GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Bud Wiser on December 19, 2008, 07:11:42 PM

Title: Cork Strikers on the wrong side of Jesus
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 19, 2008, 07:11:42 PM
Seems an Phiarsaigh club in Cork are upset over the unwanted interference of a priest concerning his sermon about the strikers, O'Halpin and John Gardiner. They want the Cork County Board to disassociate themselves from the remarks.

Fr. Cotter said in his sermon:

"And who got man of the match when we played Kilkenny?  Eoin Larkin did.  And who was supposed to be marking him? Who? What right half back was supposed to be marking him?  And who scored most scores for Kilkenny on the other side, Eddie Brennan?  And who was supposed to be marking him?  "

Brilliant stuff altogether, keep it up Padre, but watch you don't get sued by the GPA.

If you get another Sunday at it Fr. Cotter you could give Gardiner a three Hail Mary penance for a bit of striking a player from behind on the day, or better still, damn the lot of them for going on strike in the first place.  Either way, do as priests do as I have found out in other matters, interfere at all costs, even if there are a few less euro coins on the plate.
Title: Re: Cork Strikers on the wrong side of Jesus
Post by: Lecale2 on December 19, 2008, 08:05:26 PM
I think Fr Cotter hurled for Cork at one time. Mind you I wouldn't be a fan of priests interferring with team selection from the pulpit. Or interferring with anything really.
Post by: bigpaul on December 19, 2008, 11:58:14 PM
Can't see how Fr Cotter thought his 'sermon' was going to help the situation! Why didn't he just write a letter to The Examiner'? However, the one thing that causes me great problems with the latest chapter in this saga is the fact that the players are trying to get rid of an incumbent manager!
Post by: County Player on December 20, 2008, 12:01:35 AM

well in fairness they were trying to prevent him becoming an incumbent manager. his term was up and they didn't want him back
Post by: bigpaul on December 20, 2008, 12:16:03 AM
Don't know, I could fully grasp the whole thing last year and had a great deal of sympathy with the footballers case, however, this year the scenario opens up a whole can of worms. If the Cork County Board reneged on some agreement they made in the past the players should state this clearly, if procedure wasn't followed then tell us how. But if it's a case of the players not being happy with the reappointment of a manager it has to be of concern to counties and clubs everywhere!
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 20, 2008, 09:27:44 AM
Not that Laois can talk but they are a has been county anyway, their annual trip out against Kerry is about it in football and if they had the pick of managers from the 32 counties and the premiership they are has beens in hurling.  They should do what their fellow Corkmen, Roy Keane and Stephen Ireland are good at doing, walk away from their responsibilities and hide behind one off TV interviews or get their father to speak for them because all they are good at is causing trouble and this is not their first time out.  If the team get to select the manager instead of the Manager selecting the team then it is a poor lookout for other counties.

As for the priest, it is not uncommon for priests to stick their noses in where they are not wanted, in fact it is more common than not from my very own experience.  ( I had to bring one to the High Court to pull his nose back out of mine) However, the actions of the Cork players over the last years, from the time they protested by wearing their socks around their ankles has been complimented on an annual basis by one row or another that not alone has disrupted GAA in Cork but in other counties that were prepared to play them.   Anyway they are shite.
Post by: Guillem2 on December 20, 2008, 09:33:52 AM
Quotefrom the time they protested by wearing their socks around their ankles

Are they still at that?  ::)

By their socks shall you know them.
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 20, 2008, 04:57:05 PM
Well, like I say, we can't talk, instead of going on strike we had clubs Portlaoise & St. Josephs having the U21 Final abandoned last year? Remember that?  Then Tom Kelly and Joe Higgins were retiring this year, then decided they were not retiring etc which I thought was because their club teams had been thrown out of the U21 championship.

That game (2007 U21 Final) was replayed last week which means Michael Dempsey the new manager is without Craig Rogers who was admitted to hospital with his jaw broke in three places and he will not be back until February/March if he comes back at all. 
Post by: Zulu on December 20, 2008, 08:55:31 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on December 20, 2008, 09:27:44 AM
Not that Laois can talk but they are a has been county anyway, their annual trip out against Kerry is about it in football and if they had the pick of managers from the 32 counties and the premiership they are has beens in hurling.  They should do what their fellow Corkmen, Roy Keane and Stephen Ireland are good at doing, walk away from their responsibilities and hide behind one off TV interviews or get their father to speak for them because all they are good at is causing trouble and this is not their first time out.  If the team get to select the manager instead of the Manager selecting the team then it is a poor lookout for other counties.

As for the priest, it is not uncommon for priests to stick their noses in where they are not wanted, in fact it is more common than not from my very own experience.  ( I had to bring one to the High Court to pull his nose back out of mine) However, the actions of the Cork players over the last years, from the time they protested by wearing their socks around their ankles has been complimented on an annual basis by one row or another that not alone has disrupted GAA in Cork but in other counties that were prepared to play them.   Anyway they are shite.

I must say that the above post is one of the most ill-informed crock of shit posts ever posted on here.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on December 21, 2008, 12:05:41 AM
Quote from: bigpaul on December 19, 2008, 11:58:14 PM
Can't see how Fr Cotter thought his 'sermon' was going to help the situation! Why didn't he just write a letter to The Examiner'? However, the one thing that causes me great problems with the latest chapter in this saga is the fact that the players are trying to get rid of an incumbent manager!

So what are players supposed to do if they end up with an incompetent manager???
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on December 21, 2008, 11:46:14 AM
Play football no matter who the manager is thats what there paid for.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 21, 2008, 12:29:08 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on December 21, 2008, 11:46:14 AM
Play football no matter who the manager is thats what there paid for.
Yeah, but they're not going to last too long in the Hurling if they play football.
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 21, 2008, 12:35:26 PM
QuoteI must say that the above post is one of the most ill-informed crock of shit posts ever posted on here.

Maybe you don't understand it?  Put simply, if there was a rule against bringing the game into disrepute like the Brits have in football the entire Cork team would be suspended, not now, but every year for the last three years.  They are, in my opinion, a scab on the side of the GAA at the moment.  That's the first thing.  The second one is that priests, and as I said, I have experience of this, do stick their noses in where they are not wanted, like only last week when the bishp said that we have to learn how to live a less extravagant lifestyle only for the Herald to reveal on Friday that the same bishop was spending half a million euro upgrading his Dublin mansion.

Now, whether it is a crock of shit post or not it is my opinion.  The fact that you used the word "shit" in your reply tends to lead me to believe you are not a priest yourself which in turn leads me to think you must be from Cork in which case I am really really sorry for you, or from the GPA in which case I am really, really, really sorry for you.

(http://www.fennetec.com/gpa.jpg)
Post by: Rossfan on December 21, 2008, 03:39:55 PM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on December 21, 2008, 11:46:14 AM
Play football .... thats what there paid for.

So those rumours about Armagh are true so. :D ;D
Post by: stevetharlear on December 23, 2008, 05:47:00 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on December 21, 2008, 12:35:26 PM
QuoteI must say that the above post is one of the most ill-informed crock of shit posts ever posted on here.

Maybe you don't understand it?  Put simply, if there was a rule against bringing the game into disrepute like the Brits have in football the entire Cork team would be suspended, not now, but every year for the last three years.  They are, in my opinion, a scab on the side of the GAA at the moment.  That's the first thing.  The second one is that priests, and as I said, I have experience of this, do stick their noses in where they are not wanted, like only last week when the bishp said that we have to learn how to live a less extravagant lifestyle only for the Herald to reveal on Friday that the same bishop was spending half a million euro upgrading his Dublin mansion.

Now, whether it is a crock of shit post or not it is my opinion.  The fact that you used the word "shit" in your reply tends to lead me to believe you are not a priest yourself which in turn leads me to think you must be from Cork in which case I am really really sorry for you, or from the GPA in which case I am really, really, really sorry for you.

Christ you're clever for a Laois man. As for your "Anyway they are shite" from an earlier quote above... well, they don't give out AI medals for free, man, but you'd not know much about that. Can't even win Leinster.

UP THE GPA! I'm off to spend my grant.
Post by: orangeman on December 23, 2008, 06:27:26 PM
Quote from: stevetharlear on December 23, 2008, 05:47:00 PM

Christ you're clever for a Laois man. As for your "Anyway they are shite" from an earlier quote above... well, they don't give out AI medals for free, man, but you'd not know much about that. Can't even win Leinster.

Have yoi it spent yet Steve ??  ;)
Post by: stevetharlear on December 23, 2008, 10:51:21 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 23, 2008, 06:27:26 PM

Long long gone OM, the price of these "protein shakes" is murder what with the state of sterling!!! ;)
Post by: orangeman on December 24, 2008, 12:31:36 PM
Quote from: stevetharlear on December 23, 2008, 10:51:21 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 23, 2008, 06:27:26 PM

Long long gone OM, the price of these "protein shakes" is murder what with the state of sterling!!! ;)

;) ;) ;)   Enjoy !!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 30, 2008, 10:45:56 AM
The thing i dont understand is I read all the statements in full. McCarthys main argument was that the same players who want him ousted are the same players who were quoted strongly praising his approach to management a few months ago. So how can he be incompetent, McCarthy further adds about the set up and I can honestly say it impressed the hell out of me. Nothing seemed left to chance.

Can someone explain what exactly the Cork hurlers are looking for? Because to me it has nothing to do with McCarthys standard as a manager and more to do with politics in Cork GAA.

The only thing I will say is Like ROY KEANE who found a new respect for Mick McCarthy when he started managing himself, the Cork players who no doubt some will go on to manage Cork will soon see the other side of the coin and may cop on then.
Post by: Reillers on December 30, 2008, 12:40:54 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 30, 2008, 10:45:56 AM
The thing i dont understand is I read all the statements in full. McCarthys main argument was that the same players who want him ousted are the same players who were quoted strongly praising his approach to management a few months ago

In the confidential document, that was set up by a facilitator who was brought in by the players to help them and the manager get along, to clear the air, they were made write POSITIVE things down about McCarthy, that document was then given to McCarthy and that was that, that is until McCarthy leaked it to the press, breaching the trust, destroying whatever trust was left, all to make the players look two faced.
So how can he be incompetent, McCarthy further adds about the set up and I can honestly say it impressed the hell out of me. Nothing seemed left to chance.

Can someone explain what exactly the Cork hurlers are looking for? Because to me it has nothing to do with McCarthys standard as a manager and more to do with politics in Cork GAA.

The only thing I will say is Like ROY KEANE who found a new respect for Mick McCarthy when he started managing himself, the Cork players who no doubt some will go on to manage Cork will soon see the other side of the coin and may cop on then.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 30, 2008, 01:02:21 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 30, 2008, 12:40:54 PM
The thing i dont understand is I read all the statements in full. McCarthys main argument was that the same players who want him ousted are the same players who were quoted strongly praising his approach to management a few months ago

In the confidential document, that was set up by a facilitator who was brought in by the players to help them and the manager get along, to clear the air, they were made write POSITIVE things down about McCarthy, that document was then given to McCarthy and that was that, that is until McCarthy leaked it to the press, breaching the trust, destroying whatever trust was left, all to make the players look two faced.
So how can he be incompetent, McCarthy further adds about the set up and I can honestly say it impressed the hell out of me. Nothing seemed left to chance.

McCarthy made it sound like it was a newspaper interview the quotes were from, back his case up strongly but it seems i was misinformed, thanks reillers for that as i havnt read the other thread in full. Sounds very messy at this stage though. This yr may have no solution.

Breaking confidential agreements is a very low blow and is that in the public domain that the players were made write positive things and McCarthy broke the agreement? Very sad to hear that shite going on.

McCarthy like Holland will have to go is the one and only solution.
Post by: stevetharlear on December 30, 2008, 04:23:09 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 30, 2008, 01:02:21 PM

McCarthy made it sound like it was a newspaper interview the quotes were from, back his case up strongly but it seems i was misinformed, thanks reillers for that as i havnt read the other thread in full. Sounds very messy at this stage though. This yr may have no solution.

Breaking confidential agreements is a very low blow and is that in the public domain that the players were made write positive things and McCarthy broke the agreement? Very sad to hear that shite going on.

One of the more senior players, Timmy McCarthy, 3 time All Ireland winner, when told he HAD to write something positive about the manager wrote...

"Always very well groomed". Funny how Ger didn't publish that one. ;D
Post by: orangeman on December 30, 2008, 05:46:50 PM
Quote from: stevetharlear on December 30, 2008, 04:23:09 PM

One of the more senior players, Timmy McCarthy, 3 time All Ireland winner, when told he HAD to write something positive about the manager wrote...

Timmy's a nice lad himself for a farmer !!!  ;) ;)
Post by: Reillers on December 30, 2008, 06:05:41 PM

LOL!! Maybe next time Gerald will remember what club Timmy Mac plays for, who knows that might have saved us the whole hastle.
Post by: orangeman on December 30, 2008, 06:23:27 PM
Quote from: Reillers on December 30, 2008, 06:05:41 PM

LOL!! Maybe next time Gerald will remember what club Timmy Mac plays for, who knows that might have saved us the whole hastle.

But sure who cares about the clubs Reillers - the Senior hurlers certainly don't ! All they care about is themselves - oh - and the wheels of course !
Post by: JMohan on January 02, 2009, 12:10:39 PM

If that is true it says so much!
haha
Post by: stevetharlear on January 02, 2009, 09:08:07 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 30, 2008, 05:46:50 PM
Timmy's a nice lad himself for a farmer !!!  ;) ;)

Playing hurling for Cork automatically makes you a "lasher". ;)
Post by: johnneycool on January 05, 2009, 10:27:06 AM
Quote from: Reillers on December 30, 2008, 06:05:41 PM

aye right, Ger not knowing Timmy's club was instrumental in this whole debacle.....
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 06, 2009, 12:20:44 PM
The thing i dont understand is I read all the statements in full. McCarthys main argument was that the same players who want him ousted are the same players who were quoted strongly praising his approach to management a few months ago. So how can he be incompetent, McCarthy further adds about the set up and I can honestly say it impressed the hell out of me. Nothing seemed left to chance.

:D priceless stuff Sligonian, keep em coming...
Post by: THE BLUE AND GOLD on February 12, 2009, 10:32:44 PM
i guezz being 5th team im mun behind tipp water lim clare hurtz id be on the picket line to. looooool. drop the lot get people im who dont have there headz in the cloudz ;D :D ;D :D ;D :D