Movie recommendations

Started by corn02, October 23, 2007, 10:13:39 AM

EagleLord

Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 01, 2010, 10:35:07 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on April 30, 2010, 03:39:14 PM
Quote from: trileacman on April 30, 2010, 02:35:18 PM
Quote from: mikasas on April 30, 2010, 02:13:53 PM
Am I alone in thinking Avatar was the biggest pile of Shite with a storyline you could see coming from the instant your man turned into one of them blue boyo's!
No you weren't.

-1  I thought the effects were incredible and i'd love to fly one of those big bird things. It was an acid trip man... you young people  ::)

Agree Foxy! :P We sat there there the whole film thinkin, fcukn hell would ye not just love to be one of them things! Thats great imagination from whoever thought it up, writers, directer or whatever, to make people feel that, thats the aim, isnt it?

tyrone girl

Anyone seen The international? Coming on now and for once i have the house and tv to myself an its only thing worth watchin on sky. Is it worth a watching

Celt_Man

Quote from: tyrone girl on May 05, 2010, 08:46:52 PM
Anyone seen The international? Coming on now and for once i have the house and tv to myself an its only thing worth watchin on sky. Is it worth a watching

If that's the best you can do with an empty house!!!

Yea not a bad auld flick, decent enough story to it if I can remember
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

mikasas

Quote from: ziggysego on May 02, 2010, 03:32:38 AM
Saw Iron Man 2. Great film. good craic. It's Hollywood gong-wooh, but sure most people were expecting that. Not as good as the first film, but it ticks all the boxs that was expected in the sequel. including the Stan Lee cameo.
Have to agree there ziggy, good enough outing to the cinema! One little annoyance though was that in the orriginals war machine was black and white, in the way that iron man is red and yellow. Still pretty cool and impressive. Spoiler alert, but yer man at the race with the arm things was cool as F!
Break Ball Specialist.

Watched "An Education" and "The Ghost" over the past few days.

An Education was OK I guess. A bit drawn out and about a womans struggle in times gone by where she's torn between getting herself an education or marrying into money. I saw the twist coming a mile off but it was decent I guess 6/10

The Ghost was pretty entertaining. A political drama with a few twists and turns along the way. Fantastic cast in it also and a very good story. The twist in this one is a bit harder to get but I did enjoy the film. 2 things that bothered me were the length of it and the ending. Other than that I'd recommend it 7/10.

Hoping to see Iron Man 2 this weekend although the GF wants to see the first one before we do. Only problem is the bastardin thing isn't in any of the DVD shops in the town. Hopefully get her in Tesco this evenin!

Quote from: screenexile on May 06, 2010, 11:52:34 AM
Watched "An Education" and "The Ghost" over the past few days.

An Education was OK I guess. A bit drawn out and about a womans struggle in times gone by where she's torn between getting herself an education or marrying into money. I saw the twist coming a mile off but it was decent I guess 6/10

The Ghost was pretty entertaining. A political drama with a few twists and turns along the way. Fantastic cast in it also and a very good story. The twist in this one is a bit harder to get but I did enjoy the film. 2 things that bothered me were the length of it and the ending. Other than that I'd recommend it 7/10.

Hoping to see Iron Man 2 this weekend although the GF wants to see the first one before we do. Only problem is the bastardin thing isn't in any of the DVD shops in the town. Hopefully get her in Tesco this evenin!

got it in heatons the other day for 4 quid

Celt_Man

Just watching Gladiator on DVD coz there is nothing halfway decent on tv... Haven't seen it in a good long time, it really is a serious flick!

Quote from: Celt_Man on May 07, 2010, 11:21:33 PM
Just watching Gladiator on DVD coz there is nothing halfway decent on tv... Haven't seen it in a good long time, it really is a serious flick!
Respectfully, not particularly.

Seen kickass today, good show, better than I expected.

paco

Watched Hot Tub Time Machine last night, it won't win any oscars or anything but some great laughs in it. Watched Gladiator recently, got me really excited for Robin Hood, looks excellent. 12th May release date, isn't it?

12th May yeah, I can't wait  ;D

Seriously can Hollywood come up with anything original these days?

Off the top of my head Clash of the titans, Nightmare on Elm Street,The Karate Kid, Robin hood, Alice in Wonderland & Wall street all remakes this year alone

Robin Hood is not a remake as I tries to tell the real story of Robin Hood (if he existed).  Well it is a remake but telling a different story.

Looking forward to it.

Watched Single Man.

It won't be many a person's cupan tae but I liked it a lot. Arty, great shots. Firth is excellent. Follows one day in the life of Firth who has decided he'll kill himself at the end of the day as he can't get over his ex-lover's death a few months earlier.

Unpredictable ending. Maybe not for some. I didn't see it coming.

Celt_Man

Black Hawk Down on RTÉ 2 now... good movie very enjoyable