Joyce and Donnellan Retire

Started by Duine Eile, November 17, 2006, 08:47:33 AM

Duine Eile

Right there appears to have been a lot of wires crossed along the way somehow. What seems to have happened is the Galway panel returned to training with a panel of 24 last week but minus Padraic and Mikey. Mikey Donnellan it appears is taking a break for a year anyway and probably has retired but Padraic has just ruled himself out of the FBD and could even be back for the national league. I think somebody just jumped the gun, put 2 and 2 together and got a hundred and forty five. I think Padraic will be back for the championship if not before that to be honest. Donnellan I'd say we've probably seen the last of, that's been doing the rounds for a while, but crucially, there's been no official word confirming retirement from either player so we'll see.

Joyce in particular was some yoke, no doubt.
  A joy to watch.

Duine Eile

From Hoganstand:
Joyce says injury is priority

18 November 2006

Galway football star Padraic Joyce says getting rid of a niggling achilles problem is his priority rather than wondering why he has been left out of the Galway panel.

Both Joyce and Michael Donnellan have been axed from the county panel by manager Peter Ford.

However for his part, Joyce isn't contemplating retirement or anything else other than getting himself fit.

"I've been bothered for some time by an achilles tendon problem that won't go away," admitted Joyce.

"I need to get that sorted and then see how I feel.

"Getting that sorted out is the main objective at this stage," the Galway star added.

dodo

"Galway's Donnellan retires from inter-county football

19:08 Saturday November 18th 2006

Michael Donnellan has announced his retirement from inter-county football.
The Galway star was an All-Ireland winner and Footballer of the Year in 1998 and 2001."

From Unison/The Irish Independent

Brings a very literal meaning to lazy journalism

An Laoch

I wouldn't be surprised to see either of them back in action in the maroon shirt come the summer. Two great talents that still have plenty to offer the inter-county scene.

Redhandfan

From RTE Aertel today:

DONNELLAN BOWS OUT   
                  FROM TRIBAL SERVICE   
-------------                         
Galway's Michael Donnellan has         
announced his retirement from         
intercounty competition.               

Donnellan pulls the curtain down on a 
career during which he won nearly ever
honour in the game. He was footballer 
of the year and won All-Ireland medals
in 1998 and 2001 and was also named on
the All Star in those years, as well as

A Donnellan point in the 1998 All-     
Ireland final was also voted the top   
GAA Moment of the TV age. He had picked
the ball up in the heart of his own   
defence and soloed the length of the   
field before Seán Óg de Paor eventually
finished the move off with a point. 

Yeah Donnellan is gone.

Joyce will probably be back maybe for the league.

MacDanger

Two great players alright, looks like only Donnellan has retired though and I'd say he might be back yet.

Maybe they can both make comebacks when galway hit the first round of the qualifiers next may.................

Didn't think that Joyce would have retired.
Donnellan is/was a fantastic footballer, one of the best to come out of Connacht. Mad in the head though, will he write a book I wonder? He might even admit to assaulting match officials

Quotewill he write a book I wonder?

Not sure. He's a pretty private individual. Think about how many times he did interviews for the TV or newspapers. Hardly ever. Would be an good read though I imagine.

Galway15

Already lookin forward to Connacht c.ship now that o Mahony is in the Mayo job...DE i wonder who is on this pre xmas Galway panel???? Has Forde cast the net at all? ???

Duine Eile

Quote from: Galway15 on November 21, 2006, 06:15:26 PM
Already lookin forward to Connacht c.ship now that o Mahony is in the Mayo job...DE i wonder who is on this pre xmas Galway panel???? Has Forde cast the net at all? ???

No idea to be honest. Away from home during the week so haven't really heard anything. Any suggestions about who should get a run? Young Hughes from Menlough is a name a lot are mentioning. Our own Tom Hughes did a great job on Joe Bergin in the county quarter finals during the summer, could be worth a look. I suppose a couple of Corofin lads will get a look as well after they finish up the club championship. One thing I did hear though, don't know if it's true or not, but Forde supposedly didn't contact Padraic or Mikey about the first meeting with the panel at all but told the rest of the lads they wouldn't be available without consulting with them at all. If it's true then he's bang out of order and should be told where to go.

As regards Mikey Donnellan writing a book, I seriously doubt it, very private lad, rarely talks to the newspapers never mind write a whole book about himself. Class player, he'll be missed.

tommy1

Had the great pleasure of playing with both when they started out their careers at st. Jartlaths, Even though Donnellan was only 15 back then you could see the potential scored a class goal against St. Comans in a Hogan cup final in Longford in 1993 to me that was the start of his brilliant career. Its hard to believe the two boys won't be playing at county level again there's not to many playing at the moment that have as much natural talent.     

More confusion over the futures of these two? Padraig Joyce doesn't seem to think Donnellan has retired just yet?

Joyce denies retirement talk

Padraic Joyce raises the 2004 Cormac McAnallen Cup
24 November 2006

Galway full forward Padraic Joyce has denied reports that both he and Michael Donnellan have retired from inter-county football.

A local radio station ran out a report last weekend that both players, who were key figures in the 1998 and 2001 All-Ireland triumphs, had decided to hang up their boots. However, Joyce insists that neither he nor Donnellan have decided to bow out.

"Michael will have a think about the situation in the New Year," Joyce said.

"He'll wait until January or February before making any move – it was different when the league started before Christmas.

"I spoke to Peter Ford last Monday week and told him about my intentions, but I spoke to nobody in the media."

Joyce is due to see a specialist about the Achilles tendon injury that hampered him this year.