GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Mhic Easmuint on December 15, 2008, 02:27:49 PM

Title: Break For Ball - Win a Free GAA Training Weekend
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on December 15, 2008, 02:27:49 PM
See this post (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=10513.msg446737#msg446737) for details of competition.

GAA Training Weekends for all teams, county, club, mens & ladies football, hurling & camogie.
Futher information at: http://www.breakforball.com/

(http://www.breakforball.com/images/breakposter.jpg) (http://www.breakforball.com)
Title: Re: Break For Ball - GAA Training Weekends
Post by: theskull1 on December 15, 2008, 02:57:41 PM
Whats you own thoughts on this Mhic Easmuint? Is this to be seen to be seen in any other ways than purely a money making venture by all concerned?
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on December 15, 2008, 03:02:29 PM
It's a service which people/clubs/counties may well be interested in. 
Post by: orangeman on December 15, 2008, 03:28:43 PM
Of course it's a money making exercise but I'd say it might interest a lot of clubs.

Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 15, 2008, 03:32:28 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on December 15, 2008, 02:57:41 PM
Whats you own thoughts on this Mhic Easmuint? Is this to be seen to be seen in any other ways than purely a money making venture by all concerned?

what else do companies bring services to people for. Jez skull if I didn't know any better I swear your a bit soft in the head.

Madden has clearly identified a gap in service provision in sports......

Now let me guess skull, you think he should do it as volunteer :D
Post by: orangeman on December 15, 2008, 04:04:50 PM
It's a good idea in principle - it's just a pity that with the credit crunch, the emphasis is all on cutting back as income streams narrow.

I'd say the first wrecked hotel might have an impact as well. But I'm sure all clubs would sign an indemnity.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 15, 2008, 04:30:06 PM
And people think John O'Mahony hasn't a spare hour in the day? ::)
Post by: theskull1 on December 15, 2008, 05:02:27 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on December 15, 2008, 03:32:28 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on December 15, 2008, 02:57:41 PM

what else do companies bring services to people for. Jez skull if I didn't know any better I swear your a bit soft in the head.

Madden has clearly identified a gap in service provision in sports......

Now let me guess skull, you think he should do it as volunteer :D
Just making a general comment I guess on the slide towards more and more personal finance driven opertunities being realised on the back of the success of the GAA and dressed up to be in the best interests of the GAA (others can decide if it is infact "good for the GAA"). I'm probably wrong to focus specifically on this
Post by: Zulu on December 15, 2008, 05:12:02 PM
I think these are a great idea, there is something like this down in Kerry also and a group called Aspire in Offaly which isn't solely GAA related but was set up by current Offaly footballer Joe Quinn. They offer a whole lot in the one setting and would be well worth the money if a club can afford it, a training session by a top coach, a challenge match, a team building event and a few pints that night is worth 2-3 weeks of training IMO.
Post by: orangeman on December 15, 2008, 05:32:23 PM
Quote from: Zulu on December 15, 2008, 05:12:02 PM
I think these are a great idea, there is something like this down in Kerry also and a group called Aspire in Offaly which isn't solely GAA related but was set up by current Offaly footballer Joe Quinn. They offer a whole lot in the one setting and would be well worth the money if a club can afford it, a training session by a top coach, a challenge match, a team building event and a few pints that night is worth 2-3 weeks of training IMO.

There is a time and a place alright for these events although in the middle of the champioship mightn't be a good time for a feed of pints.

But you're right it's a good opportunity alright - I just fear that the current economic climate might see clubs cutting back substantially on expenditure they see as not necessary.

How did the hurlers manage to get a new set of Adidas gear at this time of year ??? Major coup that.  ;)
Post by: Maroon Heaven on December 15, 2008, 06:18:25 PM
Quote from: Zulu on December 15, 2008, 05:12:02 PM
a team building event and a few pints that night is worth 2-3 weeks of training IMO.

I was talking to former Rugby Legend Keith Crossan yesterday and he told me any time he played with Ireland it was traditional for the team to head out the night before the game and have a feed of pints...

The rule was to be in bed before midnight... How times have changed
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 15, 2008, 07:47:16 PM
Gianluca Viali always brought his Chelsea team out the night before the game for a pint or two,he believed it relaxed the players.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 15, 2008, 08:59:40 PM
When I started off playing senior football I remember one or two boyos who would have a couple of pints in the club BEFORE the game....I shit you not...
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 16, 2008, 08:01:33 AM
Good luck to Kevin with this. GAA is no different from any other aspect of life, its evolving all the time and this sounds like a great idea.

Pity it wasnt about 8-10 years ago and i was still playing, thon feed of pints sounds great ! (And Kevin himself would have been first at the bar)

Mhic Easmuint, are you on commission ??
Post by: orangeman on December 16, 2008, 10:20:12 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 15, 2008, 08:59:40 PM
When I started off playing senior football I remember one or two boyos who would have a couple of pints in the club BEFORE the game....I shit you not...

Beer or vodka ???
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 17, 2008, 09:55:49 AM
Regardless of what is being advertised or who is doing the advertising, this thread can only be considered as blatant spamming / free advertising. The thread starter seems to have spammed a link on many other threads (certainly the Antrim and Derry wans hi).

Preferably I would remove this thread, as it contravenes just about everything we stand for here on the gaaboard, but assuming it does remain, could I respectfully ask the thread starter to remove the related posts in other threads. This is not the first time said poster has been at this lark (he did the same with his / her Saffron Sweep posts) and surely a warning / ban would be appropriate at this stage.
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on December 17, 2008, 11:12:26 AM
sam I'm not going to get into a tit for tat argument about this but I don't see how it contravenes everything "we" stand for on the gaaboard.  The information in the post is GAA related and at least 80% of content on the poster/website is GAA related.  Do you not think it would be of benefit to posters of the board who are members of teams that may be interested in it? 
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 17, 2008, 12:03:40 PM
If you feel you really must inform us of something like this, either place a link in your signature or pay google ads some money and place it there. I don't like a range of threads being sullied by links to any sort of advertising, whether it be GAA-related or not. It may well be of interest to many posters on the board, but my point is where do you stop? There are over two thousand posters on the board, many of whom work for a living. If all of them posted everything they had a financial interest in that might be of interest to the board or if they posted everything that club mates / acquaintances had financial interest in then the board would soon clog up in a mass of free adverising  / spam.
Post by: Minder on December 17, 2008, 12:10:28 PM
I am with SS on this one. Why should it be exempt just because its the good old Gaa. It is free advertising.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 17, 2008, 12:46:06 PM
hum bug
Post by: Drumanee 1 on December 17, 2008, 02:24:24 PM
who are "We" to decide what is posted on this board,thats for the mods to decide.
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 17, 2008, 03:04:33 PM
The mods can't be expected to read every post or thread, so a fair bit of self-policing has to take place.

I don't think it is unreasonable to ask that posts be kept on topic and that posting the same ad on many different threads is at best unnecessary.

Is it bad form for me to point this out? I don't, but others do.

Having said all that, it is a pity that this thread has veered off topic. I would also suggest that the best way to ensure as many people as possible read the thread, is to ask the moderator, via PM, to make it a sticky topic.
Post by: ONeill on December 17, 2008, 03:10:09 PM
SS just doesn't like Madden. Sure he only had him in his best Antrin team of the last 25 years by the skin of his teeth. I think he has wiped Sam's eye in the past.
Post by: full back on December 17, 2008, 03:12:01 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on December 17, 2008, 03:04:33 PM
I would also suggest that the best way to ensure as many people as possible read the thread, is to ask the moderator, via PM, to make it a sticky topic.

One minute you are saying the thread shouldnt be here, then you are asking for it to be made a sticky ???

Post by: Drumanee 1 on December 17, 2008, 03:14:46 PM
The mods can't be expected to read every post or thread, so a fair bit of self-policing has to take place.
I don't think it is unreasonable to ask that posts be kept on topic and that posting the same ad on many different threads is at best unnecessary.

Is it bad form for me to point this out? I don't, but others do.

Having said all that, it is a pity that this thread has veered off topic. I would also suggest that the best way to ensure as many people as possible read the thread, is to ask the moderator, via PM, to make it a sticky topic.

wer not allowed to self police anymore,around bellaghy anyway.
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 17, 2008, 03:18:49 PM
Quote from: full back on December 17, 2008, 03:12:01 PM
I would also suggest that the best way to ensure as many people as possible read the thread, is to ask the moderator, via PM, to make it a sticky topic.

One minute you are saying the thread shouldnt be here, then you are asking for it to be made a sticky ???

It's quite easy. The thread is staying. But rather than Mhic post in every thread where unsuspecting posters happen upon it, it would be better to have just this thread. However the thread could easily fall off the first page and many wouldn't see it. So a sticky would be a reasonable compromise I feel. I am not an unreasonable man.
Post by: ONeill on December 17, 2008, 03:29:08 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on December 17, 2008, 03:18:49 PM
But rather than Mhic post in every thread where unsuspecting posters happen upon it, it would be better to have just this thread.

But it was only posted in 2 other threads, Antrim and Derry - the two threads he'd post in. You're bejingles very unreasonable and I think an apology is needed.
Post by: Minder on December 17, 2008, 03:40:06 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 17, 2008, 03:29:08 PM
But rather than Mhic post in every thread where unsuspecting posters happen upon it, it would be better to have just this thread.

But it was only posted in 2 other threads, Antrim and Derry - the two threads he'd post in. You're be very unreasonable and I think an apology is needed.

What is it with members of the teaching profession and horrific grammar on this board lately?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 17, 2008, 03:43:06 PM
hard to take a man seriously who has david healy playing the flute as his avatar !!
i think you're right O'Neill, madden has took his place on the Antrim team as a fresh faced (although bad looking) teenager when SS2 was nearing the end of his career.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 17, 2008, 08:32:44 PM
,dont disagree with you on much Sam,but i have to on this

Ive often told people who join up solely to  advertise on here to away and f**k themselves.

However to be fair Mhic Easmuint(Kevin Madden?? im guessing) has a few hundred posts on all sorts of topics.

we should support one of our own in their efforts to get their business up and running.

Maroon4Heaven??? i think it was advertised his paintballing business located in Belfast,(could be wrong though),A fair few of the lads up north vistited and no doubt told others,Giving Maroon extra business,
Im all for that.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 17, 2008, 08:38:26 PM
f**k sake HS,

stop showing me up will ya(i know it doesnt take much mind you)  :D  :D

Indoor golf,sorry not paintballing.
Post by: ONeill on December 17, 2008, 08:43:43 PM
Jeez it'd be bad craic to turn up at the golfing yoke hurling paint at the customers and each other. It's be hard to stick in court. It was just a mistake m'lord. I thought he said paint-balling.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 17, 2008, 08:58:23 PM
i really should do the research..
Post by: Gold on December 18, 2008, 12:17:03 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 17, 2008, 08:47:08 PM
Not as bad as when BallyhaiseMan and his Cavan mates turned up and started driving golf balls at each other. Larry Reilly was there and said to Maroon, "Hey boy, how do you know when yer out?"

driving through Cavan one Friday night back in July(as you do) i happened upon a football match and pulled the car over to have a look. It was Knockbride v Denn in the 1st round of the championship. i was standing against a fence but had to sit down as my head got dizzy watchin Larry doing that jink time and and again--that man would still be well fit to start every Cavan County game

ps: i think that break for the ball is  a good idea that would provide a good service but seems a bit pricy
Post by: carnaross on December 18, 2008, 07:03:04 AM
Talk about going off the subject. This thread has developed into a slagging match. Incidentally, I have no problem with anyone offering/advertising a service on this board to members of this board who might benefit from the service being offered. Good luck to Madden, I say.
To get back on the topic - has anyone got any experience of said activity? If so, was it worth the money and what benefits were gained? Is it just a glorified piss-up? From what I can see, it's about £120 per head plus flights (from Leeds), around £200 per person in total (plus beer money??), sounds a lot in these hard times for clubs, however the benefits may well outweigh the costs, so I would be grateful for constructive feedback from anyone who has partaken. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 18, 2008, 11:01:32 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 15, 2008, 08:59:40 PM

And tell us 5 Sams, just what was the cause of Down's rapid descent into the football doldrums?
Post by: bannside on December 18, 2008, 05:07:34 PM
I think its a bit de-meaning to try to associate a BFB weekend as a piss up. If thats your take on it, then I think that says more about you or your clubs ambitions, than what BFB are trying to promote.

I agree that individually any club or person could avail of similar services - but the attraction to this is that all services are available under the one roof. As far as I know Kevin has agreed discounted block booking rates on all his services and facilities. So even if an individual could put a similar package together of this quality, it is doubtful if it could be done as competitively.

Would be interested to see what feedback there is from the first two or three teams that go on a BFB weekend!

Post by: stiffler on December 18, 2008, 05:11:35 PM
Great idea, hope the business is a success.
Post by: Zulu on December 18, 2008, 05:40:46 PM
Quote from: bannside on December 18, 2008, 05:07:34 PM
I think its a bit de-meaning to try to associate a BFB weekend as a piss up. If thats your take on it, then I think that says more about you or your clubs ambitions, than what BFB are trying to promote.

Horseshit, what the hell has happened to the GAA when the suggestion that having a few pints on a team weekend away shows a lack of ambition or indicates you are all a bunch of alcoholics? Christ almighty, how many times do most teams get to spend some social time together as a group, not a lot I would suggest. I've seen some high level teams in other sports (some professional) and they have good nights out on the beer every so often, without any harm to their competitive prospects.

Look nobody is suggesting you should go away for a training/bonding weekend and drink the shit out of it, but at the end of your training day there is nothing wrong with heading into town for a meal and a few pints. The timing would have to be right obviously but if you're not playing an important game in the following week or two there should be no problem. With teams I'm involved with I like to arrange 2 or 3 occasions in the year when players can enjoy some social time as a group and it can be a major component in developing a tightly knit squad. time for a lot of lads to get down off the pulpit I think.

Post by: Mhic Easmuint on December 18, 2008, 06:42:27 PM
Comment from BFB
"The unique selling point of break for ball is that clubs will not purchase the accomodation any cheaper by booking directly with the hotel. The level of service e.g. High profile coaches, video analysis, access to pitch facilities, access to specialists in areas such as strength and conditioning and nutrition, are things that most club teams would have difficulty in organising for their weekend. The media training is an option, but more likely to be availed of by top clubs and county teams. Breakforball established that there is a demand for such a service by surveying over 50 clubs, 95percent of whom indicated they would use the service. The pricing structure was based on the information that clubs relayed in the questionnaires."
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 18, 2008, 06:55:51 PM
Good luck with that Mhic Easmuint, I think it entirely appropriate that you publicise such a venture that's so finely tailored to modern GAA and all that that entails on this board.
Post by: carnaross on December 18, 2008, 07:07:33 PM
Quote from: bannside on December 18, 2008, 05:07:34 PM

I agree that individually any club or person could avail of similar services - but the attraction to this is that all services are available under the one roof. As far as I know Kevin has agreed discounted block booking rates on all his services and facilities. So even if an individual could put a similar package together of this quality, it is doubtful if it could be done as competitively.

Would be interested to see what feedback there is from the first two or three teams that go on a BFB weekend!

I am not trying to associate the training/coaching weekend with a piss-up - it's just that some individuals could consider it so. As for saying it's more about my ambitions or those of the club - any club financially supporting such a venture would want to ensure it wouldn't develop into a piss-up. After all, what would be the purpose of having a coaching weekend, with all the inherent expense, and it developing into a major session. It would have to be one or the other for me. I'm sure all clubs look after their players in some way or another after the season's over - I know we did.

As for feedback, I'm still waiting to hear.
Post by: bannside on December 18, 2008, 08:27:43 PM
Fair enough. Hey, having a few pints is 100% ok with me - no bother. If thats what you or your team want at the end of a BFB weekend, thats for you to decide. Im sure most managers wouldnt expect you to be in bed at eleven o clock, and personally a few in moderation can be helpful to the group synergy/dynamic. Most times around the year I`d say its not a huge deal, if the lid can be kept on it.

Personally I think its a superb idea, and deserves to do well. And I have no problem with someone trying to bring a GAA related product to our attention - at the end of the day its an ambitious venture by a man who is from our own wider community.

Why do people find it essential to be so begrudging? Is it an unwelcome Irish trait?

If Kevin has spotted a niche market, and it gives good value, then good luck to the whole thing. I hope it surpasses his expectations.

Post by: saffron sam2 on December 19, 2008, 09:35:23 PM
You go away for a while and you miss the seminal post of our generation.

Quote from: ONeill on December 17, 2008, 03:29:08 PM

But it was only posted in 2 other threads, Antrim and Derry - the two threads he'd post in. You're be very unreasonable and I think an apology is needed.

And to think hundreds of young boys in west Belfast have Mr O. O'Neill as their English teacher, you feckin numpty.

Other points about this thread.

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on December 17, 2008, 03:43:06 PM
hard to take a man seriously who has david healy playing the flute as his avatar !!
i think you're right O'Neill, madden has took his place on the Antrim team as a fresh faced (although bad looking) teenager when SS2 was nearing the end of his career.

You appear (possibly erroneously) to assume that I either expect to be or want to be taken seriously.

The idea is a good one with plenty of potential for expansion into other sports. I don't think the quoted price is out of the way, particularly given the standard of accomodation. Having organised team bonding weekends in the past, I would also be tempted by the knowledge that someone else is taking responsibilty for that. It has the potential to be very successful, time alone will tell.

I also have a couple of gripes with the website that could maybe be taken on board by the webmaster (if he was to read this).

1. The overuse of the word 'true' e.g. 'true legend', 'true great'.

QuoteJimmy McGuinness - Few could disagree that Jimmy has been Donegal's finest footballer since they captured the All-Ireland in 1992.
I would be one of the few. I never really "got" Jimmy McGuiness. Assuming you are excluding the entire 92 squad, I could name a dozen or more Donegal men who were / are better than Jamesy.
Post by: Old Bill on December 20, 2008, 01:15:33 PM
Fair play to Kevin on his venture and the best of luck with it. I dont mind Mhic Easmuint givng the business a plug on here. Why not? Its GAA based and its not like pop up advertisements saying we have won an Audi A4! We can look at it if we like and if we dont like it dont bother. Ok SS2? As for the business, Kevin has found a niche here (Similar to Aidan O Rourke's Sporting Visions enterprise) where the GAA is lacking and He has expoited it. Fair play. His use of Nutritionists and S+C coaches is ambitious and innovative. Seems a wonderful idea but the only thing is with the countrys finances tightening up, clubs committees might see it as an expense not needed.
Post by: Breakforball on January 05, 2009, 11:20:28 PM
Free "Break For Ball" Team Training weekend

The Irish News will be running a six day competition for their readers in mid January, that may be of interest to teams
who won't have planned their Team Bonding Weekend, by that stage.

The prize will include;

A nights B&B at one of the excellent accomodations
Coaching Session & Motivational Talk with one of Break For Ball's High Profile Coaches
Comprehensive Video Analysis
Strength & Conditioning session
Challenge Game
Pool recovery session

This is an excellent prize, and should be of great interest, particularly to the clubs feeling the effects of the credit crunch.

Post by: DownFanatic on January 06, 2009, 03:25:14 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 05, 2009, 11:25:26 PM
Is this better than Murlough sand dunes?

Id say a Break for Ball weekend would leave you in less pain. I would also say that a Break for Ball weekend would fail to induce the deliriousness that a Murlough sand dune enforces upon your body.
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 07, 2009, 12:26:25 PM
Quote from: Breakforball on January 05, 2009, 11:20:28 PM
Free "Break For Ball" Team Training weekend

The Irish News will be running a six day competition for their readers in mid January, that may be of interest to teams
who won't have planned their Team Bonding Weekend, by that stage.

The prize will include;

A nights B&B at one of the excellent accomodations
Coaching Session & Motivational Talk with one of Break For Ball's High Profile Coaches
Comprehensive Video Analysis
Strength & Conditioning session
Challenge Game
Pool recovery session

This is an excellent prize, and should be of great interest, particularly to the clubs feeling the effects of the credit crunch.

Would anyone here be allowed to enter and have a bonding weekend for the gaaboard stalwarts?

I would hit Wicklow. Or Mayo. Not great at pool though.

Good idea and good advertising for BFB. Anyone else receive the introductory text?
Title: Re: Break For Ball - Win a Free GAA Training Weekend
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2009, 12:39:03 PM
That reminds me - when is the Slurry Cup match?
Post by: Breakforball on January 07, 2009, 01:46:22 PM
Interestingly enough, the Free week-end will be at the Avon Ri complex in Wicklow.

I'm not sure about a team of "GAA Boarders" - but I suppose if they met the competition terms and conditions
laid out by the Irish News, then I don't see why not.

Halloween might be the best time though  ;D
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on January 16, 2009, 10:48:25 PM
(http://www.breakforball.com/images/irishnewscomp.jpg)
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 16, 2009, 11:36:12 PM
Spam?
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 20, 2009, 09:30:04 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on January 16, 2009, 11:36:12 PM
Spam?

No, I would give it the benefit of the doubt. It is the appropriate thread. Now, if was to appear in any other thread, that may be a different matter.
Post by: Breakforball on January 20, 2009, 11:04:56 PM

BFB is a GAA focused business, which will prove to be beneficial to many teams up and down the country, who
are serious about their Team Bonding Weekends.

The latest post is simply highlighting a free weekend for one lucky team, worth in the region of £2,000.

I'm sure many of the posters on this board, who are involved with teams, will be interested in entering.

Post by: Breakforball on January 20, 2009, 11:29:01 PM
No, afraid not HS. Terms and conditions and all that.

It's for a team anyway.
Sure, gather up 29 mates, enter, and if you win I'll see what we can do.

But perhaps the conditioning would do you more good than a few quid  :o
Post by: Breakforball on February 02, 2009, 03:15:03 PM
In total, the Irish News competition for the FREE weekend to Avon Ri in Wicklow had 147 entries.

The eventual winners were:
Slaughtneil Camogie Team from Co. Derry!
congratulations to them  :)
Post by: DownFanatic on March 02, 2009, 12:32:02 PM
Went on a Break for Ball weekend there in Donegal town. It was very good and well organised. The hotel we were put up in was first class and our whole programme of events ran very smoothly.
Its definitely a great concept and one that I think is going to become ever more popular.
Post by: Franko on March 02, 2009, 01:23:19 PM
I'd be a strong advocate of 'old style' team bonding sessions where everybody gets completely plastered and bate's f**k outta other round some hotel.

But thats just me. ;D
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 02, 2009, 02:27:45 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on March 02, 2009, 12:32:02 PM
Went on a Break for Ball weekend there in Donegal town. It was very good and well organised. The hotel we were put up in was first class and our whole programme of events ran very smoothly.
Its definitely a great concept and one that I think is going to become ever more popular.

went on break for ball day there at the weekend aswell in donegal (different club than DF though)
have to say, was an excellent day all round, activities, training session and everything were very good.
Great alternative to the usual team day away (although it was rounded off in time honoured  fashion with a good session!)
Post by: Breakforball on March 03, 2009, 01:17:06 PM
Delighted to hear that both Augher (Tyrone) and Dundrum (Down) enjoyed their Break For Ball weekends in Donegal.

Two clubs with a very sound management structure and good base of players, who are sure to make progress in their
respective leagues and championships in 2009.

Post by: supersarsfields on March 03, 2009, 01:19:44 PM
Ya big suck ya!!
Post by: Breakforball on March 03, 2009, 01:25:44 PM
Super sarsfields.

My opinion is based on the level of attitude and talent of both clubs, that was apparent over the weekend, and not a
statement to massage ego's in reward for the business received!

Believe me, there will be teams it will be impossible to make those comments about  :-*
Post by: Breakforball on May 06, 2009, 12:46:34 PM
When we launched Break For Ball back in January, many people posted on here, requesting information from people about previous experiences with the company.
Here's a link a link to our first (one page) Newsletter, which highlights the launch, some of the weekends to date (with testimonial), and a fantastic " Special Offer" for the summer months.

http://www.breakforball.com/news/details/?id=24

SUMMER SIZZLER ONLY £75/80e pp

- 1 nights Bed & Breakfast at Avon Ri in Wicklow                         

- Team Strength & Conditioning/Core Stability session

- 3 course Evening Meal                         

- Challenge Game

- Use of Gym, pool & Leisure facilities                                            

- Coaching Session & Motivational talk with a high profile coach

http://www.breakforball.com

Post by: Bensars on May 06, 2009, 12:54:32 PM
Whos the high profile coaches ?
Post by: Breakforball on May 06, 2009, 12:57:36 PM
In the coaches section of the website http://www.breakforball.com/coaches/

John O'mahony, Damian Cassidy, Malachy O'Rourke (to be added), Oisin McConville, Martin McElkennon to name but a few.

In hurling/camogie Sambo, Dominic mcKinley, Jane Adams
Post by: JMohan on May 06, 2009, 04:31:24 PM
Can you pick your coach?
Post by: Breakforball on May 06, 2009, 06:29:50 PM
Quote from: JMohan on May 06, 2009, 04:31:24 PM
Can you pick your coach?

Teams can request their preferred option for a coach, and if he/she is available on that particular day, we will do our best to accomodate.
Post by: Breakforball on November 17, 2009, 10:58:03 PM
Here's a link to our Autumn Newsletter that includes an indepth interview with Kilcoo manager Jim McCorry,
who took his team away on a BFB Team Building Weekend in July.

http://eflyers.mmcsolutions.biz/create/preview/index.asp?mesid=178

There is also a fun Q&A session with Break for Ball coach Oisin McConville, and some information on new budget packages avilable for the incoming year. They can be viewed directly at:

http://www.breakforball.com/news/details/?id=25
http://www.breakforball.com/budget-packages/

Back in January and February many people asked for feedback from people who have experienced our Training Weekends. We have now added a Testimonials section where you can read some comments:

http://www.breakforball.com/testimonials/
Post by: The Konica on November 18, 2009, 10:10:14 AM
What is 'Sports Physhology'

"A range of top services are available including Video Analysis, Nutritional Advice, Strength & Conditioning, Media Training, Sports Physhology and Massage Therapy."
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 18, 2009, 11:20:42 AM
Quote from: The Konica on November 18, 2009, 10:10:14 AM

"A range of top services are available including Video Analysis, Nutritional Advice, Strength & Conditioning, Media Training, Sports Physhology and Massage Therapy."

You're doomed man, I tell you, doomed. If you haven't got the PM or phone call by now, you will by 3 o'clock.
Post by: Breakforball on November 18, 2009, 12:49:56 PM
Quote from: The Konica on November 18, 2009, 10:10:14 AM

Thankyou Konica for your astute observation of a spelling mistake. It should be in fact "Sports Psychology."  :)
Post by: The Konica on November 18, 2009, 01:01:04 PM

Does my team get a free weekend or something now?
Post by: Breakforball on November 18, 2009, 01:26:02 PM
Unfortunately not, but we may be able to negotiate some attractive discount  :D
Post by: Breakforball on January 18, 2010, 09:37:25 PM
Any teams planning Pre-Season Team Bonding Weekends?

We've added a few new locations as well as some value options that may be of interest to teams on a
smaller budget: http://www.breakforball.com/budget-packages/

Here are photos of some of the boxers at the Break For Ball stand during the Dromintee Fight Night at the weekend: http://www.breakforball.com/gallery/images/?id=6

Post by: Breakforball on February 10, 2010, 09:34:14 PM
This year so far there has been a much greater interest from the hurling fraternity seeking to go on Training weekends.

In our winter newsletter, we have a write up on a GAA Fight Night that had some of irelands top players from leinster and Ulster as well as top referee Pat mcEneaney going toe to toe.

We also have an update on where some teams are going on their training weekends and what they will be doing. The locations that they will be heading to inlcude: Donegal, Armagh, and Wicklow, with some of the teams coming from Westmeath, Antrim and Meath.

The newsletter can be viewed at:

http://www.breakforball.com/news/details/?id=32
Post by: Breakforball on November 03, 2010, 08:16:42 PM
Check out the Break For Ball Autumn Newsletter, and find out what Hurling and Rugby legends have joined the coaching staff. Also, read about the hurling team who spent a very productive weekend away with us earlier in the year, before going onto win their county championship, just a few weeks ago. There's also a round up on 'who's been where' including the camogs from Slaughneil in County Derry and the young footballers from Naomh Mearnog in Dublin..

http://www.breakforball.com/news/details/?id=39
Post by: skeog on November 04, 2010, 08:33:32 PM
with six billion of cuts coming  down south clubs will be less inclined on bonding weekends
Post by: Breakforball on January 05, 2012, 09:37:53 PM
Check out the Break for Ball Winter newsletter, and read about the Dublin Club who headed to Belfast for a Team Building Weekend, enroute to winning
their Senior Championship.

http://www.breakforball.com/news
Post by: Breakforball on May 03, 2012, 12:50:48 PM
Folks, check out our latest newsletter which features a piece on the latest Video & Stats analysis software to hit the market. See what a ladies team from Armagh have been up on on their travels as well as some bargain busting deals for Team Building Weekends and days at your club.

Check out the newsletter:

http://www.breakforball.com/news/details/?id=43

Or visit the facebook page and become fan while you are there!

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Break-for-Ball/164317708421