GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Over the Bar on December 13, 2006, 09:15:00 AM

Title: John Toal next to be banished from Armagh set-up.
Post by: Over the Bar on December 13, 2006, 09:15:00 AM
John Toal follows Aidan O'Rourke in venting his anger at being banished from the Armagh set-up without being consulted on the matter.  Both players were surprised to learn through the media that they had "retired" from inter-county football. 

Despite this attempt to force him off the panel Toal is hopeful of forcing his way back into the senior set-up and has been working hard on his fitness of late after suffering a horrendous injury in last year's Ulster SFC final drawn game.

"I have trained nearly every day for the past year-and-a-half, and I have no intention of retiring," he revealed.

"I'm still in the gym and I'm training nearly every night of the week. I have every intention of going back and playing for club and county."

Looks like  Armagh's PR dept could do with a shake up!   :-\
Title: Re: John Toal next to be banished from Armagh set-up.
Post by: Kerry Mike on December 13, 2006, 09:25:13 AM
QuoteI have every intention of going back and playing for club and county

Paul Galvin is looking forward to Mr Tool's return as well.
Post by: Spiritof98 on December 13, 2006, 09:26:52 AM
Only going to be one winner mike
Post by: charlie linkbox on December 13, 2006, 09:30:24 AM
Would John Toal be a first choice midfielder anyway even if he got back to being fully fit or is he wasting his time?
Any Armagh folk enlighten me?
Post by: The Bottom Brick on December 13, 2006, 09:32:17 AM
QuoteMr Tool's return

Mr Tool? Ha ha ha that's brilliant!! Unbelievable!

Please Kerry Mike tell us another one! Don't stop!!! :D
Post by: maddog on December 13, 2006, 09:34:13 AM
Quote from: charlie linkbox on December 13, 2006, 09:30:24 AM
Would John Toal be a first choice midfielder anyway even if he got back to being fully fit or is he wasting his time?
Any Armagh folk enlighten me?

Not for me he wouldn't. First choice partnership for me would be McGrane and Loughran (thats if Loughran was at his best). John Toal is a workhorse and a great trier but for me lacks the skill and vision required and is a poor passer of the ball, also he gets blocked down way to often imho. I can't fault the man for his dedication and commitment.
Post by: full back on December 13, 2006, 09:41:27 AM
I think that Toal & Loughran are similar types of players and it would be a toss-up between who would be first choice. It wouldnt be logical to play them at the same time
Post by: full back on December 13, 2006, 09:45:25 AM

Paul Galvin is looking forward to Mr Tool's return as well.

Jaysus Mike, you really are some craic. ::)
Did someone tell you that or did you make it up all by yourself
Post by: Uladh on December 13, 2006, 10:03:54 AM

Toal and Loughran couldn't be more different as players. Toal is a grafter who wins ball and moves it on, covers his defence, makes tackles and plays the game simply. Loughran is a luxury player. He fields infrequent spectacular high balls and breaks forward well but has no work rate. i guess its a case of what you're looking for from a midfielder.
Post by: lurganblue on December 13, 2006, 10:08:14 AM
this probably isnt a bad thing for toal. it means he gets to play more games for his club which should help his recovery. give him a year at playing club football and see how he gets on...

O'Rourke on the other hand should still be on the panel
Post by: full back on December 13, 2006, 10:08:36 AM
C'mon Uladh, arent you being a tad unfair on Loughran.
"He fields infrequent spectacular high balls" is a bit harsh.
Post by: maddog on December 13, 2006, 10:19:02 AM
Quote from: full back on December 13, 2006, 10:08:36 AM
C'mon Uladh, arent you being a tad unfair on Loughran.
"He fields infrequent spectacular high balls" is a bit harsh.

Harsh but probably fair, and often when he lands he is too easily dispossessed in the tackle.
Post by: Colonel Cool on December 13, 2006, 10:28:08 AM
How many fecking Armagh threads to we need?  :-\
Post by: full back on December 13, 2006, 10:28:39 AM
Maddog, it doesnt say much for Toal when you would have Loughran in front of him yet you are saying "Harsh but probably fair, and often when he lands he is too easily dispossessed in the tackle."

Colonel Cool if you dont like it stay out of it
Post by: The Bottom Brick on December 13, 2006, 10:37:49 AM
Good man Colonel Cool, if you don't like the thread make sure to post on it and keep it at the top of the page anyway!
Post by: maddog on December 13, 2006, 10:39:46 AM
Quote from: full back on December 13, 2006, 10:28:39 AM
Maddog, it doesnt say much for Toal when you would have Loughran in front of him yet you are saying "Harsh but probably fair, and often when he lands he is too easily dispossessed in the tackle."

Colonel Cool if you dont like it stay out of it

As i said earlier id have Loughran in (if he's at his best). However he can be frustrating hence the comment above. On 2003 form i'd have him in there.
Post by: Border Fox on December 13, 2006, 11:20:07 AM
This is one of these situations where Big Joe is damned either way. Nobody could ever question John Toals commitment - the man is a legend. However, is he, after such a horrific injury, one of the best 30 footballers in the county?
Post by: Uladh on December 13, 2006, 11:33:19 AM

Surely O'Rourke is one of the best 30 footballers in the county?

bullying the kernan boys aside of course...
Post by: Border Fox on December 13, 2006, 11:37:38 AM
good point Uladh.... is there going to be an O'Rourke on the panel in '07?

Martin has his faults but he's a good man in a battle
Micheal certainly has talent
Post by: bennydorano on December 13, 2006, 11:39:03 AM
Toal was one of those players that you(me anyway) never appreciated when he was slogging his guts out,his loss has been sorely felt since his injury, Loughran is a big Ginny.  We still need a MF, Nippy is still too light, is Lavery from Maghery departed? he has always looked good IMO.
Post by: Over the Bar on December 13, 2006, 12:50:25 PM
From what I've seen of Toal & Loughran there's little to compare them.  Toal would make it onto my team anyday, a real no-frills reliable, work-horse. Every team needs one.  Loughran would only make the bench.
Post by: armaghniac on December 13, 2006, 01:41:25 PM
Given all that he has been through, there is a question over the extent to which Toal will be able to play at the top level again. It is not desirable to push things too far too soon. However it would have been better for Joe to have consulted the man and to have said that if things go well with the club football that he might be considered for the county again.