Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Mayo4Sam on January 19, 2012, 12:30:39 PM

Title: Why always me? - The Madness of Mario
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 19, 2012, 12:30:39 PM
Unsubstantiated rumour going around Ballotelli has paid all outstanding fines at Manchester Uni's library. Here's a few of his best

-Survived a usually fatal disease at birth• £10,000 in parking fines.
• Car has been impounded 27 times.
• £300,000 fine for throwing darts at the youth team.
• Won £25,000 in a casino, gave £1,000 to a tr**p outside the casino.
• Threw tomatoes at a Serie A manager.
• Threw Water Balloons at a Serie A disciplinary hearing.
• Started a fight with 4 bouncers after breaking the "no touching" rule at a strip club.
• The "bib" saga.
• Had a £120,000 Audi imported, wrote it off within a week.
• Had his friend approached girls in a nightclub and say "Balotelli will see you now"
• Sent to the shops by his mother to buy essentials for the house, came back with a giant trampoline and a Vespa and a Scalectrix.
• Has started fights at training with Kompany, Boateng, Tevez and Richards.
• Was frequently seen at the AC Milan superstore while playing for Inter Milan
.• Went on TV wearing an AC Milan shirt with his name on the back while playing for Inter.
• Whilst playing for Italy under 21's, he is fouled, he sits on the pitch for 3-4 minutes ignoring the opposition, his team mates and the referee
.• He is then offended when he gets sent off and protests about it.
• Winks at Ferdinand after FA cup semi final and celebrates in front of the United fans
.• After the cup final on live TV, he says " I have been sh*t this season, am I allowed say sh*t on TV?
• Was stopped by police going around his hometown of Hulme with £ 25,000 cash in the passenger seat. When asked why he replied " because I'm rich"
• Had to be physically hauled away by Zanetti for refusing to let Samuel Eto'o take a penalty that he had earned.
• Once broke up with a girlfriend via text whilst she was presenting a live show
.• Slept with an Italian model while his girlfriend was downstairs
.• Drove his car into a women's prison because he wanted to "look around"
• Has connections with the Italian mafia, he has testified in court at a Mafia trial
.• Brought his Ipad on to the bench for Italy's international against the Faroe Islands because he wanted to play games on it
.• Was seen in a Manchester shopping centre "hi-fiving" city fans the day after City had beaten United 6-1
.• Became the face of a firework safety campaign a few days after setting his house on fire from letting off fireworks indoors.
• Hands £50 notes to strangers when out shopping in Manchester
.• Chanted "Rooney, Rooney" at the prostitute who claimed to have slept with Wayne Rooney.
• Italy had just brought out a brand new home kit, at the start of the second half for their first match wearing the new kit, Balotelli came out in the old kit, claiming he didn't like the new one. Nobody else had changed.
• Turned the landscaped back garden of his house into a Quad bike track
• Went to a local school with a young lad and his mother to confront a bully after seeing the lad looking for an autograph after training on a school day
Title: Re: Why always me? - The Madness of Mario
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 19, 2012, 02:33:48 PM
http://www.whatdidbalotellidotoday.com/ (http://www.whatdidbalotellidotoday.com/)
Post by: Minder on January 19, 2012, 04:20:40 PM
The library fines one is bollocks apparently.
Post by: orangeman on January 19, 2012, 05:06:22 PM
Interesting if unorthodox life.
Post by: seafoid on January 19, 2012, 05:46:09 PM
i think he comes across as quite a decent person . A nice change. what is the big deal about parking in a school and talking to the students? Are they supposed to be all from a different planet? 

"Had to be physically hauled away by Zanetti for refusing to let Samuel Eto'o take a penalty that he had earned".

Sylvie Linnane would have done the same.
Post by: JimStynes on January 19, 2012, 06:09:09 PM
My favourite player in the league by a mile. What a header he is! Good to have someone who is a bit different and doesn't really give a f**k about what he does. If even half of those stories are true
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 19, 2012, 06:27:37 PM
I agree, saw an interview with him last week, he said if he's seen smiling he's not taking things seriously and if he's not smiling he's a grumpy foreigner!
Post by: LeoMc on January 19, 2012, 10:19:45 PM
Did I read somewhere recently that his younger brother is on trial with Stoke?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 23, 2012, 08:30:10 AM
Classic Mario yesterday, try and kick the head off Parker then win & score the winning penalty
Post by: supersub on January 23, 2012, 09:37:23 AM
Hard to believe he has done all that, especially parking fines etc and only 21!
Post by: Magicsponge on January 23, 2012, 09:50:19 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on January 19, 2012, 10:19:45 PM
Did I read somewhere recently that his younger brother is on trial with Stoke?

No! his brother was on trial in Stoke!

haha, no really his brother Enoch was on trial with Stoke before Christmas. Not sure if he made it though never heard anything about it so I'm assuming he didn't get it.
Post by: under the bar on January 23, 2012, 12:09:42 PM
Has he been charged by the FA yet?
Post by: EC Unique on January 23, 2012, 12:14:51 PM
Be very suprised if he does not get a 3 match ban.
Post by: The Wedger on January 23, 2012, 12:15:45 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 19, 2012, 05:46:09 PM
i think he comes across as quite a decent person . A nice change. what is the big deal about parking in a school and talking to the students? Are they supposed to be all from a different planet? 

"Had to be physically hauled away by Zanetti for refusing to let Samuel Eto'o take a penalty that he had earned".

Sylvie Linnane would have done the same.
Sylvie Linnane wouldn't pay parking fines either.
Post by: Bingo on January 23, 2012, 12:50:22 PM
I think it would be very hard to charge him for the stamp, if it was intentional. It happened very fast in realtime and he never stopped at any stage to then make a move to stamp on Parker. It was clear he was off balance and had back to the action as such. With him you just don't know. The Wolves player committed a far worse act on Saturday.

I suspect if it was Parker on Baloteeli he'd be getting the media benefit of doubt.
Post by: NAG1 on January 23, 2012, 12:56:53 PM
It was a clear stamp dont think there is any denying it, if he was off balance he would have fallen forward, not stuck his leg out backwards. Wont make any difference to city anyway if he is banned for a few games.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 23, 2012, 01:10:32 PM
It was never a stamp and there was no intent in it.  He is falling and looking forward at the time, it was a natural movement and not a stamp.  Good player, complete binlid though!
Post by: Billys Boots on January 23, 2012, 01:14:02 PM
I have to say it doesn't/didn't look like a stamp to me either. 
Post by: AZOffaly on January 23, 2012, 01:18:23 PM
I think I agree with ye lads. I was watching it on Sky, and they were all saying it was a stamp, and I was almost predujiced looking at it because I was expecting it to be blatant. At worst it was careless with his feet.
Post by: The Worker on January 23, 2012, 01:27:55 PM
Wont be charged for this, as its too hard to say if it was intentional or not.

The only way of knowing this is to be inside balotellis head, and thats not a place anyone would want to be.
Post by: EC Unique on January 23, 2012, 01:51:24 PM
(http://i41.tinypic.com/1417a86.jpg)

Ah now lads! How can you think this is not an intented stamp? Look at the path of his leg, forward to get a swing back with speed. Dirty action. Then the pathetic dive after to make himself look like the victim.
Post by: The Wedger on January 23, 2012, 02:03:55 PM
Definitely deliberate. I don't see why anyone stumbling forward would need to throw a leg backwards?
Post by: ballinaman on January 23, 2012, 02:05:45 PM
Clear stamp, first action was an accident but second swing of the leg was a stamp. Doesn't need to look to know where Parker was, first bit of contact gave him an idea he was going to make contact if he was to throw the leg back a second time. Footballers, as thick as some may be, have decent spacial awareness!
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 23, 2012, 02:16:42 PM
Was deliberate IMO also.  Would hate that to have a significant bearing on the title race  ;)
Post by: Bingo on January 23, 2012, 02:27:39 PM
http://fourfourtwo.com/lists/top11worsttackles.aspx (http://fourfourtwo.com/lists/top11worsttackles.aspx)

Some of these are a bit more obvious.

Slowed down it looks  worse and more intentional, in realtime I don't think its as obvious. Hard to know.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 23, 2012, 02:28:22 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 23, 2012, 01:55:55 PM
I don't know how anyone can say that is unintentional. He clearly throws his foot back at the player.

AZ, is there any point of you having a look at the Derrytresk - Dromid video?

Very good :D
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 23, 2012, 02:36:09 PM
Quote from: Bingo on January 23, 2012, 02:27:39 PM
http://fourfourtwo.com/lists/top11worsttackles.aspx (http://fourfourtwo.com/lists/top11worsttackles.aspx)

Some of these are a bit more obvious.

Slowed down it looks  worse and more intentional, in realtime I don't think its as obvious. Hard to know.
Some crunchers there  :D
Post by: supersub on January 23, 2012, 02:50:57 PM
On the contrary I think from reviewing replays (which is what they will do) it is clear his momentum had taken him as far as the trip/jump but the movement of his foot to Parker's head was unnatural and looks very bad!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHg0M1ukzE8

0:17 tell me that is unintentional!

Or

(http://i41.tinypic.com/1417a86.jpg)

Surely the next natural movement of his right leg is to land straight or forward not kick back
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 23, 2012, 03:33:08 PM
He won't get a ban, Webb was standing right beside it and looked round as it happened, therefore it'll go in his report as an accident, one player stumbling and hitting another, thus the FA can do nothing about it, unless of course whiskey nose rang up his favourite ref and told him to omit it.

It's gas that the ones on here saying its a definite stamp are all united fans.
IMO it looked nasty in slow mo but it is next to impossible to tell, therefore he gets the benefit of the doubt, even with 'Arry saying this isn't the first time he had done it
Post by: Applesisapples on January 23, 2012, 03:39:02 PM
My wife who knows nothing about football and cares even less saw this yesterday as it happened and in her opinion it look accidental. I have to say I did to until the boys replayed it and replayed it and convinced me otherwise.
Post by: Man Marker on January 23, 2012, 03:45:47 PM
Utd fan myself, and it looks accidential to me.
Post by: Magicsponge on January 23, 2012, 03:49:25 PM
That looks like a definite stamp, I can't see any reason why he would throw his leg back like that. And he did it hard too
Post by: Square Ball on January 23, 2012, 04:22:22 PM
right, I think its deliberate but thats only after watching the slow motion, but....

if it was Rooney, Terry, Barton, or even Gerrard there would be 10 pages at least and people wanting executions or public floggings, questons asked in parliament, 10 game bans and the rest ::)
Post by: EC Unique on January 23, 2012, 04:29:39 PM
If it were Rooney on Gerrard there would be a few on here with very different opinions. Plenty of Liverpool fans saying it was not intented. Funny that!  ::)
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 23, 2012, 04:42:14 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 23, 2012, 04:29:39 PM
If it were Rooney on Gerrard there would be a few on here with very different opinions. Plenty of Liverpool fans saying it was not intented. Funny that!  ::)
..and if it was the other way around...as bad as each other  ::)
Post by: Geoff Tipps on January 23, 2012, 04:44:45 PM

Do you have to bring Liverpool into every post?? Obsessed.
Post by: ross4life on January 23, 2012, 04:47:23 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on January 23, 2012, 04:22:22 PM
right, I think its deliberate but thats only after watching the slow motion, but....

if it was Rooney, Terry, Barton, or even Gerrard there would be 10 pages at least and people wanting executions or public floggings, questons asked in parliament, 10 game bans and the rest ::)
Fair point.
Post by: Link on January 23, 2012, 05:22:51 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on January 23, 2012, 04:44:45 PM

Do you have to bring Liverpool into every post?? Obsessed.

Post by: Bingo on January 23, 2012, 05:33:59 PM

Why? If he'd been redcarded he have missed the second leg this week and helped Liverpools cause in reaching a final.
Post by: trileacman on January 23, 2012, 06:00:49 PM
Saw it in realtime, not a foul at all. The spurs players and crowd were not incensed at the time of it happening. IMO no foul play there at all.

Of course a gif that doesn't show his initial shot or spurs reaction is more than a bit biased. IMO also the "stamp" of the video is sped up to fake a greater strength.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 23, 2012, 06:09:03 PM
Typical Utd fans picking on poor Mario. Just like the Utd fans who egged his car last night while he was in a restaurant.

How can you not like this guy? Complete legend and quite a player too!

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/404211_10151182780175455_208411345454_22501683_1890230538_n.jpg)
Post by: ballinaman on January 23, 2012, 06:10:22 PM
Quite like Mario. Can see him winning the league for United.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 23, 2012, 06:12:50 PM
Quote from: trileacman on January 23, 2012, 06:00:49 PM
Saw it in realtime, not a foul at all. The spurs players and crowd were not incensed at the time of it happening. IMO no foul play there at all.

Of course a gif that doesn't show his initial shot or spurs reaction is more than a bit biased. IMO also the "stamp" of the video is sped up to fake a greater strength.

Same here, saw it in real time and it was no foul. Not deliberate.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 23, 2012, 06:28:47 PM
Mario has a bit to go before reaching Tevez legendary status.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on January 23, 2012, 06:31:41 PM
Deliberate for me.
If a person is stumbling forwards and their centre of gravity is heading forwards there is no reason to throw the right leg behind them.
He actually wouldn't have ended up falling over in the end, if he had properly tried to sweep his right leg around to front of him.
Post by: supersub on January 23, 2012, 07:12:02 PM
Can't actually believe what I'm reading here. It is 100% intentional how can you defend that movement of his right leg back at speed? I support Liverpool and I think balotelli is lethal to be honest I like him a lot, but ths was intentional. Been charged by fa now 4 game ban!
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 23, 2012, 07:17:46 PM
Quote from: supersub on January 23, 2012, 07:12:02 PM
Can't actually believe what I'm reading here. It is 100% intentional how can you defend that movement of his right leg back at speed? I support Liverpool and I think balotelli is lethal to be honest I like him a lot, but ths was intentional. Been charged by fa now 4 game ban!
Bad news for Liverpool as Dzeko,Aguero will start on Wednesday now.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 23, 2012, 07:36:58 PM
He was trying to regain his balance.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 23, 2012, 07:49:48 PM
Wonder will Crouch get done for this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66_A9HWy6Ag (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66_A9HWy6Ag)
Post by: EC Unique on January 23, 2012, 08:20:46 PM
The FA obviously did not cunsult the 'experts' on the GAA Board. ::) ::)
Post by: trileacman on January 23, 2012, 08:25:10 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 23, 2012, 08:20:46 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFvZ389nsCE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFvZ389nsCE)

That a red too?
Post by: Minder on January 23, 2012, 08:42:42 PM
Rooney should be banned for that dive yesterday.
Post by: gallsman on January 23, 2012, 08:53:29 PM
Quote from: trileacman on January 23, 2012, 08:25:10 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 23, 2012, 08:20:46 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFvZ389nsCE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFvZ389nsCE)

That a red too?

Alan Shearer in that video - "In England we never do that with referees." What utter, utter bollocks. The sight of Rooney himself tearing up the pitch, arms raised, screaming at the ref for the Kompany tackle is ignored whereas Mancini waves an imaginary card and is lambasted. Rank hypocrisy.

On another note, I hope 'Arry facking Redknapp goes down. Comes across as a contemptible bastard who's so pally with half the people in the media it's borderline blasphemy to criticise him.
Post by: Bingo on January 23, 2012, 08:56:06 PM
Its amazing that lescott gets off for his elbow yet mario is charged. Maybe the ref claimed he seen it and dealt with it at the time or maybe it's all about his passport like lampards this season, rooneys elbow on McCarthy last season etc etc
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 23, 2012, 09:05:02 PM
Quote from: Bingo on January 23, 2012, 08:56:06 PM
Its amazing that lescott gets off for his elbow yet mario is charged. Maybe the ref claimed he seen it and dealt with it at the time or maybe it's all about his passport like lampards this season, rooneys elbow on McCarthy last season etc etc
Lescott is lucky to get off http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=43EZsEWdlNQ
Post by: Bingo on January 23, 2012, 09:07:08 PM
It gets better, the ref didn't see lescotts but on review said he wouldn't have sent him off for it, priceless  :D
Post by: The Worker on January 23, 2012, 09:32:00 PM
The FA are so selective in these charges it stinks.
Post by: Mont on January 23, 2012, 10:03:39 PM
fantastic talent and someone the media love because you could write a story on him every day.
deliberate stamp but you get these things with misunderstood superstars.

A ban would give him a rest and leave him fresh for the rest of the season.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 24, 2012, 08:58:47 AM
Don't know how there is any dispute over this as he throws his leg back something serious and that wouldn't be the type of movement you would be trying when attempting to regain balance.  As for the player himself, I hate these comparisons that are made between him and the like of Cantona etc, Ballotelli isn't in the same league and is hugely overrated considering all he has done so far in his career.
Post by: Applesisapples on January 24, 2012, 09:02:01 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 23, 2012, 03:46:01 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on January 23, 2012, 03:39:02 PM
My wife who knows nothing about football and cares even less saw this yesterday as it happened and in her opinion it look accidental. I have to say I did to until the boys replayed it and replayed it and convinced me otherwise.
Indeed.
The point I'm making is she would have no preconceived notions about City or Ballotelli. Personally I can't stand either. It is just possible that he did not mean to stamp and the Ref who saw it in real time called it right. It is too easy to slow down video to make actions seem more premeditated.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on January 24, 2012, 09:16:35 AM
I think Balotelli is great entertainment but there was definite intent in the stamp. Naturally he should have brought his right leg across his body onto the ground but he brings it backwards & he lands it on Parker with excessive force...very dirty!!! Should be a 10 match ban at least.. Surely stamping on someone's face is worse than calling him a name??
Post by: Minder on January 24, 2012, 09:17:39 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 24, 2012, 08:58:47 AM
Don't know how there is any dispute over this as he throws his leg back something serious and that wouldn't be the type of movement you would be trying when attempting to regain balance.  As for the player himself, I hate these comparisons that are made between him and the like of Cantona etc, Ballotelli isn't in the same league and is hugely overrated considering all he has done so far in his career.

Had Cantona "done" as much at that age?
Post by: HiMucker on January 24, 2012, 11:15:02 AM
In fariness when Cantona (as great as he was) was playing the premier league was behind the french, spanish, german, Italian and probably even dutch league at that time.  It is now the best league in the world, and I would even go as far to say that many championship clubs would comfortably stay up in all the other leagues.  Players like mario, due to conditioning and training advancements are on a differnet level these days.
Post by: AQMP on January 24, 2012, 11:46:54 AM
Hard to see how the FA can ban him for 4 games when they backed Rooney in his appeal against a 3 match international ban...or am I missing something? :P
Post by: EC Unique on January 24, 2012, 11:58:24 AM
Looks like City are going to accept the charge and not appeal.
Post by: screenexile on January 24, 2012, 11:59:34 AM
Quote from: AQMP on January 24, 2012, 11:46:54 AM
Hard to see how the FA can ban him for 4 games when they backed Rooney in his appeal against a 3 match international ban...or am I missing something? :P

You're not but the FA seem to be blind to hypocrisy!!
Post by: Applesisapples on January 24, 2012, 12:13:36 PM
The Premiership is not the best league in the world, the football is exciting yes but technically average. If you want to see real intent and coached dirt look no further than Pepe on Messi in the Copa Del Rey and Mourhino's tactics in total.
Post by: Clown on January 24, 2012, 03:07:24 PM
Theres only one man can get off with kicking someone in the head in the premier league

Englands Alan Shearer
Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 24, 2012, 06:11:52 PM
Crouch faces no action over eye gouge in West Brom game. Another example of one rule for English players and another for other players?
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 24, 2012, 06:21:48 PM
Possibly, Lescott got off yesterday and he's English.
Post by: gallsman on January 24, 2012, 08:41:18 PM

What had Cantona achieved at Balotelli's age?

Sorry, Minder beat me to it.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 24, 2012, 10:16:17 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 24, 2012, 08:41:18 PM

What had Cantona achieved at Balotelli's age?

Sorry, Minder beat me to it.

Did you forget that iwhen anything about Utd is mentioned that that's the benchmark?