GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: under the bar on June 18, 2017, 09:23:11 PM

Title: Colm O'Rourke
Post by: under the bar on June 18, 2017, 09:23:11 PM
Did anyone read Colm O'Rourke's article in the Indo today previewing Tyrone v Donegal?    Completely trashed both teams before a ball was kicked.  Also claimed Sean Cavanagh and Neil McGee would serve up their typical fare of "snarling nastiness".   WTF?   Say what you like about Cavanagh but I doubt there's a player in the country who would accuse him of "snarling nastiness"!   

Perhaps he's looking at the incident in Ballybofey from 2015 through the lens of his long held anti-Tyrone bias where McGee tried to break Sean's finger from behind when the ball was out of play and both got a yellow card so that warranted castigating Sean Cavanagh? 

He went on to suggest that a Tyrone fan with too much beer onboard giving him what for after a match was symptomatic of the entire county's inability to accept any form of criticism. 

No Colm the county we not unable to accept criticism but we don't appreciate the way you offer the laziest form of analysis.  You attempt to smear the contribution to the game  of lifelong gaels players like Cananagh and Brian Dooher by singling out an incident that suits your narrow agenda and magnifying it to suggest that they are bringing the game into disrepute.  Rather than calling out the incident where McCann took an embarrassing dive in 2015, you chose to vilify the entire team with your "bad smell"  suggestion.  In your  article today attempted to belittle Tyrone and Donegal's entire contribution to the modern game rather than taking the time to properly analyse their recent performances.   You and Spillane persistently choose to run down Ulster teams and players based on single incidents in a game and a negative bias towards Ulster as a whole with little actual analysis of the tactics or individual gameplay.

Please get your head out of your ass and earn the salary you get from RTE rather than simply decide to be an irritant who relies on cliches and agreeing with everyone around you. 
Title: Re: Colm O'Rourke
Post by: magpie seanie on June 18, 2017, 09:31:16 PM
Well said. I think O'Rourke's standard of commentary has plummeted in the last ten years and I've lost a good bit of respect for him.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2017, 09:32:33 PM
You should embrace your snarling nastiness and proclaim your bad smell. Everybody is good at something and every team has its unique identity.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 18, 2017, 09:33:04 PM
Posted this earlier.

O Rourke today in Independent basically says Tyrone invented defensive football. This misconception drives me mad. Tyrone were all about swarming around the player in possession and turning over the ball. This often happened in opposition's full back line. It was based on fitness and intensity. There was no move to bring players back into defensive positions. There a video on Youtube of Kerry playing Cavan in 1997 doing the exact same thing but Spillane didn't call them out for it and only years later described it as puke football when Tyrone done it.
Post by: PW Nally on June 18, 2017, 09:34:51 PM
Colm just turns up now and collects his cheque. Was sharp and insightful once where he is now just past it and too comfortable. Get shot of Spillane and Folly with him and get in people who have played in recent years and are more relevant.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 18, 2017, 09:35:48 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 18, 2017, 09:32:33 PM
You should embrace your snarling nastiness and proclaim your bad smell. Everybody is good at something and every team has its unique identity.

Just like you team's identity were asbos Colm

Hungary for another hat?
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2017, 09:37:00 PM
Quote from: PW Nally on June 18, 2017, 09:34:51 PM
Colm just turns up now and collects his cheque. Was sharp and inciteful once where he is now just past it and too comfortable. Get shot of Spillane and Folly with him and get in people who have played in recent years and are more relevant.
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 18, 2017, 09:33:04 PM
Posted this earlier.

O Rourke today in Independent basically says Tyrone invented defensive football. This misconception drives me mad. Tyrone were all about swarming around the player in possession and turning over the ball. This often happened in opposition's full back line. It was based on fitness and intensity. There was no move to bring players back into defensive positions. There a video on Youtube of Kerry playing Cavan in 1997 doing the exact same thing but Spillane didn't call them out for it and only years later described it as puke football when Tyrone done it.

Never mind snarling nastiness and bad smells. When is somebody going to call Throne on this stuff?
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2017, 09:37:39 PM
Colm just turns up now and collects his cheque. Was sharp and inciteful once where he is now just past it and too comfortable. Get shot of Spillane and Folly with him and get in people who have played in recent years and are more relevant.

Ah FFS!
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2017, 09:38:11 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 18, 2017, 09:35:48 PM

Hungary for another hat?

:o
Post by: PW Nally on June 18, 2017, 09:39:14 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 18, 2017, 09:37:39 PM

Ah FFS!
Superb.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on June 18, 2017, 09:42:03 PM
It would be more in Colm's line to lecture his nephew on snarling nastiness.
Post by: rrhf on June 18, 2017, 10:06:11 PM
Always got the skitter over an Ulster team. His lot were thugs playing the game.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 18, 2017, 10:13:03 PM
Hardy is hitting meltdown of epic proportions...their will be blood flowing tonight in langerland😂
Post by: Main Street on June 18, 2017, 10:20:38 PM
Colm's article made better pre-game reading, though he should know that Tyrone's snarling and nasty edge is not needed when the opposition is beaten after 30 minutes. Ne'er a dark art in sight when cruising home, a distance ahead.

Post by: Boycey on June 18, 2017, 10:30:40 PM
Not to worry I'm sure Tyrone and Monaghan (should they qualify) will serve up plenty of much needed snarling nastiness should it be required..
Post by: Jinxy on June 18, 2017, 10:34:14 PM
Why are the Tyrone posters snarling at Colm?
Ye won today, give the persecution complex a rest for a bit.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on June 18, 2017, 10:35:51 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 18, 2017, 10:34:14 PM

Wouldn't it be more in line for Colm to put manners on his nephew than lecturing others?
Post by: Main Street on June 18, 2017, 10:36:04 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 18, 2017, 10:30:40 PM
Not to worry I'm sure Tyrone and Monaghan (should they qualify) will serve up plenty of much needed snarling nastiness should it be required..
We'll be alright, as long as Colm doesn't tip us.
Post by: Jinxy on June 18, 2017, 10:38:34 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on June 18, 2017, 10:35:51 PM

Wouldn't it be more in line for Colm to put manners on his nephew than lecturing others?

I'd rather he put manners on his kick-outs.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on June 18, 2017, 10:40:30 PM
There is still plenty of fight left in Tyrone, any wrong we will try to right. Sadly the same can't be said about Meath. O'Rourke's county men can't even stick up for him, instead they complain about grammar (is this the new way of going after the man and not the ball) or just roll over.
Post by: omaghjoe on June 18, 2017, 10:46:13 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 18, 2017, 09:37:39 PM
Colm just turns up now and collects his cheque. Was sharp and spiteful once where he is now just past it and too comfortable. Get shot of Spillane and Folly with him and get in people who have played in recent years and are more relevant.

Ah FFS!
Post by: mrdeeds on June 18, 2017, 10:50:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 18, 2017, 10:38:34 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on June 18, 2017, 10:35:51 PM

I'd rather he put manners on his kick-outs.

Donegal and Meath kick outs some of worst you'd see.
Post by: Itchy on June 18, 2017, 11:27:16 PM
Dessie Dolan said McCann Cooley finished his goal and showed great composure doing so. Funny I thought he miskicked it into the ground. In RTÉ any auld shite talk is good enough.
Post by: ONeill on June 18, 2017, 11:32:11 PM
O'Rourke and Meath are just pissed off that Tyrone have 3 AIs and they have 7.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 18, 2017, 11:43:35 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 18, 2017, 10:13:03 PM
Hardy is hitting meltdown of epic proportions...their will be blood flowing tonight in langerland😂

There will surely when Hardy sees that!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 19, 2017, 01:07:48 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 18, 2017, 11:43:35 PM

Why? 😂
Post by: omaghjoe on June 19, 2017, 03:25:59 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 19, 2017, 01:07:48 AM

Why? 😂

cos hes a decrepit school primary teacher type that cant give up lecturing people to make himself feel like hes smarter than other people.

Its why I suspect that he is O'Rourke himself.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 19, 2017, 09:34:35 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 19, 2017, 03:25:59 AM

Why? 😂

cos hes a decrepit school primary teacher type that cant give up lecturing people to make himself feel like hes smarter than other people.

Their you go making assumptions about Hardy and who is is....decrepit school teacher type...were did you get that from? Hes' far to smart to smart to be Colm ORourke!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 19, 2017, 09:46:25 AM
Jeez O'Rourke is really plumbing the depths of his poisoned pen well with a nasty, venomous, spite-laden piece such as that sorry screed; you might have been relevant once Colm, though now you've actually slid right beneath contempt, sad old git! :P
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 19, 2017, 10:05:23 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 19, 2017, 09:34:35 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 19, 2017, 03:25:59 AM

Why? 😂

Their you go making assumptions about Hardy and who is is....decrepit school teacher type...were did you get that from? Hes' far to smart to smart to be Colm ORourke!!

O'Rourke doesn't strike me as the type to have the technical know-how to post on an internet forum.
Post by: seafoid on June 19, 2017, 01:28:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 18, 2017, 09:38:11 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on June 18, 2017, 09:35:48 PM

Hungary for another hat?

:o
tsk tsk
Post by: CJ2017 on March 06, 2018, 12:50:38 PM
Great Article from Colm in the independent this week on the Meath team to tour Oz in 1967 fifty years this week,

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/colm-orourke-meath-trip-of-a-lifetime-built-a-bridge-to-future-36666234.html

I found this footage on Youtube of the 1968 Tour by the Australians of Ireland

if you skip to 16.17 it appears to be Kerry vs Australia at Fitzgearld Stadium

and the Australian Team in Navan being led around the town by a band

and Down vs Australia in Croke Park later,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6IWuzlfUgeY

the documentary on the Galah's is worth the watch (http://www.thegalahs.com/)