Quote from: babarino on April 20, 2014, 09:51:47 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on April 19, 2014, 11:44:54 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on April 19, 2014, 10:26:33 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 19, 2014, 12:30:59 AM
Quote from: babarino on April 19, 2014, 12:23:52 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 18, 2014, 11:35:18 PM
Dick Clerkin and Brolly seem to be continually sniping on Twitter. Not sure what has started it.

A few years ago, Monaghan V Derry, Celtic Park. Clerkin nearly had his eyes gouged out by Doherty. Brolly post match on RTE said Monaghan were the gurriers of Ulster football, never retracted. Doherty 'canonised' by Brolly, GAA hearing cleared of all charges on the basis of Brolly's defense...Clerkin ban stuck...

Because Clerkin was found out as a spoiler with limited ability! He's been going round for a decade raking lads heels and hitting them off the ball because he can't compete on a footballing level just ask Dara O'Se!

Doherty plays football ask anyone but if you want to start on him he won't shy away! I was at all those games and Clerkin got all he deserved!
To quote Clerkin himself (in Declan Bogues book ) "Fergal plays hard, plays fair,I took it to the edge, it was just a case of stopping him and stopping him playing "

There was only one team in Celtic Pk that sunny afternoon who wanted to play football and it wasn't Monaghan. Ferbie met fire with fire.

Either you weren't there or you're seriously deluded.

I was there of course and still have the game recorded. Monaghan arrived that day to act the wag(Dick in particular) thinking Derry had a soft under belly and were gonna bully their way to victory. Anyone saying different is a blinkered Monaghan man

babarino

Quote from: J OGorman on April 20, 2014, 09:42:01 PM
Quote from: babarino on April 20, 2014, 09:51:47 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on April 19, 2014, 11:44:54 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on April 19, 2014, 10:26:33 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 19, 2014, 12:30:59 AM
Quote from: babarino on April 19, 2014, 12:23:52 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 18, 2014, 11:35:18 PM
Dick Clerkin and Brolly seem to be continually sniping on Twitter. Not sure what has started it.

A few years ago, Monaghan V Derry, Celtic Park. Clerkin nearly had his eyes gouged out by Doherty. Brolly post match on RTE said Monaghan were the gurriers of Ulster football, never retracted. Doherty 'canonised' by Brolly, GAA hearing cleared of all charges on the basis of Brolly's defense...Clerkin ban stuck...

Because Clerkin was found out as a spoiler with limited ability! He's been going round for a decade raking lads heels and hitting them off the ball because he can't compete on a footballing level just ask Dara O'Se!

Doherty plays football ask anyone but if you want to start on him he won't shy away! I was at all those games and Clerkin got all he deserved!
To quote Clerkin himself (in Declan Bogues book ) "Fergal plays hard, plays fair,I took it to the edge, it was just a case of stopping him and stopping him playing "

There was only one team in Celtic Pk that sunny afternoon who wanted to play football and it wasn't Monaghan. Ferbie met fire with fire.

Either you weren't there or you're seriously deluded.

I was there of course and still have the game recorded. Monaghan arrived that day to act the wag(Dick in particular) thinking Derry had a soft under belly and were gonna bully their way to victory. Anyone saying different is a blinkered Monaghan man

GAA revisionism is alive and well in Derry. Does your recording include Brolly's rant to confirm your warped viewing? If you recall the Celtic Park match followed two previous championship drubbings dished out by Monaghan to Derry in Casement. You then got a home venue, a weak ref, an eye gouging man possessed in midfield,  and a hatchet job on Conor Mc Manus.

Youy didnt do much dishing out when the 2 bradleys ran riot in Monaghan in the following qualfier,whats your excuse there,

Newbridge Exile

I remember fergal reaching his hand out before the game to shake hands and receiveing a punch in the solar plexus from the bold dick , it definitely set the tone for the game ( to all the dick defenders it would be worth reading Declan Bogues book )

Conor Gormley would put manners on both these hard men...

Quote from: rrhf on April 21, 2014, 12:39:18 PM

Haha your some craic. Obv dont know much about big Doc!!

Quote from: rrhf on April 21, 2014, 12:39:18 PM

Elbows are no longer legal tender on the football field.

Gormley, Clerkin, Doherty, O'Neill's, Bangladesh... they're all getting it on the Joe Brolly thread!

Why does everyone over 5'10" in Ulster get 'big' stuck in front of their name?
Big Dick, Big Doc, Big Tom etc.

Quote from: Jinxy on April 21, 2014, 05:49:54 PM

Big Ian.
Big Swing.

Quote from: Jinxy on April 21, 2014, 05:49:54 PM

Ask your women...

Quote from: muppet on April 19, 2014, 10:37:11 AM
Quote from: Real Talk on April 19, 2014, 10:18:34 AM
Quote from: orangeman on April 19, 2014, 09:02:30 AM
How has this turned into an assassination of Dick Clerkin ?

Yes Dick likes to play hard and tough. That's his prerogative. But I've seen him play ball too - he just didn't play the man all the time as some are suggesting. That game in Celtic park was a particularly spiteful one. Some would say a typical Ulster championship match. It wasn't all Dick's doing.

Need the chairman to step in here and make sure we get back to the original point ... whatever it was !!!!

Think Doherty's challenge was a definite yellow card, his first yellow was not.   Ref was inconsistent and Lynn in particular got a lot of 'black' abuse that went unpunished ... and what was Brolly talking about !!!!!!!!!!!

The first one looked like a clothes line in real time, but on the replay you could see he had his eyes on the ball so it shouldn't have been a card.
the first incident even at the time I thought was a stupid harsh yellow card- but refs make mistakes too

the second, I thought was stupid on Dochertys part as he was on a yellow card and he took out oshea on purpose-
however, after seeing your video clip, it was borderline yellow card- proj justified as the rule is reckless or endangering tackles are a yellow.
doc is a wholehearted player and he goes the same way for every ball.
Derry actually played better with the loss of a man, had to move about more which suits this team

squire_in_navy_slacks

Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 21, 2014, 05:04:19 PM
Gormley, Clerkin, Doherty, O'Neill's, Bangladesh... they're all getting it on the Joe Brolly thread!

O Gara would take them all on

babarino

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 20, 2014, 11:08:25 PM
Youy didnt do much dishing out when the 2 bradleys ran riot in Monaghan in the following qualfier,whats your excuse there,

Derry thoroughly deserved to win that qualifier game in Clones. Our record in the qualifiers has been poor, but no complaints, it was a good game, played in the right spirit and ye won fair and square. Pity that wasn't Derry's attitude after ye got beaten fair in square in Casement with all the 'out Monaghaned Monaghan' talk after the Celtic Park game.

For the first time since the invention of the internet we are about to witness a successful Derry team.  The inevitable trappings of this cause great fear.  If its anything like the tearraces of Clones of the early 90s the GAA board and online community must prepare themselves well for an influx of whinging, narcory and self loathing.