GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fuzzman on July 15, 2019, 03:08:14 PM

Title: Tyrone v Cork in Croke Park Sat 20th July 5pm
Post by: Fuzzman on July 15, 2019, 03:08:14 PM
8th championship game of the season for Tyrone and it's only mid July.
Building up momentum nicely and whilst we might not look like we're at the same level to the Dubs, Kerry and Donegal (perhaps) we seem to have got back our mojo and are much more assured and comfortable playing in this style.
It is very different to a few years ago with a lot more direct kicking and our actual full forwards back scoring regularly. With McShane showing little signs of easing up or being taken out of the equation (so far) he continues to be the championship top scorer and must be in with some chance of an all star.

I was at the Cork v Dubs match on Sat night as couldn't make it to Roscommon and Cork certainly came out all guns blaring v Dublin. Yes the final score looked dreadful for them but I'd say they will attack us like crazy and show us no fear at all. Could be a bit like the Rossie game as we hammered them as well last year so they will have to prove they've progressed a good bit since then.
They still look naive a bit at the back and you would imagine Tyrone will let them win their kickouts and allow them to approach our 40 and then steal the ball from them and break
Title: Re: Tyrone v Cork in Croke Park Sat 20th July 5pm
Post by: Jayop on July 15, 2019, 03:37:04 PM
I think we're looking in great shape. Clearly very fit compared to anyone we've played this year bar Donegal and we played them very early in the summer so may not have been peaked yet. Scored 17 points away at the weekend which is a good score against a fairly defensively solid side in that heat and we could have had a fair bit more too.

Looking forward to Cork again. Like Roscommon they seem to have come on a fair bit since we played them last year with good performances against Kerry in the Munster final and in the qualifier against Laois. They had a pretty good first half against the Dubs too in fairness to them. Should make for a decent challenge and should we win that and Dublin win their game after then we're through to the semi's for the fourth time in 5 years which is a great standard for Tyrone to be at.

We really need to tie up this Cork forward line and stop them getting goals which seems to really give them oxygen, by my count they have 11 goals in 4 games this year which is outstanding considering 4 of those came against Kerry and Dublin. If we can keep them to 1 goal or less then I'd be pretty confident we can outscore them but if we let them get more than that, given we're still not exactly hammering them in ourselves then we give our selves a hill to climb with points only.

I'd predict Tyrone by 4 again but Cork can certainly get a shock here if we're not on it.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 15, 2019, 04:00:11 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 15, 2019, 03:37:04 PM
I'd predict Tyrone by 4 again but Cork can certainly get a shock here if we're not on it.
Tyrone normally win by far greater margin than 4 points when the opposition they face are poor defensively and i can't see Tyrone giving the Cork forwards the time and room to play as Dublin did last Saturday or Kerry did in the Munster final.

Post by: Angelo on July 15, 2019, 08:40:54 PM
Kennedy went off with an injury on Saturday so probably should give him a rest for this one, might be a good chance to ease Hampsey back in.

Cork did well against Kerry and Dublin for large parts but I think the open way they play will leave loads of space for Tyrone to break at speed on the counter. I see this being a very high scoring game.
Post by: Jayop on July 15, 2019, 09:13:20 PM
If we're going into the last 2 minutes of this with a nice lead I'd love to see harte pick up a black card. Honestly don't know which of the teams in the other group I'd prefer to play for the semi final if we win this so getting Harte's ban out of the way for the Dubs would be no harm at all.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 09:19:44 PM
How many weeks in a row have Tyrone played?
Post by: Jayop on July 15, 2019, 10:01:53 PM
Cork will be 5 in a row.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 10:07:15 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 15, 2019, 10:01:53 PM
Cork will be 5 in a row.

Serious going. Could probably afford to rest a couple lads this weekend.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 15, 2019, 10:08:54 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 10:07:15 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 15, 2019, 10:01:53 PM
Cork will be 5 in a row.

Serious going. Could probably afford to rest a couple lads this weekend.

All were 5pm Saturday throw-ins. All played away from home.
Post by: Jayop on July 15, 2019, 10:15:26 PM
hard te beat playing games. I'm sure if you asked the players they'd want them coming thick and fast with light training rather than a long gap and having to dog themsevles in training.

They'll have played 8 games in 10 weeks and they look as sharp and as healthy as I remember seeing this group. Usual story about teams playing week in and week out. If they win it's down to having match practice and momentum, if they lose it's because they're burned out.

Get this game out of the way and you can be sure Mickey won't be resting anyone for it. If we can win this then we're in the Super8 providing the Dubs beat the Rossies regardless of what happens after. Then there's a 2 week break to the final Super8 game which will be a dead rubber. Honestly can't see any advantage in coming first or second in this group. Likelyhood right now is Donegal and Kerry in the Semi's and I couldn't pick which of those would be better suited to Tyrone but personally I'd prefer to test ourselves against Kerry if we get to that point.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 10:43:14 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 15, 2019, 10:15:26 PM
hard te beat playing games. I'm sure if you asked the players they'd want them coming thick and fast with light training rather than a long gap and having to dog themsevles in training.

They'll have played 8 games in 10 weeks and they look as sharp and as healthy as I remember seeing this group. Usual story about teams playing week in and week out. If they win it's down to having match practice and momentum, if they lose it's because they're burned out.

Get this game out of the way and you can be sure Mickey won't be resting anyone for it. If we can win this then we're in the Super8 providing the Dubs beat the Rossies regardless of what happens after. Then there's a 2 week break to the final Super8 game which will be a dead rubber. Honestly can't see any advantage in coming first or second in this group. Likelyhood right now is Donegal and Kerry in the Semi's and I couldn't pick which of those would be better suited to Tyrone but personally I'd prefer to test ourselves against Kerry if we get to that point.

Are semi final the week after last round of group games? Was unfair on likes of Galway last year
Post by: RedHand88 on July 15, 2019, 10:55:43 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 10:43:14 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 15, 2019, 10:15:26 PM

Are semi final the week after last round of group games? Was unfair on likes of Galway last year

They are indeed, so as to allow a 3 week build-up to the final
Post by: Jayop on July 15, 2019, 11:13:38 PM
And even then it was only a 2 week build up last year with the pope coming.

TBH I think a 2 week build up to the semi and a 2 week to the final would be better rather than rushing the semi final. That game is a big deal in it's own right.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 15, 2019, 11:22:33 PM
I think Tyrone's are perfectly set up to give Cork a hammering.

I really would not be surprised to see a similar type of game to the Tyrone Cavan game, maybe not quite the same gap in the scoreline but a similar structural dismantling where Cork struggle to make an impact against the Tyrone defence and Tyrone just have to wander down the field and pop over points at their ease.

I think Cork were rather fortunate the scoreline in the Dublin game wasn't wider.
Post by: Under Lights on July 16, 2019, 08:33:51 AM
Here's how it will be. Hammer Cork this weekend. Peter Harte take a black card and miss the Dublin game freeing him up for the rest of the year.
Rest a few key men against Dublin and go everyone behind the ball. Converse energy. Take your 7 point defeat.
Move on into Semi final flat out. Lot of football played.

Post by: Whishtup on July 16, 2019, 10:40:52 AM
Peter Harte take a black card and miss the Dublin game freeing him up for the rest of the year.

Sounds risky, could overdo it and get a double red.  Would need some serious black card training to execute it perfectly.  I can see a section of Garvaghy sectioned off for pull downs, verbal and foot trips only.  If you listen to the pundits, this area might already exist!
Post by: Fuzzman on July 16, 2019, 11:39:28 AM
Petey needs no training. Just right foot in too far, then shoulder lad over the top  of it and throw arms up in the air.

Cork could give us a scare and with Hurley and Collins they are a threat. That Cork team have goals in them and if they take their chances like Roscommon didn't do then we could be in for a right game.
Was gas reading the papers yesterday and how many said Tyrone were always in control and just managed the game and pulled away in the second half v the Rossies. Whereas (as I predicted to herself) Brolly said Tyrone could have lost and Roscommon just gave away silly frees and possession time and time again.
In a way it's annoying but in another way I like the way the pundits keep saying our system is good enough to beat the lesser teams but not the big 3 or 4. Donegal did us a big favour by hammering us in Breffni and sending us down the qualifiers route again. It certainly has helped the confidence of many of the newer lads especially McShane. I am disappointed we've not seen more of Coney though but good to see Sludden back to his old self last weekend.
I would say we'll get Kerry in the semi and that could be one hell of a game if we are at full tilt and can contain their FF line.
Gotta beat Cork first though and to me that's not a gimme.
Post by: bogball88 on July 16, 2019, 11:52:52 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 16, 2019, 11:39:28 AM
Petey needs no training. Just right foot in too far, then shoulder lad over the top  of it and throw arms up in the air.

Cork could give us a scare and with Hurley and Collins they are a threat. That Cork team have goals in them and if they take their chances like Roscommon didn't do then we could be in for a right game.
Was gas reading the papers yesterday and how many said Tyrone were always in control and just managed the game and pulled away in the second half v the Rossies. Whereas (as I predicted to herself) Brolly said Tyrone could have lost and Roscommon just gave away silly frees and possession time and time again.
In a way it's annoying but in another way I like the way the pundits keep saying our system is good enough to beat the lesser teams but not the big 3 or 4. Donegal did us a big favour by hammering us in Breffni and sending us down the qualifiers route again. It certainly has helped the confidence of many of the newer lads especially McShane. I am disappointed we've not seen more of Coney though but good to see Sludden back to his old self last weekend.
I would say we'll get Kerry in the semi and that could be one hell of a game if we are at full tilt and can contain their FF line.
Gotta beat Cork first though and to me that's not a gimme.
He was at a wedding on Saturday, hence why he didnt feature against Roscommon
Post by: The Bearded One on July 16, 2019, 11:59:43 AM
Is that twice he has missed games for a wedding now? Harte must be getting more relaxed as the years go on.
Post by: tyrone08 on July 16, 2019, 12:17:27 PM
what's the story with skeet this year. He's hardly gotten much time this year at all. Given our lack of forwards I would have though harte should be bringing him on more regularly to keep him sharp.

If McCurry or mcshane get injured you could hardly expected.skeet to come on and make an impact with limited game time under his belt
Post by: GetOverTheBar on July 16, 2019, 12:19:16 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on July 16, 2019, 12:17:27 PM
what's the story with skeet this year. He's hardly gotten much time this year at all. Given our lack of forwards I would have though harte should be bringing him on more regularly to keep him sharp.

If McCurry or mcshane get injured you could hardly expected.skeet to come on and make an impact with limited game time under his belt

Can't have it all one way. McAliskey is an inside full forward. McShane has made that position undoubtedly his own. McAliskey can't do the dog work unseen that McCurry does coming inside to help the inside defensive shape. He's fighting for 1 of 2 spots and he's not done anything to suggest there should be a change really.
Post by: tyrone08 on July 16, 2019, 12:27:21 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on July 16, 2019, 12:19:16 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on July 16, 2019, 12:17:27 PM

Can't have it all one way. McAliskey is an inside full forward. McShane has made that position undoubtedly his own. McAliskey can't do the dog work unseen that McCurry does coming inside to help the inside defensive shape. He's fighting for 1 of 2 spots and he's not done anything to suggest there should be a change really.

Yeah suppose your right. Although in games where tyrone are winning by 4-5 points would be worthwhile bringing mcshane off to protect him for future games and bring skeet on.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 16, 2019, 01:27:16 PM
Good article by Brendan Crossan on Cathal McShane in IN...

The making of Owen Roe's blue-collar hero Cathal McShane
Brendan Crossan delves into the career of the Championship's top scorer and man of the moment Cathal McShane and his astonishing rise to prominence at the head of the Red Hand attack...

Tyrone's Cathal McShane has morphed into an outstanding full-forward as the Red Hands pursue another All-Ireland crown Picture by Philip Walsh

BRENDAN CROSSAN
13 July, 2019 01:00

ANY time Michael McShane ran into 'Duck' McCay he'd roll his eyes in mock dismay. One look from Michael was enough to tell 'Duck' that another piece of guttering at the top of his house had taken a battering.

It was there where Michael's son Cathal honed his kicking and catching skills.

'Duck' was one of the Owen Roe O'Neill's coaches that planted the seed in young McShane.

"Cathal's father used to complain to me because he'd kick the ball up on the roof and he'd catch it coming down," says 'Duck', now vice-chairman of the west Tyrone intermediate club.

"Occasionally the spouting would come off. Cathal did that constantly, practising catching the ball using both feet."

Gerard Porter introduced the skinny flame-haired kid to senior football in August 2012, coming off the bench in the club's junior championship defeat to Brackaville.

A few weeks later, the wide-eyed 17-year-old earned his first start for the Owen Roe seniors, scoring in a convincing nine-point win over Glenelly.

"What he had over the rest of the players of his age was he listened," recalls Porter, who enjoyed two managerial spells with his club.

"Cathal would have sat on the changing room floor with his legs crossed because there were no seats. He'd look up at that white board and he listened."

McShane became involved in Tyrone's development squads from 2009 before graduating to Mickey Donnelly's minor team in 2013 where he earned a reputation for being a great impact sub.

"He actually would have made it as a goalkeeper," insists 'Duck', who nurtured the vast majority of the youth around Owen Roe's.

"He kept goal for us in the minor championship final when he was only 14. The first time he went to trials for county minors I wanted him to go as a goalkeeper because I thought he would have made it as a goalkeeper, but he wanted to make it out the field."

For a time during his early teens it wasn't certain McShane would throw his lot in with Tyrone.

A fine soccer player, he played in the Milk Cup for Co Tyrone in 2012 and scored one of the goals that saw the Red Hands topple the mighty Manchester United, the first time in the competition's 30-year history that the Old Trafford club lost to a county side.

But once he turned down a soccer scholarship in America it was clear where McShane's heart lay.

During the early years, McShane and Owen Roe's experienced enough near-misses to last them a life-time, losing an U16 Grade Three league final in 2010 and the Grade Two decider the following year.

Also in 2010 he picked up another runners-up medal - as the goalkeeper 'Duck' always imagined him to be - at minor level.

The following year he finally got his hands on a winner's medal in a Grade Three League final against Aghaloo, the-then 16-year-old hitting five points in the decider.

Cathal McShane (centre) keeping his eye on the ball against Aghyaran U13s

Saturday July 6 2019: All-Ireland Round Three Qualifier: Cavan 0-7 Tyrone 1-20

RAPTUROUS applause rang out from the Gerry Arthurs stand as Cathal McShane was called ashore by Mickey Harte in the second half, with a place in the All-Ireland Super 8s already secured.

Tyrone's re-designed full-forward didn't have many possessions in the game but when he did Cavan couldn't contain him.

Porter was, quite literally, bursting with pride as he watched the player he gave his senior debut to seven years earlier.

The wiry kid from Sigerson country, with the unrecognisable physique and explosive pace, ripping up the Championship.

"I was down in Clones and I was sitting with my wife and my wee boy and I was just admiring him," says Porter.

"I was just thinking: 'Jeez, fair play to you...'

"When you hear people around you talking about him – you obviously don't get involved in the conversation – but you're listening to it and thinking: 'Little do they know how close I was to that young fella.'"

Here he was, young Cathal, thriving on the big stage, carrying the flag for Owen Roe's and following in the footsteps of clubmen Declan McCrossan and Brendan Boggs who also graduated to the Tyrone seniors during the 'Noughties'.

With a sardonic grin, 'Duck' adds: "At Owen Roe's we're inclined to come in ones."

McShane's two second-half points against Cavan were outrageous, accepting a kick pass both times, one each from Peter Harte and Kieran McGeary before turning and firing over the bar.

"Paudie Faulkner is one of the strongest full-backs in the game and Cathal was shrugging him off as if he wasn't there," says former Tyrone great Peter Canavan, who guided the Owen Roe's man to the U21 All-Ireland title in 2015.

"Cathal wouldn't have done that two years ago. His first touch and handling have improved and also his decision-making. Over the past couple of years he was taking shots when there were other options. He's not as shot-happy; he's shooting when it's the right time to shoot."

Canavan, Fergal Logan and Brian Dooher were the men behind the class of 2015. After edging out Tipperary in a memorable U21 All-Ireland final in Parnell Park, man-of-the-match McShane was one of the first Harte called upon for senior duty.

A couple of months later McShane was thrown in at the deep for Tyrone's ill-fated Ulster preliminary round defeat to Donegal in rainy Ballybofey.

It didn't go well, but the experience was banked all the same.

"Cathal was probably thrown into the team a bit quicker than Mickey would normally do because Tyrone were really searching for forwards around that time and needed a lead attacker," says Tyrone's three-time All-Ireland winner Philip Jordan.

McShane was raw as ropes, but he would come again. He'd too much natural ability and athleticism not to carve out a decent inter-county career for himself.

"At U21," Canavan explains, "we played him primarily at midfield because he had good hands, he was well able to win his own ball, he could get up and down the pitch and he could score. As far as we were concerned he was another Sean Cavanagh in our team. He loved taking men on and loved to score...

"At the start of each year, Tyrone would meet up and I remember Art McRory would gather the squad round and he'd tell the new recruits the only thing he could guarantee them was pain.

"Pain of losing, because it was inevitable we'd lose games, pain in terms of injuries, pain in terms of the sacrifices they'd have to make and the pain of trying to compete in inter-county football. He was saying to them that they were no longer playing U21 football."

A hard road lay ahead for McShane and his U21 team-mates as Harte set about rebuilding the senior squad.

"I think Cathal struggled tactically when he came into the team," says Jordan.

"I remember it was an Ulster semi-final replay against Cavan a few seasons ago [2016] and Peter Donnelly was running the line on that side and he was constantly giving Cathal instructions about where to be.

"It looked to me that he maybe wasn't picking up the gameplan as quick. People might say it's a very simple system, getting men behind the ball, but it's actually not that simple; it's about getting people in the right positions.

"There's a lot of work that goes into it, and you could see the work the management were putting into Cathal. They knew the talent was there – it was a matter of getting him to understand the game more."

AS a guest pundit on last week's Sunday Game, Malachy O'Rourke shone a light on the subtle changes to Tyrone's attack in 2019 and pin-pointed McShane's emergence.

"If you're looking for improvement in Tyrone Cathal McShane is a key figure for them," said the former Monaghan manager.

"Last year Mark Bradley was playing inside and his movement was sometimes away from the goals, whereas the ball is being played to Cathal McShane and he's in a very central area.

"[In last year's All-Ireland final] Tyrone had 16 wides compared to Dublin's six wides, so they had lots of play, lots of chances but they weren't getting them in the high-percentage scoring zone.

"With Cathal McShane in there he's giving them a focal point... he's more likely to be scoring from that area, and I think that's a massive thing going forward for Tyrone."

After hitting five points from play in Tyrone's Ulster prelim joust with Derry at Celtic Park in May, he was equally dangerous against Antrim.

Over the past six or seven years, Ricky Johnston has emerged as one of the best defenders in Antrim.

While studying at Jordanstown, the Creggan Kickhams man marked McShane while at St Mary's for roughly 20 minutes in a game.

Once he saddled up to the Owen Roes for their Ulster clash at The Athletic Grounds at the end of May, Johnston couldn't believe the physical transformation in McShane.

"As well as him being good, the ball that is provided for him is high quality," said Johnston.

"They hit a lot of cross-field balls against us which is difficult to defend against. He's got everything as a full forward; he's explosive, he's big and he never stops moving."

Backing up O'Rourke's canny observation, Johnston added: "He stays around the 'D' and tries to make as much space within that small radius. He doesn't drift too far from goal, which means he can maybe take his man on for a goal or pop it over."

Canavan also cites the departure of his U21 team-mate Mark Bradley and the introduction of the 'attacking mark', trialled during the National League, that perhaps prompted Mickey Harte to go for a ball-winning full-forward who would generally stay between the posts.

"If you look at the amount of passes he receives inside the scoring zone I think that's crucial," Canavan says.

"That's the toughest place to be winning it but it's the most effective. And if he can continue to do that he gives Tyrone a serious attacking option.

"Two years ago Cathal wouldn't have stayed in there when there was no ball coming in. I think he knows his role in the team and his part in the system.

"While he mightn't have seen much action in the first 20 or 30 minutes against Cavan, the longer the game went on the more ball he got. So he was rewarded for his patience in there."

While Tyrone have blazed a trail through this summer's Qualifiers to reach the Super 8s, the Donegal defeat in the Ulster semis remains a mystery – at least for those outside the camp.

Tyrone may only have lost by four points, but it was a four-point hammering.

On the face of it, McShane had a subdued night in Breffni Park – but on closer inspection the 23-year-old couldn't have done much more with 16 possessions, many of which were hard-earned.

With his first three touches he assisted for Tyrone's two opening points and set up a goal chance. He pointed with his sixth touch and faced with two men at all times he broke two balls he had no right to break.

The only possession he lost in the game was just before the interval.

As Kieran McGeary, Colm Cavanagh and Paudie Hampsey aimed hopeless balls into his general vicinity, McShane remained Tyrone's most potent weapon on the night, creating a late goal chance for Michael Cassidy that should have been the momentum changer for an out-of-sorts Tyrone.

Even when Tyrone faltered, McShane's performance levels remained high.

Top scorer in this year's Championship with 2-30, he has been the outstanding player in the country.

"Probably up until last year it was 50-50 whether the ball was going over the bar or not. He has now become a deadly finisher; when he takes a shot you're pretty certain he's going to score," says Jordan.

"He's been that focal point of the attack that Tyrone needed. Tyrone have shifted back to their older style a bit but he's still able to cause defences problems... He has an understanding of the tactical side of the game, and that's the biggest challenge he seems to have faced.

"For inside forwards it's a lot different now. You used to see them making a big run out the pitch to the ball. Now, no player is making a 50-yard run from the inside to get possession – it's five or 10-metre sprints and that's really where Cathal has surprised people with his explosiveness, plus he has that physical strength to go along with it. It's great to have that burst of pace but if you don't have the strength, defenders are still going to get their hands on you."

Young Cathal McShane starting to flourish with Owen Roe minors in 2013
THE Owen Roe's contingent will be out in force again today cheering on Cathal as Tyrone open their Super 8s account against Roscommon.

It's not just his talent that they laud. It's Cathal himself. He's always around the club, even for starred games, he's chatting and always making time for the youngsters.

The flattering headlines and the hype won't change him one iota because he came from humble roots and that's how he'll remain.

'Duck' says: "The influence he's having on the younger boys at the club is incredible – they all look up to him and want to emulate him."

"If he won the All-Ireland, it would be somebody who deserved it, somebody who deserved to flourish," says Gerard Porter.

"You see players and you think: 'He's got too big for his boots.' But not Cathal. You should see him with the kids at the club. He's just got something different. He's the Pied Piper
Post by: Fuzzman on July 18, 2019, 02:20:35 PM
Will Cork have their hurleys with them on Saturday?
Who's gonna mark him?

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gaa-statistics-goal-machine-brian-hurley-crucial-to-cork-s-game-of-we-ll-score-more-1.3959700

Brian Hurley is the football championship's most prolific goalscorer, he stays in the inside line and when the ball goes in it sticks.

Against Dublin last weekend Hurley never touched the ball further than 35 metres from goal. So far this summer he has received possession outside of the opposition's 45 only twice.

He had only eight possessions against Dublin, but won every ball that went into him, scored 0-3 and was directly involved in two goal chances. Cork had four goal chances in all, they took only one, Hurley missed a one-on-one chance he created for himself and assisted another missed attempt.

Traditionally an inside forward staying within 35 metres of the opposition goal would be the norm but Hurley is a dying breed in the modern game. An out an out poacher, his first thought is always goal and there's no better man to find the back of the net. Not this year anyway.

Hurley has scored more goals than any other footballer so far in the 2019 football championship. In four matches he has scored five and, including his last league game against Armagh when the Rebels first began to show their summer form, he has seven goals in his last five matches.

Cork have made 25 goal chances in those four matches, and Hurley has been directly involved in 11 of them. Either assisting or shooting. So that's almost three per match for the prolific No 14.

Of all the ball played in to him – in the Munster semi-final against Limerick, the final against Kerry, their qualifier win over Laois and first Super 8s match against Dublin – he has only failed to secure possession on three occasions. And twice he won the ball and was then turned over. He makes fantastic, varied runs and does not waste good ball.

Marquee forwards such as Michael Murphy will switch in and out, deemed too good to be away from the action for a prolonged period. Others come out as part of their team's defensive system, often leaving them behind the play when the ball is won back.

Hurley though positions himself inside the 13m line, he's two-footed which allows him to make runs off either side. He's always looking for the ball in behind and is strong and quick enough to win it out in front too. Most impressively though, in a team of ball carriers, he keeps the team's shape and backs himself to do more off less in the right areas.

He's averaging just over 10 possessions per match in the team's last four encounters. His positioning gives Cork an out ball, as well as preventing the opposition from committing to a full press against their running game. While Cork's man-for-man marking system allows him to pick up the last defender and remain a constant threat.

The Castlehaven club man has scored 5-7 in championship 2019 and assisted 1-4. And he was taken off with 26 minutes left of Cork's 21-point win over Limerick, for the last 10 minutes of the Munster final, and with 17 minutes left of their 4-20 to 1-17 win over Laois.

The player closest to Hurley in the goalscoring charts is Meath's Michael Newman, although half of his goals have been from the penalty spot. Four players have scored three goals – Hurley's team-mate Luke Connolly has also raised two green flags via penalty kicks, and Meath's Bryan Menton has three from midfield.

Armagh's Rian O'Neill scored three goals in four matches before his team's third round exit, while Matthew Fitzpatrick went one better with three in as many games for Antrim.

The players remaining in the championship who have scored two goals are Brian Fenton, Michael Dara Macauley and Con O'Callaghan for the Dubs, Jamie Brennan for Donegal, Roscommon's Shane Killoran, James Carr scored both of Mayo's goals in their win over Galway, and Cathal McShane and Darren McCurry of Tyrone.

Of the 125 goals scored so far this summer, no team has contributed more than Cork or Dublin who both have scored 11 times in their four matches. Of the teams in the Super 8s, Kerry, Donegal and Mayo have scored as many goals as they have played matches. That leaves Kerry with the least amount having played only three championship games thus far.

Roscommon have scored six goals in four matches (while conceding none) and Meath have the same ratio with nine in six. Tyrone have played seven matches and scored eight goals.

They have also conceded six, one less than Cork after playing three matches fewer. Mickey Harte's team have actually conceded 15 goals in 17 matches across the past two championship campaigns.

Packed defence
So between the Rebels and Tyrone they have scored 19 goals and conceded 13 ahead of Saturday's Super 8s encounter.

Hurley ripped his hamstring off the bone in 2016, then suffered a demoralising recurrence of the injury a year later. His footballing career was in doubt after both setbacks. But he took on surgery without any guarantees, and all the rehab twice over. Now, at 27, Cork fans are finally seeing the Hurley who starred as they reached the All-Ireland minor final in 2010 and the under-21 decider in 2013.

He's had to be patient, and against Tyrone's packed defence this weekend that patience will be put to the test in a different way.

He may have to wait longer than usual, but with this Cork team's quality and belief, and Hurley in their ranks, the chances will come. The problem is, with Cork's man-for-man defensive plan, there'll be plenty of chances at the other end too.

Without any cover, one take-on or loss of concentration opens the whole thing up to overlaps. Against Kerry, Tom O'Sullivan scored 1-1 from half back, and last weekend the Dublin backs scored 1-3 and their midfielders finished with 2-1.

But Cork ultimately still back themselves to score more - after all they do have the championship's number one patient poacher.

Post by: Cunny Funt on July 18, 2019, 04:01:11 PM
Some impressive stats there on Brian Hurley. Good to see him back to impressive form again. For a while there it seemed like his county career would be cut short due to injury. 
Post by: giveballaghback on July 18, 2019, 07:29:48 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 15, 2019, 11:22:33 PM
I think Tyrone's are perfectly set up to give Cork a hammering.

I really would not be surprised to see a similar type of game to the Tyrone Cavan game, maybe not quite the same gap in the scoreline but a similar structural dismantling where Cork struggle to make an impact against the Tyrone defence and Tyrone just have to wander down the field and pop over points at their ease.

I think Cork were rather fortunate the scoreline in the Dublin game wasn't wider.
So the David Brady of Tyrone, humble to the last.
Post by: Jayop on July 18, 2019, 09:20:56 PM
Bit sad there's no Cork football fans on here and we have to resort to the Rossies coming in to try a stir a bit of craic up.
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2019, 09:48:23 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 18, 2019, 09:20:56 PM
Bit sad there's no Cork football fan on here
He's in Páirc Uí Rinn tonight.
Post by: Jayop on July 18, 2019, 10:09:41 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2019, 09:48:23 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 18, 2019, 09:20:56 PM
Bit sad there's no Cork football fan on here
He's in Páirc Uí Rinn tonight.

(https://i.imgur.com/zzSDo.gif)
Post by: tyroneman on July 19, 2019, 09:10:01 AM
Hmm...bad feeling about this....never like playing Cork and memories of 2009 keep rattling round in my head.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on July 19, 2019, 09:50:47 AM
Cork absolutely have the potential to upset Tyrone tomorrow night.

Will they? I'm not sure. Few interesting battles ahead, McNamee v Hurley will be worth a watch.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 19, 2019, 10:13:07 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 19, 2019, 09:10:01 AM
Hmm...bad feeling about this....never like playing Cork and memories of 2009 keep rattling round in my head.

Everything went wrong that day. Everything. Unlikely to happen again.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2019, 12:37:52 PM
If there's one team built to bottle up Cork's attack, and that's all they have, it's Tyrone.

This could be embarrassing for Cork.
Post by: square_ball on July 19, 2019, 12:53:56 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on July 19, 2019, 09:50:47 AM

Will they? I'm not sure. Few interesting battles ahead, McNamee v Hurley will be worth a watch.

Cavanagh sweeping in front will ensure that McNamee doesn't get into many 1 to 1 battles with Hurley
Post by: Fuzzman on July 19, 2019, 02:35:11 PM
Anyone coming down on the train, a few of us are meeting in Clearys pub, under the railway bridge near Connolly station before and after the game. Back bar.

Big win for Cork U20s the other evening. We meet them in the semi next.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on July 19, 2019, 03:04:43 PM
Quote from: square_ball on July 19, 2019, 12:53:56 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on July 19, 2019, 09:50:47 AM

Cavanagh sweeping in front will ensure that McNamee doesn't get into many 1 to 1 battles with Hurley

The one time Cavanagh was caught out of position against the Rossies in the last few mins they launched one long ball in and they nearly got the goal from it. If Cork catch Cavanagh and they are smart enough to launch it, there is joy there.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 19, 2019, 04:44:44 PM
Talking of long balls in over the top, Morgan needs to settle the head sometimes about coming off his line.
Yes there's been a good few times he's done very well and came out and caught it clean in front of the full back or full forward but other times he should know he's not gonna get to it first and should stay on his line.
His confidence is high at the moment I think as he's played well this year despite missing the odd far out free.

I have bad memories of us really struggling with our kick-outs v Cork in 2009. I've a feeling they've decided to let other teams get it short and so not to risk the long kick over the top with CC out of position.
Post by: under the bar on July 19, 2019, 11:21:22 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 19, 2019, 02:35:11 PM
Anyone coming down on the train, a few of us are meeting in Clearys pub, under the railway bridge near Connolly station before and after the game. Back bar.

Is that Clearys where they don't even bother washing the pint gasses properly if at all? No thanks :-X
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 20, 2019, 11:36:45 AM
Quote from: under the bar on July 19, 2019, 11:21:22 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 19, 2019, 02:35:11 PM

Is that Clearys where they don't even bother washing the pint gasses properly if at all? No thanks :-X

Have you been there in the last 10 years? :P
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 20, 2019, 04:56:34 PM
Would fear for Cork today. Tyrone could win this by 15-20 points in first gear.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 20, 2019, 05:06:58 PM
Tyrone caught napping early on here but unlikely to panic.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2019, 05:07:22 PM
Big turnout in Croker! I'd say the atmosphere is magic!
Post by: clarshack on July 20, 2019, 05:17:38 PM
We look completely clueless here.
Post by: clarshack on July 20, 2019, 05:20:12 PM
Game over already. There's more goals in this cork team unfortunately.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 20, 2019, 05:28:19 PM
Dream half for Cork. Very few wides.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 20, 2019, 05:32:39 PM
Every time I see Cork play I regret not getting anything on them at 150/1 more and more
Post by: Rudi on July 20, 2019, 05:33:09 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 19, 2019, 12:37:52 PM
If there's one team built to bottle up Cork's attack, and that's all they have, it's Tyrone.

Instead its embarrassing for you.
Post by: clarshack on July 20, 2019, 05:38:26 PM
Is Mattie Donnelly even on the pitch here?
The Tyrone leaders have gone awol.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 20, 2019, 05:40:02 PM
Some amount of hand passing in this match although Cork's running hand passing style is giving Tyrone some problems. They are not getting the turnovers they usually thrive on.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 05:40:22 PM
Lucky to be only 5 down, though only conceded 6 scores after being totally dominated. Cork not blindly taking the ball into the tackle and the two goals has given them the platform to just play around in front of our defence. Fair play to them but if we can improve I still think we'll win.
Post by: Zulu on July 20, 2019, 05:44:48 PM
Didn't think Cork would be good enough to show up Tyrone's set up but expected the first good team they met to do it. You simply can't set up as defensively as Tyrone and win against the big teams anymore.

Cork are doing what Dublin did, play in front of the massed defence and turn back out unless it's really on. The goals have given them a great cushion and will allow them be even more patient but you can't get 14 or 15 behind the ball anymore. To beat Tyrone you've to mark Mattie Donnelly and Peter Harte and play the ball around the massed defence and wait for your opportunity.

Cork may not finish the job today but Dublin would and there a few teams better than Cork still.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 20, 2019, 05:44:49 PM
Jesus those Tyrone lads would want a good f**king eating in the dressing room. Looks like they expected just to show up and beat Cork. Incredible lack of urgency andthey look like they couldn't be arsed. Lazy tackling, crap support running and terrible passing.

Want to seriously buck up in the second half.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 20, 2019, 05:52:46 PM
Tyrone have been rubbish in that half and lucky they aren't much further behind. Credit where credit is due to Cork so far
Post by: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 05:53:24 PM
Still expect Tyrone to come back.
Post by: armaghniac on July 20, 2019, 05:53:59 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 05:53:24 PM

In  2020?
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 20, 2019, 06:06:47 PM
Surely a black card for no.5 O'Donovan there. Haul down.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 06:07:13 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 20, 2019, 05:53:59 PM

In  2020?

After 43 mins
Post by: thejuice on July 20, 2019, 06:08:54 PM
I was surprised how few pundits gave cork a chance. Not surprised by them being ahead but more how poor Tyrone have been
Post by: clarshack on July 20, 2019, 06:10:15 PM
And breathe lol.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 06:10:58 PM
This game isn't over but Tyrone showing an ability to change tactics which may have been severely lacking in previous years.
Post by: thejuice on July 20, 2019, 06:13:28 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FlPalDkWsuA
Post by: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 06:15:55 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 20, 2019, 05:53:59 PM

In  2020?

Well this aged well in the last 12 minutes.
Post by: Zulu on July 20, 2019, 06:20:58 PM
Tyrone push up and it turns out they're not a bad team. They just need to back themselves a bit and drop the 15 behind the ball stuff. They can be beaten by a number of teams but they've no chance of beating the top 3 or 4 unless they go for it. Better game now.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 06:33:12 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 20, 2019, 05:38:26 PM
Is Mattie Donnelly even on the pitch here?
The Tyrone leaders have gone awol.

He's been superb in the second half to be fair.
Post by: tyrone08 on July 20, 2019, 06:35:24 PM
Quote from: Rudi on July 20, 2019, 05:33:09 PM

Back to embarrassing for you
Post by: tyrone08 on July 20, 2019, 06:36:37 PM
Official. Stop morgan hitting frees.
Post by: sligoman2 on July 20, 2019, 06:41:49 PM
Another say day for those of us who used to love football.
Post by: Throw ball on July 20, 2019, 06:42:13 PM
Only saw second half but I see Deegan had an improved time keeping display.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 20, 2019, 06:54:55 PM
Well done to Tyrone on a hard earned win. Game was there to be won for Cork but simply aren't good enough especially in defence.
Post by: HokeyPokey on July 20, 2019, 06:55:45 PM
Not exactly vintage stuff.

Showed good determination, coolness and tactical flexibility to come back.

I think it shouldn't be underestimated the fact that this was the last of a number of consecutive weeks on the road. Complacency harder to fight with such a short turnaround.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 20, 2019, 06:56:21 PM
Couple a sloppy goals give away but all in all dont think the result was ever in doubt....just a matter of when we started playing. When we did It was all about Donnelly superb performance.
Post by: lenny on July 20, 2019, 07:06:41 PM
Darren Mc curry's dive in the first half. How embarrassing was that? Not quite McCann level but close enough.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 07:13:42 PM
Quote from: lenny on July 20, 2019, 07:06:41 PM
Darren Mc curry's dive in the first half. How embarrassing was that? Not quite McCann level but close enough.

;D Poor Lenny.
Post by: Jayop on July 20, 2019, 07:18:54 PM
When we went 7 down I thought it was all over. Fair play though excellent second half and Mattie needs a statue built for him after that display.
Post by: BennyCake on July 20, 2019, 07:28:51 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 20, 2019, 07:18:54 PM
When we went 7 down I thought it was all over. Fair play though excellent second half and Mattie needs a statue built for him after that display.

As we speak, Tyrone fans are probably tearing down Michael Cusack's statue, and hitting it with their sandals.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 20, 2019, 07:29:50 PM
Well done Tyrone. Good see bit of heart from Cork for a change.
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 20, 2019, 07:31:19 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 07:13:42 PM

;D Poor Lenny.
T'is like winning all over again reading his post match posts.
Post by: Whishtup on July 20, 2019, 07:36:42 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 20, 2019, 06:06:47 PM
Surely a black card for no.5 O'Donovan there. Haul down.

I thought that this was the Cavanagh type foul that the black card was brought in for.  Am I misinterpreting the rule?
Post by: lenny on July 20, 2019, 07:38:31 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on July 20, 2019, 07:31:19 PM

;D Poor Lenny.

It's all over Twitter anyway but of course tyronians will stick up for him.
Post by: Whishtup on July 20, 2019, 07:40:17 PM
There's something very heartening about this win.  Don't need to be bursting a lung for the whole match in these games.  You save that for the semi/final.  Col Cav not the best at the minute but would you play a big game without him?
Post by: dublin7 on July 20, 2019, 07:40:58 PM
Quote from: lenny on July 20, 2019, 07:38:31 PM

;D Poor Lenny.

Donnelly some man to dive to win a free. Do Tyrone practice it in training?? There's cynical teams and then there is Tyrone. Embarrassing to watch their antics at times
Post by: HokeyPokey on July 20, 2019, 07:43:56 PM
Still thought Tyrone were not at full tilt for second half. Scoring 2-11 is fair going for a half of football.
Post by: Whishtup on July 20, 2019, 07:56:32 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 20, 2019, 07:40:58 PM

;D Poor Lenny.

Donnelly some man to dive to win a free. Do Tyrone practice it in training?? There's cynical teams and then there is Tyrone. Embarrassing to watch their antics at times

Is this an automated post? Yawn.  Must be nervous about Omagh.
Post by: under the bar on July 20, 2019, 08:00:37 PM

;D Poor Lenny.

Rich coming from the team that gives intercounty referees fat brown envelopes for behind closed doors games to teach them how to cheat within the rules....
Post by: Angelo on July 20, 2019, 08:28:50 PM
Shambolic first half but got the job done in the end.

Mattie really came to the fore in the second half and showed real leadership. Harte and Meyler also had a big second half.

Thought Richie Donnelly was very sloppy when he came on.

The only real encouraging aspect for me today was how we were able to change our style during the game and get the result.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 08:31:28 PM

For me, Tyrone wins are enhanced by reading your bitter posts. Keep it up!
Post by: Angelo on July 20, 2019, 08:34:15 PM

;D Poor Lenny.

Donnelly is some man to score points with three or four players hanging off him.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 08:35:17 PM

;D Poor Lenny.

Usual GAAboard trolls and Twitter up in arms after a Tyrone game, shocker. Both are usually such a beacon of common sense and level headedness. Thanks for the heads up Lenny.
Post by: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 08:42:24 PM
Quote from: Angelo on July 20, 2019, 08:28:50 PM

Mattie really came to the fore in the second half and showed real leadership. Harte and Meyler also had a big second half.

The only real encouraging aspect for me today was how we were able to change our style during the game and get the result.

Encouraging?? Christ almighty why did it take so long to make the changes. I'm dismayed that after 10,20,30 &38 minutes that were played in the first half that Tyrone's tactics were unchanged.
Post by: Angelo on July 20, 2019, 08:46:55 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 08:42:24 PM

Encouraging?? Christ almighty why did it take so long to make the changes. I'm dismayed that after 10,20,30 &38 minutes that were played in the first half that Tyrone's tactics were unchanged.

Yes, encouraging at how effective the tactical changes were. I thought we were very flat in the first half and a lot of the players were passengers so they probably needed a bit of a dressing down too.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 08:52:26 PM

I personally think Harte didn't want to show that hand just yet and wanted every team to think we'd abandoned the more attacking approach. Things are encouraging because compared to last year we can switch things up a little. That makes us more difficult to plan for. Cork thought they had us sussed and couldn't adjust to our changes. Whether that's enough to compete with the Dubs is another thing.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 09:04:34 PM

;D Poor Lenny.

"All over Twitter"

I found FOUR tweets  :o ::)
Post by: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 09:06:26 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 08:52:26 PM

I personally think Harte didn't want to show that hand just yet and wanted every team to think we'd abandoned the more attacking approach. Things are encouraging because compared to last year we can switch things up a little. That makes us more difficult to plan for. Cork thought they had us sussed and couldn't adjust to our changes. Whether that's enough to compete with the Dubs is another thing.

Come on I think you give him more credit than he's worth. Do you not think Cork knew how Tyrone had been playing during the league with Matty & Cathal up front until Mickey got spooked after the Donegal game. Personally I think he's a lucky manager and is very poor tactically.
Post by: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 09:09:51 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 09:04:34 PM

;D Poor Lenny.

"All over Twitter"

I found FOUR tweets  :o ::)

Did you actually go looking? Dont listen to clowns like Lenny he's from a county that when I think of them I think "losers". Just laugh at him. The highlight of his life is watching Tyrone.
Post by: mrdeeds on July 20, 2019, 09:13:12 PM
Just saw the dive. Wow.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 09:25:04 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 09:06:26 PM

Come on I think you give him more credit than he's worth. Do you not think Cork knew how Tyrone had been playing during the league with Matty & Cathal up front until Mickey got spooked after the Donegal game. Personally I think he's a lucky manager and is very poor tactically.

We'll have to agree to disagree on that one. Tyrone defensive tactics are good enough to beat nearly everyone bar the top few. Mickeys knows this better than anyone and has been trying to adapt the style. It was still early days v Donegal and he went back to what he knew would get us through the qualifiers. I don't think for one minute he abandoned the game plan they'd been working on throughout the league and I'm sure Tyrone have continued to work on this with the plan always being to utilise it again later in the championship. That's my take on it anyway. Some people in the county will never give Mickey credit and that's fair enough but I tend to disagree.
Post by: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 09:25:37 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on July 20, 2019, 09:13:12 PM
Just saw the dive. Wow.
Wow its the most amazing thing you've seen since???
Post by: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 09:49:10 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 09:25:04 PM

We'll have to agree to disagree on that one. Tyrone defensive tactics are good enough to beat nearly everyone bar the top few. Mickeys knows this better than anyone and has been trying to adapt the style. It was still early days v Donegal and he went back to what he knew would get us through the qualifiers. I don't think for one minute he abandoned the game plan they'd been working on throughout the league and I'm sure Tyrone have continued to work on this with the plan always being to utilise it again later in the championship. That's my take on it anyway. Some people in the county will never give Mickey credit and that's fair enough but I tend to disagree.

Adapt the defensive style? No he hasn't its the same shite different day. Tell me this how many times is C Cavanagh going to give away frees in the scoring area with his reckless tackling? Why hasn't it been cut out? Itsvthe same defensive system that has failed time and time again against the big teams. It failed again today in the first half against a team that will be playing in div 3 next year.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 09:58:33 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 09:49:10 PM

Adapt the defensive style? No he hasn't its the same shite different day. Tell me this how many times is C Cavanagh going to give away frees in the scoring area with his reckless tackling? Why hasn't it been cut out? Itsvthe same defensive system that has failed time and time again against the big teams. It failed again today in the first half against a team that will be playing in div 3 next year.
[/quote

So Tyrone didn't adapt their tactics in the second half? Like I say, we'll agree to disagree but teams don't get consistently to AI semi finals by luck.
Post by: Rudi on July 20, 2019, 10:00:48 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on July 20, 2019, 06:35:24 PM
Quote from: Rudi on July 20, 2019, 05:33:09 PM

Back to embarrassing for you

No its not, Dinny called this game badly wrong. Mattie Donnelly had a fine second half. Tyrone did not play like Tyrone. Still think it's a repeat of last years final.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 10:05:52 PM
Love the bitterness that comes out of the anti-Tyronies every July. It's when they begin to panic that Tyrone might go all the way.
Post by: red hander on July 20, 2019, 10:13:33 PM
Great shoulder tackle from Burns early on in second half was my highlight of game, on from performance by Matty and Petey in second half. Still thought we would win at half-time, despite gap. That lad Hurley is a serious footballer. Keep yapping Lenny, we Tyrone people feed on your tears, ye glipe.
Post by: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 10:24:22 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 09:58:33 PM

[/quote

So Tyrone didn't adapt their tactics in the second half? Like I say, we'll agree to disagree but teams don't get consistently to AI semi finals by luck.

They did. Which begs the question why play that system in the first half?
Post by: Throw ball on July 20, 2019, 10:27:11 PM
Did I read Peter Donnelly is quitting Tyrone at end of season to take a post with Ulster Rugby ? Big miss for Tyrone if true.
Post by: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 10:30:33 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 20, 2019, 10:27:11 PM
Did I read Peter Donnelly is quitting Tyrone at end of season to take a post with Ulster Rugby ? Big miss for Tyrone if true.

Yes wonder why?
Post by: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 10:36:50 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 10:24:22 PM

[/quote

I thought I'd given my reason for that fairly clearly. Anyway, we are sitting in an AI semi final for the third year in a row for the first time in our history and all some people want to do is moan. I personally think we are in a better place than last year - time will tell.
Post by: red hander on July 20, 2019, 10:42:59 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 10:30:33 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 20, 2019, 10:27:11 PM

Yes wonder why?

I assume he's now going to be paid a salary for what he's doing. Good luck to him, a great servant to Tyrone as player and trainer. Fact Ulster have employed him shows how good he is at his job.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 20, 2019, 10:58:15 PM
Hon Throne
Post by: Main Street on July 20, 2019, 11:04:17 PM
Impressive from the Tyronies in the 2nd half, though the first half was more enjoyable.
Post by: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 11:07:20 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 20, 2019, 10:36:50 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on July 20, 2019, 10:24:22 PM

[/quote

I thought I'd given my reason for that fairly clearly. Anyway, we are sitting in an AI semi final for the third year in a row for the first time in our history and all some people want to do is moan. I personally think we are in a better place than last year - time will tell.

Don't  think you did? The assumed Mickey knows this Mickey knows that Mickey knows best answer was given. How are Tyrone in a better place than last year?
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 20, 2019, 11:22:30 PM
Don't see how Tyrone are any better than last year. If they somehow got to the final against the Dubs, they'd receive the same beating as last year, if not worse.

They'll still be difficult opposition for Kerry/Donegal in semi-finals though.
Post by: Whishtup on July 21, 2019, 12:33:54 AM
Thought McKernan was very dangerous in the second half until he was taken off-was he injured? Tiernan McCann  coming back into the team will be huge-a big part of the spine of the team and a big game player.  Tyrone have definitely added more to their game than last year and a couple of decent players.  In a final though, hard to see past Dubs unless there is a tactical masterclass by Harte.
Post by: MayoBuck on July 21, 2019, 12:41:33 AM
Quote from: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 20, 2019, 11:22:30 PM
Don't see how Tyrone are any better than last year. If they somehow got to the final against the Dubs, they'd receive the same beating as last year, if not worse.

They'll still be difficult opposition for Kerry/Donegal in semi-finals though.

McShane at full forward is a huge addition for them. They're broadly similar everywhere else so I think they have improved.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 21, 2019, 01:32:01 AM
In the words of Kevin Keegan, "I would love it if we beat them."
Them being Kerry/Donegal/Mayo.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 02:05:42 AM
Cork did much better than i expected but they are out of the championship now and will be left to rue letting a 7 point lead slip and where the game was there to be won for them but after getting off to a great start and defending well 1st half they seemed to lose their way maybe lack of fitness to keep it going for a full 70 minutes?

Winning in that manner is much better to Tyrone than last years 16 point win. Donnelly, P Harte, C McShane three of Tyrone's best players all stood up when needed in that 2nd half and R McNamee has been the clear stand out full back this year as no forward has got the better of him yet and in this game he held Brian Hurley scoreless who was eventually subbed off on 50 minutes similar for Conor Cox last week.
Post by: dublin7 on July 21, 2019, 04:34:56 AM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 20, 2019, 07:56:32 PM

;D Poor Lenny.

Is this an automated post? Yawn.  Must be nervous about Omagh.
Couldn't care less about Omagh. Let Mickey shorten the pitch as much as he wants!!!

Dubs are in an All Ireland semi final regardless of what happens in Omagh. If Tyrone somehow make to an All Ireland final against the dubs then the 5 in a row is a nailed on certainty. Dubs have shown that they can rip apart Tyrone's defensive football with ease.  Tyrone still relyimg on tactics that they used 10 yrs ago
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 21, 2019, 04:55:42 AM
Quote from: under the bar on July 20, 2019, 08:00:37 PM

;D Poor Lenny.

Rich coming from the team that gives intercounty referees fat brown envelopes for behind closed doors games to teach them how to cheat within the rules....

Link, please.  Or admit you're  a spoofer.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 21, 2019, 05:03:40 AM

Going back to Plan A to get us through the qualifiers just shows the lack of development though. Having failed with a more expansive style against the one really good opponent we have faced before reverting to type against weaker teams, do you really believe we are going to bring it out again once we face the very best teams? This just looks like more blind faith - "Mickey will have a plan".

The emergence of McShane as a serious option in attack has helped Tyrone, but tactically I don't see any evidence that we are any further down the road. If anything a few months of landing high balls on McShane before retreating back into defence following the Donegal defeat has only added to the confusion. It is no surprise that Tyrone go to pieces against any well drilled team.
Post by: Angelo on July 21, 2019, 07:31:28 AM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 21, 2019, 05:03:40 AM

Going back to Plan A to get us through the qualifiers just shows the lack of development though. Having failed with a more expansive style against the one really good opponent we have faced before reverting to type against weaker teams, do you really believe we are going to bring it out again once we face the very best teams? This just looks like more blind faith - "Mickey will have a plan".

The emergence of McShane as a serious option in attack has helped Tyrone, but tactically I don't see any evidence that we are any further down the road. If anything a few months of landing high balls on McShane before retreating back into defence following the Donegal defeat has only added to the confusion. It is no surprise that Tyrone go to pieces against any well drilled team.

We've came through the qualifiers and Super 8s with relative ease since reverting back. Yesterday was the only time we looked in a bit of bother since the Donegal game.

I don't think it was necessarily the tactics today that cost us in the first half, it was the attitude and work rate of the players and they needed to get in and half time and to get a rocket from the management team. The fact we were 5 points down and were chasing the game would have made Harte's mind up to switch modes but it was the attitude of the players as a whole in that second half which was important.

I don't see anything to suggest we go to pieces against well drilled teams. In the past few years we've only lost to Mayo, Monaghan, Donegal and Dublin the Championship. The defeats to Donegal and Monaghan happened in Ulster and when we've met them outside the Ulster Championship we have beaten both. So that really leaves Mayo in 2016 where we lost by a point with 14 men and Dublin who are the best team in the county and who I can't see past for 5IAR.

The confusion works both ways. We'll play Dublin in a fortnight. They won't really know what to expect, it's a dead rubber so I hope we don't show our full hand because if we do win our semi final then I'm pretty certain we'll have to meet again.
Post by: Orior on July 21, 2019, 09:24:25 AM
I hate to say this, but well done Tyrone on that second half performance.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 21, 2019, 09:28:55 AM
God help whoever takes over from Harte when he does leave, when you see boys giving out about tactics on the night we reach our third semi final in a row. The same boys have probably hardly bothered going to a game all year.

Yesterday showed we are more adaptable then previously and Donnelly/mcshane worked great together again up front. As someone else said I genuinely think Tyrone wanted to get through these games with minimum fuss and mix it up again later in the year. We'd have learnt very little from any tactics change in recent games anyway.

And for all the talk Dublin flood defence when they don't have the ball and often leave no one up front.

Great after a tough schedule that the team now have 3 weeks to get ready for a semi final. I'm sure the management team will be in Croke today getting a good look at the potential opponents.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 21, 2019, 12:06:28 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on July 21, 2019, 09:28:55 AM
God help whoever takes over from Harte when he does leave, when you see boys giving out about tactics on the night we reach our third semi final in a row. The same boys have probably hardly bothered going to a game all year.

Yesterday showed we are more adaptable then previously and Donnelly/mcshane worked great together again up front. As someone else said I genuinely think Tyrone wanted to get through these games with minimum fuss and mix it up again later in the year. We'd have learnt very little from any tactics change in recent games anyway.

And for all the talk Dublin flood defence when they don't have the ball and often leave no one up front.

Great after a tough schedule that the team now have 3 weeks to get ready for a semi final. I'm sure the management team will be in Croke today getting a good look at the potential opponents.

Well said. Three consecutive semis is one hell of an achievement. Only Mayo, Kerry and Dublin have achieved it this decade.
Post by: HokeyPokey on July 21, 2019, 12:20:12 PM
I make it that since 2003 (17 years), Tyrone have only failed to make it to the quarter finals three times and have made nine semi
finals and four finals?
Post by: yellowcard on July 21, 2019, 01:15:51 PM
Mickey Harte is a genius for getting the current Tyrone team to the level that he has. Take Harte and Donnelly out of that side and they are a fairly limited bunch of players but have shown remarkable consistency in the last few years. A combination of Harte's tactical genius and their conditioning has made them very difficult to beat.

Will be interesting to see how many players Dublin/Tyrone rest for next week. If I was in Harte's shoes I'd play a completely different XV but Harte plays McKenna cup likes it's a championship game so I expect that he won't rest very many but that would be a huge mistake imo since the following weeks semi is the critical game for them.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 21, 2019, 01:32:18 PM
Put the u-20s out on the 4th.
Post by: rrhf on July 21, 2019, 01:43:20 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 21, 2019, 12:06:28 PM

Well said. Three consecutive semis is one hell of an achievement. Only Mayo, Kerry and Dublin have achieved it this decade.
Well done team and management.  In big games it's no longer just about yourself. Cork played very well in the first half... moving Matty and Harte's performance in the second half were the difference. Cork showed how decent they were by refusing to fold after the Tyrone blitz..Great result
Post by: superstar_ on July 21, 2019, 03:06:26 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on July 21, 2019, 12:33:54 AM
Thought McKernan was very dangerous in the second half until he was taken off-was he injured? Tiernan McCann  coming back into the team will be huge-a big part of the spine of the team and a big game player.  Tyrone have definitely added more to their game than last year and a couple of decent players.  In a final though, hard to see past Dubs unless there is a tactical masterclass by Harte.
Tiernan McCann shouldnt be on the Tyrone starting team. He is a very poor defender and a liability. Tyrones recent championship defeats since 2015 shows how much of a liability he is in defence. He offers a bit going forward but if Tyrone have any ambition for winning an All Ireland it won't happen with McCann in the defence.
Post by: trileacman on July 21, 2019, 03:18:56 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 21, 2019, 12:06:28 PM

And that's through soft provincial championships unlike ourselves.
Post by: HokeyPokey on July 21, 2019, 03:44:52 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 21, 2019, 01:15:51 PM
Take Harte and Donnelly out of that side and they are a fairly limited bunch of players but have shown remarkable consistency in the last few years. A combination of Harte's tactical genius and their conditioning has made them very difficult to beat.

Morgan, McNamee, Burns, Cavanagh, Hampsey, Sludden, McShane and McGeary have been stand out players at various points over the last few years as well. There's no obvious weak position in terms of personnel.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 21, 2019, 04:45:09 PM

Dublin are outstanding but other than them it's not a particularly strong era and the gap between the top few sides and the rest is significant. The talent in the Tyrone panel and their conditioning means they should be in the last eight at least every year in this era. The championship format makes it easier too. Tyrone reached that final last year by beating a re building (and McBrearty less) Donegal side and a Monaghan team that shat it in Croke Park. All that needs to be taken into account when crowing about reaching 3 semi finals in a row.

Mickey was a fantastic manager for Tyrone and is an inspirational individual. He ran out of effective ideas at this level years ago though. This current crop were built on an ultra defensive model (which was already outdated when he started with it) which was shown up within 5 minutes in the first of those semis. He had no plan b. Last year he changed radically mid summer and we had the rather ridiculous situation of a team which had been built on a negative style specifically to beat the Dubs going all out attack against them in the final. And they were beaten by half time and had no plan b. Chopping and changing again in the months since. Its a team with loads of talent, tremendous fitness levels, but tactically confused and no wonder. We probably wouldn't beat the Dubs whoever was in charge, but we have zero chance as it stands.

Response seems to be that anyone who questions things isn't a real fan and look we've reached 3 semi finals in a row. Blind faith.