Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: stiffler on November 10, 2008, 10:38:48 PM

Title: All you can drink offer for €50- Good or bad?
Post by: stiffler on November 10, 2008, 10:38:48 PM

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/bar-pushes-all-you-can-drink-offer-for-euro50-1518900.html (http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/bar-pushes-all-you-can-drink-offer-for-euro50-1518900.html)

By Kevin Doyle

Monday November 03 2008

A city centre bar is to introduce a Las Vegas style all-you-can-drink evenings for the promoted cost of €50.

The offer by SIN Theatre in Temple Bar may prove controversial but bar management say it needs to find new ways of overcoming the drop in sales.

The deal will see punters make a €50 payment at door for an "all inclusive" night.

Included in the fee is admission, cloakroom, live entertainment, drinks and a pizza slice on your way home.

According to SIN General Manager Ciaran Gray, the aim is to attract drinkers out of their homes and back into town and it is fully legal.

"The new laws already mean that we're only busy for about two hours a night, so we're hoping this will get people in early and that they'll stay," he said.

Figures from Vintners' associations state that 1,500 pubs have closed nationwide since 2001.

And among the main reasons cited is the high rate of tax on alcohol, continuing growth of home drinking and the overall decline in consumption.

Mr Gray said that he has cleared the idea with gardai and is prepared for any criticisms of the scheme.

"It will absolutely not encourage excessive drinking because we'll be as strict on that as ever.

"We're over-21s and all staff have training in the responsible service of alcohol."

Mr Gray added: "We're really going to up the entertainment side of things as well so that it's not all about drinking."

The move came on the same weekend that another Dublin bar was strongly criticised for offering cut-price drink promotions to patrons wearing fancy dress.

Do yous feel this is a good thing or not?

I know drinking in dublin would easily cost you 3 times the fee, but will this lead to increased violence etc.

also would you like to be stuck in the one place all nite, most probably with a twenty minute wait at the bar?

Has anyone been in this spot before, is it any use?
Title: Re: All you can drink offer for €50- Good or bad?
Post by: Orior on November 10, 2008, 10:43:52 PM
Bad thing, very bad thing. Ever heard of alcohol poisoning?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 10, 2008, 10:45:40 PM
It's just encouraging idiots.
Post by: Yes I Would on November 10, 2008, 11:02:59 PM
Its a damn good idea if they have sufficient bar staff.

Lavery's Gin Palace in Belfast ran a similar night back in the student days.  Place jammed to the rafters, 4 rows deep at the bar. Think there were 3 bar staff.
Waste of time!!
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2008, 11:07:38 PM
Fearon once took part in an all-you-can-eat for £20 in KFC.

The outlet was shut down 2 hours into the venture.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 10, 2008, 11:09:04 PM
It will attract a load of scumbags. Look at witherspoons in belfast as an example. Awful place...
Post by: Mario on November 10, 2008, 11:41:09 PM
I spent €100 on sat night out so i welcome this. The price of drink in the south is ridiculous, well the price of everything is ridiculous but especially alcohol
Post by: Orior on November 10, 2008, 11:44:14 PM
Quote from: Mario on November 10, 2008, 11:41:09 PM
I spent €100 on sat night out so i welcome this. The price of drink in the south is ridiculous, well the price of everything is ridiculous but especially alcohol

Lucky you can afford that. I hope she was worth every penny.

Btw, are there no cheaper ways for you to enjoy yourself, besides getting ratarsed?
Post by: Tankie on November 10, 2008, 11:53:40 PM
I cant see the value here, i'd say its bad beer and you need to have a min of 10 - 11 drinks for any value which means you have to stay in the same place for the whole night. I would also worry about the crowd.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 11, 2008, 12:03:36 AM
Quote from: Yes I Would on November 10, 2008, 11:02:59 PM
Its a damn good idea if they have sufficient bar staff.

Lavery's Gin Palace in Belfast ran a similar night back in the student days.  Place jammed to the rafters, 4 rows deep at the bar. Think there were 3 bar staff.Waste of time!!
That's probably the only way to make something like this pay. Fewer wages and less drinks served.
Post by: thebandit on November 11, 2008, 01:32:54 AM
Ya wouldn't want to be drinking pints....
Post by: whitey on November 11, 2008, 01:33:43 AM
When I lived out in Chicago I went to the St. Brendans dinner dance one year-$40 all you could drink.  I think they lost money on every attendee (and beer was only $2 a bottle back then).
Post by: magpie seanie on November 11, 2008, 10:34:58 AM
If I was guaranteed good Guinness and no noise pollution then yes, good value for a night out. I expect a person of my tastes would be hugely disappointed by this place though.
Post by: An Fear Rua on November 11, 2008, 10:38:46 AM
pubs could look at a "loyalty card" type scheme, where you could purchase 10-20 pints in advance at a discounted rate? And use them over a few visits?
Post by: Tankie on November 11, 2008, 10:46:56 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on November 11, 2008, 10:38:46 AM
pubs could look at a "loyalty card" type scheme, where you could purchase 10-20 pints in advance at a discounted rate? And use them over a few visits?

pubs have shot themselves in the foot with the price of a pint, i cant believe how dead pubs are mid week in Dublin now but this has been happening for years and now the recession hasnt helped. Unless there is an actual mid week night out planned i never go out mid week as I have the big tv and Sky Sports in my house and the lads can just call around. Who wants to goto an empty pub and pat €4.50 - €6 for a pint....
Post by: Minder on November 11, 2008, 10:54:42 AM
The mark up in the price of a pint is ridiculous and i have no sympathy for pubs in these "tough times". You can buy a bottle of Bud in an off license for about 70p or pay £3.30 in a boozer, mmmm tough choice.
Post by: downgirl on November 11, 2008, 11:00:53 AM
€5 the other night for vodka and a dash!!!!  :o  Needless to say I didn't drink too much!
Post by: ludermor on November 11, 2008, 11:11:27 AM
Vodka and cranberry would be something like 8 yoyos!!
Post by: youngfella on November 11, 2008, 11:21:44 AM
there are bars over here were you its a pound or less for any pint, spirit or bottle. Theses kinda offers are one every night of the weekyou could spend a week on the tear for less than a £100. I think if a place like opened it dublin they'd make a packet.

Do the landlords in Dublin have some kind of agreement to keep the price of drink high?
Post by: Tankie on November 11, 2008, 11:30:48 AM
Quote from: youngfella on November 11, 2008, 11:21:44 AM
there are bars over here were you its a pound or less for any pint, spirit or bottle. Theses kinda offers are one every night of the weekyou could spend a week on the tear for less than a £100. I think if a place like opened it dublin they'd make a packet.

Do the landlords in Dublin have some kind of agreement to keep the price of drink high?

Wetherspoon's or one of those tried to open up on Dame St a few years back but the government/publicans found some loop hole that stopped it from happening.
Post by: youngfella on November 11, 2008, 11:34:54 AM
Then surely someone  could investigate that then , http://tinyurl.com/688dgw is a simlar kinda story.
Post by: downgirl on November 11, 2008, 11:36:20 AM
Quote from: ludermor on November 11, 2008, 11:11:27 AM
Vodka and cranberry would be something like 8 yoyos!!

Yea sure I started off with peach schnapps and lemonade and it was €7.60 or something ridiculous so I thought if i switched to vodka it would be cheaper!!  :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 11, 2008, 11:56:04 AM
a few years ago I would have thought this was a great idea - as I'd easly have 12 pints a night when going out

but you now when you look into yer pocket the next morning, there was a lot more than 12 pints worth gone from your wallet

so it would prob be cheaper to pay the €50 !

the questions of clientele and so on would be a worry alright , but it should attract a lot of punters and a lot of the opposite sex meaning that it could be a good pick up joint.

out in my local on fri and sat night last weekend and noticed that it was packed mostly to capacity  - and this is a stark contrast to a year ago for example, when the place was less than half full at weekends. Havent seen these kinds of crowds in the local since it opened 10 years ago (and for the first few years of it being open).

Post by: Hardy on November 11, 2008, 12:00:13 PM
"Three double vodka and red bull - fine. Do you have your drunk card?"
Post by: The Watcher Pat on November 11, 2008, 12:53:29 PM

There is this in a couple of bars in Lurgan...Pints cost £2.40 and you get 18p on your card for every pint you buy and 7% on all meals.. Its not bad if you save your points up for a while. I saved mine all last year and had a free day last boxing day and still had some left over.
Post by: T Fearon on November 11, 2008, 02:29:41 PM
Does such an offer not offer risks to the Publicans. I mean if your paid 50 yoyos and then asked for a keg of Budwiser surely they would be obliged to give it to you?
Post by: fred the red on November 11, 2008, 05:38:13 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 11, 2008, 02:29:41 PM
Does such an offer not offer risks to the Publicans. I mean if your paid 50 yoyos and then asked for a keg of Budwiser surely they would be obliged to give it to you?

its 'all you can drink'. It is not humanly possible to drink a keg of budwiser(on the one night).
Post by: leenie on November 11, 2008, 07:01:46 PM
i'd say for your £50 that you would spend the only thing you would get is a day in bog!

the publican would probably buy in bulk and therefore get a few kegs free, that would be sitting for awhile and more than likely not be in a cold room.... and he probably would just buy the kegs but not avail of other services from the drink suppliers such as cleaning the lines!

as for the spirits i wouldn't expect he'd be giving smirnoff/gordons or jameson!

whilst drinks are very expensive down south i don't think i'd chance her, and as another poster said could you imagine te type of ones who'd be in there!

not my idea of a good time!
Post by: blast05 on November 11, 2008, 07:38:45 PM
In Tesco the weekend before last they had 20 bottles of Miller fo €18 plus 25% back on your clubcard  ..... means the bottle worked out at just over 67c per bottle which means i'd want to be drinking about 75 bottles of Miller in the pub for my €50  ...... hmmm
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 11, 2008, 09:21:43 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on November 11, 2008, 12:53:29 PM

There is this in a couple of bars in Lurgan...Pints cost £2.40 and you get 18p on your card for every pint you buy and 7% on all meals.. Its not bad if you save your points up for a while. I saved mine all last year and had a free day last boxing day and still had some left over.

wheres this?
Post by: stiffler on November 11, 2008, 09:24:36 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on November 11, 2008, 09:21:43 PM

wheres this?

celtic club for 1
Post by: Mario on November 11, 2008, 09:27:38 PM
Quote from: blast05 on November 11, 2008, 07:38:45 PM
In Tesco the weekend before last they had 20 bottles of Miller fo €18 plus 25% back on your clubcard  ..... means the bottle worked out at just over 67c per bottle which means i'd want to be drinking about 75 bottles of Miller in the pub for my €50  ...... hmmm
Everyone knows you could buy a carryout cheaper, the whole point is getting out
Post by: The Watcher Pat on November 11, 2008, 09:32:10 PM
Quote from: stiffler on November 11, 2008, 09:24:36 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on November 11, 2008, 09:21:43 PM

wheres this?

celtic club for 1
Vintage is the other..
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 11, 2008, 09:36:06 PM
Ah right, I wouldnt slug as much in lurgan at the min... gnona start though, cant be bothered trekking back an forth to belfast an all

credit crunch
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 12, 2008, 08:42:37 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 11, 2008, 11:56:04 AM
a few years ago I would have thought this was a great idea - as I'd easly have 12 pints a night when going out

but you now when you look into yer pocket the next morning, there was a lot more than 12 pints worth gone from your wallet

Yes, that would be right.  11 to drink and 1 to store your teeth.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 12, 2008, 10:42:10 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 12, 2008, 08:42:37 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 11, 2008, 11:56:04 AM

Yes, that would be right.  11 to drink and 1 to store your teeth.
teeth never in my own pint if you recall...that way I'd get one or two free a night!
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 12, 2008, 01:49:01 PM
I may be wrong but I thought that drink promotions were banned some time ago. With that law the like of happy hour went out the window. Does this type of thing not fall under the same unbrella as it is promoting binge drinking? I wouldn't go anywhere near a pub that had this type of promotion anyway, the type of lad it would attract wouldn't appeal to me. Probably when I was 5 -10 years younger I'd have lived in the place