Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: SidelineKick on January 07, 2009, 11:32:29 AM

Title: Favourite and not-so-favourite song lyrics
Post by: SidelineKick on January 07, 2009, 11:32:29 AM
There are some great lyrics to songs that are very poetic then there are lyrics that are pure trash.

One of my favourite lines of a song is from Me and Bobby McGee:

"I'd trade all my tomorrows for a single yesterday"

One of my not-so-favourite lyrics were from the song I believe was called Life:

"I wouldn't like to see a ghost, it's a sight I fear most, I'd rather have a piece of toast, watch the evening news"

That sucks f**king ass.

Are there any lines in particular songs that stand out for you? (For whatever reason)
Title: Re: Amhrán
Post by: SidelineKick on January 07, 2009, 11:43:27 AM
Quote from: drici on January 07, 2009, 11:40:48 AM
Ma! Ma! Will you buy me a
Buy me a
Buy me a
Ma! Ma! Will you buy me a
Buy me a ba-nan-a

:D God its been a while since I've heard anybody sing that!
Title: Re: Favourite and not-so-favourite song lyrics
Post by: Denn Forever on January 07, 2009, 11:44:46 AM
Not so Favorite

The Lyrics I hate and it has nothing to do with the merits or otherwise of her music is Brittney Spears is "Hit me Baby one more time".  Probably reading to much into it but is this an incitement/acceptance of violence against women?

There is also an All Saints song with similar sentiments that makes my skin crawl.

Post by: full back on January 07, 2009, 11:51:23 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on January 07, 2009, 11:44:46 AM
Not so Favorite

The Lyrics I hate and it has nothing to do with the merits or otherwise of her music is Brittney Spears is "Hit me Baby one more time".  Probably reading to much into it but is this an incitement/acceptance of violence against women?

I wouldnt say it is about violence towards women, more about her getting the roide
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2009, 11:57:06 AM
Possibly my all-time worst line from a song -  from Horse With No Name by America:

"There were plants and birds and rocks and things ..."

The man who wrote some of the greatest lyrics ever heard, such a A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall also perpetrated some stinkers. This is my worst favourite, so to speak (from The Ballad Of Frankie Lee And Judas Priest):

"For sixteen nights and days he raved,
But on the seventeenth he burst"

(OK - it's followed by "into the arms of Judas Priest"). In fact it's worth reading the lyrics of that whole song - I'm guessing it was writtren by one of his kids when he was about 6. E.g.:

"Oh, yes, he is my friend,"
Said Frankie Lee in fright,
"I do recall him very well,
In fact, he just left my sight."
"Yes, that's the one," said the stranger,
As quiet as a mouse,
"Well, my message is, he's down the road,
Stranded in a house."
Post by: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 12:15:13 PM
On Hardy's theme, Springsteen could write some stinkers along with the great.  On Darkness on the Edge of Town, on the positive side you have 'Adam raised a Cain',:

In the summer that I was baptized, my father held me to his side
As they put me to the water, he said how on that day I cried
We were prisoners of love, a love in chains
He was standin' in the door, I was standin' in the rain
With the same hot blood burning in our veins
Adam raised a Cain

All of the old faces ask you why you're back
They fit you with position and the keys to your daddy's Cadillac
In the darkness of your room your mother calls you by your true name
You remember the faces, the places, the names
You know it's never over, it's relentless as the rain
Adam raised a Cain

In the Bible, mamma, Cain slew Abel and East of Eden, mamma, he was cast
You're born into this life paying for the sins of somebody else's past
Well Daddy worked his whole life for nothing but the pain
Now he walks these empty rooms looking for something to blame
But you inherit the sins, you inherit the flames
Adam raised a Cain

And then you get 'Prove it all night' (ouch):

I've been working real hard, trying to get my hands clean
We'll drive that dusty road from Monroe to Angeline
To buy you a gold ring and a pretty dress of blue
Baby just one kiss will get these things for you
A kiss to seal our fate tonight
A kiss to prove it all night

Prove it all night
Girl there's nothing else that we can do
So prove it all night, prove it all night
And girl I'll prove it all night for you

Everybody's got a hunger, a hunger they can't resist
There's so much that you want, you deserve much more than this
But if dreams came true, oh, wouldn't that be nice
But this ain't no dream we're living out through tonight
Girl, you want it, you take it, you pay the price

Prove it all night, prove it all night
Prove it all night, girl, and call the bluff
prove it all night, prove it all night and girl
I prove it all night for your love

Baby, tie your hair back in a long white bow
Meet me in the fields behind the dynamo
You hear the voices telling you not to go
They made their choices and they'll never know
What it means to steal, to cheat, to lie
What it's like to live and die

To prove it all night, prove it all night
Post by: Denn Forever on January 07, 2009, 12:27:28 PM
Best Lyric from the Bard of Epping, Billy Bragg.

Then she cut her hair and I stopped loving her.[/size]
Put young love so succinctly and accurately.
Post by: downredblack on January 07, 2009, 12:33:46 PM
Loads of Favorite lyrics ,heres an opener .

Oh must you tell me all your secrets
When it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing

Lloyd Cole - Four Fights up .
Post by: SidelineKick on January 07, 2009, 12:39:00 PM
Very very relevant in todays current economic climate:

I'm an ordinary man, nothin' special nothin' grand,
I've had to work for everything I own,
Well I never asked for a lot, I was happy with what I got,
Enough to keep my family and my home,
Now they say that times are hard & they've handed me my cards,
They say there's not the work to go around,
When the whistle blows the gates will finally close,
Tonight they're going to shut this factory down,
Then they'll tear it down.

I never missed a day nor went on strike for better pay,
For 20 years I served them best I could,
With a handshake and a cheque it seems so easy to forget,
Loyalty through the bad times and the good,
The owner says he's sad to see that things have got so bad,
But the Captains of industry won't let him loose,
He still drives a car and smokes a cigar,
And still he takes his family on a cruise,
He'll never lose.

Now it seems to me to be such a cruel irony,
He's richer now ever he was before,
Now my cheque is all spent and I can't afford the rent,
There's one law for the rich, one for the poor,
Every day I've tried to salvage some of my pride,
To find some work so's I might pay my way,
But everywhere I go, the answer is always no,
There's no work for anyone here today,
No work today.

And so condemned I stand, just an ordinary man,
Like thousands beside me in the queue,
I watch my darlin' wife tryin' to make the best of life,
God knows what the kids are goin' to do,
Now that we are faced with this human waste,
A generation cast aside,
For as long as I live, I never will forgive,
You've stripped me of my dignity & pride,
You've stripped me bare.
Post by: 118cmal on January 07, 2009, 12:43:24 PM
Two lines from Springsteen's Thunder Road spring to mind:

'You ain't a beauty but hey you're alright' - I think very few people could make such a line seem like a compliment but somehow Bruce does it.

Also 'Like a vision she dances across the porch as the radio plays' - Not amazing lyrics, but it sends a shiver down my spine when I hear that line.  By the way if any of you are unfamiliar with Thunder Road I seriously recommend you download it!

Another classic line IMO comes from James and Sit Down:

'If I hadn't seen such riches I could live with being poor'
Post by: muppet on January 07, 2009, 12:47:23 PM
The much maligned (in Ireland) Bono wrote:

"Where you live should not decide, whether you live or whether you die" - Crumbs from your table

Given the week that's in it that is my top lyric.

Worst lyric that I can think of:

"Fog on the Tyne 's all mine, all mine" - Trad/Gazza

Post by: Homer on January 07, 2009, 01:01:34 PM
The Ballad of Ronnie Drew was truly awful and a very unbefitting tribute to the great man.

Here's to you, Ronnie Drew
Ronnie Drew, we love you, yes we do
Here's to you, Ronnie Drew, here's to you

That Bryan McFadden is another stalwart of the Fisher Price lyrics club.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 07, 2009, 01:13:44 PM
What about good old Ronan Keating and ?????:

"You sc**bag you maggot, you're cheap and you're haggard"

That is definitely the worst.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:16:09 PM
Probably the most nonsensical and idiotic line that I've ever had the misfortune to be subjected to, from Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam's Father And Son:

it's not time to make a change
just relax and take it easy
you're still young that's your fault
there's so much you have to know

No it's not his fecking fault, you numpty, what do think he did, put Rohypnol in his mother's vodka and force fed his old man oysters, only 10 years too late?
Post by: Treasurer on January 07, 2009, 01:24:31 PM
Posted this before I think this is an old song I heard as a child.  A train driver  has a sick, possibly dying, child but cannot get the night off work.  His train passes near his house however so he asks his wife to....

"Just hang a light, I'll pass by tonight
Hang it where it can be seen
If our child is dead, please show me the red
If she lives, then show me the green"
Post by: muppet on January 07, 2009, 01:28:57 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:16:09 PM
Probably the most nonsensical and idiotic line that I've ever had the misfortune to be subjected to, from Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam's Father And Son:

No it's not his fecking fault, you numpty, what do think he did, put Rohypnol in his mother's vodka and force fed his old man oysters, only 10 years too late?

I always understood that as 'fault' as in weakness or defect (in this case temporary as it will improve with time) rather than 'fault' as in attaching blame.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:37:09 PM
I've never, ever, heard fault used in that sense when being ascribed to an individual muppet, and I wouldn't even be sure that that makes sense (in very literal terms); it always in my experience refers to personal culpability.

Post by: muppet on January 07, 2009, 01:39:20 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:37:09 PM
I've never, ever, heard fault used in that sense when being ascribed to an individual muppet, and I wouldn't even be sure that that makes sense (in very literal terms); it always in my experience refers to personal culpability.

A character fault?
Post by: Treasurer on January 07, 2009, 01:39:55 PM
fault

• noun
1 an unattractive or unsatisfactory feature; a defect or mistake.
2 responsibility for an accident or misfortune.
3 (in tennis) a service that infringes the rules.
4 Geology an extended break in a rock formation, marked by the relative displacement and discontinuity of strata.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:45:47 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 07, 2009, 01:39:20 PM
A character fault?

Being young, a character fault?

Anyway, unless the specific character fault had been previously mentioned, his' fault' would only mean his culpability, and not the geological fault in the earth's crust that he happens to be straddled across at that instant. Pure crap lyric.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 01:52:32 PM
I always understood it the way Muppet described too.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 07, 2009, 01:54:54 PM
July please,
I'm on my knees,
The smell of you fresh cut grass,
Your blue sky grins
For all it's sins
Look another gorgeous levi ass
July people come and go
It looks like another perfect day
Just to see your
Striptease show
July please try your best to stay
And a mongrel begins to bark
At a wino in the park
And his owner doesn't care
'cause he really isn't there.........
Oh! ma ma ma, oh! ma ma ma, oh! ma ma ma
My july
July, fizz bombs in my mouth
Babarama everywhere
I can't lie on my pocket trout
So I sit back in the easy chair
And a woman of middle age
Licks and thumbs another page
Then she brushes off the dirt
From her greayhound
Oh! ma ma ma, oh! ma ma ma, oh! ma ma ma
My july
July, fizz bombs in my mouth
Babarama everywhere
I can't lie on my pocket trout
So I sit back in the easy chair
And a woman of middle age
Licks and thumbs another page
Then she brushes off the dirt
From her greayhound
And a baby sucks it's thumb
To the sound of a steal drum
And fountain water gush
Through the thick bull rush (everybody)
Post by: Orior on January 07, 2009, 01:57:21 PM
Dexy's Midnight Runners - Geno

Ghacnh dghpd ghng hg hguh chughdh
Oh, Geno
Bdghd mhgdh ghd ghdd hdwg wpdydp
Oh-oh-oh Geno-o
Post by: muppet on January 07, 2009, 01:58:20 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:45:47 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 07, 2009, 01:39:20 PM
A character fault?

Being young, a character fault?

Anyway, unless the specific character fault had been previously mentioned, his' fault' would only mean his culpability, and not the geological fault in the earth's crust that he happens to be straddled across at that instant. Pure crap lyric.

I am not posting this to debate the merits of the lyric, which is purely subjective.

However, you have dismissed my interpretation out of hand, despite a big clue in the first line of Treasurer's definition.

Here is more: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/fault (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/fault)

noun:

1.   a defect or imperfection; flaw; failing: a fault in the brakes; a fault in one's character

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:59:38 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 01:52:32 PM

OK lads, obviously I'm tangling here with Yusuf Islam's fan club here ;)

Can you give me one other example, where one individual addresses another with "That's your fault", where it doesn't mean that's your blame?

And even if it means, in this song's context, that that's your 'defect', how is his being young a 'defect'?

Quote from: muppet on January 07, 2009, 01:58:20 PM
However, you have dismissed my interpretation out of hand, despite a big clue in the first line of Treasurer's definition.

No I didn't, I merely pointed out that the character fault must have been previously alluded to in order to make any sense, and being young is not a character fault.

Edit: I believe that perhaps the lyric should have been "that's your flaw", which would have made sense in that he has so much to learn, but which was mangled in the actual recorded version.
Post by: Orior on January 07, 2009, 02:02:02 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:59:38 PM

Can you give me one other example, where one individual addresses another with "That's your fault", where it doesn't mean that's your blame?

And even if it means, in this song's context, that that's your 'defect', how is his being young a 'defect'?

Either way, its a brilliant song by Cat Stevens, but murdered by Boyzonne who either didnt get it or just couldnt deliver.
Post by: muppet on January 07, 2009, 02:06:00 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:59:38 PM

Youth or inexperience is frequently seen as a defect, for example imagine if you are choosing Kieran Donaghy or Sean Walsh for FF. You could reasonably argue that Walsh is younger and on that criterium Donaghy gets the nod. Youth in that could might be described as Walsh's only fault.

Post by: lfdown2 on January 07, 2009, 02:06:55 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 01:16:09 PM

WOW WOW WOW Stop the bus.......

ye mean this isnt a boyzone song????? :o :o :o
Post by: sail_in on January 07, 2009, 02:09:49 PM
At the minute my favourite lyric is probably from REM's At My Most Beautiful:

"You always say your name like I wouldn't know it's you"

So true - people you're fond of don't have to begin phone conversations with anything like "Hi, this is ***whoever***", you already know from the fist instant you hear their voice.

There are sh1t-loads of cr@p lyrics - anything that doesn't really make sense, but rhymes or has enough syllables to fit into the line.  Take a bow Bono:

"A mole, diggin' in a hole, diggin' on my soul now going down excavation ..." and continue to the point where you feel like throwing the radio off the wall.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 02:14:50 PM
QuoteOK lads, obviously I'm tangling here with Yusuf Islam's fan club here

Go and sh*te, ye bollix.   :P  I was just trying to help you to broaden your syntactical appreciation.   :P  :P
Post by: thejuice on January 07, 2009, 02:15:51 PM
Empire Falls

QuoteA cold wind is blowing
Through the graves it is blowing
And it bares a poisoned tongue
And the foul breath of deceit

I am my fathers son
And his deeds
Cannot be undone... be undone

You trade in his blood
Writing your history
In the sacrifices of the dead

Where is the fighting man?
Am I he?
You would trade every truth
For hollow victories

Every empire will fall
Every monument crumble
Forgotten men who watch the centuries

Whose silent words
Rise up in betrayal
We will rise up in betrayal

Am I he?
For hollow victories

Every empire falls
And the earth to ashes turn
The lands of my birth
Shall be my tomb

These are the lands, the lands of my birth
Soon to be ruins, the ruins of my past
And when the sky should fall
The earth to ashes turn
Then you know they shall be my tomb

I am he
For hollow victories
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 02:19:31 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 02:14:50 PM

Go and sh*te, ye bollix.   :P  I was just trying to help you to broaden your syntactical appreciation.   :P  :P

Nonsensical apprecation you mean!  ;)

We can all find any number of definitions in a dictionary to force those square pegs into round holes, but if something makes little sense in the spoken word, it makes little sense, and we're not talking here about poetic licence or beautifully abstruse interpretations. Anyway, that's your fault.
Post by: muppet on January 07, 2009, 02:24:11 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 07, 2009, 02:19:31 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 02:14:50 PM

Nonsensical apprecation you mean!  ;)

We can all find any number of definitions in a dictionary to force those square pegs into round holes, but if something makes little sense in the spoken word, it makes little sense, and we're not talking here about poetic licence or beautifully abstruse interpretations. Anyway, that's your fault.

I am not familiar with either of those acts.
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2009, 02:30:19 PM
Yizzer all wrong. It's plain and obvious it's about show jumping.
Post by: red hander on January 07, 2009, 02:38:06 PM
The lyrics to She's Electric by Oasis are total and utter shite ... why haven't this shower of manchester hod carriers been sussed out yet?
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2009, 02:54:21 PM
I was going to cite again the first line of the national anthem of Ukraine - "Ukraine is not dead yet", but I checked and they've changed it to "Ukraine's glory has not perished". Pity.
Post by: muppet on January 07, 2009, 03:23:14 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2009, 02:54:21 PM
I was going to cite again the first line of the national anthem of Ukraine - "Ukraine is not dead yet", but I checked and they've changed it to "Ukraine's glory has not perished". Pity.

Is the second line: "We've Russian gas to keep it warm"?
Post by: heganboy on January 07, 2009, 03:28:34 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 07, 2009, 03:23:14 PM

Getting funny looks here- laughed my ass off at that one
Post by: muppet on January 07, 2009, 03:30:23 PM
Quote from: heganboy on January 07, 2009, 03:28:34 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 07, 2009, 03:23:14 PM

Getting funny looks here- laughed my ass off at that one

Third line:

"We've found a hole in Putin's pipe"
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 07, 2009, 03:47:36 PM
I can't be arsed quoting verbatim but anything penned by Dolores Cranberry is painful to listen to.

And to make matters worse she sings the effing thing as well. Christ wept.

Other notable crimes (I restrict this to Irish stuff) was Mushroom's (Anus McAnally's band) one and only album 'Early One Morning'. The whole album was a horror fest and if anyone wants a good laugh let me know and I'll burn a copy.
Post by: downredblack on January 07, 2009, 03:53:45 PM
He thinks he got the whole world in his hands
Stood at the urinal
Post by: Puckoon on January 07, 2009, 05:14:28 PM
A few good ones

Guy Clark -she aint goin nowhere

Standin' on the gone side of leavin'.
She found a thumb and stuck it in the breeze.
She'll take anything that's goin' close to somewhere.
She can lay it down and live it like she'd please

Chorus
She ain't goin' nowhere, she's just leavin'.
She ain't goin' nowhere she can't breathe in.
And she ain't goin' home, and that's for sure.

Christy Moore - Yellow Triangle

Then they began to take the jews
When they fetched the people who were member s of trades unions
I did not speak

Then they took the bible students
Round they took the homosexuals
Then they gathered up the students and the gypsies

I did not speak

Eventually they came for me there was no one left to speak

Bob Dylan - The lonesome death of hattie carroll

But you who philosophize disgrace and criticize all fears,
Take the rag away from your face.
Now ain't the time for your tears

(x3)

but you who philosophize disgrace and criticize all fears,
Bury the rag deep in your face
For now's the time for your tears.

Hurt - Trent Reznor (Johnny Cash)

If i could start again
A million miles away
I would keep myself
I would find a way

Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2009, 05:32:05 PM
Hey - we can't have a "worst lyrics " session without putting in a word for Neil Diamond. How about

I am, I said, to no-one there
And no-one heard at all, not even the chair.  :o

Post by: muppet on January 07, 2009, 05:38:21 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2009, 05:32:05 PM
Hey - we can't have a "worst lyrics " session without putting in a word for Neil Diamond. How about

I am, I said, to no-one there
And no-one heard at all, not even the chair.  :o

The chair was listening to the Doors.

Or the Walls.
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2009, 05:43:01 PM
Come to think of it maybe he was listening to some of the lads who stand up at meetings and say: "Through the chair ... "
Post by: Puckoon on January 07, 2009, 05:53:16 PM
Diamonds not the worst - on the whole.

'If your captain of a shipwreck, ill be first mate to your shame"

Anyone?
Post by: laceer on January 07, 2009, 06:23:36 PM
One of my favourites

It's better to burn out
Than to fade away

Neil Young - Hey Hey My My
Post by: downredblack on January 07, 2009, 06:25:38 PM
Brickbat - BB

I ought to leave enough hot water
For your morning bath, but I'd not thought
I hate to hear you talk that way
But I can't bring myself to say I'm sorry

The past is always knocking incessant
Trying to break through into the present
We have to work to keep it out
But I won't be the first to SHOUT it's over

I used to want to plant bombs at the Last Night of the Proms
But now you'll find me with the baby, in the bathroom,
With that big shell, listening for the sound of the sea

I steal a kiss from you in the supermarket
I walk you down the aisle, you fill my basket
And through it all, the stick I take Is worth it for the love we make

I used to want to plant bombs at the Last Night of the Proms
But now you'll find me with the baby, in the bathroom,
With that big shell, listening for the sound of the sea,
The baby and me

I stayed in bed, alone, uncertain
Then I met you, you drew the curtain
The sun came up, the trees began to sing
The light shone in on everything.
I love you.

The sun came up, the trees began to sing
The light shone in on everything.
I love you.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 07, 2009, 10:59:42 PM
Best Lyric -

Katie, she is tall and thin. She likes a drop of brandy.
Drinks it in the bed at night,
It makes her nice and randy.
Some say the devil is dead...............................
Post by: stiffler on January 07, 2009, 11:07:50 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 07, 2009, 11:32:29 AM
There are some great lyrics to songs that are very poetic then there are lyrics that are pure trash.

One of my favourite lines of a song is from Me and Bobby McGee:

"I'd trade all my tomorrows for a single yesterday"

One of my not-so-favourite lyrics were from the song I believe was called Life:

"I wouldn't like to see a ghost, it's a sight I fear most, I'd rather have a piece of toast, watch the evening news"

That sucks f**king ass.

Are there any lines in particular songs that stand out for you? (For whatever reason)

once i seen this thread thats the first line that came into my head!
Post by: ONeill on January 07, 2009, 11:23:34 PM
TERRIBLE:
Roxette:

Oh I get up and make myself some coffee.
I try to read a bit but the story's too thin.
I thank the Lord above
you're not here to see me in this shape I'm in.

EXCELLENT:
Tommy Sands:

So here's good luck to the eldest Dunne likewise the youngest Dunne,
Let's hope the youngest Dunne can do as the eldest Dunne has done.
For any man could be well done in this great wicked world,
What's done by Dunne must be well done so well done good old Dunne.

For there was high Dunne and low Dunne, overdone and underdone,
All the other younger Dunne's it's in and out they run,
There was old Dunne and young Dunne and young Dunne's younger son,
And young Dunne will be a Dunne when the old Dunne's done.
Post by: J70 on January 07, 2009, 11:30:01 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 12:15:13 PM
On Hardy's theme, Springsteen could write some stinkers along with the great.  On Darkness on the Edge of Town, on the positive side you have 'Adam raised a Cain',:

In the summer that I was baptized, my father held me to his side
As they put me to the water, he said how on that day I cried
We were prisoners of love, a love in chains
He was standin' in the door, I was standin' in the rain
With the same hot blood burning in our veins
Adam raised a Cain

All of the old faces ask you why you're back
They fit you with position and the keys to your daddy's Cadillac
In the darkness of your room your mother calls you by your true name
You remember the faces, the places, the names
You know it's never over, it's relentless as the rain
Adam raised a Cain

In the Bible, mamma, Cain slew Abel and East of Eden, mamma, he was cast
You're born into this life paying for the sins of somebody else's past
Well Daddy worked his whole life for nothing but the pain
Now he walks these empty rooms looking for something to blame
But you inherit the sins, you inherit the flames
Adam raised a Cain

And then you get 'Prove it all night' (ouch):

I've been working real hard, trying to get my hands clean
We'll drive that dusty road from Monroe to Angeline
To buy you a gold ring and a pretty dress of blue
Baby just one kiss will get these things for you
A kiss to seal our fate tonight
A kiss to prove it all night

Prove it all night

Everybody's got a hunger, a hunger they can't resist
There's so much that you want, you deserve much more than this
But if dreams came true, oh, wouldn't that be nice
But this ain't no dream we're living out through tonight
Girl, you want it, you take it, you pay the price

Prove it all night, prove it all night
Prove it all night, girl, and call the bluff
prove it all night, prove it all night and girl
I prove it all night for your love

Baby, tie your hair back in a long white bow
Meet me in the fields behind the dynamo
You hear the voices telling you not to go
They made their choices and they'll never know
What it means to steal, to cheat, to lie
What it's like to live and die

To prove it all night, prove it all night

Prove it all night?!!! ;D

That's among his best songs! I'm not saying Springsteen hasn't released any poor quality, but Prove it is not poor in any shape or form.

I would have gone for something like Man's Job or Real Man from the Human Touch album myself.
Post by: J70 on January 07, 2009, 11:40:10 PM
Some class stuff on Springsteen's first album: here's one example, but there's plenty more...

Blinded by the light

Madman drummers bummers and Indians in the summer with a teenage diplomat
In the dumps with the mumps as the adolescent pumps his way into his hat
With a boulder on my shoulder, feelin' kinda older, I tripped the merry-go-round
With this very unpleasing sneezing and wheezing, the calliope crashed to the ground
Some all-hot half-shot was headin' for the hot spot, snappin' his fingers, clappin' his hands
And some fleshpot mascot was tied into a lover's knot with a whatnot in her hand
And now young Scott with a slingshot finally found a tender spot and throws his lover in the sand
And some bloodshot forget-me-not whispers, "Daddy's within earshot, save the buckshot, turn up the band"

And she was blinded by the light
Cut loose like a deuce, another runner in the night
Blinded by the light
She got down but she never got tight, but she'll make it alright

Some brimstone baritone anti-cyclone rolling stone preacher from the East
He says, "Dethrone the dictaphone, hit it in its funny bone, that's where they expect it least"
And some new-mown chaperone was standin' in the corner all alone, watchin' the young girls dance
And some fresh-sown moonstone was messin' with his frozen zone to remind him of the feeling of romance

Yeah, he was blinded by the light
Blinded by the light
He got down but he never got tight, but he's gonna make it tonight

Some silicone sister with her manager's mister told me I got what it takes
She said, "I'll turn you on, sonny, to something strong if you play that song with the funky break"
And Go-Cart Mozart was checkin' out the weather chart to see if it was safe to go outside
And little Early-Pearly came by in her curly-wurly and asked me if I needed a ride
Oh, some hazard from Harvard was skunked on beer, playin' backyard bombardier
Yes, and Scotland Yard was trying hard, they sent some dude with a calling card, he said, "Do what you like, but don't do it here"
Well, I jumped up, turned around, spit in the air, fell on the ground and asked him which was the way back home
He said, "Take a right at the light, keep goin' straight until night, and then, boy, you're on your own"
And now in Zanzibar, a shootin' star was ridin' in a side car, hummin' a lunar tune
Yes, and the avatar said, "Blow the bar but first remove the cookie jar, we're gonna teach those boys to laugh too soon"
And some kidnapped handicap was complainin' that he caught the clap from some mousetrap he bought last night
Well, I unsnapped his skull cap and between his ears I saw a gap but figured he'd be all right

He was just blinded by the light
Blinded by the light
Mama always told me not to look into the sights of the sun
Oh, but Mama, that's where the fun is
I was blinded
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 07, 2009, 11:48:59 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 07, 2009, 11:23:34 PM

EXCELLENT:
Tommy Sands:

So here's good luck to the eldest Dunne likewise the youngest Dunne,
Let's hope the youngest Dunne can do as the eldest Dunne has done.
For any man could be well done in this great wicked world,
What's done by Dunne must be well done so well done good old Dunne.

For there was high Dunne and low Dunne, overdone and underdone,
All the other younger Dunne's it's in and out they run,
There was old Dunne and young Dunne and young Dunne's younger son,
And young Dunne will be a Dunne when the old Dunne's done.

Was their mother Dunne before she was married?? I'll get my coat . . .
Post by: Billys Boots on January 08, 2009, 09:14:41 AM
QuoteThat's among his best songs! I'm not saying Springsteen hasn't released any poor quality, but Prove it is not poor in any shape or form.

Sorry J70, but I still think it's bloody awful, and stands out (for Springsteen) in its awfulness.
Post by: Orior on January 08, 2009, 09:18:50 AM
Kenny Everett - Its a Rap

You can chuck in a word like Circumcision
Cause we're not going in for the Eurovision
Post by: TirEoghaingodeo on January 08, 2009, 12:30:42 PM
Have to take issue with the man who said Bono is a terrible lyricist, fair enough there's the odd bit of poppy rubbish like  Elevation, but on the whole i think his lyrics are all pretty good. I'll give my favourite lyric from my favourite U2.

So Cruel

You don't know if it's fear or desire
Danger the drug that takes you higher
Head in heaven, fingers in the mire

Her heart is racing, you can't keep up
The night is bleeding like a cut
Between the horses of love and lust
We are trampled underfoot

Honourable mention to the beatles, In My Life

There are places i'll remember
All my life though some have changed
Some forever not for better
Some have gone and some remain
All these places have their moments
With lovers and friends i still can recall
Some are dead and some are living
In my life i've loved them all

But of all these friends and lovers
There is no one compares with you
And these memories lose their meaning
When i think of love as something new
Though i know i'll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know i'll often stop and think about them
In my life i love you more

Though i know i'll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know i'll often stop and think about them
Post by: antigpa on January 08, 2009, 12:47:11 PM
"left my lover sleeping on the overnight train
God knows if she'll wake in France or Spain
But Ill be in Germany with a litre of beer
and a 50 dollar hooker nibblin on my ear"

Post by: Doogie Browser on January 08, 2009, 01:08:01 PM
You can always rely on Ben Folds for some tasty lyrics:

give me my money back
give me my money back, you bitch
I want my money back
and don't forget
to give me back my black t-shirt
Post by: antigpa on January 08, 2009, 01:19:02 PM
"darlin when you wake up you'll not be amused  
dont feel your fine body 's been used and abused
just be happy with the lovin that you've been given
and know that Ill never be the cleanest of livin'

So what goes for a man who craves female flesh
but can never stay still or turn down something fresh
his life aint so happy his soul hurts real bad
quick fix by the beer and the hookers... so sad.

I wanted to settle and feed my aching soul
but instead Im destined for a life on the pull
woman after woman and still the pain comes
Ill be found dead some day in a cheap whores slum's
Ill be found dead some day in a cheap whores slum's... fade to finish.  
Post by: antigpa on January 08, 2009, 01:25:57 PM
If love was my building
will you be my arch-i- tect
will uou be my arch-i tect
Lets build this bitch together..

If futures are written like a book
will you be my bio - graph-er
will you be my bio-graph-er
Lets write this bitch now or never... 
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 08, 2009, 01:26:54 PM
The view from the Slieve Blooms,
In dreams I still can see
A beauty just as rare as you will find,
To see those scene's from childhood,
Once more I will return,
And meet those folk so friendly,and so kind
Lovely Laois I hear you calling...................
Post by: antigpa on January 08, 2009, 01:33:20 PM
As I trevelled from Rostrevor to Newry on a hard winters night
the sleet swirled so thickly I couldnt have seen out
not a sight could be seen sure the fog was that thick
when I got to newry I realised, Id missed the 'point
Id missed- the point. 
id missed the point Fade to finish..
I missed the point.
C) Jacklion 72
Post by: Billys Boots on January 15, 2009, 01:32:50 PM
It may have been Camelot for Jack and Jacqueline
But on the Che Guevara highway filling up with gasoline
Fidel Castro's brother spies a rich lady who's crying
Over luxury's disappointment
So he walks over and he's trying
To sympathise with her but he thinks that he should warn her
That the Third World is just around the corner

In the Soviet Union a scientist is blinded
By the resumption of nuclear testing and he is reminded
That Dr Robert Oppenheimer's optimism fell
At the first hurdle

In the Cheese Pavilion and the only noise I hear
Is the sound of someone stacking chairs
And mopping up spilt beer
And someone asking questions and basking in the light
Of the fifteen fame filled minutes of the fanzine writer

Mixing Pop and Politics he asks me what the use is
I offer him embarrassment and my usual excuses
While looking down the corridor
Out to where the van is waiting
I'm looking for the Great Leap Forwards

Jumble sales are organised and pamphlets have been posted
Even after closing time there's still parties to be hosted
You can be active with the activists
Or sleep in with the sleepers
While you're waiting for the Great Leap Forwards

One leap forward, two leaps back
Will politics get me the sack?

waiting for the great leap forwards

well here comes the future and you can't run from it
If you've got a blacklist I want to be on it

It's a mighty long way down rock 'n roll
From Top of the Pops to drawing the dole

If no one out there understands
Start your own revolution and cut out the middleman

In a perfect world we'd all sing in tune
But this is reality so get some room

waiting fort the great leap forwards

So join the struggle while you may
The Revolution is just a T-shirt away
Waiting for the Great Leap Forwards

(C) Stephen William Bragg
Post by: Billys Boots on January 15, 2009, 01:41:05 PM
One of them's off her food
And the other one's off his head
And both of them are off down the boozer
To drink a toast
To the one that he hates most
And she says there are no winners, only losers

Well if there are no winners
Then what is this he thinks
As he watches her complete a lap of honour
And he sits in the stands With his head in his hands
And he thinks of all the things
He'd like to bring down upon her

Revenge will bring cold comfort in this darkest hour
As the juke box says 'It's All Over Now'
And he stands and he screams
What have I done wrong
I've fallen in love with a little time bomb

In public he's such a man
He's punching at the walls with his bare and bloody hands
He's screaming and shouting and acting crazy
But at home he sits alone and he cries like a baby

He holds your letters but he can't read them
As he fights this loneliness that you call freedom
You said this would happen and you were not wrong
I've fallen in love with a little time bomb

(C) Stephen William Bragg
Post by: delboy on January 15, 2009, 01:49:08 PM
Worst lyrics ever have to go to steven segal and his "talk to my ass" song.

I especially love the fact that he thinks he has 4 legs, 4 hands and 4 eyes  :D

I woke up this mornin' and I asked my baby to fix me some scrambled eggs
Well she looked at me kinda surprised
And she said baby, you got your own two pair a legs

I went to bed last night, I tried to give my baby some love
Well she looked at me kinda surprised and she said
Baby you got your own two pair a hands
but you ain't got no glove

chorus

But thank you
for reminding me I got my own two pair of legs
oh and thank you
for reminding me I got my own two hands
but it seem like I got a new set of plans
I cant have no compromise
I hate to break it to you
but I got my own two pair a eyes

I went down to see my mama
and I told my mama my situation
she said son it sound like you need some excavation in your habitation
she said love goin' to have to have some give and take
if you can't have that you gonna have nothing but heart break

I went back home last night
I told my baby to get on up the road

Well she looked at me kinda surprised
Suddenly she not so cold
I told her I cant have no more sass
and from now on she can talk to my ass
Post by: Niall Quinn on September 27, 2010, 04:18:30 AM
by Bono, aged 31:
'a woman needs a man, like a fish needs a bicycle'
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on September 27, 2010, 05:45:33 AM
Arcade fire Rebellion (lies)

"Sleeping is giving in,
no matter what the time is"

Bellx1 - In Every Sunflower

"Standing on a black Ulster hill"

Bellx1 - Rocky took a lover

"She said 'I don't believe in any old Jesus
If there was a God, then why is my arse
The perfect height of kicking?'"

Not sure why i like the first two but the last one just makes so much sense.....

I am not sure if they are the greatest or the worst but Peter Sarstedt has some classics in "where do you go my lovely"

This is a favourite

When you go on your summer vacation
You go to Juan-les-Pins
With your carefully designed topless swimsuit
You get an even suntan on your back and on your legs

or

Your name, it is heard in high places
You know the Aga Khan
He sent you a racehorse for Christmas
And you keep it just for fun, for a laugh, a-ha-ha-ha
Post by: Hardy on September 27, 2010, 01:12:55 PM
There used to be a funny parody version around:

You walk like Benjy Riordan
And you talk like Micheál O'Hehir
Your clothes are all bought in Dunnes Stores
And the dandruff is thick in your hair ... and on your back and on your legs.

Your name is heard in high places
You're a good friend of Hector Gray
He gave you a greyhound for Christmas
And it shagged off on Steevenses Day, for a laugh, a-ha-ha-ha
Post by: J OGorman on September 27, 2010, 01:23:30 PM
"I drank to drown my sorrows, but my sorrows learnt to swim"
Post by: Denn Forever on September 27, 2010, 02:18:24 PM
Walk away Renee - Billy Bragg

She said it was just a figment of speech
And I said, "You mean figure?"
And she said, "No, figment"
Because she could never imagine it happening
But it did.

When we first met I played the shy boy
And when she spoke to me for the first time
My nose began to bleed
She guessed the rest

The next day we went on a bus ride to the ferry
And when nobody came to collect our fares
Well, I knew then this was something special
I couldn�t stop thinking about her
And every time I switched on the radio
There was somebody else singing a song about the two of us

It was just like being on a fast ride at the funfair
The sort you wanna get off because it�s scary
And then as soon as you�re off
You wanna get straight back on again

But our love is strange
And you have to take the crunchy with the smooth I s'pose
She began going out with Mr Potato Head
It was when I saw her in the car park
With his coat around her shoulders that I realised
I went home and thought about the two of them together
Until the bath water went cold around me

I thought about her eyes and the curve of her breasts
And about the point where their bodies met
I confronted her about it.
I said, "I�m the most illegible bachelor in town."
And she said, "Yea, that's why I can never understand
Any of those silly letters you send me."

And then one day it happened
She cut 'er hair and I stopped lovin' 'er
Post by: seafoid on September 27, 2010, 03:43:59 PM
Billy Bragg, between the wars

I was a miner
I was a docker
I was a railway man
Between the wars
I raised a family
In times of austerity
With sweat at the foundry
Between the wars

I paid the union and as times got harder
I looked to the government to help the working man
And they brought prosperity down at the armoury
"We're arming for peace me boys"
Between the wars

I kept the faith and I kept voting
Not for the iron fist but for the helping hand
For theirs is a land with a wall around it
And mine is a faith in my fellow man
Theirs is a land of hope and glory
Mine is the green field and the factory floor
Theirs are the skies all dark with bombers
And mine is the peace we knew
Between the wars

Call up the craftsmen
Bring me the draughtsmen
Build me a path from cradle to grave
And I'll give my consent
To any government
That does not deny a man a living wage

Go find the young men never to fight again
Bring up the banners from the days gone by
Sweet moderation
Heart of this nation
Desert us not, we are
Between the wars
Post by: Orior on September 27, 2010, 03:46:07 PM
Lyrics ruined by a ****:

Back in '68 in a sweaty club (Oh Geno)
Before Jimmy's Machine and The Rocksteady Rub (Oh Geno)
On a night when flowers didn't suit my shoes
After a week of flunking and bunking school
The lowest head in the crowd that night
Just practicing steps and keeping out of the fights

Academic inspiration, you gave me none
You were Michael the lover, the fighter that won
And now just look at me as I'm looking down on you
No I'm not being flash, it's what I'm built to do

That man took the stage, his towel was swinging high (Oh Geno)
This man was my bombers, my Dexy's, my high (Oh Geno)

The crowd, they all hailed you and chanted your name
But they never knew like we knew me and you were the same
And now you're all over, your song is so tame
You fed me, you bred me, I'll remember your name

Academic inspiration, you gave me none
You were Michael the lover, the fighter that won
And now just look at me as I'm looking down on you
No I'm not being flash, it's what I'm built to do

Oh Geno (oh geno)

Oh Geno
Post by: Billys Boots on September 27, 2010, 03:46:40 PM
QuoteBilly Bragg, between the wars

Some smart arse - Denn Forever will probably know, did a pisstake of this that went ...

I was a miner
I was a docker
I was f**king busy
Between the wars
Post by: Celt_Man on September 27, 2010, 03:47:43 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on September 27, 2010, 01:23:30 PM
"I drank to drown my sorrows, but my sorrows learnt to swim"

Flipping great line
Post by: Orior on September 27, 2010, 03:48:12 PM
Proper lyrics:

There was Johnny McEldoo and McGee and me
And a couple or two or three went on a spree one day
We had a bob or two which we knew how to blew
And the beer and whiskey flew and we all felt gay.
We visited McCann's McIllmann's Humpty Dan's.
We then went into Swann's our stomachs for to pack.
We ordered out a feed, which indeed we did need
And we finished it with speed but we still felt slack.

Johnny McEldoo turned red, white and blue
When a plate of Irish stew he soon put out of sight
He shouted out "Encore" with a roar for some more
That he never felt before such a keen appetite
He ordered eggs and ham, bread and jam, what a cram!
But him we couldn't ram though we tried our level best
For every thing we brought, cold or hot mattered not,
It went down him like a shot, but he still stood the test

He swallowed tripe and lard, by the yard, we got scared
We thought it would go hard when the waiter brought the bill
We told him to give o'er, but he swore he could lower
Twice as much again and more before he had his fill
He nearly supped a trough full of broth says McGrath,
"He'll devour the tablecloth if you don't hold him in
When the waiter brought the charge, McEldoo felt so large
He began to scowl and barge and his blood went on fire

He began to curse and swear tear his hair in despair
And to finish the affair called the shopman a liar
The shopman he drew out, and no doubt, he did clout
McEldoo he kicked about like an old football
He tattered all his clothes, broke his nose, I suppose
He'd have killed him with a few blows in no time at all

McEldoo began to howl, and to growl, by my sowl
He threw an empty bowl at the shopkeeper's head
It struck poor Mickey Flynn, peeled the skin off his chin
And the ructions did begin and we all fought and bled
The peelers did arrive, man alive, four or five,
And at us they made a drive for us all to march away.
We paid for all the mate, that we ate, stood a trate,
And went home to ruminate on the spree that day.

Post by: seafoid on September 27, 2010, 03:57:58 PM
Stereolab , the way will be opening

Total insubordination
Complete revolt, formal sabotage
Still it must be stressed that on this point
There is no room for compromise
Faint, all our crime is crime of physical setting
Except inside the mind (All inside the mind)
How come more and more futile
The American dream is the fertilize? (oh the fertilize)
Nothing at all can be expected
Except for the use of violence
Nothing at all can be changed if
Evolution turned us to silence
Confrontations clearing the way
Will be opening (will be opening)
Not as end in itself
But as a beginning (as a beginning

and

You say you`d like children
But you couldn't eat a whole one

Bell  x1
Post by: ross4life on September 27, 2010, 05:37:53 PM
Bob Seger Turn The Page great lyrics for any band on the road traveling

On a long and lonesome highway
East of Omaha
You can listen to the engine
Moanin' out his one note song
You can think about the woman
Or the girl you knew the night before
But your thoughts will soon be wandering
The way they always do
When you're ridin' sixteen hours
And there's nothin' much to do
And you don't feel much like ridin',
You just wish the trip was through

Here I am
On the road again
There I am
Up on the stage
Here I go
Playin' star again
There I go
Turn the page

Best divorce song ever?  The Winner Takes It All ABBA

I don't wanna talk
About the things we've gone through
Though it's hurting me
Now it's history
I've played all my cards
And that's what you've done too
Nothing more to say
No more ace to play

The winner takes it all
The loser standing small
Beside the victory
That's her destiny

I was in your arms
Thinking I belonged there
I figured it made sense
Building me a fence
Building me a home
Thinking I'd be strong there
But I was a fool
Playing by the rules

LYRICS of Hollaback Girl must be one of the worst?

Let me hear you say, this shit is bananas
B A N A N A S
This shit is bananas
B A N A N A S
Again, the shit is bananas
B A N A N A S
This shit is bananas
B A N A N A S

Post by: Orior on September 27, 2010, 09:11:50 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 27, 2010, 05:37:53 PM

B A N A N A S
This shit is bananas
B A N A N A S
This shit is bananas
B A N A N A S

True, but its a good song though, and Gwen is a fox.
Post by: ross4life on September 27, 2010, 09:14:55 PM
Bruce Springsteen Born In The U. S. A. Lyrics & to think the USA military use this song when going into battle, Don McLean American Pie/Vincent lyrics & Roy Orbison Crying are other favourites

And i wouldn't recommend Papa Roach Last Resort lyrics to Children 
Post by: Puckoon on September 27, 2010, 09:15:02 PM
The weight of lies will bring you down, and follow you to every town
'Cause nothing happens here that doesnt happen there
So when you run, make sure you run
To something and not away from
'Cause lies don't need an aeroplane to chase you down

The weight of Lies: The Avett Brothers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxHw5e1H10A (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxHw5e1H10A)
Post by: ross4life on September 27, 2010, 09:25:23 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 27, 2010, 09:11:50 PM

B A N A N A S
This shit is bananas
B A N A N A S
This shit is bananas
B A N A N A S

True, but its a good song though, and Gwen is a fox.

She's back now with No Doubt so her music should improve & indeed Orior at 40 & an mother of 4 she's still looking good

Post by: Puckoon on September 27, 2010, 09:29:02 PM
Orior is 40?  :o I thought she was younger than that.
Post by: bossanova on September 28, 2010, 12:26:49 AM
here goes, first post.

my fav line from a song ever. :you know your gonna lose and gambling for fools but thats the way i like it baby, i don't want to live forever:

worst lyric of all time has to come from the westlife legend B McFadden.

Picnics in the garden and the children they can play. The first day of the summer and I'll laze here all the day. We,ll invite the family round and drink some English tea, and i raise up my finger and watch football on TV.

from real to me. possibly the worst song ever to come out of Ireland.
Post by: ross4life on September 28, 2010, 05:27:55 PM
Where's me Jumper? Sultans of Ping

My, brother, knows, Karl Marx,
He met him eating mushrooms in the peoples park,
He said 'What do you think about my manifesto?'
'I like a manifesto, put it to the test-o.'

Took it straight down to meet the anarchist's party.
I met a groovy guy, he was arty farty,
He said 'I know a little latin man a cus man a kai'
I said 'I don't know what it means' he said 'neither do I'

Eat natural foods, bathe twice daily,
Fill your nostrils up with gravy.
Don't drink tea and don't drink coffee.
Cover your chin in yorkshire toffee.

Post by: ross4life on September 28, 2010, 05:31:55 PM
Baz Luhrmann - Everybody's Free

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sTJ7AzBIJoI

Post by: muppet on September 28, 2010, 05:48:26 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 28, 2010, 05:27:55 PM
Where's me Jumper? Sultans of Ping

My, brother, knows, Karl Marx,
He met him eating mushrooms in the peoples park,
He said 'What do you think about my manifesto?'
'I like a manifesto, put it to the test-o.'

Took it straight down to meet the anarchist's party.
I met a groovy guy, he was arty farty,
He said 'I know a little latin man a cus man a kai'
I said 'I don't know what it means' he said 'neither do I'

Eat natural foods, bathe twice daily,
Fill your nostrils up with gravy.
Don't drink tea and don't drink coffee.
Cover your chin in yorkshire toffee.

Have to say I always loved that.

Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2009, 11:57:06 AM
Possibly my all-time worst line from a song -  from Horse With No Name by America:

"There were plants and birds and rocks and things ..."

That song had some dingers in it

"The first thing I met was a fly with a buzz..."
"The heat was hot.."
"In the desert you can remember your name cause there aint no one for to give you no pain.."
"The ocean is a desert with it's life underground and a perfect disguise above"

Post by: bossanova on September 28, 2010, 06:00:30 PM

On a long and lonesome highway
East of Omaha
You can listen to the engine
Moanin' out his one note song
You can think about the woman
Or the girl you knew the night before
But your thoughts will soon be wandering
The way they always do
When you're ridin' sixteen hours
And there's nothin' much to do
And you don't feel much like ridin',
You just wish the trip was through

Here I am
On the road again
There I am
Up on the stage
Here I go
Playin' star again
There I go
Turn the page

Best divorce song ever?  The Winner Takes It All ABBA

I don't wanna talk
About the things we've gone through
Though it's hurting me
Now it's history
I've played all my cards
And that's what you've done too
Nothing more to say
No more ace to play

The winner takes it all
The loser standing small
Beside the victory
That's her destiny

I was in your arms
Thinking I belonged there
I figured it made sense
Building me a fence
Building me a home
Thinking I'd be strong there
But I was a fool
Playing by the rules

B A N A N A S
This shit is bananas
B A N A N A S
This shit is bananas
B A N A N A S

metallica do a class cover of that song turn the page.
Post by: ross4life on September 28, 2010, 06:15:18 PM
Quote from: bossanova on September 28, 2010, 06:00:30 PM

Indeed they do & they sang it at Marlay Park last year (lucky enough to be there  :) )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZkAjZt4YZDc
Title: Re: Favourite
Post by: 5 Sams on September 28, 2010, 10:35:35 PM
Christy at his best...

Born in the middle of the afternoon
In a horsedrawn carriage on the old A5
The big twelve wheeler shook my bed,
"You can't stay here" the policeman said.
CHORUS
You'd better get born in some place el
So move along, get along, Move along, get along
Go! Move! Shift!
Born in the common by a building site
Where the ground was rutted by the trail of wheels
The local Christian said to me,
"You'll lower the price of property."
CHORUS
Born at potato picking time
In a noble tent in a tatie field.
The farmer said, "The work's all done
It's time that you was moving on."
CHORUS
Born at the back of a hawthorn hedge
Where the black hole frost lay on the ground.
No eastern kings came bearing gifts.
Instead the order came to shift.
CHORUS
The eastern sky was full of stars
And one shone brighter than the rest
The wise men came so stern and strict
And brought the orders to evict
CHORUS
Wagon, tent or trailer born,
Last month, last year or in far off days.
Born here or a thousand miles away
There,s always men nearby who'll say
CHORUS
Six in the morning out in Inchicore
The guards came through the wagon door.
John Maughan was arrested in the cold
A travelling boy just ten years old.
CHORUS
Mary Joyce was living at the side of the road
No halting place and no fixed abode.
The vigilantes came to the Darndale site
And they shot her son in the middle of the night.

Post by: BarryBreensBandage on September 28, 2010, 10:43:23 PM
Quote from: bossanova on September 28, 2010, 12:26:49 AM
here goes, first post.

my fav line from a song ever. :you know your gonna lose and gambling for fools but thats the way i like it baby, i don't want to live forever:

worst lyric of all time has to come from the westlife legend B McFadden.

Picnics in the garden and the children they can play. The first day of the summer and I'll laze here all the day. We,ll invite the family round and drink some English tea, and i raise up my finger and watch football on TV.

from real to me. possibly the worst song ever to come out of Ireland.

That Brian McFadden lyric - one of the few things that could ever make me sympathise with Kerry Katona - livin with a tool that could write that.
Post by: ross4life on September 28, 2010, 10:50:51 PM
Some of the worst?

Rihanna Umbrella

(Ella ella, eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(Ella ella, eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(Ella ella, eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(Ella ella, eh eh eh, eh eh eh)

Natasha Bedingfield  I Wanna Have Your

mmm mmm m m m m m
Gonna button my lip
So the truth dont slip
mmm mmm m m m m m
Gotta beep out
What I really wanna shout
Woops Did I say it out loud
Did you find out
I wanna have your babies
Get serious like crazy
I wanna have your babies
I see 'em springin up like daisy's

And

Presidents of United States of America Peaches

Moving to the country, I'm gonna eat a lot of peaches
I'm Moving to the country, gonna eat a lot of peaches
Moving to the country, gonna eat a lot of peaches

I took a little nap where the roots all twist
Squished your rotten peach in my fist
And dreamed about you, woman
I poked my finger down inside
Make a little room for an ant to hide
Nature's candy in my hand or can or pie

Post by: muppet on September 28, 2010, 11:03:51 PM
Yeah, I left my wallet in El Segundo
Left my wallet in El Segundo
I gotta get, I got-got ta get it

Title: Re: Favourite
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 28, 2010, 11:12:28 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 28, 2010, 10:35:35 PM
Christy at his best...

Born in the middle of the afternoon

The Moving On Song... by Ewan Mac Coll ;)
Post by: leenie on September 28, 2010, 11:18:32 PM
not so favourite.....

NEYO... BEAUTIFUL MONSTER!

All my life
And the hereafter
I've never seen
Seen one like you

You're a knife
Sharp and deadly
And it's me
That you cut into

But I don't mind
In fact I like it
Though I'm terrified
I'm turn on [?] scared of you

Chorus:
She's a monster
Beautiful monster
But I don't mind

And I need her
Said I need her
Beautiful monster
But I don't mind

No I don't mind (I don't mind I don't I don't mind...)

In her eyes
There's love and fire
In my heart
She's burning through

But I don't mind
In fact I like it
Though I'm terrified
I'm turn on [?] scared of you
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on September 28, 2010, 11:35:54 PM
Favourite opening line to a song:

"The world is a vampire, sent to drain..." - Rat in a Cage by Smashing Pumpkins

Favourite last line in a song:

"You're the measure of my dreams, the measure of my dreams" - Rainy Night in Soho by The Pogues
Post by: ross4life on September 28, 2010, 11:49:21 PM
Another classic would be Bob Dylan Hurricane Lyrics, tells the story about the imprisonment of the Boxer Rubin "Hurricane" Carter

Post by: Never beat the deeler on September 29, 2010, 02:10:49 AM
From Kris Kristofferson, and covered by Johnny Cash:

Well I woke up Sunday morning,
With no way to hold my head that didn't hurt.
And the beer I had for breakfast wasn't bad,
So I had one more for dessert.
Then I fumbled through my closet for my clothes,
And found my cleanest dirty shirt.
An' I shaved my face and combed my hair,
An' stumbled down the stairs to meet the day.
Post by: Pangurban on September 29, 2010, 04:25:05 AM
In 100 years of fighting, no Indian turned white. Another line from Kris Kristeferson
Post by: seafoid on September 29, 2010, 09:47:24 AM
"You're not Maud Gonne
but then again neither was she"

Bell x1
Post by: gallsman on September 29, 2010, 10:11:38 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on September 28, 2010, 11:35:54 PM
Favourite opening line to a song:

"The world is a vampire, sent to drain..." - Rat in a Cage by Smashing Pumpkins

Favourite last line in a song:

"You're the measure of my dreams, the measure of my dreams" - Rainy Night in Soho by The Pogues

Song is called Bullet with Butterfly Wings.

Favourite lyrics are anything written by Springsteen or Mary Chapin Carpenter.

Quote from: ross4life on September 28, 2010, 11:49:21 PM
Another classic would be Bob Dylan Hurricane Lyrics, tells the story about the imprisonment of the Boxer Rubin "Hurricane" Carter

Dylan uses a wee bit of creative licence in the song and doesn't quite tell the whole story, specifically the implication that Carter was destined to be champion of the world.
Post by: muppet on September 29, 2010, 10:29:10 AM
Elvis Costello

Bentley said to Craig "Let him have it Chris"
They still don't know today just what he meant by this
Craig fired the pistol, but was too young to swing
So the police took Bentley and the very next thing
Let him dangle

Bentley had surrendered, he was under arrest,
when he gave Chris Craig that fatal request
Craig shot Sidney Miles, he took Bentley's word
The prosecution claimed as they charged them with murder
Let him dangle

They say Derek Bentley was easily led
Well what's that to the woman that Sidney Miles wed
Though guilty was the verdict, and Craig had shot him dead
The gallows were for Bentley and still she never said
Let him dangle

Well it's hard to imagine it's the times that have changed
When there's a murder in the kitchen that is brutal and strange
If killing anybody is a terrible crime
Why does this bloodthirsty chorus come round from time to time
Let him dangle

Not many people thought that Bentley would hang
But the word never came, the phone never rang
Outside Wandsworth Prison there was horror and hate
As the hangman shook Bentley's hand to calculate his weight
Let him dangle

From a welfare state to society murder
Bring "back the noose" is always heard
Whenever those swine are under attack
But it won't make you even
It won't bring him back

Let him dangle
Let him dangle (String him up)
Post by: J OGorman on September 29, 2010, 11:13:34 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on September 29, 2010, 02:10:49 AM
From Kris Kristofferson, and covered by Johnny Cash:

Well I woke up Sunday morning,
With no way to hold my head that didn't hurt.
And the beer I had for breakfast wasn't bad,
So I had one more for dessert.
Then I fumbled through my closet for my clothes,
And found my cleanest dirty shirt.
An' I shaved my face and combed my hair,
An' stumbled down the stairs to meet the day.

absolutely...love Kristofferson

from the Pilgrim

"He's a poet, he's a picker
He's a prophet, he's a pusher
He's a pilgrim and a preacher, and a problem when he's stoned
He's a walkin' contradiction, partly truth and partly fiction,
Takin' ev'ry wrong direction on his lonely way back home.
There's a lotta wrong directions on that lonely way back home."
Post by: Declan on September 29, 2010, 12:50:20 PM
Too many to mention but looking at that Elvis Costello one reminded me of one of my faves of his from Brilliant Mistake

She said that she was working for the ABC News
It was as much of the alphabet as she knew how to use
Her perfume was unspeakable
It lingered in the air
Like her artificial laughter
Her mementos of affairs
"Oh" I said "I see you know him"
"Isn't that very fortunate for you"
And she showed me his calling card
He came third or fourth and there were more than one or two
He was a fine idea at the time
Now he's a brilliant mistake
Post by: seafoid on September 29, 2010, 01:02:11 PM

Brooklyn Public by J-live

...Grown-up, roam the halls with me
So many characters
Some sweet some shifty
Some loud some quiet
Some trusting, some don't buy it - don't try it
Some'll try to squash beef and some start riots
Some are motivated some are lazy
Some are geniuses some are crazy
The line between is hazy
Some'll love you some'll hate you
Some'll need you some'll spite you
Some are thankful, some are ungrateful
Yo, some are there and really care
About what's being learned and taught
They fought through it when they got stuck
Some are there 'till the bell rings
Run through the day without thinking
'Cause they really don't give a f**k
Some'll run some'll fight
Some'll tell, some might change the world
Some are early to the grave or jail
Some are so complicated, some are so simple
Some are students, some are teachers
Some are principals
Post by: seafoid on September 29, 2010, 01:20:21 PM
Not a song but I like this poem by EE cummings from 1944 during WW2

ydoan
yunnuhstan
ydoan no
yunnuhstand dem
yguduh ged
yunnuhstan dem doidee
yguduh ged riduh
ydoan o nudn
LISN bud LISN
dem
gud
am
lidl yelluh bas
tuds weer goin
duhSIVILEYEzum
Post by: muppet on September 29, 2010, 01:25:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 29, 2010, 01:20:21 PM
Not a song but I like this poem by EE cummings from 1944 during WW2

ydoan
yunnuhstan
ydoan no
yunnuhstand dem
yguduh ged
yunnuhstan dem doidee
yguduh ged riduh
ydoan o nudn
LISN bud LISN
dem
gud
am
lidl yelluh bas
tuds weer goin
duhSIVILEYEzum

That's what Cowen was saying on Morning Ireland, except it was by EU Cummings.
Post by: seafoid on September 29, 2010, 01:40:23 PM
Satisfied by J-Live

über relevant to Ireland today

Hey yo
Lights, camera, tragedy, comedy, romance
You better dance from your fighting stance
Or you'll never have a fighting chance
In the rat race
Where the referee's son started way in advance
But still you livin' the American Dream
Silk PJ's, sheets and down pillows
Who the f**k would wanna wake up?
You got it good like hot sex after the break up
Your four car garage it's just more space to take up
You even bought your mom a new whip scrap the jalopy
Thousand dollar habit, million dollar hobby
You a success story everybody wanna copy
But few work for it, most get jerked for it
If you think that you could ignore it, you're ig-norant
A fat wallet still never made a man free
They say to eat good, yo, you gotta swallow your pride
But dead that game plan, I'm not satisfied

[Chorus]
The poor get worked, the rich get richer
The world gets worse, do you get the picture?
The poor gets dead, the rich get depressed
The ugly get mad, the pretty get stressed
The ugly get violent, the pretty get gone
The old get stiff, the young get stepped on
Whoever told you that it was all good lied
So throw your fists up if you not satisfied

{*Singing*}
Are you satisfied?
I'm not satisfied

Hey yo, the ants still steal
The anthrax got my whole earth wearin' a mask and gloves to get a meal
I know a older guy that lost twelve close peeps on 9-1-1
While you kickin' up punchlines and puns
Man f**k that shit, this is serious biz
By the time Bush is done, you won't know what time it is
If it's war time or jail time, time for promises
And time to figure out where the enemy is
The same devils that you used to love to hate
They got you so gassed and shook now, you scared to debate
The same ones that traded books for guns
Smuggled drugs for funds
And had fun lettin' off forty-one
But now it's all about NYPD caps
And Pentagon bumper stickers
But yo, you still a nigga
It ain't right them cops and them firemen died
The shit is real tragic, but it damn sure ain't magic
It won't make the brutality disappear
It won't pull equality from behind your ear
It won't make a difference in a two-party country
If the president cheats, to win another four years
Now don't get me wrong, there's no place I'd rather be
The grass ain't greener on the other genocide
But tell Huey Freeman don't forget to cut the lawn
And uproot the weeds
Cuz I'm not satisfied

[Chorus]

{*Singing*}
All this genocide
Is not justified
Are you satisfied?
I'm not satisfied

Yo, poison pushers making paper off of pipe dreams
They turned hip-hop to a get-rich-quick scheme
The rich minorities control the gov'ment
But they would have you believe we on the same team
So where you stand, huh?
What do you stand for?
Sit your ass down if you don't know the answer
Serious as cancer, this jam demands your undivided attention
Even on the dance floor
Grab the bull by the horns, the bucks by the antlers
Get yours, what're you sweatin' the next man for?
Get down, feel good to this, let it ride
But until we all free, I'll never be satisfied
Post by: ross4life on September 29, 2010, 01:44:18 PM
When it come's to poetic lyrics Pink Floyd are one of the best

Wish you were here

So, so you think you can tell
Heaven from Hell,
Blue skies from pain.
Can you tell a green field
From a cold steel rail?
A smile from a veil?
Do you think you can tell?

Did they get you to trade
Your heroes for ghosts?
Hot ashes for trees?
Hot air for a cool breeze?
And cold comfort for change?
Did you exchange
A walk on part in the war,
For a lead role in a cage?

How I wish, how I wish you were here.
We're just two lost souls
Swimming in a fish bowl,
Year after year,
Running over the same old ground.
What have we found
The same old fears.
Wish you were here.

Comfortably Numb

There is no pain, you are receding
A distant ship smoke on the horizon
You are only coming through in waves
Your lips move but I can't hear what you're saying
When I was a child I had a fever
My hands felt just like two balloons
Now I've got that feeling once again
I can't explain, you would not understand
This is not how I am
I have become comfortably numb
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 29, 2010, 06:02:50 PM
The Old Man

The tears have all been shed now
We've said our last goodbyes
His souls been blessed
He's laid to rest
And it's now I feel alone
He was more than just a father
A teacher my best friend
He can still be heard
In the tunes we shared
When we play them on our own

(chorus)
I never will forget him
For he made me what I am
Though he may be gone
Memories linger on
And I miss him, my auld man

As a boy he'd take me walking
By mountain field and stream
And he showed me things
Not known to kings
And secret between him and me
Like the colours of the pheasant
As he rises in the dawn
And how to fish and make a wish
Beside the holly tree

(chorus)

I thought he'd live forever
He seemed so big and strong
But the minutes fly
And the years roll by
For a father and a son
And suddenly when it happened
There was so much left unsaid
No second chance
To tell him thanks
For everything he's done

(chorus)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCSaBYY-wQk
Post by: trileacman on September 29, 2010, 06:50:44 PM
Felix Kearney once wrote, in reference to the tricolour:

"Wrap its tattered folds around me as I draw my parting breath,
I have gaurded well its honour, let it shelter me in death."
Post by: no mo do yakamo on September 29, 2010, 07:04:57 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 29, 2010, 01:44:18 PM
When it come's to poetic lyrics Pink Floyd are one of the best
Roger Waters later stuff was quite brilliant too. Perfect Sense- parts 1 and 2

Stop Dave
Will you stop Dave?
Stop Dave
I'm afraid
I'm afraid
Dave, my mind is going
I can feel it
My mind is going
There is no question about it
I can feel it
I'm afraid

The monkey sat on a pile of stone
And he stared at the broken bone in his hand
Strains of a Viennese quartet rang out across the land
The monkey looked up at the stars
And he thought to himself
Memory is a stranger
History is for fools
And he cleaned his hands in a pool of holy writing
Turned his back on the garden and set out for the nearest town
Hold on hold on soldier

When you add it all up
The tears and the marrowbone
There's an ounce of gold
And an ounce of pain in each measure
And the Germans kill the Jews
And the Jews kill the Arabs
And the Arabs kill the hostages
And that is the news
And is it any wonder that the monkey's confused
He said Mama Mama, the President's a fool
Why do I have to keep reading these technical manuals
And the joint chiefs of staff
And the brokers on Wall Street said
Don't make us laugh, you're a smart kid
Time is linear
Memory's a stranger
History is for fools
Man is a tool in the hands
Of the great God Almighty
And they gave him command of a nuclear submarine
Sent him back in search of the Garden of Eden

-----------------------------

Can't you see
It all makes perfect sense
Expressed in dollars and cents,
Pounds, shillings and pence
Can't you see

Little black soul departs in perfect focus
Hold on soldier
Prime time fodder for the News at Nine
Hold on, hold on soldier
Darling is the child warm in the bed tonight

[Marv Albert:] "Hi everybody I'm Marv Albert
And welcome to our telecast
Coming to you live from Memorial Stadium
It's a beautiful day
And today we expect a sensational matchup
But first our global anthem"

Can't you see

[Marv:] "And here come the players
As I speak to you now, the captain
Has his cross hairs zeroed in on the oil rig
He's at periscope depth
It looks to me like he's going to attack
By the way did you know that a submarine
Captain earns 200,000 dollars a year"
[Edward:]"That's LESS tax Marv"
[Marv:]"Yeah, LESS tax
Thank you Edward"
[Edward:]"You're welcome"
[Marv:]"Now back to the game...he fires one...yes
There goes two; both fish are running
The rig is going into a prevent defense
Will they make it? I don't think so"
Look out!
Look at that baby burn!

Can't you see
Post by: Midman on September 30, 2010, 12:36:00 AM
Mr Siegal by Tom Waits-Genius!

i spent all my money in a mexican whorehouse,
across the street from a catholic church,
and then i wiped off my revolver,
and i buttoned up my burgundy shirt,
i shot the morning in the back, with my red wings on,
i told the sun he'd better go back down,
and if i can find a book of matches,
i'm
goin' to burn this hotel down.

you got to tell me brave captain, why are the wicked so strong, how do the
angels get to sleep, when the devil leaves the porchlight on.
Post by: rosnarun on September 30, 2010, 01:23:31 AM

my favorite Kris  Kristofferson 

Casey joins the hollow sound of silent people walking down,
The stairway to the subway in the shadows down below.
Following their footsteps through the neon-darkened corridors,
Of silent desperation, never speaking to a soul.
The poison air he's breathing has the dirty smell of dying,
'Cos it's never seen the sunshine and it's never felt the rain.
But Casey minds the arrows and ignores the fatal echoes,
Of the clicking of the turnstiles and the rattle of his chains.

"Oh," she said: "Casey, it's been so long since I've seen you.
"Here," she said: "just a kiss to make a body smile.
"See," she said: "I've put on new stockings just to please you.
"Lord," she said. "Casey, can you only stay a while."

Casey leaves the underground and stops inside The Golden Crown,
For something wet to wipe away the chill that's on his bones.
Seeing his reflection in the lives of all the lonely men,
Who reach for anything they can to keep from going home.
Standing in the corner, Casey drinks his pint of bitter,
Never glancing in the mirror at the people passing by.
Then he stumbles as he's leaving and he wonders if the reason,
Is the beer that's in his belly or the tear that's in his eye.

"Oh," she said: "I suppose you seldom think about me.
"Now," she said: "now that you've a family of your own.
"Still," she said: "It's so blessed good to feel your body.
"Lord," she said: "Casey, it's a shame to be alone."
Post by: rosnarun on September 30, 2010, 01:26:23 AM
KAvanagh recorded it so it counts as a song

On Raglan Road on an autumn day I met her first and knew
That her dark hair would weave a snare that I might one day rue;
I saw the danger, yet I walked along the enchanted way,
And I said, let grief be a fallen leaf at the dawning of the day.

On Grafton Street in November we tripped lightly along the ledge
Of the deep ravine where can be seen the worth of passion's pledge,
The Queen of Hearts still making tarts and I not making hay -
O I loved too much and by such and such is happiness thrown away.

I gave her gifts of the mind I gave her the secret sign that's known
To the artists who have known the true gods of sound and stone
And word and tint. I did not stint for I gave her poems to say.
With her own name there and her own dark hair like clouds over fields of May

On a quiet street where old ghosts meet I see her walking now
Away from me so hurriedly my reason must allow
That I had wooed not as I should a creature made of clay -
When the angel woos the clay he'd lose his wings at the dawn of day.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on September 30, 2010, 10:06:55 PM
Its great seeing how Kristofferson is appreciated - have loved his music for ages, but heard one song about a year ago called "To beat the Devil" - vintage stuff, talkin', singin', at his best -

"And if you don't wanna join him, well, you gotta beat him / I ain't sayin' I beat the devil but I drank his beer for nothin' / And then I stole his song ..."
Post by: tyrone girl on September 30, 2010, 10:43:59 PM
Loveeee this song - had forgotten it even existed until x factor last weekend. Class

When the rain is blowing in your face,
and the whole world is on your case,
I could offer you a warm embrace
to make you feel my love.

When the evening shadows and the stars appear,
and there is no one there to dry your tears,
I could hold you for a million years

I know you haven't made your mind up yet,
but I would never do you wrong.
I've known it from the moment that we met,
no doubt in my mind where you belong.

I'd go hungry; I'd go black and blue,
I'd go crawling down the avenue.
No, there's nothing that I wouldn't do

The storms are raging on the rolling sea
and on the highway of regret.
Though winds of change are throwing wild and free,
you ain't seen nothing like me yet.

I could make you happy, make your dreams come true.
Nothing that I wouldn't do.
Go to the ends of the Earth for you,
to make you feel my love
Post by: Niall Quinn on October 01, 2010, 02:33:49 AM
Why does the Lord continue raising stakes in Chris de Burgh's Spanish Train? The Divil says 'I believe you've got it straight' (which he did), and then keeps upping the ante. What did the Lord think he was up to?
Post by: Billys Boots on October 01, 2010, 04:58:57 PM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on October 01, 2010, 02:33:49 AM
Why does the Lord continue raising stakes in Chris de Burgh's Spanish Train? The Divil says 'I believe you've got it straight' (which he did), and then keeps upping the ante. What did the Lord think he was up to?

Apparently he's the village idiot.
Post by: thejuice on October 01, 2010, 11:50:42 PM
I always found Slayer's lyrics intriguing. Quite cryptic.

QuoteVerse:
Ouch wrists,
the meaning of pig,
the wig that I want you to dye,

slow deaf, he mends the gate,
shout to Clint, you'll do life,
foreskin, like hammer you rock,
dip down, you like work,

human mice falling into the Depp
thor of the trouser war today,

Chorus:
Hey Johnny Depp
Monitor the kingdom of the Dell

Verse2:
Sir dis stick, surging of the mice,
sadie is quite the novelist, blud,
Destroying with hammer see,
Defending the aryan race,

Sure Jerry, we know Anastacia,
Even I missed you in Tents, Lee
Interior, no ewes to Mankind,
Stiff ice creams enough to die,

Chorus:
Hey Johnny Depp
Monitor the Kingdom of the Dell
Infamous butcher,
Hey Johnny Depp.

Verse3:
Purple fluid, excites your brie,
pressuring these Gothic gimps,
Persian through your eyes
Sporting vest, chocks away,
Tess in heat, persil skin,
your mime starts to boil,

Freezing comb, cracker lives,
Along came your lass to throw
some water aerial,
Saucy gellar, Jolie heads,
Justin met a Thai,
can you rent yourself a pub?
Beardsley out, in the crowded tombs,
16 ways to add cheese to hot cobs.

and so on, could never make sense of it. anyone know what it means.
Post by: bossanova on October 02, 2010, 12:17:25 AM
Quote from: ross4life on September 28, 2010, 06:15:18 PM
Quote from: bossanova on September 28, 2010, 06:00:30 PM

Indeed they do & they sang it at Marlay Park last year (lucky enough to be there  :) )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZkAjZt4YZDc

also love the cover of die die my darling they do. the garage days craic is top drawer, ten out of ten shit. totally love the misfits.
Post by: bossanova on October 02, 2010, 12:26:06 AM
Quote from: seafoid on September 27, 2010, 03:57:58 PM
Stereolab , the way will be opening

Total insubordination
Complete revolt, formal sabotage
Still it must be stressed that on this point
There is no room for compromise
Faint, all our crime is crime of physical setting
Except inside the mind (All inside the mind)
How come more and more futile
The American dream is the fertilize? (oh the fertilize)
Nothing at all can be expected
Except for the use of violence
Nothing at all can be changed if
Evolution turned us to silence
Confrontations clearing the way
Will be opening (will be opening)
Not as end in itself
But as a beginning (as a beginning

and

You say you`d like children
But you couldn't eat a whole one

Bell  x1

your such an asshole when your drunk at least im ok in the morning.  ;)
Post by: Niall Quinn on October 02, 2010, 02:41:41 AM
"I could have been someone, well so could anyone"
I never tire of hearing this lamentful exchange.
Post by: muppet on October 02, 2010, 03:15:34 PM
Quote from: thejuice on October 01, 2010, 11:50:42 PM
and so on, could never make sense of it. anyone know what it means.

It means they were congested, a bit hoarse and had a deviated septum when they wrote it.
Post by: CiKe on October 03, 2010, 12:51:22 AM
"I had skin like leather and the diamond-hard look of a cobra
I was born blue and weathered but I burst just like a supernova
I could walk like Brando right into the sun
Then dance just like a Casanova"

Springsteen - It's hard to be a saint in the city
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 04:16:30 PM
Spice girls wannabe.. awful lyrics

Yo, I'll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
So tell me what you want, what you really really want,
I'll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna really
really really wanna zigazig ha

Nine inch nails/Johnny Cash hurt.. good lyrics

I hurt myself today
To see if I still feel
I focus on the pain
the only thing that's real
The needle tears a hole
the old familiar sting
try to kill it all away
but I remember everything

What have I become?
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know
goes away in the end
You could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

I wear this crown of shit
Upon my liar's chair
Full of broken thoughts
I cannot repair
Beneath the stains of time
the feelings disappears
You are someone else
I am still right here

What have I become?
my sweetest friend
Everyone I know
goes away in the end
You could have it all
my empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

If I could start again
a million miles away
I would keep myself
I would find a way...

& a interesting lyric change

Whitesnake here i go again

Here I go again on my own
goin' down the only road I've ever known.
Like a hobo I was born to walk alone.
An' I've made up my mind, I ain't wasting no more time
but here I go again, here I go again,
here I go again, here I go.

Changed to drifter because Hobo sounded like homo to some  :D
Post by: muppet on October 07, 2010, 04:30:47 PM
Quote from: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 04:16:30 PM
Spice girls wannabe.. awful lyrics

Yo, I'll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
I'll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna really
really really wanna zigazig ha

Nine inch nails/Johnny Cash hurt.. good lyrics

I hurt myself today
To see if I still feel
I focus on the pain
the only thing that's real
The needle tears a hole
the old familiar sting
try to kill it all away
but I remember everything

What have I become?
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know
goes away in the end
You could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

I wear this crown of shit thorns
Upon my liar's chair
Full of broken thoughts
I cannot repair
Beneath the stains of time
the feelings disappears
You are someone else
I am still right here

What have I become?
my sweetest friend
Everyone I know
goes away in the end
You could have it all
my empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

If I could start again
a million miles away
I would keep myself
I would find a way...

& a interesting lyric change

Whitesnake here i go again

Here I go again on my own
goin' down the only road I've ever known.
Like a hobo I was born to walk alone.
An' I've made up my mind, I ain't wasting no more time
but here I go again, here I go again,
here I go again, here I go.

Changed to drifter because Hobo sounded like homo to some  :D

Johnny Cash didn't wear no crown of shit.
Post by: ross4life on October 07, 2010, 04:32:57 PM
Yep Johnny changed that bit
Post by: ross4life on October 09, 2010, 02:57:03 AM
The Green Fields Of France Written By Eric Bogle, one of the best anti war songs ever written and covered beautifully by The Fureys

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntt3wy-L8Ok&feature=player_embedded#!

Well how do you do young Willy Mc Bride
Do you mind if I sit here down by your graveside
And rest for a while in the warm summer sun
I've been walking all day and I'm nearly done

I see by your gravestone your were only nineteen
When you joined the great falling in nineteen fifteen
Well I hope you died well and I hope you died clean
Or young Willy Mc Bride was it slow and obscene
[Chorus]
Did they beat the drum slowly ,did they sound the fifes lowly
Did they sound the death march as they lowered you down
Did the band play the last post and chorus
Did the pipes play the flowers of the forest.

Did you leave a wife or a sweetheart behind
In some faithfull heart is your memory enshrined
And though you died back in nineteen fifteen
In some faith full heart are you forever nineteen

Or are you a stranger without even a name
Enshrined forever behind a glass frame
In an old photograph torn battered and stained
And fading to yellow in a brown leather frame
Post by: Never beat the deeler on October 09, 2010, 03:02:48 AM
Quote from: ross4life on October 09, 2010, 02:57:03 AM
The Green Fields Of France Written By Eric Bogle, one of the best anti war songs ever written and covered beautifully by The Fureys

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntt3wy-L8Ok&feature=player_embedded#!

Well how do you do young Willy Mc Bride
Do you mind if I sit here down by your graveside
And rest for a while in the warm summer sun
I've been walking all day and I'm nearly done

I see by your gravestone your were only nineteen
When you joined the great falling in nineteen fifteen
Well I hope you died well and I hope you died clean
Or young Willy Mc Bride was it slow and obscene
[Chorus]
Did they beat the drum slowly ,did they sound the fifes lowly
Did they sound the death march as they lowered you down
Did the band play the last post and chorus
Did the pipes play the flowers of the forest.

Did you leave a wife or a sweetheart behind
In some faithfull heart is your memory enshrined
And though you died back in nineteen fifteen
In some faith full heart are you forever nineteen

Or are you a stranger without even a name
Enshrined forever behind a glass frame
In an old photograph torn battered and stained
And fading to yellow in a brown leather frame

Youre missing two verses there
Post by: ross4life on October 09, 2010, 03:07:26 AM
no i chose to post half the song lyrics & the rest can be watched on the link i posted
Post by: Celt_Man on October 09, 2010, 03:10:24 AM
Love Rescue Me - U2

Some great lines in this one.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTxYep9qgKE

1988 - "Rattle & Hum"

Love rescue me
Come forth and speak to me
Raise me up and dont let me fall
No man is my enemy
My own hands imprison me
Love rescue me

Many strangers have I met
On the road to my regret
Many lost who seek to find themselves in me
They ask me to reveal
The very thoughts they would conceal
Love rescue me

And the sun in the sky
Makes a shadow of you and i
Stretching out as the sun sinks in the sea
Im here without a name
In the palace of my shame
Said, love rescue me

In the cold mirror of a glass
I see my reflection pass
See the dark shades of what I used to be
See the purple of her eyes
The scarlet of my lies
Love rescue me

Yea, though I walk
In the valley of shadow
Yea, I will fear no evil
I have cursed thy rod and staff
They no longer comfort me
Love rescue me

Sha la la...sha la la la
Sha la la la...ha la la...
Sha la la la...sha la la la
Sha la la la...sha la la
Sha la la la...sha la la la
Sha la la...
I said love, love rescue me

I said love
Climb up the mountains, said love
I said love, oh my love
On the hill of the son
Im on the eve of a storm
And my word you must believe in
Oh, I said love, rescue me
Oh yeah, oh yeah, oh yeah...

Yeah Im here without a name
In the palace of my shame
I said love rescue me

Ive conquered my past
The future is here at last
I stand at the entrance
To a new world I can see
The ruins to the right of me
Will soon have lost sight of me
Love rescue me
Post by: ross4life on October 09, 2010, 03:16:57 AM
Phil Coulter The Town I Loved So Well lyrics (covered by The Dubliners)

In my memory, I will always see
The town that I have loved so well
Where our school played ball by the gas yard wall
And they laughed through the smoke and the smell
Going home in the rain, running up the dark lane
Past the jail, and down behind the fountain
Those were happy days in so many, many ways
In the town I loved so well

In the early morning the shirt factory horn
Called women from Creggan, the moor, and the bog
While the men on the dole played a mother's role
Fed the children and then walked the dog
And when times got tough there was just about enough
And they saw it through without complaining
For deep inside was a burning pride

There was music there in the Derry air,
Like a language that we all could understand
I remember the day that I earned my first pay
When I played in a small pick-up band
There I spent my youth, and to tell you the truth
I was sad to leave it all behind me
For I learned about life, and I found a wife

But when I returned, how my eyes have burned
To see how a town could be brought to it's knees
By the armoured cars and the bombed-out bars
And the gas that hangs on to every breeze
Now the army's installed by that old gas yard wall
And the damned barbed wire gets higher and higher
With their tanks and their guns, oh my god, what have they done
To the town I loved so well

Now the music's gone but they carry on
For their spirits been bruised, never broken
They will not forget but their hearts are set
On tomorrow and peace once again
For what's done is done and what's won is won
And what's lost is lost and gone for ever
I can only pray for a bright, brand new day
In the town I love so well

Post by: ross4life on October 10, 2010, 06:10:42 PM
Queen - The Show Must Go On (This song was written by Brian May and dedicated to Freddie)

Empty spaces - what are we living for?
Abandoned places - I guess we know the score..
On and on!
Does anybody know what we are looking for?

Another hero - another mindless crime.
Behind the curtain, in the pantomime.
Hold the line!
Does anybody want to take it anymore?
The Show must go on!
The Show must go on!Yeah!
Inside my heart is breaking,
My make-up may be flaking,
But my smile, still, stays on!

Whatever happens, I'll leave it all to chance.
Another heartache - another failed romance.
On and on...
Does anybody know what we are living for?
I guess i'm learning
I must be warmer now..
I'll soon be turning, round the corner now.
Outside the dawn is breaking,
But inside in the dark I'm aching to be free!

The Show must go on!
The Show must go on! Yeah,yeah!
Ooh! Inside my heart is breaking!
My make-up may be flaking...
But my smile, still, stays on!
Yeah! oh oh oh

My soul is painted like the wings of butterflies,
Fairy tales of yesterday, will grow but never die,
I can fly, my friends!

The Show must go on! Yeah!
The Show must go on!
I'll face it with a grin!
I'm never giving in!
On with the show!

I'll top the bill!
I'll overkill!
I have to find the will to carry on!
On with the,
On with the show!

The Show must go on.

Post by: ross4life on October 17, 2010, 01:45:52 AM
Lily Allen-Not fair,  The girl has some balls writing/singing those lyrics (i'll leave it for others to search for lyrics)

Always liked Beck-loser

In the time of chimpanzees I was a monkey
Butane in my veins and I'm out to cut the junkie
With the plastic eyeballs, spray-paint the vegetables
Dog food stalls with the beefcake pantyhose
Kill the headlights and put it in neutral
Stock car flamin' with a loser and the cruise control
Baby's in reno with the vitamin d
Got a couple of couches, sleep on the love-seat
Someone came sayin' I'm insane to complain
About a shotgun wedding and a stain on my shirt
Don't believe everything that you breathe
You get a parking violation and a maggot on your sleeve
So shave your face with some mace in the dark
Savin' all your food stamps and burnin' down the trailer park

Yo. cut it.

Soy un perdedor
I'm a loser baby, so why don't you kill me?

And David Bowie Space Oddity

Ground control to major Tom
Take your protein pills and put your helmet on
(Ten) Ground control (Nine) to major Tom (Eight)
(Seven, six) Commencing countdown (Five), engines on (Four)
(Three, two) Check ignition (One) and may gods (Blastoff) love be with you

This is ground control to major Tom, you've really made the grade
And the papers want to know whose shirts you wear
Now it's time to leave the capsule if you dare

This is major Tom to ground control, I'm stepping through the door
And I'm floating in a most peculiar way
And the stars look very different today
Here am I floatin' 'round my tin can far above the world
Planet Earth is blue and there's nothing I can do

Though I'm past one hundred thousand miles, I'm feeling very still
And I think my spaceship knows which way to go
Tell my wife I love her very much, she knows