GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: unoino on February 05, 2015, 05:44:36 AM

Title: Gaa poor communication publication
Post by: unoino on February 05, 2015, 05:44:36 AM
As a gaa fan in the UK..Im eager to watch and listen to as many gaa games as I can...but not only for the excitement  the speed and skill of the game but I also bet weekly/daily on gaa events/games.Now then whilst I accept that gaa football/hurling has come along way..I really think Ireland has to look to the future to gain new audiences and bring bigtime communication and big money into the game...I recently tried to watch tg4 live coverage on my pc...that didnt work..it was in gaelic and a recording...Now I know there are many pubs in the uk where i can go and watch many if not all games in gaa  however its frustrating knowing I cant watch these games at home but what is more frustrating is gaa live scores  even with hoganstand/live gaelic  the scores are slow and sometimes incorrect eg ..Im counting my money with 30 seconds left team a are 2 11 team b 1 8   then when the final result comes and games finished team b have won 3 12 to 2 11..last year i even had BetVictor pay me on a losing bet when wicklow lost...What Im saying is whilst I love and support the Irish culture i do think gaa has miles to go in rendering these problems its almost archaeich in comparison to sky and bbc football coverage..and why are tg4 covering games in gaelic ..i love the gaelic accent but i dont want to hear Irish commentary ...something bigtime needs to be done...there are many bookmakers who dont even bet on gaa events because coverage and communication is poor..I mean how do they relay a score at a ground is it an oldboy with an old nokia texting gaa after a point has bn scored...
Title: Re: Gaa poor communication publication
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 05, 2015, 06:16:05 AM
Quotewhy are tg4 covering games in gaelic

Is this satire?
Post by: thewobbler on February 05, 2015, 06:56:26 AM
Seems to me that the basic gist of this and your other thread is that you like to punt on GAA matches, and don't like waiting around for the results. Poor you.
Post by: unoino on February 05, 2015, 07:05:17 AM
In reply to the previous post...waiting around and incorrect/slow information are not good especially when alot of your audience are abroad..now no matter how ignorant one is about rights and wrongs of gaa..the fact is communication has to improve otherwise your audience will decrease.
Post by: seafoid on February 05, 2015, 07:19:33 AM
Gamble responsibly.
If skybet or whoever want to do more GAA business it is up to them to organise the streaming of scores.
The gaa's job is the games and rte run the analysis circus.
Post by: unoino on February 05, 2015, 07:34:02 AM
I totally agree sky and the likes should do more but also gaa has to move on .Were not in early 20th century gaelic is a minority though  very important its never right that some games are broadcast  in gaelic..indeed the whole of gaa needs looking at..hurling the fastest ball game in the world could be enjoyed the world over if gaa got huge industry involved..gaa has to remember that this game is loved by many millions worldwide but how many people does it reach outside of Ireland.
Post by: seafoid on February 05, 2015, 08:05:21 AM
Quote from: unoino on February 05, 2015, 07:34:02 AM
I totally agree sky and the likes should do more but also gaa has to move on .Were not in early 20th century gaelic is a minority though  very important its never right that some games are broadcast  in gaelic..indeed the whole of gaa needs looking at..hurling the fastest ball game in the world could be enjoyed the world over if gaa got huge industry involved..gaa has to remember that this game is loved by many millions worldwide but how many people does it reach outside of Ireland.

What is the problem with broadcasting it in Irish? Can't Paddy Power do interpretation  for you ? Sounds like you need to be buailte go cruinn around the ceann
Post by: unoino on February 05, 2015, 08:32:37 AM
Its incredible some of the views on here...long may it continue broadcasting in gaelic...omg !!!.....Ireland have some of the best I.T in the world and im advocating that through technology Ireland can reap the rewards by commuting games in English..this language is spoken by many many millions so wouldnt the first step be to keep gaelic as a language enjoyed in schools but in the fast moving environment of communication transfer to English.... its a little misleading like algerbra at school we were all taught it but never used in real life scenarios...theres a big audience in the big world but we need to have games like those on tg4 in english.
Post by: seafoid on February 05, 2015, 08:45:02 AM
Quote from: unoino on February 05, 2015, 08:32:37 AM
Its incredible some of the views on here...long may it continue broadcasting in gaelic...omg !!!.....Ireland have some of the best I.T in the world and im advocating that through technology Ireland can reap the rewards by commuting games in English..this language is spoken by many many millions so wouldnt the first step be to keep gaelic as a language enjoyed in schools but in the fast moving environment of communication transfer to English.... its a little misleading like algerbra at school we were all taught it but never used in real life scenarios...theres a big audience in the big world but we need to have games like those on tg4 in english.
Get Betfreesixfive to pay for broadcast of the TG4 matches as Bearla. This is a commercial issue so if there is enough money in it surely they'll do it 

Otherwise move back to Ireland and learn the Erse

Those are your 2 options

but always gamble responsibly
Post by: imtommygunn on February 05, 2015, 08:46:46 AM
TG4 is an Irish speaking channel - that's the point of it...

You can get games on setanta in english and RTE highlights are in english.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 05, 2015, 08:52:52 AM
Yeah, I've written to S4C and complained about them broadcasting matches in Welsh. The cheek of them to use their language.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 05, 2015, 09:07:29 AM
Something should be done about channel 9 though with all them ones speaking in that derry city accent...
Post by: deiseach on February 05, 2015, 09:14:42 AM
Quote from: unoino on February 05, 2015, 05:44:36 AM
last year i even had BetVictor pay me on a losing bet when wicklow lost...

(http://www.freebetshere.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/betvictor-ad.jpg)
Post by: armaghniac on February 05, 2015, 09:59:02 AM
WUM. TG is supposed to provide programmes in Irish, that's what they do.
Gaelic games covered in Gaelic, whatever next?
Post by: theticklemister on February 05, 2015, 10:30:25 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 05, 2015, 09:07:29 AM
Something should be done about channel 9 though with all them ones speaking in that derry city accent...

Hi, Ye love us alone. Where is your local channel???

Our anchor news reporter use to have a lisp; it was fecking hilarious!!

On another point the author of this thread is wan toolbag
Post by: macdanger2 on February 05, 2015, 10:52:48 AM
I recently tried to watch tg4 live coverage on my pc...that didnt work..it was in gaelic and a recording...

If you were watching a recording, then the game was over - maybe write to TG4 and ask them to send you out a time machine (with subtitles enabled)
Post by: Rossfan on February 05, 2015, 11:04:34 AM
I suspect that buck/girleeen is a right WUM ;).
On a serious note -does the GAA get any percentage of money bet on matches and can the GAA stop those gambling parasites from using our games to line their pockets even more than they are already?
Post by: supersarsfields on February 05, 2015, 11:13:46 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 05, 2015, 10:52:48 AM
I recently tried to watch tg4 live coverage on my pc...that didnt work..it was in gaelic and a recording...

If you were watching a recording, then the game was over - maybe write to TG4 and ask them to send you out a time machine (with subtitles enabled)

The recordings are the best ones to bet on. No excuses for getting it wrong....
Post by: Hardy on February 05, 2015, 11:38:04 AM
Quote from: frostbit on February 05, 2015, 10:55:20 AMwe are about the promotion of our cultural past times

Some would say there's a bit too much emphasis on that.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 05, 2015, 11:40:31 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 05, 2015, 11:04:34 AM
I suspect that buck/girleeen is a right WUM ;).
On a serious note -does the GAA get any percentage of money bet on matches and can the GAA stop those gambling parasites from using our games to line their pockets even more than they are already?

Does any sport?
Post by: Keane on February 05, 2015, 11:47:29 AM
You can get live score updates for most games here:

livegaelic.com/scores
Post by: Keane on February 05, 2015, 11:49:15 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 05, 2015, 10:52:48 AM

I think he means that when you try to watch TG4 matches online from the UK they replace the live broadcast with some old GAA programme. I happened to be in the UK last weekend and had that issue - had to pay a tenner to GAAGO to get the Kerry match.
Post by: twohands!!! on February 05, 2015, 01:50:09 PM
While not really agreeing with his overall point, he does make the excellent point that having so many game on TG4 is less than ideal in terms of growing/maintaining the popularity of Gaelic Games given the fact that for vast swathes of the population TG4 simply doesn't register so having such a high chunk of the games on does very little to grow/develop/maintain the popularity of the sport.

Then you have the coverage RTE give Gaelic games, which seems to be stuck in a time when the overwhelming majority of the population lived in 2 channel land and is a lot more limited than it should be imo.

As regards the constitution of the organisation, I wonder if it's time that the GAA had a discussion on the promotion of the Irish language aspect of things - you'd imagine that there the number of people for whom this is a core value would be fairly small, whereas for most people it falls into the nice token gesture/figleaf category.
Post by: seafoid on February 05, 2015, 02:00:33 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on February 05, 2015, 01:50:09 PM
While not really agreeing with his overall point, he does make the excellent point that having so many game on TG4 is less than ideal in terms of growing/maintaining the popularity of Gaelic Games given the fact that for vast swathes of the population TG4 simply doesn't register so having such a high chunk of the games on does very little to grow/develop/maintain the popularity of the sport.

Then you have the coverage RTE give Gaelic games, which seems to be stuck in a time when the overwhelming majority of the population lived in 2 channel land and is a lot more limited than it should be imo.

As regards the constitution of the organisation, I wonder if it's time that the GAA had a discussion on the promotion of the Irish language aspect of things - you'd imagine that there the number of people for whom this is a core value would be fairly small, whereas for most people it falls into the nice token gesture/figleaf category.

TG4 show the games that RTE won't or can't.
It's not a commercial imperative. It's cultural. And part of who we are FFS.

The whole point of TG4 is suil eile. A different way of looking at things.
If people don't like Irish they can watch RTE LOL.

BTW the GAA should dump the shite singing as Bearla at the end of the AIF and get some proper culture in.   
Post by: twohands!!! on February 05, 2015, 02:13:18 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 05, 2015, 02:00:33 PM

BTW the GAA should dump the shite singing as Bearla at the end of the AIF and get some proper culture in.

TG4 do a good job but I really get the feeling they are in a bit of a ghetto that isnt very welcoming to outsiders.

RTE seem to be more and more intent on becoming the Rugby channel.

The thing is that for the massive overwhelming majority the language of the GAA is actually English - the whole Irish thing seems to be one of those aspirational things that all the politicians say that no-one really believes. Seems to be just tradition and historic reasons it is still there in the GAA constitution and that if it were removed very few would be all that bothered.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 05, 2015, 03:11:30 PM
Tradition and history are a huge part of the GAA. I have no issue with TG4 broadcasting the games in Irish, and to be honest I think we owe them a debt of gratitude for the service they provide. If tG4 didn't show it, do you think RTE would pick up the games? Not a chance.

Sometimes things just aren't broken. Leave them be.
Post by: rosnarun on February 05, 2015, 03:31:34 PM
i think TG coverage is a little bit of an elephant in the room for the  GAA. the coverage they give is excellent in its own way and
hugely better than no coverage  and  covers a lot of games that would never get on RTE ie Club games colleges  ect .
but  NFL as a national competition should  be available to in the language the Vast majority Speak,
S4C provide a second audio track in english for major events . would that we feasable for tG4?
Post by: seafoid on February 05, 2015, 05:24:32 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on February 05, 2015, 02:13:18 PM

TG4 do a good job but I really get the feeling they are in a bit of a ghetto that isnt very welcoming to outsiders.

RTE seem to be more and more intent on becoming the Rugby channel.

The thing is that for the massive overwhelming majority the language of the GAA is actually English - the whole Irish thing seems to be one of those aspirational things that all the politicians say that no-one really believes. Seems to be just tradition and historic reasons it is still there in the GAA constitution and that if it were removed very few would be all that bothered.
Can you come back to discuss that point in August ?
Post by: unoino on February 05, 2015, 09:35:59 PM
Some interesting viewpoints but...dont worry Im not trying to detract from Irish history nor am i advocating to rid the emerald Isle of gaelic language/culture but what an awful lot of people on here fail to realise is that the gaa WILL have to change just as day turns to night.Unfortunately society changes and we all have to accept it...just take a trip to Dublin and count the number of immigrants living in Ireland and begging on streets..unfortunately its called change  its not the Ireland that I want to see ...but its here...going back to the gaa Im trying to look for better communication ..we can send a text from here to the other side of the world in a second but to get scores relayed quickly and precisely to the uk seems to be ...well not great...and yes to the persons who repeatedly write ...i had betvictor pay me out on a losing bet when Wicklow actually lost..is typical of how great the communications are...and why do bookmakers in many instances not bet on gaa...exactly the service is poor....but to all the hardliners who want to live in the past..."that place where we all love and remember" ...sometimes we have no choice but to move on ...im not saying get rid of gaa but the whole concept of communcating to a wider audience will benefit Ireland "no end" and yes huge conglomerates need to be involved.Irelands a world leader in IT and theres a huge audience that want to watch these games....so lets start by putting all games in English with a button so that the 3% of the population who speak gaelic  daily can understand...I think the gaa will always be encased in Irish history and culture ..and thats fantastic...i agree with helping communities and schools etc ...but the bigger picture has to also be discussed ...id like to ask if everygame was on sky both football and hurling ..would the hardliners who dont like change still watch...or as there advocating turn off in there droves?
Post by: imtommygunn on February 05, 2015, 09:55:03 PM
A) have you heard of paragraphs

B) the results of lower league games in most counties are available pretty much instantaneously never mind the big games. (On the internet). The bookie just didn't know where to look. It's their fault.

Sky had very low uptake on our games.

Tg4 is an irish language station. If rte, our local broadcaster, don't see winter games as lucrative enough then why would a "conglomerate" want to broadcast it internationally?
Post by: 5 Sams on February 05, 2015, 09:59:49 PM
Isn't it ironic...someone who struggles to express himself in English complaining about TG4 broadcasting games in Irish. :-\
Post by: Itchy on February 05, 2015, 10:11:25 PM
I went to a fecking match last weekend and there was no commentary in any language. No fights in the crowd either, no segregation and no abusive chanting. We are so backward in the GAA.
Post by: Jinxy on February 05, 2015, 10:29:11 PM

I couldn't agree more.
Think of all the great homegrown artists we could be promoting.

(http://i.ytimg.com/vi/aG2oA59uojU/hqdefault.jpg)
Post by: 5 Sams on February 05, 2015, 10:36:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 05, 2015, 10:24:14 PM
Sunday after Sunday TG4 send cameras out to games up and down the length of the country, they produce many great GAA programmes such as Laochra Gael and Seó Spóirt while other broadcasters don't give a flying fcuk yet RTÉ and Sky cream off the championship games. If the upper echelons of the GAA weren't a bundle of cocks, they'd give TG4 the whole lot.
+1 +1 +1 Nach bhfuil RTE agus TG4 baill den comhlacht céanna??? Anyway you are 100% right. I have been saying it for years.
Post by: mrhardyannual on February 06, 2015, 01:05:09 AM
I think you are all being a little hard on Omoino. He is really only pointing out the how difficult it is for a foreign audience to understand Gaelic football when broadcast "as Gaeilge"

Now that he has opened the debate there are a few more changes we could make to engage the overseas market and the gambling fraternity:

Players picking up the ball is confusing
The pitch is too big and there are too many players.
Awarding scores for shots passing over the crossbar is too lenient.
Goalkeepers should not be allowed pick up back-passes.
Too many players stay on their feet in a "macho" manner when tackled instead of going to ground and allowing time for spectators to get drinks etc from the  vendors.
There are too many scores which means that those watching require a high mathematical ability.

Now with a few small change we could end up with a truly riveting game with worldwide appeal.
Post by: theticklemister on February 06, 2015, 07:22:38 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on February 06, 2015, 01:05:09 AM
I think you are all being a little hard on Omoino. He is really only pointing out the how difficult it is for a foreign audience to understand Gaelic football when broadcast "as Gaeilge"

Now that he has opened the debate there are a few more changes we could make to engage the overseas market and the gambling fraternity:

Players picking up the ball is confusing
The pitch is too big and there are too many players.
Awarding scores for shots passing over the crossbar is too lenient.
Goalkeepers should not be allowed pick up back-passes.
Too many players stay on their feet in a "macho" manner when tackled instead of going to ground and allowing time for spectators to get drinks etc from the  vendors.
There are too many scores which means that those watching require a high mathematical ability.

Now with a few small change we could end up with a truly riveting game with worldwide appeal.

Oh holy fcuk what was this post about????? 

And to you unoino you stated in your post that you didn't want to see immigrants come to our country and beg......' It's not the Ireland I wish to see'. I don't care if it is Irish people or other peoe of different nationalities begging on our street. In this time of day, we as a country have the capabilities of making sure no one begs on the street. But it doesn't stop me giving a few bob to whoever they ar. We are lucky to have such a 'rich' life but others are not. Please don't use your right wing fees to condemn those who have been unlucky.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 06, 2015, 07:57:04 AM
It's a joke. He's saying it should be soccer.  :)
Post by: deiseach on February 06, 2015, 09:38:22 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 05, 2015, 10:29:11 PM
I couldn't agree more.
Think of all the great homegrown artists we could be promoting.

(http://i.ytimg.com/vi/aG2oA59uojU/hqdefault.jpg)

That looks familiar...

(http://media.irishcentral.com/images/notre_dame_man.jpg)

Ah yes. That was it.
Post by: seafoid on February 06, 2015, 09:55:26 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 05, 2015, 10:36:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 05, 2015, 10:24:14 PM
Sunday after Sunday TG4 send cameras out to games up and down the length of the country, they produce many great GAA programmes such as Laochra Gael and Seó Spóirt while other broadcasters don't give a flying fcuk yet RTÉ and Sky cream off the championship games. If the upper echelons of the GAA weren't a bundle of cocks, they'd give TG4 the whole lot.
+1 +1 +1 Nach bhfuil RTE agus TG4 baill den comhlacht céanna??? Anyway you are 100% right. I have been saying it for years.

tá agus níl
O thaobh an balance sheet de,  tá ach o thaobh an spioraid de, níl.

An achar idir Twink agus Iarla O Lionaird 
Post by: rosnarun on February 06, 2015, 09:56:57 AM
A lot of issues are being thrown into the pot here.
such as GAA's promtion of Gaelic Culture ie Scor, Irish language ect
the GAA as a social force binding communities together
The Quality of TG4's coverage  of games
the Quantity of Games they show from many Competitions
all of which scire very strongly, but i think the original issue was much simpler
as long as the games are transmitted in Irish many non committed people will not watch them. I am not talking about us freaks who post on GAA Chat boards when we should be working but the peole who would go to championship games but not league ones or who Idly choose what to watch  and wouuld even watch the Pro12 rugby on RTE in english but would not be arse watching it on TG4 in Irish
maybe  A similar deal couls be worked out with RTE for the NFL?
Post by: Hardy on February 06, 2015, 10:25:22 AM
Watching a match in Irish sounds a bit like frying an egg in algebra.
Post by: seafoid on February 06, 2015, 10:26:50 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 06, 2015, 09:56:57 AM
all of which scire very strongly, but i think the original issue was much simpler
as long as the games are transmitted in Irish many non committed people will not watch them. I am not talking about us freaks who post on GAA Chat boards when we should be working but the peole who would go to championship games but not league ones or who Idly choose what to watch  and wouuld even watch the Pro12 rugby on RTE in english but would not be arse watching it on TG4 in Irish
Maybe there will eventually be a specialist channel for that . It's getting cheaper. RTE could use the TG4 material....
Get a few sponsors in . But not for betting. 

RTE have to please everyone and that's hard.
They have set up some kind of restricted internet 'garden' for under 12s who don't watch TV as much as watch videos on tablets- they know their audience is changing
Post by: deiseach on February 06, 2015, 10:59:02 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 06, 2015, 09:56:57 AM

My guess - and it is only a guess, but I've been meeja-watching long enough to say it with some confidence - is that the outside broadcast costs for RTÉ, for all manner of reasons (cue a spot of union bashing, no doubt), are astronomical compared to those of the Young Turks in Nemeton. If the GAA wanted RTÉ to show League matches, they would have to make it worth RTÉ's while, i.e. pay them to broadcast them or take less from the Championship TV deal. And yes, I realise costs don't seem to prevent RTÉ making jaunts to All-Ireland League rugby games in front of a man and a dog, but that's different, innit?
Post by: rosnarun on February 06, 2015, 11:21:48 AM
OR do what the FAI do and more or less force RTE to Show LOI games by tying it in with the international Games. so because you want to see ROI play france they also have to show Wexford youths v Cabinteely in 400 people and probaly get a bigger audnce for it than TG4 do for most games just because it on in english on a popular channel even though no one give 2 fecks and both clubs will probably be in administrtion within 12 months
Post by: deiseach on February 06, 2015, 11:59:40 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on February 06, 2015, 11:21:48 AM
OR do what the FAI do and more or less force RTE to Show LOI games by tying it in with the international Games. so because you want to see ROI play france they also have to show Wexford youths v Cabinteely in 400 people and probaly get a bigger audnce for it than TG4 do for most games just because it on in english on a popular channel even though no one give 2 fecks and both clubs will probably be in administrtion within 12 months

You can be certain that the FAI are taking a hit in their contract in order to force RTÉ to show League of Ireland games. If you think that would be a good idea for the GAA, fine. But thanks to TG4, the GAA have options.
Post by: easytiger95 on February 06, 2015, 02:06:52 PM
QuotePosted by: deiseach
« on: Today at 10:59:02 AM » Insert Quote
Quote from: rosnarun on Today at 09:56:57 AM

My guess - and it is only a guess, but I've been meeja-watching long enough to say it with some confidence - is that the outside broadcast costs for RTÉ, for all manner of reasons (cue a spot of union bashing, no doubt), are astronomical compared to those of the Young Turks in Nemeton. If the GAA wanted RTÉ to show League matches, they would have to make it worth RTÉ's while, i.e. pay them to broadcast them or take less from the Championship TV deal. And yes, I realise costs don't seem to prevent RTÉ making jaunts to All-Ireland League rugby games in front of a man and a dog, but that's different, innit?

Deiseach cost is the issue, but it's not unionisation driving it. RTE outsourced their OB operations a long time ago, and now they use the independent contractors like everyone else. There are two places where cost is a consideration - first off, is it worth in itself to broadcast the matches on the national broadcaster - even a  basic enough OB will cost the guts of 20k, so say you have ten weeks of league coverage - including hurling only weekends etc, can you justify 400k? Remember RTE airtime is more valuable than TG4's - and 20,000 people watching a game on TG4 means a lot more to them than on RTE.

Secondly, TG4's model is low cost, no frills OBs - and we, the viewing public, applaud them for it, think of them as the scrappy underdog and forgive a multitude of sins (which is not to say I think their coverage is substandard - the rise of TG4 sports coverage is one of the greatest stories in Irish broadcasting) but RTE have different expectations factored in, in terms of technology, number of cameras etc - their OBs would be in general more expensive than TG4s (though i think over the past couple of years a more pragmatic attitude has prevailed in there).
Post by: twohands!!! on February 06, 2015, 02:25:58 PM
QuoteMaybe there will eventually be a specialist channel for that . It's getting cheaper. RTE could use the TG4 material.... 

I really think this could be a serious option for the GAA before too long.

You see the likes of Irish TV who are only desperate for content and you see clubs and schools broadcasting games on the internet for a pittance and it's very hard to see the current situation remaining the way it is for much longer.

How much would it cost the GAA to set up a partnership with say Irish TV in order to broadcast a chunk of those games currently not being broadcast? When you think of the number of games that go on around the country every week and the tiny percentage of them that are broadcast - this week alone you have had Sigerson, Fitzgibbon, schools games and junior/intermediate club all-Ireland games plus a raft of league games not being broadcast and it's only the start of February.

Say if they gave Irish TV the rights to the club and league games not broadcast on TG4/Setanta/RTE/Sky in return for broadcasting the games and the GAA retaining the ownership of the rights.
Post by: twohands!!! on February 06, 2015, 02:40:52 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on February 06, 2015, 02:06:52 PM
QuotePosted by: deiseach
« on: Today at 10:59:02 AM » Insert Quote
Quote from: rosnarun on Today at 09:56:57 AM

Deiseach cost is the issue, but it's not unionisation driving it. RTE outsourced their OB operations a long time ago, and now they use the independent contractors like everyone else. There are two places where cost is a consideration - first off, is it worth in itself to broadcast the matches on the national broadcaster - even a  basic enough OB will cost the guts of 20k, so say you have ten weeks of league coverage - including hurling only weekends etc, can you justify 400k? Remember RTE airtime is more valuable than TG4's - and 20,000 people watching a game on TG4 means a lot more to them than on RTE.

Secondly, TG4's model is low cost, no frills OBs - and we, the viewing public, applaud them for it, think of them as the scrappy underdog and forgive a multitude of sins (which is not to say I think their coverage is substandard - the rise of TG4 sports coverage is one of the greatest stories in Irish broadcasting) but RTE have different expectations factored in, in terms of technology, number of cameras etc - their OBs would be in general more expensive than TG4s (though i think over the past couple of years a more pragmatic attitude has prevailed in there).

Just looking at this weekend on Sunday on RTE 1 at 14:40 they have a repeat of Natural World and at 15:35 The Lady Vanishes also marked as a repeat.

On Saturday evening on RTE2 they have the France Scotland rugby game going on until 19:30 ( the game kicks off at 5 so
followed by Ireland's Grand Slam Journey 2009 (another repeat) and Father Ted at 20:30 yet another repeat.

So basically RTE could easily show 1 national league game this weekend and with a bit of will and adjustment on throw-in times could show two and all that would be affected would be repeats.

The fact that the outside broadcasts would cost RTE 20k is an RTE issue and just symptomatic of how RTE wastes money.

Funny that you say we forgive TG4 a multitude of sins when I'm struggling to remember any technical issues with them, whereas with RTE it seems like they have technical issues all the time.

Post by: seafoid on February 06, 2015, 02:48:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 06, 2015, 10:25:22 AM
You can take a man out of the pale but you can't take the pale out of him
Post by: easytiger95 on February 06, 2015, 02:50:53 PM
Absolutely not a runner Twohands.

1. All these games that are not broadcast, they are still bought and sold under the GAA TV rights deals - so, for instance, TG4 could have shown all the O'byrne cup games, as they hold the rights. But they didn't, because there was no business case to show them. And if the GAA wanted someone else to show them, they'd have to get permission off TG4 to do so.

You could argue that TG4 wouldn't have a moral position to say no - but from a business position, the GAA bundles these matches together for broadcasters to buy - some matches have more value than others in the bundle, but the only way the GAA can get a good price for them is like this. If the GAA started leaning on rights holders to let others broadcast unshown games, they'd soon see the bids for bundles tumble.

2. Irish TV simply would not have the money to produce and show live games every week. In that situation, they'd either be looking for the GAA to subsidise them (something the GAA would never do as it would drain them of operating cash) or to become a subscription channel. And imagine the screams and roars from the grass roots at that stage?

For the record, I think the GAA will eventually have their own channel, but it won't be for games others don;t want to show - they'll keep all their content to themselves, it will be full subscription (with discounts for membership, of course)produce the channel themselves (through an independent company) and put it out on Sky and UPC. All Ireland finals will be on their channel plus RTE. It's the only way to guarantee their revenues, in the mid-term. Think well see it within the next 15 years (probably ten).
Post by: deiseach on February 06, 2015, 03:03:01 PM
Thanks for that, easytiger95, informative stuff. As you note, opportunity cost matters as much as anything. I hope I didn't give the impression that I welcomed union bashing, but even a dose of facts wouldn't stop the usual suspects!
Post by: seafoid on February 06, 2015, 03:17:01 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on February 06, 2015, 02:50:53 PM
Absolutely not a runner Twohands.

1. All these games that are not broadcast, they are still bought and sold under the GAA TV rights deals - so, for instance, TG4 could have shown all the O'byrne cup games, as they hold the rights. But they didn't, because there was no business case to show them. And if the GAA wanted someone else to show them, they'd have to get permission off TG4 to do so.

You could argue that TG4 wouldn't have a moral position to say no - but from a business position, the GAA bundles these matches together for broadcasters to buy - some matches have more value than others in the bundle, but the only way the GAA can get a good price for them is like this. If the GAA started leaning on rights holders to let others broadcast unshown games, they'd soon see the bids for bundles tumble.

2. Irish TV simply would not have the money to produce and show live games every week. In that situation, they'd either be looking for the GAA to subsidise them (something the GAA would never do as it would drain them of operating cash) or to become a subscription channel. And imagine the screams and roars from the grass roots at that stage?

For the record, I think the GAA will eventually have their own channel, but it won't be for games others don;t want to show - they'll keep all their content to themselves, it will be full subscription (with discounts for membership, of course)produce the channel themselves (through an independent company) and put it out on Sky and UPC. All Ireland finals will be on their channel plus RTE. It's the only way to guarantee their revenues, in the mid-term. Think well see it within the next 15 years (probably ten).

The old chestnut of how much the players get will definitely be prominent if this comes to pass
BY the way, what's the life of the Croke Park redevelopment? The GAA will have to start thinking about building up funding for that. 
Post by: joemamas on February 06, 2015, 03:18:19 PM
Have to agree with overall theme.

Went on GaA.IE a few weeks ago to try to figure out football Championship draw for football, i.e what teams will end up in A and B groups. Just gave up, no info. BTW, if anybody had this can they give me a link.

Thanks
Post by: theticklemister on February 06, 2015, 05:14:08 PM
Irish TV came to our training in Liverpool during the summer. Poor enough oul set up. They came to a GAA blitz which we organised at the Irish Wigan Festival last May. They are crying out for material to show but don't have the capabilities at all.
Post by: unoino on February 06, 2015, 06:48:13 PM
Moan moan moan..some posters on here are amazing..they cant see the woods for the trees...how on earth they argue about  gaa culture etc is beyond me....surely the way forward is to exploit the games and get coverage in english...thats for starters...secondly oust the oldman with the 5 yr old nokia relaying the scores from the ground by text..and often inaccurately!..but if the hardliners dont want to change well look at the long term benefits....isolated communities that live in the past ...believing the world evolves around the gaelic language and culture..failure to acknowledge opportunities to grow a market and for communities to reap the rewards... but heyho.... its an idyllic world that an awful lot on here seem to think they can live in...and yet there was hardly anyone who answered the question which was if sky showed all gaa games in english...would they watch.....Incredible!!! ;D
Post by: seafoid on February 06, 2015, 07:37:04 PM
Quote from: unoino on February 06, 2015, 06:48:13 PM
Moan moan moan..some posters on here are amazing..they cant see the woods for the trees...how on earth they argue about  gaa culture etc is beyond me....surely the way forward is to exploit the games and get coverage in english...thats for starters...secondly oust the oldman with the 5 yr old nokia relaying the scores from the ground by text..and often inaccurately!..but if the hardliners dont want to change well look at the long term benefits....isolated communities that live in the past ...believing the world evolves around the gaelic language and culture..failure to acknowledge opportunities to grow a market and for communities to reap the rewards... but heyho.... its an idyllic world that an awful lot on here seem to think they can live in...and yet there was hardly anyone who answered the question which was if sky showed all gaa games in english...would they watch.....Incredible!!! ;D
speak fahkin English mate
Post by: unoino on February 06, 2015, 09:09:15 PM
Stick to the point  reverting to stupiod phrases like that above is a great sign to say youve lost the argument. Incredible!!!
Post by: seafoid on February 06, 2015, 09:15:24 PM
Quote from: unoino on February 06, 2015, 09:09:15 PM
Stick to the point  reverting to stupiod phrases like that above is a great sign to say youve lost the argument. Incredible!!!
It's like asking why do they have TV in France in French. Stuck in a timewarp when English is the global language yada yada.
Why do they still play hurling in Ireland? wouldn't soccer be better  ? Or american football. 
Culture is all about traditions and what people like doing - if people like speaking Irish who are you to diss them ? 

your main problem is that Ireland is too small to support professional GAA with round the clock TV coverage
Post by: Rossfan on February 06, 2015, 09:24:11 PM
Time we stopped being Irish and gave up all that silliness of having a unique language sports and music etc.
All so a Summer can bet on games ::)
Post by: seafoid on February 06, 2015, 10:15:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 06, 2015, 09:24:11 PM
Time we stopped being Irish and gave up all that silliness of having a unique language sports and music etc.
All so a Summer can bet on games ::)
also accents Rossfan.
It's one thing having ould lads thumbing scores into nokias but why do commentators have to have local accents ?
Can't they talk in a Lancashire accent so people in England can understand them? 
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2015, 12:25:09 AM
Quote from: seafoid on February 06, 2015, 02:48:03 PM

Sorry, Don Quixote but it's another windmill.

I'll try again. Watching a match in English would be like building a wheelbarrow in the key of C.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 07, 2015, 12:29:24 AM
Fáilte ar ais arís a chara, welcome back Hardy! :)
Post by: armaghniac on February 07, 2015, 02:05:53 AM
Has Syferus got a troll account?
Post by: theticklemister on February 07, 2015, 02:12:27 AM
Up the f**king GAA!!!!!!
Post by: theticklemister on February 07, 2015, 02:13:05 AM
Up the f**king Irish language!!!!
Post by: theticklemister on February 07, 2015, 02:13:55 AM
Up the f**king Novelty Act and Set Dancing at the Scor!!!!!
Post by: theticklemister on February 07, 2015, 02:14:40 AM
Up the f**king RTE teletext local GAA scores!!!!!!
Post by: theticklemister on February 07, 2015, 02:15:10 AM
Up f**king Jimmy Magee!!!!
Post by: seafoid on February 07, 2015, 11:29:03 AM
Quote from: Hardy on February 07, 2015, 12:25:09 AM
Quote from: seafoid on February 06, 2015, 02:48:03 PM

Sorry, Don Quixote but it's another windmill.

I'll try again. Watching a match in English would be like building a wheelbarrow in the key of C.
Sorry Sancho. I didn't have my glasses on
Post by: OgraAnDun on February 07, 2015, 12:09:30 PM
A country without a language is a country without a soul.
Post by: seafoid on February 07, 2015, 12:54:23 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on February 07, 2015, 12:09:30 PM
and very little access to the fullness of its cultural history. Which is always needed.
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2015, 01:18:40 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on February 07, 2015, 12:09:30 PM

I've never heard of a country without a language. How would they communicate?
Post by: unoino on February 07, 2015, 08:36:02 PM
Just to emphasize the point on live gaelic the score for dublin v galway came in at Dublin 1-20 Galway 0-22..So Dublin win by 1point ..however on Hoganstand the score is Dublin 1-20  Galway 1-22  Galway win by 2....This is not bullshit its fact...HELP!!!!
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2015, 08:40:57 PM
Why are you bothering us with this complaint?. Take it up with hoganstand.com. (But don't expect any satisfaction - hoganstand is a joke site. Don't be looking there for scores.)
Post by: unoino on February 07, 2015, 08:49:36 PM
Because joker hoganstand is one of only 2 sites that cover live scores...Hello!!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 07, 2015, 08:53:55 PM
I'd you ever hear of a yoke called Twitter? If you follow the various county boards accounts you'll have no problem. 21st century man.
Post by: unoino on February 07, 2015, 09:04:44 PM
omg Twitter..so if twitter froze or was hacked how do i get results ..you guys are unbelievable...oh its ok just look on face book for some oldboy writing scores on page..Jokers!!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 07, 2015, 09:08:41 PM
You're a very poor windup merchant. If Twitter froze or got hacked? Jesus wept.
Post by: unoino on February 07, 2015, 09:18:14 PM
listen i love you guysi love ireland and i can tell almost every post on here if i was asked the origins (if I didnt know )id say everypost was by an irish person...they are all so humourous...and very staunch!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 07, 2015, 09:20:35 PM
Glad you enjoy them. 😄 now away and follow the various Twitter feeds and you'll have your live scores in a jiffy.

For national league games as well nearly every county is covered live on local radio, do you could stream them too.
Post by: unoino on February 07, 2015, 09:33:34 PM
ok my friend im off its been an interesting debate..wish you all the best for tomorrows game...and il catch you all soon
Post by: easytiger95 on February 07, 2015, 09:52:45 PM
one more happy degenerate gambler wanders into the night. Well done lads for looking after him.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 07, 2015, 10:18:19 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 07, 2015, 02:15:10 AM

Rather someone else than me tickle..... ;)
Post by: unoino on February 08, 2015, 06:08:45 AM
easytiger..i havent gone yet.."another degenerate gambler"..your country invented gambling didnt u ?????....But Im not doing to badly thankyou with Dublin to bt Donegal..Ireland to be Italy..France to bt Scotland..England to bt Wales...Glens Melody  and Pylonthepressure...Happy days here in England..but ..noticed in Walsh cup on livegaelic...Dublin won 1-20  Galway 0-22....!!!! Hoganstand Dublin 1-20 Galway 1-22.....amazin...oh yeah must remeber to join twitter for fast streamlined accurate results.!!!as if livegaelic and Hoganstand arent enough to get it wrong !!!Maybe the scores will be on facebook..smileyface!!!
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 08, 2015, 08:06:01 AM
Wow unoino. Your lack of proper punctuation knows no bounds.  ::)
Post by: unoino on February 08, 2015, 08:43:24 AM
Punctuation...do any of you guys even know what it means..reading some of the posts on here its like going back to the stoneage....Punctuation my arse!
Post by: easytiger95 on February 08, 2015, 12:52:14 PM
If you're not going too badly, why are you so upset about getting an incorrect result for the Walsh Cup Final?

You've basically performed the online version of stumbling into a GAA club bar, babbling on about the Premier League and your acca cash out option, and asking "What's the fakhin story with that Conal Keaney guy, i fought 'ee was a Gah footballer, innee???"

Now, unlike the Club, we don't have any members of the Junior hurlers' full back line (or Hell's Kitchen, as they style themselves) to escort you out. So we have to put up with your wumming (it's 1/2 that you're a member of this board already - you understand odds don't you?)

If I'm watching Sky Sports, I expect to have to see Ray Winstone every three minutes - I don't expect to have to listen to him whining on like the cast of Eastenders dropped over a cliff in a cage, every time I log on here.

Back to the "stoneage" with you WUM - or is that Stahhnn 'Enge?
Post by: unoino on February 08, 2015, 01:54:23 PM
Omg how many times do I have to state....The post "poor gaa communication"...hello....Youve just said what am i moaning about...Im moaning about gaa not having correct procedures to relay scores...Im even on lkive gaelic now and a kick off at 1.00 with carlow and london...after 45 mins no score....the mishaps go on and on...lastnight i referred to dublin v galway and 1 of your countrymen suggested that hoganstand was a joke however they got the score correct and live gaelic got it wrong..Whats going on over there...and no matter how you try you cant really defend this ..by suggesting I find scores on twitter and facebook...the gaa need to look at there services...they really are poor!!!!!...and it does matter to everybody not just me but many others...
Post by: LeoMc on February 09, 2015, 11:01:46 AM
Anybody know how Shelbourne reserves did on Saturday?
FIFA would need to sort themselves out >:(
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2015, 11:02:45 AM
The title of this thread gives me a headache.
Post by: Hardy on February 09, 2015, 11:15:48 AM
Yes, it's a shining example of communication ... aaaah ... publication - whatever.
Post by: Franko on February 09, 2015, 11:48:28 AM
I think yer man has a point here.  The TG4 argument is bullshit but he is correct in saying that that come of the GAA's communcation is woeful.

The iPhone app is absolutely shocking and the website not much better.  It shouldn't be too much to ask for them to update live scores a bit better.

As an example... try to find the score in the Walsh Cup final or the All-Ireland Club Semis on the results section of the iPhone app.  You won't have much luck.  Yet on the main results page the results from the group stages of the 2011 Sigerson Cup are displayed?

It's a bit of a nonsense and whichever department of the GAA deals with this really could do with a kick up the arse.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 09, 2015, 02:56:37 PM
ccccccc

Jimmy Magee me hole. Was driving back in the car yesterday and he came on Sunday Sport waxing lyrically about Michelle Smith. If I could have got my boot up out of the foot well I'd have put it through the radio. Thank Christ the kids were asleep in the back or they'd be repeating back a couple of new words this week.
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2015, 03:40:10 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 09, 2015, 02:56:37 PM
ccccccc

Jimmy Magee me hole. Was driving back in the car yesterday and he came on Sunday Sport waxing lyrically about Michelle Smith. If I could have got my boot up out of the foot well I'd have put it through the radio. Thank Christ the kids were asleep in the back or they'd be repeating back a couple of new words this week.

Androstenedione and what?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 09, 2015, 03:57:39 PM
You'reastupidfuckingbollocksmagee
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2015, 04:11:22 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 09, 2015, 03:57:39 PM
You'reastupidfuckingbollocksmagee

I bet your kids will be very good at scrabble.  ;D
Post by: Ard-Rí on February 11, 2015, 12:54:40 PM
I've never had any problem with live score updates on either Hoganstand or LiveGaelic in terms of accuracy, but if you want regular updates join twitter and follow the official accounts of the counties involved. A large number of clubs do these updates as well, and in fact our own club gives score by score Twitter updates for both our first and second teams so you could follow the events of a Meath Junior C match from the UK if you were so inclined.

The fact that TG4 broadcast so many games during the winter is one of the remaining indications that the GAA is still committed to its foundation ideals ... that the promotion of the Irish language is more important to the Association than the exploitation of new markets should be beyond obvious even with the recent Sky deal. If it is not, or it becomes the case that it is not, then something has gone very much astray in the GAA.
Post by: seafoid on February 19, 2015, 09:52:07 AM
I was looking at bet365 during the Basel Porto match last night. Basel scored an early goal and a wall of money must have been bet on them because the odds shortened. But Porto were the better team so the early money was wrong.  The crowd dynamics are interesting. Stock markets are similar.Bet 365 do 5 minute stock market predictions too in the financials section of the website. Very interesting if you are bored.

GAA can turn even faster than soccer but to get to bet365 levels of gambling intensity someone would have to provide the in play stats. Can't see the gaa or rte doing it. It is not in their interest to do so. Imagine betting on the number of rule infringements in a top class gaelic football match.

Post by: Brick Tamlin on February 19, 2015, 10:42:41 AM
Quote from: seafoid on February 19, 2015, 09:52:07 AM
I was looking at bet365 during the Basel Porto match last night. Basel scored an early goal and a wall of money must have been bet on them because the odds shortened. But Porto were the better team so the early money was wrong.  The crowd dynamics are interesting. Stock markets are similar.Bet 365 do 5 minute stock market predictions too in the financials section of the website. Very interesting if you are bored.

GAA can turn even faster than soccer but to get to bet365 levels of gambling intensity someone would have to provide the in play stats. Can't see the gaa or rte doing it. It is not in their interest to do so. Imagine betting on the number of rule infringements in a top class gaelic football match.

Whats that??
Post by: johnneycool on February 19, 2015, 01:32:47 PM

You'd get good odds on there being less than five fouls blown in a hurling game involving Kilkenny if Brian Gavin was refereeing!
Post by: muppet on February 19, 2015, 06:35:37 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 19, 2015, 01:32:47 PM

You'd get good odds on there being less than five fouls blown in a hurling game involving Kilkenny if Brian Gavin was refereeing!

What odds the number could be changed on appeal?
Post by: rosnarun on February 20, 2015, 02:27:14 PM
Gavin Duffy drooped and the first we hear is comment by the Clare coach???
not to mention its casually included that several others have been dropped as well.
when you see hiw much intrest soccer can raise on deadline day would it never cop onto the PTB that People have an intrest in such comings and goings

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gavin-duffy-dropped-from-mayo-panel-having-not-played-in-one-competitive-game-1.2111128
Post by: theticklemister on February 26, 2015, 06:53:21 PM
Was trying to show primary school children GAA videos today during my maths lesson but as youtube.com is blocked i could not find a video for the life of me, www.gaa.ie was absolutley a pile of shite. recent videos were from 2011.

Post by: armaghniac on February 26, 2015, 06:56:57 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 26, 2015, 06:53:21 PM
Was trying to show primary school children GAA videos today during my maths lesson but as youtube.com is blocked i could not find a video for the life of me, www.gaa.ie was absolutley a pile of shite. recent videos were from 2011.

It is a measure of the GAA's communication strategy that GAA.ie does not have classic games, skills tutorials etc on video on the website where anyone interested can easily find them. 
Post by: seafoid on February 26, 2015, 07:39:21 PM
Jerome Quinn has loads of stuff on Vimeo

https://vimeo.com/user1785268
Post by: theticklemister on February 26, 2015, 08:50:19 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 26, 2015, 07:39:21 PM
Jerome Quinn has loads of stuff on Vimeo

https://vimeo.com/user1785268

showed the wee liverpool wains a great goal from the a children's match between the cavan v fermanagh game alright on his website but I couldnt find it again to put it back on here.

Post by: AZOffaly on February 26, 2015, 08:52:17 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 26, 2015, 06:56:57 PM

It is a measure of the GAA's communication strategy that GAA.ie does not have classic games, skills tutorials etc on video on the website where anyone interested can easily find them.

The GAA does have skills tutorials on the website. It's there on http://learning.gaa.ie/planner/selector (http://learning.gaa.ie/planner/selector)