Hosting Club Websites with the GAA

Started by amallon, August 16, 2007, 09:26:09 AM

amallon

Anyone here host their sites with the GAA?  How long does it take from you submitting the request and them actually getting you up and running?
Disclaimer: I am responsible for MY comments only.  I don't own this site.

catweazle

You are wasting your time with the GAA system it is useless!

Why dont you try Gaelsport.com or sportsmanager.ie

amallon

What are the problems with it?  I've checked outs some of web sites which are hosted on it and they look grand to me.

I host my club's webpage on it - now I dont kill myself putting effort into it, but it is nice to have an online presence

Pros - Format there already - easy to use
Its Free!
They set mine up within 24 hours - very easy to get it started
If you have feck all news you can use the GAA frontpage's news

Con's - Many people dont like the format
You cant adapt the format much
It has a slightly one dimensional feel to it

amallon

Looks like the Pro's outweight the Con's! 

It is a handy way to get started, and maybe move on to another format in a few years. That's my plan anyway.

amallon

Lads our site has been created but we haven't done much with it yet.

On the Site Details section there is an option to "Display Fixtures & Results link".  Beside it there is a note "You should only select 'yes' if you are using the Competition Managment System to record your match statistics".  How does this compeition management system thing work.  Is it something that isn't operational yet?  I tried turning it on but it tells me there are no fixtures for this association. 

Also does anyone know how much space each club is allowed?

amallon

Bandit it would help if you posted the link to your club site and let us judge on the pros and cons.

aidanmcg33

If anyone is interested in setting up a website for their club, send me a message and I can show some work and discuss some of the benefits of having a club site.