Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: clarshack on January 09, 2009, 09:23:47 AM

Title: Coalisland Ghost
Post by: clarshack on January 09, 2009, 09:23:47 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7811761.stm

http://www.tyronetimes.co.uk/2617/Coalisland-ain39t-afraid-of-no.4846598.jp

this story seems to be spiralling out of control - was even on GMTV this morning
Title: Re: Coalisland Ghost
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 09, 2009, 09:51:42 AM
Hmmm the boy that seen the ghost has a da who owns a pub.
The pub is right beside where the ghost was spotted.
There are crowds flocking to the area.

Some spirits might benefit alright!!
Post by: orangeman on January 09, 2009, 10:36:10 AM
Apparently a few young lads just made it up and it spread like wildfire.
Post by: Final Whistle on January 09, 2009, 10:39:51 AM
Quote from: orangeman on January 09, 2009, 10:36:10 AM

nothing like a good rumour to set the tongues wagging.

Shall we try and get one going ourselves???
Post by: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 10:59:20 AM
Not a good idea FW, I started one last year that a friend got fired form the clothes shop he worked in for stealing stock.  It got back to me very quickly and needless to say things were hostile for a while.

Personally though I thought it was a good one!
Post by: illdecide on January 09, 2009, 11:12:18 AM
If you've been with them Coalisland women you'd think you'd seen a ghost...they're brutal and rough as a badgers arse
Post by: full back on January 09, 2009, 11:18:02 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 10:59:20 AM
I started one last year that a friend got fired form the clothes shop he worked in for stealing stock.

Fcuk sake sk, that was harsh
With friends like you who needs enemies.............
Post by: Final Whistle on January 09, 2009, 11:29:40 AM
Quote from: illdecide on January 09, 2009, 11:12:18 AM
If you've been with them Coalisland women you'd think you'd seen a ghost...they're brutal and rough as a badgers arse

now now, not as bad as the lurganites with the all important accessory;

(http://www.new-life.org.au/images/prams/mothers_choicereversible.jpg)
Post by: Final Whistle on January 09, 2009, 11:34:52 AM
a started rumour concerning a major bank could lead to an economic armageddon!!

go on sideline, you have form for it and saying your from derry you obviously lack the moral fibre to have a conscience ::) ::)
Post by: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 11:38:35 AM
He was an Armagh man too  :D

Best thing about it was I managed to convince a few of our mutual friends that it was somebody else so I got a good bit of help passing the buck, he was still wary of me though.

Did you hear about the Bank of Ireland? I'll say no more  :-X
Post by: illdecide on January 09, 2009, 02:39:47 PM
Hi final whistle you go easy there....there's 2 prams in my house ;) :D
Post by: corn02 on January 09, 2009, 02:42:39 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 10:59:20 AM
Not a good idea FW, I started one last year that a friend got fired form the clothes shop he worked in for stealing stock.  It got back to me very quickly and needless to say things were hostile for a while.

Personally though I thought it was a good one!

Ah yes rmember that, wans't that himself with a surname beginning with F?
Post by: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 02:45:05 PM
Twas indeed!

But I shifted the majority of the blame on to himself with the massive head  :D
Post by: tieroan on January 09, 2009, 03:17:05 PM
Hi folks. Please note that this is not in Coalisland as the heading would suggest. It is in Brackaville. A totally different place.
Post by: Final Whistle on January 09, 2009, 04:00:46 PM
Quote from: tieroan on January 09, 2009, 03:17:05 PM
Hi folks. Please note that this is not in Coalisland as the heading would suggest. It is in Brackaville. A totally different place.

would brackaville not be considered as fianna people deep down? all play for each others teams etc!!!

Post by: amigo on January 09, 2009, 04:32:08 PM
A wee bit like the Moy and Armagh! ;)
Post by: corn02 on January 09, 2009, 04:34:16 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 02:45:05 PM
Twas indeed!

But I shifted the majority of the blame on to himself with the massive head  :D

Ah yes, indeed. That blew out of proportion fast.
Post by: Final Whistle on January 09, 2009, 05:02:56 PM
Quote from: amigo on January 09, 2009, 04:32:08 PM
A wee bit like the Moy and Armagh! ;)

no amigo, not again.

Ok, coalisland is a club, brackaville is a club.
Moy is a club but armagh is a ...........(deep breath) county.

If you had of said collegeland, port mor, killyman, eglish, dungannon, grange, clonmore,maghery it would have worked.

armagh however is a county! ::)
Post by: wrecked_em on January 09, 2009, 05:37:52 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 09, 2009, 10:36:10 AM

like lourdes or knock
Post by: ziggysego on January 11, 2009, 01:28:43 PM
Have you seen her? Is she a looker? Must get myself over there, with my best glad rags on.
Post by: ziggysego on January 11, 2009, 01:47:18 PM
I've heard it's a sign of good luck to see two Everton fans together, such is the rarity.
Post by: tyroneboi on January 11, 2009, 02:16:55 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 11, 2009, 12:04:59 PM
Seems crowds are still gathering outside this house every night.
I was talking to a man from Brackaville in his mid 50s yesterday and he told he remembers this woman people are saying has been dashing across the road. He told me when she died she lay behind the door of the house for 4-5 days before a homehelp found her. Is ironic now all the people that are going to the house now to see her... 

That would be a good story apart from the fact that she had long since left the house and was residing in a home when she died!
Post by: Doire abĂș on January 11, 2009, 08:26:23 PM
Coalisland will do youse rightly.

That or New Mills.  :P
Post by: tyroneboi on January 11, 2009, 08:31:47 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 11, 2009, 04:23:31 PM
Boi... Did you know her... this fellow did. Then again it mightn't be her at all...  

She definitely died in a nursing home in Roughan. Its all been blown way out of proportion the whole thing. I see there is a video on the Guardian website about it as well.
Post by: under the bar on January 11, 2009, 08:35:49 PM
Well you are more likely to see a ghost round coalisland than a man working...or a fianna player with a county medal!
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2009, 08:41:05 PM
Ghost-oh.
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2009, 10:53:37 PM
Never trust 'the man'.

He once told me to give chocolate to a mentally deficient dog I had. I did and the mutt ran around in circles for a minute and sprinted off into the distance, never to be seen again.
Post by: leenie on January 13, 2009, 01:21:37 AM
"It looks an old woman with a white dress and a long white cape down her back," said 17-year-old Ryan Bell who claims to have seen the ghost at least six times.

its the feckin banshee!
Post by: SidelineKick on January 13, 2009, 09:55:22 AM
Quote from: leenie on January 13, 2009, 01:21:37 AM
"It looks an old woman with a white dress and a long white cape down her back," said 17-year-old Ryan Bell who claims to have seen the ghost at least six times.

its the feckin banshee!

Maybe it was an old woman with a white dress and long white cape down her back.
Post by: T Fearon on January 13, 2009, 11:58:56 AM
That description fits Bronagh O'Neill, wife of the bold Shane. She walks the hills in the dead of night, wailing for her first love, a man with a full head of hair from the Washing Bay who emigrated to Maghery in 1989, never to return! :D
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 13, 2009, 12:22:29 PM
Meant to post earlier. On the last word a few days ago they had that pub owner on and he said the woman was headless! Then later he said she had a sad face. How in the name of god did she manage this? Sounds like a scam to get an airport built to me...oh wait no that was somewhere else.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 14, 2009, 10:59:56 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 11, 2009, 08:41:55 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 11, 2009, 08:41:05 PM
Ghost-oh.
Indeed.

You love talking about Ardboe HS  :D
Post by: orangeman on January 14, 2009, 11:03:18 PM
I took a wee race up there last night  - I definitely saw the ghost  -it was kinda weird - all the lads with me saw her as well.

The crowds were huge.

Why not pay a visit ? You'll get your eyes opened !
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 14, 2009, 11:04:11 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 14, 2009, 11:00:47 PM
Sure I was in your class at Primary School. :D

Reported - for outing my real identity
Post by: mannix on January 15, 2009, 01:50:33 AM
i think you northern lads are taking this peace and sam maguire thing too seriously.
Post by: ziggysego on January 16, 2009, 01:24:07 AM
I've seen several ghosts in my time, so I won't be discounting this off-hand.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 16, 2009, 08:50:25 AM
Tell us more Ziggy...
Post by: Hardy on January 16, 2009, 10:08:00 AM
Ziggy - you haven't seen any ghosts. Ghosts don't exist. Reassess.
Post by: ziggysego on January 16, 2009, 11:10:47 AM
Saw the Devil and he laughed at me. Met the Banshee and she hit me.
Post by: maddog on January 16, 2009, 11:40:10 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 16, 2009, 11:10:47 AM
Saw the Devil and he laughed at me. Met the Banshee and she hit me.

Lack of sleep, alcohol, drugs ?
Post by: ziggysego on January 16, 2009, 11:46:03 AM
Neither ;)