Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Clown on December 16, 2008, 01:47:05 PM

Title: stephen ireland
Post by: Clown on December 16, 2008, 01:47:05 PM
dunno if theres a thread already on this topic

anyone see the irish star on sunday? irelands father said he will be back in 09 for the republic team
also denied his son wore a wig orwas bullied be irish team mates

he will be a great addition to the team, best irish player this season by a long way.
will he receive any boos from the fans do you think?
Title: Re: stephen ireland
Post by: mattockranger on December 16, 2008, 01:56:27 PM
i thinks it fantastic news!!!

I don't care if people dislike him for wat he's done!!
he's our best midfield option and has to be welcomed back with open arms

compared him to glen whelan and gibson he's lightyears ahead of them and a great boost for the world cup qualifying campaign!
Post by: nrico2006 on December 16, 2008, 03:21:48 PM
He is a tube but Ireland badly need a decent midfielder right now.  He has done well this season but I have yet to be overly impressed by him anytime I have saw him. 
Post by: billy the kid on December 16, 2008, 03:50:54 PM
This is great news for the Rep. if its true.
Post by: Orior on December 16, 2008, 03:54:31 PM
Wasnt it his own team mate Dunne (and someone else) who teased him about the wig and pinned him to the ground to prise it off?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 16, 2008, 04:28:54 PM
Stephen Ireland's dad  has 4 grandkids - and he's 39
Post by: Doogie Browser on December 16, 2008, 04:30:36 PM
I seen that Gab and didn't want to comment, that is crazy Karen Matthews stuff.
Post by: T Fearon on December 16, 2008, 04:35:13 PM
Good news for our national side. Hasn't Stephen himself got about three kids and he's only 19 or 20?
Post by: ludermor on December 16, 2008, 04:43:23 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 16, 2008, 04:35:13 PM
Good news for our national side. Hasn't Stephen himself got about three kids and he's only 19 or 20?

Im no expert but id imagine that there may be a connection between Stephens 3 kids and his fathers grandkids
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 16, 2008, 05:06:52 PM
Good to hear. He's a better footballer than anyone else on the ROI squad and has been Man Citys best this season. I'd welcome him with open arms
Post by: Clown on December 16, 2008, 05:09:24 PM
steven hunt was on a chat show about a year ago on rte and grinned when asked about the bullying of ireland, he didnt deny it so it must of happened
Post by: Orior on December 16, 2008, 05:18:42 PM
Quote from: ludermor on December 16, 2008, 04:43:23 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 16, 2008, 04:35:13 PM

Im no expert but id imagine that there may be a connection between Stephens 3 kids and his fathers grandkids

Ah sure maybe Stephen has an older brother in the priesthood?
Post by: Leo on December 16, 2008, 05:48:39 PM
Now that we've seen the back of one Cork primadonna we may as well accommodate his successor.
Welcome Keane-lite.
Will be good fodder for the tabloids by all accounts.
At least Whelan and Gibson (born in the North) WANT to play for their country.
Post by: tyronefan on December 16, 2008, 06:31:53 PM
dont know how many kids he has but he had 4 grannies  2 living and 2 dead   ;D ;D
Post by: Orior on December 16, 2008, 07:34:37 PM
If the baldy fecker gets upset about a bit of banter then how does the baldy fecker cope in the premiership, the baldy fecker.

Whadyareckon ONeill?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 16, 2008, 09:52:29 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 16, 2008, 03:21:48 PM
He is a tube but Ireland badly need a decent midfielder right now.  He has done well this season but I have yet to be overly impressed by him anytime I have saw him. 

No doubt if he played for the red half of Manchester you would have a different view.
He has been the player of the season in the Premier League so far,granted the last few games he has gone off the boil a little but he is having one hell of a season.
I would be delighted to see him come back
Post by: slow corner back on December 16, 2008, 10:50:48 PM
Ireland is a good player but I think you are wrong to assume he will walk back into the team. Trappatoni likes big tall strong midfielders who work hard, this is his stated reason for leaving out Andy Reid. Stephen Ireland does not tick any of those boxes
Post by: The Biff on December 16, 2008, 11:59:44 PM
Whatever about slagging his "hairstyle", I'd be more worried about what the team would say about his motor ......

http://www.faniq.com/blog/Manchester-Citys-Stephen-Ireland-Has-The-Worst-Ride-Ever-Blog-6996 (http://www.faniq.com/blog/Manchester-Citys-Stephen-Ireland-Has-The-Worst-Ride-Ever-Blog-6996)

(http://www.faniq.com/images/blog/IrelandPinkRange_800x459(4).jpg)
Post by: carribbear on December 17, 2008, 12:00:55 AM
Was that picture old or is that the wig?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 17, 2008, 12:07:23 AM
Would you keep the paint job?
Post by: Rav67 on December 17, 2008, 12:49:43 AM
Trap will have to find a place for him, he's far too good to leave out and he's played wide right, wide left, centre mid and just off the front for City before so he's very versatile.  I hope Trap plays him centre midfield but he's a cautious type so it could be McGeady who gets the chop.
Post by: rosnarun on December 17, 2008, 01:15:16 AM
the guy has made it quiet clear he doesn't want to play on the FAI's team . so it a non subject. if they acted like a shower of c***ts to him  hes dead right.
Post by: toiletroller on December 17, 2008, 09:18:14 AM
he seems like a right chav/ spide what ever you want to call him. The customised Range Rover seals has confirmed it for me!
Post by: nrico2006 on December 17, 2008, 09:20:20 AM
QuoteNo doubt if he played for the red half of Manchester you would have a different view.
He has been the player of the season in the Premier League so far,granted the last few games he has gone off the boil a little but he is having one hell of a season.
I would be delighted to see him come back

Maybe, my point was that I haven't watched all of Citys games but I watched the derby and he was anonymous.  He would be a good addition to the team but I think that people are expecting too much from him.  As for the FAI treating him badly, i think that is a bit over the top.  The whole granny affair was his own doing and he dug his own hole.
Post by: Leo on December 17, 2008, 10:25:31 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 17, 2008, 09:20:20 AM

Maybe, my point was that I haven't watched all of Citys games but I watched the derby and he was anonymous.  He would be a good addition to the team but I think that people are expecting too much from him.  As for the FAI treating him badly, i think that is a bit over the top.  The whole granny affair was his own doing and he dug his own hole.

The desperation among Ireland fans to worship at the altar of some bling-bling workaday footballer masks the true paucity of the talent available to Trappatoni. I am not a Man Utd fan by any stretch (ABU really) but take that team  as a yardstick and ask how many of the Irish premiership "stars" would get a look-in. Maybe Given (but not ahead of Van der Sar), Dunne (but not ahead of Vidic or, God save us, even Ferdinand) or, as a squad player, Doyle.The much maligned O'Shea gets a squad place on consistency and versatlity for the club but is far from a first choice. Ferguson clearly rates Gibson as a coming player and occasional squad choice and on the basis he should be good enough for this very mediocre Ireland team.
Would you depend on Stephen Ireland in the heat of a World Cup away battle when he cant take a bit of hairy slagging and will sell one or two grannies to duck out of his responsibilities.
There must be something about the water in that Lee.
Post by: dublinfella on December 17, 2008, 10:34:30 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on December 17, 2008, 01:15:16 AM
the guy has made it quiet clear he doesn't want to play on the FAI's team . so it a non subject. if they acted like a shower of c***ts to him  hes dead right.

This would be the same FAI who chartered a plane to get him home to his granny's 'funeral'?

Hyland had an interesting piece in the Herald yesterday (I know...) where he responded to the father saying that at some point next year he might come back with 'don't do us any favours'.

He is a good player and we could do with him, but the simple fact is he has alienated the rest of the squad, sat back and allowed the FAI to be unfairly destroyed in the press, failed to show up for a meeting with Trap and Brady and now has the neck to think he can stroll back whenever it suits him. I can guarantee he will never play for the Irish side under Trappatoni.

He personifies the spoilt brat EPL player.
Post by: An Fear Rua on December 17, 2008, 10:45:40 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 16, 2008, 09:52:29 PM

No doubt if he played for the red half of Manchester you would have a different view.

oh the irony
Post by: An Fear Rua on December 17, 2008, 10:52:17 AM
Ireland is a decent player, and had a good start to the season. Hes comfortable at city and hughes is obviously handling him well. He would bring good energy to the midfield and maybe a goal or two, but Im not sure he will cope with not being ,for want of a better word mollycoddled, in the Ireland squad. If Trap and Brady can get him right mentally to come back then it could be worthwhile, Im not convinced Trap wants the hassle. Im not convinced Ireland is mature enough to let the past go either.

Oh and if he does come back, leave the y- fronts in Burnage theres a good lad.
Post by: rosnarun on December 18, 2008, 01:37:35 AM
This would be the same FAI who chartered a plane to get him home to his granny's 'funeral'?

Hyland had an interesting piece in the Herald yesterday (I know...) where he responded to the father saying that at some point next year he might come back with 'don't do us any favours'.

He is a good player and we could do with him, but the simple fact is he has alienated the rest of the squad, sat back and allowed the FAI to be unfairly destroyed in the press, failed to show up for a meeting with Trap and Brady and now has the neck to think he can stroll back whenever it suits him. I can guarantee he will never play for the Irish side under Trappatoni.

He personifies the spoilt brat EPL player.
aye and the same one who did nothing when he was bullied and abused before on of the FAI's games. no one with any pride would put up with that sort of crap. and a smirking little shit like S hunt does nothing to dispell the notion.
its mot Stephen Ireland that has the problem it the FAI and their crap soccer team ,he's better off without them.
Post by: dublinfella on December 18, 2008, 01:22:49 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on December 18, 2008, 01:37:35 AM

aye and the same one who did nothing when he was bullied and abused before on of the FAI's games. no one with any pride would put up with that sort of crap. and a smirking little shit like S hunt does nothing to dispell the notion.
its mot Stephen Ireland that has the problem it the FAI and their crap soccer team ,he's better off without them.

Has he ever actually alledged he was "bullied and abused"? Thats an aside, but if you think the 'proud' way to deal with stick is to invent the deaths of two grannies you are on a different planet to the rest of us.

The FAI bashing is tedious. What on earth, even if it did happen, is it to with the FAI? Would it be the GAA's fault if a county player quit a panel because he didn't get on with his team mates?

Stephen Ireland didn't attend a scheduled meeting in Manchester with Trappatoni and Brady, two players whose boots he is not fit to lace. That is pure brat behaviour, as is thinking he can just decide at some point to stroll back into the squad.

Talented player, but simply not worth the hassle at the moment. Hopefully he grows up and decides he wants to play for his country as opposed to having international week off.
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 18, 2008, 01:47:51 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on December 18, 2008, 01:22:49 PM

Has he ever actually alledged he was "bullied and abused"? Thats an aside, but if you think the 'proud' way to deal with stick is to invent the deaths of two grannies you are on a different planet to the rest of us.

The FAI bashing is tedious. What on earth, even if it did happen, is it to with the FAI? Would it be the GAA's fault if a county player quit a panel because he didn't get on with his team mates?
Stephen Ireland didn't attend a scheduled meeting in Manchester with Trappatoni and Brady, two players whose boots he is not fit to lace. That is pure brat behaviour, as is thinking he can just decide at some point to stroll back into the squad.
Talented player, but simply not worth the hassle at the moment. Hopefully he grows up and decides he wants to play for his country as opposed to having international week off.

I'd say the FAI could bear some responsiblity if it happened during international duty, when a player is being verbally abused and bullied, who else would be held accountable?
Could you name any player on the ROI squad fit to lace Brady or Trapa's boots?
Considering the pub team midfield we have I'd say he is well worth the hassle.

Post by: Doogie Browser on December 18, 2008, 02:03:18 PM
Interesting article in todays Mail on Ireland giving a different slant on him nowadays.  Three kids at 22 though, him and the missus must think the rhythm method is shagging to the sound of Kanye West.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1097071/Has-Man-Citys-midfield-marauder-Stephen-Ireland-finally-grown-up.html
Post by: dublinfella on December 18, 2008, 04:44:20 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 18, 2008, 01:47:51 PM

I'd say the FAI could bear some responsiblity if it happened during international duty, when a player is being verbally abused and bullied, who else would be held accountable?
Could you name any player on the ROI squad fit to lace Brady or Trapa's boots?
Considering the pub team midfield we have I'd say he is well worth the hassle.

I would hold the team management accountable. As it happens I think the entire situation was symbolic of the shambles that was the Bobby Staunton regeime, but the manner in which he behaved and left the FAI carrying the can was unforgivable.

The FAI become involved if the player makes a complaint, which at no point did he do. Again, at what point to the GAA become involved if a player leaves a county panel and rumours abound?

He stood Trappatoni up in Manchester. He is finished for the foreseeable future, even if he does decide to grace us with his presence. Traps has lashed better players for a lot less and his success stems from his discipline as a manager. Could you imagine Big Jack putting up with this? Or Fergie? etc.
Post by: Main Street on December 18, 2008, 05:20:16 PM
[
What is your source for the bullying allegations?
They are total nonsense.
Even his father emphatically denies SI was ever bullied. A long time ago Dunne took SI to task by publicly asking him to dispel such bullying rumours. It was in SI interests that such rumours be bandied about casting a slur on his team mates to deflect from himself.
Post by: Puckoon on December 26, 2008, 04:33:07 PM
Some performance from the boul boy today.
Post by: stiffler on December 26, 2008, 05:06:58 PM
Unreal performance from the Cork man today....such a talented player with a fragile mentality.
Post by: anglocelt39 on December 26, 2008, 07:16:41 PM
Could you imagine Big Jack putting up with this? Or Fergie? etc.

Read Paul McGrath's autobiography and you can do more than imagine you can see what big Jack "put up" with, and Fergie up to a point before he gated McGrath and Whiteside. Villa then "put up" with Paul at Club level and damn near won a few titles in the process. Had this very sort of pub conversation today and one lad pointed out that Keano was well enough indulged in his time as an international player, the sort of theory seemed to be that he doesn't really get on with others (history suggests this was a fair assessment) so let's try flying him in on the day, using his superb ability as a justification for this different treatment. Worked out well for a while.

Might now be the chance for Trap, Brady etc to show some real managerial mettle and bend the rules a bit to get  a serious talent operating, making some allowances along the way as were made for Keano and McGrath. Reckon Ireland's not worth the hassle-Glenn Whelan or Darren Gibson anybody.

I've heard a few of the Stephen Hunt yarns as well, good grafter, no  more or less. Wouldn't be laying on any special transport for the Clonea Power lad in fairness.
Post by: Old Bill on December 26, 2008, 11:22:27 PM
pure class today and has been the form midfielder in the prem this year bar none. Worth 15-20m now and not the 5m that he was going to Funderland for. Outstanding player even if he did have a dodgy hair transplant! sparky has called him the shining light this season. Phil brown very good manager did the right thing today in bringing his dung over to the fans at HT. Paul Mc Shane wouldn get a game with Linfield either.
Post by: rosnarun on December 27, 2008, 05:24:10 PM
QuoteStephen Ireland didn't attend a scheduled meeting in Manchester with Trappatoni and Brady, two players whose boots he is not fit to lace. That is pure brat behavior, as is thinking he can just decide at some point to stroll back into the squad.
what the feck has that got to do with any thing . brady showed his management class well enough at celtic. who care what lind ofplayer he was.
of course the fai are responsible . if they are not responsible for the team representing them. what exactly are they useless shower of c***ts responsible for apart from lining their own pockets like most soccer people.
Post by: thebandit on January 07, 2009, 10:09:38 AM
He's coming back according to Today FM News
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on January 07, 2009, 11:42:37 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on December 18, 2008, 01:22:49 PM
Hopefully he grows up and decides he wants to play for his country as opposed to having international week off.

Does today's news mean that your wish has come true and now you welcome him back into the squad Dublinfella?
Post by: Clown on January 07, 2009, 11:58:18 AM
can anyone post a link to todays news of him coming back ?
Post by: magpie seanie on January 07, 2009, 01:03:00 PM
He is a good player alright but I think we could have Andy Reid saga mark II coming up. Trap is very single minded and I wouldn't take it for granted he'll pick SI. Also - we do tend to overstate how good some of our players are. Ireland has got a lot of goals and done some good stuff but some of the hyperbole written on this thread and elsewhere about him is mind boggling. It was the same with AR. For what its worth I'd pick them both is a 5 man midfield with Doyle up front on his own.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on January 07, 2009, 01:20:33 PM
Quote from: Clown on January 07, 2009, 11:58:18 AM
can anyone post a link to todays news of him coming back ?

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/internationals/ireland-mystery-deepens-1594092.html
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on January 07, 2009, 01:21:44 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 07, 2009, 01:03:00 PM
He is a good player alright but I think we could have Andy Reid saga mark II coming up. Trap is very single minded and I wouldn't take it for granted he'll pick SI. Also - we do tend to overstate how good some of our players are. Ireland has got a lot of goals and done some good stuff but some of the hyperbole written on this thread and elsewhere about him is mind boggling. It was the same with AR. For what its worth I'd pick them both is a 5 man midfield with Doyle up front on his own.

Andy Reid is an easier fella to like than Stephen Ireland but Ireland seems to have the better career, don't you think?
Post by: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 01:57:36 PM
I don't see where he's going to play Ireland in his rigid 4-4-2, unless he drops McGeady and plays him wide-right.  That's not what appears to be his strongest position, but there's no way he'll get a central midfield slot while Trap lives and breathes.
Post by: Hound on January 07, 2009, 02:14:15 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 01:57:36 PM
I don't see where he's going to play Ireland in his rigid 4-4-2, unless he drops McGeady and plays him wide-right.  That's not what appears to be his strongest position, but there's no way he'll get a central midfield slot while Trap lives and breathes.
Well he never plays for City as a central midfielder in a 4-4-2 system, and when he's played for Ireland previously in such a position he has done poorly, whereas he has done reasonably well when he's played on the right. I don't think there is any doubt that in a 4-4-2 system, he is definitely better on the right side of midfield, and thus I agree it is McGeady who is at risk.

In saying all that, he has come on a lot this year, so perhaps he might be able to make the step up now to central midfielder, but with no friendlies I don't think there's any chance of Trap experimenting for the home qualifier v Georgia.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 07, 2009, 02:18:38 PM
QuoteI don't think there's any chance of Trap experimenting for the home qualifier v Georgia

Probably not, though in the last meeting he did have Stephen Reid in central midfield, and he was MOTM.  This time he doesn't, and Glenn Whelan isn't (ahem) 'equipped' to give Ireland a 'free' creative role in midfield.  Carsley might, for an hour.
Post by: Hound on January 07, 2009, 02:27:56 PM
I don't think Carsley's even in the squad these days.
We'd be a good team if Steven Reid was fit and available all the time.

Andrews is supposed to be doing well at Blackburn, so I wouldnt be surprised if he's moved ahead of Whelan, but it'll probably be the two of them. I have never seen Gibson play well, but I guess he must have something if Ferguson keeps him on the fringes. He might have done himself out of a start tonight after his performance v Soton, but maybe Ferguson will give him the chance as he did get the goal at the end, and if so he might still have a chance of a start v Georgia. Presumably Trap at least watches a few of the games on the telly...
Post by: red hander on January 07, 2009, 02:40:23 PM
Yeah, pity about Steven Reid ... very intelligent footballer but buggered by injuries unfortunately
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on January 07, 2009, 03:24:57 PM
There's a very interesting line in that Herald story from today.

Contact between the two men was re-established a few months back and Trapattoni has been to see Ireland play.

Now, one of the big knocks on Trapattoni was that he didn't watch players at games, and Paul Hyland would be first in the queue to complain about that. So, does this mean that
1. Trap has had a change of heart?
2. That the whole thing about Trap not travelling was a load of balls from the start?
3. or that Trap hasn't been to see Ireland play and Hyland is just writing whatever comes into his head?

It'd be interesting to know.
Post by: Clown on January 07, 2009, 03:26:24 PM
he may hav just been watchin richard dunne?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 07, 2009, 04:06:30 PM
It would be great to see him back,he is a terrific player and is the best preforming Irish man along with Shay Given in the Premier League at the moment,I hope the news is true...
I honestly can't see Trap not playing him,where he plays him is anyone guess but I have no doubt he will be a regular starter,maybe not in the first game or two but I doubt Trap will leave out a player of Ireland's talent for too long,The Reid situation is different as Reid isn't half the player Ireland is and is far less of a loss to the team than Ireland is/was
Post by: ludermor on January 07, 2009, 05:56:04 PM

Contact between the two men was re-established a few months back and Trapattoni has been to see Ireland play.

Maybe he means the U21's or the youth teams?
Post by: thebandit on January 07, 2009, 06:02:14 PM
The whole thing just gets stranger....

QuoteTrapattoni makes Ireland statement
Wednesday, 7 January 2009 17:36
In response to requests from a number of journalists, Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni has released an official statement regarding Stephen Ireland.

The brief statement from Trapattoni reads: 'We haven't heard from Stephen Ireland but if he does want to declare himself available for his country all he has to do is let us know himself through channels he is aware of.'

Stephen Ireland has not played for the Republic of Ireland since September 2007. Ireland's absence from the international scene was sparked by 'grannygate'.

The now legendary incident in Irish football occurred when Ireland announced the death of both his grandmothers in order to be excused international duty; the media subsequently uncovered these announcements to be untrue.

Ireland later told the press and public he had lied because his girlfriend had suffered a miscarriage and he wished to join her in Cork.

He released a statement at the time stating: 'I decided at that stage that I must tell the truth and admit I had told lies.

'I realise now it was a massive mistake to say my grandmothers had died and I deeply regret it.

'Jessica (his girlfriend) said she was very lonely and wanted me to come home. She thought they might let me home quicker if they thought my grandmother had died.'

Ireland's father recently told the press that his son would be returning to play for the national team in 2009.

Post by: the scenic route on January 07, 2009, 06:12:27 PM
I dont think Ireland should be welcomed back into the irish squads.

There is no question he is aplayer of great talent and would be a huge asset to the irish team but frankly his attitude stinks. When he was in Brian Kerrs underage squads years ago he had the same problems. He left the panels on a couple of occasions because he wasn named in the starting 11 and he didnt want to be there just as a sub. Now to be honest having a player like that around is bad for the morale of the squad and the atmosphere couldnt be great either with him claiming he was being bullied when walking out on the squat the last time.
I think ireland are moving gradually in the right direction at the minute and it would be difficult to see how ireland could fit back into the trappatoni regime without interruption 
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on January 07, 2009, 10:32:18 PM
Quote from: thebandit on January 07, 2009, 06:02:14 PM

The brief statement from Trapattoni reads: 'We haven't heard from Stephen Ireland but if he does want to declare himself available for his country all he has to do is let us know himself through channels he is aware of.'

So when Paul Hyland wrote that Trapattoni had been to see Ireland play he hadn't been to see him at all?

And he never it noticed when he was typing that to say Trapattoni had been at a match in England was news in the first place?

I suppose I'm worse for even quoting the Herald in the first place, to be honest. :(