GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 01:50:21 PM

Title: Best gaelic football players from the weaker counties over the last 25 years?
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 01:50:21 PM
For this question,I would say that a weaker county of modern days is a county that has failed to win more than one senior all ireland from the last 25 championships.Players from the counties listed cannot be included but everyone else can and must have played from 1984 or later.

Kerry
Cork
Galway
Meath
Tyrone
Down

I would include

Ciaran Mc Donald,Mayo
Stephen Mc Donnell, Armagh
Joe Brolly,Derry
Tony Boyle,Donegal
Declan Browne,Tipperary
Mattie Forde,Wexford
Jason Sherlock,Dublin
Jarlath Burns,Armagh
Stephen King,Cavan
Eamon O'Hara,Sligo

Whats yours?
Title: Re: Best gaelic football players from the weaker counties over the last 25 years?
Post by: SidelineKick on December 02, 2008, 01:52:48 PM
Paddy Bradley and Fergal Doherty, Derry.
Title: Re: Best gaelic football players from the weaker counties over the last 25 years?
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on December 02, 2008, 01:58:00 PM
Kevin O'Brien (Wicklow)
Post by: ziggysego on December 02, 2008, 01:58:33 PM
Mattie Forde, Wexford.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 02, 2008, 01:59:49 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 02, 2008, 01:58:33 PM
Mattie Forde, Wexford.

Ziggy are you on the drink??

Quote from: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 01:50:21 PM
For this question,I would say that a weaker county of modern days is a county that has failed to win more than one senior all ireland from the last 25 championships.Players from the counties listed cannot be included but everyone else can and must have played from 1984 or later.

Kerry
Cork
Galway
Meath
Tyrone
Down

I would include

Ciaran Mc Donald,Mayo
Stephen Mc Donnell, Armagh
Joe Brolly,Derry
Tony Boyle,Donegal
Declan Browne,Tipperary
Mattie Forde,Wexford
Jason Sherlock,Dublin
Jarlath Burns,Armagh
Stephen King,Cavan
Eamon O'Hara,Sligo

Whats yours?
Post by: under the bar on December 02, 2008, 02:00:37 PM
I'm just grinning at the thought of Dublin now being a weaker county.   Strange, but according to the criteria set down it's true!  
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 02, 2008, 02:03:04 PM
Ya can feck off calling some of them counties 'weaker counties'! Are you trying to make a late surge for the shit stirrer of the year award ;)

Only Browne and O'Hara really qualify. Anyone that has reached an All-Ireland semi-final can't be that weak. Kevin O'Brien would have to get a mention too
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 02:08:40 PM
Weaker Counties (of last 10 years say)...

Leitrim
Sligo
Clare
Waterford
Wexford
Fermanagh
Antrim
Wicklow
Carlow
Limerick
Roscommon
Cavan
Tipperary
Louth
Longford
Offaly
Down
London
New York
Post by: thejuice on December 02, 2008, 02:14:57 PM
Spinal Tap is hilarious. I know a few lads who thought they were a real band.
Wait what are we talking about.............

Stephan White - Louth
Vinny Claffey - Offaly
Post by: AZOffaly on December 02, 2008, 02:16:06 PM
Offaly are a weaker county in the last 10 years alright, unfortunately, the 1998 League win notwithstanding. With that in mind I'd say Karol Slattery, Ciaran McManus and Niall McNamee would be challenging for places on most teams in the country.
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:25:42 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 02, 2008, 02:03:04 PM
Ya can feck off calling some of them counties 'weaker counties'! Are you trying to make a late surge for the shit stirrer of the year award ;)

Only Browne and O'Hara really qualify. Anyone that has reached an All-Ireland semi-final can't be that weak. Kevin O'Brien would have to get a mention too
Most teams if they get a good draw can reach and all ireland semi final or final.Even winning one all ireland can be fluked on a good year like Donegal and Derry.Teams like Kerry,Galway,Meath and Down had players good enough to win more than one all ireland in three or four years.

Not stirring.
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 02, 2008, 02:28:40 PM
It took you 14 months to think up that post. Well done.
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:29:16 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 02:08:40 PM

Leitrim
Sligo
Clare
Waterford
Wexford
Fermanagh
Antrim
Wicklow
Carlow
Limerick
Roscommon
Cavan
Tipperary
Louth
Longford
Offaly
Down
London
New York
Why do you have Wexford and Fermanagh in your list who have reached all ireland semi finals but not Derry or Donegal who have got no further in the last 10 years ?
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:31:23 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on December 02, 2008, 02:28:40 PM
It took you 14 months to think up that post. Well done.
So what?Whats your point?
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 02:33:33 PM
Here's my list:

Leitrim
Is there a fella Quinn? I can't really remember his name.

Sligo
Eamon O'Hara
Dessie Sloyane
Ross Donovan

Clare
None

Waterford
None

Wexford
Forde
Lyng
Barry

Fermanagh
McGrath
Owens

Antrim
Madden

Wicklow
Glynn

Carlow
Walsh (Before he defected)

Limerick
Galvin
Quane

Roscommon
Grehan
Mannion

Cavan
McCabe

Tipperary
Browne

Louth
White
Stafford

Longford
Barden
Kavanagh

Offaly
McManus
Claffey
Daly

Down
Coulter
Gordon
McVeigh
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 02:39:51 PM
Quote from: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:29:16 PM
Why do you have Wexford and Fermanagh in your list who have reached all ireland semi finals but not Derry or Donegal who have got no further in the last 10 years ?

In last 10 years Derry have been in 3 AISF's, won 2 NFL's and been in more AIQF's than both Wexford and Fermanagh. Donegal well I'll let you have them as a weaker county if you like but in the grand scheme of things they wouldn't be perceived as weaker than Wexford or Fermanagh.
Post by: Doire abú on December 02, 2008, 02:41:35 PM
Quote from: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:25:42 PM

Most teams if they get a good draw can reach and all ireland semi final or finalTeams like Kerry.Even winning one all ireland can be fluked on a good year like Donegal and Derry.,Galway,Meath and Down had players good enough to win more than one all ireland in three or four years.

Not stirring.

Aye not stirring.   ::) ::) ::) ::)

So by your definition Armagh, who have won an All-Ireland Senior and U21, a National League and seven Ulster Championships in the last 10 years are a weaker county? Catch a fuckin grip man.
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:45:00 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 02:39:51 PM

In last 10 years Derry have been in 3 AISF's, won 2 NFL's and been in more AIQF's than both Wexford and Fermanagh. Donegal well I'll let you have them as a weaker county if you like but in the grand scheme of things they wouldn't be perceived as weaker than Wexford or Fermanagh.
All that means is that Derry cant make a serious challenge.Many counties could have a championship record like derry if they pulled themselves together.Also few teams take the NFL seriously so it cant count.Do Kerry and Tyrone brag about their NFL records from this decade?
Post by: Onion Bag on December 02, 2008, 02:47:25 PM
Steven O Neill - Tyrone
Post by: SidelineKick on December 02, 2008, 02:50:06 PM
Quote from: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:45:00 PM

All that means is that Derry cant make a serious challenge.Many counties could have a championship record like derry if they pulled themselves together.Also few teams take the NFL seriously so it cant count.Do Kerry and Tyrone brag about their NFL records from this decade?

Could could could could could  ::)

They dont brag no, I also dont think exile is bragging simply stating the facts.
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:50:58 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on December 02, 2008, 02:41:35 PM
Quote from: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:25:42 PM

Most teams if they get a good draw can reach and all ireland semi final or finalTeams like Kerry.Even winning one all ireland can be fluked on a good year like Donegal and Derry.,Galway,Meath and Down had players good enough to win more than one all ireland in three or four years.

Not stirring.

Aye not stirring.   ::) ::) ::) ::)

So by your definition Armagh, who have won an All-Ireland Senior and U21, a National League and seven Ulster Championships in the last 10 years are a weaker county? Catch a fuckin grip man.

The Armagh team that won the senior all ireland were a good team but any weaker county can get a good team together at times that can win one all ireland like Derry,Donegal or Dublin.NFL doesnt count and provincial championships have not counted since 2001.Do you think brian dooher when he lifted Sam thought it was the ulster title he really wanted?

Non weaker counties worry only about Sam Maguire.Armagh are a weaker county.
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:52:18 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on December 02, 2008, 02:47:25 PM
Steven O Neill - Tyrone
Tyrone not a weaker county.
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:55:34 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on December 02, 2008, 02:50:06 PM

They dont brag no, I also dont think exile is bragging simply stating the facts.
screenexile states incorrect facts,Derry have only reached two semi finals in the last ten all irelands.
Real facts are that many derry supporters are deluding themselves when the county team has done f**k all since 1993.
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 02:56:10 PM

You asked me why Derry are considered better than Fermanagh or Wexford over the last 10 years and I've explained why... oh and we also won an Ulster Championship in that time compared to Fermanagh having never won an Ulster and Wexford's last provincial success being over 60 years ago.

As for 'many counties could have a championship record like Derry if they pulled themselves together'. It's probably the most ridiculous statement I've ever read on this board. Sure Tipperary could have a record like Kerry's if they 'pulled themselves together' what's your point?

Your definition of a weaker county is a bit farcical in that there is only one prize up for grabs between 32 teams each year so saying that there have only been 6 strong counties in the last 25 years just isn't correct in any normal persons terms. Yes have a debate about what constitutes a weaker county but you're definition is madness.
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 02:57:28 PM
Quote from: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:55:34 PM

screenexile states incorrect facts,Derry have only reached two semi finals in the last ten all irelands.
Real facts are that many derry supporters are deluding themselves when the county team has done f**k all since 1993.

WRONG!

1998 beat by Galway
2001 Beat by Galway
2004 Beat by Kerry
Post by: Onion Bag on December 02, 2008, 02:58:29 PM
Quote from: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:52:18 PM
Steven O Neill - Tyrone

Dont know smell the glove, i mean like 3 all irelands in 25 years its not exactly brilliant,

I think we would have to put them in the weaker county bracket also,

25 years is a long time
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 02, 2008, 03:01:54 PM
Ciaran McDonald. ;D
Title: Re: Best gaelic football players from the weaker counties over the last 25 years
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 02, 2008, 03:02:45 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 02:08:40 PM

Leitrim
Sligo
Clare
Waterford
Wexford
Fermanagh
Antrim
Wicklow
Carlow
Limerick
Roscommon
Cavan
Tipperary
Louth
Longford
Offaly
Down
London
New York

There would have been a time not too long ago when we would have been heading that list, progress of sorts...
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 03:04:34 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 02:57:28 PM
Quote from: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:55:34 PM

WRONG!

1998 beat by Galway
2001 Beat by Galway
2004 Beat by Kerry
Last ten all ireland championships are 1999,2000,2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2006,2007 and 2008.

I wait for your apology.
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 03:11:37 PM
 :D :D :D :D :D

You can keep waiting if you think I'm apologising for that... you seem to think I've hijacked this thread to proclaim Derry as the best team in the land. We're far from it I'm just saying that we are far from being a 'weaker' County!
Post by: leenie on December 02, 2008, 03:11:48 PM
Louth, killkenny Carlow, Longford, Waterford, Limerick and London have never had a football all star award winner since they were first awarded in 1971.........with carlow killkenny london longford and waterford never winning an all lireland so i'd say these counties are could be considered the weakest!

i wouldn't consider (nor would armagh) wexford or fermanagh weak!

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 02, 2008, 03:12:58 PM
Barring his faux pas there I'd have to side with Screenexile. Smell the glove is doing a good job of stirring though, trying to redefine the term 'weaker county' to gloat about pretty much anyone not from Tyrone. And we're taking the bait too! Leenie's definition is on the money
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 02, 2008, 03:18:32 PM
Quote from: leenie on December 02, 2008, 03:11:48 PM
Louth, killkenny Carlow, Longford, Waterford, Limerick and London have never had a football all star award winner since they were first awarded in 1971.........with carlow killkenny london longford and waterford never winning an all lireland so i'd say these counties are could be considered the weakest!

Hang on a minute. Louth are more recent All-Ireland winners than Mayo and Roscommon. Justice for the wee county. ;D
Post by: Onion Bag on December 02, 2008, 03:19:21 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 02, 2008, 03:12:58 PM
Barring his faux pas there I'd have to side with Screenexile. Smell the glove is doing a good job of stirring though, trying to redefine the term 'weaker county' to gloat about pretty much anyone not from Tyrone. And we're taking the bait too! Leenie's definition is on the money

Well as i have said Tyrone would have to go into the Weaker bracket then as well, because they have only won 3 All Irelands in the past 25 years, its not exactly setting the world alight,

Kerry would have to be in the strong bracket on their own  
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 03:19:38 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on December 02, 2008, 02:58:29 PM
Steven O Neill - Tyrone

Dont know smell the glove, i mean like 3 all irelands in 25 years its not exactly brilliant,

25 years is a long time

Roll of honour from last 25 all ireland championships

Kerry 8
Meath 4
Tyrone 3
Cork 2
Down 2
Galway 2
Armagh 1
Derry 1
Donegal 1
Dublin 1

Tyrone are the third most successful county of the last 25 years.All counties with at least two all ireland wins have made an impact on gaelic football in the modern era following up their first success unlike the four teams with just one,like an unfashionable club team that shocks everyone winning the senior club title in their county before dropping like a stone again.Its no surprise three of the four have only this one championship since 1887,the same as a one hit wonder in pop music.A bit like Steve Brookestien,Basshunter or Crazy Frog.
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 03:20:09 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on December 02, 2008, 03:18:32 PM

Hang on a minute. Louth are more recent All-Ireland winners than Mayo and Roscommon. Justice for the wee county. ;D

:D :D I second that motion!
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 03:21:53 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 03:11:37 PM
:D :D :D :D :D

You can keep waiting if you think I'm apologising for that... you seem to think I've hijacked this thread to proclaim Derry as the best team in the land. We're far from it I'm just saying that we are far from being a 'weaker' County!
Youve just shit yourself that like your own county,youve been shown up as not being as big as you think you are.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 02, 2008, 03:23:05 PM
Smell the glove??? Smell the shit more like, jesus you're some tool!

Exile you better watch yourself, apologise now!!
Post by: full back on December 02, 2008, 03:25:17 PM
Quote from: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 02:50:58 PM
Non weaker counties worry only about Sam Maguire.Armagh are a weaker county.

Smells like a hoganstand poster
Post by: the green man on December 02, 2008, 03:27:26 PM
O'Neill?
Post by: Onion Bag on December 02, 2008, 03:27:45 PM
Quote from: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 03:19:38 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on December 02, 2008, 02:58:29 PM
Steven O Neill - Tyrone

25 years is a long time

Roll of honour from last 25 all ireland championships

Kerry 8
Meath 4
Tyrone 3
Cork 2
Down 2
Galway 2
Armagh 1
Derry 1
Donegal 1
Dublin 1

Tyrone are the third most successful county of the last 25 years.All counties with at least two all ireland wins have made an impact on gaelic football in the modern era following up their first success unlike the four teams with just one,like an unfashionable club team that shocks everyone winning the senior club title in their county before dropping like a stone again.Its no surprise three of the four have only this one championship since 1887,the same as a one hit wonder in pop music.A bit like Steve Brookestien,Basshunter or Crazy Frog.

Smelltheglove,

I think outside of this band of teams would probably be considered the weaker teams then, they have all made an impact in that era,
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 03:34:17 PM
Just because derry got a single championship in 1993 and done f**k all since and judging by your username,the only mayo teams that can be considered not to be weak is if the players have got no penis,does not allow you to take a huff.

Kerry,Meath,Tyrone,Cork,Down and Galway are the big counties of the modren era of gaelic football.Everyone else has either shit themselves on the big stage or have just been one hit wonders that most weaker counties can achieve at some point before going back to obscurity like a small club winning or reaching thier first county final in 30 or 40 years and then doing nothing for the next 20 or 30 years other than talk about it in pubs and maybe get to a couple of semis getting well beaten.

In life there are many weak and only a few strong.This is my list of weaker counties judged by thier all ireland record from 1984.

Ulster

Antrim
Armagh
Cavan
Derry
Donegal
Fermanagh
Monaghan

Connacht

Leitrim
Mayo
Roscommon
Sligo

Munster

Clare
Limerick
Tipperary
Waterford

Leinster

Carlow
Dublin
Kildare
Kilkenny
Laois
Longford
Louth
Offaly
Westmeath
Wexford
Wicklow
Post by: full back on December 02, 2008, 03:36:20 PM
I certainly wouldnt class the last 25 years as the modern era of Gaelic Football
What are you basing the 'modern era' on smell the gee?
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 02, 2008, 03:37:48 PM
Lads why are you indulging with this Tom Fool. ??? :D
Post by: Onion Bag on December 02, 2008, 03:39:47 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on December 02, 2008, 03:37:48 PM
Lads why are you indulging with this Tom Fool. ??? :D

I know he has only made 13 posts and manged to wind everyone up already,
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 03:40:46 PM
I thought he was serious at first now I'm just reading this for a bit of enjoyment on a wet Tuesday evening. Keep her lit smell your bag!
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on December 02, 2008, 03:49:32 PM

Good man GBB, sticking the knife into the neighbours at every opportunity  :D :D :D
Post by: leenie on December 02, 2008, 03:54:15 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on December 02, 2008, 03:49:32 PM

Good man GBB, sticking the knife into the neighbours at every opportunity  :D :D :D

fair enough, but at least mayo and roscommon have been in the all ireland in the last 33yrs!
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 03:55:08 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 02, 2008, 03:40:46 PM
I thought he was serious at first now I'm just reading this for a bit of enjoyment on a wet Tuesday evening. Keep her lit smell your bag!
I am serious and I have not called anyone any childish names either.I will put the names to a poll in a day or two.
Post by: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 03:59:57 PM
Quote from: full back on December 02, 2008, 03:36:20 PM
I certainly wouldnt class the last 25 years as the modern era of Gaelic Football
What are you basing the 'modern era' on smell the gee?
I would say the modern era goes back to maybe two or three generations.The game from the mid and late eighties is played differently to now but many who played then also played in the nineties so i think 25 years as a round number is as far back you can go where players from the beginning of the era are still coaches and managers of many teams today.That or 15 years,1994 to 2008.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 02, 2008, 04:21:03 PM
Quote from: Smell the glove on December 02, 2008, 03:34:17 PM
Just because derry got a single championship in 1993 and done f**k all since and judging by your username,the only mayo teams that can be considered not to be weak is if the players have got no penis,does not allow you to take a huff.

Ha ha ur a funny man, cheering me up on a dull December afternoon, fair play, keep her lit
Post by: Estimator on December 02, 2008, 05:27:43 PM
This guy is hilarious
Post by: SidelineKick on December 02, 2008, 05:32:47 PM
Or he's just a twat.
Post by: Estimator on December 02, 2008, 05:38:55 PM
He's a newbie and he's a WUM and on his first thread he's got 4pages so far. Hilarious stuff.
Post by: stiffler on December 02, 2008, 09:28:27 PM
Anto Finnegan- Antrim
Post by: muppet on December 02, 2008, 09:46:45 PM
I'm still stuck on the name 'Smell the Glove'.

Can I ask you where its been first?
Post by: dodo on December 02, 2008, 10:08:02 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 02, 2008, 09:46:45 PM
I'm still stuck on the name 'Smell the Glove'.

Can I ask you where its been first?

'Smell the Glove'  :-\
Post by: Tim Buzaglo on December 03, 2008, 11:56:21 AM
Quote from: stiffler on December 02, 2008, 09:28:27 PM
Anto Finnegan- Antrim

Are you serious?
Post by: Onion Bag on December 03, 2008, 11:58:44 AM
I think the best example wopuld have to be Declan Browne from Tipparary
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 03, 2008, 12:08:21 PM
benny coulter ?
I know a lot dont rate him , but I think hes good
Post by: Onion Bag on December 03, 2008, 12:10:33 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 03, 2008, 12:08:21 PM
benny coulter ?
I know a lot dont rate him , but I think hes good

I think Coulter is a class act and would walk onto any team in Ireland easily
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 03, 2008, 12:19:03 PM
From Antrim Sean McGreevy, Sean Kelly, Alex McQuillan and Martin Mulholland.

Had his father not crossed the Bann and settled in Glenravel, Martin Mulholland would have played on the Derry team of 93. IMO of course.
Post by: Onion Bag on December 03, 2008, 12:20:53 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on December 03, 2008, 12:19:03 PM
From Antrim Sean McGreevy, Sean Kelly, Alex McQuillan and Martin Mulholland.Had his father not crossed the Bann and settled in Glenravel, Martin Mulholland would have played on the Derry team of 93. IMO of course.

Who?
Post by: full back on December 03, 2008, 12:22:22 PM
What about Madden SS?
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 03, 2008, 12:25:38 PM
Madden was a decent player, not a great one. Don't get me wrong, Antrim were better with him than without him, but I don't think that he would have made any of the really good teams of his era and I am not sure if he even played Railway Cup.
Post by: Onion Bag on December 03, 2008, 12:28:05 PM
Madden in my opinion is/was a better footballer than Kelly,
Post by: screenexile on December 03, 2008, 12:50:43 PM
Big statement Onion Bag. I named Madden on my list of better players from the weaker counties but forgot about Kelly. Kelly is a class footballer. He would make ANY team in the Country and to be honest I'd have him for Derry any day. Fit, composed on the ball, a leader and good feet he's probably the best footballer Antrim have had since Sheeny McQuillan!
Post by: Onion Bag on December 03, 2008, 12:56:53 PM
Dont get me wrong he is a good footballer, but i think Madden was better, like everything else, both have had good days and bad days. By memory last year, Kelly missed chance after chance against Cavan in the c'ship
Post by: INDIANA on December 03, 2008, 01:34:29 PM
kevin o brien bar none. as good as anything that came out of kerry in the last 25 years.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on December 03, 2008, 03:51:23 PM
 Ciaran O'Neill from Antrim was a class act for Antrim who would not have looked out an place on any County Team

Post by: Drumanee 1 on December 03, 2008, 03:56:37 PM
do ant of you remember the great bill sex?
Post by: armaghniac on December 03, 2008, 04:38:21 PM
Quotedo ant of you remember the great bill sex?

most of the lads in here can only remember prepaid Sex.

O'Brien, O'Hara, Forde and Browne for me.
Post by: Gold on December 03, 2008, 05:40:14 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on December 03, 2008, 12:56:53 PM
Dont get me wrong he is a good footballer, but i think Madden was better, like everything else, both have had good days and bad days. By memory last year, Kelly missed chance after chance against Cavan in the c'ship

Kelly never missed one chance, its Tony Scullion you are thinking of--Madden was ok/good--Kelly is a different class--glides across the turf--if you were playing chasies in the playground you would never touch him--he'd be all-ireland bulldog champion
Post by: AZOffaly on December 03, 2008, 05:55:46 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on December 03, 2008, 01:34:29 PM
kevin o brien bar none. as good as anything that came out of kerry in the last 25 years.

Kevin O'Brien was a class act. I still don't think he was as good as Maurice Fitzgerald :D

Dessie Barry from Longford was a great forward as well.
Post by: bannside on December 03, 2008, 06:34:01 PM
Fergal Doherty the one man who stands out to me.

A lot of Antrim interest here - maybe we should transfer this to our own thread!

From an Antrim point of view no one would dispute that Sean Kelly is/was a class act, and would get on any team.

Kevin Madden at his best would have got on to any forward line in the country. He is a clubman of my own, so I will declare an interest, but some of his club displays were awesome. He would average 1-10 most games.

For the record he has two Railway cup medals (2000 and 2004). On top of this he topped the NFL scoring charts in 2000 (despite not qualifying for the play off stages) and I think it may have been 2003 when he totalled 1-19 in three c`ship games - a better average return that year than any other player.

Armagh and Tyrone at the height of their powers provided the opposition in two of these games, so no one can argue that his personal stats are impressive.

Dont forget also that he defied medical opinion every time he put on a pair of boots, and that showed you the bravery of the man.

Madden and Kelly the two stand outs from Antrim. Closely followed by Alex Mc Quillan and Ciaran Hamill.
Post by: SidelineKick on December 03, 2008, 06:40:13 PM
Quote from: bannside on December 03, 2008, 06:34:01 PM
Fergal Doherty the one man who stands out to me.

I mentioned him at the start of this thread bannside and couldn't agree more.  Gets nowhere near the credit he deserves and as hard a player that you will ever come across. Very clean footballer too.
Post by: INDIANA on December 03, 2008, 07:39:56 PM
dunno az , o brien had no help on that wicklow team and still managed to look like a genius at times. I haven't seen a better forward anywhere in the country in the last 25 years bar maybe maurice.
Title: Re: Best gaelic football players from the weaker counties over the last 25 years
Post by: Gaaman on December 03, 2008, 07:49:20 PM
Big Francie Bellew stood out for me
Post by: muppet on December 03, 2008, 08:22:35 PM
Quote from: Gaaman on December 03, 2008, 07:49:20 PM
Big Francie Bellew stood out for me

Me too. Saw him in SuperMacs, really stood out..
Post by: Tyrones own on December 03, 2008, 08:28:28 PM
Surely Declan Browne has to top that list!
Post by: shark on December 03, 2008, 09:38:39 PM
Well if its the last 25 years Westmeath definitely qualify as a weaker county as we were a lot worse than weak from 83-94. I nominate Michael 'Spike' Fagan.
Post by: 118cmal on December 03, 2008, 09:42:19 PM
Barry Owens???
Post by: Gaaman on December 04, 2008, 11:01:13 AM
Mattie Ford would have to be up there.  Great player
Post by: heineken_on_tap on December 04, 2008, 11:10:59 AM
Francie Grehan - Roscommon. Could of played with any county IMO
Post by: Onion Bag on December 04, 2008, 11:52:17 AM
Quote from: Gold on December 03, 2008, 05:40:14 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on December 03, 2008, 12:56:53 PM

Kelly never missed one chance, its Tony Scullion you are thinking of--Madden was ok/good--Kelly is a different class--glides across the turf--if you were playing chasies in the playground you would never touch him--he'd be all-ireland bulldog champion

Jasus do you know something your right, it was scullion,

I obviously havent seen enough of Kelly, seems to be the Dogs Bollocks in Antrim
Post by: NAG on December 05, 2008, 11:03:06 AM
Kelly is a class act pity we have no one to back him up with his commitment and dedication to being a top class inter county footballer.

On the Madden thing I dont like to be critical of someone from my own county in this type of debate but he was never at the standard of the other players mentioned and I have watched him playing from he was no age. I would say maybe 80-90% of the scores he got were from frees which he cleverly got from referee's. But I think he contribution from open play was never that great in the cold light of day.

Fergal Doc has to be in there!
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 05, 2008, 11:35:19 AM
I left Fergal Doherty out of this thread, becasue I don't consider Derry to be a weaker county.

Notwithstanding the immensely witty thread title, this is where Doherty should be being discussed.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8333.msg332998#msg332998 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8333.msg332998#msg332998)
Post by: SidelineKick on December 05, 2008, 11:42:22 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on December 05, 2008, 11:35:19 AM
I left Fergal Doherty out of this thread, becasue I don't consider Derry to be a weaker county.

Notwithstanding the immensely witty thread title, this is where Doherty should be being discussed.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8333.msg332998#msg332998 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8333.msg332998#msg332998)

Agreed! And a gentleman into the bargain!
Post by: Denn Forever on December 05, 2008, 11:49:05 AM
Jim Reilly from Cavan.  Early 80s but a brilliant defender and great Captain.

Only wish he'd been around for the international rules (and now for Cavan).
Post by: BeanPháidín on December 05, 2008, 12:32:04 PM
Smell the Glove

Tony Boyle? Are you havin a laugh? 2 Ulster, an All-Ireland and played in at least 2 league finals. How did he come to play for a weaker county?
Post by: Maroon Heaven on December 05, 2008, 12:56:04 PM
Lar Giles, John Fleming and Spike Fagan from my own County would have got into most County teams...

Lar Giles played his club football for Kinnegad but was born a  7 iron away from the Westmeath Border in Co. Meath.

I know he never would regret it - but Larry would most certainly have had a few All-Irelands in hs pocket if he had opted for the Green of the Royals
Post by: full back on December 05, 2008, 04:11:36 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 05, 2008, 04:08:52 PM
Some of the personal abuse directed at smell the glove, on this thread, really should be investigated by the mods.

:o
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 05, 2008, 04:17:25 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 05, 2008, 04:14:09 PM
Now you can see why I was released early. I took the shilling.
out on parole I see !
Post by: ExiledGael on December 05, 2008, 05:22:43 PM
Seen Donegal v Tipperary a few years back in Croke Park, curtainraiser to Dubs v Armagh, and was stunned by Tipp number 14. Better than any performance that day and most since. Had to consult the programme but Declan Browne was as good as any player I've seen.
Maybe bar Peter than I've seen in the flesh.
Post by: heffo on December 05, 2008, 06:47:12 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on December 05, 2008, 05:22:43 PM
Seen Donegal v Tipperary a few years back in Croke Park, curtainraiser to Dubs v Armagh, and was stunned by Tipp number 14. Better than any performance that day and most since. Had to consult the programme but Declan Browne was as good as any player I've seen.
Maybe bar Peter than I've seen in the flesh.

He did win an All-star five years before that game so it wasn't as if he was an unknown..
Post by: ONeill on December 05, 2008, 07:19:38 PM
Denis Hollywood.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 06, 2008, 08:39:34 AM
Tipp had a couple of other decent footballers - not just declan browne

peter lambert and those big midfielders from the mid 90's

Aidan okeeffe - an clar
simon rea - carlow
kevin obrien, fergus daly, pat o'byrne - wicklow
john costello -laois
finbarr cullen, pete brady, vinny claffey - offaly
spike fagan, dessie - westmeath
john doyle, dermot early jr, glen ryan - kildare

but I suppose Larry Reilly (Cavan) beats them all ! ;)
Post by: Maroon Heaven on December 06, 2008, 09:16:35 AM
I see Simon Rea of Carlow mentioned above... I don't see Johnny Nevin Mentioned yet...

I still would not be surprised to see Johnny Nevin on a Carlow teamsheet. He was one of those players who played for ever. Marked him myself a few times over the years and was always great player to go up against.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 06, 2008, 09:37:38 AM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on December 06, 2008, 09:16:35 AM
I see Simon Rea of Carlow mentioned above... I don't see Johnny Nevin Mentioned yet...

I still would not be surprised to see Johnny Nevin on a Carlow teamsheet. He was one of those players who played for ever. Marked him myself a few times over the years and was always great player to go up against.
nevin , a carlow great and a dual star, imo though not good enough for a mention as one of the best of the best.
a lot of the eire og contingent woul dbe as good as nevin. again imo
Post by: Fr. Cyril McDuff on December 06, 2008, 09:55:23 AM
Off the top of me head, from the last 15 years or so, most of these are All Stars or nominees:

Anthony Tohill
Kieran McKeever
Tony Scullion
Damian McCusker
Brian McGilligan
Enda Gormley
Joe Brolly
Sean Marty Lockhart
Enda Muldoon
Paddy Bradley
Fergal Doherty

Martin McHugh
Tony Boyle
Manus Boyle
James McHugh
Declan Bonner
Anthony Molloy
Brendan Devenny
Kevin Cassidy
Rory Kavanagh

Kieran McGeeney
John McEntee
Tony McEntee
Diarmuid Marsden
Paul McGrane
Oisin McConville
Ronan Clarke
Stevie McDonnell
Francie Bellew
Andy Mallon

Weaker counties?  ::)  (not to mention Dublin etc.)

Post by: The Forfeit Point on December 07, 2008, 07:33:31 PM
dessie barry was as good a goal scorer as you could get in the late 80's early 90s
Post by: carribbear on December 09, 2008, 01:01:59 AM
Peter Canavan - Tyrone

Post by: mylestheslasher on December 12, 2008, 03:06:01 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 06, 2008, 08:39:34 AM
Tipp had a couple of other decent footballers - not just declan browne

peter lambert and those big midfielders from the mid 90's

Aidan okeeffe - an clar
simon rea - carlow
kevin obrien, fergus daly, pat o'byrne - wicklow
john costello -laois
finbarr cullen, pete brady, vinny claffey - offaly
spike fagan, dessie - westmeath
john doyle, dermot early jr, glen ryan - kildare

but I suppose Larry Reilly (Cavan) beats them all ! ;)

Word on the street is that Larry is not done yet!

BTW - what is a weak county anyway. I remember about 4-5 years ago Cavan played Derry in the back door of the championship. The game was fixed for Celtic park because Derry were the weak team.