Money, Dublin and the GAA

Started by IolarCoisCuain, October 04, 2016, 07:27:37 PM

If we're going to have big powerful Dublin winning All Irelands every year due to their population and money you won't have to bother about other County teams as Inter County competition as a National sport will disappear.
You either split Dublin or you forget about County teams at All Ireland level reorganise the National representative competition into say 10 areas of about 500,000 each if you want some kind of equal competition.
Neither of those will happen so then we're left with a load of financial aid to Antrim, Louth, Kildare, Wicklow, Derry, Cork, Donegal Kerry and Mayowestros  to try and keep some of them competitive with Dublin .
As for the rest of us.....may as well take up soccer.

Falcao

Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 30, 2018, 11:18:40 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on January 30, 2018, 11:10:33 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 30, 2018, 09:36:09 AM
I would be no fan of Ewan MacKenna but the abuse he is getting on-line from the Dublin Zealots is ridiculous.

Anyhow between MacKenna, Colm O'Rourke, Off The Ball and now the more subtle Malachy Clerkin (2 of his most recent articles in the Irish Times have been about the amount of inter-county players not based in their home counties (Dublin Footballers and Galway Hurlers had none) and the home advantage that Croke Park gives Dublin) there is a bit more focus on the financial doping of Dublin. Still can't believe one of the zealots argued that playing at home is a disadvantage to Dublin because teams are more up for it  ::)

Ewan was pulled up by Dublin fans for liking a tweet from a Kildare supporter was gloating about Jonny Cooper been stabbed years ago.

I have often liked by mistake a tweet on twitter, it happens as you scroll through but if "pulling up" is a euphemism  for abuse then this is only one of many such incidents, Ewan is no angel but he has stirred debate on financial doping, drugs in sport, rugby and it's status in Irish sport, the real cost of hosting large sports events, that has to be welcomed. I am not defending him he can do that himself but I do not like seeing bullying and abuse on-line.

Ewan has engaged in a lot of online bullying, in the past few months on twitter he has called people c*nts, made jokey comments about peoples physical appearance and even when a young lady ( possibly a teenager to be honest) disagreed with him over a sporting tweet he made, he replied and told her to "go and put some clothes on" as she was showing a bit of bare arm in her profile pic. In these situations he has been the instigator as well.

I don't disagree and I am not defending him but mob-rule on Twitter is the worst thing about it that's what I don't like and these Dublin zealots are doing more harm than good.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 29, 2018, 10:33:20 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on January 29, 2018, 09:36:34 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 27, 2018, 12:25:32 AM
12 hour later and not a defensive word from a Dub. Not a word! ''The Greatest'', ''Hound'', ''Zulu'' et al all hiding, looking through their fingers!

Financial DOPING Lads!

**** Fake News Alert ****

Ah Spewn's (Frank Grimes) hack job that he gets paid to write, taken directly from an article he wrote for the business post on multiple occasions at this stage, he obsessed and he's plain wrong and spouting lies.

Dublin hurlers have benefited from the same coaching structure as the footballers, no All Irelands. Its not allocated per registered player, that's a stupid ignorant argument. Not all School children are registered members of clubs.

Anyway, been here before , Wolves do not concern themselves with the crying of sheep.

And while they cry, the hard work will continue.

Its funny, you never hear this being talked about from Kerry or Tyrone, just the usual suspect counties who already have weak mentalities.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 18, 2017, 03:48:22 PM
Christ do people only gauge success in All-Irelands

As for hurling. seriously

5 Leinster Minors and 3 runners-up in the last 12 years. Prior to that it was 1 in 40 years.

4 Leinster u21s since 2007 and 2 runners up. Prior to that you have to go back to 1972.

1 Senior Leinster Title in 2013, 1st in 50 odd years.  They even won the National League for the 1st time 70 years in 2011.

The hurling success is not measured in All-Irelands but from where they were before Bertie's cash intervention supplemented by GAA money to now, is miles apart.

I will refrain from calling you ignorant but are being deliberately obtuse as is every Dublin poster, the head in the sand stuff is mildly amusing.

Dinny is bang on with the "sure hurling is benefitting from the same funding" deflection as back not so long ago Down hurlers would have beaten them up a stick. Not now for sure so the base at which Dublin hurling had to lift itself was much lower than the footballers.
Winning Leinster titles and National League titles is a big thing for a Dublin born hurler   ;) . Won't mean a whole pile to a Dublin footballer as they were always capable of winning them anyway.

Dublin to their credit have gotten very savy in the commercial side of things and are making large sums from that that few other counties could dream of and fair play to them.
In general they've had no need to plough resources into stadia or excellence centres like a lot of other counties as they've had Croke Park on their doorstep, not to mention access to the best of facilities at the various universities scattered across the city.
Those resources are then directed into coaching and team preparation and that's a luxury that others, even with a decent playing population can't compete with.

Time to take the Dubs off the Croke Park teat and let them paddle their own canoe, which I think they will be able to do anyway.

Quote from: Rossfan on January 30, 2018, 11:53:45 AM
If we're going to have big powerful Dublin winning All Irelands every year due to their population and money you won't have to bother about other County teams as Inter County competition as a National sport will disappear.
You either split Dublin or you forget about County teams at All Ireland level reorganise the National representative competition into say 10 areas of about 500,000 each if you want some kind of equal competition.
Neither of those will happen so then we're left with a load of financial aid to Antrim, Louth, Kildare, Wicklow, Derry, Cork, Donegal Kerry and Mayowestros  to try and keep some of them competitive with Dublin .

I doubt anyone wants football to be dominated by one team but there's no point in people complaining here repeatedly without a solution or blaming the GAA if there's nothing they can do. I don't buy the doom and gloom personally as both Kerry and Mayo are showing Dublin can be matched. The GAA should help others and let Dublin fund more of their own development but if more counties met the challenge I've no fears for the future. Kildare and Meath for a start can be much better.

caprea

Quote from: Zulu on January 30, 2018, 11:43:35 AM
Might be labelled by some here as a troll, WUM or God forbid, a Dub but I don't get this financial doping stuff. As far as I know this is basically what happened:

1. Dublin was seen as a GAA blackspot and as the major population centre of Ireland were given extra funding to address this.

Dublin was a GAA black spot was it? Second most successful county in football's history. Ok then...

So the GAA decided that won't do and decided to turn the other counties of Leinster into a real black spot where they can't win anything. That was the plan was it?

Quote from: Zulu on January 30, 2018, 01:22:45 PM

I doubt anyone wants football to be dominated by one team but there's no point in people complaining here repeatedly without a solution or blaming the GAA if there's nothing they can do. I don't buy the doom and gloom personally as both Kerry and Mayo are showing Dublin can be matched. The GAA should help others and let Dublin fund more of their own development but if more counties met the challenge I've no fears for the future. Kildare and Meath for a start can be much better.

When is the last time Mayo or Kerry have beaten Dublin in championship? You sure are one for the Blinkers!

OK - let's talk about solutions.

I'll start with centralising all sponsorship. Your business can pick a team to sponsor, but you don't pay the county board. The money goes to Croke Park. AIG can have their logo on Dublin's shirts for a million a year. Joe's Bar ban have theirs on the Rossies' bus for 15K. All the money goes to central funds to be disbursed in somewhat fair proportions.

It's a start.

I don't think they are matching them but they are close. That said, but for 2 missed frees by COC we could be talking about 2 in a row Mayo. Fine margins and all that

Quote from: Hardy on January 30, 2018, 01:46:07 PM

OK - let's talk about solutions.

I'll start with centralising all sponsorship. Your business can pick a team to sponsor, but you don't pay the county board. The money goes to Croke Park. AIG can have their logo on Dublin's shirts for a million a year. Joe's Bar ban have theirs on the Rossies' bus for 15K. All the money goes to central funds to be disbursed in somewhat fair proportions.

It's a start.

would the businesses be happy with that?

Why not? They're each getting what they paid for. The only difference from the current is arrangement is who they paid.

Zulu without spending much time on solutions, I have a life, I gave you these last year

1. Stop the ridiculous funding
2. Move them out of Croke Park for the league and Leinster bar the final
3. Sell the shirt sponsorship for every county to the highest bidder, funds go into a central pot.
4. Cap all expenditure, any over spend to be hit with wealth tax as per the AFL with this overspend tax again going to the other counties.

That's just off the top of my head if the GAA want fair and equitable games they need to think more socialist less capitalist.

Quote from: Hardy on January 30, 2018, 01:51:40 PM
Why not? They're each getting what they paid for. The only difference from the current is arrangement is who they paid.

I have no idea at all how it works but maybe the AIG guys, or the Kerry Group guys, want all their money to go to Dublin or Kerry?

Quote from: tonto1888 on January 30, 2018, 02:24:55 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 30, 2018, 01:51:40 PM

I have no idea at all how it works but maybe the AIG guys, or the Kerry Group guys, want all their money to go to Dublin or Kerry?

You're daft if you think AIG give a damn where the money goes as long as they can plaster their logo everywhere.

Taking Dublin out of Croke Park for league games and championship games prior to Leinster Final isn't realistic and isn't going to happen unless their is a viable option, where are the Dublin county board up to with a new stadium?