GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on November 08, 2008, 02:39:04 AM

Title: Best Footballer in Ireland..
Post by: 5 Sams on November 08, 2008, 02:39:04 AM
..right lads gimme your views.

Cavanagh is probably the most high profile ...and is one of the best exponents of the game today ...BUT...is he better than Tomas...Mattie...Canty..Benny..Clucko...what constitutes the best player in the land??

Take a moment in time this year and ask yourself...fcuk me me that's the best player in the country................

Just wonderin like???
Title: Re: Best Footballer in Ireland..
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 08, 2008, 02:46:37 AM
Wouldn't swop anybody for Stevie McDonnell.
Post by: T O Hare on November 08, 2008, 03:19:50 AM
If Benny was a born in the 60's he would have walked onto the team of the milllennium.. best all round player !!!!!
Post by: Doire abú on November 08, 2008, 03:27:16 AM
While I agree Benny Coulter is an unbelievable player and one of the great goal getters of all time, I would have thought that his relatively low point scoring tallies would definetly stop him getting on the team of the millenium?!
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on November 08, 2008, 04:12:21 AM
D. O'Shea is one player i would want on my team above all others.
Post by: Aaron Boone on November 08, 2008, 09:34:57 AM
Ian Ryan from Limerick.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 08, 2008, 09:56:20 AM
Despite the commentary in the original thread it still would be secretary Cavanagh for me.
Post by: Hardy on November 08, 2008, 10:17:33 AM
The best player I saw this year was John Galvin of Limerick. It must be a long time since Limerick had two nominations in a discussion like this.
Post by: corn02 on November 08, 2008, 10:43:14 AM
Perhaps not the best footballer, but Cavanagh was easily the best player this season.
Post by: downgirl on November 08, 2008, 12:40:28 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on November 08, 2008, 03:27:16 AM
While I agree Benny Coulter is an unbelievable player and one of the great goal getters of all time, I would have thought that his relatively low point scoring tallies would definetly stop him getting on the team of the millenium?!

Low scores yes but think about it this year was the longest run Down have had in the championship for a good number of years.
Post by: DownFanatic on November 08, 2008, 12:47:41 PM
Darragh O'Shea is the best all rounder in the country at the moment. However, rose tinted spectacles aside, I think Benny Coulter is currently the best technical footballer on this island. Of course, Cavanagh is up there aswell and he is certainly the most high profile.
Post by: FromAFar on November 08, 2008, 01:54:52 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on November 08, 2008, 02:39:04 AM

Cavanagh is probably the most high profile ...and is one of the best exponents of the game today ...BUT...is he better than Tomas...Mattie...Canty..Benny..Clucko...what constitutes the best player in the land??

Take a moment in time this year and ask yourself...fcuk me me that's the best player in the country................

Just wonderin like???

Forgive my ignorance, but can you confirm who is clucko?? Im thinkin our very own ryan mccluskey.....?
Post by: nrico2006 on November 08, 2008, 02:19:48 PM
The gooch is the best at the minute.  Cavanaghs strength is his ability to roast a man, but he is an all rounder who can catch and his score taking ability is second to none.
Post by: armagh leg-end on November 08, 2008, 03:15:47 PM
oisin mcconville has to be up there.

he has played some football and has some honours!
Post by: J70 on November 08, 2008, 03:18:39 PM

Just wonderin like???

Who the f**k is "Clucko"?  ???
Post by: Yes I Would on November 08, 2008, 05:10:35 PM
Cavanagah!! No one even close to him based on current form.I believe he will eventually prove himself to be a more important player to Tyrone than Canavan.
If there were a transfer fee in the modern game, his value would top the list.

Profile is irrelevant. Cavanagh also does his talking on the pitch.
Post by: johnpower on November 08, 2008, 09:57:22 PM
At present Sean Cavanagh based on the last number of months performance .The question of who is the all time great is a source of great debate .
Post by: ONeill on November 09, 2008, 12:34:30 AM
Quote from: Yes I Would on November 08, 2008, 05:10:35 PM
Cavanagah!! No one even close to him based on current form.I believe he will eventually prove himself to be a more important player to Tyrone than Canavan.
If there were a transfer fee in the modern game, his value would top the list.

Profile is irrelevant. Cavanagh also does his talking on the pitch.

Can't agree. Canavan was Tyrone from 94-2001
Post by: Yes I Would on November 09, 2008, 01:00:46 AM
No debate at the minute but Cavanagh is what 25 and has been central to 3 All Ireland successes.
If this guy improves and the bearded one stays at the helm, then Cavanagh should be the man lifting Sam in the not too distant future.  How many times, only time will tell. 
Histroy ultimately shows a players worth, although surely Canavans record on Enda will count against him.
Post by: J70 on November 09, 2008, 06:51:47 AM
Quote from: J70 on November 08, 2008, 03:18:39 PM

Just wonderin like???

Anyone?
Post by: aroundincircles on November 09, 2008, 08:13:24 AM
stephan cluxton i would say
Post by: Rav67 on November 09, 2008, 12:36:05 PM
Alan Brogan.  Down folk over-rate Benny Coulter, he's good but is relatively easy to blot out of a game as many teams have done in recent years.
Post by: maggie on November 09, 2008, 01:08:10 PM
i love the way cav always thanks the person who passes the ball to him when he scores with a wee  thumbs up
Post by: Our Nail Loney on November 09, 2008, 06:59:56 PM
Quote from: AFS on November 09, 2008, 04:29:04 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on November 09, 2008, 12:36:05 PM
Alan Brogan.  Down folk over-rate Benny Coulter, he's good but is relatively easy to blot out of a game as many teams have done in recent years.

How dare you suggest that!  ;)

Would easily have him over any armagh player.
Post by: bennydorano on November 09, 2008, 07:13:16 PM
If there was a transfer market I'd have Graham Canty first in.
Post by: mouview on November 09, 2008, 08:34:33 PM
Gooch, gooch, gooch.  Absolutely consumate forward. (unfortunately!)

Cavanagh is a very fine player but is a bit 'de jour'.

Post by: thebandit on November 09, 2008, 08:46:50 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on November 09, 2008, 12:36:05 PM

Two overrated footballers in one sentance :D
Post by: Yes I Would on November 09, 2008, 09:10:23 PM
Quote from: mouview on November 09, 2008, 08:34:33 PM
Gooch, gooch, gooch.  Absolutely consumate forward. (unfortunately!)

Cavanagh is a very fine player but is a bit 'de jour'.

Del Boy Trotter???
Post by: 5 Sams on November 09, 2008, 09:28:12 PM
Quote from: J70 on November 09, 2008, 06:51:47 AM
Quote from: J70 on November 08, 2008, 03:18:39 PM

Just wonderin like???

Anyone?

Sorry lads what I was trying to say through the haze of a bottle and a half of vino tinto on Friday night was...Sean is player of the year...deservedly so....but is there guys better than him in their own positions that's why I mentioned Cluxton and Tomas......in an awkward kind of way I'm trying to figure out who is the best exponent of our game right now...mebbe Darragh, mebbe Sean, mebbe even Dooher....
Post by: The Voice Of Reason on November 09, 2008, 09:31:18 PM
I've had to go with Colm Cooper ... vision-wise he's operating on a different plane to every other footballer in the country in my opinion (he's the only footballer I've watched who has picked out passes that people high up in the stands of Croke Park couldn't even see)
Post by: Doire abú on November 13, 2008, 12:39:22 AM
Quote from: The Voice Of Reason on November 09, 2008, 09:31:18 PM
I've had to go with Colm Cooper ... vision-wise he's operating on a different plane to every other footballer in the country in my opinion (he's the only footballer I've watched who has picked out passes that people high up in the stands of Croke Park couldn't even see)

You've gotta see Enda Muldoon in action!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 13, 2008, 09:23:15 AM
It would be the Gooch for me. Cavanagh is class but a large part of his game is due to his unbelievable athleticism while gooch is just a pure class footballer. Benny Coulter? Are ye serious, a very good player but has gone missing in loads of games that I've seen.
Post by: Tim Buzaglo on November 13, 2008, 10:38:50 AM
Sean Cavanagh for me - Quite simply more effective than anyone else in the game!

Honourable mention to the Gooch and a biassed shout for Fergal Doherty from a Derry point of view
Post by: supersarsfields on November 13, 2008, 11:06:22 AM

I'd have to rate Brian McGuigan up there with the passing. Ciaran McDonald used to pick out some exceptional passes aswell.

But I'd agree with TYP. Is it Who's the best now? If so I'd prob go for Cavanagh. If not, then that's a whole different kettle of fish!!
Post by: Fuzzman on November 13, 2008, 12:56:25 PM
As it's a team sport lads different players have different strengths and weaknesses

Usually its the forwards that get all the praise for their skill and score taking which wins matches.

I think Gooch is awesome and thought he was gonna finally get the stage to torment Tyrone this year as he roasted Gormley in the 1st 10 mins
He was then starved of good possession and our defense tighten up on him with him roaming further out the pitch.

For such a scrawny looking wee guy he can he win his own high ball and his passing, vision and shooting is something else.
Interesting though that both Sean and Gooch scored 2.19 this year though 11 were frees for Gooch and only 4 for Sean. (As per the ulster website)

Trying hard not to wear my Red tinted glassed but I think Sean is more of an influence on a game and is much more adaptable to play in lots of possesions.
He probably doesn't have Gooch's silky skills or vision but his score rate is awesome and he makes most of his own scores either charging through from Midfield carrying the ball or playing at FF

I wonder what is the goal ratio of the two guys.

I hope Colm Cavanagh can get his act together next year and stay injury free
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 13, 2008, 05:32:40 PM
he will be a huge loss to the game of Gaelic football and Kerry,
but in spite of only playing senior football for one year, I thought Tommy walsh was the outstanding player in the country.
Unmarkable at times and when he wasnt doing that much, it was down to poor posession/passing from the Kerry outfielders into him.

Got taken off in the AIF when imo he was clearly the better option and most likely to do damage to tyrone - so I was delighted to see him being substituted , and mentioned to my colleague that I thought Pat O'Shea had made a huge mistake thankfully.
He was looking more lively than the over rated donaghy, and this year outshone his higher profile colleagues Donaghy and Cooper in the Kerry full forward line.

People prob wont think of Walsh as Gaelic footballs best player and there have been some great names mentioned here- Canty, cavanagh, O'se etc... but I dont think Tommy is a one season wonder, he will be Kerrys main man at midfield or in attack for many a year to come- if he doesnt get snapped up by the aussies.
Sure he powered his club side to a closer game v club supremos Nemo than the scoreline suggested.
If he goes to oz, we will miss out on the best of what could be the new improved version of tohill/o'se

for a 20 year old in his firs season, he was frighteningly good, no actually the word I would use is magnificent.

all imo of course
Post by: ardmhachaabu on November 13, 2008, 09:33:29 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 13, 2008, 05:32:40 PM

for a 20 year old in his firs season, he was frighteningly good, no actually the word I would use is magnificent.

Absolutely, he is a joy to watch
Post by: Fuzzman on November 14, 2008, 12:19:02 PM
I think Walsh had a good 1st year and will improve should he decide to stick with GAA but I think ye are both going a bit OTT (IMHO) to say that he was better than Gooch
He's a big strong lad but hasn't got the finesse of Gooch and tends to fade in and out of games

I thought he was well held in the final and in some of the Cork games.
In the final would Gooch or big Sean have hit that shot straight at the keeper. I think NOT
Post by: SidelineKick on November 14, 2008, 12:30:33 PM
Fergal Doc really doesnt get the recognition he deserves.  Shame he hasn't a championship medal of some sort with Derry to show for his efforts.  Captain this year????

In previous years I would have thought Cavanagh slightly yella but this year and especially after the Aussie game he was one of the few who stood up to them in terms of putting in the big hits, so my opinion has changed.  Best player in the country at the min.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on November 14, 2008, 06:23:00 PM
What did Tommy Walsh score this year in the championship? He spent a good bit of time at corner forward but dont think he scored that much. An excellent prospect but wouldnt have him any where near best player in Ireland at this stage. Thought he looked decent for Kerry in the u21 final but even at that level wouldnt have said he was brilliant. Thought he was quiet enough v Nemo on Sunday too. He does look impressive at times when running with the ball but at this stage drifts in and out of games to much. Id say in a few years he will be hard to stop though.
Post by: Puckoon on November 14, 2008, 08:15:21 PM
Was Oisin McConville ever the best footballer of any generation?

Post by: ONeill on November 14, 2008, 08:47:19 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on November 14, 2008, 06:23:00 PM
What did Tommy Walsh score this year in the championship? He spent a good bit of time at corner forward but dont think he scored that much. An excellent prospect but wouldnt have him any where near best player in Ireland at this stage. Thought he looked decent for Kerry in the u21 final but even at that level wouldnt have said he was brilliant. Thought he was quiet enough v Nemo on Sunday too. He does look impressive at times when running with the ball but at this stage drifts in and out of games to much. Id say in a few years he will be hard to stop though.

Agree totally. Watched a right bit of Tommy and although he had a very good first year, he was nowhere near the top 6 forwards  in the country this year. Some people got caught up in the hype, especially surrounding his goal v Cork.
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 14, 2008, 09:55:04 PM
Tommy scored 1-11 in the 7 games he appeared in, which is third highest on the Kerry squad for the 2008 championship (behind Gooch and Sheehan).  He started 6 games and was taken off in all 6.  He did not start the Munster Final...but came on as a sub.

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 14, 2008, 10:18:13 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 14, 2008, 08:15:21 PM
Was Oisin McConville ever the best footballer of any generation?

I don't think he was the best footballer in Armagh at any stage.
Post by: ONeill on November 14, 2008, 10:31:04 PM
Did Star score less than 1-11?
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 14, 2008, 10:42:21 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 14, 2008, 10:31:04 PM

Star got 2-4 and Declan O'Sullivan 1-7, tying for fourth on the team.

Post by: Over the Bar on November 14, 2008, 10:51:28 PM
QuoteTommy scored 1-11 in the 7 games he appeared in,

Cavanagh scored more than the 2 of them put together and played both full-forward and midfield .
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 14, 2008, 11:08:48 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on November 14, 2008, 10:51:28 PM

Cavanagh scored more than the 2 of them put together and played both full-forward and midfield .

Your point being what exactly?

Gooch scored more than Cavanagh...and both were behind John Doyle...which proves?????

The vital statistic at the end of the year is which player has the Celtic Cross.

And Star spent plenty time midfield as well...a sign of bigger problems than his scoring rate.

Post by: ONeill on November 14, 2008, 11:10:25 PM
Did Star miss the Munster championship?
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 14, 2008, 11:18:45 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 14, 2008, 11:10:25 PM
Did Star miss the Munster championship?

Technically, he didn't.

Came on as sub v Clare - didn't score.

Started all 6 remaining Kerry games.

Did not score v Cork in Munster final.

Scored 1-2 v Monaghan.  Scored 0-1 v Galway.  Scored 1-1 v Cork in drawn game.  Did not score in replay v Cork.  Did not score v Tyrone.

You could say his scoring boots worked only in August.

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on November 15, 2008, 12:03:11 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on November 14, 2008, 11:08:48 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on November 14, 2008, 10:51:28 PM

Your point being what exactly?

Gooch scored more than Cavanagh...and both were behind John Doyle...which proves?????

The vital statistic at the end of the year is which player has the Celtic Cross.

And Star spent plenty time midfield as well...a sign of bigger problems than his scoring rate.

The majority of Cavanaghs scores came from play though. For all the talk about the twin towers entering the final its hard to believe as pointed out above Cavanagh actually socred more than the 2 of them put together this year.
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 15, 2008, 12:36:58 AM

The majority of Cavanaghs scores came from play though. For all the talk about the twin towers entering the final its hard to believe as pointed out above Cavanagh actually socred more than the 2 of them put together this year.

Star and Walsh would have scored only from play too.  Not hard to believe that the champions top scorer would outscore the runners-up third and fourth combined.

For the championship season, Tyrone scored 7-126 in 8 games...about 18+ points a game, while Kerry scored 8-100 in 7, a rate of 17+ a game. 

What is impressive with Tyrone's championship is two games with 20+ points (with no goals).  That tells a lot about a team...scoring consistently...that must 3 points out of every four attacks (or better).

Post by: the green man on November 15, 2008, 12:50:59 AM
Aaron Kernan.
Post by: stephenite on November 15, 2008, 01:38:54 AM
Quote from: the green man on November 15, 2008, 12:50:59 AM
Aaron Kernan.
:D :D ;D ;D

Post by: Over the Bar on November 15, 2008, 08:20:20 AM
QuoteFor the championship season, Tyrone scored 7-126 in 8 games...about 18+ points a game, while Kerry scored 8-100 in 7, a rate of 17+ a game.

Ball Hopper do you have stats for scores from play?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on November 15, 2008, 10:02:42 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on November 15, 2008, 12:36:58 AM

Star and Walsh would have scored only from play too.  Not hard to believe that the champions top scorer would outscore the runners-up third and fourth combined.
For the championship season, Tyrone scored 7-126 in 8 games...about 18+ points a game, while Kerry scored 8-100 in 7, a rate of 17+ a game. 

What is impressive with Tyrone's championship is two games with 20+ points (with no goals).  That tells a lot about a team...scoring consistently...that must 3 points out of every four attacks (or better).

Its hard to believe considering the hype about the "twin towers" entering the final and the talk that Tyrone wouldnt be able to handle them. It would be interesting to see how many of Tyrone scores this year came from play. All year we had a big problem converting free's. However in the championship especially at the later stages it wasnt a problem due to a lack of scoreable frees.
Post by: Mario on November 15, 2008, 10:19:23 AM
In terms of pure technical footballing ability it has to be Gooch. This season cavanagh of course, but if you look over the last 5 or 6 years i think gooch has been better than him. I cant believe people are saying names like Coulter and Mc Conville, they havent even been the best forwards in ulster in the last 5 years, people like McDonnell and Bradley have outshone them.
Post by: Zapatista on November 15, 2008, 01:42:45 PM
Are you saying the towers are one dimensional?
Post by: Uladh on November 15, 2008, 02:47:39 PM

Like every forward, they are dependent on their supply
Post by: Zapatista on November 15, 2008, 02:55:33 PM
Quote from: Uladh on November 15, 2008, 02:47:39 PM

Like every forward, they are dependent on their supply

Tis a team sport after all.
Post by: tyssam5 on November 15, 2008, 11:30:07 PM

Colm Cooper? Good. But Colm McCulagh was better this season!
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on November 16, 2008, 02:23:08 PM
I always wonder why in these debates its always forwards who get the mention.....what about guys like John Keane, Canty, Thomas O'Se etc.....
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 16, 2008, 08:24:48 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on November 15, 2008, 08:20:20 AM
QuoteFor the championship season, Tyrone scored 7-126 in 8 games...about 18+ points a game, while Kerry scored 8-100 in 7, a rate of 17+ a game.

Ball Hopper do you have stats for scores from play?

I don't.

Sorry.

Post by: johnpower on November 16, 2008, 11:19:36 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on November 15, 2008, 11:30:07 PM

Colm Cooper? Good. But Colm McCulagh was better this season!

Yes by Colm McCullagh standards I agree .Sean Cavanagh has the potential to emulate the greatest  i,e win the Texaco player of the year 5 years in a row .3 man of the match awards in an all Ireland final .I think he can
Post by: Jinxy on November 17, 2008, 11:23:01 AM
I've said it before and I'll say it again, I simply do not get why some people think so highly of Benny Coulter. Is it because of what he's done or what you feel he is capable of doing?
Post by: lurganblue on November 17, 2008, 12:24:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 17, 2008, 11:23:01 AM
I've said it before and I'll say it again, I simply do not get why some people think so highly of Benny Coulter. Is it because of what he's done or what you feel he is capable of doing?

he would need to get out of mckeever's pocket right enough.
clarke had a great year, and as far as i can remember, every year he has been fit he has been great.

IMO though the best player around at the minute is the gooch
Post by: Maximus Marillius on November 17, 2008, 02:17:48 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 13, 2008, 05:32:40 PM
he will be a huge loss to the game of Gaelic football and Kerry,
but in spite of only playing senior football for one year, I thought Tommy walsh was the outstanding player in the country.
Unmarkable at times and when he wasnt doing that much, it was down to poor posession/passing from the Kerry outfielders into him.

Got taken off in the AIF when imo he was clearly the better option and most likely to do damage to tyrone - so I was delighted to see him being substituted , and mentioned to my colleague that I thought Pat O'Shea had made a huge mistake thankfully.
He was looking more lively than the over rated donaghy, and this year outshone his higher profile colleagues Donaghy and Cooper in the Kerry full forward line.

People prob wont think of Walsh as Gaelic footballs best player and there have been some great names mentioned here- Canty, cavanagh, O'se etc... but I dont think Tommy is a one season wonder, he will be Kerrys main man at midfield or in attack for many a year to come- if he doesnt get snapped up by the aussies.
Sure he powered his club side to a closer game v club supremos Nemo than the scoreline suggested.
If he goes to oz, we will miss out on the best of what could be the new improved version of tohill/o'se

all imo of course

Lb how the blazes do you make that out. This is a player who was unable to finish the 1/4, semi and final of the All Ireland. Sunstituted in the 3 biggest games of the year, and all in the closing out stages of the game, when it really counted. :o :o :o

Also...and this is a bold speak, he will cut it at midfield, because he tired very noticably in every game and it was nothing to do with fitness, he is very muscle bound and it will only get worst the older he gets. covering the ground will not be his game.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 17, 2008, 04:19:44 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on November 17, 2008, 02:17:48 PM
Lb how the blazes do you make that out. This is a player who was unable to finish the 1/4, semi and final of the All Ireland. Sunstituted in the 3 biggest games of the year, and all in the closing out stages of the game, when it really counted. :o :o :o

Also...and this is a bold speak, he will cut it at midfield, because he tired very noticably in every game and it was nothing to do with fitness, he is very muscle bound and it will only get worst the older he gets. covering the ground will not be his game.
Incorrectly taken off in all games. Its the age old problem, a team are losing it around the middle  - so they take off one of the corner forwards.
OK you have two all stars (neither of which are at the races that particular season but are big names) and a young first year rookie. Who do you take off.
Pat OS bottled it. IMO Walsh was looking the most potentially dangerous among the three. Tyrone did what we all said they had to do , keep kerry from getting the ball in.
OShea made calls that didnt cost him (luckily) against galway and cork, but did when they were up against a side that had the measure of them.
Lets face it, cork and galways were never going to beat kerry , it was kerry almost throwing it away more than anything else.
As for Walsh being muscle bound, he looks that way due to his big frame, but if you look more closely, hes actually not filled out that much and wouldnt be any swartzeneger - certainly not as muscular as his father - yet anyhow.

How can a corner forward get 'noticeably' tired in each game .I think you are talking via yer posterior.
you'd better not apply for the bellaghy job as that team no longer wins games themselves and youd need to know what yer at.

As for those who reckon that talking of walsh in this way is 'listening to hype' I'd say guess again - unless the aussies are also suckers for such hype ..... ::)
I hope he stays at home and shows that he is the next big thing in football, as lets face it cavanagh is good , but he's no anthony tohill or paddy bradley  ;)
:)
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 17, 2008, 04:47:14 PM
Lynchboy doing fine until the second half of the last sentence.

The easiest way to put this question...you are picking teams just like in the schoolyard years ago...you have first pick. 

Who do you pick?

S Cav is my pick.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 17, 2008, 05:07:10 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on November 17, 2008, 04:47:14 PM
Lynchboy doing fine until the second half of the last sentence.

The easiest way to put this question...you are picking teams just like in the schoolyard years ago...you have first pick. 

Who do you pick?

S Cav is my pick.
ah it was just to get the tyronies going
still its half in jest, a few slaps always put cavanagh off, while I'd say young walsh has yet to show any fear...

anyhow if walsh stays, I'd expect a lot of peoples picks will go from cavanagh to Walsh given the proof of another good season under his belt !
He's 'lucky' hes from kerry and gets a chance to shine and learn at the same time. If he was in the same shoes as eg niall sheridan of Longford, he could end up like him !
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 17, 2008, 06:22:29 PM

He's 'lucky' hes from kerry

Everyone from Kerry considers themselves lucky...
Post by: thehulk!! on December 09, 2008, 05:09:55 PM
keith higgins from mayo, best corner back id say nearly ever, easily the fastest man in the gaa
Post by: Uladh on December 09, 2008, 05:11:45 PM

He's not that fat, is he?
Post by: carribbear on December 09, 2008, 05:32:32 PM
Canty. While I appreciate the forwards you have to admire what this guy does...
Post by: SidelineKick on December 09, 2008, 05:38:09 PM
Fergal Doherty.  Any of the games he missed last year, Derry lost.
Post by: ziggysego on December 09, 2008, 06:45:18 PM
You could say he's the missing link, eh Sideline ;)
Post by: carribbear on December 09, 2008, 06:58:48 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 09, 2008, 06:45:18 PM

naw, I think i found him.....

(http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00028/ryan_mcmenamin_28160t.jpg)
Post by: styles82 on December 09, 2008, 08:01:28 PM
The most mercurial - Ciaran Mc, Geraghty, M Donnlen
Best Player from Small County - Declan Browne, J Quane, O'Hara
Best Players Ive ever seen - Maurice Fitz, Gooch, D O'Se, P Joyce, O McConville, S Cavanagh, Moynihan, McGeeny, Fay, O'Rourke, Giles, Sean Marty, Paddy Bradley, Mickey Lindon,
Post by: SidelineKick on December 10, 2008, 10:23:05 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 09, 2008, 06:45:18 PM

Or one of the missing links Ziggy  :D
Post by: heganboy on December 10, 2008, 05:15:47 PM
one of the most subjective questions ever...

Coulter has been known as the Rolls royce for years, the reason that he hasn't received the prominence that he probably deserves is that anyone playing down knows that they just have to blot him out of the game.
Put him in a team where that isn't possible and he will blossom- witness the international rules series

p.s. not saying he's the best- just saying he gets a rough ride
Post by: ardal on December 11, 2008, 12:02:19 AM
IMHO if you took Brian Dooher out of the Tyrone team over the last (what?) 10 years, you'd've never seen the progression they made. He's man mountain, and I hate the man, pity he wasn't born a few more km to the east.

From Kerry I'd go for the Donkey/pony/horse (unfortunately had a bad day in 2002 against Ronan C).

Rainbow?

Forde?

Parkinson?
Post by: 5 Sams on December 15, 2008, 01:31:36 AM
Dont know which thread to put this in but Sean Cavanagh was in our club tonight with the Cormac McAnallen cup at our underage presentation. Pure gent...stood for ages signing auotgraphs, standing for photos etc..I had a good yarn with him and had great crack with his da as well....our Chairman introduced him as Sean Cavanagh.."The best Footballer in Ireland"....I would tend to agree with that statement at the moment. Helluva Nice fella :)
Post by: cadhlancian on December 15, 2008, 03:59:11 AM
Quote from: styles82 on December 09, 2008, 08:01:28 PM
The most mercurial - Ciaran Mc, Geraghty, M Donnlen
Best Player from Small County - Declan Browne, J Quane, O'Hara
Best Players Ive ever seen - Maurice Fitz, Gooch, D O'Se, P Joyce, O McConville, S Cavanagh, Moynihan, McGeeny, Fay, O'Rourke, Giles, Sean Marty, Paddy Bradley, Mickey Lindon,
6 ulster players of the last 12 years or so,,, and no Peter Canavan!  Hopefully a slip!
Post by: Onion Bag on December 15, 2008, 08:44:41 AM
Quote from: ardal on December 11, 2008, 12:02:19 AM
IMHO if you took Brian Dooher out of the Tyrone team over the last (what?) 10 years, you'd've never seen the progression they made. He's man mountain, and I hate the man, pity he wasn't born a few more km to the east.

From Kerry I'd go for the Donkey/pony/horse (unfortunately had a bad day in 2002 against Ronan C).

Rainbow?

Forde?

Parkinson?

It wasnt that he had a bad day, Ronan C had a great game, he wasnt fit for him

Post by: saffron sam2 on December 15, 2008, 11:11:42 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 15, 2008, 01:31:36 AM
Dont know which thread to put this in but Sean Cavanagh was in our club tonight with the Cormac McAnallen cup at our underage presentation. Pure gent...stood for ages signing auotgraphs, standing for photos etc..I had a good yarn with him and had great crack with his da as well....our Chairman introduced him as Sean Cavanagh.."The best Footballer in Ireland"....I would tend to agree with that statement at the moment. Helluva Nice fella :)

Did he charge anything?
Post by: The Forfeit Point on December 15, 2008, 09:17:52 PM
if best footballer was judged on pure skill alone it would be colm cooper - no question but cavanagh ticks all the boxes to make him the best player in the land at the moment - work rate, speed, strength, fielding, tackling, kick accurately off both feet. a class act!
Post by: stevetharlear on December 16, 2008, 04:45:08 PM
Declan O Sullivan for me, as much as it pains to say it. Doesn't grab the headlines like some of the other Kerry forwards but one of the best footballers I've ever seen.

Now if it was the most effective footballer... any of Kavanagh, Gooch, Donaghy or Canty.
Post by: mackers on December 16, 2008, 05:13:51 PM
Quote from: ardal on December 11, 2008, 12:02:19 AM

Rainbow?

Forde?

Parkinson?
Parkinson? Colm Parkinson? I can think of about five better players in Laois for a start!
Post by: deaconblue on December 16, 2008, 11:36:49 PM
gooch, cavanagh or declan o sullivan are the  best, because of his extra skill is say its gooch at no 1, he is a wizard.
Post by: carribbear on December 17, 2008, 01:32:22 AM
Quote from: stevetharlear on December 16, 2008, 04:45:08 PM
Declan O Sullivan for me, as much as it pains to say it. Doesn't grab the headlines like some of the other Kerry forwards but one of the best footballers I've ever seen.

Honestly I've never really thought he was great. I prefer Galvin as a footballer (minus the headlines)
Post by: Tyrones own on December 17, 2008, 03:16:13 AM
 I'd agree... O'Sullivan def is a very skillful lad, but the best in Ireland :-\
Post by: carribbear on December 17, 2008, 04:19:22 AM
Meant to say that Declan O'Sullivan IS talented but he never really seems to have grabbed games by the scruff of the neck and dragged Kerry along like Darragh O'Se or the Gooch has..he is a different sort of player to that..
Post by: Midman on December 18, 2008, 11:21:56 PM
On the year he's had Cavanagh is probably the best, Gooch i'd say is the most talented and I'd give an honourable mention to Ronan Clarke
Post by: AZOffaly on December 19, 2008, 09:41:58 AM
Quote from: carribbear on December 17, 2008, 04:19:22 AM
Meant to say that Declan O'Sullivan IS talented but he never really seems to have grabbed games by the scruff of the neck and dragged Kerry along like Darragh O'Se or the Gooch has..he is a different sort of player to that..

Are you serious? O'Sullivan has been instrumental in dragging Kerry through numerous times. Dublin (1-3), Monaghan, Cork etc etc. In fact Declan O'Sullivan does his best work when the likes of Gooch and Donaghy are getting it hard. He's a real ball winner, a ball carrier and a distributor, as well as being a good man for a goal, and accurate.

Declan's only drawback is that he is easy to frustrate and loses the rag with refs, which can sometimes throw him off his own game, but what he brings to Kerry is immense.

If I were picking 2 or 3 lads I could transfer into Offaly, he'd be one of the first names on the list, with perhaps Sean Cavanagh and Kieran Donaghy the others.
Post by: corcaioch on December 30, 2008, 12:54:31 PM
Dessie Dolan is probably the most natural footballer at the moment- Maurice Fitz and Declan Browne were last decade. Hopefully Dessie gets to display his talents on a bigger stage this year if Westmeath continue to improve. Darragh O' Se is the most effective player and Kerry will find it very hard to replace him when he retires. Similarly Brian Dooher with Tyrone.
Post by: the milkman on December 30, 2008, 06:36:30 PM
When Marty Clarke comes home and plays for his club, does this mean he can be counted too? because if so, then def. him
Post by: ONeill on December 30, 2008, 11:05:27 PM
We all seem to choose forwards or attacking midfielders.

That must mean if someone is handy at all, he'll be lumped into the forward line!
Post by: No1 on December 31, 2008, 02:21:10 PM
QuoteQuote from: 5 Sams on December 15, 2008, 01:31:36 AM
Dont know which thread to put this in but Sean Cavanagh was in our club tonight with the Cormac McAnallen cup at our underage presentation. Pure gent...stood for ages signing auotgraphs, standing for photos etc..I had a good yarn with him and had great crack with his da as well....our Chairman introduced him as Sean Cavanagh.."The best Footballer in Ireland"....I would tend to agree with that statement at the moment. Helluva Nice fella

Did he charge anything?

I think the figure mentioned by 5 Sams' clubmate in a different thread was 200 bills.

Benny Coulter is the best footballer in Ireland.  Well, him or Jackie Lynch.
Post by: INDIANA on December 31, 2008, 02:41:28 PM
most naturally gifted is gooch. most effective is cavanagh.