Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Minder on January 02, 2009, 10:02:38 PM

Title: Eurodisney
Post by: Minder on January 02, 2009, 10:02:38 PM
Going in a couple of weeks to see my oul mate M-i-c-k-e-y M-o-u-s-e. Anyone been lately, anything to avoid? My wifes friend is there at the minute and said whatever your budget is double it !
Title: Re: Eurodisney
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 02, 2009, 10:05:42 PM
Went two years ago with the ex... Only went for a day, wasn't really enough time to get everything done... Queues are so annoying, even though I went at an off peak time of year you were still talking about twenty odd minutes in queues...

The rides were good, though they hit you with charges for photos and stuff after that you cant really say no to!

Overall it was really really good, but a dear hole, all the food places an all are ridiculously over priced... Bring packets!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2009, 10:06:39 PM
Only a madman would go with the current exchange rate and weather. Imagine queueing for 2 hours in the cold! ;)
Post by: Minder on January 02, 2009, 10:11:37 PM
A bit of cold weather will do no harm, exchange rate is making me sad but i think Eurodisney needs the prestige of a visit from Minder.....
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 02, 2009, 10:16:12 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 02, 2009, 10:11:37 PM
A bit of cold weather will do no harm, exchange rate is making me sad but i think Eurodisney needs the prestige of a visit from Minder.....

The cold weather won't make a difference, I went the week before christmas, it was cold but get yourself a good duffel coat and scarf and you are sorted!! Plus there are things to do inside like shows etc that will keep ya warm... You are always on the go as well (except for queuing)
Post by: mannix on January 02, 2009, 10:19:12 PM
take it from me, its damn cold in paris now. the lines are long even today in early january,wrap up well and keep extra credit on your card just in case.
unless its for your kids its a bit of a waste of time, lines of people paying twice the price for bad food and marketing gimmicks.
Kids think its good though. so who am i to question?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2009, 10:20:09 PM
Are you staying in the resort or outside? If you are outside where prices are slightly more reasonable then fill your boots at breakfast and take your scran into the place in a daysack otherwise you'll be paying a fiver for a glass of tap water.
Post by: Minder on January 02, 2009, 10:22:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2009, 10:20:09 PM
Are you staying in the resort or outside? If you are outside where prices are slightly more reasonable then fill your boots at breakfast and take your scran into the place in a daysack otherwise you'll be paying a fiver for a glass of tap water.

Staying in the Disney hotel that the wee fella from Derry drowned in last week (RIP). Breakfast is included so i will be filling a rucksack with ham rolls and the like.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 02, 2009, 10:24:02 PM

Yeah brilliant advice... The fast food/shops are a rip of, a sandwich cost me near ten euros I think!

Then again I got to shake Mickeys hand... And go on Space Mountain...

The Honey I Shrunk The Kids thing was class, was all 3-D plus had other effects like stuff under your seats an all!!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 03, 2009, 10:14:45 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 02, 2009, 10:46:31 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 02, 2009, 10:24:02 PM
Then again I got to shake Mikeys hand
f**k, I'd be raging if I went to Eurodisney, to meet Mickey Mouse and his cousin, Mikey, was standing in for him that day.

The Honey I Shrunk The Kids thing was class, was all 3-D plus had other effects like stuff under your seats an all!!
Are you sure that wasn't the plane?

Mikey was better craic, had more of an edge than Mickey, he was smoking and had a 1/4 bottle in his pocket.

Plus you were right I just rang the ex, turns out it was the plane, and the special effects were no more than turbulence... My dreams are shattered.
Post by: milltown row on January 03, 2009, 11:28:41 AM
top class minder, i was there Easter 2007,  don't worry about the ques, the kids loved it and we went to Orlando this summer, and both parks are identical. food is pricey.
there is a McDonalds there and a steak house right beside McDees, food is great but dear
we stayed in the cowboy themed hotel, food was terrible. I'd recommend if your buying any Disney stuff for the wee ones get it in Belfast and bring it over. my girls had the Disney dresses and wore them into the park. 

things to beat the ques, get up early get the bus in and head straight to the park. stay in a particular themed area and do all the rides that morning, rushing around trying to do all will get ya nowhere. you must do the Tower of Terror, brilliant. my kids all loved it and went on loads of times. its just opened in the other park i believe. oh and i think each Disney hotel has a early pass. means you get in at 8 am 2 hours before everyone else.

fast passes are handy to use
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 03, 2009, 12:04:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 02, 2009, 10:46:31 PM
Then again I got to shake Mikeys hand
f**k, I'd be raging if I went to Eurodisney, to meet Mickey Mouse and his cousin, Mikey, was standing in for him that day.

Is he related to this chap ?

Mikey The Pikey (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ay4H6VAEtfs&feature=PlayList&p=270D8B7741F8E916&index=0&playnext=1)
Post by: illdecide on January 05, 2009, 12:45:26 PM
I'm going there in 2 weeks time too and i've been told you can make it as cheap or as dear as you want it to be. I got 4 of us there for £260 which was quite reasonable and i was told to do what someone else mentioned at breakfast...fill your bag full of the breakfast rolls and they'll do the lunch and that only leaves the spuds for the evening (prob McDonalds which i dislike)
Post by: downgirl on January 05, 2009, 12:59:03 PM
I was there not last summer but the summer before, like everyone has said the food is really expensive in the parks...I think for a burger and chips and a drink it was €10!!!  The waffles at the wee waffle stands are lovely we tended to survive on them...and it's great because you are doing so much walking you actually lose weight! The Finding Nemo ride is class, it was just opened when we got there so there were quite big queues and it kept breaking down but well worth the wait!!  Thunder Mountain (or is it Thunder Railroad in Paris??  Can't remember which one is Florida and which one is Paris!) is good too.  Pirates of the Caribbean is a more relaxing one, as is It's a Small World...that song will stick in your head the whole time you are there by the way!!  Disney Village is good place for night time, there is a club there but I think it was quite expensive.  Rainforest Cafe is a good place for food and a change from the usual fast food places.  Have a great time, wish it was me going!!  :D
Post by: corn02 on January 05, 2009, 01:02:16 PM
Went a few months ago - unreal.

As stated, the Tower of terror is superb, one of the best there. The ampount of class rides is brilliant. The Aerosmith rolelrcoaster was very good. Check out the car show if you have plenty of time. Not as bad people think. Get there for opening time and stay iuntil closing and youll get all done. Re: Dearness, Hotels close by are a bit cheaper but taxis are crazy dear so staying ina cheap park hotel would work out similar.

The shops and all are wild dear, but then don't buy the crap. A cheap McDs and you are flying. Pissed the whole time I was there, didn;t make a difference. Be perpared for a sore neck on pace Mountain.

By the way it ain't Eurodisney!
Post by: southoftheborder on January 05, 2009, 01:54:24 PM
wos at disney there on tuesday, unreal place, illuminations at nite fantastic, really really cold, def dress well now!!!
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 03:33:19 PM
I won a competition on the BBC in 1995. It was for a trip on the Eurostar to Disneyland Paris and be the first person on Space Mountain. What a magical few days that was.

The Hotel I stayed in was Newport Bay (if memory serves me correctly). Wrote on many rides and loved them all.
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 03:35:51 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 05, 2009, 03:34:45 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 03:33:19 PM
I won a competition on the BBC in 1995. It was for a trip on the Eurostar to Disneyland Paris and be the first person on Space Mountain. What a magical few days that was.

The Hotel I stayed in was Newport Bay (if memory serves me correctly). Wrote on many rides and loved them all.
What the f**k did you do that for? "Ziggy woz ere 95".

Feck off, only got two hours sleep last night  :D Rod on many rides.

There was no Ziggy pre 1998...
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 03:37:19 PM
(http://larryco.com/images/Face-argh.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on January 05, 2009, 03:48:56 PM
Rowed. He meant rowed.
Post by: Hound on January 06, 2009, 02:13:02 PM
Jaysus, maybe I'm too used to being ripped off, but I didnt find any of the food or clothes outlets in Eurodisney or Disney Village any dearer than similar restaurants/shops in Dublin or Paris.

I've been twice, both off season in March, and thanks to the easypass system, there are only 3 or 4 rides in the park where I queued for more than 15 minutes, most were 5 min or less. Good idea to get there early though.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 06, 2009, 02:23:33 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 03:33:19 PM

Tony mustn't have been entering competetions in 1995  ;)
Post by: Minder on January 06, 2009, 02:23:49 PM
What time do the parks open, our hotel is 1km from the resort so is handy.
Post by: Shortso79 on September 08, 2009, 09:23:48 PM
Minder / Illdecide

How did yous get on ?

Heading there in a few weeks
Post by: illdecide on September 08, 2009, 10:42:31 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on September 08, 2009, 09:23:48 PM
Minder / Illdecide

How did yous get on ?

Yes, very good. The rides were class and just brought the kid back out of me, i loved the rides more than the kids did. We stayed in the Sykia Lodge (i know thats not the real spelling) but it was right at the resort so no Taxi's. The food is wild expensive so we as noted b4 at breakfast time filled the backpacks with Crossants, rolls and choc chip rolls which done lunch and then had a meal that evening. We also used the swimming pool everynight for an hour which the kids loved too...so all in all it was a worth while trip and I'd go back again in a year or two...

On a negative point we flew with them tramps Ryanair from Dublin to some airport in the asshole of nowhere and it cost us 90 Euros there and 90 back to the resort plus the 90 min journey, so if you can fly into Paris main airport (Charles de Gall) i know thats not how u spell that either but couldn't be bothered looking it up it would save you a lot of hassle.

Enjoy your trip
Post by: Madge on September 08, 2009, 10:58:26 PM
Quote from: illdecide on September 08, 2009, 10:42:31 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on September 08, 2009, 09:23:48 PM
Minder / Illdecide

How did yous get on ?

Yes, very good. The rides were class and just brought the kid back out of me, i loved the rides more than the kids did. We stayed in the Sykia Lodge (i know thats not the real spelling) but it was right at the resort so no Taxi's. The food is wild expensive so we as noted b4 at breakfast time filled the backpacks with Crossants, rolls and choc chip rolls which done lunch and then had a meal that evening. We also used the swimming pool everynight for an hour which the kids loved too...so all in all it was a worth while trip and I'd go back again in a year or two...

On a negative point we flew with them tramps Ryanair from Dublin to some airport in the asshole of nowhere and it cost us 90 Euros there and 90 back to the resort plus the 90 min journey, so if you can fly into Paris main airport (Charles de Gall) i know thats not how u spell that either but couldn't be bothered looking it up it would save you a lot of hassle.

Enjoy your trip

Beauvais Airport?? Theres a cheap shuttle thing you can get, if you book in advance you get it particularly cheap.
Post by: illdecide on September 08, 2009, 11:02:32 PM
Yes Madge that was the wan ;)..F**king hate them Ryanair bastids
Post by: ziggysego on September 08, 2009, 11:04:45 PM
Frankie Boyle once said that Ryanair are doing a flight from London to New York City. However it true Ryanair, it lands slightly outside NYC...... Dublin!  :D
Post by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 10:35:05 PM
Cheers Illdecide
Post by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 10:35:32 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 08, 2009, 11:04:45 PM
Frankie Boyle once said that Ryanair are doing a flight from London to New York City. However it true Ryanair, it lands slightly outside NYC...... Dublin!  :D

Classic
Post by: orangeman on September 09, 2009, 11:45:14 PM
Hollywood Terror Hotel - don't miss it.
Post by: thejuice on November 24, 2018, 07:31:22 PM
Looks like the missus wants us to go next year. It'll be us and the 2 children (3yrs and 1yr) + 1 elderly mother-in-law.

Any tips or bargains? I'll be honest I've never cared about going to Disneyland so if I can avoid spending loads of money on it I'll be happy (no chance of that). Probably only 2 nights with 3 day passes. Can it be done for under £800?

P&O ferries have offers going this weekend, anyone done it flying?
Post by: Capt Pat on November 24, 2018, 07:43:44 PM
The kids are too young imho. Hold off at least a couple of years.
Post by: thejuice on November 24, 2018, 08:24:25 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on November 24, 2018, 07:43:44 PM

I'd be inclined to agree but it's more a thing for the mother in law who unfortunately can't hold off for a couple of years. It wouldn't be my choice of what to do but it's not up to me this time.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 25, 2018, 06:50:05 PM
Quote from: thejuice on November 24, 2018, 08:24:25 PM

I'd be inclined to agree but it's more a thing for the mother in law who unfortunately can't hold off for a couple of years. It wouldn't be my choice of what to do but it's not up to me this time.

Well if that's the case don't be a miser! Hit the Disney hotel and enjoy it! It's at the complex and you don't have far to get in, Also you get in earlier and on the rides before everyone else and the food is better than the other excuses for hotels onsite
Post by: Don Johnson on November 25, 2018, 08:25:17 PM
The Disneyland Hotel is a bit dated now. Not worth the extortionate fees they charge. The newly renovated Newport Bay is good and only a ten min walk from the parks.

You also get in at the same time at NPB or any of the Disney hotels, extra magic time starts at 8.30am for all Disney hotels.

Don't think you will get the four of you for sub 800 tbh. It is worth checking round the different countries versions of the website and see which works out better for you. I booked using the French site the last time saved a couple hundred using their offer rather than the UK site offer. You just ring the booking line and say you want the French or Dutch or whatever offer it is, they are grand, you just get your confirmation email in the language of the site though.
Post by: Hound on November 26, 2018, 11:35:37 AM

The 3 year old will have a great time, even if they can only go on maybe half the rides. Presume you'll have your own buggy/stroller for the 1 year old, but you can also hire a buggy just inside the entrance, which might be a good idea for the 3 year old as there's a lot of walking.

Which brings me to the elderly mother-in-law. She'd want to have plenty of energy as the park is very well spread out.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2018, 12:21:27 PM
Quote from: Hound on November 26, 2018, 11:35:37 AM

The 3 year old will have a great time, even if they can only go on maybe half the rides. Presume you'll have your own buggy/stroller for the 1 year old, but you can also hire a buggy just inside the entrance, which might be a good idea for the 3 year old as there's a lot of walking.

Which brings me to the elderly mother-in-law. She'd want to have plenty of energy as the park is very well spread out.

But a hell of a lot smaller than Florida and everything is close by.. I wouldnt do Florida again. though my kids arent kids anymore  :(
Post by: thejuice on November 26, 2018, 07:55:34 PM
Cheers for the tips. If money was no object I'd have spent it but we're trying to stretch it as far as we can.

Got a decent deal through P&O ferries. Sailing with the car with return and hotel + meals for 2 nights / 3 days all for under £700. Staying at the Santa Fe hotel.

We a double buggy for the kids and a wheelchair for the MIL but she doesn't need it most of the time it's good to have it.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 26, 2018, 08:20:06 PM
Quote from: thejuice on November 26, 2018, 07:55:34 PM
Cheers for the tips. If money was no object I'd have spent it but we're trying to stretch it as far as we can.

Got a decent deal through P&O ferries. Sailing with the car with return and hotel + meals for 2 nights / 3 days all for under £700. Staying at the Santa Fe hotel.

We a double buggy for the kids and a wheelchair for the MIL but she doesn't need it most of the time it's good to have it.

Where did you get the deal from?
Post by: Don Johnson on November 27, 2018, 09:31:59 AM

Be warned the breakfast included in the meal plans are shite. It's basically a tea or coffee with a pastry in the park and you have to queue up for ages in Cafe Hyperion while other people argue about how shit the breakfast is in front of you. But if you get in early enough to beat the queues you will be grand. You can pay to upgrade the breakfast to your hotel but it is expensive and I don't think Santa Fe offers a hot breakfast, just continental.

There is a shop in the train station at the entrance, you are safer going there in the morning and getting your water and snacks, a 500 ml bottle of water in the parks is just under 4 euros a go, but in the shop at the station you can get a 1.5 litre bottle for about 1.50E. There are fountains round the parks as well you can refill your bottles.
Post by: The_geezer on November 27, 2018, 11:44:37 AM
Quote from: Don Johnson on November 27, 2018, 09:31:59 AM

Be warned the breakfast included in the meal plans are shite. It's basically a tea or coffee with a pastry in the park and you have to queue up for ages in Cafe Hyperion while other people argue about how shit the breakfast is in front of you. But if you get in early enough to beat the queues you will be grand. You can pay to upgrade the breakfast to your hotel but it is expensive and I don't think Santa Fe offers a hot breakfast, just continental.

There is a shop in the train station at the entrance, you are safer going there in the morning and getting your water and snacks, a 500 ml bottle of water in the parks is just under 4 euros a go, but in the shop at the station you can get a 1.5 litre bottle for about 1.50E. There are fountains round the parks as well you can refill your bottles.

yeah would also be keen to know where u got the deal through?
Post by: nrico2006 on November 27, 2018, 01:40:22 PM
Going in February and staying in the Santa Fe.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 27, 2018, 11:38:35 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 27, 2018, 01:40:22 PM
Going in February and staying in the Santa Fe.

If I'm being honest The Santa Fe was crap! But it's a place to kip on site and it's basic, the buses pick you up drop you off and you sleep the minute you hit your room!

Don't spend money on the food either, think we ate once in the good restaurant on site and it was decent, had the princess's breakfast (waste of money, my girls loved it) and ate out of McDonald's the rest!