Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Dougal Maguire on May 22, 2017, 11:38:02 PM

Title: Manchester Arena
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 22, 2017, 11:38:02 PM
Talk of explosions etc. Any word on what's going on?
Title: Re: Manchester Arena
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 22, 2017, 11:50:44 PM
Greater Manchester Police have confirmed a number of fatalities. Appears to be an explosion at a concert by Arianna Grande (whoever she is) but apparently full of kids.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 22, 2017, 11:58:58 PM
Sounds very bad
Post by: trileacman on May 23, 2017, 12:17:23 AM
Seems like a tight explosion too, heard some distance away. Fatalities could be very high if it's as big an explosion as it seems to be.

Horrifying when you consider the casualties are most likely families/ young children at this concert. Most likely the Isis crowd.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 23, 2017, 12:19:25 AM
explosions seem to happen around the ticket office which is outside the arena and happened when the crowd were coming after out the concert?

Post by: Captain Obvious on May 23, 2017, 01:18:04 AM
19 confirmed dead around 50 injured. Shocking and crazy world we live in.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 23, 2017, 01:18:42 AM
19 dead and over 50 injured according to the Manchester Police
Post by: stew on May 23, 2017, 01:33:04 AM
Trump Just lwft Saudi on his way to the land of the jews, meanwhile at the ranch children are getting blown up in Manchester, hmmmm, wonder who is gong to claim this atrocity?
Post by: Gold on May 23, 2017, 01:42:38 AM
This is truly terrible and frightening

My god are we next?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 23, 2017, 03:06:04 AM
https://twitter.com/elliefreyax/status/866830824561414145
Post by: SHEEDY on May 23, 2017, 05:57:25 AM
Absolutely shocking.
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2017, 06:19:43 AM
There was an attack in France during the presidential campaign as well. The UK is in the middle of an election. It is an attempt to destabilise the country.
ISIS are losing in Syria so maybe they are picking softer targets . Like kids going to a concert.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 23, 2017, 07:07:04 AM
Jesus that's bloody awful news to wake up to. Poor things. As for the perpetrators... We all know who they are, don't we. >:(
Post by: gallsman on May 23, 2017, 07:18:24 AM
Quote from: Gold on May 23, 2017, 01:42:38 AM
This is truly terrible and frightening

My god are we next?

Probably not. We're pretty small and insignificant on the international stage.
Post by: TabClear on May 23, 2017, 07:23:44 AM
Awful tragedy.  Very little the police can do if some psychopathic sc**bag decides he is willing to die and wants to take people with him indiscriminately
Post by: BennyHarp on May 23, 2017, 07:25:14 AM
22 confirmed dead now. Just devastating! Was at a Micky Flanagan show at the Arena a few weeks ago. Makes it all seem very close to home! RIP
Post by: laoislad on May 23, 2017, 07:55:53 AM
Horrendous and heartbreaking.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 23, 2017, 08:43:45 AM
Just awful
Post by: Rois on May 23, 2017, 08:44:31 AM
Listening to the coverage on the radio this morning - incredibly sad that these youngsters would be targeted in such a way.
Post by: Rossfan on May 23, 2017, 09:06:59 AM
RIP to them all.
Post by: screenexile on May 23, 2017, 09:08:52 AM
Horrible for those involved. I lived in Manchester for a while so I know they'll be hit hard but at the same time they won't lie down and hide.

Looks to be a targeted ISIS move now to hit Countries mid election to try and destabilise things, first France now the UK. As someone said Ireland is probably too small and has too small to be an effective target or lets hope so anyway.

To hit a concert full of teenagers though is a tough pill to swallow my heart goes out to all the families.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 23, 2017, 09:17:21 AM
Shocking stuff. Animals. RIP to those who lost their lives, except for the shit who actually blew himself up.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on May 23, 2017, 10:54:09 AM
Absolutely horrific altogether and so close to home too - RIP to all that lost their lives and my heart goes out to all the parents and families that have lost their kids in this atrocity
Post by: Fuzzman on May 23, 2017, 11:02:11 AM
Horrific stuff.
People say we must continue life as normal and not let the terrorists win but can you imagine if you are parents now with kids in their teens that are due to go out to concerts or other large events and how you will worry for them.
I heard they are talking about cancelling the Take That concert.

Listening to some of the interviews this morning, it's always amazing how so many people who are at an incident like this or were at 9/11 often don't know what's actually going on whereas millions around the world see it first on TV.
One woman said they thought it was a large speaker that exploded and they didn't see anyone injured and it wasn't until they went back to the hotel that they realised how bad it was.

It sounds like he waited until the gig was almost over before trying to get into the foyer area when he knew people would be leaving
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2017, 11:15:57 AM
Attacking girls is the lowest of the low
Post by: Declan on May 23, 2017, 11:34:34 AM
https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0523/877214-manchester-arena-live-updates/ (https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0523/877214-manchester-arena-live-updates/)

Reports of another explosion this morning???

People running from Corporation St in #Manchester as police clear area and move security cordon back
11:29 AM - 23 May 2017
Post by: screenexile on May 23, 2017, 11:43:42 AM
Arndale evacuated and a man arrested among reports of a suspect package. . . Manchester is a scary place to be at the minute unfortunately!
Post by: north_antrim_hound on May 23, 2017, 11:57:13 AM
Quote from: stew on May 23, 2017, 10:00:31 AM
Quote from: screenexile on May 23, 2017, 09:08:52 AM
Horrible for those involved. I lived in Manchester for a while so I know they'll be hit hard but at the same time they won't lie down and hide.

Looks to be a targeted ISIS move now to hit Countries mid election to try and destabilise things, first France now the UK. As someone said Ireland is probably too small and has too small to be an effective target or lets hope so anyway.

To hit a concert full of teenagers though is a tough pill to swallow my heart goes out to all the families.

Cowardly radical muslim scum did this, nothing is sacred apart from their paedophile prophet to these knackers!

I cannot imagine what the poor families are going through at this time.

Radical ISIS  scum most muslims would be disgusted that something like this is done in their name
Prayers and thoughts to the innocent victims and their family's
Terrible times 
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2017, 12:06:08 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 23, 2017, 11:43:42 AM
Arndale evacuated and a man arrested among reports of a suspect package. . . Manchester is a scary place to be at the minute unfortunately!
Anywhere that has been attacked is scary the day after. I was in Bombay when it was attacked by Pakistani militants in 2008.They killed about 60 people. The next day was insane. There was a rumour of a separate cell attacking people in another part of the city. Everything was shut down. There was panic in the office.We downed tools at 2. People were wondering if it was safe to go home.

The disturbance  turned out to be a normal  row between 2 tramps. For a nice Indian touch the private sector TV channel ran an update on the police operation and how thexy were going to deal with the terrorists. The terrorists were watching it. 

At the school there was a meeting of parents and some of them wanted to have armed guards at the gates and some of the mothers were inconsolable.

It is a horrible time even if you haven't been hurt.
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2017, 12:18:23 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/live/2017/may/22/manchester-arena-ariana-grande-concert-explosion-england#59241249e4b0ca009308f2cb

Human Appeal, Britain's leading Muslim charity, has launched an appeal to raise money for the victims of the Manchester attack and their families

Muslims for Manchester was launched on Tuesday morning by the charity, which is based in the city.
Othman Moqbel, Human Appeal's chief executive, said: "As a Muslim, as a Mancunian and as a father, I want the victims and their families of Monday night's attack to know that my prayers, the prayers of everyone at Human Appeal and the prayers of Manchester's Muslim community, are with them. Although the details are currently unclear, this appears to be a despicable and abhorrent attack targeting innocent members of our community.

"Manchester's Muslim community stands united with everyone in the city ... Once again my prayers and love go to the victims, their families and this great city
Post by: tonto1888 on May 23, 2017, 12:30:41 PM
I am absolutely choking today Manchester was home for over 11 years until this Feb. I was there last weekend. I went to loads of gigs at the MEN. There were kids I used to teach at that gig. Thankfully they are alright. Sadly, the same cant be said for others. RIP and speedy recoveries. I just don't know what to say, or to think
Post by: J70 on May 23, 2017, 01:07:54 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 23, 2017, 11:02:11 AM
Horrific stuff.
People say we must continue life as normal and not let the terrorists win but can you imagine if you are parents now with kids in their teens that are due to go out to concerts or other large events and how you will worry for them.
I heard they are talking about cancelling the Take That concert.

Listening to some of the interviews this morning, it's always amazing how so many people who are at an incident like this or were at 9/11 often don't know what's actually going on whereas millions around the world see it first on TV.
One woman said they thought it was a large speaker that exploded and they didn't see anyone injured and it wasn't until they went back to the hotel that they realised how bad it was.

It sounds like he waited until the gig was almost over before trying to get into the foyer area when he knew people would be leaving

What are you going to do though? You can't cower in your home.

I live in NYC. Its going to be hit again sooner or later, probably in a similar fashion to this. Could be some lad with a back pack on a subway train, or at the entrance to a museum or The Garden, or simply in the middle of Times Square or Grand Central.

Or it could be some lad with a chip on his shoulder for some other reason whipping out an AR-15 and shooting a dozen people before the cops get him. Or a deranged veteran with PTSD in a car like happened in Times Square last week.

Life has to go on.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 23, 2017, 01:18:18 PM
I agree J70 life has to go on but the difference with this attack is that it seems to have been purposely directed at kids and teenagers which they know will have more impact on how people react to the terror.

Kids are a lot more vulnerable than adults and you would imagine that parents will now really worry about sending their kids out to events like this in the future. If you have kids would you be happy to send your teenage daughters or sons to a gig in NYC this weekend or would you think twice now?

Do you see much security on the streets in New York these days or after events like this in Europe?
Do you think much about terrorism in your normal week?
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 23, 2017, 01:20:52 PM
All a bit sombre on the school run this morning, sounded like there was a few kids & parents at the concert judging by comments I overheard.

Looks like the cretin lived just a mile down the road from here, the lad they've detained happened outside the local Morrisons this morning.

Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2017, 01:33:07 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/live/2017/may/22/manchester-arena-ariana-grande-concert-explosion-england

A "beautiful little girl" has been named a victim of the suspected suicide attack after the Ariana Grande concert in Manchester that has left at least 22 dead and 59 people injured.

Eight-year-old Saffie Rose Roussos, was at the concert with her mother Lisa Roussos and Saffie's sister, Ashlee Bromwich who were later found injured in separate hospitals.
Post by: J70 on May 23, 2017, 01:33:39 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 23, 2017, 01:18:18 PM
I agree J70 life has to go on but the difference with this attack is that it seems to have been purposely directed at kids and teenagers which they know will have more impact on how people react to the terror.

Kids are a lot more vulnerable than adults and you would imagine that parents will now really worry about sending their kids out to events like this in the future. If you have kids would you be happy to send your teenage daughters or sons to a gig in NYC this weekend or would you think twice now?

Do you see much security on the streets in New York these days or after events like this in Europe?

My kids are very young.

However, I'm not going to stop taking them to the American Museum of Natural History or the various zoos or parks or malls we regularly visit on the miniscule chance that that particular moment and place would be the target of a terrorist attack. If it ever gets to that point, I'd move away from the city, as one of the main reasons for persisting in such a place is the cultural aspects on offer, whether museums or concerts or restaurants or whatever. Its not the appalling traffic, crowds and cost of living, that's for sure!

With respect to everyday safeguards and security, bag and car checks are a routine fact of life going into many places, but again, there is only so much that will stop. I'd expect there were checks going into the Manchester Arena last night, which was why the terrorist detonated the bomb where he did.
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 23, 2017, 01:36:02 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 23, 2017, 01:33:39 PM

My kids are very young.

However, I'm not going to stop taking them to the American Museum of Natural History or the various zoos or parks or malls we regularly visit on the miniscule chance that that particular moment and place would be the target of a terrorist attack. If it ever gets to that point, I'd move away from the city, as one of the main reasons for persisting in such a place is the cultural aspects on offer, whether museums or concerts or restaurants or whatever. Its not the appalling traffic, crowds and cost of living, that's for sure!

With respect to everyday safeguards and security, bag and car checks are a routine fact of life going into many places, but again, there is only so much that will stop. I'd expect there were checks going into the Manchester Arena last night, which was why the terrorist detonated the bomb where he did.

Several woman interviewed complained their bags were never checked at all.
Post by: J70 on May 23, 2017, 01:36:51 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2017, 01:33:07 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/live/2017/may/22/manchester-arena-ariana-grande-concert-explosion-england

A "beautiful little girl" has been named a victim of the suspected suicide attack after the Ariana Grande concert in Manchester that has left at least 22 dead and 59 people injured.

Eight-year-old Saffie Rose Roussos, was at the concert with her mother Lisa Roussos and Saffie's sister, Ashlee Bromwich who were later found injured in separate hospitals.

Eight years old... :'(
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 23, 2017, 01:47:10 PM
Saw a picture circulating on facebook asking for information for her as she couldn't be contacted.
Horrific to think someone could do that. An 8 year old. Wish I hadn't seen her picture now as it makes it so real. Sometimes ignorance can be bliss. Can't get her face out of my head today. 
Post by: magpie seanie on May 23, 2017, 01:53:48 PM
A story going round that the sc**bag who did this entered near the end of the gig posing as a parent waiting on a kid. Security would have been lax. It's just horrific. I do not understand how a human being could get so warped that they would believe this was a right thing to do. I'm sick since I heard this last night.
Post by: JoG2 on May 23, 2017, 01:55:59 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 23, 2017, 01:36:51 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2017, 01:33:07 PM

Eight years old... :'(

Absolutely heartbreaking.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 23, 2017, 01:58:08 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 23, 2017, 01:36:02 PM

My kids are very young.

Surprised at that as I have visited that arena on more than dozen occasions the security going in was top notch. Not much can they do when some nut job wanders into the railway station and blows himself up as thousands are leaving the arena.

I fear a premier league match will be the next target. RIP to all thoses that lost their lives last night.
Post by: easytiger95 on May 23, 2017, 03:26:21 PM
Horrible, horrible news.

However, the city and the people will go on, because they have to go on. I think as well, whilst we all agree that the bomber was scum, we should also agree his religion is irrelevant. There will undoubtedly be Manchester Muslims lying in the morgues today, just as it is true that ISIS/Al Qaeda/Al Nusra et al have overwhelmingly killed Muslims during their atrocities in the Middle East, many of which go unreported.

May all the victims, especially those poor children, rest in peace.
Post by: Buttofthehill on May 23, 2017, 04:01:12 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 23, 2017, 01:58:08 PM

My kids are very young.

Surprised at that as I have visited that arena on more than dozen occasions the security going in was top notch. Not much can they do when some nut job wanders into the railway station and blows himself up as thousands are leaving the arena.

I fear a premier league match will be the next target. RIP to all thoses that lost their lives last night.

I'd be lying if I said I hadn't thought about something happening at Croker. I've been searched once or twice going to the Hill but nothing elsewhere. Doesn't bare thinking about.

Words can't do justice to what I feel about last night. RIP to all.
Post by: foxcommander on May 23, 2017, 04:42:40 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on May 23, 2017, 03:26:21 PM
Horrible, horrible news.

However, the city and the people will go on, because they have to go on. I think as well, whilst we all agree that the bomber was scum, we should also agree his religion is irrelevant. There will undoubtedly be Manchester Muslims lying in the morgues today, just as it is true that ISIS/Al Qaeda/Al Nusra et al have overwhelmingly killed Muslims during their atrocities in the Middle East, many of which go unreported.

May all the victims, especially those poor children, rest in peace.

Why do you say that?
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 23, 2017, 04:47:33 PM
Quote from: Buttofthehill on May 23, 2017, 04:01:12 PM

My kids are very young.

I'd be lying if I said I hadn't thought about something happening at Croker. I've been searched once or twice going to the Hill but nothing elsewhere. Doesn't bare thinking about.

Does anybody honestly think this kind of attack would happen in Ireland??

Post by: tyronefan on May 23, 2017, 05:03:09 PM
Omagh!!!!!
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 23, 2017, 05:03:58 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 23, 2017, 04:47:33 PM
Quote from: Buttofthehill on May 23, 2017, 04:01:12 PM

My kids are very young.

Does anybody honestly think this kind of attack would happen in Ireland??
Yes i do especially when Ireland has already got a warned it is an Al Qaeda target for letting US military jets use Shannon
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 23, 2017, 05:06:15 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on May 23, 2017, 05:03:09 PM
Omagh!!!!!

I'm hardly talking about that  :o

I mean an Islamic terrorist attack.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 23, 2017, 05:35:23 PM
23 YEARS OLD SALMAN ABEDI, LIBYAN MIGRANT KNOWN TO AUTHORITIES
Post by: theticklemister on May 23, 2017, 05:45:04 PM

I stayed in a hotel on the same street last month where the Berlin attack happened (6 months previous). There were a serious loads of cops there at the market; plus boulders all around the place.
Post by: 30mog on May 23, 2017, 05:50:29 PM
I'm a fairly unique type.  I'm a born and bred Sheffield bloke.  But like watching GAA.  I've turned up at games from Manchester to Cork and few places in between as a lone traveller with a Yorkshire (or anywhere English) accent.  I've met people who call the GAA an anti-English faction.  I say very pro-Irish needn't mean anti-anywhere.  I come along to games for no other reason than to watch what I think are two great sports.  That said, I would never risk waving a Union Jack or even St.George cross at a venue.  But eh.  It would be greatly noticed if in view of what happened in Manchester last night there was some kind of solidarity gesture towards the victims, if not all Britain, at upcoming GAA games.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 23, 2017, 05:58:29 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 23, 2017, 05:35:23 PM
23 YEARS OLD SALMAN ABEDI, LIBYAN MIGRANT KNOWN TO AUTHORITIES

Manchester born the fella was. From a Libyan family
Post by: trileacman on May 23, 2017, 06:00:10 PM
Quote from: 30mog on May 23, 2017, 05:50:29 PM
I'm a fairly unique type.  I'm a born and bred Sheffield bloke.  But like watching GAA.  I've turned up at games from Manchester to Cork and few places in between as a lone traveller with a Yorkshire (or anywhere English) accent.  I've met people who call the GAA an anti-English faction.  I say very pro-Irish needn't mean anti-anywhere.  I come along to games for no other reason than to watch what I think are two great sports.  That said, I would never risk waving a Union Jack or even St.George cross at a venue.  But eh.  It would be greatly noticed if in view of what happened in Manchester last night there was some kind of solidarity gesture towards the victims, if not all Britain, at upcoming GAA games.

We had an respectfully observed minutes silence after the 05 London terror attacks in Croker for Tyrone v someone? Was it Armagh in a Ulster final replay?
Post by: trileacman on May 23, 2017, 06:06:58 PM
To be honest this is not the last attack and the West continues to lose the self styled "war on terror". Until the Middle East is sorted out these will continue in Europe and the west long into the future. I would hope for some intelligent thought on that matter but we'll probably be treated to more of the same, i.e. Stealth bombing a school or arming militias in the hope of inciting civil war.

I mourn the deaths of those children but more so I mourn the neeedless deaths of innocents to come because the west are too stupid/naive/bloodthirsty/ingrained to come up with a solution to the Middle East.
Post by: 30mog on May 23, 2017, 06:15:41 PM
I would add.  Didn't attend my 1st GAA game until 2009. 
Post by: stew on May 23, 2017, 06:36:46 PM
Quote from: trileacman on May 23, 2017, 06:06:58 PM
To be honest this is not the last attack and the West continues to lose the self styled "war on terror". Until the Middle East is sorted out these will continue in Europe and the west long into the future. I would hope for some intelligent thought on that matter but we'll probably be treated to more of the same, i.e. Stealth bombing a school or arming militias in the hope of inciting civil war.

I mourn the deaths of those children but more so I mourn the neeedless deaths of innocents to come because the west are too stupid/naive/bloodthirsty/ingrained to come up with a solution to the Middle East.
Quote from: 30mog on May 23, 2017, 06:15:41 PM

I would have thought the people in the muddle east would be the ones to sort their own area out!

The yanks need to fack off and leave them to their own devices, as should their allies.

Post by: Captain Obvious on May 23, 2017, 06:49:49 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DAhNzLDXcAAbzOI.jpg)
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2017, 07:56:39 PM
Quote from: stew on May 23, 2017, 06:36:46 PM

Quote from: 30mog on May 23, 2017, 06:15:41 PM

I would have thought the people in the muddle east would be the ones to sort their own area out!

The yanks need to fack off and leave them to their own devices, as should their allies.
You would have to remove the Zionist influence in DC first. Some people love chaos. As do arms dealers.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 23, 2017, 08:36:30 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 23, 2017, 06:49:49 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DAhNzLDXcAAbzOI.jpg)

Such a powerful image
Post by: BennyCake on May 23, 2017, 09:04:24 PM

Spot on.

The total disregard for human lives in Manchester is no different to the disregard for human lives in the Middle East by Brits/Yanks. As big a loss as last night was, it is nothing compared to the thousands in the M East. But the media spin it around so that 22 deaths is much worse than thousands somewhere else, as if those slaughtered in the M East, their lives mean less.

More of the same will continue, and to be honest, it's hardly surprising. The Brits tactics to the North helped IRA recruitment, and kept the Troubles going.  It's the same in the M East. They'll never learn. But it's the ordinary Joe who pay the price, in more ways than one.
Post by: theticklemister on May 23, 2017, 09:16:06 PM

The PRO of Lancashire issued a statement...

All at Lancashire GAA would like to send our deepest sympathies to those who have died or injured last night.
Manchester has been a home for us exiled Gaels for years - as we arrived here for work,family or university. They treated us as one of their own.
These welcoming actions were clearly to be seen again last night, as the Manchester people were thrust into action to help those in the greatest of needs in the aftermath.
#gaelsformanchester
Post by: BennyHarp on May 23, 2017, 09:22:37 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 23, 2017, 09:16:06 PM

The PRO of Lancashire issued a statement...

All at Lancashire GAA would like to send our deepest sympathies to those who have died or injured last night.
Manchester has been a home for us exiled Gaels for years - as we arrived here for work,family or university. They treated us as one of their own.
These welcoming actions were clearly to be seen again last night, as the Manchester people were thrust into action to help those in the greatest of needs in the aftermath.
#gaelsformanchester

Good man Tickle! 👍
Post by: michaelg on May 23, 2017, 09:34:14 PM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/examviral/ireland-shows-solidarity-with-the-people-of-manchester-790830.html

Nice touch by Cork CC and kind words by President Higgins.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 23, 2017, 09:37:29 PM
Awful stuff, terrible for the families

Would have to agree with J70 that I wouldn't let this type of thing stop me from attending events, chances of something happening are miniscule.

Would also agree that things like this are going to continue to happen until we get some sort of solution in the middle east - little or no chance of that happening any time soon though
Post by: GJL on May 23, 2017, 09:49:44 PM
Hard to comprehend. How does the man that done this let himself to be so brain washed where he thinks this is the right thing to do.

Young kids out for an innocent night's fun. So so sad. :'(
Post by: macdanger2 on May 23, 2017, 09:56:10 PM
Listened to a podcast about this a few months back, interesting approach to dealing with the radicalisation of young Danes from migrant backgrounds

Denmark's radical approach to Islamic extremism
Despite the Copenhagen shootings, programmes such as the Aarhus model for deradicalising extremists are proving effective in Scandinavia

View  This article is 2 years old
Shares
Comments
David Crouch in Gothenburg and Jon Henley
Monday 23 February 2015 09.30 GMT Last

As growing numbers of disaffected young Muslims travel from Scandinavian countries to join jihadi groups abroad, the debate on how to counter radicalisation is becoming more urgent.

According to police and intelligence agencies, as many as 300 Swedes, at least 70 Norwegians and 100 Danes may be fighting for Isis in Syria and Iraq.

But radical Muslims are not just motivated by the war in the Middle East. Young jihadis also flock to Somalia to fight with al-Shabaab, as the Guardian's film about 24-year-old Abdi Rahman Mohamed demonstrates.

Advertisement

Mohamed travelled from Denmark to Somalia where he carried out a suicide attack during a graduation ceremony in Mogadishu in December 2009, killing 25 and injuring more than 60.

Denmark – which has produced more fighters per head of population since 2012 than any other western European country except Belgium – has been at the forefront of exploring new models for preventing extremism.

The so-called Aarhus model aims to create trust between the authorities and the social circles in which radicals operate, helping them find a way back into society. The fatal shootings in Copenhagen last weekend show that the approach is by no means infallible. But police commissioner Jørgen Ilum, who helped set up the deradicalisation programme in Aarhus, Denmark's second city, said the Copenhagen attacks made it more important than ever to make and maintain contact with Danish fighters returning from Syria, Iraq and Somalia.

The Danish city of Aarhus has pioneered a programme that aims to build trust with potential jihadis and returning Isis fighters. Photograph: Alamy
"We will continue our work and our initiatives and our contacts," he said. "It's far too early to say what the consequences, political or otherwise, of these terrible attacks in Copenhagen will be for our programme. As far as we can tell, it works."

Under the programme, individuals such as returning fighters or radicals who want to fight abroad are assigned trained mentors. They can also receive psychological counselling, an approach pioneered by Prof Preben Bertelsen at Aarhus University, where radicals are helped to think about critical life decisions and evaluate what they are about to do.

In Scandinavia, Denmark is top of the class for multi-agency interventions to stop extremism
Magnus Ranstorp, Radicalisation Awareness Network
"In Scandinavia, Denmark is top of the class for multi-agency interventions to stop extremism," says Magnus Ranstorp, the Swedish head of the EU's Radicalisation Awareness Network of 1,300 experts on dealing with all forms of political extremism. He is also chair of Copenhagen's "expert group" on the problem.

Advertisement

There is support for families to create networks that support each other, which has a ripple effect in terms of weakening radicals' resolve, Ranstorp says. Finally, and most controversially, the authorities maintain contact with Grimhojvej mosque in Aarhus, which is openly supportive of Isis and has been a conduit for fighters.

Sweden lags behind its neighbours in terms of formulating a response to hundreds of young Swedish fighters in the Middle East, Ranstorp says. Last summer the government appointed a national coordinator to tackle extremism, the former Social Democrat leader Mona Sahlin, and there is appetite for stronger anti-terror laws.

But the issue remains a political minefield, Ranstorp says, thanks to the rise of the anti-Muslim Sweden Democrats party. Sahlin came under fire in a TV debate last month when she was accused of treating the perpetrators of atrocities as victims by giving them jobs and offering them psychological counselling instead of bringing them to justice.

Advertisement

"Sweden says yes, the problem may exist, but we'll put it in a corner and hopefully it won't bite us, whereas the Danes tackle it head-on with strong legislation and a multi-agency approach," Ranstorp says, adding that prison can serve as an incubator of extremism.

Unlike Britain, where former radicals have come forward to help with anti-radicalisation measures such as the Channel programme, Scandinavia suffers from a shortage of defectors from the Islamist cause: "The most effective way of immunising youngsters against drugs is to have a former addict in front of the class."

Ranstorp also points back to Norway, where last summer young Muslims organised a 5,000-strong demonstration of people from across Norwegian society, including the prime minister, to protest against radicals hijacking Islam.

With slogans such as "Not in the name of Islam" and "Together against terror, together for peace", protesters marched through the centre of Oslo, led by religious and political leaders, offering a model of how civil society can come together to fight extremism
Post by: Boycey on May 23, 2017, 10:10:34 PM
More to come?

Theresa May just raised terror threat level to 'Critical' which the world of twitter tells me means an attack is imminent.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on May 23, 2017, 10:25:31 PM
Quote from: Boycey on May 23, 2017, 10:10:34 PM
More to come?

Theresa May just raised terror threat level to 'Critical' which the world of twitter tells me means an attack is imminent.

Is she not a bit late
How can their intelligence be better now than 24 hours ago
The British response will be to send more planes to Syria and reap more retribution on innocent British citizens
And the cycle continues
Prayers are with those families in Manchester and let's hope for no more of this
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 23, 2017, 10:54:01 PM
The Uk has missed the point the past number of years, worrying about a possible threat from incoming immigrants when the threat is more profound in the home grown extremists born already in the country who have their minds easily twisted buying into radical islam. Again this man was know to police but what facilities they have to counter these threats is unknown, You think they spend more money on counter terrorism than buying new nuclear submarines.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on May 23, 2017, 11:02:50 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 23, 2017, 10:54:01 PM
The Uk has missed the point the past number of years, worrying about a possible threat from incoming immigrants when the threat is more profound in the home grown extremists born already in the country who have their minds easily twisted buying into radical islam. Again this man was know to police but what facilities they have to counter these threats is unknown, You think they spend more money on counter terrorism than buying new nuclear submarines.

Britain spend 46 billion a year on toys like nuclear submarines
That's a lot a backhanders from the arms industry
Events like yesterday give them an excuse to maintain it 

Post by: magpie seanie on May 23, 2017, 11:19:06 PM
More to come?

Did no one tell her that the election campaign has been suspended? I'd be amazed if they have any indication that an attack is imminent, she's just doing what she thinks people will be impressed by. Her emphasis of the word "independent" when announcing this made me smell a rat. Perhaps I'm wrong.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 24, 2017, 09:04:25 AM

Was this guy known to police?? I read that he wasn't
Post by: omagh_gael on May 24, 2017, 09:33:51 AM
Jesus, some of you lads are pathetic.

Anyway, with the UK threat level being raised to critical and army to be deployed to sensitive areas in Britain. What happens to, so called, soft targets in Belfast? I cant imagine soldiers being deployed here? PSNI do have more access to weapons due to the landscape here so will we see them fulfil this role?
Post by: johnneycool on May 24, 2017, 09:35:41 AM
It takes some serious brainwashing to make a young British lad strap a load of homemade explosives to himself and walk into a crowd of youngsters coming out of a concert and I'm not sure I could ever comprehend what sort of religious indoctrination could achieve that, but somehow it has to horrendous effect now in Manchester and various other European cities.
I'm not sure how you could possibly defend against the likes of that now or in the future and I think a different approach may need to be taken.
Things don't happen in a vacuum, so what are the triggers for these young receptive lads willing to get involved in such things, disaffection with their own lives in Europe, a bond with their Muslim brothers in other war zones or whatever, the questions need to be asked as churning out the same shite of interning all Muslim extremists and so forth is more than likely counterproductive.

It must also be put in context where we in the West are rightfully aghast by this, but stuff like this is happening day and daily in Syria, Libya, Yemen and we in the West can ignore it, but its every bit as bad, just out of eyesight. Libya in particular is a mess of European making.
We watch Trump, Cameron and Co traipsing round the Middle East selling billions of dollars of arms to governments with less than exemplary human rights records and with the Saudi's having close links to ISIS/Daesh/ISIL it sometimes beggars belief, are we making a rod for our own backs?
Post by: Esmarelda on May 24, 2017, 09:38:37 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 24, 2017, 09:04:25 AM

Was this guy known to police?? I read that he wasn't
I heard this morning that he was "on a list", so he was known. The implication was he wasn't seen as an imminent risk. However, in the same piece it was stated that he had recently started to behave differently, e.g. praying in the street, and so it was suggested that the authorities' view on him should have been different. Easy to say after the event I suppose.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on May 24, 2017, 09:43:44 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 24, 2017, 09:35:41 AM
It takes some serious brainwashing to make a young British lad strap a load of homemade explosives to himself and walk into a crowd of youngsters coming out of a concert and I'm not sure I could ever comprehend what sort of religious indoctrination could achieve that, but somehow it has to horrendous effect now in Manchester and various other European cities.
I'm not sure how you could possibly defend against the likes of that now or in the future and I think a different approach may need to be taken.
Things don't happen in a vacuum, so what are the triggers for these young receptive lads willing to get involved in such things, disaffection with their own lives in Europe, a bond with their Muslim brothers in other war zones or whatever, the questions need to be asked as churning out the same shite of interning all Muslim extremists and so forth is more than likely counterproductive.

It must also be put in context where we in the West are rightfully aghast by this, but stuff like this is happening day and daily in Syria, Libya, Yemen and we in the West can ignore it, but its every bit as bad, just out of eyesight. Libya in particular is a mess of European making.
We watch Trump, Cameron and Co traipsing round the Middle East selling billions of dollars of arms to governments with less than exemplary human rights records and with the Saudi's having close links to ISIS/Daesh/ISIL it sometimes beggars belief, are we making a rod for our own backs?

Correct
Post by: Taylor on May 24, 2017, 09:59:34 AM
How many of these type of guys are actually on the 'list'?

It must be massive and where do you even start to monitor all of them - nightmare scenario.

Is really must be a needle in a haystack and someone will always slip through.

Born and raised in Britain by immigrant parents - will raise the question again of allowing immigrants in - too late now with many already radicalised.

Heartbreaking
Post by: north_antrim_hound on May 24, 2017, 10:07:45 AM
Quote from: Taylor on May 24, 2017, 09:59:34 AM
How many of these type of guys are actually on the 'list'?

It must be massive and where do you even start to monitor all of them - nightmare scenario.

Is really must be a needle in a haystack and someone will always slip through.

Born and raised in Britain by immigrant parents - will raise the question again of allowing immigrants in - too late now with many already radicalised.

Heartbreaking

Seems as if  British security has learned lessons from quantamino and interment here in the 70s
If every suspect ( some harmless ) is rounded up and detained then it only fuels the flames
It's a difficult situation to handle

Post by: Maroon Manc on May 24, 2017, 10:37:14 AM
Its tragic, very hard to concentrate and get on with life yesterday when it happens in the City where I was born and haved lived in all my life. Seeing the posts on facebook from nurses I know who work in the local hospitals would reduce you to tears, bodies so badly damaged  that they can't identify them, a father who is paralysed from the neck down and so many more who've lost limbs.  A huge football match tonight which really does pale into insignificance.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 24, 2017, 10:49:06 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 24, 2017, 10:37:14 AM
Its tragic, very hard to concentrate and get on with life yesterday when it happens in the City where I was born and haved lived in all my life. Seeing the posts on facebook from nurses I know who work in the local hospitals would reduce you to tears, bodies so badly damaged  that they can't identify them, a father who is paralysed from the neck down and so many more who've lost limbs.  A huge football match tonight which really does pale into insignificance.

I agree MM and my heart really goes out to the people over in your tremendous city. I can't look at the pictures of the victims, I'm so upset already.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 24, 2017, 11:45:38 AM
Back to the original topic and I see there are still 8 people missing after the explosion.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/05/23/pls-help-frantic-parents-hunt-missing-kids-manchester-concert/
Post by: Armamike on May 24, 2017, 12:12:26 PM
Very very sad.  Heart goes out to the families and the city of Manchester. 
Post by: north_antrim_hound on May 24, 2017, 12:26:52 PM

It's heartbreaking to read the reality in detail
Thought and prayers with the families and the people of Manchester
The match tonight will be the first opportunity to show resilience even with the sense of loss and despair
Post by: tonto1888 on May 24, 2017, 12:29:52 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 24, 2017, 11:45:38 AM
Back to the original topic and I see there are still 8 people missing after the explosion.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/05/23/pls-help-frantic-parents-hunt-missing-kids-manchester-concert/

I lived I Manchester for over 11 years until this Feb and still have very good friends there. I was chatting to one yesterday after she got back from the vigil. She was saying some people think there may have been people with ill intent in the aftermath of the bombs knocking about. With los of people doing very noble acts such as taxiing youngsters around and home, some people wonder if a minority of the people helping didn't have such good intentions and may have taken advantage of the situation.
I really hope its not true and people are putting 1 and 1 together and coming up with 764.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 24, 2017, 12:30:55 PM

I hear what youre saying. I still feel very connected to Manchester and I cant concentrate at work for thinking about it
Post by: Fuzzman on May 24, 2017, 01:02:15 PM
Lads, can you just stop with the IRA discussion and open a new thread if you want to continue.

Some of us are talking about those who died or are so badly injured that they can't be identified as Maroon Manc has said.
That is just so terrible and would explain why some are presumed missing. I presume they haven't let family members of missing people in to try to identify them or  it would be too disturbing.

Hopefully Tonto your point of some of them being taken away is not true though the thought did cross my mind yesterday.
It's probably just too early for the really badly hurt who are dismembered to be dealt with just yet as they are probably in a very bad way.
Can't imagine what it is like for parents of a missing child to have the hope that they'e still alive but God knows how badly hurt they are.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 24, 2017, 01:06:03 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 24, 2017, 01:02:15 PM
Lads, can you just stop with the IRA discussion and open a new thread if you want to continue.

Some of us are talking about those who died or are so badly injured that they can't be identified as Maroon Manc has said.
That is just so terrible and would explain why some are presumed missing. I presume they haven't let family members of missing people in to try to identify them or  it would be too disturbing.

Hopefully Tonto your point of some of them being taken away is not true though the thought did cross my mind yesterday.
It's probably just too early for the really badly hurt who are dismembered to be dealt with just yet as they are probably in a very bad way.
Can't imagine what it is like for parents of a missing child to have the hope that they'e still alive but God knows how badly hurt they are.

I hope so too. I hope its just people thinking the worst at this awful time
Post by: Fuzzman on May 24, 2017, 02:20:22 PM
Yeah Olivia Campbell has been found and sadly she's dead.
From what I can make out she went with a friend who is also badly injured but not her boyfriend who she had texted 30 mins before the blast.

Still 7 people missing. Hopefully they will soon all be accounted for.
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on May 24, 2017, 03:35:31 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 23, 2017, 11:35:20 AM
Thon attention seeker Katie Hopkins has been reported to police for this tweet:

"22 dead – number rising. Schofield. Don't you even dare. Do not be part of the problem. We need a final solution. #Machester (sic)".

It was edited shortly afterwards.

An Oxygen thief
Post by: haranguerer on May 24, 2017, 04:18:04 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 24, 2017, 04:07:58 PM

Actually, why did they announce this guy's name so soon after the bombing? Surely doing so was a warning to any of his associates??

US leaked it, had been shared confidentially

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2017/may/23/trump-administration-manchester-bomber-name-leak
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 24, 2017, 04:22:34 PM
The father has come out and said his son was innocent. I thought it very strange that he was named so quickly.
Post by: Esmarelda on May 24, 2017, 04:31:32 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on May 24, 2017, 04:18:04 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 24, 2017, 04:07:58 PM

Actually, why did they announce this guy's name so soon after the bombing? Surely doing so was a warning to any of his associates??

US leaked it, had been shared confidentially

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2017/may/23/trump-administration-manchester-bomber-name-leak
Has anyone blamed the Russians yet?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 24, 2017, 06:18:29 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 23, 2017, 11:19:06 PM
More to come?

Did no one tell her that the election campaign has been suspended? I'd be amazed if they have any indication that an attack is imminent, she's just doing what she thinks people will be impressed by. Her emphasis of the word "independent" when announcing this made me smell a rat. Perhaps I'm wrong.
Living in the UK last few yrs ive been keeping a close on politics here, i have lots of close family from Manchester, Mum was born and raised there for a time and all her siblings grew up there so i have loads of first cousin aswell, all are safe, im so sad for so many reasons at this attack, to target children is just beyond my comprehension but look to target innocent civilians is just so wrong, who gains,  what are they trying to achieve, but to me this has false flag written all over it

The conservative govt were getting destroyed over the manifesto(dementia tax), even the right wing media slightly turned, and questioned them properly, then this happens on the same day, now may is getting unfethered coverage just like Jo Cox's tragic murder in the lead up to Brexit this will swing voters to ukip and conservatives,

Some of the reporting from the bbc and itv have been a disgrace, yesterday they posted 2 videos of corbyn talking about the terrorist attack and both edited out the part where he condemned the attack, some of the viewers outraged then commented he didnt condemn the attacks, job done

https://www.thecanary.co/2017/05/24/people-noticed-something-missing-bbc-yesterday-publishing-today-video/

https://www.facebook.com/itvnews/videos/10154818514617672/

this tows the right media party line to smear corbyn as a terrorist sympathiser, Murdochs front page of sun written 2hrs before conveniently had Corbyn blood on his hands headline, you couldnt make this up, the timing couldnt of been more perfect for the tories, than you have the mail aswell having a sketch

The most obvious false flag was paris, the french govt itching to get involved in syria do so the day after this, even the band knew something was up,
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/eagles-of-death-metal-singer-jesse-hughes-begs-forgiveness-after-suggesting-bataclan-security-may-a6927156.html

Narrative from fox, murdoch owned as we all know

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/fox-news-manchester_uk_5923f614e4b094cdba5724f3

More on the right wing respnse
https://www.vice.com/en_uk/article/the-simple-problems-with-the-rights-response-to-the-manchester-attack

http://anonymous-news.com/bankers-make-billions-terrorism/

How did they identify the killer so quickly. was he carrying an id that survived the blast, how convenient. I dont trust the govt at the best of times but this time the timing and reaction and paper headlines coincide with the narrative and so close to an election where the opposition are gaining in the polls this is for me very obvious. An anti establishment opposition. It will be interesting to see how this affects the polls. My guess is this may have lost corbyn the election and that is heartbreaking too.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 24, 2017, 06:22:57 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 24, 2017, 06:18:29 PM
More to come?

Living in the UK last few yrs ive been keeping a close on politics here, i have lots of close family from Manchester, Mum was born and raised there for a time and all her siblings grew up there so i have loads of first cousin aswell, all are safe, im so sad for so many reasons at this attack, to target children is just beyond my comprehension but look to target innocent civilians is just so wrong, who gains,  what are they trying to achieve, but to me this has false flag written all over it

The conservative govt were getting destroyed over the manifesto(dementia tax), even the right wing media slightly turned, and questioned them properly, then this happens on the same day, now may is getting unfethered coverage just like Jo Cox's tragic murder in the lead up to Brexit this will swing voters to ukip and conservatives,

Some of the reporting from the bbc and itv have been a disgrace, yesterday they posted 2 videos of corbyn talking about the terrorist attack and both edited out the part where he condemned the attack, some of the viewers outraged then commented he didnt condemn the attacks, job done

https://www.thecanary.co/2017/05/24/people-noticed-something-missing-bbc-yesterday-publishing-today-video/

this tows the right media party line to smear corbyn as a terrorist sympathiser, Murdochs front page of sun written 2hrs before conveniently had Corbyn blood on his hands headline, you couldnt make this up, the timing couldnt of been more perfect for the tories, than you have the mail aswell having a sketch

The most obvious false flag was paris, the french govt itching to get involved in syria do so the day after this, even the band knew something was up,
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/eagles-of-death-metal-singer-jesse-hughes-begs-forgiveness-after-suggesting-bataclan-security-may-a6927156.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/fox-news-manchester_uk_5923f614e4b094cdba5724f3

https://www.vice.com/en_uk/article/the-simple-problems-with-the-rights-response-to-the-manchester-attack

How did they identify the killer so quickly. was he carrying an id that survived the blast, how convenient. I dont trust the govt at the best of times but this time the timing and reaction and paper headlines coincide with the narrative and so close to an election where the opposition are gaining in the polls this is for me very obvious. An anti establishment opposition. It will be interesting to see how this affects the polls. My guess is this may have lost corbyn the election and that is heartbreaking too.

Corbyn had the election lost long before this attack.
Even Labour party people aren't voting for him except those still living in the 1950s
Post by: Minder on May 24, 2017, 06:25:12 PM
I see there is a Go Fund me page set up for one of the homeless men that helped victims in the aftermath of the attack, and it is sitting at £35k. Who thought that was a good idea ?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 24, 2017, 06:28:13 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on May 24, 2017, 06:22:57 PM
More to come?

Even Labour party people aren't voting for him except those still living in the 1950s
Your totally wrong and uniformed. He was gaining in the polls and has a huge vote with u25s, They were hardly around in the 1950s.
Post by: Minder on May 24, 2017, 06:31:25 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 24, 2017, 06:28:13 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on May 24, 2017, 06:22:57 PM
More to come?

Your totally wrong and uniformed. He was gaining in the polls and has a huge vote with u25s, They were hardly around in the 1950s.

They are also the group least likely to bother voting
Post by: Avondhu star on May 24, 2017, 06:36:03 PM
The u25s didn't bother their hole going to the polling booth for the Brexit vote. They think that registering your views on Facebook or Twitter is enough
Post by: imtommygunn on May 24, 2017, 07:01:53 PM
I have a feeling may will use this attack and corbyn's views on terrorism etc against him over the coming weeks. Hope i am wrong though.

Corbyn has been getting closer in the polls but i think there has been a bit of a reaction to the pension stuff etc which might die down. I would be very surprised were labour to even get close :-(
Post by: OgraAnDun on May 24, 2017, 07:13:16 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on May 24, 2017, 06:36:03 PM
The u25s didn't bother their hole going to the polling booth for the Brexit vote. They think that registering your views on Facebook or Twitter is enough

Go have a look at the crowds at Corbyn's rallies and reassess your opinion of young people.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 24, 2017, 07:40:53 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on May 24, 2017, 07:13:16 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on May 24, 2017, 06:36:03 PM

Go have a look at the crowds at Corbyn's rallies and reassess your opinion of young people.
For every one at the rally there is a thousand at home taking selfies of themselves eating avocados
Post by: LCohen on May 24, 2017, 08:08:41 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on May 24, 2017, 02:06:36 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on May 24, 2017, 12:34:09 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 24, 2017, 12:24:08 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 24, 2017, 10:18:56 AM
Quote from: general_lee on May 24, 2017, 10:09:39 AM
Funny how the only people who draw parallels with Irish republicanism are the likes of Jim Allister, Willie Frazer and a couple of west brits on here...

Whatever about the merits of the IRA etc. I don't see why it's necessary to be talked about on here at all? This is a different type of terrorism at a different time so let's not get bogged down in comparisons which aren't helpful and have people going round in circles!

its not necessary at all

I agree but if someone does use the thread for their own bitter agenda and draw comparison it's hard not to give the required response
Let's hope they are finished now and we can talk about the terrible events of Monday
I think it's appropriate to discuss what motivates these perpetrators and what can be done to deflate their motivations
I honestly don't think the perpetrators name should be published.  Same goes for a lot of these mass shootings in the states and elsewhere unrelated to terrorism.  A lot of these lone attackers do it for some warped sense of glory in the aftermath of it all.  Their name being remembered.  I know this brings up issues with freedom of the press, and freedom of information etc.  but there really needs to be a shift in tactics to try and reduce these incidents.  Sure if it stopped only one person from doing it, it would be worth it.
RIP to all the victims.  The clips of Olivia Campbells mother would have brought a tear to a stone.  God love them.

Not naming the perpetrator is worth more consideration.

Anything that doesn't impact on the mass public but prevents such an incident is worth consideration
Post by: Syferus on May 24, 2017, 11:26:14 PM
Incredibly insensitive to victims for American intelligence to be leaking information and crime scene photography, also potentially damaging to the investigation. British authorities rightly furious.
Post by: stew on May 25, 2017, 03:28:48 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 24, 2017, 11:26:14 PM
Incredibly insensitive to victims for American intelligence to be leaking information and crime scene photography, also potentially damaging to the investigation. British authorities rightly furious.

Disgraceful alright, hell slap it up them if the brits do it to them next time these bastards hit the states.

Who do they think they are????
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 25, 2017, 11:04:08 AM
Word that there may be an alert at Manchester College
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on May 25, 2017, 11:09:54 AM
Lads just tried to clean up this thread a bit as a tangential discussion had the potential to descend into petty stuff, and was making it hard to follow the point of this thread, which is the horrific attack in Manchester.

No problem with the discussion being had, per se, but I don't think this thread was appropriate.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 25, 2017, 11:18:15 AM
Well said Mod3

Suspcioius device found in Hulme in Manchester.
I suppose it's easy for people to leave suspicious bags anywhere now to create panic.
Post by: Taylor on May 25, 2017, 11:25:40 AM
People are ultra vigilant and things that would normally be ignored are now magnified and authorities informed.

See there were 2 calls made a number of years ago to a crime hotline by schoolmates of the bomber that they were concerned about his beliefs and that he had thought suicide bombing was ok  :-\
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on May 25, 2017, 02:25:19 PM

British authorities furious because with every leak they look more and more inept. Latest account suggests the authorities were warned 6 TIMES about this nutjob!!!!
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 25, 2017, 03:52:34 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on May 25, 2017, 02:25:19 PM

British authorities furious because with every leak they look more and more inept. Latest account suggests the authorities were warned 6 TIMES about this nutjob!!!!

Not defending them but with so many nut jobs in ghettoised England it is difficult to follow everyone of them.  Perhaps if you are nutty enough then you can be given a fool's pardon.  Like all terrorist organisations there will be those who carry out the outrages, those who provide technical expertise and funding and those who direct and always far from the front.  The problem for UK authorities is tracking down the latter two groups who are small in number and hidden in plain sight within the ghettoes.
Post by: Taylor on May 25, 2017, 03:58:52 PM
As I said yesterday how do you track them all?

Nick Ferrari (sp) on Today FM yesterday wants everyone tagged that is suspected. While this could be leading to internment I can see the merits of it and at the end of the day the game has changed after Monday nights atrocity
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 25, 2017, 04:06:56 PM
Hearts and minds must be to the fore or radicalisation as it is called nowadays will become so much easier.  The only answer is intelligence and turning enough into informers at as many levels as possible.  Given the scale of the attacks and the fearlessness of the attackers resources can never be sufficient to prevent everything.  It would appear that the level of resources available are insufficient.  The use of the army is a publicity stunt but the formation of a paramilitary police force on a UK wide basis is a step that the politicians may be forced into despite the so called British desire to have an unarmed police force with the bobby on the beat.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 25, 2017, 04:11:27 PM
You would have thought his sister would have kept her head down or gone into hiding:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/05/25/salman-abedi-wanted-revenge-us-air-strikes-syriamanchester-bombers/ (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/05/25/salman-abedi-wanted-revenge-us-air-strikes-syriamanchester-bombers/)

Post by: macdanger2 on May 25, 2017, 04:16:05 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 25, 2017, 03:58:52 PM
As I said yesterday how do you track them all?

Nick Ferrari (sp) on Today FM yesterday wants everyone tagged that is suspected. While this could be leading to internment I can see the merits of it and at the end of the day the game has changed after Monday nights atrocity

The merits of tagging people?? "We" have already lost if we go down that route
Post by: screenexile on May 25, 2017, 04:27:40 PM
Just thought I would put this up as part of the discussion. . .

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DAromSSXkAAteX6.jpg:small)
Post by: seafoid on May 25, 2017, 04:30:21 PM
Economic policy and polarisation are linked to terrorism.
Post by: BennyCake on May 25, 2017, 05:25:13 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 25, 2017, 04:27:40 PM
Just thought I would put this up as part of the discussion. . .

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DAromSSXkAAteX6.jpg:small)

Omagh is not in Britain.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 25, 2017, 08:47:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 25, 2017, 04:30:21 PM

In UK, it results from isolation, segregation of populations and ghettoisation and then thrives in these conditions.  With Jihadist terrorism, UK has allowed ghettoes to develop, white flight in Northern towns has segregated the population by heritage.  Without being able to mix, learn and live with all others, those of non-UK heritage develop a world view which is a polar opposite of those of UK heritage.  In such circumstances, those who want to radicalise others find it easier to do.  If you live in a world where no one challenges the orthodoxy of the community then a false narrative or a re-writing of the historical narrative is easily achieved. 
Post by: armaghniac on May 25, 2017, 09:37:24 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 25, 2017, 08:47:38 PM

In UK, it results from isolation, segregation of populations and ghettoisation and then thrives in these conditions.  With Jihadist terrorism, UK has allowed ghettoes to develop, white flight in Northern towns has segregated the population by heritage.  Without being able to mix, learn and live with all others, those of non-UK heritage develop a world view which is a polar opposite of those of UK heritage.  In such circumstances, those who want to radicalise others find it easier to do.  If you live in a world where no one challenges the orthodoxy of the community then a false narrative or a re-writing of the historical narrative is easily achieved.

The British are aware of this http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/uk/2017/05/fish-eaters-and-fasters
However, in their typical hypocritical way they are actively encouraging similar ghettos of unassimilated "British" people in this country.
Post by: michaelg on May 25, 2017, 10:07:13 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 25, 2017, 09:37:24 PM

The British are aware of this http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/uk/2017/05/fish-eaters-and-fasters
However, in their typical hypocritical way they are actively encouraging similar ghettos of unassimilated "British" people in this country.
You don't half talk a lot of shite.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 25, 2017, 10:10:45 PM

Sadly, I see no remedy to the polarisation by religion of the population in NI.  It has developed since the beginning of the Troubles and has been mapped by Stephen McCaffrey:

https://www.thedetail.tv/mapfiles/index.html (https://www.thedetail.tv/mapfiles/index.html)

Until we begin to live and learn without the religious segregation that we have for much of the population in our towns the opportunities for continued radicalisation of the young will permeate, hence, we see the emergence of the dissident republicans and a continued development of loyalist paramilitarism.  Did the British encourage this polarisation for their own benefit?  I don't know.
Post by: armaghniac on May 25, 2017, 10:42:59 PM
Quote from: michaelg on May 25, 2017, 10:07:13 PM

You are at liberty to point out any errors in my logic if you wish and make a useful contribution for a change.

Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 25, 2017, 10:10:45 PM

Sadly, I see no remedy to the polarisation by religion of the population in NI.  It has developed since the beginning of the Troubles and has been mapped by Stephen McCaffrey:

https://www.thedetail.tv/mapfiles/index.html (https://www.thedetail.tv/mapfiles/index.html)

Until we begin to live and learn without the religious segregation that we have for much of the population in our towns the opportunities for continued radicalisation of the young will permeate, hence, we see the emergence of the dissident republicans and a continued development of loyalist paramilitarism.  Did the British encourage this polarisation for their own benefit?  I don't know.

NI is the embodiment of a ghetto, internal ghettoisation is the logical extension of its existence. Unfortunately, some elements of the present "deal" only aggravate the situation.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 26, 2017, 09:26:12 AM
Quote from: michaelg on May 25, 2017, 10:07:13 PM

And if anyone knows about shite talk it's you
Post by: seafoid on May 26, 2017, 10:50:42 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/05/25/fathers-emotional-open-letter-ariana-grande-manchester-terror/
Post by: screenexile on May 26, 2017, 12:10:09 PM
We're safe enough in the North anyway lads the Tele is on the case!!!

(https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18740556_10155163655523819_2871612420702882155_n.jpg?oh=7d4ae927768f9f9dc63f613fc0c992c8&oe=59ACAA51)
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 26, 2017, 12:21:48 PM
T'was nice of them to do the tests to highlight that we'd be a soft touch.  ???
Post by: seafoid on May 26, 2017, 12:31:51 PM
The Americans dropped a bomb in Mosul in Iraq. It set off explosions in ISIS caches. The bombs destroyed a building
in which civilians were taking shelter. 100 civilians were killed. It is all rotten.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 26, 2017, 12:42:44 PM
The Belfast Telegraph is a filthy rag.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 26, 2017, 12:48:17 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 26, 2017, 12:21:48 PM

It was probably Islamic State that did the Carrick a Dede rope bridge
Post by: north_antrim_hound on May 26, 2017, 12:54:23 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 26, 2017, 12:31:51 PM
The Americans dropped a bomb in Mosul in Iraq. It set off explosions in ISIS caches. The bombs destroyed a building
in which civilians were taking shelter. 100 civilians were killed. It is all rotten.

Read a bit where a Kurdish soldier ( Iraq army coalition against Isis ) said the USA and Britain don't care if they kill 200 civilians as long as they got one ISIS then that's a result
Post by: Rossfan on May 26, 2017, 01:25:53 PM
Ah sure once they're brown skinned and don't speak English then they don't count. ( To the Yanks, Brits etc)
Post by: seafoid on May 26, 2017, 01:33:36 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on May 26, 2017, 12:54:23 PM

Read a bit where a Kurdish soldier ( Iraq army coalition against Isis ) said the USA and Britain don't care if they kill 200 civilians as long as they got one ISIS then that's a result
Muslims do care though.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 26, 2017, 01:53:30 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on May 26, 2017, 12:48:17 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 26, 2017, 12:21:48 PM

It was probably Islamic State that did the Carrick a Dede rope bridge

Whereas we're all for building bridges over here.
Post by: haranguerer on May 26, 2017, 02:03:07 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 26, 2017, 12:42:44 PM

Spot on
Post by: Esmarelda on May 26, 2017, 02:19:44 PM
I'd start a thread but it might be a bit insensitive.

35 more allegedly killed by the US in Deir Ezzor yesterday.

Has anyone has got some photos of the dead kids they could send to Ivanka?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 26, 2017, 03:01:27 PM
I thought this thread was for the manchester bombing; somehow we ended up in iraq again! There not a seperate thread for syria;iraq etc and if its revelant in the no of deaths there which we already knew was happening, how come it wasnt been posted on that thread!
Post by: Esmarelda on May 26, 2017, 03:08:36 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 26, 2017, 03:01:27 PM
I thought this thread was for the manchester bombing; somehow we ended up in iraq again! There not a seperate thread for syria;iraq etc and if its revelant in the no of deaths there which we already knew was happening, how come it wasnt been posted on that thread!
Syria, Iraq etc? These are one off attacks much like Manchester was. An obvious enough tangent to go off on I thought given the terrorism background. You seem upset by it. Just skip the comments if you are.
Post by: JoG2 on May 26, 2017, 03:17:07 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 26, 2017, 03:01:27 PM

If this was a forum where relatives or friends were on, I'd agree. However, I don't see the problem in folk now discussing other atrocities because the Manchester bombing is linked to what is happening in the middle east. We canny hide our heads in the sand. Weans are getting blown to smithereens daily in the middle east. The world is now a very nasty place run by absolute lunatics
Post by: screenexile on May 26, 2017, 03:35:06 PM
Rudd think's it's "completely outrageous" for Corbyn to suggest there are connections between British/Western Foreign Policy and terrorism.

Is this not a widely accepted fact? Of course there's other reasons but the West coming into Libya/Syria/Afghanistan etc. surely has to be a pretty f**king big one!!
Post by: haveaharp on May 26, 2017, 03:53:39 PM
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-middle-east-40059307 (http://www.bbc.com/news/world-middle-east-40059307)

Desperate times

Post by: seafoid on May 26, 2017, 04:32:09 PM
The reaction from Manchester was very impressive.
Post by: red hander on May 26, 2017, 05:18:26 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on May 26, 2017, 02:03:07 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 26, 2017, 12:42:44 PM

Spot on

Ridiculously scaremongering story, and rightly having the urine extracted out of it across Twitter with the hashtag beltelbomber. But I'm actually more offended by the plug to the Bananarama story. So a girl can't attend the funeral of her band's roadie murdered by a British soldier without it being somehow political? f**k ME PINK! That is disgraceful
Post by: michaelg on May 26, 2017, 05:42:31 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on May 25, 2017, 10:10:45 PM

How are 'The British' actively encouraging ghettos then?  People retreated to live with their co-religionists after the outbreak of the Troubles.  Difficult to put that back in the bottle, particularly when people still feel safer, especially in interface areas, living with people from their own community.
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 27, 2017, 11:29:48 AM
Does anyone else think the £1M joint donation from United and City seems a bit paltry given the dozens dead and maimed?  Won't  go to far if divided equally. 

I'm sure United could've given £1M themselves and since City's wealth is as bottomless as the hole in the ground that they pump it out of £10M or even £100M would be buttons to them. 
Post by: Syferus on May 27, 2017, 01:38:26 PM
This thread is such a fûcking mess.
Post by: Esmarelda on May 27, 2017, 02:30:27 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 27, 2017, 01:38:26 PM
This thread is such a fûcking mess.
Yes, we've been told that many times. Repeating that message isn't helping to tidy it up.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 27, 2017, 05:14:21 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on May 27, 2017, 11:29:48 AM
Does anyone else think the £1M joint donation from United and City seems a bit paltry given the dozens dead and maimed?  Won't  go to far if divided equally. 

I'm sure United could've given £1M themselves and since City's wealth is as bottomless as the hole in the ground that they pump it out of £10M or even £100M would be buttons to them.

Pretty pathetic really given the amount they pay out to their squads. Manchester United's wage bill of £203 million per year is the second biggest wage bill in the country followed by Manchester City's of £193.8 million.

And they manage £1m between them.
Post by: An Watcher on May 27, 2017, 08:25:18 PM
Thought the same myself.  Surely they could have managed a million each.  Peanuts to them
Post by: dclane on May 27, 2017, 08:42:09 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 27, 2017, 08:25:18 PM
Thought the same myself.  Surely they could have managed a million each.  Peanuts to them
How much did you donate?
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 27, 2017, 09:01:48 PM
They played the Europa League final as #ManchesterUnited so you'd think at an absolute minimum they'd have thrown in the prize money and/or the player's win bonus.
Post by: An Watcher on May 27, 2017, 11:02:31 PM
Haha, the die-hard man u fan.  Let's not speak ill of United in any way shape or form. 
Post by: Avondhu star on May 27, 2017, 11:56:41 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 27, 2017, 11:02:31 PM
Haha, the die-hard man u fan.  Let's not speak ill of United in any way shape or form.
What do you know about it? Manchester United and Manchester City give loads to local community projects as do most of the football clubs up and down the UK
It isn't a week since the atrocity and in due course none of the clubs be it United City Bury Rochdale Bolton Oldham etc will be found wanting
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 28, 2017, 12:07:06 AM
Tony B is a Liverpool fan if that's who you're getting at.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 28, 2017, 12:13:07 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 28, 2017, 12:07:06 AM
Tony B is a Liverpool fan if that's who you're getting at.
And I'd say the same about ANY club. In general I wouldn't slap anyone who gives money to charity as regardless how much money they have they are under no obligation to give. HOWEVER, in this instance there are almost bound to give a hefty donation. In these instances the Premier League footballer can't win so the club should have taken the lead and donated their Europa League winnings considering there was so much emotion invested in their win. City should have lashed a few million in no questions asked.
Post by: dclane on May 28, 2017, 08:07:31 AM
How much did you donate?
Post by: seafoid on May 30, 2017, 07:25:46 PM
A bit of good news

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/05/30/homeless-man-rushed-help-manchester-attack-victims-has-emotional/
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 08:15:54 PM
Ariana Grande is so impressive

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/06/04/one-love-manchester-pictures/

The concert is on 2FM
Post by: SHEEDY on June 04, 2017, 08:20:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 08:15:54 PM

The concert is on 2FM
its also on bbc1 and rte2. Impressive show so far.
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 09:00:27 PM
YouTube too

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9yak899MUs
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 04, 2017, 10:20:11 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 04, 2017, 08:20:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 08:15:54 PM

The concert is on 2FM
its also on bbc1 and rte2. Impressive show so far.
Was it too much to ask Noel and Liam to put their differences aside and have Oasis reunion for one night only tonight?
Post by: gallsman on June 04, 2017, 10:25:18 PM
Nice concert.

Have no idea if any effort to get them together but saw funny tweet. "Noel Gallagher hates his younger brother more than ISIS"
Post by: Minder on June 04, 2017, 10:29:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 04, 2017, 10:25:18 PM
Nice concert.

Have no idea if any effort to get them together but saw funny tweet. "Noel Gallagher hates his younger brother more than ISIS"

Danny Baker on Twitter - "Should the Gallagher brothers have reunited for Manchester concert? Of course. 100%. But pricks like them think its bigger than that."
Post by: gallsman on June 04, 2017, 10:41:36 PM
That's what I thought as well - it would have turned into the Oasis show and taken away from the poignancy of the whole thing. Not the right audience either . Live Forever, don't look back in anger etc are Manchester anthems, bit other than that, the crowd were there for Bieber and Niall Horan and Miley Cyrus and, of course Ariana Grande.

Have to say she's come across very well through all of this. Didn't know much about her before but she's got a serious set of pipes on her and deserves a lot of credit for her reaction to everything.
Post by: square_ball on June 04, 2017, 11:01:34 PM
Yeah there was a few blank faces in the crowd with Don't Look Back in Anger came on sure they had to put the lyrics on the screen in the background. I thought Live Forever would have brought the house down but it wasn't that kind of audience.
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2017, 11:04:51 PM
I was thinking of the generation gap for that song. It was 20 years ago. The audience was not around then.
Post by: gallsman on June 04, 2017, 11:08:49 PM
I like to think that as good mancs they were all just appalled at Chris Martin singing both songs.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 04, 2017, 11:14:08 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 04, 2017, 10:41:36 PM
That's what I thought as well - it would have turned into the Oasis show and taken away from the poignancy of the whole thing. Not the right audience either . Live Forever, don't look back in anger etc are Manchester anthems, bit other than that, the crowd were there for Bieber and Niall Horan and Miley Cyrus and, of course Ariana Grande.

Have to say she's come across very well through all of this. Didn't know much about her before but she's got a serious set of pipes on her and deserves a lot of credit for her reaction to everything.
She had some work to do after the original concert as it appeared that she ran away and hid. Concert not to my taste (apart from Katy Perry  :-*) but it was a serious lineup for the teen crowd.
Post by: Syferus on June 04, 2017, 11:45:14 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 04, 2017, 11:14:08 PM

She had some work to do after the original concert as it appeared that she ran away and hid. Concert not to my taste (apart from Katy Perry  :-*) but it was a serious lineup for the teen crowd.

Ya what? What the fück would you do if 22 people died because they cared enough about you to pay money to see you perform? That's a seriously heavy weight for anyone to carry.
Post by: Tubberman on June 04, 2017, 11:51:04 PM

Ran away and hid? She's 22 or 23 and organised a concert with some of the biggest pop stars in the world within a week. I don't think that's running away from anything
Post by: gallsman on June 04, 2017, 11:52:16 PM

Ran away and hid?! What is she supposed to do?! Probably absolutely devastated and inconsolable, more then likely plagued with guilt and needed to be around family etc.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2017, 12:00:46 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 04, 2017, 11:51:04 PM

Ran away and hid? She's 22 or 23 and organised a concert with some of the biggest pop stars in the world within a week. I don't think that's running away from anything
LOL Yeah she's a 22 or 23 year old sitting in her Ma's bedroom organising it. I'm sure her label (that small boutique label called Universal) had no part in it  :D

And I didn't say she ran away - she was criticised in the press.
Post by: gallsman on June 05, 2017, 12:05:37 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2017, 12:00:46 AM
And I didn't say she ran away - she was criticised in the press.

No, you literally said in your post "she ran away and hid"

Post by: gallsman on June 05, 2017, 12:24:08 AM
Ah, I see, you're suggesting that because it "appeared" she ran away and hid, she came back and did it as a PR exercise? I think that's a load of balls to be honest.
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2017, 06:36:07 AM
She made Piers Morgan look like a gobshite. Seriously impressive lady. The line up was like the royalty of pop music. It was a real mood lifter.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 05, 2017, 07:24:15 AM
Piers morgan makes piers morgan look like a gobshite. No one else needs to do anything. Odious man. As odious and irrelevant as katie hopkins.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2017, 07:38:06 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 05, 2017, 12:24:08 AM
Ah, I see, you're suggesting that because it "appeared" she ran away and hid, she came back and did it as a PR exercise? I think that's a load of balls to be honest.
Jeez gallsman you were all over the place there lad. You'd have been better going to bed instead of making a w**ker of yourself. I'm sure it won't be the last time though.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2017, 08:00:00 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 05, 2017, 07:24:15 AM
Piers morgan makes piers morgan look like a gobshite. No one else needs to do anything. Odious man. As odious and irrelevant as katie hopkins.
Aye it was that p***k that stirred it up saying she ran away. He'll be foaming at the success of the concert. He has the wit to stay on the side of good taste in his contrarian views buy he'll get caught out (and sacked) at some stage.

PS Gallsman it wasn't a PR stunt. She didn't have to do it, visiting her fans in hospital would have been enough.
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2017, 09:23:32 AM
This was top notch

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntkD_Iumjlo
Post by: gallsman on June 05, 2017, 11:58:25 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2017, 07:38:06 AM
Jeez gallsman you were all over the place there lad. You'd have been better going to bed instead of making a w**ker of yourself. I'm sure it won't be the last time though.

I misunderstood the point you trying to make, fair enough.

Don't think she needed to do anything. As stated, c***ts like Morgan only interested in the clicks and controversy.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2017, 12:50:58 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 05, 2017, 11:58:25 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2017, 07:38:06 AM

I misunderstood the point you trying to make, fair enough.

Don't think she needed to do anything. As stated, c***ts like Morgan only interested in the clicks and controversy.
And I apologise for my intemperate language. One Love  :-*

I would say Good Morning Britain will get shot of him soon as I'm sure he initially got some people interested, but when people are deliberately contrarian on EVERY subject it becomes a bit wearing.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on June 05, 2017, 07:11:05 PM
Seems she did do a lot of the organising herself