GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Donnellys Hollow on June 17, 2017, 11:24:38 PM

Title: Cluiche Ceannais Laighean 2017, Cill Dara v Áth Cliath
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 17, 2017, 11:24:38 PM
This should be straightforward.
Title: Re: Cluiche Ceannais Laighean 2017, Cill Dara v ?????
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 17, 2017, 11:49:35 PM
We owe Westmeath...
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 18, 2017, 12:18:19 AM
Good to be here. Good interview with Daniel Flynn after the game today about how much they are enjoying their football, as fans this year has been a pleasure also. Whatever about the result in the final hopefully we will get an enjoyable day in the dive that is Croke Park and hopefully the lads perform.

Reasons for optimism:
Paul Cribbin should be back, coupled with Neil Flynn's return to fitness means there are plenty of options in attack.
Niall Kelly is off form but won't be forever.
Paddy Brophy will improve in 3 weeks, one of the best ball winner inside forward in the country, it wasn't a bad performance from someone who has only played 15 minutes of an uncompetitive club championship game and a challenge match for his club against the Kildare junior team since his return.
We show no signs of conceding 7 goals in a single match again.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 18, 2017, 01:29:38 AM
Caught the end of the coverage on radio 1, after talking about how good Flynn was, Dessie Dolan informed us that "it seemed to be a tactic for Kildare, get the ball to flynn"  :o

Hard to believe he's getting paid for that sort of shit
Post by: joemamas on June 18, 2017, 02:17:04 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 18, 2017, 01:29:38 AM
Caught the end of the coverage on radio 1, after talking about how good Flynn was, Dessie Dolan informed us that "it seemed to be a tactic for Kildare, get the ball to flynn"  :o

Hard to believe he's getting paid for that sort of shit

Does not come across as "the sharpest tool in the shed", that's for sure.
But par for the course with RTÉ
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2017, 07:36:37 AM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 18, 2017, 12:18:19 AM
Good to be here. Good interview with Daniel Flynn after the game today about how much they are enjoying their football, as fans this year has been a pleasure also. Whatever about the result in the final hopefully we will get an enjoyable day in the dive that is Croke Park and hopefully the lads perform.

Reasons for optimism:
Paul Cribbin should be back, coupled with Neil Flynn's return to fitness means there are plenty of options in attack.
Niall Kelly is off form but won't be forever.
Paddy Brophy will improve in 3 weeks, one of the best ball winner inside forward in the country, it wasn't a bad performance from someone who has only played 15 minutes of an uncompetitive club championship game and a challenge match for his club against the Kildare junior team since his return.
We show no signs of conceding 7 goals in a single match again.

Eh that was a very competitive club championship match, it's was Celbridges bench and the fact they could bring on someone like Paddy Brophy that made difference  >:(
Post by: seafoid on June 18, 2017, 10:17:49 AM
Should be closer this year. Tá Cill Dara ag teacht. Dubs will fade at some stage. Even Kilkenny had to. This year would be ideal.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 18, 2017, 09:26:36 PM
Kilkenny have faded but that has a lot to do with their underage slowing down. The Dubs have serious options in terms of the younger lads, but that being said some of those guys are the same age as key Kildare players who already have at least two years of senior action behind them.
One thing that seems to be right is the conditioning. Being able to live with the Dubs is where most of the teams just off the elite end up getting blown away. Kildare look in great nick and look lean and strong.
Westmeath I fear won't live with them but they will put it up to them for a period and the replay will surely have them refined a bit more.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 18, 2017, 09:40:45 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2017, 07:36:37 AM

Eh that was a very competitive club championship match, it's was Celbridges bench and the fact they could bring on someone like Paddy Brophy that made difference  >:(

Ah it was a game Celbridge won in 2nd gear. The tanned one's bias kept the scoreboard respectable but by the time Paddy came on they were pulling well clear. It was an impressive performance from him that day considering he only flew back in from Australia within the previous 24hrs but Towers will be at the bottom end of the senior championship.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 18, 2017, 10:06:20 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 18, 2017, 09:40:45 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2017, 07:36:37 AM

Ah it was a game Celbridge won in 2nd gear. The tanned one's bias kept the scoreboard respectable but by the time Paddy came on they were pulling well clear. It was an impressive performance from him that day considering he only flew back in from Australia within the previous 24hrs but Towers will be at the bottom end of the senior championship.

Towers will be alright. They'll deal with Eadestown if the worst comes to the worst.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 19, 2017, 06:58:04 AM
Ciaran Whelan hit the nail on the head about Kildare needing to perform well in Croke Park. I think this is a year or two too soon for us to have a realistic chance of an upset win, but I'd be satisfied if we simply played well for most of the game to banish the hangover from the 2015 horror shows.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 25, 2017, 04:35:24 PM
The Dubs are peaking too early.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 25, 2017, 05:09:00 PM
Hope they play it a neutral venue.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 25, 2017, 05:09:48 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 25, 2017, 05:09:00 PM

Hope they don't tell the Dubs where they're playing it.
Title: Re: Cluiche Ceannais Laighean 2017, Cill Dara v Áth Cliath
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 26, 2017, 12:59:30 PM
(https://image.ibb.co/fz8d7k/Capture.png)

>:(
Post by: Fuzzman on June 26, 2017, 04:17:06 PM
I was in Croker yesterday and was very disappointed with Westmeath.

The main thing I've learnt in the last few games is that teams need to push up on Dublin's kickouts and put Cluxton and his defence under pressure. If you allow them easy possession to build from the back you are already handing them the initiative. You might as well lose to Dublin by throwing everything at them. You need to get in their faces and ask them are they up for the fight, not just sit back and try to contain them.

I hope the Kildare management examine Down's performance on Saturday against Monaghan and learn from that.

Galway have beaten Mayo, Down have beaten Monaghan so now it's time for a shock in Leinster.
Post by: shark on June 26, 2017, 04:21:15 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 26, 2017, 04:17:06 PM
I was in Croker yesterday and was very disappointed with Westmeath.

The main thing I've learnt in the last few games is that teams need to push up on Dublin's kickouts and put Cluxton and his defence under pressure. If you allow them easy possession to build from the back you are already handing them the initiative. You might as well lose to Dublin by throwing everything at them. You need to get in their faces and ask them are they up for the fight, not just sit back and try to contain them.

I hope the Kildare management examine Down's performance on Saturday against Monaghan and learn from that.

Galway have beaten Mayo, Down have beaten Monaghan so now it's time for a shock in Leinster.

There already was one by your measure. Carlow beat Wexford. They were longer odds than Galway.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 26, 2017, 04:25:51 PM
Last year Kildare tried defensive and it doesnt work. That doesnt mean we have to be wide open either mind.
In Ollie Lyons, Cribbin etc we have real speed from the back so I hope we can worry the Dubs a bit more.
In terms of keepers. O'Rourke fed the Kildare midfield the last day and WH fed the Dubs losing 22 of 26 of THEIR kick outs.
Kildare have more lads willing to fetch the long ones and lads showing short so that stat should be hugely different. I also think in Brophy and Flynn inside we have two big athletes who will lead the push if Cluxton goes short.
Post by: seafoid on June 26, 2017, 07:22:20 PM
Kildare are in the top 8 so they need a good performance within a few points that they can build on next year. If they click on the day they could even win it. I think Jim McGuinness would recommend diagonal ball into the full forward line. Kildare have lads who can score. Leinster football needs Kildare given the state of things in Meath.
Post by: Hound on June 27, 2017, 04:36:16 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on June 26, 2017, 04:25:51 PM
Last year Kildare tried defensive and it doesnt work. That doesnt mean we have to be wide open either mind.
In Ollie Lyons, Cribbin etc we have real speed from the back so I hope we can worry the Dubs a bit more.
In terms of keepers. O'Rourke fed the Kildare midfield the last day and WH fed the Dubs losing 22 of 26 of THEIR kick outs.
Kildare have more lads willing to fetch the long ones and lads showing short so that stat should be hugely different. I also think in Brophy and Flynn inside we have two big athletes who will lead the push if Cluxton goes short.
The meeja seems to have gone back to Kildare having no chance based on the Westmeath demolition.

But I still think Kildare will cause us problems. Don't give Fenton the run of the place, test the full back line, and don't throw in the towel when Dublin score a quick 1-2.

Will the Kildare fans be back in abundance or is it a bit early for that?

What's the curtain raiser?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 27, 2017, 06:20:10 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 27, 2017, 04:36:16 PM

I'd say the Dublin backroom team will outnumber the Kildare support.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 27, 2017, 06:39:46 PM
Kildare fans were well outnumbered against Meath and close to outnumbered by Laois. I can't see the fans coming back to travel to the theatre of misery on Jones Road to see a likely hammering.
Post by: seafoid on June 27, 2017, 06:47:42 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 27, 2017, 06:39:46 PM
Kildare fans were well outnumbered against Meath and close to outnumbered by Laois. I can't see the fans coming back to travel to the theatre of misery on Jones Road to see a likely hammering.
The 85 hurling semi was like that. No point in going. Cork were going to hammer Galway. We went. I think it was only 8000 in attendance. And Galway won.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 27, 2017, 11:51:04 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 27, 2017, 04:36:16 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on June 26, 2017, 04:25:51 PM
The meeja seems to have gone back to Kildare having no chance based on the Westmeath demolition.

But I still think Kildare will cause us problems. Don't give Fenton the run of the place, test the full back line, and don't throw in the towel when Dublin score a quick 1-2.

What's the curtain raiser?

The minor match. Semi finals are next week.

About 3k Kildare fans for Laois  about 5 for Meath so can't see us bringing any more than 8k for Leinster Final.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2017, 08:04:24 PM
(http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee101/MICKMACK_bucket/14724426_1206762789390308_1828912233821568132_n_zpstzz1mmof.jpg)

When you see it like that, when you have to play them at home, it will be a miracle if we can stay within 10 points of them, a miracle I tell you..
Post by: heffo on June 29, 2017, 08:10:05 PM

Ok Borat.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 29, 2017, 08:16:25 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 29, 2017, 08:10:05 PM

Ok Borat.
(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NzAwWDcwMA==/z/R8AAAOSwyQtVpfmY/$_12.JPG?set_id=880000500F)

We have new kit ya!
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 29, 2017, 08:22:47 PM
They are expecting a bigger crowd at the hurling this year.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 29, 2017, 10:30:20 PM
Wexford alone are heading for 30,000 I am told. I just hope Kildare can bring a crowd. It has been awful the last few years.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 29, 2017, 11:06:58 PM
Wexford can still get a hurling bandwagon going when the opportunity arises.

Kildare won't bring a crowd though, whatever hope we had disappeared with the Westmeath hammering. Too many of the more casual supporters are scarred for life. The lack of support and atmosphere in Croke park has been a major hindrance in recent years for us and it is a vicious circle.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 29, 2017, 11:32:57 PM
The Kerry hammering of Kildare by a final score of 7-16 to 0-10 in the All Ireland football quarter final of 2015 I'd say left huge scars. The odds are Dublin 1/14 and Kildare 9/1.

The Handicap is +/- 9 depending which side you are looking from. From that perspective it looks like an non-event. What ordinary Kildare fan would want to traipse into a half empty Croke Park of which 95% would be Dublin fans and endure what seems likely to be a good beating.

Isn't it great though that Headquarters have made great strides to get the better of Evil Soccer and Rugby in the Capital!  :P
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2017, 11:52:12 PM
Kildare will do far better than some of the doom merchants want us to believe. Jesus, we've few enough games worth watching if a big Kildare crowd can't drive the 30 to 60 minute drive to see how their boys get on then I don't know what to say. You've a good developing team so get behind them and see where you end up.
Post by: Rossfan on June 30, 2017, 12:19:55 AM
But when you hear of even feckin Laois outnumbering them.......
Post by: From the Bunker on June 30, 2017, 01:54:55 AM
Quote from: Zulu on June 29, 2017, 11:52:12 PM
Kildare will do far better than some of the doom merchants want us to believe. Jesus, we've few enough games worth watching if a big Kildare crowd can't drive the 30 to 60 minute drive to see how their boys get on then I don't know what to say. You've a good developing team so get behind them and see where you end up.

When you say better - what do you mean?
Post by: mup on June 30, 2017, 07:56:22 AM
I used to follow Kildare - including close to 600 mile round trips. I have genuinely lost interest since the financial doping came to light. I'll watch the GAA on TV.
Post by: heffo on June 30, 2017, 08:37:09 AM
Quote from: mup on June 30, 2017, 07:56:22 AM
I used to follow Kildare - including close to 600 mile round trips. I have genuinely lost interest since the financial doping came to light. I'll watch the GAA on TV.

Are you talking about the glory years or 2008-2013?

We're all still paying for that bailout when Kildare ran the most expensive setup in the country.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2017, 09:40:26 AM

Zulu, the Leinster SFC is dead, Dublin fans and their we'd love to travel if only has proven to be BS, the most successful county in the country could barely half-fill O'Moore Park, less than an hour by car or train down the road, what do you say to that?

I rarely miss a Kildare game but I will miss the Leinster Final (France holiday) but for me to bring my family and kids to Tullamore was less than €50, this goes up by €30, in Tullamore they can bring a ball, have a kick around, play on the pitch, meet the players, have fun!!! A fantastic family day less that an hour away for €50, now you compare that to the CP experience, you pay more for tickets, for food, for worse seats, can't have a kick around, can't get to meet the players can't bring a back pack in, after the whole day you are a €150 less off and you watch Kildare lose (that is what every pudit will tell us between now and July 16th).

So why would the casual fan travel, Wexford fans are traveling because they believe they have a chance, everyone is telling them they have a chance, hurling is different it's romantic, it's beautiful, it's positive. We've had a really good football championship this year so far really good we should have all been talking about Down/Monaghan, a proper game with border line physicality, great scores, great atmosphere, bodies on the line, instead we're talking about Connolly's good name, a "B" Championship, Pat "fuckin" Spillane and Dessie "Jesus" Dolan. 

The GAA and their insane development policies have killed Leinster, what has this development money really done for the GAA apart from make a strong Dublin stronger, has it increased participation rates? Has it increased the number of clubs in Dublin? Has it reduced the adult drop-off rate, the GAA is worse than soccer and even rugby? So can anyone tell me what has all this money done for the greater good of the GAA apart from the imbalance that we currently witness. I would love to see concrete evidence, not anecdotal proper ERSI, Irish Census analysis.

Post by: mup on June 30, 2017, 10:43:16 AM
Quote from: heffo on June 30, 2017, 08:37:09 AM

We're all still paying for that bailout when Kildare ran the most expensive setup in the country.

Less of your condescending bs. You spent a long time in the doldrums yourself. Football was around before 2011.

Have you any link regarding Kildare having the most expensive set up?
Post by: Dire Ear on June 30, 2017, 10:53:40 AM
Brilliant post Dinny Breen,  good luck v Dubs, go hell for leather!!
Post by: mayoaremagic on June 30, 2017, 12:32:14 PM
Kildare should just give it a rattle sunday week. I think ye can bate the Dubs. Ye've 4/5 lads that gave up professional sport on the panel and young players who have history of beating Dublin underage so time for them to step up.
Post by: mayoaremagic on June 30, 2017, 12:38:32 PM

Throw in they won Leinster in 1998/2000 with Brian Murphy, Brian Lacey and Karl O'Dywer all imported in with the legendary Mick O'Dwyer
Post by: mup on June 30, 2017, 12:53:39 PM
Quote from: mayoaremagic on June 30, 2017, 12:38:32 PM

Throw in they won Leinster in 1998/2000 with Brian Murphy, Brian Lacey and Karl O'Dywer all imported in with the legendary Mick O'Dwyer

How is that relevant?

Heffo has made assertions about Kildare being the most expensive set up. I asked him to send me a link to prove same. Surprise surprise he doesn't respond. Why? Because its not true. No matter what his colleagues in the DCB tell him.

Post by: mayoaremagic on June 30, 2017, 02:30:47 PM
Quote from: mup on June 30, 2017, 12:53:39 PM

How is that relevant?

Heffo has made assertions about Kildare being the most expensive set up. I asked him to send me a link to prove same. Surprise surprise he doesn't respond. Why? Because its not true. No matter what his colleagues in the DCB tell him.

Paul Grimley, John Rafferty, Aidan O'Rourke, Jason Ryan, Niall Carew wouldnt have been cheap in backroom. I believe was getting 250k per annum in the nineties. In fairness he delivered
Post by: Hound on June 30, 2017, 02:42:23 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2017, 09:40:26 AM

Zulu, the Leinster SFC is dead, Dublin fans and their we'd love to travel if only has proven to be BS, the most successful county in the country could barely half-fill O'Moore Park, less than an hour by car or train down the road, what do you say to that?

I rarely miss a Kildare game but I will miss the Leinster Final (France holiday) but for me to bring my family and kids to Tullamore was less than €50, this goes up by €30, in Tullamore they can bring a ball, have a kick around, play on the pitch, meet the players, have fun!!! A fantastic family day less that an hour away for €50, now you compare that to the CP experience, you pay more for tickets, for food, for worse seats, can't have a kick around, can't get to meet the players can't bring a back pack in, after the whole day you are a €150 less off and you watch Kildare lose (that is what every pudit will tell us between now and July 16th).

So why would the casual fan travel, Wexford fans are traveling because they believe they have a chance, everyone is telling them they have a chance, hurling is different it's romantic, it's beautiful, it's positive. We've had a really good football championship this year so far really good we should have all been talking about Down/Monaghan, a proper game with border line physicality, great scores, great atmosphere, bodies on the line, instead we're talking about Connolly's good name, a "B" Championship, Pat "fuckin" Spillane and Dessie "Jesus" Dolan. 

The GAA and their insane development policies have killed Leinster, what has this development money really done for the GAA apart from make a strong Dublin stronger, has it increased participation rates? Has it increased the number of clubs in Dublin? Has it reduced the adult drop-off rate, the GAA is worse than soccer and even rugby? So can anyone tell me what has all this money done for the greater good of the GAA apart from the imbalance that we currently witness. I would love to see concrete evidence, not anecdotal proper ERSI, Irish Census analysis.

Dinny, if I take your point that it's impossible for Kildare to be as good as Dublin, can I ask a follow up question?

Is it possible for Kildare to be as good as Mayo, Tyrone and Donegal?
And what's the reason for being so far behind those counties for the last 5 years or so (since the extra time defeat to Donegal that time)?
Is that Dublin's fault too?
Post by: mup on June 30, 2017, 03:43:21 PM
Quote from: mayoaremagic on June 30, 2017, 02:30:47 PM

How is that relevant?

Paul Grimley, John Rafferty, Aidan O'Rourke, Jason Ryan, Niall Carew wouldnt have been cheap in backroom. I believe was getting 250k per annum in the nineties. In fairness he delivered

I believe James Horan was on the same money.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2017, 03:52:21 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 30, 2017, 02:42:23 PM

Dinny, if I take your point that it's impossible for Kildare to be as good as Dublin, can I ask a follow up question?

And what's the reason for being so far behind those counties for the last 5 years or so (since the extra time defeat to Donegal that time)?

What are you talking about? I have never once blamed Dublin, I blame the GAA for creating a Monster the GAA enabled this monopoly. I have been consistent for the last 5 years or more on this. Any someday a Dublin fan will take off their blinkers and say you know what Dinny you are right we do have far too many inorganic advantages and this isn't good for the game.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 30, 2017, 08:49:15 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2017, 03:52:21 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 30, 2017, 02:42:23 PM

What are you talking about? I have never once blamed Dublin, I blame the GAA for creating a Monster the GAA enabled this monopoly. I have been consistent for the last 5 years or more on this. Any someday a Dublin fan will take off their blinkers and say you know what Dinny you are right we do have far too many inorganic advantages and this isn't good for the game.

It's still a good question though - why can't Kildare match Mayo, Donegal et al?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 30, 2017, 09:05:17 PM
We were generally at that level in McGeeney's years, even his last game we were unlucky to have McQuillan in charge against Tyrone, we generally had the beating of Mayo and Donegal (not to mention 2011 championship) in the league too. Just shy on luck in those years and to be fair he went all out on bringing through the young lads in 2013.

Jason Ryan set us back a very long way but with the good underage teams maturing now and a decent manager in charge we are going in the right direction again.

Even last year against Mayo, granted we lost by 9 points but were very competitive throughout apart from a 5 minute period before half time where they conceded 2 goals. The team has improved a lot since.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 01, 2017, 04:24:27 PM
Laois being well beat by Clare doesn't frank our form either though.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 01, 2017, 04:36:33 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 01, 2017, 04:24:27 PM
Laois being well beat by Clare doesn't frank our form either though.

Very true.

Laois relegated to Division 4, beat Longford but conceded 0-16 points to them and got goals at the best time possible, scored 1-7 against Kildare and have only scored 6 points from play against Clare.

What Laois have conceded in the championship in their 3 games
Longford 0-16
Kildare 1-21
Clare 2-18

During the league they were conceding an average of 18.57 points against Division 3 opposition.

How Meath get on against Sligo will probably shed further light on matters.
Post by: heffo on July 01, 2017, 06:21:44 PM

How is that relevant?

Why? I was offline yesterday playing golf and on the piss!

I've posted the link many times, would you like me to post it again?

That's just the declared cost too..
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 01, 2017, 06:49:05 PM
I'd be interested in seeing that too, I'm sure I would have heard about it before and google is no use.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 01, 2017, 07:07:59 PM

Brian was living in Kildare for five years before he played for Kildare.

Jason Ryan

Kildare panel under Jason Ryan were eating post match meals off paper plates in dressing rooms and staying in hostels. McGeeney's Maor Uisce was made a selector! Hardly indicates a no expenses spared setup.

Niall Carew

Why would Niall Carew have cost the Kildare county board anything?

I believe was getting 250k per annum in the nineties.

Dwyer? The Sheikh took care of that.
Post by: mup on July 02, 2017, 04:54:25 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 01, 2017, 06:21:44 PM

How is that relevant?

Why? I was offline yesterday playing golf and on the piss!

I've posted the link many times, would you like me to post it again?

That's just the declared cost too..

Yes Id like to see those figures. I presume all the other figures are the real ones and Kildares are just the ones they declared.

Link away.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 02, 2017, 09:37:53 PM
Kildare's line of form through Laois and Meath is not looking so strong after this weekend's games.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 02, 2017, 09:52:03 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 02, 2017, 09:37:53 PM
Kildare's line of form through Laois and Meath is not looking so strong after this weekend's games.

This harms our chances of getting within 10 points sure, but we will still try to enjoy he occasion and hope the lads put in a big performance.

Paul Cribbin and Ben McCormack are back in training coupled with Neil Flynn being back fully fit means that Cian O'Neill will have some serious selection headaches up front.
Post by: Declan on July 04, 2017, 01:34:51 PM
New half forward to replace Dermo for Sunday

(http://www.reservoirdubs.com/uploads/default/optimized/2X/f/f141535533eba983dd4199c0cbac0d07ace362b9_1_690x388.jpg)
Post by: seafoid on July 04, 2017, 01:45:02 PM
Kildare are 9/1 with Paddy Power v Dublin.
I think they will the Dubs a good rattle. The Dubs have been on the go a good while.
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2017, 04:14:04 PM
Put €10 on Kildare so Seafóid.
Result Bookie +€10 Seaf -€10.
Post by: seafoid on July 04, 2017, 05:05:04 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 04, 2017, 04:14:04 PM
Put €10 on Kildare so Seafóid.
Result Bookie +€10 Seaf -€10.
Its not like financial markets Rossfan. Bookies price a 9 point win. You cant short that and go for 4.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 09, 2017, 09:41:28 PM
I know the chances of it happening are miniscule but in the event of a draw in this game where would the replay be played? U2 have Croke park the following weekend.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 09, 2017, 10:01:57 PM
Punchestown.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 09, 2017, 10:27:52 PM
Thurles
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 09, 2017, 11:57:11 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 09, 2017, 10:27:52 PM
Thurles

The only logical solution in the unlikely scenario.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 10, 2017, 02:02:20 AM
Our formline not looking so convincing, considering we were edged by Galway and what the Jacks did to Roscommon
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2017, 05:19:16 PM
I read Kildare have a clean bill of health, does that mean Ben McCormack is available?

It's the hope that kills you, so while I currently suspect it will be a 7 - 11 point defeat by Sunday I will be thinking that we will have a chance to sneak it...

Also going to place a moratorium on speaking about Dublin's inorganic advantages plenty of other threads for that craic.

Sunday really is about performance and hopefully on Monday the Dubs will be on here whinging like they're from Tyrone.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2017, 05:36:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2017, 05:19:16 PM
I read Kildare have a clean bill of health, does that mean Ben McCormack is available?

Back training but unlikely to feature I'd say.

They managed to keep Paul Cribbin's injury very hush hush before the Meath match so I'm taking any reports of a fully fit squad with a pinch of salt!
Post by: seafoid on July 12, 2017, 06:13:15 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 10, 2017, 02:02:20 AM
Our formline not looking so convincing, considering we were edged by Galway and what the Jacks did to Roscommon
I don't think the league means much in July
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 12, 2017, 09:16:49 PM
Despite what the Dubs have achieved over the past six years I've had enough bad days watching them that I would never go to a final assuming that they would win, and the same applies next Sunday. I expect Kildare to arrive very well prepared and they will not be turning up just to make up the numbers. I expect them to fight to the final whistle and I believe that they have a good chance of having their noses in front at the end. Of course I hope that the Dubs will come out on top but would never take a win for granted.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 12, 2017, 11:03:53 PM
Hearing the tickets are selling well and a good crowd expected. Although not sure what the breakdown will be.
Also Ben McCormack is meant to be ahead of schedule too so it will be very interesting.

I know Kildare have an awful lot to worry about but the Dubs will have to manage our inside line, especially if Brophy and Flynn are there. Both men would be bigger men than anyone they mark and have pace. I know the Dubs don't sit too deep, but surely O'Sullivan will sit in a bit?
I hope that will see Niall Kelly on the ball more as he is due and needs a big game.

Kildare can sit a bit deep but need to keep breaking at pace. I would worry about Tommy Moolick in the middle, but he will probably start. He just lumbers a bit much at times and he could be targeted.
Talk of Paul Cribbin in the middle perhaps and leave Slattery on the wing?
Will be interesting to see match-ups too. Ciaran Kilkenny could find Keith Cribbin as a shadow all day. Will Fenton and Feely go head to head or will both try to play their own games?

I just hope we rattle them a bit and give them something to think about. It feels much more positive than in recent years and we do have lads who could do damage, although we need everyone firing to think of an upset.
Kildare's defence has improved a lot this year and so has their tackling, but this is a massive step up for everyone.

Are the Dubs here being nice in advance or are there many genuine concerns?
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 13, 2017, 10:47:13 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 12, 2017, 11:03:53 PM
Hearing the tickets are selling well and a good crowd expected. Although not sure what the breakdown will be.
Also Ben McCormack is meant to be ahead of schedule too so it will be very interesting.

I know Kildare have an awful lot to worry about but the Dubs will have to manage our inside line, especially if Brophy and Flynn are there. Both men would be bigger men than anyone they mark and have pace. I know the Dubs don't sit too deep, but surely O'Sullivan will sit in a bit?
I hope that will see Niall Kelly on the ball more as he is due and needs a big game.

Kildare can sit a bit deep but need to keep breaking at pace. I would worry about Tommy Moolick in the middle, but he will probably start. He just lumbers a bit much at times and he could be targeted.
Talk of Paul Cribbin in the middle perhaps and leave Slattery on the wing?
Will be interesting to see match-ups too. Ciaran Kilkenny could find Keith Cribbin as a shadow all day. Will Fenton and Feely go head to head or will both try to play their own games?

I just hope we rattle them a bit and give them something to think about. It feels much more positive than in recent years and we do have lads who could do damage, although we need everyone firing to think of an upset.
Kildare's defence has improved a lot this year and so has their tackling, but this is a massive step up for everyone.

Are the Dubs here being nice in advance or are there many genuine concerns?

My honest answer is that I have no idea how Sunday will go. It is true that the Dubs have had a great run and there's no reason why that can't continue for a while yet, but of course it is inevitable that at some point they will be beaten and probably when it is not expected. (Remember what Donegal did in 2012). Whose to say that won't be Sunday?

I remember the great Galway team of the 1960s (I was very young ;)). My feeling then was that they would never be beaten - but their day came and in truth they never reached those heights since then.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 14, 2017, 12:17:40 AM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 12, 2017, 09:16:49 PM
Despite what the Dubs have achieved over the past six years I've had enough bad days watching them that I would never go to a final assuming that they would win, and the same applies next Sunday. I expect Kildare to arrive very well prepared and they will not be turning up just to make up the numbers. I expect them to fight to the final whistle and I believe that they have a good chance of having their noses in front at the end. Of course I hope that the Dubs will come out on top but would never take a win for granted.

Cheers Jim.
Post by: del_carroll on July 14, 2017, 07:52:48 AM
 /I would worry about Tommy Moolick in the middle, but he will probably start. He just lumbers a bit much at times and he could be targeted.
Talk of Paul Cribbin in the middle perhaps and leave Slattery on the wing?/

I would totally agree with that. I think Tommy will be caught out trying to keep up with James McCarthy and the pace of the fame in general in croker, so given slatterys solid outing against meath, he stays in for me, with cribben across the the middle.

Neil Flynn is ready - so it's 2 Flynns & Brophy for me inside

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2017, 12:17:40 PM
Quote from: del_carroll on July 14, 2017, 07:52:48 AM
Neil Flynn is ready - so it's 2 Flynns & Brophy for me inside

Drop Cathal McNally?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 14, 2017, 05:51:47 PM
I like Cathal McNally, he always gives 100%, works his socks off and occasionally things click for him like they did against Meath. Proved a lot of people wrong that day. However if everyone is fit and in form I'd have Neil Flynn in ahead of him. 21 points in the 2 Leinster under 21 finals he played in. It would relieve free taking pressure from Feely who despite a very promising start on the frees has become a bit more inconsistent as the games went on.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2017, 06:35:07 PM
No chance McNally will be dropped, if fit O'Neill has to go with the same starting XV. It will not only reward form and performance but allows us have impact from the bench with Cribben, Flynn, Dowling and if fit McCormack.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 14, 2017, 07:02:42 PM
I'd understand either decision when it comes to both McNally and Slattery (possibly even Brophy) not starting. It would be harsh on any of them but do the great managers like Cody ever mind being harsh.

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2017, 08:09:29 PM
I think it would be crazy not starting McNally or Slattery. To compete with Dublin in Croke Park we need pace. Those two lads have gears and they're both comfortable tracking back.

I could understand if we started Cribbin instead of Moolick.
Post by: heffo on July 14, 2017, 08:56:52 PM
Kildare even poaching Dubs for their Masters games now!
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 14, 2017, 09:03:34 PM
No changes officially anyway which is fair enough.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2017, 09:19:27 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 14, 2017, 08:56:52 PM

As citizens of the republic it is their right to play for whoever they choose.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2017, 09:43:07 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2017, 09:19:27 PM

They can have Noel Casey in return, it would make the hurling and football fields of Kildare a lot safer  :)
Post by: heffo on July 14, 2017, 09:50:02 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2017, 09:19:27 PM

:)

You should've seen the first draft of his statement
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 15, 2017, 12:20:04 PM
Gavin has done well to cause problems for O'Neill with the match ups if the Dublin team lines up as it is. I'm less confident again.
(http://www.reservoirdubs.com/uploads/default/optimized/2X/c/ccd8c8792c0f2c4d0252555d7ad9b74913968304_1_500x500.jpg)

Kilkenny may end up free, Mannion will get a run on Doyle who will be needed to mop up in front of O'Gara. Con O'Callaghan at wing forward will either drag Ollie Lyons out or there will be a mismatch in pace with Johnny Byrne.

Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 15, 2017, 12:24:22 PM
Then again Niall Kelly could well end up free while there is nobody in the Dublin full back line capable of stopping Dan Flynn and  maybe Brophy.
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2017, 12:44:38 PM
Kildare have nothing to lose. They should try to impose their rhythm and see what happens. Up the flour bags. 
Post by: Gael85 on July 15, 2017, 02:22:57 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 15, 2017, 12:20:04 PM
Gavin has done well to cause problems for O'Neill with the match ups if the Dublin team lines up as it is. I'm less confident again.
(http://www.reservoirdubs.com/uploads/default/optimized/2X/c/ccd8c8792c0f2c4d0252555d7ad9b74913968304_1_500x500.jpg)

Kilkenny may end up free, Mannion will get a run on Doyle who will be needed to mop up in front of O'Gara. Con O'Callaghan at wing forward will either drag Ollie Lyons out or there will be a mismatch in pace with Johnny Byrne.

That team won't start
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2017, 03:35:47 PM
Over 60k tickets sold Kildare are box office  8)
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 15, 2017, 04:46:33 PM
It will still be well shy of what turned up in 09.
Post by: Jinxy on July 15, 2017, 08:36:56 PM
To be fair, it clashes with the Qatar Airways Minstrel Stakes in the Curragh.
Post by: inexile on July 16, 2017, 09:10:45 AM
Oh God! At that stage of the morning where the sense of optimism kicks in and says maybe just maybe this time will be different.
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2017, 10:02:51 AM
Hopefully Kildare give them a good rattle but they'll do well to keep the margin under 10 sadly.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 16, 2017, 12:43:55 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 16, 2017, 10:02:51 AM
Hopefully Kildare give them a good rattle but they'll do well to keep the margin under 10 sadly.

COYBIB

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=V6Rkl60P_yk
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 03:23:05 PM
Looking forward to a free-flowing and manly exhibition of classic Leinster football after that rubbish up north.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 16, 2017, 03:25:16 PM
Oh it be the same 1 way traffic type game as clones only the Dublin wouldn't be as poor as Tyrone have been the day.
Post by: yellowcard on July 16, 2017, 04:05:37 PM
Kildare look like a big physical athletic side.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 04:08:32 PM
7 steps for Kilkenny Point!
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 16, 2017, 04:09:55 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 04:08:32 PM
7 steps for Kilkenny Point!
yeah, but they were quick steps...
Post by: yellowcard on July 16, 2017, 04:11:53 PM
Kilkenny is a monster of a player.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 04:13:11 PM
Well, time to go cut the lawn!  :-\
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 16, 2017, 04:13:21 PM
Dont poke the bear, a hammering in the offering i doubt
Post by: yellowcard on July 16, 2017, 04:14:01 PM
Tour de France time.
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2017, 04:14:32 PM
Massacre on the way sadly as the Dublin benefit competition rolls on.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 16, 2017, 04:14:55 PM
Some dreadful zonal marking by Kildare. Dublin have walked in for two goals totally unmarked.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 16, 2017, 04:15:33 PM
Fcuk that.
Post by: armaghniac on July 16, 2017, 04:17:58 PM
I watched the the discussion of the Clones game on the BBC, put on the kettle and then turned over, and this game is over already.  :(
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 04:19:59 PM
Kildare getting eaten on the breaking ball in midfield. Kildare need to address this.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 04:23:21 PM
Like Down in the first half of the Ulster final Kildare are too ponderous and lacking variation to breakdown the Dublin defence.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 16, 2017, 04:27:19 PM
There is a massive difference in physical conditioning between down,kildare and dublin,tyone. It means they can't break tackles and have to be slower. Multiple sweepers means they can't just kick it in.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 04:28:56 PM
Kildare rising to the challenge.

Wouldn't agree there's a massive difference in physical conditioning between teams.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 16, 2017, 04:29:33 PM
Kildare's defending for both goals was crazy. Two handpasses over the FB line and a free run at goal at this level is criminal.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 16, 2017, 04:32:37 PM
Goals wins games as they say and those two goals were more about the awful defending by Kildare than any great play by Dublin.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 04:33:47 PM
In fairness, McCarthy didn't have a free run on goal. In fact, he did quite well to finish it.
Post by: armaghniac on July 16, 2017, 04:34:39 PM
Marvellous point by Flynn for Kildare.
Post by: mrdeeds on July 16, 2017, 04:35:06 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 16, 2017, 04:34:39 PM

Score of the year
Post by: yellowcard on July 16, 2017, 04:35:09 PM
Kildare are growing into this match, wouldn't agree about physical conditioning. Kildare look a big athletic side.
Post by: BluestackBoy on July 16, 2017, 04:38:02 PM
Great game!!

Fair play to Kildare those Dublin goals would have scuppered most teams.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 16, 2017, 04:38:43 PM
would love to see a referee blow players for over carrying
it has become a big problem
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 16, 2017, 04:39:09 PM
0-10 a great score for Kildare against the Dublin blanket defence but they will be kicking themselves for conceding those soft goals.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 04:39:39 PM
Brilliant stuff from Kildare who are playing Dublin without fear and though they got suckered punched they have shown that playing football is the way to go and not 14 men keep ball in your own half. Even if they fail to win this I hope their courage is rewarded again in the second half.
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 04:40:14 PM
Kildare kicking some outrageous scores.
Well in this game if they can avoid the hammer blow of another goal in the 10 mins after half-time.
Will need a goal or two of their own.
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2017, 04:41:36 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 16, 2017, 04:38:43 PM
would love to see a referee blow players for over carrying
it has become a big problem
Been overlooked for years once you do it fast.
Kildare making a right oul go at it.
Fair play to them, would have been easy to fold the tents..
Post by: Blowitupref on July 16, 2017, 04:48:59 PM
Every time i watch those Dublin goals back the worse it looks for Kildares defence.  A bit of basic defending would have prevented both. Fair play to them for getting back into the game though and will need a good start to the 2nd half now.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 04:51:19 PM
Joe claiming Kildare should have set up defensively at the start but their game plan has them 4 adrift at HT so I don't see the logic of that. Inviting Dublin on is not the way to beat them taking them on is your only chance and by doing so Kildare have given themselves that chance.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 16, 2017, 04:58:41 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 16, 2017, 04:34:39 PM

On replay it looked like he was trying to pick out a teammate across the other side but sliced it over the bar. His eyes were certainly looking that way rather than at the posts.

Post by: Blowitupref on July 16, 2017, 05:04:42 PM
Goal not taken for Kildare, routine save for a top class keeper.
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 05:06:58 PM
Feels a bit like Daniel Flynn thinks this is the Daniel Flynn show.
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2017, 05:07:31 PM
Blow it up ref.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 16, 2017, 05:07:53 PM
Finally someone appears to have been booked for slabbering.
Post by: armaghniac on July 16, 2017, 05:09:03 PM
Line ball not given.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 16, 2017, 05:12:42 PM
Kildare the architects of their own downfall. Found themselves 2-4 to 0-1 down due to poor defending and even now the likes of Brogan,Con O'Callaghan have all the time and space on the ball to kick scores for fun.
Post by: heffo on July 16, 2017, 05:12:49 PM
Brogan not wanting to be outdone by O'Callaghan
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 05:16:02 PM
Brogan is well worth his place on that team.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 05:17:24 PM
Back after cutting the lawn. (it's a big lawn!) Commentators Plamasing Kildare for getting 13 scores.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 05:20:40 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 05:17:24 PM
Back after cutting the lawn. (it's a big lawn!) Commentators Plamasing Kildare for getting 13 scores.

They've done a lot more than kick 15 points.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 16, 2017, 05:20:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 05:16:02 PM
Would be starter on the Tyrone,Mayo and Kerry teams.
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2017, 05:23:09 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 16, 2017, 05:20:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 05:16:02 PM
Would be starter on the Tyrone,Mayo and Kerry teams.

That one liner doesn't take into account how average two of those teams' attacks are. Brogan has lost a step and against the big teams he's been in bother.

As usual, the Leinster final has been shooting fish in a barrel, make no mistake this goes into the same category as Westmeath's lame attempts the previous two years. I have a lot of grá for Kildare but it's impossible to be invested in games like this. Dublin have found a new way to create Black Death football.
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 05:25:05 PM
It doesn't matter how good your engine is if you don't have a burst of pace.
Kildare are very fit, but it's not the type of fitness Dublin have and it's probably not the type of fitness you can train as it is largely based on innate atheltic ability.
All of Dublin's players around the middle third are like 800m runners.
They'll run all day, but they have a very high cruising speed and a burst of pace too.
Compared to them, Kildare are more like 1500m runners.
They'll run all day too against a team like Meath, but against Dublin they don't have the same high cruising speed and they don't have the same burst of pace.
This means they are constantly working at a higher relative capacity than their opponents, just to keep their head above water.
Hard to keep that up for a whole game.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 16, 2017, 05:27:06 PM
Kildare are getting a quare amount of praise considering they are 10 points down. I know Dublin are very good but...
Post by: rodney trotter on July 16, 2017, 05:28:46 PM
Carney was praising them after 2 minutes. A few minutes later Dublin had 2- 3 scored.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 05:29:35 PM
Kildare have shown enough to suggest they'll trouble a lot of teams if they have their heads right.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 05:31:21 PM
2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2017, 05:31:49 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 05:29:35 PM
Kildare have shown enough to suggest they'll trouble a lot of teams if they have their heads right.

Martin, it's not professional to be posting on a message board when you're broadcasting.
Post by: heffo on July 16, 2017, 05:32:46 PM
Brian Howard is going to be a super player for Dublin.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 05:32:58 PM
I thought I was Indiana - just another thing you've no bloody clue about.
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 05:37:43 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 05:31:21 PM

That list would make for even more grim reading if it wasn't for our heroics in 2010.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 16, 2017, 05:38:37 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 16, 2017, 05:27:06 PM
Kildare are getting a quare amount of praise considering they are 10 points down. I know Dublin are very good but...

Comes across a bit patronizing. Kildare killed themselves in this contest with naive defending. 2-23 conceded with 2-16 coming from play? Dublin very good when allowed this amount of room to play.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 05:39:18 PM

The thing is that the other teams that they'll trouble are not the PROBLEM.  You just don't get it!
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 05:40:03 PM
Again advantage should have been played but would have been harsh on Kildare. They way they kept at it and the quality of their team from midfield up in particular means they'll be a top 8 team soon.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 05:40:37 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 05:37:43 PM

That list would make for even more grim reading if it wasn't for our heroics in 2010.

Lets not go there! Not one of those years to be proud of!
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 05:41:32 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 05:39:18 PM

The thing is that the other teams that they'll trouble are not the PROBLEM.  You just don't get it!

So, should we scrap IC football altogether? Kerry at least are getting on with the business of beating Dublin.
Post by: trileacman on July 16, 2017, 05:43:25 PM
The gaa have made a pure cnut of the football championship with the money they've pumped into Dublin. It's not reached such a low we've to celebrate Kildare getting within 9 points of Dublin. A f**king joke.
Post by: BluestackBoy on July 16, 2017, 05:45:49 PM
Watching Brolly licking up to Gooch is equal parts funny/embarassing.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 16, 2017, 05:47:21 PM
Its back to the late 70`s  and 80`s again with 2 team ahead of the bunch ( well maybe 4, Offaly and Cork were very good back then too but keeping getting beat by the big two,  Dublin well ahead of the rest, No.2 maybe Kerry, maybe Tyrone, Mayo and Donegal have slipped off abit, kerry pass Dublin in the next few years with 3 good minor teams, no lads of which have featured at senior level which is strange given the Kerry back line wouldn't not be that great
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 16, 2017, 05:47:47 PM
I think Kildare looked decent, I suppose the first trickles of improvement.
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 05:49:04 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 05:40:37 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 05:37:43 PM

Lets not go there! Not one of those years to be proud of!

(http://mayogaablog.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/Final-score1.jpg)

Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 05:49:15 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 05:41:32 PM

So, should we scrap IC football altogether? Kerry at least are getting on with the business of beating Dublin.

We are almost there in Leinster (as in scrapping IC football).  I mean celebrating a 9 point loss is now looked at as progress?
Post by: BluestackBoy on July 16, 2017, 05:49:38 PM
Quote from: trileacman on July 16, 2017, 05:43:25 PM
The gaa have made a pure cnut of the football championship with the money they've pumped into Dublin. It's not reached such a low we've to celebrate Kildare getting within 9 points of Dublin. A f**king joke.

This present Dublin team has little to do with money. They are a bunch of hungry, talented, athletic footballers who are expertly managed by one of the greatest coaches the game has ever seen.
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2017, 05:50:28 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 05:25:05 PM
It doesn't matter how good your engine is if you don't have a burst of pace.
Kildare are very fit, but it's not the type of fitness Dublin have and it's probably not the type of fitness you can train as it is largely based on innate atheltic ability.
All of Dublin's players around the middle third are like 800m runners.
They'll run all day, but they have a very high cruising speed and a burst of pace too.
Compared to them, Kildare are more like 1500m runners.
They'll run all day too against a team like Meath, but against Dublin they don't have the same high cruising speed and they don't have the same burst of pace.
This means they are constantly working at a higher relative capacity than their opponents, just to keep their head above water.
Hard to keep that up for a whole game.
Kildare have been away from the big table for 8 years. Very few teams could start performing on their first day back.  It might take a while but they should be able for it at some stage down the road.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 05:53:15 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 05:49:15 PM

We are almost there in Leinster (as in scrapping IC football).  I mean celebrating a 9 point loss is now looked at as progress?

There's a lot of good games to look forward to and Kerry can certainly beat Dublin while Mayo would have done so already with a bit more quality in the forwards. There's plenty to like about the current IC scene IMO.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 16, 2017, 05:55:24 PM
Gavin took over a team already build for him which had already won an all-Ireland, in between them winning 3 u-21 all-ireland and alot of minor leinster titles, its not as if he hasn't a pick of players any county be jealous off. They are a great team though.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 05:55:44 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 05:53:15 PM

There's a lot of good games to look forward to and Kerry can certainly beat Dublin while Mayo would have done so already with a bit more quality in the forwards. There's plenty to like about the current IC scene IMO.

(https://media1.giphy.com/media/Ve9pOjJRxkW2c/200_s.gif)
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2017, 06:05:09 PM
Dublin beaten in the league final by Kerry and victors over Mayo, after a replay, by one point. Yean that's straw clutching alright. But feel free to not watch the rest of the championship if you feel it's a foregone conclusion.
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2017, 06:27:00 PM

RTÉ :

"It's just the second time in 15 Leinster championship games under Jim Gavin that Dublin haven't won by at least 10 points so Kildare can take some positives from the defeat."

Maybe Leinster ex Dubs is already a B competition
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 16, 2017, 08:27:27 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 16, 2017, 05:49:38 PM

This present Dublin team has little to do with money. They are a bunch of hungry, talented, athletic footballers who are expertly managed by one of the greatest coaches the game has ever seen.
There's a subtle difference between saying that the present Dublin team has little to do with money and saying that money has had little to do with their unprecedented success of late.
Are you sure you mean what you said?
Post by: tonto1888 on July 16, 2017, 08:41:25 PM

I can see the conversation between the money men and the dubs.
"Mr Cluxton. I will give you 25000 euros if you completely revolutionise the game with your kicking. And Mr Brogan. You can have 25000 euros if you practise your shooting extra hard. "
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 08:45:51 PM
Dublin won Leinster Minor today!

2009, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2017

Dublin under 21 Leinsters recently!

2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017
Post by: lenny on July 16, 2017, 08:55:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 08:45:51 PM

So in 2010, 2013, 2015 and 2016 they didn't win the leinster minor. They mustn't have got as much money pumped in in those years. How many times have they gone on to win the all ireland minor championship in that period?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 16, 2017, 09:02:54 PM
All that extra Dublin money stopped Kildare from taking their goal chances today, and dropping points short into Cluxton's hands, I suppose?

Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 09:04:39 PM
Quote from: lenny on July 16, 2017, 08:55:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2017, 08:45:51 PM

So in 2010, 2013, 2015 and 2016 they didn't win the leinster minor. They mustn't have got as much money pumped in in those years. How many times have they gone on to win the all ireland minor championship in that period?

Ah you see under 21 tells the real tale! All irelands in 2010, 2012, 2014, 2017. Dublin before this period had only one AI in this grade - 2003.

Of course this sudden surge in success is only a fad and will pass.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2017, 09:09:43 PM
At least it wasn't another mauling for our Croke Park wall of shame. Really poor defending for the two goals. Feared we might completely implode after them but to be fair they kept plugging away. Dublin have 20+ top class footballers. We have some fine players who will hopefully continue to develop and improve but if you look at our 15 today, we are carrying a few lads compared to a team like Dublin.

Kevin Feely missing the next game is a disaster. He fielded some great ball. Eoin Doyle played with a hand injury and is to have surgery on it tomorrow. That's our captain and vice captain gone. Cribbin for Feely, Conway to centre back, McNally to half forward and McCormack in the corner.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 16, 2017, 09:25:29 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on July 16, 2017, 09:02:54 PM
All that extra Dublin money stopped Kildare from taking their goal chances today, and dropping points short into Cluxton's hands, I suppose?
Kildare scored 1-17 today which should be enough to win most games if you are fairly decent at the back....
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 09:35:33 PM
Credit to Dean Rock for the goal as well.
Calm & precise.
There isn't a keeper in the world that would save that and yet most forwards would put their head down and try bursting the net.
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 09:41:44 PM
Kildare need to hit that FF with high diagonal balls as a matter of policy from now on.
It's a great weapon to have and it gives you options.
So few teams actually do it anymore that if you get two on two, or even three on two, most FB lines can be got at.
Post by: larryin89 on July 16, 2017, 10:27:50 PM
True words jinxy
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 16, 2017, 11:04:29 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 09:41:44 PM
Kildare need to hit that FF with high diagonal balls as a matter of policy from now on.
So few teams actually do it anymore that if you get two on two, or even three on two, most FB lines can be got at.
Armagh in the noughties were experts at it
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 17, 2017, 12:00:37 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 16, 2017, 09:41:44 PM

Absolutely! In Flynn and Brophy we have two men who are over six foot and able to fetch. Equally important they can move when they hit the ground.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 17, 2017, 03:37:23 AM
So sick of people talking about the money. Whether it's an important factor or not (I suspect it isn't), it is what it is, and I'd rather talk about the football.
So congratulations to the Dubs posters here, it's a magnificent side, and they're deserving champions.
As for us, I'm hoping the few green shoots we saw today might blossom into something really good around 2019/20, when our better players are in the 26-28 age group.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2017, 09:15:19 AM
My self imposed moratorium on money is still in place but anyone who thinks money doesn't make you put the ball over the bar take yourself over to any of the €€€€€ threads and we can debate in time.

Firstly and importantly this Dublin team are a proper champion team, They are hard, clinical and smart. While part of me looks at Flynn's 1 v 1 with Cluxton and wonders what if my more intelligent part tells me Dublin would have responded. Dublin were well worth their win and my only complaint is they same joyless and don't actually seem to enjoy winning football matches. Queue a 1000 Dubs to tell nobody cares the enjoyment is in winning.

Kildare Kildare Kildare, Eoin Doyle shouldn't have played a broken thumb is a broken thumb, he didn't look right to me, Conway was poor and Ollie Lyons was off his game too and big Tommy as predicted suffered with the pace of the game. Those 4 are crucial to the defensive side of our game plan so no surprise Dublin functioned well in attack, attack wise we weren't bad, 1-17 against Dublin's blanket was good, could have been another 2 goals and 5 dropped short. Niall Kelly is not functioning in this system we need to tweak as he has a lot more to offer than he is showing. The single most satisfying thing from this game is we didn't collapse and the last remnants of the Jason Ryan era have been banished, but a 9 point defeat is still a 9 point defeat.

We go again...
Post by: LilySavage on July 17, 2017, 09:22:54 AM
Very acceptable result and performance. Anyone who expected us to beat this Dublin team, first time out, doesn't know much about football. The 2 times we beat Dublin in 98 and 00, the Dubs were at their weakest in memory....some really poor players on those teams. Id say about 3 would make the current setup. Looking forward to the next day...2 big losses in Feely and Doyle possibly but Conway covers centre back. Fionn Dowling may get in to take the frees.
Post by: TheGreatest on July 17, 2017, 09:46:58 AM
Good performance from Kildare. Dominated Midfield imo and looked decent, couple of things to work to get to next level over the next couple of years and well capable of it with their massive cash reserves.

Why is Feely out of the next game, injured or?

As for Dubs, greatest of all time and play the best football of all time, enjoy every second and lap it up it wont last forever.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2017, 10:05:23 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on July 17, 2017, 09:46:58 AM
Why is Feely out of the next game, injured or?

Suspended. 3 black cards.
Post by: Hound on July 17, 2017, 10:13:20 AM
Dublin's forwards were super and attacking play in general was top class.

Pity about Feely for Kildare. Class act.

Worrying for Dublin that O'Sullivan and in particular Fenton are out of sorts. Philly too, but hopefully that was just rust after his layoff.

Also our full back line will struggle against any team that plays 3 in the FF line. We can definitely be got at. I'm hoping Mayo take out Kerry.
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 17, 2017, 11:58:34 AM
Wasn't at the game Hound, where did O'Sullivan play?
Post by: heffo on July 17, 2017, 12:48:59 PM
Delighted with O'Callaghan's performance. We were always going to need something different this year. Wouldn't be surprised to see Brian Howard play a key role this year.

From Kildare's POV, they're moving in the right direction. They need to keep O'Neill for the forseeable future.

They won midfield and didn't drop the head against a very good team.