag but defeat by Tipperary in Saturday's Allianz NFL Division 3 would not augur well for Down's Championship chances.

Anything other than promotion would have been dismal for Ross Carr's side and their form was mixed enough given defeats by Cavan and Limerick.

The Mourne County did defeat Tipperary 0-18 to 1-9 in their Division 3 league opener in February.

Down should again win with something to spare in Longford (1830 BST).

Despite that result on 1 February, Tipperary boss John Evans says that his team will have no fears at Pearse Park.

After that reverse, his teams produced five straight wins to claim a shock promotion and a shadow side's defeat in their final game against Longford didn't matter - as Division 2 football had already been guaranteed.

Evans has recalled all his main men for Saturday's encounter with only four players remaining for the Longford reverse.

Goalkeeper Paul Fitzgerald returns along with Conor Morrissey, Ciaran McDonald, Brian Fox and Christy Aylward in defence.

George Hannigan and Brian Jones are back in midfield while attack changes see Sean Carey, Niall Fitzgerald, James Tierney and Barry Grogan making their return.

Ross Carr may also be tempted to make changes to his line-up with Dan Gordan available again after being out for a couple of months because of injury.

However, Peter Fitzpatrick has been in excellent midfield form for both the seniors and under-21s and could be retained at centrefield alongside Stephen Kearney.

Daniel Hughes was Down's star attack against Roscommon as he hit four points from play while Paul McComiskey is also looking the part in the Down attack after being out of the equation for some time because of a serious back injury.

Overall, the Down attack has the look of a very formidable unit although Benny Coulter has not been quite at his brilliant best during the current league.

Down should get the job done on Sunday and anything other than a comprehensive victory will suggest that the Mournemen may again struggle to compete in the business end of the championship.

Tipperary: P Fitzgerald, C Morrissey, C McDonald, A Morrissey, B Fox, H Coghlan, C Aylward, G Hannigan, B Jones, S Carey, N Fitzgerald, B Mulvihill, J Tierney, B Coen, B Grogan. Subs: M O'Donnell, C Higgins, E Hanrahan, D O'Brien, R Costigan, K Mulryan, J Cagney, M Phelan, I Barnes.

Down: (tba)

Post by: Mourne Rover on April 24, 2009, 11:17:44 PM
Hoganstand.com says Down have two changes - Peter Turley and Jamie O'Reilly in and Dee Rafferty and Brendan McArdle out. Turley is named at CHB, with Garvey at full back, but they will probably switch at some stage. Benny starts, despite the rumours. It looks a decent enough side, although Dan and Ambrose will hopefully get a run as well

Post by: Trevor Hill on April 25, 2009, 09:54:59 AM
I am surprised that Ross is using the U21s, they have a much more important game coming up. At the end of the day this is a meaningless game, no one really cares if we win or not, promotion was the main aim. The U21 AIF and the preliminary round against Fermanagh are much more important to our season.
Garvey had a good game last day out when he was switched to full back, O`Reilly scored 3 fantastic points last week at the same venue for the U21s. No Paul Murphy  ???
Title: Re: NFL DIV3 FINAL
Post by: cavan4ever on April 25, 2009, 10:16:38 AM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on April 24, 2009, 06:39:29 PM
Promotion is already in the bag but defeat by Tipperary in Saturday's Allianz NFL Division 3 would not augur well for Down's Championship chances.

Anything other than promotion would have been dismal for Ross Carr's side and their form was mixed enough given defeats by Cavan and Limerick.

The Mourne County did defeat Tipperary 0-18 to 1-9 in their Division 3 league opener in February.

Down should again win with something to spare in Longford (1830 BST).

Despite that result on 1 February, Tipperary boss John Evans says that his team will have no fears at Pearse Park.

After that reverse, his teams produced five straight wins to claim a shock promotion and a shadow side's defeat in their final game against Longford didn't matter - as Division 2 football had already been guaranteed.

Evans has recalled all his main men for Saturday's encounter with only four players remaining for the Longford reverse.

Goalkeeper Paul Fitzgerald returns along with Conor Morrissey, Ciaran McDonald, Brian Fox and Christy Aylward in defence.

George Hannigan and Brian Jones are back in midfield while attack changes see Sean Carey, Niall Fitzgerald, James Tierney and Barry Grogan making their return.

Ross Carr may also be tempted to make changes to his line-up with Dan Gordan available again after being out for a couple of months because of injury.

However, Peter Fitzpatrick has been in excellent midfield form for both the seniors and under-21s and could be retained at centrefield alongside Stephen Kearney.

Daniel Hughes was Down's star attack against Roscommon as he hit four points from play while Paul McComiskey is also looking the part in the Down attack after being out of the equation for some time because of a serious back injury.

Overall, the Down attack has the look of a very formidable unit although Benny Coulter has not been quite at his brilliant best during the current league.

Down should get the job done on Sunday and anything other than a comprehensive victory will suggest that the Mournemen may again struggle to compete in the business end of the championship.

I dont think whoever wrote this piece has given enough respect to how far Tipp have come this year.
Post by: Louth Exile on April 25, 2009, 12:35:12 PM
C4E..... Have you heard the word?
Post by: cavan4ever on April 25, 2009, 02:58:58 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on April 25, 2009, 12:35:12 PM
C4E..... Have you heard the word?

Bird is the work  :D
Post by: Mourne Rover on April 25, 2009, 06:32:16 PM
Benny is out for Down, as are all the u21s. Dan starts, McArdle, Sexton and Cathal Magee in as wel.
Post by: downman on April 25, 2009, 06:35:39 PM
young down team
Post by: downgirl on April 25, 2009, 06:41:19 PM
Why is Benny out?
Post by: Mourne Rover on April 25, 2009, 07:21:40 PM
Benny went off injured in a club game a week ago. McAllister is in for McVeigh in goals, and has done well so far. However, it has been a dodgy enough performance from Down so far and we are lucky to be level at the break. If they had got a goal rather than a point from their penalty, we would be in trouble. Howard was caught the wrong side of a bigger opponent, although he has been otherwise good and the foul looked just outside the box.

Turley has been our best defender, and gives us a physical presence we need, but Rooney and Carr have been ordinary at wing half. Dan is playing his way back to match fitness slowly, but Kearney, after a decent league, has been disappointing.

Our best player has been Murtagh, who had been in mixed form over recent months but really looks the part today and took his goal cleverly. Hughes has won every ball down his wing without scoring,and the rest of the forwards are tackling well but not looking dangerous. Hopefully Ambrose will get a run in the second half, but we are struggling in a number of areas.
Post by: milltown row on April 25, 2009, 07:27:14 PM
halftime commentry was brutal, your man couldn't stay still and (although my Irish is shite) his Irish is shite

Down look tired now. only one winner here
Post by: Mourne Rover on April 25, 2009, 08:09:55 PM
ETwas always a possibility, although, despite an ordinary enough performance, we should have won it in normal time. When we got level, we managed to miss about five simple chances in a row. It was a decent recovery, after we looked a beaten team in the third quarter, but they had an easy chance with the last kick of the match and misplaced a pass. We finished the stronger side, but it is anyone's game in extra time.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 25, 2009, 08:43:32 PM
Congratulations to Tipp. I had a couple of quid on Down, but it's good to see Tipp prove everyone wrong this year. Good luck to them in the Championship.
Post by: Schkite on April 25, 2009, 08:47:01 PM
Well done to Tipp, great to see them win it and continue their great win. A very good chance of a Munster final this year the way they're playing. Like yourself Maguire I lost a bit of money on it too!

After all the talk of how many Ulster league winners there'd be, now a good possibility of none!  :-\
Post by: INDIANA on April 25, 2009, 08:59:41 PM
hard to know how so many good underage players go so bad in down. Thesis material there.
Post by: Mourne Rover on April 25, 2009, 10:11:18 PM
There's not much wrong with our underage players, as they are in the AI u21 final and correctly they were all left out today. McComiskey and Fitzpatrick would have made a difference today, and we are never the same team without Benny.  

However, the best side won, and, apart from the final quarter of normal time, when we took over and should have pulled away, we were always struggling with Tipp's pace and direct style.

A reality check will do us no harm going into the championship, as our league form had been mixed and a division three trophy might pursuaded us that we are further along the line than is actually the case.

Perhaps the most disappointing aspect today was that Ambrose was not even fit for a ten-minute run, meaning that he is unlikely to feature against Fermanagh.

McAllister was good under the dropping ball but a horrendous short pass cost us a point and effectively the game in the first period of extra time. McGovern was reasonable, Garvey is stronger going foward than defensively and got a fine point in ET, while Howard started well but faded like a number of others.

Carr got a wonder point near the end, and put over some decent frees, but probably had his worst ever game for Down. He constantly gave the ball away or hit poor passes. Turley was taken off after a single handling error, probably prematurely, and Rooney was ordinary.

Dan took a couple of fantastic catches, as well as two fine points, and can only improve with match practice, but Kearney, after an encouraging leage, looked limited.

Sexton also needed a game, but was poor, and both Boyle and McArdle looked good early on but declined sharply. Murtagh had a fine first half but started running into blind alleys after the break and had a couple of dreadful misses from close in. Hughes kept trying, even when things were not working for him, and got a brilliant solo point but had a fairly frustrating eveing. Magee set up the goal, suffered from poor service and generally did OK.

Ireland worked very hard when he came on, and Cole steadied us at the back but gave the ball away cheaply going forward. Duffin got stuck in, but seemed to be responsible for possibly the worst pass of the night across his own 20m line. It was good to see  Murphy back, although he probably should have won the game late on when he shot wide and had a man inside him.

All in all, the match confirmed that we are still a work in progress. Unforced errors were a major concern throughout, and Fermanagh will have seen very little to worry them. It would be very hard to predict our starting 15 in Enniskillen, and at least four u21s have a prospect of making it.
Post by: INDIANA on April 25, 2009, 10:21:44 PM
Juts an observation mate- None of your players seem to fufill their potential at senior level. Has to be a reason for it. Based on that You'll struggle to make the last 16. Tipp are a better outfit than they are given credit for but at the same time -you would have expected with down's track record they would be beating them.
Post by: Throw ball on April 25, 2009, 10:25:33 PM
Never got to see much of match but would like to say well done to Tipp. Read an article about their manager in Tribune a week or two ago. He seems quite a character but is doing a good job. Would also like to say that when Daniel Hughes scored that great solo point it was good to see him go round a defender who a left the arm in and not grap the arm and try and win a free. Lets hope we see more like this from other forwards in the summer!
Post by: mournerambler on April 25, 2009, 10:36:35 PM
Does anyone know what the attendance was for the game? I'd say there wasn't 1000 people at it due to those gobsh_tes in Croke Park deciding to play it in Longford.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 25, 2009, 11:05:18 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on April 25, 2009, 10:36:35 PM
Does anyone know what the attendance was for the game? I'd say there wasn't 1000 people at it due to those gobsh_tes in Croke Park deciding to play it in Longford.
It looked brutal on the TV. Even worse once the Sligo fans left. At the end of the second game there was probably only about 500 there. Should have been in Dublin.
Post by: mountainboii on April 25, 2009, 11:31:44 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 25, 2009, 10:21:44 PM
Juts an observation mate- None of your players seem to fufill their potential at senior level. Has to be a reason for it. Based on that You'll struggle to make the last 16. Tipp are a better outfit than they are given credit for but at the same time -you would have expected with down's track record they would be beating them.

Have they really had that many great underage teams?

The 1999 minor team provided a lot of players but Down weren't in great shape at the start of the decade so this team was never going to be able to solve all their problems. The 2005 minor team are only beginning to make their mark at senior level, and unfortunately for Down the guy that made that team special no longer plays gaelic football.

They've won a few Ulster U21s in the last 3 or 4 years, maybe these lads will come good over the next year or two  :-\ Hopefully not  :P
Post by: mournerambler on April 25, 2009, 11:35:27 PM
And what do you have to shout & roar about, given the fact that your an Armagh supporter?
Post by: INDIANA on April 25, 2009, 11:48:09 PM
They have AFS they lost to galway in an u21 all-ireland final in 2004/2005? they own the minor all-ireland in 2005 they've won the last 2 u21 ulster titles and are in an all-ireland u21 final this year- what the hell happens to them that they tend to underperform so badly at senior level. They'd do worse than get the likes of mickey linden involved at senior level.
Post by: mountainboii on April 25, 2009, 11:49:43 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on April 25, 2009, 11:35:27 PM
And what do you have to shout & roar about, given the fact that your an Armagh supporter?

Very sensitive, aren't we?  ::)

In the absence of any Down supporter making a contribution, I was merely trying to answer INDIANA's question. If you actually read what I posted you'd see my main point is that much of Down's underage success has come in the last 3 or 4 years and that its maybe a year or two too early to be expecting many off these teams to be making waves at senior level. What's wrong with that?
Post by: mournerambler on April 25, 2009, 11:51:31 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 25, 2009, 11:48:09 PM
They have AFS they lost to galway in an u21 all-ireland final in 2004/2005? they own the minor all-ireland in 2005 they've won the last 2 u21 ulster titles and are in an all-ireland u21 final this year- what the hell happens to them that they tend to underperform so badly at senior level. They'd do worse than get the likes of mickey linden involved at senior level.
In fairness INDIANA I'd say Micky is a wee bit over the hill ;D
Post by: mountainboii on April 25, 2009, 11:55:16 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on April 25, 2009, 11:48:09 PM

They probably would've expected to get more from the 2005 U21 team, can't really explain that. But most of the lads from their 2005 minor team/ 2008 and 2009 U21 teams would only be 21-22 at the most so maybe its a year or two too early to write them off. I expect lads like Peter Fitzpatrick and Paul McComiskey to be big players for them for the next decade.
Post by: mournerambler on April 25, 2009, 11:58:41 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 25, 2009, 11:49:43 PM

In the absence of any Down supporter making a contribution, I was merely trying to answer INDIANA's question. If you actually read what I posted you'd see my main point is that much of Down's underage success has come in the last 3 or 4 years and that its maybe a year or two too early to be expecting many off these teams to be making waves at senior level. What's wrong with that?
Just a few facts AFS;
All-Ireland Minor titles in 1977, 1987, 1999, 2005
All-Ireland U21 title in 1979
Maybe you would be best saving your expert analysis for your own County's imminent demise :D
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 26, 2009, 12:02:11 AM
Quote from: mournerambler on April 25, 2009, 11:58:41 PM

Just a few facts AFS;
Maybe you would be best saving your expert analysis for your own County's imminent demise :D

First time I heard a Down man tell me about Armagh's imminent demise was in July 2002.  :)

Also think that the 1977 and 1979 lads will struggle to make an impact this year.
Post by: mournerambler on April 26, 2009, 12:12:10 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 26, 2009, 12:02:11 AM

Just a few facts AFS;

First time I heard a Down man tell me about Armagh's imminent demise was in July 2002.  :)

Also think that the 1977 and 1979 lads will struggle to make an impact this year.
I was only stating fact & that AFS' post about most of our underage success coming in the last 3-4 years wasn't true, not my problem if your fellow County man loses track of Down's All-Ireland successes!
Post by: mountainboii on April 26, 2009, 12:17:31 AM

Just a few facts AFS;

My thoughts exactly.  :D ::)

Jeez, I shouldn't have opened my mouth. I genuinely didn't think I was being critical of Down at all. If anything, I felt I was defending them against the criticism that their players are not fulfilling their potential, by highlighting the fact that many are still too young to be written off.
Post by: mountainboii on April 26, 2009, 12:21:22 AM
Quote from: mournerambler on April 26, 2009, 12:12:10 AM

Just a few facts AFS;

I was only stating fact & that AFS' post about most of our underage success coming in the last 3-4 years wasn't true, not my problem if your fellow County man loses track of Down's All-Ireland successes!

Did you seriously not realise that we were on about recent successes? i.e. players and teams that are still relevant? I'm pretty sure INDIANA wasn't on about Down minor teams from 3 decades ago when he spoke about underage players not developing.
Post by: mournerambler on April 26, 2009, 12:27:10 AM
Quote from: AFS on April 26, 2009, 12:21:22 AM
Quote from: mournerambler on April 26, 2009, 12:12:10 AM

Just a few facts AFS;

Did you seriously not realise that we were on about recent successes? i.e. players and teams that are still relevant? I'm pretty sure INDIANA wasn't on about Down minor teams from 3 decades ago when he spoke about underage players not developing.
Maybe it's a Down thing but we only class winning an All-Ireland as success, the next time your shopping in Newry just check your change in case you get an Ulster championship medal by mistake ;)
Post by: Trevor Hill on April 26, 2009, 12:30:14 AM
Firstly congratulations to Tipperary, who deserved to win this evening, they played the better, more direct football and could and maybe should have won by more.

When are we ever going to learn how to defend??? FFS its not rocket science. We conceded two scores because we played the ball across or own goal mouth, but in a way it would be simply to easy to blame the defence, there was no one showing for the ball. Down at times were playing with a 12 and 13 man defence. That is alright when you have men who can actually defend, but as has been seen time and again, we simply cannot defend. We have to depend on our forwards outscoring the other team. They were simply unable to do that today.
Other than the last 15 minutes of normal time Down were very poor. Midfield were being cleaned out, the defence was its usual porous self. Tipperary were able to walk through the middle unchallenged and take their scores all too easily at times, where as Down seemed to labour at times to get a score.
Down still don't seem to have a game plan. The give it to Benny rule was unenforceable today and we missed the movement of McComiskey up front. Murtagh was his usual exasperating self, yes he got a couple of scores including the goal, but he wasted too many opportunities. We seem to play a style of football that has no direction and there is no direction coming from the line, maybe we should ask for the goalposts to be put along the sideline, we`d be All Ireland champions every year.
It was a sharp contrast to last Saturday, when a Down team played open, direct football and played as a unit. The U21s won most of the breaks around the middle of the park last week, whereas no one seemed to want to do the dirty work tonight and get stuck in.

But lets give Tipp a bit of credit, written off as no hoper's at the start of the league, they have shocked everyone but themselves. Well done and good luck in the championship.

Will the GAA ever learn that playing games like this in the arse hole of nowhere serves no real purpose. They are losing out on gate receipts as no one wants to travel to the likes of Longford on a Saturday evening. The game should have been played in Dublin, be that Parnell Park or where ever, or if that was not viable then they should have tossed a coin and given the winner a home draw. The fans of the 4 competing counties voted with their feet this evening and stayed away. When are the GAA going to realise that they are doing no one any favours.