The Horse racing thread

Started by maddog, December 19, 2006, 03:02:32 PM

beer baron

Quote from: gaa.boy on September 04, 2010, 11:50:31 AM
It's not Paul Carberry. -Peter Carberry, an apprentice.

Cheers gaa.boy i was wondering what was going on!

One for Ziggy running at 5:15 at Haydock "Zigato". not a tip but i fancy it

boojangles

Man that Starspangledbanner is a pricey horse to follow.

Lost a fortune today, f**king hate horses the bastids. Made the big mistake after loosing a good few bets of trying to chase it and lumped on favourites, done that starbangledspanner and a few others and after loosing all that i done a double at the end with a dog and Rip van winkle. Of course the dog  won and was waiting on Rip to get my money back and that hoor was destroyed by another O'Brien horse (O god never seen that happening before). Anyway i need to stick to the football as that's what i'm good at (believe it or not) and stay the feck away from the GG's :'(

Is Roscommon going ahead this evening? There's been heavy rain all day.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 05, 2010, 10:48:27 PM
I suspect DK will aim Rite Of Passage at one of the big mid-winter 2 mile hurdles after the Irish Leger to see if he's good enough for the Champion Hurdle. He's also got Casual Conquest though who has been gelded and will be schooled over timber in the next few weeks. Not sure if Moyglare still have him or if Smurfitt or Lambe have bought him.

http://www.sportinglife.com/racing/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=racing/10/09/05/RACING_Conquest.html

Galway Hurdle 2011?  :D

This flat dross is getting me down at the moment. The Champion Stakes took the biscuit. How did Murtagh and Queally think they would reel in an Irish Derby winner up the straight at Leopardstown giving him a five length head start?

Ah well, Listowel is almost upon us so it won't be long before the proper stuff starts up again. Here's a few old favourites to get in the mood:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17P9ipuJwSY - Best race ever!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5W1P8Kdf8U&feature=related - Best Stephens' Day hangover ever!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1rUaQaY_Lqw&feature=related - Even the cameraman couldn't keep up with him!

Enjoy!

Good man DH. Whets the appetite for real racing coming soon.

beer baron

Is the beach racing this week?

I couldn't find any footage of Danoli unfortunately. The Cheltenham memories on RUK only go back as far as 1995. Anyone know if his Sun Alliance Hurdle win in '94 is available online?

Quote from: beer baron on September 06, 2010, 04:42:04 PM

Yep - tomorrow. Got to it last year for the first time since I lived up there. Good fun.

beer baron

Quote from: Hardy on September 06, 2010, 04:54:56 PM
Quote from: beer baron on September 06, 2010, 04:42:04 PM

Yep - tomorrow. Got to it last year for the first time since I lived up there. Good fun.

I may start rootin around for a  lift to it then so :)

the greatest jockey

rewilding will start a lot shorter than 6/4 for the leger on saturday, very likley to be odds on. if youre going to back him do it sooner rather than later.

-The horse population is down 13%
-The number of entries is down 22%
-The number of runners is down 5%

HRI's solution = cut the number of meetings by 3%  ::)

Yesterday we were told that 40% of Irish adults struggle with basic maths (quelle suprise)! We'll continue to haemorrhage brood-mares to France as long as these clowns keep their heads buried in the sand. The number of meetings should have been cut by at least 10% and prize money for Group 1s should have been cut by at least 20%.

Our Classics (particularly our Derby) have failed to attract quality runners in about five years. They've become a Ballydoyle/Coolmore benefit so why do we continue to pander to racing's superpowers when the ordinary man with a handful of horses is struggling big time? We have a crazy amount of sprint handicaps run on the flat in Ireland that nobody is remotely interested in. These races regularly have pots of €50,000+ though - the mind boggles

bridge fan

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 06, 2010, 03:58:39 PM
I suspect DK will aim Rite Of Passage at one of the big mid-winter 2 mile hurdles after the Irish Leger to see if he's good enough for the Champion Hurdle. He's also got Casual Conquest though who has been gelded and will be schooled over timber in the next few weeks. Not sure if Moyglare still have him or if Smurfitt or Lambe have bought him.

http://www.sportinglife.com/racing/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=racing/10/09/05/RACING_Conquest.html

This flat dross is getting me down at the moment. The Champion Stakes took the biscuit. How did Murtagh and Queally think they would reel in an Irish Derby winner up the straight at Leopardstown giving him a five length head start?

Ah well, Listowel is almost upon us so it won't be long before the proper stuff starts up again. Here's a few old favourites to get in the mood:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5W1P8Kdf8U&feature=related - Best Stephens' Day hangover ever!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1rUaQaY_Lqw&feature=related - Even the cameraman couldn't keep up with him!

Enjoy!

just a few more to watch
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVB6_HvBv8U

Quote from: bridge fan on September 08, 2010, 12:28:36 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 06, 2010, 03:58:39 PM

Enjoy!

just a few more to watch
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVB6_HvBv8U

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qw3hE2PxoTU

What a tune!   ;D