GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Hardy on January 12, 2009, 10:14:01 AM

Title: Memorable acts of sportsmanship in GAA games
Post by: Hardy on January 12, 2009, 10:14:01 AM
There was a bloke on the wireless the other morning flogging his book on the Tubridy "show". The book is about famous acts of sportsmanship. Tubridy had ould "Danger Here" Hamilton on as well to talk about it.

They talked about things like Paul McGinley giving an American lad a 15-foot putt in the Ryder cup because if he missed it that would be the one that would lose the cup and this was only a young lad and it wouldn't be right. (Except McGinley said later that wasn't the reason he did it at all). And some soccer team letting the other side score a goal in a refixed match because the first match had been abandoned at 1-0. Stuff like that..

They were on for 15 or twenty minutes and not once were GAA sports mentioned. I was driving along and I started to give out at the radio, saying "why didn't yiz mention ... ehhhh ... what about ..."  But I couldn't think of one famous act of sportsmanship in the GAA.

We can all remember plenty of examples of the opposite, like Mikey Sheehy making a fool out of poor ould Paddy Cullen and Darby pushing Tommy Doyle in the back (only jokin Biffs – it was a gust of wind) and Gerry McEntee saying to Chartlie Redmond "jayz Charlie, they're not lettin YOU take it, are they?" and of course, worst of all, the serial swan diving and face holding and rolling around that goes on these days.

But the nearest I can come to a memorable act of sportsmanship (and it's not very famous) is Oisín asking the referee to go easy on some player he was about to book for fouling him last year in the club championship. You'll see that a fair bit OK.

Can anyone think of better ones?
Title: Re: Memorable acts of sportsmanship in GAA games
Post by: nrico2006 on January 12, 2009, 10:19:24 AM
That was Oisin when that whinge CJ McGourty tried to pole axe Oisin out the wing in the Ulster Club Final.
Post by: Canalman on January 12, 2009, 10:24:32 AM
No doubt the "Guard of Honour" given by the Offaly team to Antrim  in 1989 will get a mention.
Post by: Hardy on January 12, 2009, 10:30:06 AM
Quote from: Canalman on January 12, 2009, 10:24:32 AM
No doubt the "Guard of Honour" given by the Offaly team to Antrim  in 1989 will get a mention.

Funny one that. Well intentioned, of course, but could easily be seen as a bit patronising. Would they have done it for Clare?

I remembered one at last and just looked it up there - Bobby Rackard and Nick O'Donnell carried Christy Ring off shoulder high after Wexford beat Cork in the 1956 AIF.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 12, 2009, 10:32:48 AM
Tommy Carr telling Maurice which way the wind was blowing in Thurles ;)
Post by: ONeill on January 12, 2009, 10:39:27 AM
Paul Galvin for preventing a fatal wasp sting on Russell.
Post by: under the bar on January 12, 2009, 10:42:24 AM
Didn't Westmeath offer Louth(?) a replay in the Championship on the 1990's after TV replays showed that the winning point was in fact a wide?
Post by: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 10:47:10 AM

What was that?
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 12, 2009, 10:51:53 AM
Sean Cavanagh helping Francie put his dislocated shoulder back in place.
Post by: Hardy on January 12, 2009, 10:54:00 AM
Quote from: under the bar on January 12, 2009, 10:42:24 AM
Didn't Westmeath offer Louth(?) a replay in the Championship on the 1990's after TV replays showed that the winning point was in fact a wide?

Don't remember that one, but Laois gave Carlow a replay in 1995 after they had "won" by a point that was shown to be wide.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 10:55:13 AM
Mickey Harte forgiving the ignorance of the Tyrone fans when they were calling for him to quit after the Down game.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 12, 2009, 11:16:09 AM
Sean Boylan taking control of the situation when a Longford player broke his leg in a Longford v Meath league match in the mid 90s stands out in my mind
Post by: Orior on January 12, 2009, 11:24:30 AM
Cork hurling B team giving the Cork hurling A team an extra week aff.

Emmm, no make that a couple of weeks.
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 12, 2009, 12:13:29 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 12, 2009, 10:30:06 AM

Funny one that. Well intentioned, of course, but could easily be seen as a bit patronising. Would they have done it for Clare?

I remembered one at last and just looked it up there - Bobby Rackard and Nick O'Donnell carried Christy Ring off shoulder high after Wexford beat Cork in the 1956 AIF.

I'm told their minor footballers did the same after Derry beat them in the '89 All-Ireland final.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 12, 2009, 12:18:19 PM
I saw Brian McGuigan in a championship club game, about 5 yaers ago,  go over and see if his marker, who was lying on the ground, was okay while paly was going on. He could have taken advantage of the situation but didn't. Some would think he was niave to do that but I was very impressed.  Sadly he hasn't been shown the same respect in club games but that's another story...
Post by: maddog on January 12, 2009, 12:21:37 PM
Paul Donnelly making sure that James McCartan got a nice new pair of boots, its the thought that counts.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 12:29:39 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 12, 2009, 12:13:29 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 12, 2009, 10:30:06 AM

I'm told their minor footballers did the same after Derry beat them in the '89 All-Ireland final.

What is this lads?
Post by: Homer on January 12, 2009, 12:34:42 PM
Offaly provided a guard of honour for the triumphant Antrim team after their shock defeat to them in an All-Ireland Hurling semi-final.
Post by: Onion Bag on January 12, 2009, 12:46:04 PM
Whats that Heffo? never heard anything about this
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 12, 2009, 12:46:53 PM
The two Wexford players carrying Christy Ring shoulder high after his last All Ireland final...  can't imagine it happening these days somehow...
Post by: heffo on January 12, 2009, 12:48:08 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on January 12, 2009, 12:46:04 PM
Whats that Heffo? never heard anything about this

It does what it says on the tin...
Post by: Tubberman on January 12, 2009, 12:49:48 PM
When Dermot Earley played his last match for Roscommon against Mayo in the Connacht championship, the Mayo players lifted Earley onto their shoulders and carried him off the field. A lovely tribute to a great player, and a great display of mutual respect and sportsmanship.
I'm not sure you'd see it happen today....
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 12, 2009, 12:51:40 PM
Anyway the best I ever heard was after the 1985 Connacht final between Mayo and Roscommon in Hyde Park. Roscommon great Dermot Earley had intimated that he would retire after that year's championship and Mayo duly won the title. In what was an apparently spontanious gesture, a group of Mayo players sought out Earley and chaired him around the field. A fitting gesture to a legend of the game.

Post by: ziggysego on January 12, 2009, 01:19:01 PM
Mayo.

After Tyrone first NFL game after Cormac's death, Mayo were outstanding.
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 12, 2009, 01:26:06 PM
Tyrone yesterday.

They declined a guard of honour from the Down squad, admittedly without actually telling anyone; realising possibly that three is indeed less than five.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 12, 2009, 01:38:32 PM
Mick Holden running the length of the pitch to drag a cheating, diving Barney Rock off the ground in 1985 (i think)!! And theres me thinking feigning injury started with tyrone in 2003!!!!  ::)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 12, 2009, 01:46:38 PM
I'm from Mayo and I've heard the Alan Brogan story a couple of times. Can't confirm it obviously.

Something that I think is very sporting about the GAA is on the occasions where a losing manager and/or captain goes into the winning dressing room to congratulate them and wish them well. SOmetimes its lads just going through the motions but sometimes its incredibly sincere and gracious
Post by: his holiness nb on January 12, 2009, 01:52:01 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 12, 2009, 01:46:38 PM
Something that I think is very sporting about the GAA is on the occasions where a losing manager and/or captain goes into the winning dressing room to congratulate them and wish them well.

Would fully agree, though I'm sure it happens in other sports too.

Takes a lot for a manager who has just been knocked from the championship they have trained all year for, and who is obviously sick, to suck it up and wish the opposition well.

Was it Sean Boylan who was shown doing this in the Dubs dressing room after the game in 2005? It was on that documentary following the Dubs for the season, the one with the ice baths etc.

Was impressed by Boylan, full of grace in defeat.
Post by: ludermor on January 12, 2009, 02:03:08 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 12, 2009, 01:19:01 PM
Mayo.

Mayo for not bothering to show up in the last few all ireland finals
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 12, 2009, 02:07:09 PM
Actually Benny Harp-Mick Holden didn't run 'the length of the field' as Barney Rock was away up field in his back line... still it was a good moment.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 12, 2009, 02:07:31 PM
Laois....

For letting Westmeath and Longford win their only Leinster Senior Football winners medals
Post by: BennyHarp on January 12, 2009, 02:12:00 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 12, 2009, 02:07:09 PM
Actually Benny Harp-Mick Holden didn't run 'the length of the field' as Barney Rock was away up field in his back line... still it was a good moment.

I stand corrected!  :-[
Post by: thebandit on January 12, 2009, 02:29:52 PM
Armagh players providing a guard of honour at Cormac McAnallen's funeral.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 12, 2009, 02:41:05 PM
QuoteFor letting Westmeath and Longford win their only Leinster Senior Football winners medals

Post by: donelli on January 12, 2009, 02:44:37 PM
Clare for allowing offaly get a replay in the AI semi in '97.

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 12, 2009, 03:01:52 PM
Micky Harte for ensuring that his side provided the customary guard of honour for the All Ireland champions in Omagh in 2003.
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 12, 2009, 03:13:19 PM
Something in the back of my mind about Ryan McMenamin and Beano McDonald.
Post by: bigfrank on January 12, 2009, 03:15:33 PM
Ricey stopped playin and called for immediate help after they collided 2gether in a league final i think it was a few years ago,beano ended up with a broken leg,very serious at the time!
Post by: nrico2006 on January 12, 2009, 03:17:59 PM
Was that not the Qualifiers in 2004 in Croker? 
Post by: Minder on January 12, 2009, 03:21:32 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on January 12, 2009, 03:15:33 PM
Ricey stopped playin and called for immediate help after they collided 2gether in a league final i think it was a few years ago,beano ended up with a broken leg,very serious at the time!

Not trying to be funny but would that not be human nature to ask for assistance when someone is seriously injured?
Post by: bigfrank on January 12, 2009, 03:23:08 PM
all ireland qualifier is right,my mistake! :P
Post by: bigfrank on January 12, 2009, 03:24:06 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 12, 2009, 03:21:32 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on January 12, 2009, 03:15:33 PM

Not trying to be funny but would that not be human nature to ask for assistance when someone is seriously injured?

I was just answering saffrons question!!! >:( >:(
Post by: supersarsfields on January 12, 2009, 03:35:53 PM
I could be wrong but I think Ricey called out at the hospital at the time aswell. But again i'm not 100% on it.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 12, 2009, 03:41:06 PM
Mayo.

I remember at the time there was a mass in Ballintubber Abbey the night before the game. Both Tyrone and Mayo Senior panels were there. Mickey Harte spoke at the alter and recited a poem. Cormac has first cousins and family in the area. A lot from home was at the funeral in the house. There is a link and a good relationship there.

(BTW there is a function coming up to raise money for defibrillators and the Cormac McAnallen trust... I will post details when they are finalised)
Post by: AbbeySider on January 12, 2009, 03:46:36 PM
Quote from: ludermor on January 12, 2009, 02:03:08 PM
Mayo.

Mayo for not bothering to show up in the last few all ireland finals

ludermor, that is an ironic statement considering the name of the thread.
Not exactly sportsmanlike
Post by: Canalman on January 12, 2009, 04:01:58 PM
On a personal level ,our "archrivals" (whom we beat in theIFC  semi final) won the IFL final to go senior and our IFC final was on immediately afterwards in Parnell Park. On our way out onto the pitch after their presentation ,they to a man wished us luck in the final. Only a small thing you might say but to this day I still have the height of regard for that club.
Often wonder whether we would have done the same if roles were reversed.

From a Dublin perspective I think that by and large we are not the worst losers (well used to it now I suppose) and cannot really say bar one exception that I have seen teams that have beaten us really rub it in.

The exception was the 2007 semi final vs Mayo when the Mayo fans imo were obnoxious in victory......especially two twats who were mouthing off in the Palace Bar after the game. Very surprised as the Mayo lads in our club are the soundest lads around.

Can't wait to meet them again in the Championship.Would be even sweeter to beat them with a Fine Gaeler in charge.

In particular I remember the Derry team of 1993 being very gracious in victory after the AISF.

Post by: Canalman on January 12, 2009, 04:03:11 PM
Sorry it was the 2006 semi final.
Post by: Hardy on January 12, 2009, 04:06:38 PM
There's way too much of that kind of shite on here - posting unsubstantiated rumours. People should remember it's other people's reputations they're messing with.
Post by: cornafean on January 12, 2009, 04:10:57 PM
Derry - for not whinging about Raymond Cunningham's "point that wasn't" for Cavan in the 1997 Ulster Final

Stephen O'Neill - for declining an All Ireland medal this year.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 04:13:50 PM
Quote from: cornafean on January 12, 2009, 04:10:57 PM
Derry - for not whinging about Raymond Cunningham's "point that wasn't" for Cavan in the 1997 Ulster Final

Still don't agree with that. He just caused more headlines instead of just taking it.  And I do realise he isn't an attention seeker and very civil and humble but to this day I still don't understand why he didn't just take it and say nothing. Stick it in a drawer.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 12, 2009, 04:27:27 PM
Tyrone in 1995 allowing Dublin to keep their undeserved All-Ireland, when they were at rights to at very least have the game replayed given that Charlie Redmond refused to lleave the field of play when sent off, which the rules state should result in the referee awarding the game to the other team.
Post by: supersarsfields on January 12, 2009, 04:47:04 PM
Opps FB. Got myself all confused. Had the AI final in my head for some reason and was looking at pics of it when i noticed the Gormley one. And I'm just thinking, that Dublin game was in a while downpour so I'd assume Gormley had gloves on so pics won't be much use.
But I still stand by the fact that I think the claim should be removed.
Post by: Homer on January 12, 2009, 04:59:57 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 04:13:50 PM
Quote from: cornafean on January 12, 2009, 04:10:57 PM

Still don't agree with that. He just caused more headlines instead of just taking it.  And I do realise he isn't an attention seeker and very civil and humble but to this day I still don't understand why he didn't just take it and say nothing. Stick it in a drawer.

I had assumed that in passing over the medal that one of his (would be unfortunate) teammates would then get to collect it instead.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 05:01:06 PM
I don't think that's the case, Tyrone county board would have bought the extra medals needed. As far as I know nobody would have lost out if he had taken it.
Post by: Tim Buzaglo on January 12, 2009, 05:08:58 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on January 12, 2009, 04:27:27 PM
Tyrone in 1995 allowing Dublin to keep their undeserved All-Ireland, when they were at rights to at very least have the game replayed given that Charlie Redmond refused to lleave the field of play when sent off, which the rules state should result in the referee awarding the game to the other team.

Is there anything else that you'd like to congratulate you're own county on? ::)
Post by: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 05:24:35 PM
Quote from: Tim Buzaglo on January 12, 2009, 05:08:58 PM

Is there anything else that you'd like to congratulate you're own county on? ::)

Was thinking the same myself, gracious winners and gracious losers  ::)
Post by: bcarrier on January 12, 2009, 05:42:57 PM
Since this thread seems only to be about Tyrone we should not forget Kevin McCabe taking the point from the penalty in 86.
Post by: corn02 on January 12, 2009, 05:46:57 PM
Geezer staying out to watch Canavan lift Sam.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 05:53:00 PM
Heffo it couldn't possibly be true, now give them back their halos.
Post by: Gnevin on January 12, 2009, 05:59:25 PM
Getting back on point Sean Boylan congratulating the Dublin in 05 (I think) knowing that it was his last game too.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 12, 2009, 06:03:18 PM
When Micko's Kildare were beaten by the Dubs in, oh, 2001 or something in Micko's last expenses claim game for Kildare the Hill were slagging him.

All the same Micko went up to The Hill and waved and fair play to the Dubs they all cheered and applauded.

Pity the auld codger came back with Laois
Post by: muppet on January 12, 2009, 07:06:45 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on January 12, 2009, 07:00:12 PM
Would this stuff not fall under "unfounded allegations" and therefore not be allowed? Sure whats to stop me or anyone else creating a BS rumour about some player, then I can just say that I heard it from a "rock-solid source" and Bob's your Uncle!

Actually we should try inventing a rumour about some one and seeing does it catch on.

I'll start: From the horses mouth I heard that Francie Bellew will be named as the next Dalai Lama.
Post by: Blue and Navy on January 12, 2009, 07:19:49 PM
I heard that as well and the Chinese authorities are getting very worried about Francie's possible strong arm tactics.
Post by: ziggysego on January 12, 2009, 07:37:33 PM
Reminds me of the time they accused Gormley lording it over Gavlin at the end of the All-Ireland Final. Someone was able to source a series of photos which showed that the paper only chose the one to make Gormley look bad.
Post by: RMDrive on January 12, 2009, 07:37:43 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 12, 2009, 07:06:45 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on January 12, 2009, 07:00:12 PM
Would this stuff not fall under "unfounded allegations" and therefore not be allowed? Sure whats to stop me or anyone else creating a BS rumour about some player, then I can just say that I heard it from a "rock-solid source" and Bob's your Uncle!

Actually we should try inventing a rumour about some one and seeing does it catch on.

I'll start: From the horses mouth I heard that Francie Bellew will be named as the next Dali Lama.

Good stuff. Not only do you have the Francie one but you have also started one that horses can talk  ;D
Post by: Blue and Navy on January 12, 2009, 07:56:19 PM
Heard it was Shergar started the rumour.
Post by: orangeman on January 12, 2009, 08:09:49 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 06:36:17 PM
He may have showed it to him before putting his gloves on?

Orrrrrrr....

It may be total sh1te!

Pure dung.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 12, 2009, 08:22:03 PM
I'd say it's true.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 12, 2009, 08:44:34 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 05:24:35 PM
Quote from: Tim Buzaglo on January 12, 2009, 05:08:58 PM

Was thinking the same myself, gracious winners and gracious losers  ::)

Did you not know the World revolves around Tyrone.. ::)
Post by: Minder on January 12, 2009, 08:54:19 PM
Brian Dooher for getting the Westmeath player sent off after a "hefty swipe"

What? The thread is about sportsmanship, i thought it was about gamesmanship.

I apologise profusely.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 12, 2009, 09:44:36 PM
Maybe the title of this thread should be changed as it is certainly not about memorable sportsmanship now, well I suppose it is bad sportsmanship, maybe that does count.
Post by: AN other on January 12, 2009, 09:57:43 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 12, 2009, 09:42:29 PM
I don't believe Bannon deserves a lot of credit for what he said - all he said was he didn't want Moran to miss the Leinster final.

So what is sportsmanship exactly then? After nearly getting his head taken off, accidentally or otherwise, it was very decent and sporting of him to speak out in support of Colin Moran after the Sunday Game Tribunal hung him out to dry.
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on January 12, 2009, 10:28:38 PM
Lads, I've removed all posts about that allegation heffo made. Heffo, you've been around here long enough to know better. Any more of that and you're gone.

Also, I deleted posts made about a certain Dublin player as well. Screenexile, same applies to you. Please refresh your memory of Rule 2.

Cheers.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 12, 2009, 10:30:25 PM
Quote from: AN other on January 12, 2009, 09:57:43 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 12, 2009, 09:42:29 PM
I don't believe Bannon deserves a lot of credit for what he said - all he said was he didn't want Moran to miss the Leinster final.

So what is sportsmanship exactly then? After nearly getting his head taken off, accidentally or otherwise, it was very decent and sporting of him to speak out in support of Colin Moran after the Sunday Game Tribunal hung him out to dry.

Shane Sullivan did the same after Matty Forde danced at the crossroads on his head. It's almost the done thing to try and mitigate the penalty coming down the line at this stage. I think Pascal Kellaghan even did something similar for Rory O'Connell back in '04?
Post by: Puckoon on January 12, 2009, 10:34:14 PM
Didnt ricey help the gooch with a bit of stuck toilet paper so he could run a little easier?

Big Pascal tried to help the gooch get something out of his eye too and there was a big hullaballo about that one also.

People really should stop trying to help the gooch.

Im with Hardy - Ive seen very little sportsmanship on the Gaelic pitch.
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on January 12, 2009, 10:35:24 PM
guevara, please read my last post.
Post by: AN other on January 12, 2009, 10:42:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 12, 2009, 10:30:25 PM
I think Pascal Kellaghan even did something similar for Rory O'Connell back in '04?

He sent a letter to one of the committeeeeees as far as I can remember. I would consider all of those sporting gestures.
Post by: Puckoon on January 12, 2009, 10:43:47 PM
Big Joe hauling off Geezer in the clutch of the 2005 AISF so that Dooher could lead the boys out against Kerry and Peter could retire happily was a hell of a sporting gesture.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 12, 2009, 10:51:46 PM
Tyrone opting to take their all-ireland silverware on the scenic route through Monaghan, as opposed to the direct route through Armagh and avoid being accused of triumphalism.  A neighbourly gesture indeed.
Post by: Pangurban on January 13, 2009, 12:05:05 AM
Kerry forwards Chairing Down FB Leo Murphy at end of 1960 final
Post by: stephenite on January 13, 2009, 12:48:20 AM
Stevie McDonnell shaking hands with Cluxton after the goalie aimed a kick at him and was shown the red card
Post by: Tyrones own on January 13, 2009, 06:08:30 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on January 12, 2009, 10:51:46 PM
Tyrone opting to take their all-ireland silverware on the scenic route through Monaghan, as opposed to the direct route through Armagh and avoid being accused of triumphalism.  A neighbourly gesture indeed.

I think the certainty of sitting in a draft the rest of the way to Omagh might have had a say in that decision :D
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 08:19:20 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 12, 2009, 07:37:33 PM
Reminds me of the time they accused Gormley lording it over Gavlin at the end of the All-Ireland Final. Someone was able to source a series of photos which showed that the paper only chose the one to make Gormley look bad.

Is that the one on page 155 of A Season Of Sundays 2008?  Certainly doesn't make Gormley look the classiest of individuals.

In fact, here's a link to the photo in question.

http://www.sportsfile.com/id/321541/5000/ (http://www.sportsfile.com/id/321541/5000/)

Post by: SidelineKick on January 13, 2009, 08:22:47 AM

Ziggy the fact that it was one photo or 100 photos makes no difference.  You can see quite clearly what he is doing and I thought you of all people would condemn this type of behaviour.
Post by: Hardy on January 13, 2009, 08:44:38 AM
I would caution strongly against drawing definitive conclusions about the "class" of an individual or "what he is doing" from a still photo. It's often completely wrong. As I remember, but I could be wrong, the action footage of that incident shows it in a completely different light.

I remember seeing a still from the Meath-Mayo fight of 1996, shown on "Questions And Answers", that seemed to show Graham Geraghty poking his finger in the eye of a Mayo forward. 100 reasonable people out of 100 who saw that would conclude that's what he was doing and that it was a deliberate attempt to blind the man. Except it never happened. As the two players swung at each other, in one instant, the instant when the shutter clicked, Geraghty's finger was opposite the Mayo lad's eyeball. The camera DOES lie.

Anyway, I'm constantly amazed and pissed off at the obsession of a large number of GAA supporters with finding fault with players from opposing teams. The amount of people who scrutinise games for incidents of foul play and then make a cause celebre out of them is ridiculous. They delight in the negative and can't seem to derive any enjoyment from the good or the uplifting in the games. They're the same people who spend most of their time at games roaring abuse at the opposition. They seem to miss the whole point of sport. I hate the bastards, to be honest.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 13, 2009, 08:51:09 AM
I usually look for the faults within my own team before pointing any fingers at the opposition.

Obviously a still photo won't be able to show the full story, I just can't think of any other possibility of what he could have been doing except gloating.  I could be wrong, it is Saint Conor after all.
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 09:05:01 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 13, 2009, 08:44:38 AM
I would caution strongly against drawing definitive conclusions about the "class" of an individual or "what he is doing" from a still photo. It's often completely wrong. As I remember, but I could be wrong, the action footage of that incident shows it in a completely different light.

If that is referring to me, could you show where I have drawn any definitive conclusions about the player in question. This is what I said.

Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 08:19:20 AM
Certainly doesn't make Gormley look the classiest of individuals.

Fair comment, I feel, based on the photograph, which was originally introduced into the thread by ziggy.

Anyway, I'm constantly amazed and pissed off at the obsession of a large number of GAA supporters with finding fault with players from opposing teams. The amount of people who scrutinise games for incidents of foul play and then make a cause celebre out of them is ridiculous. They delight in the negative and can't seem to derive any enjoyment from the good or the uplifting in the games. They're the same people who spend most of their time at games roaring abuse at the opposition. They seem to miss the whole point of sport. I hate the b**tards, to be honest.

Like SidelineKick, I would try to look for faults in my own team before any finger pointing, but for every one of those b**tards to which you refer (and admittedly there are several on this board), there are those who can find no fault whatsoever in their own team and constantly defend the indefensible.

Whilst your use of cause celebre was impressive in the post about Kevin Foley, the overuse of the term could render its impact quite meaningless. I feel you are in danger of overuse.

I remember seeing a still from the Meath-Mayo fight of 1996, shown on "Questions And Answers", that seemed to show Graham Geraghty poking his finger in the eye of a Mayo forward. 100 reasonable people out of 100 who saw that would conclude that's what he was doing and that it was a deliberate attempt to blind the man. Except it never happened. As the two players swung at each other, in one instant, the instant when the shutter clicked, Geraghty's finger was opposite the Mayo lad's eyeball. The camera DOES lie.

Next time I get pinged for speeding, can I use this as a defence?
Post by: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 09:11:41 AM
According to rumours, in the AI final this year, some of the Tyrone backs had Donaghy & Walshes bank account numbers written on the soles of their boots, which they could see every time they chased the ball.   Then when they went up to field a high ball, the backs would call out their date of birth & mothers maiden name.  

How they got this info is anybody's guess but a fella who used to get a lift to the pub with one of the Kerry players cousins reckons MI5 trained a PSNI GAA team squad member from Tyrone to tap their phones.

Post by: SidelineKick on January 13, 2009, 09:13:34 AM
Quote from: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 09:11:41 AM
According to rumours, in the AI final this year, some of the Tyrone backs had Donaghy & Walshes bank account numbers written on the soles of their boots, which they could see every time they chased the ball.   Then when they went up to field a high ball, the backs would call out their date of birth & mothers maiden name.  

How they got this info is anybody's guess but a fella who used to get a lift to the pub with one of the Kerry players cousins reckons MI5 trained a PSNI GAA team squad member from Tyrone to tap their phones.

Post by: cornafean on January 13, 2009, 09:29:19 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 09:05:01 AM

. Except it never happened. As the two players swung at each other, in one instant, the instant when the shutter clicked, Geraghty's finger was opposite the Mayo lad's eyeball. The camera DOES lie.

Next time I get pinged for speeding, can I use this as a defence?

Possibly. Believe it or not, some speed cameras in the UK have been proven to be faulty.
Post by: Tubberman on January 13, 2009, 09:32:39 AM
A thread is started about sportsmanship, yet the majority drag it down to the leve of unfounded rumour and sniping about opposing teams players.  >:(
Doesn't say an awful lot about sportsmanship in the GAA sadly.
Post by: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 09:39:51 AM
QuoteNext time I get pinged for speeding, can I use this as a defence?

Possibly. Believe it or not, some speed cameras in the UK have been proven to be faulty.

I've been 'pinged' three times to date an have gotten off scott free each time!  ;D
Post by: SidelineKick on January 13, 2009, 09:42:29 AM
A quickie about that...when can I relax and think I have got off?? I was definitely caught by a cop with a camera about 2 months ago, can a sit back and smile or could the bastards hit me with it yet?
Post by: full back on January 13, 2009, 09:45:50 AM
Quote from: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 09:39:51 AM
QuoteNext time I get pinged for speeding, can I use this as a defence?

I've been 'pinged' three times to date an have gotten off scott free each time!  ;D

How did you manage that?
Post by: RMDrive on January 13, 2009, 10:04:37 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 13, 2009, 09:42:29 AM
A quickie about that...when can I relax and think I have got off?? I was definitely caught by a cop with a camera about 2 months ago, can a sit back and smile or could the b**tards hit me with it yet?

I believe it can take up to 6 months before you get the knock on your door. Haven't experienced it myself yet thank God but that's what I have been told.
Post by: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 10:11:45 AM
QuoteI've been 'pinged' three times to date an have gotten off scott free each time! 

How did you manage that?

I said it wasn't me!  In the bit where you're asked to say who was driving said it 'possibly' may have been my dad or my brothers but couldn't be sure.  They wrote to them on one occasion only and they said the same thing asking to see the photgraphic evidence.  That was nearly 3 months ago and nothing heard yet.

Post by: ludermor on January 13, 2009, 10:23:21 AM
Quote from: Canalman on January 12, 2009, 04:01:58 PM

The exception was the 2007 semi final vs Mayo when the Mayo fans imo were obnoxious in victory......especially two t**ts who were mouthing off in the Palace Bar after the game. Very surprised as the Mayo lads in our club are the soundest lads around.

Can't wait to meet them again in the Championship.Would be even sweeter to beat them with a Fine Gaeler in charge.

The lads in your club are the exception, the rest of us are complete wankers just like the two twats in the palace bar.
Post by: Hardy on January 13, 2009, 10:27:18 AM
SS, I didn't say you drew definitive conclusions. I read what you said. I cautioned against drawing definitive conclusions. I'm not sure whether you're suggesting Gormley is not the classiest of individuals or not at the end of all this. Do you want to get definitive or not?

As regards your speeding question – No.

What puzzles me most in your post, though, is your devotion of a paragraph to my use of the phrase 'cause celebre'? Why does it impress you so much? And how in God's name did you remember it from another post? I certainly didn't. But, most of all, what's its relevance to what we're discussing?  I don't need you to correct my writing. Thanks.  
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 10:55:38 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 13, 2009, 10:27:18 AM
SS, I didn't say you drew definitive conclusions. I read what you said. I cautioned against drawing definitive conclusions. I'm not sure whether you're suggesting Gormley is not the classiest of individuals or not at the end of all this. Do you want to get definitive or not?

I can't and won't be getting definitive. I don't know enough about the player in question to make any sort of definitive conclusion. As I said before the picture in question doesn't show him in a good light (or as not the classiest of individuals), I'll stand over that. I also take your point about the camera lying.

As regards your speeding question – No.

Thanks.

What puzzles me most in your post, though, is your devotion of a paragraph to my use of the phrase 'cause celebre'? Why does it impress you so much? And how in God's name did you remember it from another post? I certainly didn't. But, most of all, what's its relevance to what we're discussing?  I don't need you to correct my writing. Thanks. 

Admittedly a very short paragraph though. I was impressed by your original use of the phrase, in the same way that I have been impressed when other posters used words like 'transliteration', 'inveigled' and 'conflating'. I remembered it because a) I was impressed, b) in was in response to a post of mine and c) I have a good memory (except where Mick Lyons and Colm O'Neill were concerned - for which I have already apologised). In fairness, it is largely (or totally) irrelevant to the thread, but how many of the posts on this thread are. I have been one of the few posters who has given valid examples of sportsmanship and my involvement with the Conor Gormley issue came as a result of ziggy's input.

Whilst, not wanting to turn this issue into a cause celebre, I feel that it may lessen the impact of the term if it becomes frequently used. I was not trying to correct your writing, which in the main is among the most impressive on the board.

Now, getting back to the photo in question. Answer Sideline Kick's post. What do you think the player in question is doing? Do you think it shows the player in a good light.
Post by: StGallsGAA on January 13, 2009, 10:56:41 AM
According to rumours, in the AI final this year, some of the Tyrone backs had Donaghy & Walshes bank account numbers written on the soles of their boots, which they could see every time they chased the ball.   Then when they went up to field a high ball, the backs would call out their date of birth & mothers maiden name. 

;D ;D MODS!?!?
Post by: ONeill on January 13, 2009, 11:07:01 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 13, 2009, 08:22:47 AM

Ziggy the fact that it was one photo or 100 photos makes no difference.  You can see quite clearly what he is doing and I thought you of all people would condemn this type of behaviour.

Sidelinekick - I have seen that clip countless times. Gormley could have been on the sideline, under the Cusack, on Jones' Rd as the final whistle was being sounded and having won the All-Ireland title after a titanic battle with Kerry, he would have reacted the exact same way, with fists clenched. It actually was a lust a millisecond, the initial reaction to he ref's peeper. It says absolutely nothing about Gormley except that he was rather pleased. If Galvin had been lying face up and Gormley was goading him, then yes. Galvin had just hit the ground after a blocked shot as this photo was taken. Gormley's speed of thought would need to be tremendous to purposely goad Galvin. If you watch the clip you'll see what I mean.

I've seen loads of instances of photos being anchored to give the preferred reading of the journalist/poster....

Brilliant photo though.
Post by: Hardy on January 13, 2009, 11:08:45 AM
SS - The photo doesn't tell me what the player is doing. It doesn't cast any light on the player's character, for me. For instance, it doesn't tell me whether the standing player is moving his body towards or away from the player lying down or not moving at all. It is entirely plausible that he's photographed in an instant and an attitude that makes it look as though he's bending towards the other player and looking at him and in general shaped as though he's saying something to him. He could just as easily be getting up, moving away and moving his head from right to left or something. Even if he is saying something to him, I have no way of figuring out what it is from a photo.

As I said, I've learned, most strikingly from the Geraghty case I cited, not to trust still photographs when assessing an individual's actions.
Post by: johnneycool on January 13, 2009, 11:21:55 AM
Quote from: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 09:11:41 AM

I wouldn't recognise my own bank account on a bit of paper let alone scrawled on the bottom of a boot you'd only see glimpses of and if they called out my date of birth, I'd be expecting a card at least as they're bound to have my address if they know all that.  ;D

The lengths people go to.

One of the most memorable acts of sportsmanship has to be the opening of Croke park to both the FAI and IRFU as they'd be trapsing over to the millenium stadium/anfield or Celtic park if we didn't.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 13, 2009, 11:30:50 AM

Pity the thread has turned this way. Regarding the Gormley - Galvin incident, well Gormley was on the ground facing away from Galvin at the final whistle, got up and imo turned around to have a few words (or make a few noises like Joe McMahon) with Galvin.

A memorable act of sportsmanship was the Dubline corner back handing Mikey Sheehy the ball for that goal. Probably responsible for the current "you're not having the ball till I drop it" shenanigans to boot...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 13, 2009, 11:39:42 AM
Rather pathetic lads that, even now, there are still those who attempt to impugn Conor Gormley on the sole basis of a microsecond of captured time, when neither malice nor aforethought can be anything like reliably deduced.

The Tyrone team so magnanimously affording the Meath team a guard of honour for the NFL game in 1997 (in Dungannon, I think),  now that's sportsmanship (or craven submissiveness, not quite sure which)!  ;)
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 11:45:59 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 13, 2009, 11:39:42 AM
Rather pathetic lads that, even now, there are still those who attempt to impugn Conor Gormley on the sole basis of a microsecond of captured time, when neither malice nor aforethought can be anything like reliably deduced.

Who are those who attempt to impugn Conor Gormley?

Impugn - an excellent word. Up there with those I have already mentioned on this thread.
Post by: Wee Roddy on January 13, 2009, 11:55:02 AM
As a fellow clubman of Conor Gormleys, I would be dissapointed at some peoples perseption of the man. Anyone who knows him will tell you that he is a rather shy, withdrawn individual who does not like the limelight. He on the other hand does not like losing and on more than one occasion that I recall for both club and county, he has had battles with referees for an entire match! Particulay at club level Gormley would feel that he gets harshly treated at times because of who he is. He was sent off in last years club championship for virtual nothing more than a check.
But he does not goad individuals....well at least while playing for his club!!

I am sure he does not give a damn as he is getting marreid this weekend anyway.
Post by: amigo on January 13, 2009, 11:57:37 AM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on January 13, 2009, 11:55:02 AM
As a fellow clubman of Conor Gormleys, I would be dissapointed at some peoples perseption of the man. Anyone who knows him will tell you that he is a rather shy, withdrawn individual who does not like the limelight. He on the other hand does not like losing and on more than one occasion that I recall for both club and county, he has had battles with referees for an entire match! Particulay at club level Gormley would feel that he gets harshly treated at times because of who he is. He was sent off in last years club championship for virtual nothing more than a check.

Roddy a very nice fella apparently!!
But the above is untrue!! It is very much part & parcel of the game and he is brilliant at it!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 13, 2009, 12:18:55 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 11:45:59 AM
Who are those who attempt to impugn Conor Gormley?

You did state, SS2, that (that photograph):

Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 08:19:20 AM
Certainly doesn't make Gormley look the classiest of individuals.

which you further qualified as:

Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 09:05:01 AM
Fair comment, I feel, based on the photograph...

Though you also stated that that wasn't a "definitive" opinion. But still defamatory I'd say, based on the flimsy evidence of a single photograph, or do you think that "not looking the classiest of individuals" could be reasonably interpreted as anything but negative?
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 12:22:59 PM
How do you think the photo (and that photo alone) portrays him?

ziggy's original post states that

Is ziggy also pathetic? Is he at the impugning too?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 13, 2009, 12:35:39 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 12:22:59 PM
Is ziggy also pathetic? Is he at the impugning too?

The worst of the very feckin' worst!
Post by: AN other on January 13, 2009, 01:42:13 PM
I saw it happen at the time, happened to be looking in that direction at the final whistle and am convinced Gormley was, to put it kindly, deliberately showing his delight to Galvin. I formed this opinion before I saw any photograph. Possibly as a result of something which Galvin had said to him during the game itself.
I wouldn't assassinate Gormley's character over it however, assuming he had been provoked earlier. It would be very hard not to instinctively respond to any sort of earlier provocation in this manner no matter how shy, pleasant or gentlemanly the man is.
Post by: Buttofthehill on January 13, 2009, 07:27:20 PM

Anyone got her number??? Only messing, I wouldn't stoop that low ;)
Post by: ziggysego on January 13, 2009, 07:47:55 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 13, 2009, 11:30:50 AM

Pity the thread has turned this way. Regarding the Gormley - Galvin incident, well Gormley was on the ground facing away from Galvin at the final whistle, got up and imo turned around to have a few words (or make a few noises like Joe McMahon) with Galvin.

A memorable act of sportsmanship was the Dubline corner back handing Mikey Sheehy the ball for that goal. Probably responsible for the current "you're not having the ball till I drop it" shenanigans to boot...

That's not true and you know it. I can't remember who posted the pictures, but it was proof that Gormley wasn't going anything towards or in relation to Galvin. It was just paper take an opportunistic chance to sell more papers.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 13, 2009, 08:25:11 PM
there's a video of the end of the game on Youtube - go look there and see what happens - it's something and nothing
Post by: 5 Sams on January 13, 2009, 10:52:18 PM

I know plenty of shy, retiring lads who are pure gentlemen off the field who turn into raving lunatics when they cross the white line.....nature of the game lads....speaking to some of the lads in Kerry over the New Year Paul Galvin is a pure gent....something which I dont doubt...but he is a different person when he puts on that jersey....why would Gormley be different??? Wise up lads...next thing you'll be telling us he shites toothpaste...the photo says it all.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 13, 2009, 10:54:57 PM
watch the video - then look at the picture
Post by: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 10:57:59 PM
Whats said and done on the field is soon forgotten providing a player leaves it on the field.  I've no problem with that.  It's the toe rags off the field that would should worry about. 
Post by: corn02 on January 13, 2009, 11:04:27 PM
Quote from: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 10:57:59 PM
Whats said and done on the field is soon forgotten providing a player leaves it on the field.  I've no problem with that.  It's the toe rags off the field that would should worry about. 

Unrealted to the pic, because I haven't seen the clip, but graciousness should start at the final whistle.
Post by: Bogball XV on January 13, 2009, 11:30:46 PM
As several of you have pointed out, gaa isn't into 'sporting gestures', I can't remember any of note from my own career, but I remember plenty of incidents perpetrated by teammates that were contemptible.
I think it's exactly the same thing that makes the gaa great that makes it so difficult for players to be sporting, that is, the pride in parish/club etc.  I know at my club if I'd done anything half sporting, I'd have got a bollocking from management, teammates and spectators alike, that's just how it was.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 08:56:47 AM
Quote from: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 10:57:59 PM

Completely agree with that, there has been many a rough match but there has never been a match where I wouldn't shake somebodies hand after it.  As you say, if it can be left on the field then its done and dusted.

I also make a point of shaking my marker's hand if I get substituted, something that seems to happen quite a bit  :'( :D
Post by: AbbeySider on January 14, 2009, 09:26:54 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 08:56:47 AM
Completely agree with that, there has been many a rough match but there has never been a match where I wouldn't shake somebodies hand after it.  As you say, if it can be left on the field then its done and dusted.

I also make a point of shaking my marker's hand if I get substituted, something that seems to happen quite a bit  :'( :D

I hate shaking hands with my marker before any game. Its so hypercritical in the sense that with the first ball, you know you are going to go in hard with everything. Why shake hands before the whistle anyway, are you wishing them luck?   

There isnt really friendship between you and you marker during a game, its like combat in a sense. I shake hands after its over and leave it on the pitch, but before hand its pointless in my mind. I cant even look them in the eye but maybe thats me.  ::)
Post by: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 09:28:54 AM
Yeah maybe that is you.

Its a customary thing to do before a game.  Do you not shake hands or just not like shaking hands?  Because anybody that refuses to shake another players hand is a w**ker.
Post by: North Longford on January 14, 2009, 09:33:11 AM
There was actullay one occassion I woulldn't shake hands with a 'gent' after a game. It was my first year playing senior with the club and twas a league semi final. I was 18 marking this buck off about 30 who wouldn't kick snow off a rope but he spent the whole hour and extra time trying to kick lumps out of me, goading me and eventually attempting a headbutt which I just managed to avoid. In my 20 years playing football since I never met such an arse. I'd have had plenty of tough physical battles but generally in the spirit of the game and I'd have got a few hardy raps in me time but this was the one occassion I just couldn't bring meself to shake the hoors hand!
Post by: AbbeySider on January 14, 2009, 09:37:35 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 09:28:54 AM
Yeah maybe that is you.

Its a customary thing to do before a game.  Do you not shake hands or just not like shaking hands?  Because anybody that refuses to shake another players hand is a w**ker.

I always shake hands but it feels hypercritical because you know that if he gets a chance to cream you he will take it. And vice versa.

Shaking hands is a age old thing that means something fundamental. You always shake someones hand in good faith of welcoming, forgiveness, peace or luck. But for me before a game feels weird. I always, always shake hands though.

Post by: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 09:41:15 AM
Quote from: North Longford on January 14, 2009, 09:33:11 AM
There was actullay one occassion I woulldn't shake hands with a 'gent' after a game. It was my first year playing senior with the club and twas a league semi final. I was 18 marking this buck off about 30 who wouldn't kick snow off a rope but he spent the whole hour and extra time trying to kick lumps out of me, goading me and eventually attempting a headbutt which I just managed to avoid. In my 20 years playing football since I never met such an arse. I'd have had plenty of tough physical battles but generally in the spirit of the game and I'd have got a few hardy raps in me time but this was the one occassion I just couldn't bring meself to shake the hoors hand!

You'll always get twats like that, coming to the end of their careers trying to bully the youngsters.  Would probably have been of the same opinion as yourself and decided not to shake his hand.

Quote from: AbbeySider on January 14, 2009, 09:37:35 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 09:28:54 AM
Yeah maybe that is you.

I always shake but it feels hypercritical.

Well thats not just so bad then, you're just normal. My handshakes aren't filled with love or genuine well-wishing but I think its a sportsmans way of showing a bit of mutual respect, a quick handshake then its game on.  You do whatever it takes to win the game (within reason) and shake after the game too.  Personally I quite like that mutual respect.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 14, 2009, 09:49:36 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 09:41:15 AM
Well thats not just so bad then, you're just normal. My handshakes aren't filled with love or genuine well-wishing but I think its a sportsmans way of showing a bit of mutual respect, a quick handshake then its game on.  You do whatever it takes to win the game (within reason) and shake after the game too.  Personally I quite like that mutual respect.

You put that well there SidelineKick.
Reflecting, shaking hands is shaking out of mutual respect for each other.

I have had a game where starting as a young slip of a lad, some oul fella, as he held one hand, gave me a hay maker into the gut with the other.
I was only light at the time and was badly winded but didnt show it.  >:(
It has probably tarnished my view of the tradition.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 09:55:07 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on January 14, 2009, 09:49:36 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 09:41:15 AM

You put that well there SidelineKick.
Reflecting, shaking hands is shaking out of mutual respect for each other.

I have had a game where starting as a young slip of a lad, some oul fella, as he held one hand, gave me a hay maker into the gut with the other.
I was only light at the time and was badly winded but didnt show it.  >:(
It has probably tarnished my view of the tradition.

:D and jusifiably so!  There are always just going to be dicks out there who think the "harder" they are the better they are.  How did you play in that game out of curiosity?  Hope you gave him a good roastin.  There's a difference between "welcoming" a youngster to senior football with good hard tackling, big hits etc, and downright thuggery.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 14, 2009, 10:04:49 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 09:55:07 AM
:D and jusifiably so!  There are always just going to be dicks out there who think the "harder" they are the better they are.  How did you play in that game out of curiosity?  Hope you gave him a good roastin.  There's a difference between "welcoming" a youngster to senior football with good hard tackling, big hits etc, and downright thuggery.

He was one of these typical dirty oul fella corner backs. Pure hatchet stuff. No football in him at all. Off the ball shoulders and belts. We just belted the f**k out of each other for the match. The referee didnt even try and protect me even though I was lot younger. So I had to give some back. Think I got a score but I was black and blue for days.  :D
Post by: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 10:07:34 AM
Look on the bright side, in a few years time you'll be the oul fella and you can beat some young boy black and blue  :D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 14, 2009, 01:55:57 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 13, 2009, 07:47:55 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 13, 2009, 11:30:50 AM

That's not true and you know it. I can't remember who posted the pictures, but it was proof that Gormley wasn't going anything towards or in relation to Galvin. It was just paper take an opportunistic chance to sell more papers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkTL4PEdbgI&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkTL4PEdbgI&feature=related) 6 minutes in, u may need to replay it a couple of times to identify Gormley (he comes in from the right of Galvin). After viewing will u please tell me what part of my post is inaccurate???
Post by: ziggysego on January 14, 2009, 08:25:05 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 14, 2009, 01:55:57 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkTL4PEdbgI&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkTL4PEdbgI&feature=related) 6 minutes in, u may need to replay it a couple of times to identify Gormley (he comes in from the right of Galvin). After viewing will u please tell me what part of my post is inaccurate???

Yeah, still have to say it's inaccurate.

Here's a picture from a different angle. Puts a slightly different slant on it, doesn't it ;)

Croí na hÉireann being proved wrong (http://images.sportsfile.com/fotoweb/fwbinnew/preview.dll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
Post by: tyssam5 on January 14, 2009, 09:09:07 PM
Is that Justy McMahon on his knees behind Gormley? Seems like the same reaction to the whistle, but who is the invisible player he is viciously goading?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 14, 2009, 09:31:19 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on January 14, 2009, 09:09:07 PM
Is that Justy McMahon on his knees behind Gormley? Seems like the same reaction to the whistle, but who is the invisible player he is viciously goading?

If you concentrate hard enough, with sufficient determination (to see what actually may not be there), you too will be convinced that he too was guillty of an act of heinous gloating. For shame.
Post by: ludermor on January 14, 2009, 10:16:35 PM
if you freeze the clip at 2.13 you will see sportsmanship of the horrible sort. but i will not ruin this thread by mentioning it
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 14, 2009, 11:52:36 PM
Ludermor is right, a thread about sportsmanship could only turn into one about gamesmanship, so we could give out about people instead of praising, typical Irish trait.

And, to prove I'm as bad as anyone, I have to agree with Croi, even after seeing Ziggy's pic (in that pic Gormley is in the process of getting up after roaring in Galvin's face)
Post by: BennyHarp on January 15, 2009, 08:10:42 AM
Jaysus, ye are sad bunch of jealous feckers!!! Rewinding and rewinding, pausing and pausing again to see if a fella goads another fella after an all-ireland win - get over it lads ffs!! So what even if he did - i'm sure Galvin deserved it!
Post by: under the bar on January 15, 2009, 08:33:23 AM
QuoteJaysus, ye are sad bunch of jealous feckers!!! Rewinding and rewinding, pausing and pausing again to see if a fella goads another fella after an all-ireland win - get over it lads ffs!! So what even if he did - i'm sure Galvin deserved it!

It's pretty obvious that the anoraks who are scrutinising for indiscretions have never kicked a ball either. 
Post by: Hardy on January 15, 2009, 10:07:17 AM
I agree with the last two speakers. It's sad, really. I would also suggest that it's reasonable to give the benefit of the doubt to the accused, particularly in a case where pages of debate would indicate that the issue is far from clear cut. Assume the best of people, rather than the worst.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 15, 2009, 10:19:42 AM
Not sure if it suitable for this thread but was some county players saying they would give their grant or payments, (whichever you see it as) to their clubs. I haven't heard of any do that. Would have been a sporting gesture but when the cheque hit the hand... well  ::)   
Post by: cornafean on January 15, 2009, 10:26:45 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 15, 2009, 10:07:17 AM
I agree with the last two speakers. It's sad, really. I would also suggest that it's reasonable to give the benefit of the doubt to the accused, particularly in a case where pages of debate would indicate that the issue is far from clear cut. Assume the best of people, rather than the worst.

Well said. I honestly think Gormley is owed an apology.
Post by: Final Whistle on January 15, 2009, 10:28:10 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 15, 2009, 10:19:42 AM
Not sure if it suitable for this thread but was some county players saying they would give their grant or payments, (whichever you see it as) to their clubs. I haven't heard of any do that. Would have been a sporting gesture but when the cheque hit the hand... well  ::)   

Yes, you will be glad to hear that a lot of the players are donating their grant with most other inter county players at least donating 50%.
Nice gesture.
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 15, 2009, 10:56:14 AM
I agree with the last two speakers.

You agree with the last two speakers, do you?

Here's what one of them said.

Quote from: BennyHarp on January 15, 2009, 08:10:42 AM
Jaysus, ye are sad bunch of jealous feckers!!! Rewinding and rewinding, pausing and pausing again to see if a fella goads another fella after an all-ireland win - get over it lads ffs!! So what even if he did - i'm sure Galvin deserved it!

Yet you ask us to

Assume the best of people, rather than the worst.

If that is the best you think of Galvin, I would hate to see your worst assumption.

Everyone has their own opinion of the photo, only Conor Gormley knows what he was doing. However there seem to be three camps - those from Tyrone (excluding ziggy) who stand by their man and liberally insult those who don't agree with them; those from a variety of other counties (including ziggy) who feel the photo does Conor Gormley no favours and thirdly yourself, who quite rightly calls for mature reflection. Such is the nature of debate.

Whilst taking on board your points and the insults of others, nothing I have read would cause me to change my original post or issue any apologies.
Post by: Wee Roddy on January 15, 2009, 11:06:50 AM
I ran into Conor yesterday and asked him about this. He surprisingly was aware of the thread so he may know who I am now! However he told me that when the final whistle went the last thing on his mind was Paul Galvin or any other player for that matter. He asked me if I thought anyone could think quick enough to actually do that in a split second when elation is all that is on anyones mind?
You can only take the fellow at his word and the priest told me he never confesses to any lies in the box.
Post by: cornafean on January 15, 2009, 11:06:50 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 15, 2009, 10:56:14 AM
Whilst taking on board your points and the insults of others, nothing I have read would cause me to change my original post or issue any apologies.

Not even ziggy's photo? It shows clearly that Gormley wasn't even looking at Galvin when he fell to his knees.
Post by: new devil on January 15, 2009, 11:18:22 AM
No Roddy sure carmen men dont lie  ;)
Post by: Hardy on January 15, 2009, 11:46:25 AM
SS - you're dead right. I overlooked the fact that bennydorano also made a point about Galvin. I meant that I agreed with the substantive points they were making about the pathetic nature of the posting here trying to prove that Gormley misbehaved. I don't agree that Galvin deserved it. I hope that's clear now.

I'm sure you'll understand and forgive me this lapse. Think the best of me, not the worst.

[Edit] Ooops - wrong again! I meant BennyHarp.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 15, 2009, 11:48:53 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 14, 2009, 08:25:05 PM

Here's a picture from a different angle. Puts a slightly different slant on it, doesn't it ;)

Croí na hÉireann being proved wrong (http://images.sportsfile.com/fotoweb/fwbinnew/preview.dll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

Can you specifically tell me what is inaccurate with what I posted?

Was Gormley was on the ground facing away from Galvin at the final whistle?

Did he get up and turn around?

Did he then bend down over Galvin?

You initially complained about the original photograph doing Gormley a disservice, yet then you attempt to use another photograph to exonerate him. Logic orangeman would be proud of  ::)

Regarding the rewind and pausing, yes I agree it's not in the best taste. What is worse however is the excusing of actions when it's one of your own. I seem to remember a fair few disparaging comments about Bryan Cullen last year yet when it's your own different rules apply  ::)

Not making any judgement on Gormley, for all I know Galvin could have had a couple of choice words with him first and it was time for payback. However what is not in doubt is what I initially posted "Gormley was on the ground facing away from Galvin at the final whistle, got up and imo turned around to have a few words (or make a few noises like Joe McMahon) with Galvin."
Post by: BennyHarp on January 15, 2009, 11:58:15 AM
Saffron Sam2 - my comment that "i'm sure Galvin deserved it" was a tongue in cheek remark made with the same amount of evidence to back it up as all the claims on here on about what Conor Gormley did or did not say - ABSOLUTELY NONE!!

I honestly can't believe that there are people out there - probably with good jobs and kids and more important things going on in their lives - who are scrutinising a grainy clip from you tube over and over again to see if an amateur sports man goaded another, so they can come on here and complain about it!! Unbelievable!
Post by: corn02 on January 15, 2009, 12:21:57 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on January 15, 2009, 11:58:15 AM

I honestly can't believe that there are people out there - probably with good jobs and kids and more important things going on in their lives - who are scrutinising a grainy clip from you tube over and over again to see if an amateur sports man goaded another, so they can come on here and complain about it!! Unbelievable!

It passes the work day!
Post by: BennyHarp on January 15, 2009, 12:58:32 PM
Quote from: corn02 on January 15, 2009, 12:21:57 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on January 15, 2009, 11:58:15 AM

It passes the work day!

;D Ah now it all makes sense!!
Post by: Blue and Navy on January 15, 2009, 02:05:56 PM
I suppose it'll all be clear for everyone to see in the League...if Galvin smacks Gormley when they meet, then i think its fairly obvious what happened.
Post by: orangeman on January 15, 2009, 03:00:34 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 15, 2009, 11:48:53 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 14, 2009, 08:25:05 PM

Can you specifically tell me what is inaccurate with what I posted?

Was Gormley was on the ground facing away from Galvin at the final whistle?

Did he get up and turn around?

Did he then bend down over Galvin?

You initially complained about the original photograph doing Gormley a disservice, yet then you attempt to use another photograph to exonerate him.
Logic orangeman would be proud of  ::)

Regarding the rewind and pausing, yes I agree it's not in the best taste. What is worse however is the excusing of actions when it's one of your own.
I seem to remember a fair few disparaging comments about Bryan Cullen last year yet when it's your own different rules apply  ::)

Not making any judgement on Gormley, for all I know Galvin could have had a couple of choice words with him first and it was time for payback. However what is not in doubt is what I initially posted
"Gormley was on the ground facing away from Galvin at the final whistle, got up and imo turned around to have a few words (or make a few noises like Joe McMahon) with Galvin."

You're absolutely right. 100% correct- in fact you're always right. How do you manage to do this. It's a great gift you have - knowing everything and being right all of the time. Can you just let us be right the odd time ?.
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on January 15, 2009, 03:05:29 PM

Orangemen - how mny times are you going to pull that line out about people who show you up? if someone out manoeuvres you in a debate, you cannot just keep claiming that its because they are belligerent and unyielding.

you'll have to make a reasonable point someday if you want to enhance your reputation
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 15, 2009, 03:23:48 PM
Quote from: under the bar on January 15, 2009, 08:33:23 AM
QuoteJaysus, ye are sad bunch of jealous feckers!!! Rewinding and rewinding, pausing and pausing again to see if a fella goads another fella after an all-ireland win - get over it lads ffs!! So what even if he did - i'm sure Galvin deserved it!

It's pretty obvious that the anoraks who are scrutinising for indiscretions have never kicked a ball either. 

Yeah? God you are a great bit of stuff if you can work that one out from an internet post. Tool.

On the issue being discussed, no one can be certain. I have my opinion on what happened, others have theirs. Neither side can be completely certain so maybe we should just park it

Post by: orangeman on January 15, 2009, 03:27:40 PM
Quote from: Malone Aristocrat on January 15, 2009, 03:05:29 PM

Orangemen - how mny times are you going to pull that line out about people who show you up? if someone out manoeuvres you in a debate, you cannot just keep claiming that its because they are belligerent and unyielding.

you'll have to make a reasonable point someday if you want to enhance your reputation

Thanks for that Aristocrat - I'll bear that in mind.  ;)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 15, 2009, 04:36:24 PM
QuoteOn the issue being discussed, no one can be certain.

I'm sure one fella can

Quote from: Wee Roddy on January 15, 2009, 11:06:50 AM
I ran into Conor yesterday and asked him about this. He surprisingly was aware of the thread so he may know who I am now! However he told me that when the final whistle went the last thing on his mind was Paul Galvin or any other player for that matter. He asked me if I thought anyone could think quick enough to actually do that in a split second when elation is all that is on anyones mind?
You can only take the fellow at his word and the priest told me he never confesses to any lies in the box.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 15, 2009, 07:14:38 PM
Haven't watched it in a while but from what I remember Gormley did turn and celebrate over Galvin for a split second. Not sure if it was deliberate or whether it was just the way he turned but it was for no more than a second. You need to see the tv footage to get a clear view of what happened as opposed to looking at a photo.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 15, 2009, 07:42:43 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 15, 2009, 04:36:24 PM
QuoteOn the issue being discussed, no one can be certain.

I'm sure one fella can

Quote from: Wee Roddy on January 15, 2009, 11:06:50 AM

I think if you talk to some of the Kerry players close to the incident they might disagree with Gormleys explanation.

Post by: Main Street on January 15, 2009, 08:23:36 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on January 12, 2009, 10:51:46 PM
To state that a route through Monaghan can be described as scenic, fills my heart with brotherly love.

My most memorable act of sportsmanship was in my first game out in the big bad world of the GAA after the safety of secondary school seclusion. It was way down in the depths of intermediate level Dublin. Everybody was 20 years older, 20kg. heavier and had about 20 pints at lunchtime.
My opponent had the beating of me easily enough, then at some time a fight broke out somewhere, then every player and their opponent started fighting, fights all over the pitch, I had never seen anything like that before.
My man just came up to me and shook hands.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 15, 2009, 08:57:17 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 15, 2009, 07:42:43 PM
I think if you talk to some of the Kerry players close to the incident they might disagree with Gormleys explanation.

Or just maybe they couldn't be feckin' arsed giving an opinion on something so pathetic, just maybe.
Post by: ONeill on January 15, 2009, 10:37:09 PM
Brian Dooher telling Coleman where the scoreboard was in 2001.
Paul Galvin helping Toal get thon pesky bib off.
Francie for easing that throbbing toothache Linden had.
Nicholas Walsh for washing that spot of dirt Cavanagh had off his face in 05.
Meath for giving Kleenex Bandages some free publicity in 1996.
Ricey for offering a bit of massage on McEntee.
Kevin McCabe for not rubbing it in in 1986.
Fermanangh for giving the Croker scoreboard man a bit of a well earned rest v Kildare this year.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 15, 2009, 11:33:29 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 15, 2009, 10:37:09 PM
Fermanangh for giving the Croker scoreboard man a bit of a well earned rest v Kildare this year.

:D Thanks for that Shane. Had forgotten, thought this thread was a "Let's frame Conor Gormley on the flimsiest evidence we can't find" thread.

Thanks for putting me straight  ;)
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 16, 2009, 09:34:41 AM
Quote from: cornafean on January 15, 2009, 11:06:50 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 15, 2009, 10:56:14 AM

Not even ziggy's photo? It shows clearly that Gormley wasn't even looking at Galvin when he fell to his knees.

No, not even ziggy's photo. It was taken a wee bit after the original one and there are a multitude of possible explanations for the positions of Gormley and Galvin in that photo.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 16, 2009, 09:38:28 AM

That was a f**king disgrace. Ricey fouls McEntee.  Ref blows whistle. Ricey turns and looks at ref. Ricey turns back to McEntee. Ricey drops the knees on McEntees face. Ref doesn't send Ricey off.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2009, 10:13:01 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 15, 2009, 11:33:29 PM

:D Thanks for that Shane. Had forgotten, thought this thread was a "Let's frame Conor Gormley on the flimsiest evidence we can't find" thread.

Thanks for putting me straight  ;)

Jesus lads, it'd be long since forgotten about if yous didn't keep bringing it up and spinning what happened. Ziggy when u get a min can u answer my questions please or withdraw the comment about me posting something which I know not to be true?
Post by: ziggysego on January 16, 2009, 11:16:15 AM
Sick at the moment. I'll study your response later and get back to you with a detailed answer when my head's a bit clearer. Don't want you thinking I'm running away from the arguement as some people do around these parts ;)
Post by: SidelineKick on January 16, 2009, 11:22:55 AM
Also don't want you giving us the bug you have.  STAY OFFLINE  :P
Post by: Fuzzman on January 16, 2009, 03:08:26 PM
Just read most of this thread now lads and by God ye all got yer knickers in a twist all over again about this one.

I think we can all say that when you're in the heat of the battle against your main rivals then tempers are frayed and desire to win makes you do things you don't normally do.

I do not know Conor Gormley at all or good old Ricey but I've been informed by club mates that they are BOTH two nice gents off the field.
On the field however they have an immense desire to win and like many others if they're are words being exchanged and they're been written off they'll of course be more than happy to ram words down people's throats.

I've watched Conor get a little more cycnical this year, especially with Mortimer in the Mayo game but I'd definitely say him and Galvin had been exchanging pleasantries since Mr Eyebrows came on the field to an unbelieveable roar that seemed a little out of place to most non Kerry people.

I agree none of us can judge Conor on this one or two pictures or even from the video but if I'm to be honest the 1st time I saw the incident I didn't like what I saw.
I always try to ask myself what would I think if the shoe was on the other foot. What if Galvin had been caught in the same stance over gormley after beating Tyrone.

Wait a min. 6 pigs just flew past the office window.

Let it go lads. It was only in the heat of the moment as was Star goading the Armagh keeper a few years ago.
Post by: corn02 on January 16, 2009, 03:16:08 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 16, 2009, 03:08:26 PM
On the field however they have an immense desire to win and like many others if they're are words being exchanged and they're been written off they'll of course be more than happy to ram words down people's throats.

Red Hand Pr at its best.  :D

Quote from: Fuzzman on January 16, 2009, 03:08:26 PM

Let it go lads. It was only in the heat of the moment as was Star goading the Armagh keeper a few years ago.

Don't think anybody can have a go at Star for that.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 16, 2009, 06:58:34 PM
QuoteOr just maybe they couldn't be feckin' arsed giving an opinion on something so pathetic, just maybe

Yes, I agree with you. It was pathetic of Gormley to goad an opponent after the final whistle was blown.

Post by: bigpaul on January 17, 2009, 12:24:33 AM
The best act of sportsmanship I ever heard of on a GAA pitch,or any other for that matter, involved a lad who went along to see his local club playing one sunday, still wearing his best 'bib and tucker'. When the match was just about to begin the club chairman approached and asked him to 'tog-out', as the lads were a man down. With no boots or togs available the lad pulled on the jersey and went into corner-forward wearing his good trousers and shoes. On shaking hands before the 'throw-in' the corner-back told him he was mad, that he would get his clothes destroyed! The 'stand-in' said he had no choice, the team were a man down and he had to give the boys a pull-out. When the first ball came in the lad went all out for it and slipped! The corner-back was still concious of the lads clothes and caught him before he fell!!!!!!!     
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 17, 2009, 12:44:29 AM
Quote from: bigpaul on January 17, 2009, 12:24:33 AM
The best act of sportsmanship I ever heard of on a GAA pitch,or any other for that matter, involved a lad who went along to see his local club playing one sunday, still wearing his best 'bib and tucker'. When the match was just about to begin the club chairman approached and asked him to 'tog-out', as the lads were a man down. With no boots or togs available the lad pulled on the jersey and went into corner-forward wearing his good trousers and shoes. On shaking hands before the 'throw-in' the corner-back told him he was mad, that he would get his clothes destroyed! The 'stand-in' said he had no choice, the team were a man down and he had to give the boys a pull-out. When the first ball came in the lad went all out for it and slipped! The corner-back was still concious of the lads clothes and caught him before he fell!!!!!!!     

:D :D

We were down a man once for a Junior B game. One of our regular players was out with a broken wrist but came along to watch. With no other options the manager (who also played) persuaded him to tog out and that he could stand in corner-forward for the whole game. So he did. His man came up to mark him, spotted the cast and our man told him the story. So our lad goes in and stands on the endline, nearer the corner-flag than the goal and his marker says he won't take the piss so he'd stand beside him so it was effectively 14 v 14! The two boys stood there talking shite for the duration of the game.
But with about ten minutes to go one of our midfielders, as likely to hit the corner-flag as put it over the bar, hit one from out the field and it came towards the two boys. Our lad's competitive instinct took over and he raced instintively to the ball, caught in under one oxter and stuck it over the bar before his marker knew what happened!
Post by: bigpaul on January 17, 2009, 12:57:13 AM
F$%k-there's a pattern here! No matter what act of sportsmanship has been mentioned on this thread, somebody has bettered it with an act of gamesmanship! GAA and sportsmanship?????
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 17, 2009, 08:03:27 PM

I have often heard of Christy Ring's gesture in the '56 AI final against Wexford when he tore through the Wexford defence and let fly for a goal. Art Foley, the goalie, somehow managed to stop it going in. Ring, without stopping his stride, kept going and grabbed Foley's hand and shook it warmly. A nice gesture of appreciation from one fine sportsman to another.
Personally, one of my favourite memories of is of David Brady doing running repairs on Ciaran Whelan's lugs in the 2006 semi-final.
Readers may recall that Whelan had earlier flattened Ronan McGarrity with a crude tackle and Brady, when he came on, made straight for Whelan to mark him. Well, he did more than mark him. He first of all flattened him invited him to sit down and then tweaked his ears- to pin them back, I suppose.
Needless to say, Whelan concentrated on playing the game rather than the man from there to the end.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 17, 2009, 09:10:12 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on January 17, 2009, 08:03:27 PM

Whelan concentrated on playing the game rather than the man from there to the end.

No, he concentrated on hiding!
Post by: tyssam5 on January 17, 2009, 09:38:30 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 16, 2009, 06:58:34 PM
QuoteOr just maybe they couldn't be feckin' arsed giving an opinion on something so pathetic, just maybe

Yes, I agree with you. It was pathetic of Gormley to goad an opponent after the final whistle was blown.

It was sporting of you to stay off the board for the last three months following your latest All-Ireland final defeat.

Have the wounds healed sufficiently for you to peek out for under the rock where you've been hiding?

Post by: Big Alley on January 18, 2009, 12:06:51 PM
To bring this thread back to its original subject, Tony Healy and Paul Brady were playing each other in Croke Park in the final of the 2003 World Handball Championship.
 Brady won the first game, Healy was 11-3 up in the second when Brady went down with cramp.  Under international rules cramp does not constitute injury so Brady would have only his remaining timeout (one minute) to recover or else forfeit the game, leaving Healy World Champion.
Sportingly Healy immeditely called his own timeouts to give Brady additional time, Brady recovered, Healy won the second game but lost the tie breaker and thus the World Championship.

I was there, I saw it, truly a memorable act of sportmanship in a GAA game
Post by: red hander on January 18, 2009, 06:18:44 PM
Quote from: Big Alley on January 18, 2009, 12:06:51 PM
To bring this thread back to its original subject, Tony Healy and Paul Brady were playing each other in Croke Park in the final of the 2003 World Handball Championship.
 Brady won the first game, Healy was 11-3 up in the second when Brady went down with cramp.  Under international rules cramp does not constitute injury so Brady would have only his remaining timeout (one minute) to recover or else forfeit the game, leaving Healy World Champion.
Sportingly Healy immeditely called his own timeouts to give Brady additional time, Brady recovered, Healy won the second game but lost the tie breaker and thus the World Championship.

I was there, I saw it, truly a memorable act of sportmanship in a GAA game

Fair play to the fella, that's brilliant
Post by: the colonel on January 19, 2009, 11:55:25 AM

Triple All Ireland hurling champions Kilkenny have conceded home advantage in their Walsh Cup semi-final with Antrim. Brian Cody and his charges will travel to play the Glensmen next Sunday 25th January at 2pm in Casement Park.

The conditions of entry into the Walsh Cup were that the non-Leinster counties would be obliged to travel to all matches, irrespective of the draw. As such, Antrim would have been expected to travel to Kilkenny for next week's semi-final.

However, a phone-call between Brian Cody's right –hand man Aidan Fogarty and joint Antrim manager Terence McNaughton yesterday evening raised the possibility that Kilkenny might agree to travel. Further calls between Antrim, Kilkenny and Leinster Council officials brought about this extraordinary change.

Welcoming this gesture, Antrim chairman John McSparran stated this as a hugely significant act of magnanimity on behalf of Kilkenny. "There was no obligation on Kilkenny to do this at all, yet the good relations that have been established between various personalities in each of the counties has brought this about. This is a wonderful opportunity to promote hurling in Antrim and Ulster and is certainly something we are most appreciative of. I only hope that all children who have any interest in hurling are given an opportunity to come to Casement on Sunday and witness this great team. I would also hope that their parents can facilitate this and would ask that all Antrim supporters make a big effort to come to Casement to welcome Kilkenny".

Leinster Council president Seamus Howlin was also full of praise for this decision. "I know Kilkenny are serious about promoting the game of hurling beyond their own county and to be honest, this decision does no surprise me. This is typical and is something we come to expect from Kilkenny and there is no doubt that this is a wonderful opportunity to promote hurling in Ulster".

As defending Walsh Cup champions, Antrim will face a Kilkenny team determined to avenge the Saffron's ambushing of the Cats last year. Antrim will still be without the Cushendall players as well as Eddie McCloskey and Cormac Donnelly, neither who are currently available. Nonetheless, to have an opportunity to play against this team of modern day legend is something that every young hurler would aspire to and not enough can be said to praise this wonderful act of generosity from Kilkenny.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 19, 2009, 12:13:54 PM
Fair dues to the Cats, 'tis a great gesture.
Post by: RMDrive on January 19, 2009, 12:41:59 PM
Two good examples from Tony Healy and Kilkenny. Such examples have been few and far between on the this thread.
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 01:20:45 PM
Fair play to the Cats. Puts the complaining of the few Dubs in place, doesn't it ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 19, 2009, 01:25:11 PM
Careful there Ziggy, remember the last time you invoked the memory of an unrelated incident on this thread: the merchants of pathos and masters of absence of evidence were implacably on your case, tread lightly  ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 19, 2009, 02:28:19 PM
Speaking of which, any chance of any answer ziggy???
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 02:43:44 PM
Oh yes, forgot. I can concede that I can not be 100% of my assessment with the photos and video. Certainly no more than you can either.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 19, 2009, 03:09:09 PM
I am one gazillion (Jaysus that's an actual word according to the spell checker) percent sure that in the below link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkTL4PEdbgI&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkTL4PEdbgI&feature=related)

Gormley was on the ground facing away from Galvin at the final whistle, he get up, turned around and then bent over Galvin. Which was all I posted in the first instance before u came in over the top...
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 03:15:43 PM
Over the top? Why? Because I don't believe it and the evidence I proved could disprove your theory. My God word, I tried to end the arguement and meet you half way.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 19, 2009, 03:27:10 PM
Over the top because u said "That's not true and you know it.", you may as well have said you're posting lies.

You're "evidence" against a picture taken in one moment in time was another picture taken in a different moment in time. I know you're fairly clued in ziggy so was a bit surprised with this bit of "logic". I've supplied footage and u can make out the characters relevant to the episode, I can't make u watch it so I think I'll rest my case m'lord...
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 03:40:33 PM
Footage? Fuzzy video take from what looks like the upper deck of the Hogan Stand? Doesn't cut it for me son.

Now I'm not one to defend Tyrone players if I think they are in the wrong, but in this cast Gormley wasn't.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 19, 2009, 04:07:58 PM
Fuzzy me hole and it's taken from rte's broadcast of the final "son"  ::) You can watch the same incident 19 mins in on this link as well http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/200-2425181-512-288-t.smil (http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/200-2425181-512-288-t.smil) but me thinks you'd prefer not to comment on your own...
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 04:13:24 PM
Connection Error.... *coughs*
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 19, 2009, 04:17:07 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 04:13:24 PM
Connection Error.... *coughs*

Open with realplayer... *feckin young fellas nowadays*
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 04:20:08 PM
You not think I tried that?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 19, 2009, 04:34:22 PM
Yes
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 04:40:56 PM
Well you're wrong, again
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 19, 2009, 04:54:03 PM
Ok, I may as well be talking to Evil Genius here. Will u just remove the "That's not true and you know it." comment on page 9 and I'll be on my way, the grass growing championships are due to start on BBC2 shortly...
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 05:02:40 PM
I'll gladly remove that line from Page 9 if you will admit that there is a possibility you could be wrong.
Post by: ONeill on January 19, 2009, 05:05:13 PM
Jaysus you're a cantankerous oul bollocks Croí na hÉireann. It's an admirable trait though, not enough cantankerousness these days. .
Post by: behind the wire on January 19, 2009, 05:05:40 PM
One moment that springs to mind was a Down national league game in newcastle a good few years back. i cant even remember who they were playing but i can remember that down had a terrible first half and were nine points down at half time. the weather wasnt great either if memory serves me right. pete mcgrath made three substitutions at half time (i think only 3 allowed then) and down came back to get a draw. at the end of the game the whole down panel approached the stand and gave the supporters a wee ovation, just as a thankyou for their encouragement in the second half.

i had never seen it before and dont think i have ever seen it since, especially not in such an insignificant game.

maybe some of the down posters could remind me of who down were playing or what year it was.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 19, 2009, 05:14:42 PM
Oh ffs http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkTL4PEdbgI&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkTL4PEdbgI&feature=related) = Gormley was on the ground facing away from Galvin at the final whistle, he get up, turned around and then bent over Galvin.

The motion camera doesn't lie. I'm sure you have the final recorded there on HD somewhere if youtube is too grainy. Tell me where specifically I'm incorrect in what I said. And I'm not making disparaging comments about Gormley here, for all I know he could be asking Galvin what is he having for his tea later (it was probably some barnbrack covered in Kerrygold)...

And as my granny, God bless her, used to say, Up Yours O'Neill...
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 05:21:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3y3QoFnqZc (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3y3QoFnqZc)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 19, 2009, 05:28:25 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YE5xmFAcW-U (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YE5xmFAcW-U)
Post by: ONeill on January 19, 2009, 05:36:11 PM
Lads, you're ruining The Block's honeymoon. The newly wed missus says he's not leaving the complex til this issue is settled.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 19, 2009, 05:39:42 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 19, 2009, 05:36:11 PM
Lads, you're ruining The Block's honeymoon. The newly wed missus says he's not leaving the complex til this issue is settled.

Sure isn't that the idea of a honeymoon, no thanks necessary Conor...
Post by: thebandit on January 19, 2009, 06:08:38 PM
Yawn
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 19, 2009, 07:22:10 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on January 17, 2009, 09:38:30 PM

It was sporting of you to stay off the board for the last three months following your latest All-Ireland final defeat.

Have the wounds healed sufficiently for you to peek out for under the rock where you've been hiding?

as I told your bum buddy Tyrones Own, I've been on the board consistently since september. Try come up with a better bait.

Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 07:25:37 PM
In fairness, I have seen Mike on the board plenty since September.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 19, 2009, 07:33:41 PM
Speaking of bum buddies...get off your knees zig  ;)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 19, 2009, 07:37:49 PM
Careful Ziggy, you're breaking the Tyrone omerta ;)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 19, 2009, 07:38:20 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 19, 2009, 07:22:10 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on January 17, 2009, 09:38:30 PM

as I told your bum buddy Tyrones Own, I've been on the board consistently since september. Try come up with a better bait.

I fully expect a reprimand from mod3 to Mike over this statement  ::)

Quote1. Personal abuse.
    Personal abuse is one of the most common problems on internet boards. Known sometimes as 'playing the man', whether foul language is used or not, this behaviour is
    not allowed.
    e.g. Calling someone a fat fool is the same as calling someone something more vulgar. This rule applies even in situations where another user has breached this, or
    another rule. Retaliation is still a breach of the rule.

Penalties- 1st Offence - Warning,  Second Offence - 2 Day Ban, Third Offence - 10 Day Ban, Fourth Offence - Permanent Ban
Post by: Tyrones own on January 19, 2009, 08:09:31 PM
I wouldn't give him the pleasure to report him Gabe... any man that has to resort to insults is laughed off around here.
Still a little bitter obviously :'(
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 08:11:03 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on January 19, 2009, 07:33:41 PM
Speaking of bum buddies...get off your knees zig  ;)

I'm only 3ft tall. Don't need to get on my knees....
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 19, 2009, 08:29:35 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on January 19, 2009, 08:09:31 PM
I wouldn't give him the pleasure to report him Gabe... any man that has to resort to insults is laughed off around here.
Still a little bitter obviously :'(

Ah i know - i was just trying to highlight the language he has to use to try and get his pathetic point across
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 19, 2009, 08:49:53 PM

Will you ever give up your oul whinging about that game, it's a done deal, over, finished, done and dusted, and if the biggest gripe you have about it is something as unsubstantiatable and unverifiable as an alleged goading after the final whistle... well, that's just pathetic, really pathetic.