Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T O Hare on December 15, 2008, 04:52:43 PM

Title: Favourite eating house?
Post by: T O Hare on December 15, 2008, 04:52:43 PM
Lads, where is your favourite eating establishment at the minute. I am loving Rices hotel in Tony Fearons hometown Pontzpass at the minute. They have they best steak sandwich around!!!!!!! ;)
Title: Re: Favourite eating house?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 15, 2008, 04:53:57 PM
The Anglers Rest,Strawberry Beds,Dublin

The best steak in Ireland imo
Post by: ziggysego on December 15, 2008, 05:11:49 PM
Grant's in Omagh. Don't be in it much, but they give you a great feed.

Rué in Omagh is also good.
Post by: maggie on December 15, 2008, 06:01:47 PM
Viscounts in Dungannon would get my vote.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 15, 2008, 06:12:57 PM
Daley's in Donore, Co Meath. Best steak I've ever had.
Post by: Billys Boots on December 15, 2008, 06:29:57 PM
Indie Spice in Swords, Dublin.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on December 15, 2008, 07:51:42 PM
Dunno about favourite but got a lovely feed in Harrys Bar in Banbridge there recently, a trio of sizzling meats - steak, chicken and gammon on a platter, lovely.

Going this new place in Lurgan on Friday night (not paying either, birthday treat  ;D) think its called Fourty seven or something, anyone heard anything about it?
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 15, 2008, 08:20:51 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on December 15, 2008, 07:51:42 PM
Dunno about favourite but got a lovely feed in Harrys Bar in Banbridge there recently, a trio of sizzling meats - steak, chicken and gammon on a platter, lovely.

Going this new place in Lurgan on Friday night (not paying either, birthday treat  ;D) think its called Fourty seven or something, anyone heard anything about it?

bistro 47, had a do there on sat night. know the chefs and theyre the original ones from the loughview brasserie, so theyre pretty good imo. foods pawerful but the servings are fckn stingy
Post by: Our Nail Loney on December 15, 2008, 08:25:02 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on December 15, 2008, 08:20:51 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on December 15, 2008, 07:51:42 PM

bistro 47, had a do there on sat night. know the chefs and theyre the original ones from the loughview brasserie, so theyre pretty good imo. foods pawerful but the servings are fckn stingy

f**k sake that is one thing that annoys me, small servings! I need big portions, heard the mixed grill would be a good bit of stuff.
Post by: Puckoon on December 15, 2008, 08:30:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 15, 2008, 05:11:49 PM
Grant's in Omagh. Don't be in it much, but they give you a great feed.

Rué in Omagh is also good.

Ziggy you need to get out more. Grants started dining out on their own reputation a few years after it opened. Back in the late 90s it used to be great. Now its just another over priced resturaunt in ireland.

As for Rue - the folks were in it the other night and the food was great. It is however a pub - and a pub has some cheek charging 20quid for a surf and turf.

They dont give you value for money at home.
Post by: milltown row on December 15, 2008, 08:36:25 PM
in Belfast ya cant beat Shu on the lisburn rd. pricey but i've yet to have a bad meal. and for decent bar food, Bureau in Jordanstown
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 15, 2008, 09:12:04 PM
The White House on the old Dublin- Ashbourne Road is my favourite grub shop without exception. The steaks there are top class and the same can be said for any sort of beef dish.
Mind you; the good folks there need to be on their toes because there are two other fine places along the same stretch of road.
The Brock Inn, 500 yards down from the White House on the Dublin side and the Coolquay Lodge, which is about a mile further along the road towards Ashbourne, are both very well-known and both deserve their reputations.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 15, 2008, 09:17:56 PM
Thyme Restaurant in Athlone has some top quality fare  ;)

For dessert I recommend the pints of plain in Sean's Bar across the Shannon...
Post by: Minder on December 15, 2008, 09:22:12 PM
Nicks Warehouse and Deanes Deli in Belfast City Centre & Indian Ocean on Antrim Rd/Glengormley.
Post by: nifan on December 15, 2008, 09:47:17 PM
Deanes at Queens or Ginger would be 2 wed like in Belfast
Post by: Leo on December 15, 2008, 10:26:31 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 15, 2008, 09:12:04 PM
The White House on the old Dublin- Ashbourne Road is my favourite grub shop without exception. The steaks there are top class and the same can be said for any sort of beef dish.
Mind you; the good folks there need to be on their toes because there are two other fine places along the same stretch of road.
The Brock Inn, 500 yards down from the White House on the Dublin side and the Coolquay Lodge, which is about a mile further along the road towards Ashbourne, are both very well-known and both deserve their reputations.

You are on the ball there Lar. all good houses I know well.
But the best steak by far in Ireland is just around the corner at Ryan's of Ratoath.
A fabulous medium cooked fillet you could eat with a spoon and the size of a Sunday roast. Great atmosphere too especially when Fairyhouse is on.
I challenge anyone to find better.
Post by: carribbear on December 15, 2008, 10:28:43 PM
Noble house on Dame Street...portions arent brilliant but just goes lovely with a skipfull of booze
Post by: magpie seanie on December 15, 2008, 11:04:30 PM
Quote from: Leo on December 15, 2008, 10:26:31 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on December 15, 2008, 09:12:04 PM

You are on the ball there Lar. all good houses I know well.
But the best steak by far in Ireland is just around the corner at Ryan's of Ratoath.
A fabulous medium cooked fillet you could eat with a spoon and the size of a Sunday roast. Great atmosphere too especially when Fairyhouse is on.
I challenge anyone to find better.

Coolquoy Lodge is class alright. Never had anything but a really good meal there and though I've never been in it The Brock Inn is supposed to be excellent too.
Post by: YogiBear on December 16, 2008, 08:47:16 AM
Rices Hotel in the pass is good grub but always find you have to wait ages on the food so long that your stomach starts eating itself.  Halfway house outside Banbridge is good spot for a sit down feed and hard to beat Joe Byrnes for an ould carry out big fish supper lovely.
Post by: Zapatista on December 16, 2008, 08:52:31 AM
Any Porterhouse in Dublin.
Post by: full back on December 16, 2008, 09:02:47 AM
Quote from: YogiBear on December 16, 2008, 08:47:16 AM
Halfway house outside Banbridge is good spot for a sit down feed

Ate in it once & never again. Service was slow & the food was below average (maybe it was a bad day)

Carrickdale is good for steak as is Canal Court
Few years back the Windsor in Dundalk had great grub, havent been in it lately
Deane's in the City is a top spot
Post by: Onion Bag on December 16, 2008, 09:08:13 AM
Love Scallinis (Think thats how its spelt) on Botanic Ave, Belfast
Post by: SidelineKick on December 16, 2008, 09:10:53 AM
Quote from: full back on December 16, 2008, 09:02:47 AM
Quote from: YogiBear on December 16, 2008, 08:47:16 AM
Halfway house outside Banbridge is good spot for a sit down feed

Ate in it once & never again. Service was slow & the food was below average (maybe it was a bad day)

Carrickdale is good for steak as is Canal Court
Few years back the Windsor in Dundalk had great grub, havent been in it lately
Deane's in the City is a top spot

Was in it there on Fri night, jesus it was quality. Lovely steak, blood running out of it! Wouldn't wanna be going every week, not easy on the bank account!  
Post by: Hardy on December 16, 2008, 09:14:40 AM
Some stereotypes are true. D'oul steak is high on the preference list of yer average GAA man. In fact, it's probably the only item on the list.
Post by: The Corporal on December 16, 2008, 09:24:14 AM
Tom you ever been to the Bronte Steak House? Best place for a feed, steaks are top drawer! Tony Roma's beside Queens is quality to. Anyone been to that Cayenne in Shaftsbury Square?
Post by: Onion Bag on December 16, 2008, 09:26:48 AM
Holy f**k im starving, would love a big sirloin now, Onion rings, pepper sauce, chips  :P :P :P :P :P :P
Post by: tyrone86 on December 16, 2008, 09:27:39 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 16, 2008, 09:14:40 AM
Some stereotypes are true. D'oul steak is high on the preference list of yer average GAA man. In fact, it's probably the only item on the list.

And, of course, how do ye want it done, burnt or nuked?
Post by: Minder on December 16, 2008, 09:28:42 AM
How difficult can it be to cook a steak though ?
Post by: Onion Bag on December 16, 2008, 09:33:42 AM
Quote from: tyrone86 on December 16, 2008, 09:27:39 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 16, 2008, 09:14:40 AM

And, of course, how do ye want it done, burnt or nuked?

I have mine cooked medium, i like a wee bit of Pink  ;) inside
Post by: Hardy on December 16, 2008, 09:43:05 AM
I was in a restaurant on Paris one time and the man I was with ordered a sirloin and said he wanted it very well done. The waiter looked up from his notepad, shook his head and said "Non, monsieur. Order something else".

My own steak preference is for a sirloin charred on the outside and red on the inside. But you can't depend on getting it that way if you just ask for "rare". You might just get it pink outside and in. But you'd be reluctant to start telling them "I want it cooked on a very high heat, three minutes a side" because they'd probably decide you were a tosser and blow their nose on it inside in the kitchen.

As for fillet - you might as well be eating tofu. Tender yes, but I have teeth. There's neither flavour nor texture in a fillet.
Post by: Minder on December 16, 2008, 09:47:07 AM
There is a certain snobbery in some restaurants about how a steak should be cooked, you should be able to have it whatever way you want.
Post by: full back on December 16, 2008, 09:49:02 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 16, 2008, 09:43:05 AM
As for fillet - you might as well be eating tofu. Tender yes, but I have teeth. There's neither flavour nor texture in a fillet.

Have to disagree, find a good fillet hard to beat & tasy as fcuk
Dont go for anything special in the cooking of any steak either, just medium but if I am feeling like a hard man medium/rare

Going against the stereotype, have to say I am partial to a bit of fish, especially shellfish
Post by: Lecale2 on December 16, 2008, 09:53:23 AM
Quote from: Minder on December 16, 2008, 09:47:07 AM
There is a certain snobbery in some restaurants about how a steak should be cooked, you should be able to have it whatever way you want.

If the smoke alarm doesn't go off it's not cooked enough!
Post by: Onion Bag on December 16, 2008, 09:57:06 AM
Yous whores have my mouth watering here, im f**king starving  :P
Post by: Mickey Linden on December 16, 2008, 10:03:46 AM
The Monsterboice inn is some spot for a steak lads! Always call in on the way home from a mach in Croker!

Villa Italia in Belfast is quite good too and pretty reasonable!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 16, 2008, 10:21:18 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 16, 2008, 09:43:05 AMAs for fillet - you might as well be eating tofu. Tender yes, but I have teeth. There's neither flavour nor texture in a fillet.

Couldn't agree more, fillet would be low down on my preferred list of steaks wheras for most lads I know it's their no. 1 choice. No. 1 for me is a medium T-Bone steak, got one a couple of summers ago in a tiny coastal town on an island off the coast of Croatia that I'm still dreaming about... Jaysus, it was perfection and have yet to find one to equal it...
Post by: Santino on December 16, 2008, 10:50:32 AM
Spent a couple of weeks in argentina few yrs ago and had the most unbelievable steaks of my life. Were only about a fiver a pop for a steak the size of a roast. had steak for all 3meals one day and no need for any side orders. I'm not a massive feeder either but they were so tender you couldn't leave any behind. Argentina's worth the trip for steaks alone. Any place claiming to be an argentinian steakhouse in europe has always let me down since since the bar was raised so high.
Post by: T O Hare on December 16, 2008, 12:06:48 PM
Quote from: The Corporal on December 16, 2008, 09:24:14 AM
Tom you ever been to the Bronte Steak House? Best place for a feed, steaks are top drawer! Tony Roma's beside Queens is quality to. Anyone been to that Cayenne in Shaftsbury Square?

the bronte is a class feed but you always have to book weeks in advance!!! >:(
Post by: behind the wire on December 16, 2008, 12:24:51 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on December 16, 2008, 12:06:48 PM

not anymore tommy. bronte is under new management and has never been the same since. was only in it once myself since it was taken over, nowhere near as good - frozen chips didnt go down too well. from what i have heard its a shadow of its former self.
Post by: thejuice on December 16, 2008, 01:02:13 PM
Whoever said Ryans in Rathoath is spo' on.

Steaks are fantastic there. Also their gammon steaks are just incredible.

Theres a great choice of resturaunts in Ashbourne now as well. Here are the good ones if you ask me:

Indian: jamuna
Traditional: Ashbourne House, Hunters Moon
Chinese: eatZen
French: Called Cafe Paris or something, great food, might be closed.
Italian: Big Ciceros, (theres also LaBucca over Murtaghs hardware but I've never ate there)

Post by: Mid Mon on December 16, 2008, 01:37:03 PM
Can anyone recommend an Indian restaurant in the vicinity of the point (o2)?
Post by: T O Hare on December 16, 2008, 04:44:43 PM
Quote from: behind the wire on December 16, 2008, 12:24:51 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on December 16, 2008, 12:06:48 PM

not anymore tommy. bronte is under new management and has never been the same since. was only in it once myself since it was taken over, nowhere near as good - frozen chips didnt go down too well. from what i have heard its a shadow of its former self.

never heard that at all... Frozen chips >:( >:( Gordon Ramsay would go mental... The Bronte for Kitchen nightmares... ;D
i hate frozen chips in a restaurant!!!!! sign of a lazy chef !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Lecale2 on December 16, 2008, 05:19:59 PM
The Half Way House in Annalong does a great dhristmas lunch.
Post by: charlie stubbs on December 16, 2008, 05:41:23 PM

f**k sake that is one thing that annoys me, small servings! I need big portions, heard the mixed grill would be a good bit of stuff.

nail you got a nice mixed grill over in crete a few years ago i recall...
Post by: Leo on December 16, 2008, 05:51:30 PM
Quote from: thejuice on December 16, 2008, 01:02:13 PM
Whoever said Ryans in Rathoath is spo' on.

Steaks are fantastic there. Also their gammon steaks are just incredible.

Theres a great choice of resturaunts in Ashbourne now as well. Here are the good ones if you ask me:

Indian: jamuna
Traditional: Ashbourne House, Hunters Moon
Chinese: eatZen
French: Called Cafe Paris or something, great food, might be closed.
Italian: Big Ciceros, (theres also LaBucca over Murtaghs hardware but I've never ate there)

Spo'on my Meath friend.
Big Ciceros - is that the place at the bcak of the new hotel?
If so it is fantastic and bloody good value.
Post by: gawa316 on December 16, 2008, 05:56:09 PM
McNean Bistro in Blacklion, pricey but feckin beaut.

Went to Real burger near the rds a couple of weeks back, best burger I've ever had
Post by: john mcgill on December 16, 2008, 06:36:43 PM
The French Laundry, hard to get a reservation but the experience of a lifetime
http://www.frenchlaundry.com/
Post by: boojangles on December 16, 2008, 07:03:13 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on December 16, 2008, 05:56:09 PM

Went to Real burger near the rds a couple of weeks back, best burger I've ever had
Yes Nevin Maguires spot.its a hoor to get to but I hear from plenty that its worth the journey.A proper experience.
There is a spot in between Milltown and Belturbet in Cavan,known locally as Freds.He is a German lad who if ya know him he will take a Dinner Party of up to 10 or so for the night.Its not a Restaurant but his home but it is definitely worth it.You don't get to order.He cooks whatever he wants(which may seem daft) but you will taste things you never touched before.
The last time my family went out,he had some home brew to start to clear the pallet,then Tiger Prawns for starters,then Quail,then Venison for Main Course.He then proceeded to fill us up with homemade Brandy,Wine and German Beer.He hunts and grows and brews everything himself and the whole night costed less than 200 euro for 6 of us for the night.All Included.It is unlike anything I ever experienced before.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2008, 07:08:52 PM
Quote from: john mcgill on December 16, 2008, 06:36:43 PM
Aye sure that's handy got too! ::) Is McNean's not that gaff on the main street in Blacklion on the road to Sligo?
Post by: boojangles on December 16, 2008, 07:11:33 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 16, 2008, 07:08:52 PM
Aye sure that's handy got too! ::) Is McNean's not that gaff on the main street in Blacklion on the road to Sligo?
It is indeed Tony,but try get to Blacklion from Cavan and you'l see what I mean.Its like a different county
Post by: gawa316 on December 16, 2008, 07:18:55 PM
Quote from: boojangles on December 16, 2008, 07:03:13 PM

Yes Nevin Maguires spot.its a hoor to get to but I hear from plenty that its worth the journey.A proper experience.
There is a spot in between Milltown and Belturbet in Cavan,known locally as Freds.He is a German lad who if ya know him he will take a Dinner Party of up to 10 or so for the night.Its not a Restaurant but his home but it is definitely worth it.You don't get to order.He cooks whatever he wants(which may seem daft) but you will taste things you never touched before.
The last time my family went out,he had some home brew to start to clear the pallet,then Tiger Prawns for starters,then Quail,then Venison for Main Course.He then proceeded to fill us up with homemade Brandy,Wine and German Beer.He hunts and grows and brews everything himself and the whole night costed less than 200 euro for 6 of us for the night.All Included.It is unlike anything I ever experienced before.

That sounds like a spot alright, how do you contact him?
Post by: Lecale2 on December 16, 2008, 07:22:00 PM
Sounds like a great idea Boojangles. Wonder will it catch on?

There was a French man ran a resturant in Newtownbutler, Co Fermanagh, a few years ago. I think it was called Lanesboro Arms or something like that. He had a similar approach with a set menu and his own wine. I had one hell off a night in there.

Is it still open?

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 16, 2008, 07:32:30 PM
Quote from: Mid Mon on December 16, 2008, 01:37:03 PM
Can anyone recommend an Indian restaurant in the vicinity of the point (o2)?

'Kinara', 318 Clontarf Road, is a great Indian Mid Mon, and you may not get anything of any note any closer to the point.
Post by: laceer on December 16, 2008, 07:41:04 PM
anyone in the dungannon/mid ulster area should try deli on the green at the linen green for a feed-never thought i'd hear myself say it but it wipes the floor with viscounts
Post by: boojangles on December 16, 2008, 07:46:00 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on December 16, 2008, 07:18:55 PM
Quote from: boojangles on December 16, 2008, 07:03:13 PM

That sounds like a spot alright, how do you contact him?
He used to come into my father when he had a pub in Butlersbridge,he invited us down but I can get ya a number just will probably be 2mrw.Il PM it to ya
Post by: Tyrones own on December 17, 2008, 03:13:16 AM
Castle Leslie in Glasslough is a mighty spot, food is fantastic and the ambiance is second to none imo
hoping to do the New Years thing in it next year...supposed to be great altogether.
Post by: Tyrones own on December 17, 2008, 03:49:04 AM

Did you get a chance at this one John....Just around the road from the French laundry
A mighty spot altogether if a tad pricey

www.aubergedusoleil.com
Post by: john mcgill on December 17, 2008, 07:06:30 AM
TO I have never heard of it but it looks great.  I'm hoping to be in California in July and will look it up.  With the strong dollar these restarants aren't as good a value as they used to be.  Thanks for that.  Happy Cristmas
Post by: 5 Sams on December 17, 2008, 10:38:49 AM
The Whistledown in Warrenpoint is a great spot for a feed.....nothing fancy just seriously good grub.....the Canal Court is good as well as someone mentioned earlier....however (I never thought I'd hear myself complaining about this) you end up eating too much...portions are huge. If you go to a wedding or a dinner dance in there and its roast beef on the menu you end up with two slabs of beef the size of sirloin steaks on your plate....and it melts in your mouth as well......mmmmmm
Post by: full back on December 17, 2008, 10:44:48 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 17, 2008, 10:38:49 AM
the Canal Court is good as well as someone mentioned earlier....however (I never thought I'd hear myself complaining about this) you end up eating too much...portions are huge.

Middle age spread must be hitting you hard 5 sams ;)

Heard about the Whistledown, havent got down to it yet
Is there a restaurant in the 'Point with a number or something in it?
Think it got a mention as one of the Top 5 restaurants in NI
Post by: 5 Sams on December 17, 2008, 11:39:19 AM
Restaurant 23 I think..havent heard much about it...I think its pretty new.

Copper is another one people rave about however I have a feeling that you wont be getting Canal Court size portions in these places ;) ;)
Post by: Lecale2 on December 17, 2008, 11:51:46 AM
Apparently Joe Kernan is the only man ever to have complained that he didn't get enough to eat in the Canal Court.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on December 17, 2008, 12:57:12 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on December 16, 2008, 05:41:23 PM

nail you got a nice mixed grill over in crete a few years ago i recall...

Jesus that mixed grill in Crete was the worst thing I hae ever ate, was nearly as bad as the so called barbeque at a beach party in ayia napa-a chicken wing, rice and some piece of meat, none of which was done on the barbeque  :-\
Post by: under the bar on December 17, 2008, 01:24:00 PM
If you've never been stop in Mary McBrides in Cushendun for lunch/dinner.  Everything cooked fresh and cheap as chips.  Fantastic food.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on December 17, 2008, 04:13:25 PM
When I was about Belfast, I always loved Vila Italia, the filo chicken with a sort of tomato and butter sauce was unreal. Best lasagne I eer tasted as well.

Scalinis is also great

Tony Romas does class steaks plus they don't skimp on the portions, only down side is I think they give you french fries and not chunky chips...
Post by: T O Hare on December 17, 2008, 04:23:33 PM
Remember Cafe Roan on Uni street?, that was some spot!!! why did it close???
Post by: thebigfella on December 17, 2008, 04:53:49 PM

Atul Kochhar's place Benares in London is some spot - http://www.benaresrestaurant.com/. I always try to get a booking every time I'm in London. Its not cheap but then if it's a feed your after, you'll hate it. Always a good choice to impress women  ;)

or another gem of a place I come across , The Crooked Inn in Taupo, NZ. One of the best seafood places I ate in NZ, plus their 38 day aged rump steak was unbelievable.

Post by: toiletroller on December 17, 2008, 05:03:00 PM
has any1 ever had the cavery lunch down at the Morning Star on Potters Way Belfast? Meant to be a great spraed for 4.50 ahead. Hoping to head tomorrow!
Post by: clareman on December 17, 2008, 05:06:05 PM
Going to Belfast at the weekend with the other half. It's her christmas present - going to Kings of Leon as well on Saturday. Anyway, want to go somewhere real nice on Friday night - preferably for good steaks! we're staying in the Hilton. I know there's a lot of recommendations here already but could anyone advuce of best place to go please?

thanks lads....
Post by: thewobbler on December 17, 2008, 05:10:42 PM
feck the steak. Take her to Zen, a Japanese place on Adelaide Street. Best restaurant I've set foot in around Belfast.
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 17, 2008, 05:57:13 PM
Quote from: clareman on December 17, 2008, 05:06:05 PM
Going to Belfast at the weekend with the other half. It's her christmas present - going to Kings of Leon as well on Saturday. Anyway, want to go somewhere real nice on Friday night - preferably for good steaks! we're staying in the Hilton. I know there's a lot of recommendations here already but could anyone advuce of best place to go please?

thanks lads....

Crescent Townhouse on Botanic has a bistro, does pawerful steak
Post by: Puckoon on December 17, 2008, 06:57:24 PM
Id crave a steak once every couple months. Last steak I ate was a 32oz rib eye in the steak house at harrahs casino. It was literally the size of a small shoebox and a brutal bit of eatin. The steaks (sirloins) at a local Basque resturaunt here are stunning. Half the price and size of the 32oz in the "big name" steakhouses, but the flavour is superb.

Fish is my thing - and the best meal Ive ever had is a Thresher Shark steak marinated in Teryaki and grilled on a mesquite grill in the Pier Market Resturaunt, Pier 39, San Fransisco Bay.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on December 17, 2008, 07:00:37 PM
Quote from: clareman on December 17, 2008, 05:06:05 PM

thanks lads....

Good Luck with KOL - Am there myself as well....

I own a Bar and indoor Golf establishment 5 mins away from teh Hilton, but I will give you your top 5 beside you (ie walking distance) which will offer you a good steak

Oxford Exchange - On your doorstep to Hilton (Fancy 5 star)
Ten Square - Probably the busiest Restaurant Bar in Belfast this Christmas - The Bristro inside offers a good selection of wholesome Irish Food
Ba Mizu - 3rd Floor of House of Frazer - Not Bad - Reasonably Priced
No 27 Talbot Street / James Street South / Deane's all offer Fine dining -

I had a few clients looking tables last weekend and all these places were booked out for them last weekend when I went looking - I am sure it will be harder this weekend...

Your best bet may be to go to the top floor of the Victoria centre where you have TGI Friday's, Chilli, Franky and Jenny's and Maglianio's and wait for a table... Tony Roma's also operate a no booking policy.

If you think you'll get somewhere in the Odyssey you'll be mistaken btw.....
Post by: Our Nail Loney on December 17, 2008, 07:05:10 PM
Villa Italia don't take bookings either, unless its for a large group but they are quick enough, no bar though which they have in Tony Romas where ou get the wee buzzer thing, I love those.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on December 17, 2008, 07:06:01 PM
Also got a lovely meal one night in Conor on Stranmillis, small place you would near miss it, but it was class, got this stuffed chicken thing I think and it was lovely.
Post by: Abble on December 17, 2008, 07:10:57 PM
Quote from: toiletroller on December 17, 2008, 05:03:00 PM
has any1 ever had the cavery lunch down at the Morning Star on Potters Way Belfast? Meant to be a great spraed for 4.50 ahead. Hoping to head tomorrow!

been there twice...not the best grub
try it til you see though first and then when you get the chance another day head to magennis's, a far better carvery.....as close til a good hotel carvery you'll get anywhere for 5 noops just, better quality tucker
Post by: Minder on December 17, 2008, 07:12:26 PM
Quote from: under the bar on December 17, 2008, 01:24:00 PM
If you've never been stop in Mary McBrides in Cushendun for lunch/dinner.  Everything cooked fresh and cheap as chips.  Fantastic food.
mary mc brides is good alright,a favourite haunt of the Antrim County Chairman. . . . . . .