Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: tintin25 on August 17, 2007, 04:06:36 PM

Title: Favourite Fast Food outlets?
Post by: tintin25 on August 17, 2007, 04:06:36 PM
Right folks, name your favourite place for tucking into a delightfully greasy burger and chip or whatever else you prefer!!

It means I can also pop into these places if I'm about your area! Oh, I'm a greedy mess indeed!  ;D

For me it has to be Kenny's in Enniskillen....Gaels lad will know what I'm on about! Lovely!  :P
Title: Re: Favourite Fast Food outlets?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 17, 2007, 04:20:45 PM
Muldoons Chippie in Ballinderry
Post by: inisceithleann on August 17, 2007, 04:21:35 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on August 17, 2007, 04:06:36 PM
Right folks, name your favourite place for tucking into a delightfully greasy burger and chip or whatever else you prefer!!

It means I can also pop into these places if I'm about your area! Oh, I'm a greedy mess indeed!  ;D

For me it has to be Kenny's in Enniskillen....Gaels lad will know what I'm on about! Lovely!  :P

Yep. Kenny's is the spot for a fish supper alright, but i must say the Golden Arrow challenges it. What about the chip vans in the town now on a saturday night. We now have two of them. They're becoming very popular to the detriment of chippy street as highlighted by the Impartial Reporter recently!
Post by: illdecide on August 17, 2007, 04:23:00 PM
Cafolla's fish and chips in "Lurgan" and the home made ice-cream for desert.
Post by: Donagh on August 17, 2007, 04:23:24 PM
You should broaden your horizons tintin, I hear Cavan town is a lovely place.
Post by: amallon on August 17, 2007, 04:28:50 PM
Friar Tucks chicken burgers.  Just avoid the cumslaw in Banbridge!
Post by: bailestil on August 17, 2007, 04:34:20 PM
Taco Chip - The Plaice, opposite M Club in belfast.
Whenever it decides to open.

A Lethal concoction after a feed of pints, but bloody nice!

Any Bridies Chippy in Derry would do the trick.
Post by: The Subbie on August 17, 2007, 04:40:05 PM
pizza dor Monaghan town
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on August 17, 2007, 04:41:00 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on August 17, 2007, 04:21:35 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on August 17, 2007, 04:06:36 PM

Golden Arrow beats Kenny's every time

Yep. Kenny's is the spot for a fish supper alright, but i must say the Golden Arrow challenges it. What about the chip vans in the town now on a saturday night. We now have two of them. They're becoming very popular to the detriment of chippy street as highlighted by the Impartial Reporter recently!
Post by: Deal_Me_In on August 17, 2007, 04:50:21 PM
For a fish supper in Belfast theres nowhere like Cafe Fish on the lisburn road, queued out onto the road on a friday evening, lethal. 8)
Post by: behind the wire on August 17, 2007, 04:54:49 PM
joe burns' in banbridge. gaa man too
Post by: Carmen Stateside on August 17, 2007, 04:55:52 PM
Quote from: amallon on August 17, 2007, 04:28:50 PM

Friar Tucks chicken burgers No 1 !!  ;)
Post by: screenexile on August 17, 2007, 04:56:05 PM
Doorsteps.... Lisburn Road
Pizza Man... Magherafelt
Spuds... Dublin Road
Longs... Sandy Row
Snackbox... Magherafelt
Post by: Gnevin on August 17, 2007, 05:02:11 PM
This is some partitionist thread
Post by: inisceithleann on August 17, 2007, 05:09:49 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 17, 2007, 05:02:11 PM

I was waiting for that comment. Time to rename the thread tintin!  :)
Post by: thebandit on August 17, 2007, 05:19:16 PM
Hot and Tender in Castleblayney - not in the north but the owners are proud Armagh men
Post by: ExiledGael on August 17, 2007, 05:25:34 PM
Chicken box from Kenny's when in Enniskillen
Pizza Dor in Monaghan
Taco sauce chicken box McGinleys when in Derry
Friars for anything when in Newry
Kebab of the Year in Jaipour in Belfast (beside Shaftsbury Sq), biggest feed ever, about the size of your upper arm, and thats not small as you can tell from my eating habits
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 17, 2007, 05:27:33 PM
jesus lads will ye stop i'm starving
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 17, 2007, 05:33:10 PM
friar tucks in newry, the chicken sauce is something else.
around home, the chinese in cross.
Post by: bingobus on August 17, 2007, 05:37:13 PM
Quote from: thebandit on August 17, 2007, 05:19:16 PM
Hot and Tender in Castleblayney - not in the north but the owners are proud Armagh men

erm.....

Agree about Pizza D'or in Monaghan Town. The Pizza Hot has to be tasted to be believed!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 17, 2007, 05:42:55 PM
i don't know i assume a chicken has some park in the making of it.
Post by: thebandit on August 17, 2007, 05:46:24 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 17, 2007, 05:33:10 PM
friar tucks in newry, the chicken sauce is something else.
around home, the chinese in cross.

The one in Culloville is far nicer
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 17, 2007, 05:50:57 PM
what hardstation?
heard good reports about cullaville chinese but can you get chillie and salted shredded chicken in it? mario's is as good as friar tucks chicken sauce and i've never seen it available in any other chinese.
Post by: ziggysego on August 17, 2007, 05:57:58 PM
There used to be a great place on the Derry Road in Omagh, Carol's Barn. Looked like a dirty hole from the outside, but the burger and chips was the best I've had.
Post by: southdown on August 17, 2007, 05:59:14 PM
Country Fried Chicken in Kilkeel, Newcastle, Ballynahinch, Warrenpoint, Newry, Rathriland and Moira.

The Chicken Kebabs are simply orgasmic.
Post by: Square Ball on August 17, 2007, 06:13:00 PM
Marina in Carnlough and the Supreme in Sandy Row.

Longs is not as nice as it was, and it aint in Sandy Row
Post by: stiffler on August 17, 2007, 06:17:42 PM
Chicken Supreme from Friar Tucks. New Restaurant opened in Lurgan last week too (right below a gym!)
Post by: Balboa on August 17, 2007, 09:01:37 PM
Raffos in Andytown, best ive ever had, so to speak  ;)
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on August 17, 2007, 09:17:42 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on August 17, 2007, 04:20:45 PM
Muldoons Chippie in Ballinderry

Known to us locals as Big Bridies.

You haven't had a feed till you've had a Big Bridie!!

Post by: DownFanatic on August 17, 2007, 09:30:55 PM
Temps on Botanic Avenue.  ;D
Post by: southdown on August 17, 2007, 10:19:53 PM
Temps on Botanic is some spot alrite! I was in it one night, and the resident DJ of the chippy (im not joking!) started rapping about the sauce I was putting on my chips!  And then he let a crowd of girls draw all over the wall!  But the food is shi%te, good entertainment though
Post by: clarshack on August 17, 2007, 10:51:39 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 17, 2007, 04:56:05 PM
Doorsteps.... Lisburn Road
Pizza Man... Magherafelt
Spuds... Dublin Road
Longs... Sandy Row
Snackbox... Magherafelt

pizza man? they do those skinny chips for fcuk sake!
Post by: ziggysego on August 17, 2007, 10:54:03 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 17, 2007, 09:34:24 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 17, 2007, 05:02:11 PM

Have to agree, there are fast food outlets South of the border as well.

I think SuperMac are great.... well for the type of outlet they are.
Post by: clarshack on August 17, 2007, 11:06:55 PM
yeah ziggy supermac are pretty good. you have to go down south though i heard they were coming to belfast soon. dolphin in dungannon is good too as well as the chinese on the donaghmore road. lees kitchens (chinese) on cunninghams lane in dungannon do really massive portions but the food is just ok. stevies chinese in coalisland is shit but that one opposite landis isnt bad. speaking of landis the one in dungannon square does nice chips. in cookstown the chuck wagon is lovely while the dragon garden chinese is good too. the paragon chinese is nice to sitin but the take away is just ok. that italian in magherfelt is shit. the worst thing that happend magherafelt was getting rid of abrakebara!
Post by: FermGael on August 17, 2007, 11:16:36 PM
Hard to beat a Ho Ho special from the Emerald.

Being serious Kenny's in Enniskillen is some spot.  1 piece chicken box with stuffing, gravy and chips.  Beautiful.................
Rafo's in Belfast is not bad either
Post by: oakleaf stateside on August 18, 2007, 01:45:55 AM
 the chippie  in moneymore while u wait on ur feed u get to watch 2 BIG buns and u wish ur meat was between them (well that was about 6 yr ago)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 18, 2007, 10:52:28 AM
Dolphin in Dungannon is very nice. Big Macs aint bad either.
Post by: tintin25 on August 18, 2007, 11:05:33 AM
Quote from: FermGael on August 17, 2007, 11:16:36 PM
Hard to beat a Ho Ho special from the Emerald.

Being serious Kenny's in Enniskillen is some spot.  1 piece chicken box with stuffing, gravy and chips.  Beautiful.................
Rafo's in Belfast is not bad either

Kenny's is the biz but haven't been there in ages! Tend to head to Bosco's Derrylin as it's much closer.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 18, 2007, 12:36:02 PM
Brights on the Antrim Rd.
Have to agree about the Jaipur on Donegall Rd, the mixed kebab on nan is f**king fantastic along with a mixed starter - enough feeding for 4 people! or one Tony!  ;)
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on August 18, 2007, 12:38:54 PM
Pizzarella in Enniskillen...the pizzarella special...magnifico!!!!!! 8)
Post by: Square Ball on August 18, 2007, 01:36:24 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 18, 2007, 12:36:02 PM
Have to agree about the Jaipur on Donegall Rd, the mixed kebab on nan is f**king fantastic along with a mixed starter - enough feeding for 4 people! or one Tony!  ;)

where abouts on the Donegall Rd? is it anywhere near the KFC
Post by: J70 on August 18, 2007, 04:26:11 PM
Four Lanterns in Donegal town. The Magic Chef and Aprile's in Stillorgan used to be the business too. Don't know if they're still there though.
Post by: Balboa on August 18, 2007, 09:51:46 PM
Sphinx in Stranmillis & they got 5 stars on "Scores on the doors" so you know the place is clean.
Post by: stpauls on August 18, 2007, 10:00:29 PM
the sphinx has been all done up, its nice and clean now!!  :D
Post by: Balboa on August 18, 2007, 10:03:57 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 18, 2007, 09:58:17 PM
Quote from: Balboa on August 18, 2007, 09:51:46 PM
Sphinx in Stranmillis & they got 5 stars on "Scores on the doors" so you know the place is clean.

Forgot about the Sphinx Kebabs. Jaysus I could murder one now.

I had one this evening, i thought the missus deserved a treat  ;) Bit pricey, £4.00 for a medium kebab, i could have eaten 2 of the f**kers !
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 18, 2007, 10:10:20 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on August 18, 2007, 01:36:24 PM

Just round the corner, about 50 yards from Shaftesbury Sq.

Sphinix kebabs weren't that great - it was the sause that they put over them - eemmmmm...!

Is that big bird with the UDA tattoos on her forearms still working there??
Post by: Balboa on August 18, 2007, 10:13:13 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 18, 2007, 10:10:20 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on August 18, 2007, 01:36:24 PM

Just round the corner, about 50 yards from Shaftesbury Sq.

Sphinix kebabs weren't that great - it was the sause that they put over them - eemmmmm...!

Is that big bird with the UDA tattoos on her forearms still working there??

She wasnt there this evening but they are looking for staff so maybe she got the boot,she is probably getting £30k a yr now somewhere on the Shankill, running a "community event"........
Post by: clarshack on August 18, 2007, 10:25:24 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 18, 2007, 09:58:17 PM
Quote from: Balboa on August 18, 2007, 09:51:46 PM

Forgot about the Sphinx Kebabs. Jaysus I could murder one now.

forgot about it too! havent had one in nearly 10 years. used to live around the corner from it in my uni days.
Post by: Tyrones own on August 20, 2007, 02:44:53 AM

Friars in Newry was good alright, Chicken burger outta Paddy Donnelly's in the island
  with the mayonnaise was hard to top and i remember the fish Supper outta the chippy at the bottom of
  the Moy hill was great, all these about 10 yrs ago mind.
Post by: supersarsfields on August 20, 2007, 09:45:01 AM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on August 18, 2007, 12:38:54 PM
Pizzarella in Enniskillen...the pizzarella special...magnifico!!!!!! 8)

Is that the place that used to be were McDonalds is and then moved?

Post by: full back on August 20, 2007, 10:44:00 AM
Cafola's in Armagh
Ned Kellys in Newry
Jaipour on Donegall Rd
Dolce Vita for Chicken Meal (pizza's have gone downhill lately)
Friar Tucks for pizza (chips are sh1t in it though)
Post by: his holiness nb on August 20, 2007, 10:46:45 AM
Anyone tried the chuck wagon van on the Swords - Balbriggan road?

Great stuff.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on August 20, 2007, 10:47:34 AM
Friar tucks hard to bate! :)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 20, 2007, 09:02:24 PM
Lurgan:

Friar Tucks
Cafollas - battered sausage and curry chips
Chuongs Welcome - some spot for a feed after the burn

On the other hand though, the Kebab King is fuckin rotten, I got a pizza out of it the ohter night the next morning I was near sick cuz the dirty c***ts that work in it come into my bookies all the time and they are rotten smelly c***ts
Post by: hitzelsperger on August 20, 2007, 10:32:44 PM
Cafe Fish on the lisburn road is the best chippie in Belfast.. get a piece of fish the size of a small dolphin! unreal
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on August 20, 2007, 10:37:34 PM
Quote from: hitzelsperger on August 20, 2007, 10:32:44 PM
Cafe Fish on the lisburn road is the best chippie in Belfast.. get a piece of fish the size of a small dolphin! unreal
Woud you eat a dolpin? Bastard!!  >:(
Post by: hitzelsperger on August 20, 2007, 10:39:03 PM
wise up ya ballsack  >:(
Post by: FL/MAYO on August 21, 2007, 12:46:57 AM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on August 20, 2007, 10:37:34 PM
Quote from: hitzelsperger on August 20, 2007, 10:32:44 PM
Woud you eat a dolpin? Bastard!!  >:(

Dolphin also known as Mahi Mahi. Lovely fish to eat.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 21, 2007, 02:11:26 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 21, 2007, 12:49:08 AM
QuoteDolphin also known as Mahi Mahi. Lovely fish to eat.
Flippin' heck.

Leave Flipper out of it.

Post by: FL/MAYO on August 21, 2007, 02:49:36 AM
The Mahi Mahi, flipper wouldnt taste half as good.
Post by: Long time dead on August 21, 2007, 08:15:04 AM
Quote from: full back on August 20, 2007, 10:44:00 AM
Cafola's in Armagh
Ned Kellys in Newry
Jaipour on Donegall Rd
Dolce Vita for Chicken Meal (pizza's have gone downhill lately)
Friar Tucks for pizza (chips are sh1t in it though)

You haven't been in it lately - since Marco left it has went down the pan and now reaches new lows, the food is 100% disgusting the place should be f**king closed down and as for the employees.   :o
Post by: BenDover on August 21, 2007, 09:10:36 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on August 17, 2007, 04:55:52 PM
Quote from: amallon on August 17, 2007, 04:28:50 PM

Friar Tucks chicken burgers No 1 !!  ;)

I take it you boys haven't tried Ellen's chicken burger in Keady, they'd put friar tucks to shame!!
Post by: amallon on August 21, 2007, 09:13:12 AM
If your after pizza in Newry it has to be Europa on Catherine Street.  The Pizzas are cooked in a proper pizza oven which is heated by wood blocks.  Unbeatable.
Post by: charlie stubbs on August 21, 2007, 09:30:05 AM
friar tucks most overated fast food outlet ever.granted their chicken sauce hard beat people talk about theitr chicken burgers overated as f**k and the chips are dot cotton!

Cafollas Lurgan
Slice of America Lurgan
Fergusons,Moy
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 21, 2007, 11:05:50 AM
Charlie Slice of America is nothing specia! Sure the chef is working in lucabaps now, says it all.
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on August 21, 2007, 11:18:16 AM

I take it you boys haven't tried Ellen's chicken burger in Keady, they'd put friar tucks to shame!!

Damn sure, CFB with everything from ellens is the works.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 21, 2007, 11:24:50 AM
Have to also put in a good word for Temp's pizzas! They are f**king class, I know it gets a bad name an all just cuz of drunk people like charlie stubbs going in causing scenes at all hours but the pizzas are class. Nothing better than waking up not remembering anything but seeing a half eaten pizza to start your day with!

I love being a student!
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on August 21, 2007, 03:59:04 PM
There used to be a Chinese just across from Lavery's in Bradbury Place / Donegall Road which was owned by a chineseman called Mervyn (I kid you not). Excellent stuff - if you could stay alive in the time it took to make the stuff - "Here mate, any tickets for the Rangers match?" ... anyhow, his speciality was the 3.50 Steak, peas, chips gravy - which Mervyn referred to as the "Lips and Hooves Special" .. which, regardless of the description, was delicious - after a few Nookie Broon. By the way, vegetarian since 1997. Worked in Moy Park for a week.
Post by: john mcgill on August 21, 2007, 04:34:27 PM
Crispys in Armagh
The Sea Shell in London
Burdocks? in Cork
Post by: dodo on August 21, 2007, 07:04:44 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 20, 2007, 10:46:45 AM
Anyone tried the chuck wagon van on the Swords - Balbriggan road?

Great stuff.

Gets my vote every time. Worth the wait. Used to have their phone number for ringing ahead. This place has awards and all !

Cafollas on Castle street, Castlebar, used to do the best shhhnack box. Coleslaw in the corner of the box.  :P
Post by: Square Ball on August 21, 2007, 07:07:01 PM
Dish on the Ormeau road for a chinese
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 21, 2007, 08:56:26 PM
What about Barracouda? I know a fella used to love their gravy chips so much he wouldn't even use a fork, just boul in with his hands!!
Post by: Square Ball on August 21, 2007, 09:33:24 PM
never eat out of that one, did he not burn his hands?

best gravy chips are out of the Sunshine, chips can be a little hard, for quantity gotta be the golden bloom
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 22, 2007, 11:11:46 AM
He did burn his hands the silly f**ker!
Post by: illdecide on August 22, 2007, 01:28:49 PM
Joe Pokes (Cafollas) chicken fillet burgers with everything on it and a noughat wafer for desert ;)
Post by: The Forfeit Point on August 22, 2007, 01:48:55 PM
Luigis in longford! ray darcy even claimed that the best chips he ever eat were from luigis! ;D they are hard beat after a few scoops alright
Post by: inisceithleann on August 22, 2007, 01:53:41 PM
The Hungry Hound on the Sligo Road. Burgers in there are unbelievable.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 22, 2007, 02:22:13 PM
Here is the vote of one Sligo juror.....

Borza on Mail Coach Road. Disgustingly gorgeous fresh cod and chips and the 1/4 pounder is fair tack too.

Bella Vista Pizza & Fast Food in Strandhill (beside the Strand). Club Pollo pizza is just outrageously nice. The nicest pizza ever.

Nico's beside Meaghers in Fairview was a favourite for after match soakage too.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on August 22, 2007, 02:32:44 PM
Is there still a place in Fintona called Starvo's??  Shite food but what a great name for a chipper!!
Post by: amallon on August 22, 2007, 05:12:33 PM
Mullins in Dundalk do great fish and chips. All of their stuff is good.
Post by: balladmaker on August 22, 2007, 08:26:17 PM
Any Friar Tucks....Chicken Deluxe Burger and a Super Chip!
Post by: mc_grens on August 22, 2007, 09:22:15 PM
The Sphinx on Stranmillis. Dont know if its there anymore.

Cant think of anymore as every bloody chippie in Dublin seems to be a Macari's or a Mizzonis these days. You'll never beat the Manhattan for a post Coppers feed though!
Post by: inisceithleann on August 22, 2007, 09:37:47 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on August 22, 2007, 09:22:15 PM
The Sphinx on Stranmillis. Dont know if its there anymore.

I went in there one lunchtime a few years ago and the guy behind the counter said i looked like I needed to beef up a bit. He gave me the biggest piece of cod i've ever eaten. Absolute legends  :)
Post by: new devil on August 25, 2007, 06:02:58 AM
Ahhh the chuck wagon in cookstown...i miss that place  :'( :'(
Post by: Fishbat on October 09, 2007, 04:50:34 AM
Meat roll supper from McGlincheys in the Island - only one per month mind you or ye'll be a slurry tanker before ye know it.

Wendy's baconator burger - 6 strips of bacon, 2 patties, cheese, mushrooms - lethal

Used to be pagni's on the corner of irish st, Dungannon, not sure what its called now but they do a "deadly burger" egg, beef, pineapple, whack of bacon, slap of sauce and a touch of rabbit food on a flourey bap - not good for ye, but tasty goo
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 09, 2007, 11:03:04 AM
Akabusi's Diner, Botanic Avenue, Belfast. Lightening fast service with a big smile and infectious laughter. A woo woo woo
Post by: oneillcup2007 on October 09, 2007, 11:10:39 AM
Hardstation edit that please. 
As for the kebabs.  IS there any man never started on kebabhouse on Donegall Road.  Dirty hole but by god they warmed yre up.   
Post by: tintin25 on October 09, 2007, 02:15:47 PM
Prob order in some junk food later in the week...looking like 4 star at the mo...yum yum! Thinking about a Bishops though!
Post by: Drumanee 1 on October 09, 2007, 02:41:38 PM
nico's chippy beside meaghers in dublin,unreal.imo raffos in andytown is way over rated,the one across the road beside dobbins is far better
Post by: SuperHans on October 09, 2007, 03:30:04 PM
The Sphinx.....got an unreal Taco chip and cheese in there.A bit of a walk for me, but well worth it
Post by: the real slim shady on October 09, 2007, 07:13:49 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on August 21, 2007, 09:30:05 AM
friar tucks most overated fast food outlet ever.granted their chicken sauce hard beat people talk about theitr chicken burgers overated as f**k and the chips are dot cotton!

Cafollas Lurgan
Slice of America Lurgan
Fergusons,Moy

Have to agree about friar tucks very overrated...

James chinese in Newry has the best curry in the country!!!  Also Europa is hard to beat for pizza especially at 3oclock on a sunday mornin!!
Post by: doofus on October 09, 2007, 08:15:29 PM
the brass monkey in newry does a mean chicken curry
Post by: Puckoon on October 10, 2007, 04:36:18 AM
Omagh: McCleans chip shop on the hospital road

Belfast: Spuds (Shaftsbury Square -thanks hardstation!) Bolognese, Cheese and Chips

Reno: The little nugget, ask for the awful awful.

Post by: Puckoon on October 10, 2007, 04:07:18 PM
A feck, im all confused now. Bradbury place is where benedicts is? But you said Laverys is in shafsbury square, and its just across the fecking road.
Post by: mannix on October 10, 2007, 04:55:41 PM
Chipadora in the ardnaree side of ballina city, deadly grub after a dose of porter.
Post by: gerry on October 10, 2007, 09:28:44 PM
QuoteIs there still a place in Fintona called Starvo's??  Shite food but what a great name for a chipper!!

still there
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 10, 2007, 09:45:54 PM
Quote from: amallon on August 22, 2007, 05:12:33 PM
Mullins in Dundalk do great fish and chips. All of their stuff is good.
Yeah but you need to get them to give you about three bags of chips.
Post by: Gold on October 11, 2007, 12:34:12 AM
Nico's is dodgy as f**k beside maeghers

when u say garlic the lovely chinese woman thinks u said curry(twice was takin the piss but i caught her out that 2nd day when i said whos that curry in the microwave 4?!)

uv been warned

Curry cheese chips are not wot god intended when he dreamed up the chippy
Post by: wrecked_em on October 11, 2007, 01:30:48 AM
isobeals on the lisburn rd beside tatu is good tack

gaze rinky dinks on the ormeau recently opened and is the dogs balearics, go for the 'pan pan' chicken and you wont be dissapointed!
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 11, 2007, 09:14:44 PM
saffron sam2's contribution.

Depending on the mood:

Chicken burger - Mr J.D. (O'Hara's) on the Newtownards Road
Fish Supper - the Roundabout
Sliced Chicken, Chips & Gravy - Fusco's
Curried Fish Supper - Valente's (old Red Barn opposite Casement) or Genoa in Newry
Kebab on chips - Sphinx
Curry - Rose Garden in Newry

Interestingly, though somewhat surprisingly, I can still fit into the same shorts I last wore in a senior championship match in 1997.
Post by: Gold on October 11, 2007, 09:28:17 PM
isabeals--best chipper ive ever been 2

chips amazing--chicken fillet cheeze burgers
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 11, 2007, 09:35:58 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 11, 2007, 09:32:14 PM
QuoteFish Supper - the Roundabout
At one time - yes but not anymore.

Have to disagree, and they got five stars for the cleanliness too.
Post by: Square Ball on October 11, 2007, 09:54:18 PM
For Cod and for Ulster, get the family feast for.....

wait for it

yes you guessed it

£16.90
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 11, 2007, 11:59:52 PM
Tasty and Tempting food at Supermacs!!

Normally i wouldn't touch this place with Gnevin's...but after a super sunday in Kilkenny of all day drinking,A garlic chip with cheese and a smokey bacon burger is yer only man
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2007, 12:03:23 AM
Also there is a place across from Flannery's in Dublin, can't think of the name but they do the nicest 1/4 pounders on earth
Post by: thebandit on October 12, 2007, 10:04:20 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2007, 12:03:23 AM
Also there is a place across from Flannery's in Dublin, can't think of the name but they do the nicest 1/4 pounders on earth

Ricos?
Post by: Puckoon on October 12, 2007, 05:17:27 PM
Jesus lads Id give my left arm for a battered sausage supper right about now - from anywhere! Maybe throw a wee curry on the chips, crack open a can of coke and Id be in heaven.
2 problems though: Its 9.15 am, and Im about 5000 miles away from a battered sausage.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2007, 08:41:22 PM
Quote from: thebandit on October 12, 2007, 10:04:20 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2007, 12:03:23 AM

Ricos?

Yeah could be it... it's usually 3am after a feed of beer when I'm there but i think they are fantastic burgers
Post by: pedro on October 13, 2007, 10:33:44 AM
Ah LaoisLad no!! Surely you can't be talking about Burgermax?! The greatest pile of sh!ite and the lads behind the counter constantly try to take advantage of the drunk customer by overcharging them, scumbags!!

if you're in Flannery's (or Coppers afterwards as is usually the case) you have to make a venture to Zaytoon, serious kebabs.
Or as someone else pointed out, Manhatten. A cup of tae and fry, hard to beat!
Post by: The Corporal on October 15, 2007, 07:01:46 PM
Joe Burn's in Banbridge is the business, battered sausage supper is the dogs balls!!!!

Also Pat Prices in Newry is also pretty sweet!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 07:04:37 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 12, 2007, 12:08:45 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 11, 2007, 11:59:52 PM
Tasty and Tempting food at Supermacs!!

Normally i wouldn't touch this place with Gnevin's..but after a super sunday in Kilkenny of all day drinking,A garlic chip with cheese and a smokey bacon burger is yer only man
Fcuk, that sounds like the business. You know what? I'm going to give this a go. Roll on Sunday...........................(not in Kilkenny though).

Did ya try the auld garlic and cheese chips at weekend hardstation?
Post by: Bogball XV on October 15, 2007, 09:59:41 PM
Quote from: pedro on October 13, 2007, 10:33:44 AM
Ah LaoisLad no!! Surely you can't be talking about Burgermax?! The greatest pile of sh!ite and the lads behind the counter constantly try to take advantage of the drunk customer by overcharging them, scumbags!!

if you're in Flannery's (or Coppers afterwards as is usually the case) you have to make a venture to Zaytoon, serious kebabs.
Or as someone else pointed out, Manhatten. A cup of tae and fry, hard to beat!
Nah, it's some Italian lad - Rico's sounds more like it.  Is the Manhattan still open, I've been past it a few times during the day recently and it looks pretty closed!!
Post by: pedro on October 16, 2007, 03:29:39 PM
Oh Manhatten is still open surely! It was a toss up between Zaytoon and Manhatten last nite (after Coppers' last nite - oh the joys of college!) Coincidentally, going to some Indian restaurant to buy a few bottles of wine was our final choice...
Post by: inisceithleann on October 16, 2007, 04:17:28 PM
Last Sunday week, dying with a hangover I wandered into Burger King in Carlisle looking for breakfast. It was 11:02 and as I was 2 mins late yer doll behind the counter told me I was too late and would have to order a meal. I went for a Chicken Royale meal and i'm telling ye went down a storm. It's not often BK or McDs get my vote but wasn't bad that morning and hit the spot. Is there any circumstances where these places are better than your local chipper?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2007, 04:19:53 PM
Wouldn't eat anything from Burger King i think they are muck..Would have a Maccy D's now and again but i prefer the local chipper if i am going to have fast food
Post by: inisceithleann on October 16, 2007, 04:21:51 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 16, 2007, 04:19:53 PM
Wouldn't eat anything from Burger King i think they are muck..Would have a Maccy D's now and again but i prefer the local chipper if i am going to have fast food

Totally agree, its the fries that piss me off. Don't fill ye and are totally tasteless.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 16, 2007, 04:22:25 PM
Honourable mention to Morelli's near the Cinema on the Roscommon side of Carrick (Cortober). A very helpful addition to the route to Dublin. Had a fine 1/4 pounder with cheese out of it on friday night on the way to the schmoke.
Post by: Puckoon on October 16, 2007, 04:28:40 PM
Burger King isnt bad compared with McDonalds and so on. Good hefty beef (  :-\ ) burgers. KFC isnt bad either for a bite of greasy chicken.

Going to prepare a new would you/wouldnt you question.

1. Cheesy gordita crunch

(http://badfoodad.com/imgs/tacobell_cheesygord_ad.jpg)

2. Big Mac

(http://images.businessweek.com/ss/06/05/what_things_cost/image/bigmac.jpg)

3. Fillet of fish

(http://www.mcdonaldsindia.com/ourfood/nonveg/of_nonv_filofish.jpg)

4. Wendys spicy chicken sandwich

(http://photos2.flickr.com/2060355_e7befca3af_m.jpg)

5. Quarter pounder with cheese

(http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/9452/videostilleb4.jpg)

6.Curry Chip

(http://farm1.static.flickr.com/62/164245094_3d861594d4.jpg)

7. Battered sausage supper

(http://xo.typepad.com/blog/images/stonner.jpg)

8. Fish supper

(http://www.bbc.co.uk/cumbria/content/images/2006/04/04/fish_and_chips_200x200.jpg)

9. Biscuits and gravy

(http://www.browniepointsblog.com/wordpress/wp-images/2006/01/BiscuitsandGravy.jpg)