Leinster Championship 2020

Started by thejuice, November 01, 2020, 09:31:08 AM

Today's games at 13:30

Louth vs Longford

Wexford vs Wicklow

Offaly vs Carlow

Expecting Longford, Wicklow and Offaly to come through.

Do the runners up in this get a Shield or anything?

The Boy Wonder

Quote from: Rossfan on November 01, 2020, 11:13:40 AM

As you wish to sneer at LSFC let's remind you of 2019 Super 8s - Dublin 2-26  Roscommon 0-14.

I'm sure they were dancing in the streets celebrating that in the other 11 Counties  ::)

shark

Quote from: Rossfan on November 01, 2020, 12:59:14 PM
I'm sure they were dancing in the streets celebrating that in the other 11 Counties  ::)

His point was, if Roscommon were in Leinster they'd be playing for your shield too. Think that's fair.

Hon Longford
This is the most interesting part of the Leinster procession.

They get a round of applause if they keep the losing margin under 20 points. And the media get to say that the gap is closing!  ;D

Quote from: From the Bunker on November 01, 2020, 03:34:08 PM

They get a round of applause if they keep the losing margin under 20 points. And the media get to say that the gap is closing!  ;D
We'll have to bow to your knowledge, a Mayo man would have more experience of being a runner up than most.

kerryforsam20

Quote from: laoislad on November 01, 2020, 04:06:41 PM

We'll have to bow to your knowledge, a Mayo man would have more experience of being a runner up than most.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

The Boy Wonder

Wins for Longford, Carlow and Wicklow today.

Quarter-Finals
Sat. 07-Nov   
Dublin v Westmeath   Hopefully Westmeath will do themselves justice despite the overwhelming odds against them

Sun. 08-Nov
Longford v Laois       Winners here are on Dublin side of draw - Longford have decent home record
Wicklow v Meath      Wicklow on a good run after promotion to Div 3 and away win over Wexford - Meath will be wary visiting Aughrim
Offaly v Kildare        Kildare will be fancied but Offaly capable of putting it up to them

The first half in the game v Louth yesterday was even
The second half was even worse.

This was a grim affair with only one or two bright spots.

Onwards and upwards now. Facing Laois will be tough. Winners play Westmeath so a Leinster final is not beyond us.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 02, 2020, 09:23:29 AM
The first half in the game v Louth yesterday was even
The second half was even worse.

This was a grim affair with only one or two bright spots.

Onwards and upwards now. Facing Laois will be tough. Winners play Westmeath so a Leinster final is not beyond us.
Beyond Longford is the Shannon

Speaking of bowing, your county board usually bow to letting Dublin having home games in the championship and if ye do play Dublin outside Croker it's in a neutral venue. 

Do you think that the procession in Leinster is now embarrassing?  Do you not think the hopelessness is embarrassing? Do you not think the hammerings are embarrassing?

shark

Quote from: From the Bunker on November 03, 2020, 07:43:15 PM

Speaking of bowing, your county board usually bow to letting Dublin having home games in the championship and if ye do play Dublin outside Croker it's in a neutral venue. 

Do you think that the procession in Leinster is now embarrassing?  Do you not think the hopelessness is embarrassing? Do you not think the hammerings are embarrassing?

Embarrassing for who? It a complete mismatch.
It's not embarrassing on an individual level for a county like Laois, Offaly, Westmeath, Longford, etc. If Dublin were not in their province these counties would be energised by having a realistic target of winning a provincial title. Any one of them could put together a 5 year plan to win it. Of course they may still not succeed, but the hope would be there. There is no hope now. I'm from one of those counties. I'm a clubmate of some of those players. A few years ago it was lads chucking in county football at 23 because "what's the point, gonna lose to Dublin anyway". Now it's lads not even going in to the panel at 20, for the same reason.
Westmeath made back to back Leinster finals in 2015 and 2016, for the first time ever. Beat Meath and Kildare in the respective semi finals. Both finals were over by half time. It wasn't embarrassing.

Ed Ricketts

Quote from: shark on November 03, 2020, 10:05:31 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 03, 2020, 07:43:15 PM

Embarrassing for who? It a complete mismatch.
It's not embarrassing on an individual level for a county like Laois, Offaly, Westmeath, Longford, etc. If Dublin were not in their province these counties would be energised by having a realistic target of winning a provincial title. Any one of them could put together a 5 year plan to win it. Of course they may still not succeed, but the hope would be there. There is no hope now. I'm from one of those counties. I'm a clubmate of some of those players. A few years ago it was lads chucking in county football at 23 because "what's the point, gonna lose to Dublin anyway". Now it's lads not even going in to the panel at 20, for the same reason.
Westmeath made back to back Leinster finals in 2015 and 2016, for the first time ever. Beat Meath and Kildare in the respective semi finals. Both finals were over by half time. It wasn't embarrassing.

I get a sense of this feeling all over the country, although it must be especially strong in Leinster for obvious reasons. Match attendances in recent years are strongly indicative of the same.

On this board we regularly try to work through the big problems with football. People chat about new rules. People go over the pros and cons of the Super 8s and two tier system. Even right now the case for a straight knock out championship is pushed by those that see it as the answer to the malaise affecting the championship.

But none of this really matters without a glimpse of hope. The idea that maybe if everything just falls into place in the next few years your county could make that breakthrough. This is what gets people engaged even when they know they're up against it in any given year. It's what takes people to underage games, to preseason competitions, to challenges matches. You're always looking for that spark that suggests that better times are around the corner.

But the jig is up when you get to the point that you can't ever envisage a day that your county competes with the best. And we're at the point for 25+ counties looking at the Dubs. No amount of messing with the rules or competition structures will change the fact that, if they maintain their standards of the last decade, Dublin will suck all hope of success from the majority of the country. And with no hope people give up trying and give up caring.

We're in precarious times with intercounty football. A very exclusive elite is moving further and further away from the rest of the country. And, remarkably, every intervention from officialdom, whether it's with funding or competition restructuring, seems to just expedite this shift.
Doc would listen to any kind of nonsense and change it for you to a kind of wisdom.