Connacht U20 and U17 championships 2024

Started by Cunny Funt, January 18, 2021, 11:21:26 PM

Was down at the game. Not sure if it came across on the stream just how bad the conditions were. The wind was something else.
Saying that - Galway's performance was very poor - basic skill levels (conditions notwithstanding) were just at a very low level.
Mayo were not much better on the night.
Bad mistake led to the Mayo goal. It's very hard to judge either team on tonight. It was very difficult to play football in those conditions.

Quote from: galwayman on April 06, 2022, 10:07:00 PM
Was down at the game. Not sure if it came across on the stream just how bad the conditions were. The wind was something else.
Saying that - Galway's performance was very poor - basic skill levels (conditions notwithstanding) were just at a very low level.
Bad mistake led to the Mayo goal. It's very hard to judge either team on tonight. It was very difficult to play football in those conditions.

I said to myself that the goal chance Galway missed early on might cost them

Sligo v Ros in Marky next Wed at 6 30pm.

Both semi finals will be streamed on YouTube Spórt TG4 and the Connacht U20 final will be shown live on TG4 TV

Quote from: galwayman on April 06, 2022, 10:07:00 PM

Is it not a strange choice of venue if the dome isn't going to be used?

Despite the conditions Galway were very poor, handling of a couple of players was diabolical.

Mayo deserved their win but its one of the few matches I've seen where I wouldn't have a clue who the better players are supposed to be because of the conditions.

U20 Semis this evening at 6 30.
Sligo v Ros and Laythrums v Rhubarbs.
No sign of a Ros lineout but rumours of most of the injured players now fit and ready for action.
Sligo bet us in 2 of the last 3 Minor Championships so can't be bad.
It will be a bit surreal playing football in Sligo with 2 murders this week, one a good Ros supporter not to mention loss of poor Red Óg.

Roscommon team

Darren Quinn (Clann na nGael)
Conor Lohan (Padraig Pearses)
Sean Trundle (St. Brigids)
Tomás Crean (Creggs)
Patrick Gavin (Clann na nGael)
Caelim Keogh (Padraig Pearses)
Brian O’Hara Duggan (St. Brigids)
Oisín Cregg (Boyle)
Daire Cregg (C) (Boyle)
Jack Tumulty (Padraig Pearses)
Cathal Feely (Boyle)
Conor Hand (St. Brigids)
Ben O’Carroll (St. Brigids)
Adam McDermott (Castlerea St. Kevins)
Eoin Colleran (Padraig Pearses)

Subs - David Farrell (Castlerea) Darragh Heneghan (Micheal Glaveys) Jamesie Greene (Eire Og) Gavan Murray (Elphin) Alan McManus (Clann na nGael) Cormac Regan (Oran) Cian Kelly (St Dominics) Eoin Ward (Fuerty) Darren Gately (Creggs)

Mayo

Bryan O’Flaherty (Islandeady); Alfie Morrison (Louisburgh), Ruairí Keane (Mayo Gaels), Conal Dawson (Westport); Fenton Kelly (Davitts), Sam Callinan (Ballina Stephenites), Aidan Cosgrove (Kiltimagh); Frank Irwin (Ballina Stephenites, captain), Donnacha McHugh (Castlebar Mitchels); Tom O’Flaherty (Aghamore), Dylan Thornton (Ballina Stephenites), Seán Morahan (Castlebar Mitchels); Cian MacHale (Bohola Moy Davitts), Paddy Heneghan (Castlebar Mitchels), Cian O’Connell (Ballinrobe).

Subs: Luke Jennings (Ballinrobe), Cian McHale (Parke/Keelogues/Crimlin), Rory Morrin (Ballina Stephenites), Oisín Tunney (Breaffy), Conor Reid (Bohola Moy Davitts), Bob Touhy (Castlebar Mitchels), Niall Treacy (Davitts), Paul Walsh (Castlebar Mitchels), Mark Cunningham (Castlebar Mitchels).

Sligo and Leitrim teams https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FQOLh6uXMAYecoU?format=png&name=4096x4096 

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FQOLh70XwAs3-rY?format=png&name=4096x4096

links to watch the matches both on at 6:30pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aoB1Bx_pUfA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTQ2P5-SWjY

Less said the better.
Disjointed, looked like lads called into a team 10 minutes before throw in.
16 wides and 5 or 6 into keeper's hands ,1 ir 2 of them frees.
In last 5 minutes plus 4 inj time Sligo seemed to want it more.
Rumours that a lot of lads hadn't been training due to injury but were selected on the basis of being in last tears AI Finalist team.
Anyway well done Sligo and hope ye win it ....11 or 12 wides and a few to our keeper ...need to eliminate that.

Not sure how Mayo only won by 1 when they led by 11 with 10 minutes to play against Leitrim. Perhaps a better way to go into the final than hammering a team and thinking you are better than you are?

Roscommon let down by their shooting, that some wasteful play @rosfan, did the seniors kick that many wides in their last 3 or 4 league games combined.

Eoghan Smith the match winner for Sligo i think most neutrals will be hoping they can win the final after the recent shocking news with Reg Óg. Not sure why the final isn't played in Sligo though.

sligoman2

A good win for our lads and definitely a major morale booster after what has been a very difficult few weeks for all Sligo and connacht people.  Looking forward to the final..
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not too sure.

Crete Boom

We were blessed against Leitrim. Despite the talent gap fitness was the main reason we fell over the line. Leitrim played the better football and not only are the Mayo tactics crude & negative, these tactics don't suit the type of players (especially the most talented) in the squad. If Sligo can hold their composure and be patient in the opening stages they should win the final with some comfort as they are definitely as talented as Mayo and there shouldn't be a gap in fitness either.

Quote from: Crete Boom on April 14, 2022, 09:42:38 AM
We were blessed against Leitrim. Despite the talent gap fitness was the main reason we fell over the line. Leitrim played the better football and not only are the Mayo tactics crude & negative, these tactics don't suit the type of players (especially the most talented) in the squad. If Sligo can hold their composure and be patient in the opening stages they should win the final with some comfort as they are definitely as talented as Mayo and there shouldn't be a gap in fitness either.
hopefully Sheridan is ruling himself  out any future role with the senior by the way the u20s are performing.
they completely took thier foot off with about 10 mins to go and Deserved to lose it from there . Pissing about withthe ball and putting on guys that would look undernourished at under 16 .
the only good thing to come out of itis there seem to a number of reaaly good players in the spine of the team ,
Irwin Callinan Tom O'Flaherty, Mc Hugh and Thornton lookreal proapwct with a few othe possiblities like Henehan Keane and Kelly and even from the Subs Reid. but there seems to Be quit a drop after that,

sligoman2

Does anyone have the link for the game today?  Is it on Youtube?

I used to be indecisive but now I'm not too sure.

I think it's live on the TG4 app or TG4.ie

Don't see the Sligo team named yet.

Crete Boom

The game is on TG4 live on youtube from 6 p.m. and full deferred coverage is on tv on TG4 from 7:20 p.m.