Ulster Club IFC/JFC 2023

Started by DownFanatic, September 19, 2023, 12:35:21 PM

tintin25

Quote from: Maroon Manc on November 27, 2023, 11:35:36 AM
Quote from: ranch on November 25, 2023, 04:04:15 PMI really don't get the issue here with Arva. They're in the junior championship because they weren't good enough to win it previously. League and championship aren't linked in some counties and that's fair enough as far I'm concerned.
I'd more so have an issue with Blackhill being a yo-yo club every few years, Glenullin remaining at intermediate level for two years running, or a club like Cullyhanna being relegated to intermediate via their league position, ignoring the fact they'd played 90% of the league without their county representatives. This then gave them a pretty straightforward intermediate title in Armagh and a crack at Ulster, despite being a senior club at full strength. A system like Cavan's would eradicate these problems and ensure teams that win championships move up accordingly, and those that have county representation aren't relegated to a lower tier championship via league position undeservedly.

Spot on

Pretty much this and I'm not from Cavan.

Seriously, the whole argument as to whether Arva are a Junior outfit is becoming tedious now.  Cavan have their system and there was an anomaly where Arva had a couple of promotions but yet still failed to win the JFC, which they had every right to participate in as per the championship structures in Cavan.  As I said previously, I find the Glenullin situation even more bizarre.  People might have a stronger argument if Arva run away with the Cavan intermediate championship next year, but realistically is that going to happen?

Look-Up!

What would be more stupid? To reformat our championship structures again to keep people from outside the county happy or to force relegations on teams who performed well in championship because someone else performed well in league. I could see absolutely no problem with this approach  :-\ .

They could not win Junior last year, that's why they're still Junior. It's not difficult to understand. I understand it's a quirk but it's just as crazy to suggest they're a senior club because they played Division 1. They were hammered by any half decent club in the league, even by some who couldn't pick up any points in championship group stage. And the standard in Cavan is not that high to begin with.

Dreadnought

Quote from: intheknowhow on November 27, 2023, 05:12:45 PM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on November 27, 2023, 05:00:49 PMI understand what is being said about Avra, and the league and championship being separate, it just seems a bit abstract that a senior league team is playing the lowest championship tier.  Intermediate wouldn't be as big a shock. 

Regarding Cullyhanna, they had been slowly regressing for a while this past 10 years and wouldn't have been competing consistently for senior honors.  A bad year last year doomed them to intermediate, but it was always a threat of happening. 

I think they will fair grand back in the senior league, but don't be fooled into thinking they are going to be swinging at the top 3/4 teams next year either. 

100% but the Cavan folk don't want to hear...
Says the fella who won't hear himself. We've already said the linked idea has merit, but you can't retroactively apply that because you don't like the results in this year's Ulster Junior. Yet you won't hear that either.

Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on November 27, 2023, 05:00:49 PMI understand what is being said about Avra, and the league and championship being separate, it just seems a bit abstract that a senior league team is playing the lowest championship tier.  Intermediate wouldn't be as big a shock. 

Regarding Cullyhanna, they had been slowly regressing for a while this past 10 years and wouldn't have been competing consistently for senior honors.  A bad year last year doomed them to intermediate, but it was always a threat of happening. 

I think they will fair grand back in the senior league, but don't be fooled into thinking they are going to be swinging at the top 3/4 teams next year either. 
If they keep that team together they'll not be far off I reckon. Certainly would have gave Cross a better game than Clans did.

Dreadnought

Quote from: intheknowhow on November 27, 2023, 06:14:37 PM
Quote from: general_lee on November 27, 2023, 06:02:48 PM
Quote from: Westside
To move championship grades in Cavan you need to win the grade you are in, or lose a relegation playoff in that grade.
b]It's not complicated[/b].
It's not, but it is stupid. All three of your championship winners played in Division 1.

"Hai but days how we do things here in cyyyyyavan"
Onto piss taking now. Nice one.

intheknowhow

Quote from: Dreadnought on November 27, 2023, 06:40:42 PM
To move championship grades in Cavan you need to win the grade you are in, or lose a relegation playoff in that grade.
It's not, but it is stupid. All three of your championship winners played in Division 1.

Onto piss taking now. Nice one.

Well we all know what Mullahoran is famous for 😉

Wonder how Arva will do against Wandsworth Gaels on 9th December? I believe they are led by former Westmeath midfielder Daragh Daly but not sure who else plays for them. Be some craic if they had a pile of other ex county men! They beat Glasgow Gaels by 5 in the British semis which is the same margin Stewartstown beat Glasgow Gaels last year and Glasgow were no mugs.

Look-Up!

Quote from: tintin25 on November 27, 2023, 06:28:04 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on November 27, 2023, 11:35:36 AM
Quote from: ranch on November 25, 2023, 04:04:15 PMI really don't get the issue here with Arva. They're in the junior championship because they weren't good enough to win it previously. League and championship aren't linked in some counties and that's fair enough as far I'm concerned.
I'd more so have an issue with Blackhill being a yo-yo club every few years, Glenullin remaining at intermediate level for two years running, or a club like Cullyhanna being relegated to intermediate via their league position, ignoring the fact they'd played 90% of the league without their county representatives. This then gave them a pretty straightforward intermediate title in Armagh and a crack at Ulster, despite being a senior club at full strength. A system like Cavan's would eradicate these problems and ensure teams that win championships move up accordingly, and those that have county representation aren't relegated to a lower tier championship via league position undeservedly.

Spot on

Pretty much this and I'm not from Cavan.

Seriously, the whole argument as to whether Arva are a Junior outfit is becoming tedious now.  Cavan have their system and there was an anomaly where Arva had a couple of promotions but yet still failed to win the JFC, which they had every right to participate in as per the championship structures in Cavan.  As I said previously, I find the Glenullin situation even more bizarre.  People might have a stronger argument if Arva run away with the Cavan intermediate championship next year, but realistically is that going to happen?
Unlikey Tintin. Ballyhaise gone out of intermediate has probably levelled it out a bit, but in saying that they were perennial favourites before eventually winning this year. So it doesn't always go the way you expect. Lacken coming down were extremely poor this year but are something of an intermediate specialist. Few other teams in there will fancy a craic. So no, I wouldn't wager too much on them winning it, never mind running away with it. Like I said, the standard in Cavan is not that high. We have 40 clubs which dilutes the standard quite a bit. Couple of injuries, couple of lads going travelling or a few decent footballers coming back or coming through can drastically change the fortunes of a club for the year at that level.

Westside

Not much wonder you couldn't understand the Cavan Championship system.

intheknowhow

Quote from: Westside on November 27, 2023, 07:06:53 PM

Of course I understand it. I find it ridiculous however. Find me another county whos div 1 teams play junior championship

Dreadnought

Quote from: intheknowhow on November 27, 2023, 07:19:32 PM

Of course I understand it. I find it ridiculous however. Find me another county whos div 1 teams play junior championship
Hard cases make for bad laws. This is a very exceptional circumstance and you don't change everything for one occurrence. What's also equally ridiculous is to state that a team relegated in 2021, lost a Junior final last year, finished bottom of Division 1, is a Senior standard team. If you line up the arguments for and against, your argument has very little going for it based on their form last few years.

Westside

You were reduced to making fun of the Cavan accent. Do you really think you have any credibility on the topic any more?

intheknowhow

Quote from: Westside on November 27, 2023, 07:45:04 PM

You were reduced to making fun of the Cavan accent. Do you really think you have any credibility on the topic any more?

And people from mullahoran too

Sunday 10th Dec 2023
Intermediate Final
1pm
Ballyhaise v St Patrick's Cullyhanna in Castleblayney

How about we look at what counties put forward teams that do not play in their relevant Junior and Intermediate Leagues .