Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: AZOffaly on July 30, 2013, 10:05:52 AM

Title: Stag Party
Post by: AZOffaly on July 30, 2013, 10:05:52 AM
Well lads and ladies, I'm after being landed with organising the brothers stag, and I'm curious to see what ideas or experiences ye have. There'll be about 20, and I'm thinking somewhere like Westport or Carrick on Shannon, but I'm wondering what activities. We don't want a weekend of drinking, but something activity wise would be grand with pints afterwards. Not madness either, a pub with a session on would be ideal for the drinking element.. Looking for early September... What do ye reckon? The Age profile would be late 20s to late 30s, early 40s.
Title: Re: Stag Party
Post by: Rossfan on July 30, 2013, 10:09:58 AM
Zipit in Lough Key -... but before the drinkin  :D if ye do Carrick.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on July 30, 2013, 10:15:02 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 30, 2013, 10:05:52 AM
Well lads and ladies, I'm after being landed with organising the brothers stag, and I'm curious to see what ideas or experiences ye have. There'll be about 20, and I'm thinking somewhere like Westport or Carrick on Shannon, but I'm wondering what activities. We don't want a weekend of drinking, but something activity wise would be grand with pints afterwards. Not madness either, a pub with a session on would be ideal for the drinking element.. Looking for early September... What do ye reckon? The Age profile would be late 20s to late 30s, early 40s.

I organised the brother's stag last year. We both live away and were home on holidays, so had it local and went to Westport. Like that, we didn't just want to spend the whole day drinking.

We headed out the road to Delphi Adventure Centre in the morning where we did Archery, Abseiling, Rock Climbing etc. They can do all sorts of activities, and were really helpful at putting a package together. Can do full or half day. We did three activities in a morning. We were ranging from early 20s to mid 50s, with the main group in 30s. Everyone was able to get something out of this, and there was a bit of rivalry in the archery.
http://www.delphimountainresort.com/adventure.10.html

After that, we headed to Westport house for zorbing and zip wire. Serious craic!
http://www.westporthouse.ie/adventure-activities/zorbing/

We looked around a few places for dinner, but for a large group JJ O'Malleys was the best for us. Lively enough, and well used to stags.

Matt Molloys a good spot for music and a few pints
http://www.yelp.com.au/biz/matt-molloy-westport
Post by: Denn Forever on July 30, 2013, 10:18:40 AM
Lets be different.  How about Blessington? 

http://www.adventurewicklow.com/about_us.htm
Post by: Canalman on July 30, 2013, 10:24:48 AM
Would recommend a place on the trainline.............. makes it easier for lads to enjoy the pints on a Saturday night. Westport or Limerick ???
Imo , very important to always keep in mind that some on the stag might be struggling financially and therefore keep that in mind when organizing activities.

Under no circumstances let the meal go on longer than 90 mins or so or otherwise the "smugs "will try and stay at the restaurant all night.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 30, 2013, 11:41:51 AM
Quote from: Canalman on July 30, 2013, 10:24:48 AM
Would recommend a place on the trainline.............. makes it easier for lads to enjoy the pints on a Saturday night. Westport or Limerick ???
Imo , very important to always keep in mind that some on the stag might be struggling financially and therefore keep that in mind when organizing activities.

Under no circumstances let the meal go on longer than 90 mins or so or otherwise the "smugs "will try and stay at the restaurant all night.

Never a truer word spoke haha. Brilliant!!  :)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 30, 2013, 12:03:43 PM
Thanks lads. What are the Smugs?

Good suggestions. I'm liking the Westport idea. Was at a wedding there one time and spent a fair bit of time in that pub.

What's accomodation like there?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 30, 2013, 12:11:24 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 30, 2013, 12:03:43 PM

Good suggestions. I'm liking the Westport idea. Was at a wedding there one time and spent a fair bit of time in that pub.

Try the footgolf.
Though the Ferbane lads would struggle with the deft putts!

http://www.midwestradio.ie/index.php/sport/15638-the-west-of-ireland-s-only-footgolf-course-official-opening-is-this-saturday
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 30, 2013, 12:16:38 PM
where abouts would you stay in westport for  a stag?
Post by: fearglasmor on July 30, 2013, 12:30:17 PM
Leitrim Village about 5 miles from Carrick has indoor shooting range and there used to be paintball, don't know if its still there.

www.carrickindoorshooting.com/index.php?show=pages&id=2‎ (http://www.carrickindoorshooting.com/index.php?show=pages&id=2‎)

Post by: Walter Cronc on July 30, 2013, 12:33:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 30, 2013, 12:03:43 PM

Smugs are lads with delusions of grandeur!!

Was in Westport for a stag a few years back. We stayed in Hotel Westport. Might be a little pricey but has nice pool facilities to cure the hangover before setting back up the road.

Matt Molloys is a great pub. Plenty of craic in there. There are 1 or 2 night clubs for any of the single/attached lads :)
Post by: stpauls on July 30, 2013, 01:06:38 PM
if you are thinking about COS, try this site, we stayed there over the weekend past, and did the zip lining at ZipIt Forest Adventures and had a great weekend!!

http://www.carrickaccommodation.ie/ (http://www.carrickaccommodation.ie/)

http://www.zipit.ie/welcome-to-zipit-forest-adventures/ (http://www.zipit.ie/welcome-to-zipit-forest-adventures/)
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 30, 2013, 01:11:51 PM
Quote from: stpauls on July 30, 2013, 01:06:38 PM
if you are thinking about COS, try this site, we stayed there over the weekend past, and did the zip lining at ZipIt Forest Adventures and had a great weekend!!

http://www.zipit.ie/welcome-to-zipit-forest-adventures/ (http://www.zipit.ie/welcome-to-zipit-forest-adventures/)

COS has a disco boat called Moonriver.(very happy to have Hens and Stags aboard) I once won the "getting off with the Ugliest girl on the boat competition" I won five punts. My mate never paid up.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 30, 2013, 01:19:01 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on July 30, 2013, 01:11:51 PM
Quote from: stpauls on July 30, 2013, 01:06:38 PM

COS has a disco boat called Moonriver.(very happy to have Hens and Stags aboard) I once won the "getting off with the Ugliest girl on the boat competition" I won five punts. My mate never paid up.

That used to be a great game, I never won it though but I reckon some of the ones I shifted over the years did win the odd fiver themselves :-\
Post by: southdown on July 30, 2013, 01:28:48 PM
http://www.stagorhen.com/home

Take a look at my mate's website
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 30, 2013, 03:23:53 PM
The best activity I've done is 5 aside. Can run off the night before and dress the stag up in any amount of gear if getting him in anywhere later on is an issue, e.g. Galway (which is a great spot for a stag). Can recommend a hostel in Carrick as well if your looking to keep costs down.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 30, 2013, 04:01:25 PM
went on a stag do a few weeks ago aswell were we had 5 a side tournament in the morning before we set off for kilkenny. great craic and alot cheaper than alot of the usual activities
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 30, 2013, 07:41:11 PM
If you end up going for Galway, I'd recommend Pure Skill.
Post by: pullhard on July 30, 2013, 08:25:18 PM
Pure Skill looks amazing. Does seems expensive for 2 hours  :o

Liking the sound of a 5-a-side, could be a laugh. How long before a wedding is the stag do normally held?