Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

That's a pretty decent performance against a traditionally strong under age team

I see Cavan under 20's hammered Monaghan, were all the games played tonight? 

GAABoardMod5

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 11:10:11 PM
That's a pretty decent performance against a traditionally strong under age team

I see Cavan under 20's hammered Monaghan, were all the games played tonight?

Quarter finals:

Donegal 1-13 Armagh 0-9
Derry 0-12 Antrim 0-9
Monaghan 0-3 Cavan 1-11

Tyrone v Down on Saturday at Loughmacrory 1pm

Average Score

First sign of insanity talking to yourself.

Armagh duffed by Donegal... who put Fermanagh out?

EOC1923

They went out in preliminary round

EOC1923

Saffsof82

bannside

Sean Duffin a proper player Dreen. You can just see the class oozing out of him. A county Star of the future without a doubt...has got the lot, now if he could be turned into a scoring forward that would be the cherry on the top.

But that wasn't who I had in mind. Let's just say he is bred in the purple to be a senior county footballer. We will be watching this young man for almost as many years as we have been watching his Dad and his uncles.

Saffsof82

A fine performance by our u20s against a much talked about and rated Derry team. Comfortable in possession, patient, physical and full of belief, that was us by the way!! Some very poor officiating I thought, incredibly soft frees given which Derry seemed to get easier than us. Black card with 15 to go was harsh in the extreme.
Great progress by this group the majority are back again next year.

GiveItToTheShooters

Sure what do you expect.
How are you expected to pick a decent u20 team when Antrim haven't hosted a proper u20 tournament/league/championship for the past 3 years, when lads are working generally on Saturday trying to earn a few quid. The "u20 championship" has been a shambles the past few years and most games haven't been played and shite teams have ended up winning a tournament that no team ever bothered with and most withdrew from. Ever since it moved from u21 and the Creggan tournament to what it is now it's the best of a bad lot who want to field a team. How are the u20 management expected to pick a decent squad of emerging players from this if this age group haven't played for the guts of three years. Shambles wouldn't even come close to what it is at the minute.

paddyjohn

Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on April 02, 2022, 01:21:39 AM
Sure what do you expect.
How are you expected to pick a decent u20 team when Antrim haven't hosted a proper u20 tournament/league/championship for the past 3 years, when lads are working generally on Saturday trying to earn a few quid. The "u20 championship" has been a shambles the past few years and most games haven't been played and shite teams have ended up winning a tournament that no team ever bothered with and most withdrew from. Ever since it moved from u21 and the Creggan tournament to what it is now it's the best of a bad lot who want to field a team. How are the u20 management expected to pick a decent squad of emerging players from this if this age group haven't played for the guts of three years. Shambles wouldn't even come close to what it is at the minute.

Has there not only been 1 Un20 championship due to covid?

GiveItToTheShooters

Quote from: paddyjohn on April 02, 2022, 01:24:08 AM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on April 02, 2022, 01:21:39 AM
Sure what do you expect.

Has there not only been 1 Un20 championship due to covid?
Nah I don't think so. There were fixtures every year for it but the tournament as it was since it moved to u20 has been a shambles and most of the top clubs have half assed it or didn't even field teams. How are management meant to field a decent team when games at this age group aren't even being played. How are you meant to pick a county team when these boys haven't played in three years basically. I'm sure Derry and the likes have got their fixtures in order. Shambles doesn't even come close

Spike

Bit of planning doesnt go amiss:
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40842155.html

Encouraging performance by the u20s last night.  Soft frees aplenty and that final quarter will hurt for a while but definitely some green shoots of talent there

EOC1923

Quote from: bannside on April 01, 2022, 11:46:08 PM
Sean Duffin a proper player Dreen. You can just see the class oozing out of him. A county Star of the future without a doubt...has got the lot, now if he could be turned into a scoring forward that would be the cherry on the top.

But that wasn't who I had in mind. Let's just say he is bred in the purple to be a senior county footballer. We will be watching this young man for almost as many years as we have been watching his Dad and his uncles.
Sean O Neill, looked tremendous last night. Can play anywhere

Sportacus

Derry had momentum from their delayed All Ireland minor win, which was only last summer, so the nucleus of their team have tasted major success and bonded well. All the more remarkable then that our U20 management produced a competitive team from scratch and with no functioning U20 club format to work from.  Fair play.