Irish Hockey

Started by From the Bunker, August 02, 2018, 07:05:41 PM

Quote from: SHEEDY on August 02, 2018, 07:51:04 PM
Never knew it was so hard to score a penalty in hockey.

I'd score with any of that team.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 03, 2018, 05:03:42 PM
Quote from: Ash Smoker on August 03, 2018, 02:45:05 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2018, 11:29:47 PM
Isn't it an all-Ireland team? Same as Cricket? Soccer seems to be a bit of an outlier in Irish sport with the partition thing.
It's interesting that sports that have traditionally been associated with Unionism such as rugby, hockey and cricket are played on All Ireland basis.
Then the most oirishy of them all, soccer, is partitioned, despite the green flag waving, cheering leprechauns and plastic Paddy-ism.
The other option was an 'Irish' side based in Belfast under the U jack and GSTQ. Do you think the Leinster FA were wrong to split?

Rugby was the same. In fact pretty sure when we won Grand Slam in 1948, God Save the Queen was still played. But the team eventually transitioned out of that. Do people today regret the rugby team didn't split like soccer?

Quote from: weareros on August 03, 2018, 09:06:30 PM
Isn't it an all-Ireland team? Same as Cricket? Soccer seems to be a bit of an outlier in Irish sport with the partition thing.
It's interesting that sports that have traditionally been associated with Unionism such as rugby, hockey and cricket are played on All Ireland basis.
Then the most oirishy of them all, soccer, is partitioned, despite the green flag waving, cheering leprechauns and plastic Paddy-ism.
The other option was an 'Irish' side based in Belfast under the U jack and GSTQ. Do you think the Leinster FA were wrong to split?

Rugby was the same. In fact pretty sure when we won Grand Slam in 1948, God Save the Queen was still played. But the team eventually transitioned out of that. Do people today regret the rugby team didn't split like soccer?

Yeah people much prefer partition, especially if you're from the south

Baile Brigín 2

Do you think it would have been as easy to win round the Linfield and no Sunday games set?

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2018, 09:23:11 PM

Sigh.

I doubt many southern soccer lads like partiton, but look at what they would be merging with. Gaelic games and rugby dont have those knuckledraggers to contend with.

michaelg

Quote from: seafoid on August 03, 2018, 05:10:02 PM
There aren't enough Unionists to make a successful international team in any sport. Including soccer.
NI soccer team has qualified for same number of World Cups as ROI team and progressed to Quarter Final in 58 and equivalent of QF in 82.  Not all Unionists obviously, but you get my drift!

michaelg

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 03, 2018, 09:31:37 PM

Sigh.

I doubt many southern soccer lads like partiton, but look at what they would be merging with. Gaelic games and rugby dont have those knuckledraggers to contend with.
There is a large crossover between NI football and Ireland Rugby fans - Showing your ignorance / prejudice with knuckledraggers comment.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: michaelg on August 03, 2018, 09:54:32 PM

Sigh.

There is a large crossover between NI football and Ireland Rugby fans - Showing your ignorance / prejudice with knuckledraggers comment.

Not really. You think telling Billy the Glens fan that his national side is gone, they now play in Dublin under a tricolour and AnF and he has to visit the Brandywell and Tallaght to get his bollix kicked in will be an easy sell? Nay bother etc? Come on.

michaelg

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 03, 2018, 09:57:24 PM

Sigh.

Not really. You think telling Billy the Glens fan that his national side is gone, they now play in Dublin under a tricolour and AnF and he has to visit the Brandywell and Tallaght to get his bollix kicked in will be an easy sell? Nay bother etc? Come on.
Billy the Glenman would probably be happy enough with an All-Ireland League.  Might not be as keen on an All-Ireland team, however, unless a more welcoming atmosphere for all "Irishmen" was engendered.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: michaelg on August 03, 2018, 10:04:54 PM

Sigh.

Billy the Glenman would probably be happy enough with an All-Ireland League.  Might not be as keen on an All-Ireland team, however, unless a more welcoming atmosphere for all "Irishmen" was engendered.
And which direction has that hostility trqditionally flowed?

Anyway, back on topic, some achievement for the only amateur team there. They had to pay themselves to be there

michaelg

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on August 03, 2018, 10:11:26 PM

Sigh.

Anyway, back on topic, some achievement for the only amateur team there. They had to pay themselves to be there
In football terms, both associations have played to their respective crowds so to speak.  Rugby used to have a reciprocal arrangement re anthems etc when internationals were played on both sides of the border.  Indeed, before the intro of Ireland's Call, arguably rugby matches in Dublin were a bit of cold house for unionists after matches ceased to be staged north of the border.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: michaelg on August 03, 2018, 10:25:41 PM

Sigh.

In football terms, both associations have played to their respective crowds so to speak.  Rugby used to have a reciprocal arrangement re anthems etc when internationals were played on both sides of the border.  Indeed, before the intro of Ireland's Call, arguably rugby matches in Dublin were a bit of cold house for unionists after matches ceased to be staged north of the border.
And they all lived happily ever after.

Soccer might not be as neat and clean.

Anyway, hockey..m

Sigh.

I'm going to disagree on that point, I've many friends who are rugby to the core as I'm GAA and they never missed heading to Dublin for rugby and their escapades during their times playing in the leagues for their respective clubs is not unlike mine playing for the club..

michaelg

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2018, 11:07:09 PM

Sigh.

I'm going to disagree on that point, I've many friends who are rugby to the core as I'm GAA and they never missed heading to Dublin for rugby and their escapades during their times playing in the leagues for their respective clubs is not unlike mine playing for the club..
Not saying they didn't attend and thoroughly enjoyed the trip and experience. They just, in all likelihood, stood tight during the anthems before Ireland's Call was introduced. No big deal really and why some sort of NI based anthem should be sung either in place of, or in addition to GSTQ, at NI football games at NSAWP.

Quote from: michaelg on August 03, 2018, 11:50:51 PM
Not saying they didn't attend and thoroughly enjoyed the trip and experience. They just, in all likelihood, stood tight during the anthems before Ireland's Call was introduced. No big deal really and why some sort of NI based anthem should be sung either in place of, or in addition to GSTQ, at NI football games at NSAWP.

They should just abolish the NI team, one of the few representing that sectarian entity, and then they can sing Teddy bears picnic at the Irish games.