Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: longball on December 29, 2008, 07:10:47 PM

Title: Wedding bands
Post by: longball on December 29, 2008, 07:10:47 PM
Dunno if there has already been a link done about this but anyway.... Does anyone have any wedding bands that they reccommend in northern ireland. gonna be mixed crowd so need someone to suit all. So far suggestions to me have included:
The Chevys, Cream of the barley, The Boogie Men, Blindside
Title: Re: Wedding bands
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 29, 2008, 08:08:16 PM
What about David Oliver?
Post by: heganboy on December 29, 2008, 08:52:41 PM
Snow patrol?
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2008, 09:49:40 PM
James Peake Experience were excellent when I heard them recently at a wedding.
http://www.michaelmagillentertainments.com/bands-james-peake-experience.htm

Do not book Francie McPeake.
Post by: comethekingdom on December 29, 2008, 10:18:56 PM
We had ours made out of white gold,some people prefer platinum but maybe WG is sufficient in this current recession!
Post by: comethekingdom on December 29, 2008, 10:23:53 PM
Fcuk! coudln't bate that Sir.
Post by: Donagh on December 29, 2008, 10:47:00 PM
Quote from: longball on December 29, 2008, 07:10:47 PM
Dunno if there has already been a link done about this but anyway.... Does anyone have any wedding bands that they reccommend in northern ireland. gonna be mixed crowd so need someone to suit all. So far suggestions to me have included:
The Chevys, Cream of the barley, The Boogie Men, Blindside

Twice

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=6976.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=6976.0)

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7504.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=7504.0)
Post by: The Gs Man on December 29, 2008, 11:08:33 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 29, 2008, 08:10:50 PM
Captain Kennedy would do it if there was a camcorder present.

G'way and suck a fart.

It's not our fault we've been on TV more times than Obama... :P
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 29, 2008, 11:13:32 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on December 29, 2008, 11:08:33 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 29, 2008, 08:10:50 PM
Captain Kennedy would do it if there was a camcorder present.

G'way and suck a fart.

It's not our fault we've been on TV more times than Obama... :P

Have you been on TV  ???  You never mentioned that before.....
Post by: longball on December 31, 2008, 02:45:32 PM
Does anyone know much about Jokers Wild or Atmosphere? i checked them out online and they seem very good but has anyone seen them live or does anyone know how much they charging?
Post by: the milkman on December 31, 2008, 03:06:37 PM
My sister is getting a band from Cookstown called Juice, meant to be good!
Post by: longball on December 31, 2008, 03:18:21 PM
Quote from: the milkman on December 31, 2008, 03:06:37 PM

Yea seen them as well. do u no what sorta price they asking?
Post by: the milkman on December 31, 2008, 03:56:39 PM
il text her and ask her then pm. you when i find out.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 31, 2008, 04:04:15 PM
Quote from: longball on December 31, 2008, 03:18:21 PM
Quote from: the milkman on December 31, 2008, 03:06:37 PM

Yea seen them as well. do u no what sorta price they asking?

Juice were asking £500 for a dinner dance.

I'd still recommend David Oliver though. http://www.myspace.com/davidolivermusic (http://www.myspace.com/davidolivermusic)
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 20, 2015, 09:20:27 PM
Anyone know anyone who had the big jigs at their wedding?
Post by: muppet on April 20, 2015, 10:39:21 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 20, 2015, 09:20:27 PM

I take it she said yes, or else you found someone new really fast?
Post by: screenexile on April 20, 2015, 11:16:49 PM
You could do worse than these lads... Excellent!!

http://www.therareaulstuff.com
Post by: TheOptimist on April 21, 2015, 08:47:40 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 20, 2015, 09:20:27 PM

Yes, I did two years ago. We couldn't have been happier with them. Exactly what we were looking for.

Had everyone up dancing from the start to the end.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 21, 2015, 04:20:10 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 20, 2015, 11:16:49 PM

Where are they based screen?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 22, 2015, 04:42:30 PM
Check out Goodfellas, based around Cavan I think
Post by: muppet on April 22, 2015, 04:56:34 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 22, 2015, 04:42:30 PM
Check out Goodfellas, based around Cavan I think

That doesn't sound right.  :D
Post by: oakleafer on April 22, 2015, 05:23:07 PM
DO NOT book 'The Usual Suspects'.
Post by: screenexile on April 22, 2015, 07:29:28 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 21, 2015, 04:20:10 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 20, 2015, 11:16:49 PM

Where are they based screen?

Based our of Belfast Farr but they'd go anywhere I'd say.

If you've ever heard of a band called the Rapparees 3 of the lads from that band also play in the wedding band.
Post by: take_yer_points on April 23, 2015, 10:05:35 AM
Quote from: oakleafer on April 22, 2015, 05:23:07 PM

I'll second that
Post by: 50fiftyball on April 23, 2015, 12:55:31 PM
https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CCMQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.hypetheband.co.uk%2F&ei=V904Vdf3BYPsaNzvgegJ&usg=AFQjCNEkH9c6ChhMiMvx8XlkPa4DWqVbJA&bvm=bv.91427555,d.d2s

Hype , based in Cookstown are brilliant, would do most weddings in the area but are well booked ahead a year or 2 in advance!
Post by: Bingo on April 23, 2015, 01:24:18 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on April 23, 2015, 10:05:35 AM

I'll second that
Tell us more lads
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 23, 2015, 01:51:54 PM
Quote from: Bingo on April 23, 2015, 01:24:18 PM

I'll second that
Tell us more lads
The lead singer pretended he had a dodgy leg the whole way through the set but was seen walking fine out to the van at the end.
Post by: andoireabu on April 23, 2015, 01:55:18 PM
Something we were told to look out for when looking for a band was to make sure the band members you go to see are the same as you will get on the night. Some bands can have 20 different members connected to them but the ones you get sent for your do might never have played together before.
Post by: JoG2 on April 23, 2015, 01:56:08 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 23, 2015, 01:51:54 PM

I'll second that
Tell us more lads
The lead singer pretended he had a dodgy leg the whole way through the set but was seen walking fine out to the van at the end.

maybe similar to James Brown pretending to faint on stage? (he wasn't really about to faint)

I wouldn't blacken a bands name if the above is the only reason though

Wedding bands are made craic, most would be happy with a couple of hundred for a hotel / bar gig, yet will charge £1800 to play the same set at a wedding.

There must be 2 Goodfellas bands, Goodfellas and The Goodfellas. The Goodfellas are based in Co Derry and would be an excellent wedding band.
Post by: JoG2 on April 23, 2015, 02:00:13 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on April 23, 2015, 01:55:18 PM
Something we were told to look out for when looking for a band was to make sure the band members you go to see are the same as you will get on the night. Some bands can have 20 different members connected to them but the ones you get sent for your do might never have played together before.

most regular 4/ 5 piece rock 'n roll type bands will have a set lineup. The odd sub might come in to cover a member who is sick etc... These bands normally play the same shizzle so its no biggy. Swing type bands with 8/9/10 members  will have a pool of members they can call in. Mind you, the vast majority of these players will be session musicians, music teachers etc...all accomplished musicians so I wouldn't worry too much on that front
Post by: macdanger2 on April 23, 2015, 02:00:57 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 23, 2015, 01:56:08 PM

I'll second that
Tell us more lads

maybe similar to James Brown pretending to faint on stage? (he wasn't really about to faint)

Wedding bands are made craic, most would be happy with a couple of hundred for a hotel / bar gig, yet will charge £1800 to play the same set at a wedding.

There must be 2 Goodfellas bands, Goodfellas and The Goodfellas. The Goodfellas are based in Co Derry and would be an excellent wedding band.

F*ck that JoG, if a man pretends to have a limp, you expect him to have a limp and not just be putting it on. Sure if you can't believe him on that, he could be making up all sorts of other stuff as well
Post by: JohnDenver on April 23, 2015, 02:10:43 PM

I'll second that
Tell us more lads

I think this has been posted before at some point, but very relevant!

https://youtu.be/gimiDBAK2wA (https://youtu.be/gimiDBAK2wA)
Post by: andoireabu on April 23, 2015, 04:03:22 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 23, 2015, 02:00:13 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on April 23, 2015, 01:55:18 PM

most regular 4/ 5 piece rock 'n roll type bands will have a set lineup. The odd sub might come in to cover a member who is sick etc... These bands normally play the same shizzle so its no biggy. Swing type bands with 8/9/10 members  will have a pool of members they can call in. Mind you, the vast majority of these players will be session musicians, music teachers etc...all accomplished musicians so I wouldn't worry too much on that front
The girl that warned us said she had booked a band she saw and liked then on the night of her wedding different lads turned up to played and they were sh1te. If I was paying €1200+ for a band I would want the people I saw and liked, not strangers that someone else decided would do. Just something people should think about.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 23, 2015, 04:06:26 PM
Maybe she was drunk when she saw them the first time. Wouldn't be the first time someone or something looked way better with a few drinks in ya. :)
Post by: take_yer_points on April 23, 2015, 04:20:11 PM

I'll second that
Tell us more lads

They just weren't that great - they came out with something like "we don't really do requests, we'll judge how the crowd are reacting and play accordingly". That would've been perfect if they were good and got the crowd up dancing but it didn't happen.

At the end of the night I went to give them an envelope with a cheque for the balance in it (same as everyone else who were paid that day). They wouldn't take it and said they didn't have an account they could pay it into - that was a load of shit because the deposit was paid into their account. They wanted the guts of a grand in cash at 1am (without asking for it before the day) and weren't too happy about not getting it.
Post by: oakleafer on April 23, 2015, 04:36:53 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on April 23, 2015, 04:20:11 PM

I'll second that
Tell us more lads

They just weren't that great - they came out with something like "we don't really do requests, we'll judge how the crowd are reacting and play accordingly". That would've been perfect if they were good and got the crowd up dancing but it didn't happen.

At the end of the night I went to give them an envelope with a cheque for the balance in it (same as everyone else who were paid that day). They wouldn't take it and said they didn't have an account they could pay it into - that was a load of shit because the deposit was paid into their account. They wanted the guts of a grand in cash at 1am (without asking for it before the day) and weren't too happy about not getting it.

When the band started after the meal, they were a bit loud as there were a few of the elder guests still chatting and drinking coffee and tea at the tables. No one was yet on the dance floor. I asked them if they could ease in gently and lower the volume. They refused, and told me they were a wedding band not a wake band. One of them later pushed my sister when he thought she was dancing too close to where he was playing. They were obnoxious and rude and made no attempt to get a feel for the crowd or take requests.
Post by: leaveherinsir on April 23, 2015, 11:00:59 PM
Last Man Standing i could recommend. Didnt put the arm in too far, nice lads accomodated our needs 100%. Good musicans.Travel far and wide also
Post by: JoG2 on April 24, 2015, 10:59:00 AM
Quote from: oakleafer on April 23, 2015, 04:36:53 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on April 23, 2015, 04:20:11 PM

I'll second that
Tell us more lads

When the band started after the meal, they were a bit loud as there were a few of the elder guests still chatting and drinking coffee and tea at the tables. No one was yet on the dance floor. I asked them if they could ease in gently and lower the volume. They refused, and told me they were a wedding band not a wake band. One of them later pushed my sister when he thought she was dancing too close to where he was playing. They were obnoxious and rude and made no attempt to get a feel for the crowd or take requests.

bad action. surely these cowboys know your rep is everything in the wedding business?
Post by: muppet on April 25, 2015, 06:19:32 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on April 23, 2015, 02:00:57 PM

I'll second that
Tell us more lads

F*ck that JoG, if a man pretends to have a limp, you expect him to have a limp and not just be putting it on. Sure if you can't believe him on that, he could be making up all sorts of other stuff as well

;D ;D